Perfect Dark Nintendo 64
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 232 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 232

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoesophW.
    Jun 6, 2005
    10
    I love this game it is sooo freaking sweet! i wish i coulda bought this sooner!
  2. Starfire
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    This game is certainly an unusual classic in the FPS world. With so many modes, including the combat simulator, hours and hours of play were on offer throughout a stunningly realised sci-fi, cyberpunk world. This must be one of the most complete' games ever- the atmosphere, the weapons (especially the laptop gun), the variety of enemies and areas on offer. A still unmatched This game is certainly an unusual classic in the FPS world. With so many modes, including the combat simulator, hours and hours of play were on offer throughout a stunningly realised sci-fi, cyberpunk world. This must be one of the most complete' games ever- the atmosphere, the weapons (especially the laptop gun), the variety of enemies and areas on offer. A still unmatched experience that offers endless enjoyment. Expand
  3. P3rf3ctK1ll3r
    Feb 9, 2007
    10
    I bought Perfect Dark the day it was released in the US and was completely blown away by its stuning graphics, intuitive weapons and level design, and its addictive gameplay. The unlockable cheats and 3 distinct difficulty levels add great replay value to the single player campaign, while bots and endless multiplayer customizations make the multiplayer aspect of the game impossible to put I bought Perfect Dark the day it was released in the US and was completely blown away by its stuning graphics, intuitive weapons and level design, and its addictive gameplay. The unlockable cheats and 3 distinct difficulty levels add great replay value to the single player campaign, while bots and endless multiplayer customizations make the multiplayer aspect of the game impossible to put down. While it is clear that Goldeneye revolutionized FPS's as we know it, Rare took what they had achieved in Goldeneye and brought FPS's to another level in Perfect Dark. It is unfortunate that Perfect Dark is overlooked by many people due to the fact that it was released at at the end of the Nintendo 64's life and therefore missed many people. However, if you played this game at the time of its release you would know that it is the best FPS ever made next to Goldeneye and Halo and more than deserving of its score. Expand
  4. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    Clocked more hours than any other n64 title, and wore out quite a few joysticks. It's a damn shame the sequel on the 360 didn't show new fps' how its done...
  5. EdD.
    Jul 5, 2001
    10
    The best multi player game ever!!
  6. Jayden
    May 3, 2003
    10
    I like the game but I don't know how I do mission 6 with the power to do off can someone help me.
  7. Sturtstoybie
    Jan 17, 2004
    9
    Easily my favourite shooter ever!!! If this came out on nintendo's next console with better graphics and sorted out the damn frame rate in multiplayer it would probably be the best game ever. Still the best of its type though, even now!
  8. JoeT.
    Jul 27, 2009
    10
    The undisputed, best ever FPS game ever. I am playing it right now, almost 10 years on. Nothing will ever touch this game in any way, shape or form. Unless they remake it, and I'm not talking about Perfect Dark Zero. What a poor, poor attempt. This is second to Ocarina of Time, on my Best Games of All Time list. Thank you Rare.
  9. Comicbookguy
    Mar 28, 2003
    10
    Best FPS EVER.
  10. Prognosticator
    Jun 24, 2003
    10
    This is the greatest first person shooter ever. I love every aspect of it, and that is saying something since there is so much to do.
  11. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    Perfect Dark is possibly the best game Rare ever made. After the success of GoldenEye, Rare went on to make the compelling story of a heroine names Joanna Dark, an operative out to destroy a rival corporation to her employer. The game was pretty revolutionary at the time and even now, is a fun game to play for anyone who enjoys older games or first-person shooters. It's worth it to playPerfect Dark is possibly the best game Rare ever made. After the success of GoldenEye, Rare went on to make the compelling story of a heroine names Joanna Dark, an operative out to destroy a rival corporation to her employer. The game was pretty revolutionary at the time and even now, is a fun game to play for anyone who enjoys older games or first-person shooters. It's worth it to play one of the originals. Expand
  12. MichaelS
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    Classic shooter that, despite imperfections even for its time, did an astounding job of blowing Goldeneye clean out of the water. I don't think I've ever been so excited about one video game, and I'm sure I never will be again.
  13. KarlK.
    Jun 29, 2003
    10
    Ive played this game over and over. The loading file said i played it for 120h 32min (thats just the game time saved). Multiplayre is fantastic, menny stages to choose from and the AI bots can put up some good fights. So menny weapons to use, each with a second function. When this game came out it was ahead of it's time. If you still have a N64, get this game.
  14. DanH.
    Jul 10, 2004
    10
    EASILY the best FPS ever made. f*** Halo.
  15. J.Cooper
    May 24, 2006
    10
    "BEST CONSOLE GAME EVER MADE" This game is just AWESOME ! "seems to be the most underrated game ever created for console", ive had the game since its release (forced me to buy the expansion) AWESOME single player missions ! Good AI especially in Special Agent and Perfect Agent difficulties.. Super fun and totally configurable multiplayer modes. The graphics were very solid for the time, "BEST CONSOLE GAME EVER MADE" This game is just AWESOME ! "seems to be the most underrated game ever created for console", ive had the game since its release (forced me to buy the expansion) AWESOME single player missions ! Good AI especially in Special Agent and Perfect Agent difficulties.. Super fun and totally configurable multiplayer modes. The graphics were very solid for the time, and the death animations and sounds are eerily realistic at times. And so much more... if you are really into FPS games, Perfect Dark sets a standard for any of the good ones out there. Expand
  16. JoshH.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    Easily one of the best games ever made. Interesting and complex storyline, the origin of secondary "weapon modes", characters with fantastic voice-acting, and amazing music..it's transcending!
  17. TiagoJ
    Dec 30, 2008
    10
    One of the best FPS ever released! One of the best multiplayer modes in a console. One of the best graphics in its decade. Simply perfect! The game I've spent more time in all my life.
  18. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    El mejor shooter que he visto. Un juego bueno y muy completo, perfecto tanto para el modo un jugador como para el multiplayer. Una autentica joya de la N64
  19. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    Oh, God. This game is the real deal! People talk a lot about Goldeneye, but this game is even better than that! The graphics alone are the most realistic I've ever seen in a N64 game, and they blew my mind back then. The controls can be hard to get used to, especially for people who have been playing dual-analog shooters, but are extremely responsive and were top-notch for their time.Oh, God. This game is the real deal! People talk a lot about Goldeneye, but this game is even better than that! The graphics alone are the most realistic I've ever seen in a N64 game, and they blew my mind back then. The controls can be hard to get used to, especially for people who have been playing dual-analog shooters, but are extremely responsive and were top-notch for their time. One of the last great gems of gaming left to us by Rareware. Groundbreaking in every possible way. Expand
  20. MichielPDISTHEBEST
    Apr 22, 2005
    10
    Perfect Dark is a gift from God. IT IS REALLY. If God would play first person shooters, this is the game he would play everyday, every hour heck, every min of the day. Why is this game so great we wonder ? 1). The Sci-Fi Sequel to Goldeneye. 2). Rareware is the best developer on the planet. 3). Combat Simulator features the best multiplayer & the best replay value of all the games made in Perfect Dark is a gift from God. IT IS REALLY. If God would play first person shooters, this is the game he would play everyday, every hour heck, every min of the day. Why is this game so great we wonder ? 1). The Sci-Fi Sequel to Goldeneye. 2). Rareware is the best developer on the planet. 3). Combat Simulator features the best multiplayer & the best replay value of all the games made in the world period. A personal message to rare, Thanks for creating such a godlike game, it's better then goldeneye, which is almost fucking impossible. Perfect dark is amazingly in depth .. and amazingly simple, thats whats makes this game the Nr. 1 game on my list. Expand
  21. TheWargamer
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Ah, a timeless classic... Let's start by addressing the naysayers. Yes, the graphics aren't great anymore. Yes, the game turns to Perfect Lag whenever chain explosions kick off. Yes, the AI does seem to "cheat" if you know what you're looking for... but none of that matters. Perfect Dark is a thing of beauty. I could talk for hours about the single player mode alone and Ah, a timeless classic... Let's start by addressing the naysayers. Yes, the graphics aren't great anymore. Yes, the game turns to Perfect Lag whenever chain explosions kick off. Yes, the AI does seem to "cheat" if you know what you're looking for... but none of that matters. Perfect Dark is a thing of beauty. I could talk for hours about the single player mode alone and never mention the fantastic single-player mode, which remains challenging to this day. The reason I am going to stick so much with Multiplayer is, as all reviews of Halo 3 prove, people seem to value Multiplayer above all else. Perfect Dark has THE BEST Multiplayer around; the "Simulants" (Console-controlled Bots) outshine most other games, and frankly any game that came out after Perfect Dark that DIDN'T include Bots cannot be forgiven of this crime. Perfect Dark is showing its age, but it is nonetheless a shining example of how gaming should be. There are so many game modes, weapons and unlockables you'll be kept busy for YEARS, and many of the things we take for granted originated here. An all-time classic. Expand
  22. William
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    Frame rate suffers, but in my opinion much much better than halo or half life 1 and 2. I didn't enjoy Goldeneye as much as this. The guns are well designed. The singleplayer and multiplayer modes have so many options that it thrashes anything ever since it was made.
  23. JustinG.
    Mar 1, 2002
    10
    Best shooting game then any game.
  24. Caleb
    Mar 12, 2005
    10
    The best game I've ever played. period.
  25. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    A Masterpiece of overall gaming by legendary developer Rareware. Don't judge the game by the mockery of "yet another generic first-person shooter" because IT ISN'T. Games like this only happen once in your life. I purchased this brilliant game in late 2000, from then on I've never looked at another video game in the same light. Sure, some might bash it for its chuggy issues (e.g. frameA Masterpiece of overall gaming by legendary developer Rareware. Don't judge the game by the mockery of "yet another generic first-person shooter" because IT ISN'T. Games like this only happen once in your life. I purchased this brilliant game in late 2000, from then on I've never looked at another video game in the same light. Sure, some might bash it for its chuggy issues (e.g. frame rate), which is never actually a problem, but its design is IMPECCABLE. And even after unlocking all the cheats, even after completing all the challenges, and even after spending my entire teen life playing this game, I still find something new to do every time I go back to Perfect Dark. It is an unmatched enjoyment that, in fact I count myself lucky to experience. Expand
  26. AliceB.
    Sep 24, 2005
    10
    IT may be old, but it is still really good with a good story and great gameplay(especially multiplayer). People just have to remember, graphics aren't everything. PS who says girls don't know anything about video games.
  27. Ryan
    Jul 3, 2009
    10
    Ah, Perfect Dark... It isn't the perfect game, but then again, what is? Nothing is ever perfect; things may be built upon. But for what Rare could achieve in game design at the time, it was, and should be, considered perfect. The frames per second lag with a lot of action, but really, that's the only offsetting thing about the game. Everything else is flawless, from the vast Ah, Perfect Dark... It isn't the perfect game, but then again, what is? Nothing is ever perfect; things may be built upon. But for what Rare could achieve in game design at the time, it was, and should be, considered perfect. The frames per second lag with a lot of action, but really, that's the only offsetting thing about the game. Everything else is flawless, from the vast aresenal of weapons, all of which sport secondary functions that may even completely revolutionize said weapon, to the vast amount of challenge and unlockables there are in the game. And of course, the multiplayer is not to be missed. The AI is so advanced that you won't just be trying to win multiplayer matches against 'em - you'll be hoping just to get one kill in against them! The name of the game says it all. It's just a shame that more people didn't get to play it, as it was released near the end of the N64's "lifespan". I count myself lucky as I am among those. Get the game if you still can, as it is the best first-person shooter I've played to date, and it is unlikely that fact will change anytime soon! Expand
  28. SeanB.
    Jul 15, 2004
    10
    Well, not quite a 10, but it would round up. Graphics are a notch or 2 above Goldeneye, but the gameplay is a bit more confusing with all of the secondary functions for each weapon. The first two parts on the first mission show promise that the rest will be as good as or even better than Goldeneye. But unfortunately you wind up on alien planets using ray guns and x-ray scopes, which in my Well, not quite a 10, but it would round up. Graphics are a notch or 2 above Goldeneye, but the gameplay is a bit more confusing with all of the secondary functions for each weapon. The first two parts on the first mission show promise that the rest will be as good as or even better than Goldeneye. But unfortunately you wind up on alien planets using ray guns and x-ray scopes, which in my opinion is a bit weird. However YOU might find the sci-fi aspect more interesting than the more realistic story and weapons (like in Goldeneye) but I prefer a less far fetched approach. These possible negatives are the ONLY ones, so the positives are endless. This game is awsome and one of the best for the system. The multiplayer is so deep and exciting, your options are endless. (you can even pick the music you want to play to) So grab a friend or 4, sit down infront of the biggest TV, get the snacks out, and waste your mind until your thumbs bleed. Fun as hell, MUST HAVE Expand
  29. SteveD.
    Apr 13, 2004
    10
    This is the best First Person Shooter I played until Halo. After several months of playing Halo, I still miss the arenas and weapons from Perfect Dark. I looking forward to Perfect Dark Zero for the Xbox!
  30. JeanneDark
    Mar 7, 2005
    9
    I only bought the N64 because of this game!!
  31. Alex
    Jul 8, 2006
    10
    Awesome, creative guns. Laptops that turn into sentry guns, and player-controlled rockets. Awesome!
  32. SangS
    Aug 13, 2007
    10
    This was a great game. I bought it just recently (2006) because I played the xbox version at a friend's apoartment and it was awesome I had to get it for my N64 (I dont own an xbox 360) I thoroughly enjoy the multiplayer mode. Now that I've played PDZ and PD I know the entire story!
  33. DavidP.
    Aug 17, 2001
    10
    I would have given it an 11 if I was able to. This is by far the best game I have ever played. i just hope that Nintendo and the people at Rare keep developing this type of game for the older Nintendo player. I feel that Nintendo still has the best graphics.
  34. EricC.
    Nov 19, 2002
    9
    I really wanted to give this a 10, but what I can't deny is the horrible framerate at which this game runs at. At first I didn't let it get to me, but after weeks of playing, it just became a nuisance that should have been improved. Everything else about this game is fantasitic, including one of the best multiplayer modes and great weapons. But when four players and simulants I really wanted to give this a 10, but what I can't deny is the horrible framerate at which this game runs at. At first I didn't let it get to me, but after weeks of playing, it just became a nuisance that should have been improved. Everything else about this game is fantasitic, including one of the best multiplayer modes and great weapons. But when four players and simulants are playing all at once, the game is almost too choppy to tell what your are doing. Overall, it's the perfect follow-up to Goldeneye and a must own. Expand
  35. RyanL.
    Sep 4, 2002
    10
    This game was the most I ever got out of my 64. With its awesome high-res graphics, I would say this is my all time favorite first person shooter. So I cant wait till the next P-Dark comes out for Game Cube and I hope it has online play.
  36. JonP.
    Jun 25, 2003
    9
    The framerate is a bit rubbish a shame as this is the best shooter both multiplayer and single ever and most people haven't played the game and can't appreciate how great this game is. Overall - GREAT.
  37. Kyle
    Nov 3, 2005
    9
    Complete rip off of Goldeneye 007.....but in a good way. A female hero? Check. Arsenal that will blow your mind? Check. Classic N64 game. Absolutely.
  38. BenP.
    Sep 21, 2005
    10
    Lets see...Eric S claims the game is far from perfect...because he just played it after he's probably been playing halo for countless hours yelling at the top of his lungs "WOW THIS GAME IZ DA WOWZERZ! VEHICHLESSSZ AND ALIENS WOOOWZ!!!11!" Give it up...i have respect for current gen FPS games but i have no respect for halo...if you do play halo, try and pick out the similarities it Lets see...Eric S claims the game is far from perfect...because he just played it after he's probably been playing halo for countless hours yelling at the top of his lungs "WOW THIS GAME IZ DA WOWZERZ! VEHICHLESSSZ AND ALIENS WOOOWZ!!!11!" Give it up...i have respect for current gen FPS games but i have no respect for halo...if you do play halo, try and pick out the similarities it has regarding perfect dark. Halo is a straight template of Perfect dark with only one difference, it is way too overrated, thats where Perfect dark didn't get bashed...Pefect Dark's description is said in its own name, it's perfect in its own little dark way. The game is a fun countless hour single or multiplayer game after years and years of playing it, and it is one of the only good FPS games out there where you actually see blood splatter on the wall behind a guy when you pump them full of lead. Sorry buddy, you and the guy that gave it a 6 have no taste in good shooters. Don't try and defend yourself by saying "HEY JUSTSZ BECUZ'S WE ARES OUT #ERD DUZNT MEAN WE ARN'''T THE SMART ONES HERE!!11!1!!! YOUR ALL JUST A BUNCHSSZ OF GUYZ WHO SUPPORTZ A GAME CUZ IT HAS GRAFIK VIOLFNCE!!!1!!11! WE ARE THE VETS HERE SO SUCK THE BALLZERS!11!" Thats the kind of attitude that gets you made fun of...your right about one thing though, you ARE outnumbered, but by people who know what they're talking about, that's one thing we have in common that you don't. Expand
  39. NEXO[ITA]
    Sep 29, 2005
    10
    The best shooting game of ever!
  40. JonathanG.
    May 21, 2006
    10
    One fo the best games for the N64. I still play it even now in 2006. This game is a true classic no matter what anybody says. I only play really fun games years after I have beaten them and played them a whole lot. One of my favorite first person shooters of all time.
  41. GuidoP.
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    I'm not entirely sure why nobody mentions that the Combat Simulator, aside from being a great multiplayer tool, is equally adept at increasing the single-player experience. Getting the highest ranking in Combat Simulator must be one of Video Gaming's most taxing challenges, and this goal can be reached either with a friend, or alone with an ocean of ruthless bots. Of course, the I'm not entirely sure why nobody mentions that the Combat Simulator, aside from being a great multiplayer tool, is equally adept at increasing the single-player experience. Getting the highest ranking in Combat Simulator must be one of Video Gaming's most taxing challenges, and this goal can be reached either with a friend, or alone with an ocean of ruthless bots. Of course, the former is preferable, but the latter, if you don't happen to be with a friend, is worth noting, since, to my mind, it is the Combat Simulator, whether played alone or not, that raises what is essentially an 8 or 9 game to a definite 10 and probably one of my favorite games of all time. Expand
  42. MattyD.
    Apr 19, 2007
    10
    Ridiculously unbelievable. I have never played a game so packed and never will. Seriously the best console experience of a lifetime.
  43. JoshN
    Nov 8, 2009
    10
    This game is the greatest shooter that I have played, They should make a sequel, but none of that perfect dark zero CRAP again
  44. PD}PaulK.ofthePerfectDarkEliteClan(cod)
    Mar 17, 2009
    10
    This is definitely the best shooter for the Nintendo 64 system. An honorable mention is Goldeneye 007, but Perfect Dark is a far and distant FIRST! If u are a gamer and u already have done everything there is to do in Goldeneye, there is none more superior than Perfect Dark. Not even the PC has FPS that rival the ideas of this great shooter! It came too late in the N64 life cycle but if u This is definitely the best shooter for the Nintendo 64 system. An honorable mention is Goldeneye 007, but Perfect Dark is a far and distant FIRST! If u are a gamer and u already have done everything there is to do in Goldeneye, there is none more superior than Perfect Dark. Not even the PC has FPS that rival the ideas of this great shooter! It came too late in the N64 life cycle but if u want competition and skill, look no further. This is complex. It has the type of weapons YOU didn't know u wanted. Each weapon has a secondary function. On consoles, this was the height of FPS, then the industry started over with hype and the unrevolutionary Halo. U could disarm enemy's and shoot them with it! A lot of people only want minimal gameplay in their games so they immediately give Goldeneye the nod. i like Goldeneye, but i also keep it real because overall i like FPS games in general. Features (for its time): -Many CREATIVE AND DIVERSE weapons -Bots -Limitless CUSTOMIZABLE multiplayer (with humans or bots) Bots can have customizable personalities, teams, and difficulties Custom Tracks (from the game) in MP Create teams of 4 -Player Creation -Better Stats -No Invisible Guardrails -Nice Graphics -Single Player Story Of Epic Movie Material -Co-Op (with human or bot) -Counter Op in story mode (how many games do that?) -Great MUSIC!! -Great strategy -Hidden Levels (SP and MP) -Voiceovers and animations for the enemies -Actual Blood -Made by one of the greatest companies of all time ('RARE' -donkey kong country, killer instinct, rc pro am, marble madness, starfox GC, goldeneye 007, conkers bfd [another excellent game actually made for the N64], and others i forget) by the way, Perfect Dark Zero is NOT Perfect Dark!! This is NOT a rip off of Goldeneye! The only similarities are the engine and structure of the game (ex: doom3, quake 4). How can RareWare rip off their own product? They wanted to do a lot of this at the time of GE007 but 007 is its own licence so they waited to put it in their own product. Result is something that came late in the systems life and never got its deserved credit for giving u more than ANY modern FPS to date (3/17/09) The reviewer Eric S. has absolutely no idea and it shows. Also Eric, this game is great with friends. Expand
  45. [Anonymous]
    Apr 26, 2002
    10
    Quite simply the best action game ever made. You won't be able to really notice the framerate problems because you and your friends (and you MUST have friends to enjoy this game to its fullest) will be having too much fun shooting the crap out of each other. Awesome, awesome game!!!
  46. Shaun
    Dec 16, 2005
    10
    It can't be a rip-off if it was made by the same people. Best console shooter ever made, and among the top shooters created for any platform. Completely innovative in so many ways, with depth to boot. I can't even begin to describe the frustration I feel as people (especially this next generation of teenagers) go through life thinking that Halo is the best thing ever, when It can't be a rip-off if it was made by the same people. Best console shooter ever made, and among the top shooters created for any platform. Completely innovative in so many ways, with depth to boot. I can't even begin to describe the frustration I feel as people (especially this next generation of teenagers) go through life thinking that Halo is the best thing ever, when Perfect Dark (created four years earlier) is still better in many ways and has been a template for all modern shooters after it. Not perfect, but I'm giving it a perfect score because it is innovative, of high quality, and beats Halo to the ground without even trying. Expand
  47. Cory
    Jul 12, 2005
    10
    I do not stutter when I say Perfect Dark is the best first-person shooter ever created. Goldeneye might be more popular to audiences but this game delivers a more solid first person experience with GENIUS objectives. Everything is flawless... the music, the story, even the graphics are astounding for the N64. Other than Ocarina of Time this may be the second best video game of all time. I do not stutter when I say Perfect Dark is the best first-person shooter ever created. Goldeneye might be more popular to audiences but this game delivers a more solid first person experience with GENIUS objectives. Everything is flawless... the music, the story, even the graphics are astounding for the N64. Other than Ocarina of Time this may be the second best video game of all time. PD proves that old school is better than new. Sorry Halo. Expand
  48. FabianM.
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    A rare beauty and one of the most accomplished and well designed games of the century that has kept me going for 8 years.
  49. MaxB
    Jul 25, 2008
    10
    There's a reason this game is called Perfect Dark - it is both. The plot isn't worth a damn, and character development is frankly shameful, but the controls, visuals, sound and feel of the game are just unmatched by anything else on the N64, and in this gamer's opinion, any other platform to date. This is how a shooter should be done. Timeless. Many people are talking about There's a reason this game is called Perfect Dark - it is both. The plot isn't worth a damn, and character development is frankly shameful, but the controls, visuals, sound and feel of the game are just unmatched by anything else on the N64, and in this gamer's opinion, any other platform to date. This is how a shooter should be done. Timeless. Many people are talking about the possibility of this game appearing on Microsoft's Xbox Live Arcade - this idea is frankly repugnant to me (despite owning an Xbox 360) - those Halo fanboys don't deserve this kind of brilliance. Expand
  50. Fabio
    Nov 29, 2004
    10
    Forget Halo...this is the best console FPS ever programmed.
  51. JamesM.
    Dec 21, 2004
    10
    Perfect dark obviously leagues ahead of halo. it really hurts to watch newbee gamers come in and say halo is the greatest FPS of all time, as perfect dark is easily its superior. multifunction weapons, many different enemies, an excellent series of both multiplayer and one player challenges in the shooting gallery and in multiplayer challenges against enemy sims were incredible andPerfect dark obviously leagues ahead of halo. it really hurts to watch newbee gamers come in and say halo is the greatest FPS of all time, as perfect dark is easily its superior. multifunction weapons, many different enemies, an excellent series of both multiplayer and one player challenges in the shooting gallery and in multiplayer challenges against enemy sims were incredible and unbeatable. halo may have larger environments, but they are extremely, repetitive and the one player version of the game is too easy as a result of the save system of checkpoints, which unfortunately has to be used due to the levels being so large. why didnt they shrink the size of the levels so as to have many small ones instead of silly huge levels? i dont know. you will never beat perfect dark. if they released the same game on xbox i would definately buy it and have a ritualistic burning of both halo cds perfect dark is definitely a 10, halo an 8 at best. Expand
  52. JS
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    Possibly the best FPS ever made. Intricate storyline, intricate gameplay, unsurpassable multiplayer. This game had it all. When games like Halo 1 were dishing out the worn out Golden Eye recipe, Perfect Dark pushed the FPS genre into a new era - until games like Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter pushed us back into the Dark Ages. There are so many things to do with this game. You can play Possibly the best FPS ever made. Intricate storyline, intricate gameplay, unsurpassable multiplayer. This game had it all. When games like Halo 1 were dishing out the worn out Golden Eye recipe, Perfect Dark pushed the FPS genre into a new era - until games like Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter pushed us back into the Dark Ages. There are so many things to do with this game. You can play the great, lengthy storyline and all its missions; coop, single-player, or versus (friends play as bad guys). The AI bots in multiplayer are amazing. There's a ton of templates to choose from, and the Ai is superb. I haven't seen a game to match it since. so many neat gadgets to mess with, and a massive arsenal of weapons; the likes of which haven't been seen since. Brilliant game. Expand
  53. Oct 27, 2011
    9
    Wonderful game. The single player is great and has the best kind of difficulty setting. The more difficult difficulty level, the more objectives you get. It has fine amount of variation and the action feels great. Multiplayer isin't not so great though. It has co-op mode and counter operative mode, where one of the players is enemy and tries to stop other player from completing the level.Wonderful game. The single player is great and has the best kind of difficulty setting. The more difficult difficulty level, the more objectives you get. It has fine amount of variation and the action feels great. Multiplayer isin't not so great though. It has co-op mode and counter operative mode, where one of the players is enemy and tries to stop other player from completing the level. The basic deathmatch is outdated though, because it gives too high advance to players, who collect weapons (You start unarmed). It's still must buy game though. Expand
  54. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    In an older and simpler time, First Person Shooters where not very common on consoles back in the time of this game's creation, they where mostly only on PCs. When 007 Goldeneye proved that even on simple cartridge technology that great First Person Shooter single player and multiplayer experiences where possible, the genre exploded at the thought of the possibilities. Perfect Dark is aIn an older and simpler time, First Person Shooters where not very common on consoles back in the time of this game's creation, they where mostly only on PCs. When 007 Goldeneye proved that even on simple cartridge technology that great First Person Shooter single player and multiplayer experiences where possible, the genre exploded at the thought of the possibilities. Perfect Dark is a indirect sequel to 007 Goldeneye in the sense of improved engine, interface and features even though it was not related to James Bond at all. The storyline is beautifully crafted with the ability to play the story mode in single player, co-op, and counter-operative (your friend controls enemy guards). Multiplayerer deathmatch had heavy improvements with the ability to select all weapons to appear on the map, creation of your own character skin and your personal gameplay settings, map selection, save files full of multiplayer statistics and rankings, team settings, AI difficulty and personality settings, multiple game modes, music, specialized deathmatch missions, and the ability to save match settings and load them on a whim.In conclusion, I'll be perfectly honest here, as a person who absolutely despises the bland, repetitive and uncreative of nature of most games in the First Person Shooter genre (especially in most recent years with games like call of duty), this game feels so fresh, unique, interesting and daring. I had an absolute blast playing this game back in the day when it was new and playing it with my friends recently, we has just as much fun if not more reliving this masterpiece of a game. Expand
  55. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    I felt compelled to give this game a 10. I mean ultimately if you don't give Perfect Dark a 10... then what on Earth DOES deserve a 10?

    Everything about this game is compelling and satisfying with quality and developer talent dripping from it. Imaginative, varied and fast-paced gameplay, captivating mission objectives and levels, great characters, amazing weapons, just an overall
    I felt compelled to give this game a 10. I mean ultimately if you don't give Perfect Dark a 10... then what on Earth DOES deserve a 10?

    Everything about this game is compelling and satisfying with quality and developer talent dripping from it.

    Imaginative, varied and fast-paced gameplay, captivating mission objectives and levels, great characters, amazing weapons, just an overall excellent game. The multiplayer is also great (for it's time, not sure about by modern standards as I haven't played it much recently!).

    As for flaws... some of the mission objectives aren't too clear. Some of the dialogue and story and stuff is a bit cheesy. Some of the levels are weaker than others (inevitably).

    Overall however, Perfect Dark is without doubt one of the finest games ever made
    Expand
  56. Aug 20, 2011
    10
    I could itemize each aspect of the game, but what's the point. Everything is great. Everything a FPS fan could have wished, it's here. My only complaint is that a few single-player levels are too labyrinthic. But that's just a droplet of strain in an ocean of enjoyment. A game bordering on perfection.
  57. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    On consoles, this was the height of FPS, then the industry started over with hype and the unrevolutionary Halo. U could disarm enemy's and shoot them with it! A lot of people only want minimal gameplay in their games so they immediately give Goldeneye the nod. i like Goldeneye, but i also keep it real because overall i like FPS games in general.
  58. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    A timeless classic that changed the way fps ar done til today.... they tryied to emulate this king of game many times later, but they have never got closer
  59. May 30, 2012
    9
    This game is way better then goldeneye. It has Coop, MP bots, and a better story.
  60. May 28, 2012
    10
    Perfect Dark is the BEST FPS of all time. Sorry to the kids who are coming back 10 years later and not finding it up to your standards. You need to learn to respect where things came from. If you didn't experience it when it was brand new than I am sorry, you really missed out.
  61. May 29, 2012
    9
    Inspired by the classic 007 Golden Eye game, Perfect Dark adds its own elements. PD shows a pretty long single player campaign, but that isn't everything. PD also brings lots of multi player missions (which you can play on your own thanks to the enemy IA). You can also customize your own game with the IA and have fun for hours. There are 40+ weapons, some of them brought from Golden EyeInspired by the classic 007 Golden Eye game, Perfect Dark adds its own elements. PD shows a pretty long single player campaign, but that isn't everything. PD also brings lots of multi player missions (which you can play on your own thanks to the enemy IA). You can also customize your own game with the IA and have fun for hours. There are 40+ weapons, some of them brought from Golden Eye 007. The only bad thing is the lack of innovation from the 007 game (PD is just the same, but with more elements). Expand
  62. May 27, 2012
    10
    This game was another classic. Addicting gameplay. Music is awesome...A game that will be remembered for a lifetime. So much fun with friends!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  63. Aug 3, 2012
    10
    This is the best shooter i have played to date. When i heard it was going onto X-box i almost cried. It had the best multiplayer of it's time. And was the most revoulutoinary Shooter ever. Every one was shocked that halo 2 had duel wielding so did this game. I still play it today.
  64. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    The best first person shooter ever made. The best multiplayer. The best singleplayer campaign(I cant even count how many times ive gone rogue and killed everyone on Airforce One cooperatively) and some of the best graphics of its time.
  65. Feb 4, 2013
    10
    Perfect Dark is the most perfect first person shooter videogame ever created. I know that is a bold claim, and the game is not everybody's cup of tea. But why should art have to apologise just because it was designed with an ethos some find disagreeable? Do we judge Pink Floyd for not sounding like Queen? Both are masterful music groups with masterful music. Perfect Dark is a masterpiecePerfect Dark is the most perfect first person shooter videogame ever created. I know that is a bold claim, and the game is not everybody's cup of tea. But why should art have to apologise just because it was designed with an ethos some find disagreeable? Do we judge Pink Floyd for not sounding like Queen? Both are masterful music groups with masterful music. Perfect Dark is a masterpiece of video-game design. If players are unable to tolerate the slow pacing, lack of hand-holding, or the science fiction storyline, that is really their own fault.

    Perfect Dark is filled with features which 13 years of development since have failed to recapture: Destroyable lighting, locational damage on enemies, surrendering AI, an array of clever weapons, non-lethal combat as a viable option, and alternate means of completing common objectives.

    The story is clever, humourous, and told very well via voiced conversations and cutscenes which book-end each mission. Joanna Dark is an interesting protagonist. I can't think of any videogame with a better female lead.

    Also of note is the multiplayer functionality, including well-designed cooperative, the combat simulator, and the inclusion of key maps from Goldeneye.

    Some people complain about this game's framerate. Let me tell you a cute little fact. Perfect Dark runs at a maximum of 50 or 60 frames per second, depending on whether your copy is PAL or NTSC. To compare, Ocarina of Time is capped at 17-20 frames per second. The sluggish framerate is noticable during heavy action in Perfect Dark because the game is capable of running at a much higher framerate at other times. And to be frank, the framerate is not as bad as people make out, and certainly much better than Goldeneye's.

    It's difficult for me to submit this review. I fear I haven't expressed just how beautiful this game is. It changed my life, and has continued to inspire me to this day. It deserves the title of greatest first person shooter ever created, and I suggest it deserves to be considered among the greatest video-games ever created. You owe it to yourself to play this game with an open mind, and most importantly LEARN how to play it. If you've been bought up on Modern Warfare and Quake, this game will be a plodding, dull experience. But if you have a taste for Deus Ex, and games which require the player to think in order to be completed, you will enjoy it. Just make sure you find a control scheme which feels comfortable first. The default is not particularly good for aiming.

    That is all I can think to say. I love Perfect Dark.
    Expand
  66. May 20, 2014
    9
    The Spiritual sequel to THE BEST N64 GAME OF ALL TIME GOLDENEYE 007, a comparable futuristic female agent with aiming or not aiming options making the game almost unique. The character models were still great for it's time but not revolutionary and neither the setting that a few times may have been too dark. The biggest thing about this game it's the unlocking extra mission content andThe Spiritual sequel to THE BEST N64 GAME OF ALL TIME GOLDENEYE 007, a comparable futuristic female agent with aiming or not aiming options making the game almost unique. The character models were still great for it's time but not revolutionary and neither the setting that a few times may have been too dark. The biggest thing about this game it's the unlocking extra mission content and multi-player content improved from Goldeneye but it doesn't impact you graphically or hilariously like 007 did back in 1997. Despite that the voice acting it's way much better than all of rareware games that I have played before and maybe even after this game so I gave it A 9.254 THE 3rd BEST GAME EVER MADE ON N64. Expand
  67. May 10, 2013
    10
    If you thought Goldeneye 007 was great, Perfect Dark will blow away to parts beyond. Improving on nearly every single thing that made Goldeneye great, Perfect Dark is, for the lack of a better word, perfect.
  68. Feb 9, 2014
    10
    All hail the greatest FPS ever made. Perfect pushed the n64 to its **** limits. The music of this game is incredible the graphics look AMAZING for a game that game out in 2000. THe sc-fi story theme allows for you to go to some interesting locales such as: RUined Temples, Villages on the cost, Underground labs, ETC. This game is a huge improvement over Goldeneye 007 which was Rareware'sAll hail the greatest FPS ever made. Perfect pushed the n64 to its **** limits. The music of this game is incredible the graphics look AMAZING for a game that game out in 2000. THe sc-fi story theme allows for you to go to some interesting locales such as: RUined Temples, Villages on the cost, Underground labs, ETC. This game is a huge improvement over Goldeneye 007 which was Rareware's last fps on the n64 in 1997. After three long hard years Rare delivered the biggest n64 game ive ever played. I have absolutley no complaints about this game oh before i for get RARE says that only 5% of gamers will beat it on the hardest diffculty so threres that to challenge yourself to so yeah. I give this my completionist rating of : COMPLETE IT Expand
  69. Dec 18, 2013
    10
    By far my favorite game of all time without a doubt. Made by the greatest company ever Rareware it has amazing graphics for its time and so much replay value that I can play this game at any time and not be bored. There is so much customization in the multiplayer for endless amounts of ways to play. The single player is also very well done and is what I play the most. Thanks to the cheatsBy far my favorite game of all time without a doubt. Made by the greatest company ever Rareware it has amazing graphics for its time and so much replay value that I can play this game at any time and not be bored. There is so much customization in the multiplayer for endless amounts of ways to play. The single player is also very well done and is what I play the most. Thanks to the cheats you can just casually play the single player with all guns and just have a blast. Make the enemies harder by giving them shields and rocket launchers for more fun. I can't really think of anything this game does wrong. The beta version of the game was going to allow you to put custom heads on characters for multiplayer which would have been epic. Expand
  70. May 27, 2014
    10
    Graphics: 9.8 Sound: 10 Gameplay: 9.8 Fun/Story: 9.5

    The natural Goldeneye sequel on N64. Some occasional slowdown but always with nice graphics. A must-have.
  71. Nov 6, 2014
    10
    Goldeneye is one of the best shooters i have played, but then comes the masterpiece, Perfect Dark: Perfect Gameplay, Perfect Music, Perfect Weapons, Perfect Missions!
  72. Feb 4, 2015
    10
    Let me tell you, this is one of the best games on Nintendo 64. It is basically a more upgraded version of 007 Goldeneye for Nintendo 64 but adds lots of different and amazing features. If you were one of those people that always wanted to play 007 with others but couldn't, this is the game to play because not only did it have multiplayer but it had game modes where you could play againstLet me tell you, this is one of the best games on Nintendo 64. It is basically a more upgraded version of 007 Goldeneye for Nintendo 64 but adds lots of different and amazing features. If you were one of those people that always wanted to play 007 with others but couldn't, this is the game to play because not only did it have multiplayer but it had game modes where you could play against computers (or what as they call "simulants") without having to play with a real person. It also had characters who could talk instead of having text boxes on the screen to know what they are saying. It had over 50 different guns and some guns could use x-ray vision to see and shoot through walls. The campaign mode is great and it makes a lot of sense. One thing that made the game even more awesome is the fact that you had to have a compatible control pack to play the game because the game has so much memory for the Nintendo 64 to handle. Another thing that was cool about the game is the fact that you can customize the multiplayer game. Also this game takes place in the future. There are over 20 maps to choose from and over 50 different characters to choose from. This game is AMAZING. Expand
  73. Mar 22, 2015
    10
    10/10 ................................................................................................................................................
  74. Apr 17, 2015
    10
    This game is flawless, Not only does it have a brilliant single player mode, but you can also get friends to play with, or even against you in the missions. Tons of great extras to keep you occupied for hundreds of hours, and an outstanding multiplayer deathmatch mode with heaps of different modes to play on. The pinnacle of game design.
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. 100
    It's a stunning achievement by any measure and stands as one of those rare products that delivers more than you paid for.
  2. So damn close to perfect that it makes me want to cry tears of joy.
  3. This is the best action game on the Nintendo 64 and a great follow-up to "GoldenEye."