Perfect Dark Nintendo 64

Perfect Dark Image
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 309 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Step into the Dark... As Carrington Institute's most promising new Agent, Joanna Dark must uncover the truth behind the dataDyne Corporation's recent technological breakthroughs - breakthroughs which could have serious consequences for mankind.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Daily Radar
    100
    Oh yea, oh yea, glory hallelujah -- this is the game we've waited so long for.
  2. Magnificent. Until now, GoldenEye was arguably the best reason for gamers over the age of 16 to own a Nintendo 64. No longer.
  3. CheckOut
    100
    It's a stunning achievement by any measure and stands as one of those rare products that delivers more than you paid for.
  4. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    98
    If "GoldenEye" is a bull's-eye, Perfect Dark hits somewhere in the lungs. [Jan 2004, p.189]
  5. Da Gameboyz
    96
    From superior graphics, which really showcase the capacity of the N64 Expansion Pak, to Dolby Surround Sound, to seemingly unlimited playability potential, "Perfect Dark" is the game of choice for N64 owners.
  6. It’s multiplayer is, by far, the best on Nintendo 64. The Single Player is epic and addicting.
  7. Better than "GoldenEye 007" in every aspect, making it the best first-person shooter at the time of its release. With much deeper Solo Missions and a completely customizable Combat Simulator, Perfect Dark definitely was worth the wait.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 93
  2. Negative: 2 out of 93
  1. FabianM.
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    A rare beauty and one of the most accomplished and well designed games of the century that has kept me going for 8 years.
  2. Fabio
    Nov 29, 2004
    10
    Forget Halo...this is the best console FPS ever programmed.
  3. TheWargamer
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Ah, a timeless classic... Let's start by addressing the naysayers. Yes, the graphics aren't great anymore. Yes, the game turns to Ah, a timeless classic... Let's start by addressing the naysayers. Yes, the graphics aren't great anymore. Yes, the game turns to Perfect Lag whenever chain explosions kick off. Yes, the AI does seem to "cheat" if you know what you're looking for... but none of that matters. Perfect Dark is a thing of beauty. I could talk for hours about the single player mode alone and never mention the fantastic single-player mode, which remains challenging to this day. The reason I am going to stick so much with Multiplayer is, as all reviews of Halo 3 prove, people seem to value Multiplayer above all else. Perfect Dark has THE BEST Multiplayer around; the "Simulants" (Console-controlled Bots) outshine most other games, and frankly any game that came out after Perfect Dark that DIDN'T include Bots cannot be forgiven of this crime. Perfect Dark is showing its age, but it is nonetheless a shining example of how gaming should be. There are so many game modes, weapons and unlockables you'll be kept busy for YEARS, and many of the things we take for granted originated here. An all-time classic. Expand
  4. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    I felt compelled to give this game a 10. I mean ultimately if you don't give Perfect Dark a 10... then what on Earth DOES deserve a 10?I felt compelled to give this game a 10. I mean ultimately if you don't give Perfect Dark a 10... then what on Earth DOES deserve a 10?

    Everything about this game is compelling and satisfying with quality and developer talent dripping from it.

    Imaginative, varied and fast-paced gameplay, captivating mission objectives and levels, great characters, amazing weapons, just an overall excellent game. The multiplayer is also great (for it's time, not sure about by modern standards as I haven't played it much recently!).

    As for flaws... some of the mission objectives aren't too clear. Some of the dialogue and story and stuff is a bit cheesy. Some of the levels are weaker than others (inevitably).

    Overall however, Perfect Dark is without doubt one of the finest games ever made
    Expand
  5. MichaelS
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    Classic shooter that, despite imperfections even for its time, did an astounding job of blowing Goldeneye clean out of the water. I Classic shooter that, despite imperfections even for its time, did an astounding job of blowing Goldeneye clean out of the water. I don't think I've ever been so excited about one video game, and I'm sure I never will be again. Expand
  6. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    A timeless classic that changed the way fps ar done til today.... they tryied to emulate this king of game many times later, but they haveA timeless classic that changed the way fps ar done til today.... they tryied to emulate this king of game many times later, but they have never got closer Expand
  7. Sep 27, 2012
    3
    I bought this game based on the positive reviews on Metacritic. However, the game does not age well. FPS's were not meant to be played withI bought this game based on the positive reviews on Metacritic. However, the game does not age well. FPS's were not meant to be played with one joystick, and going back to that is just frustrating. Expand

See all 93 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed N64 Game of 2000
#2 Most Shared N64 Game of 2000