Perfect Dark Nintendo 64

Perfect Dark Image
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 288 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Step into the Dark... As Carrington Institute's most promising new Agent, Joanna Dark must uncover the truth behind the dataDyne Corporation's recent technological breakthroughs - breakthroughs which could have serious consequences for mankind.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Daily Radar
    100
    Oh yea, oh yea, glory hallelujah -- this is the game we've waited so long for.
  2. Magnificent. Until now, GoldenEye was arguably the best reason for gamers over the age of 16 to own a Nintendo 64. No longer.
  3. CheckOut
    100
    It's a stunning achievement by any measure and stands as one of those rare products that delivers more than you paid for.
  4. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    98
    If "GoldenEye" is a bull's-eye, Perfect Dark hits somewhere in the lungs. [Jan 2004, p.189]
  5. Da Gameboyz
    96
    From superior graphics, which really showcase the capacity of the N64 Expansion Pak, to Dolby Surround Sound, to seemingly unlimited playability potential, "Perfect Dark" is the game of choice for N64 owners.
  6. It’s multiplayer is, by far, the best on Nintendo 64. The Single Player is epic and addicting.
  7. Better than "GoldenEye 007" in every aspect, making it the best first-person shooter at the time of its release. With much deeper Solo Missions and a completely customizable Combat Simulator, Perfect Dark definitely was worth the wait.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 91
  2. Negative: 3 out of 91
  1. MattyD.
    Apr 19, 2007
    10
    Ridiculously unbelievable. I have never played a game so packed and never will. Seriously the best console experience of a lifetime.
  2. SteveD.
    Apr 13, 2004
    10
    This is the best First Person Shooter I played until Halo. After several months of playing Halo, I still miss the arenas and weapons from This is the best First Person Shooter I played until Halo. After several months of playing Halo, I still miss the arenas and weapons from Perfect Dark. I looking forward to Perfect Dark Zero for the Xbox! Expand
  3. TheWargamer
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Ah, a timeless classic... Let's start by addressing the naysayers. Yes, the graphics aren't great anymore. Yes, the game turns to Ah, a timeless classic... Let's start by addressing the naysayers. Yes, the graphics aren't great anymore. Yes, the game turns to Perfect Lag whenever chain explosions kick off. Yes, the AI does seem to "cheat" if you know what you're looking for... but none of that matters. Perfect Dark is a thing of beauty. I could talk for hours about the single player mode alone and never mention the fantastic single-player mode, which remains challenging to this day. The reason I am going to stick so much with Multiplayer is, as all reviews of Halo 3 prove, people seem to value Multiplayer above all else. Perfect Dark has THE BEST Multiplayer around; the "Simulants" (Console-controlled Bots) outshine most other games, and frankly any game that came out after Perfect Dark that DIDN'T include Bots cannot be forgiven of this crime. Perfect Dark is showing its age, but it is nonetheless a shining example of how gaming should be. There are so many game modes, weapons and unlockables you'll be kept busy for YEARS, and many of the things we take for granted originated here. An all-time classic. Expand
  4. May 27, 2012
    10
    This game was another classic. Addicting gameplay. Music is awesome...A game that will be remembered for a lifetime. So much fun withThis game was another classic. Addicting gameplay. Music is awesome...A game that will be remembered for a lifetime. So much fun with friends!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  5. AliceB.
    Sep 24, 2005
    10
    IT may be old, but it is still really good with a good story and great gameplay(especially multiplayer). People just have to remember, IT may be old, but it is still really good with a good story and great gameplay(especially multiplayer). People just have to remember, graphics aren't everything. PS who says girls don't know anything about video games. Collapse
  6. JoeT.
    Jul 27, 2009
    10
    The undisputed, best ever FPS game ever. I am playing it right now, almost 10 years on. Nothing will ever touch this game in any way, shape The undisputed, best ever FPS game ever. I am playing it right now, almost 10 years on. Nothing will ever touch this game in any way, shape or form. Unless they remake it, and I'm not talking about Perfect Dark Zero. What a poor, poor attempt. This is second to Ocarina of Time, on my Best Games of All Time list. Thank you Rare. Expand
  7. Sep 27, 2012
    3
    I bought this game based on the positive reviews on Metacritic. However, the game does not age well. FPS's were not meant to be played withI bought this game based on the positive reviews on Metacritic. However, the game does not age well. FPS's were not meant to be played with one joystick, and going back to that is just frustrating. Expand

See all 91 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed N64 Game of 2000
#1 Most Shared N64 Game of 2000