Perfect Dark Nintendo 64
Perfect Dark Image
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 221 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Step into the Dark... As Carrington Institute's most promising new Agent, Joanna Dark must uncover the truth behind the dataDyne Corporation's recent technological breakthroughs - breakthroughs which could have serious consequences for mankind.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Oh yea, oh yea, glory hallelujah -- this is the game we've waited so long for.
  2. Magnificent. Until now, GoldenEye was arguably the best reason for gamers over the age of 16 to own a Nintendo 64. No longer.
  3. 100
    It's a stunning achievement by any measure and stands as one of those rare products that delivers more than you paid for.
  4. If "GoldenEye" is a bull's-eye, Perfect Dark hits somewhere in the lungs. [Jan 2004, p.189]
  5. From superior graphics, which really showcase the capacity of the N64 Expansion Pak, to Dolby Surround Sound, to seemingly unlimited playability potential, "Perfect Dark" is the game of choice for N64 owners.
  6. It’s multiplayer is, by far, the best on Nintendo 64. The Single Player is epic and addicting.
  7. Better than "GoldenEye 007" in every aspect, making it the best first-person shooter at the time of its release. With much deeper Solo Missions and a completely customizable Combat Simulator, Perfect Dark definitely was worth the wait.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 82
  2. Negative: 3 out of 82
  1. Alex
    Jul 8, 2006
    10
    Awesome, creative guns. Laptops that turn into sentry guns, and player-controlled rockets. Awesome!
  2. RyanL.
    Sep 4, 2002
    10
    This game was the most I ever got out of my 64. With its awesome high-res graphics, I would say this is my all time favorite first person This game was the most I ever got out of my 64. With its awesome high-res graphics, I would say this is my all time favorite first person shooter. So I cant wait till the next P-Dark comes out for Game Cube and I hope it has online play. Expand
  3. TheWargamer
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Ah, a timeless classic... Let's start by addressing the naysayers. Yes, the graphics aren't great anymore. Yes, the game turns to Ah, a timeless classic... Let's start by addressing the naysayers. Yes, the graphics aren't great anymore. Yes, the game turns to Perfect Lag whenever chain explosions kick off. Yes, the AI does seem to "cheat" if you know what you're looking for... but none of that matters. Perfect Dark is a thing of beauty. I could talk for hours about the single player mode alone and never mention the fantastic single-player mode, which remains challenging to this day. The reason I am going to stick so much with Multiplayer is, as all reviews of Halo 3 prove, people seem to value Multiplayer above all else. Perfect Dark has THE BEST Multiplayer around; the "Simulants" (Console-controlled Bots) outshine most other games, and frankly any game that came out after Perfect Dark that DIDN'T include Bots cannot be forgiven of this crime. Perfect Dark is showing its age, but it is nonetheless a shining example of how gaming should be. There are so many game modes, weapons and unlockables you'll be kept busy for YEARS, and many of the things we take for granted originated here. An all-time classic. Expand
  4. Aug 20, 2011
    10
    I could itemize each aspect of the game, but what's the point. Everything is great. Everything a FPS fan could have wished, it's here. My onlyI could itemize each aspect of the game, but what's the point. Everything is great. Everything a FPS fan could have wished, it's here. My only complaint is that a few single-player levels are too labyrinthic. But that's just a droplet of strain in an ocean of enjoyment. A game bordering on perfection. Expand
  5. J.Cooper
    May 24, 2006
    10
    "BEST CONSOLE GAME EVER MADE" This game is just AWESOME ! "seems to be the most underrated game ever created for console", ive had the game "BEST CONSOLE GAME EVER MADE" This game is just AWESOME ! "seems to be the most underrated game ever created for console", ive had the game since its release (forced me to buy the expansion) AWESOME single player missions ! Good AI especially in Special Agent and Perfect Agent difficulties.. Super fun and totally configurable multiplayer modes. The graphics were very solid for the time, and the death animations and sounds are eerily realistic at times. And so much more... if you are really into FPS games, Perfect Dark sets a standard for any of the good ones out there. Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    Perfect Dark is possibly the best game Rare ever made. After the success of GoldenEye, Rare went on to make the compelling story of a heroinePerfect Dark is possibly the best game Rare ever made. After the success of GoldenEye, Rare went on to make the compelling story of a heroine names Joanna Dark, an operative out to destroy a rival corporation to her employer. The game was pretty revolutionary at the time and even now, is a fun game to play for anyone who enjoys older games or first-person shooters. It's worth it to play one of the originals. Expand
  7. Sep 27, 2012
    3
    I bought this game based on the positive reviews on Metacritic. However, the game does not age well. FPS's were not meant to be played withI bought this game based on the positive reviews on Metacritic. However, the game does not age well. FPS's were not meant to be played with one joystick, and going back to that is just frustrating. Expand

See all 82 User Reviews