Perfect Dark

Nintendo 64
Perfect Dark Image
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 318 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Step into the Dark... As Carrington Institute's most promising new Agent, Joanna Dark must uncover the truth behind the dataDyne Corporation's recent technological breakthroughs - breakthroughs which could have serious consequences for mankind.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Daily Radar
    100
    Oh yea, oh yea, glory hallelujah -- this is the game we've waited so long for.
  2. Magnificent. Until now, GoldenEye was arguably the best reason for gamers over the age of 16 to own a Nintendo 64. No longer.
  3. CheckOut
    100
    It's a stunning achievement by any measure and stands as one of those rare products that delivers more than you paid for.
  4. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    98
    If "GoldenEye" is a bull's-eye, Perfect Dark hits somewhere in the lungs. [Jan 2004, p.189]
  5. Da Gameboyz
    96
    From superior graphics, which really showcase the capacity of the N64 Expansion Pak, to Dolby Surround Sound, to seemingly unlimited playability potential, "Perfect Dark" is the game of choice for N64 owners.
  6. It’s multiplayer is, by far, the best on Nintendo 64. The Single Player is epic and addicting.
  7. Better than "GoldenEye 007" in every aspect, making it the best first-person shooter at the time of its release. With much deeper Solo Missions and a completely customizable Combat Simulator, Perfect Dark definitely was worth the wait.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 92
  2. Negative: 2 out of 92
  1. SangS
    Aug 13, 2007
    10
    This was a great game. I bought it just recently (2006) because I played the xbox version at a friend's apoartment and it was awesome I This was a great game. I bought it just recently (2006) because I played the xbox version at a friend's apoartment and it was awesome I had to get it for my N64 (I dont own an xbox 360) I thoroughly enjoy the multiplayer mode. Now that I've played PDZ and PD I know the entire story! Expand
  2. SeanB.
    Jul 15, 2004
    10
    Well, not quite a 10, but it would round up. Graphics are a notch or 2 above Goldeneye, but the gameplay is a bit more confusing with all of Well, not quite a 10, but it would round up. Graphics are a notch or 2 above Goldeneye, but the gameplay is a bit more confusing with all of the secondary functions for each weapon. The first two parts on the first mission show promise that the rest will be as good as or even better than Goldeneye. But unfortunately you wind up on alien planets using ray guns and x-ray scopes, which in my opinion is a bit weird. However YOU might find the sci-fi aspect more interesting than the more realistic story and weapons (like in Goldeneye) but I prefer a less far fetched approach. These possible negatives are the ONLY ones, so the positives are endless. This game is awsome and one of the best for the system. The multiplayer is so deep and exciting, your options are endless. (you can even pick the music you want to play to) So grab a friend or 4, sit down infront of the biggest TV, get the snacks out, and waste your mind until your thumbs bleed. Fun as hell, MUST HAVE Expand
  3. TheWargamer
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Ah, a timeless classic... Let's start by addressing the naysayers. Yes, the graphics aren't great anymore. Yes, the game turns to Ah, a timeless classic... Let's start by addressing the naysayers. Yes, the graphics aren't great anymore. Yes, the game turns to Perfect Lag whenever chain explosions kick off. Yes, the AI does seem to "cheat" if you know what you're looking for... but none of that matters. Perfect Dark is a thing of beauty. I could talk for hours about the single player mode alone and never mention the fantastic single-player mode, which remains challenging to this day. The reason I am going to stick so much with Multiplayer is, as all reviews of Halo 3 prove, people seem to value Multiplayer above all else. Perfect Dark has THE BEST Multiplayer around; the "Simulants" (Console-controlled Bots) outshine most other games, and frankly any game that came out after Perfect Dark that DIDN'T include Bots cannot be forgiven of this crime. Perfect Dark is showing its age, but it is nonetheless a shining example of how gaming should be. There are so many game modes, weapons and unlockables you'll be kept busy for YEARS, and many of the things we take for granted originated here. An all-time classic. Expand
  4. Feb 4, 2013
    10
    Perfect Dark is the most perfect first person shooter videogame ever created. I know that is a bold claim, and the game is not everybody's cupPerfect Dark is the most perfect first person shooter videogame ever created. I know that is a bold claim, and the game is not everybody's cup of tea. But why should art have to apologise just because it was designed with an ethos some find disagreeable? Do we judge Pink Floyd for not sounding like Queen? Both are masterful music groups with masterful music. Perfect Dark is a masterpiece of video-game design. If players are unable to tolerate the slow pacing, lack of hand-holding, or the science fiction storyline, that is really their own fault.

    Perfect Dark is filled with features which 13 years of development since have failed to recapture: Destroyable lighting, locational damage on enemies, surrendering AI, an array of clever weapons, non-lethal combat as a viable option, and alternate means of completing common objectives.

    The story is clever, humourous, and told very well via voiced conversations and cutscenes which book-end each mission. Joanna Dark is an interesting protagonist. I can't think of any videogame with a better female lead.

    Also of note is the multiplayer functionality, including well-designed cooperative, the combat simulator, and the inclusion of key maps from Goldeneye.

    Some people complain about this game's framerate. Let me tell you a cute little fact. Perfect Dark runs at a maximum of 50 or 60 frames per second, depending on whether your copy is PAL or NTSC. To compare, Ocarina of Time is capped at 17-20 frames per second. The sluggish framerate is noticable during heavy action in Perfect Dark because the game is capable of running at a much higher framerate at other times. And to be frank, the framerate is not as bad as people make out, and certainly much better than Goldeneye's.

    It's difficult for me to submit this review. I fear I haven't expressed just how beautiful this game is. It changed my life, and has continued to inspire me to this day. It deserves the title of greatest first person shooter ever created, and I suggest it deserves to be considered among the greatest video-games ever created. You owe it to yourself to play this game with an open mind, and most importantly LEARN how to play it. If you've been bought up on Modern Warfare and Quake, this game will be a plodding, dull experience. But if you have a taste for Deus Ex, and games which require the player to think in order to be completed, you will enjoy it. Just make sure you find a control scheme which feels comfortable first. The default is not particularly good for aiming.

    That is all I can think to say. I love Perfect Dark.
    Expand
  5. MichaelS
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    Classic shooter that, despite imperfections even for its time, did an astounding job of blowing Goldeneye clean out of the water. I Classic shooter that, despite imperfections even for its time, did an astounding job of blowing Goldeneye clean out of the water. I don't think I've ever been so excited about one video game, and I'm sure I never will be again. Expand
  6. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    A timeless classic that changed the way fps ar done til today.... they tryied to emulate this king of game many times later, but they haveA timeless classic that changed the way fps ar done til today.... they tryied to emulate this king of game many times later, but they have never got closer Expand
  7. Sep 27, 2012
    3
    I bought this game based on the positive reviews on Metacritic. However, the game does not age well. FPS's were not meant to be played withI bought this game based on the positive reviews on Metacritic. However, the game does not age well. FPS's were not meant to be played with one joystick, and going back to that is just frustrating. Expand

See all 92 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

1
2
#2 Most Discussed N64 Game of 2000
2
#2 Most Shared N64 Game of 2000