Perfect Dark Nintendo 64

Perfect Dark Image
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 273 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Step into the Dark... As Carrington Institute's most promising new Agent, Joanna Dark must uncover the truth behind the dataDyne Corporation's recent technological breakthroughs - breakthroughs which could have serious consequences for mankind.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Daily Radar
    100
    Oh yea, oh yea, glory hallelujah -- this is the game we've waited so long for.
  2. Magnificent. Until now, GoldenEye was arguably the best reason for gamers over the age of 16 to own a Nintendo 64. No longer.
  3. CheckOut
    100
    It's a stunning achievement by any measure and stands as one of those rare products that delivers more than you paid for.
  4. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    98
    If "GoldenEye" is a bull's-eye, Perfect Dark hits somewhere in the lungs. [Jan 2004, p.189]
  5. Da Gameboyz
    96
    From superior graphics, which really showcase the capacity of the N64 Expansion Pak, to Dolby Surround Sound, to seemingly unlimited playability potential, "Perfect Dark" is the game of choice for N64 owners.
  6. It’s multiplayer is, by far, the best on Nintendo 64. The Single Player is epic and addicting.
  7. Better than "GoldenEye 007" in every aspect, making it the best first-person shooter at the time of its release. With much deeper Solo Missions and a completely customizable Combat Simulator, Perfect Dark definitely was worth the wait.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 87
  2. Negative: 3 out of 87
  1. SangS
    Aug 13, 2007
    10
    This was a great game. I bought it just recently (2006) because I played the xbox version at a friend's apoartment and it was awesome I This was a great game. I bought it just recently (2006) because I played the xbox version at a friend's apoartment and it was awesome I had to get it for my N64 (I dont own an xbox 360) I thoroughly enjoy the multiplayer mode. Now that I've played PDZ and PD I know the entire story! Expand
  2. Fabio
    Nov 29, 2004
    10
    Forget Halo...this is the best console FPS ever programmed.
  3. TheWargamer
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Ah, a timeless classic... Let's start by addressing the naysayers. Yes, the graphics aren't great anymore. Yes, the game turns to Ah, a timeless classic... Let's start by addressing the naysayers. Yes, the graphics aren't great anymore. Yes, the game turns to Perfect Lag whenever chain explosions kick off. Yes, the AI does seem to "cheat" if you know what you're looking for... but none of that matters. Perfect Dark is a thing of beauty. I could talk for hours about the single player mode alone and never mention the fantastic single-player mode, which remains challenging to this day. The reason I am going to stick so much with Multiplayer is, as all reviews of Halo 3 prove, people seem to value Multiplayer above all else. Perfect Dark has THE BEST Multiplayer around; the "Simulants" (Console-controlled Bots) outshine most other games, and frankly any game that came out after Perfect Dark that DIDN'T include Bots cannot be forgiven of this crime. Perfect Dark is showing its age, but it is nonetheless a shining example of how gaming should be. There are so many game modes, weapons and unlockables you'll be kept busy for YEARS, and many of the things we take for granted originated here. An all-time classic. Expand
  4. May 27, 2012
    10
    This game was another classic. Addicting gameplay. Music is awesome...A game that will be remembered for a lifetime. So much fun withThis game was another classic. Addicting gameplay. Music is awesome...A game that will be remembered for a lifetime. So much fun with friends!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  5. JoshH.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    Easily one of the best games ever made. Interesting and complex storyline, the origin of secondary "weapon modes", characters with fantastic Easily one of the best games ever made. Interesting and complex storyline, the origin of secondary "weapon modes", characters with fantastic voice-acting, and amazing music..it's transcending! Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    Perfect Dark is possibly the best game Rare ever made. After the success of GoldenEye, Rare went on to make the compelling story of a heroinePerfect Dark is possibly the best game Rare ever made. After the success of GoldenEye, Rare went on to make the compelling story of a heroine names Joanna Dark, an operative out to destroy a rival corporation to her employer. The game was pretty revolutionary at the time and even now, is a fun game to play for anyone who enjoys older games or first-person shooters. It's worth it to play one of the originals. Expand
  7. Sep 27, 2012
    3
    I bought this game based on the positive reviews on Metacritic. However, the game does not age well. FPS's were not meant to be played withI bought this game based on the positive reviews on Metacritic. However, the game does not age well. FPS's were not meant to be played with one joystick, and going back to that is just frustrating. Expand

See all 87 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed N64 Game of 2000
#1 Most Shared N64 Game of 2000