Perfect Dark Nintendo 64
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 210 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Step into the Dark... As Carrington Institute's most promising new Agent, Joanna Dark must uncover the truth behind the dataDyne Corporation's recent technological breakthroughs - breakthroughs which could have serious consequences for mankind.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Oh yea, oh yea, glory hallelujah -- this is the game we've waited so long for.
  2. Magnificent. Until now, GoldenEye was arguably the best reason for gamers over the age of 16 to own a Nintendo 64. No longer.
  3. 100
    It's a stunning achievement by any measure and stands as one of those rare products that delivers more than you paid for.
  4. If "GoldenEye" is a bull's-eye, Perfect Dark hits somewhere in the lungs. [Jan 2004, p.189]
  5. From superior graphics, which really showcase the capacity of the N64 Expansion Pak, to Dolby Surround Sound, to seemingly unlimited playability potential, "Perfect Dark" is the game of choice for N64 owners.
  6. It’s multiplayer is, by far, the best on Nintendo 64. The Single Player is epic and addicting.
  7. Better than "GoldenEye 007" in every aspect, making it the best first-person shooter at the time of its release. With much deeper Solo Missions and a completely customizable Combat Simulator, Perfect Dark definitely was worth the wait.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 81
  2. Negative: 3 out of 81
  1. GuidoP.
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    I'm not entirely sure why nobody mentions that the Combat Simulator, aside from being a great multiplayer tool, is equally adept at I'm not entirely sure why nobody mentions that the Combat Simulator, aside from being a great multiplayer tool, is equally adept at increasing the single-player experience. Getting the highest ranking in Combat Simulator must be one of Video Gaming's most taxing challenges, and this goal can be reached either with a friend, or alone with an ocean of ruthless bots. Of course, the former is preferable, but the latter, if you don't happen to be with a friend, is worth noting, since, to my mind, it is the Combat Simulator, whether played alone or not, that raises what is essentially an 8 or 9 game to a definite 10 and probably one of my favorite games of all time. Expand
  2. SeanB.
    Jul 15, 2004
    10
    Well, not quite a 10, but it would round up. Graphics are a notch or 2 above Goldeneye, but the gameplay is a bit more confusing with all of Well, not quite a 10, but it would round up. Graphics are a notch or 2 above Goldeneye, but the gameplay is a bit more confusing with all of the secondary functions for each weapon. The first two parts on the first mission show promise that the rest will be as good as or even better than Goldeneye. But unfortunately you wind up on alien planets using ray guns and x-ray scopes, which in my opinion is a bit weird. However YOU might find the sci-fi aspect more interesting than the more realistic story and weapons (like in Goldeneye) but I prefer a less far fetched approach. These possible negatives are the ONLY ones, so the positives are endless. This game is awsome and one of the best for the system. The multiplayer is so deep and exciting, your options are endless. (you can even pick the music you want to play to) So grab a friend or 4, sit down infront of the biggest TV, get the snacks out, and waste your mind until your thumbs bleed. Fun as hell, MUST HAVE Expand
  3. TheWargamer
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Ah, a timeless classic... Let's start by addressing the naysayers. Yes, the graphics aren't great anymore. Yes, the game turns to Ah, a timeless classic... Let's start by addressing the naysayers. Yes, the graphics aren't great anymore. Yes, the game turns to Perfect Lag whenever chain explosions kick off. Yes, the AI does seem to "cheat" if you know what you're looking for... but none of that matters. Perfect Dark is a thing of beauty. I could talk for hours about the single player mode alone and never mention the fantastic single-player mode, which remains challenging to this day. The reason I am going to stick so much with Multiplayer is, as all reviews of Halo 3 prove, people seem to value Multiplayer above all else. Perfect Dark has THE BEST Multiplayer around; the "Simulants" (Console-controlled Bots) outshine most other games, and frankly any game that came out after Perfect Dark that DIDN'T include Bots cannot be forgiven of this crime. Perfect Dark is showing its age, but it is nonetheless a shining example of how gaming should be. There are so many game modes, weapons and unlockables you'll be kept busy for YEARS, and many of the things we take for granted originated here. An all-time classic. Expand
  4. Aug 20, 2011
    10
    I could itemize each aspect of the game, but what's the point. Everything is great. Everything a FPS fan could have wished, it's here. My onlyI could itemize each aspect of the game, but what's the point. Everything is great. Everything a FPS fan could have wished, it's here. My only complaint is that a few single-player levels are too labyrinthic. But that's just a droplet of strain in an ocean of enjoyment. A game bordering on perfection. Expand
  5. TiagoJ
    Dec 30, 2008
    10
    One of the best FPS ever released! One of the best multiplayer modes in a console. One of the best graphics in its decade. Simply perfect! One of the best FPS ever released! One of the best multiplayer modes in a console. One of the best graphics in its decade. Simply perfect! The game I've spent more time in all my life. Collapse
  6. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    A Masterpiece of overall gaming by legendary developer Rareware. Don't judge the game by the mockery of "yet another generic first-personA Masterpiece of overall gaming by legendary developer Rareware. Don't judge the game by the mockery of "yet another generic first-person shooter" because IT ISN'T. Games like this only happen once in your life. I purchased this brilliant game in late 2000, from then on I've never looked at another video game in the same light. Sure, some might bash it for its chuggy issues (e.g. frame rate), which is never actually a problem, but its design is IMPECCABLE. And even after unlocking all the cheats, even after completing all the challenges, and even after spending my entire teen life playing this game, I still find something new to do every time I go back to Perfect Dark. It is an unmatched enjoyment that, in fact I count myself lucky to experience. Expand
  7. Sep 27, 2012
    3
    I bought this game based on the positive reviews on Metacritic. However, the game does not age well. FPS's were not meant to be played withI bought this game based on the positive reviews on Metacritic. However, the game does not age well. FPS's were not meant to be played with one joystick, and going back to that is just frustrating. Expand

See all 81 User Reviews

Trailers