User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. FicusTheFlamingCow
    Apr 1, 2002
    10
    This is simply the best puzzle game I have ever played, ever. I implore everyone to check it out. Forget about the Pokemon. Play it for the game.
  2. JenniferK.
    May 13, 2003
    10
    This is my absolute favorite game in the world!!!! It is a great twist on tetris that really makes you think. I like how you can chang the individual players level of difficulty. This way I can play a fair game with my 4 year old where he can actually beat me. A+++++++++
  3. GavenP.
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    its my favorite game and you can even get super hard as a difficultyso i gave it a10.
  4. Tracey
    Sep 2, 2001
    9
    This game, although incredibly similar to "Tetris Attack," is more like a step up from "Yoshi Pandepon." Sure, the graphics are all Pokémon instead of Yoshi, but that makes the game a bit brighter! "Tetris Attack" used mostly pastels, but this game is bolder (colorwise). Also, the 3D mode is a challenge for even "Tetris Attack" masters. The opponents in Puzzle League are a bit This game, although incredibly similar to "Tetris Attack," is more like a step up from "Yoshi Pandepon." Sure, the graphics are all Pokémon instead of Yoshi, but that makes the game a bit brighter! "Tetris Attack" used mostly pastels, but this game is bolder (colorwise). Also, the 3D mode is a challenge for even "Tetris Attack" masters. The opponents in Puzzle League are a bit harder and the speeds are a bit faster, and the music is great. There are lots of play areas (Marathon, Time Zone, Spa Service, to name a few), and a lot of the Pokémon characters made it into the game, which is nice. I'd say the only flaw is in the new 3D mode. From time to time it will whip you around to another part of the screen. Expand
  5. MichaelL.
    Oct 9, 2001
    9
    I love this game! It's really great! (Sorry for my mistakes with the language but I'm German!). Pokémon Puzzle League is the best game I've ever played. It's even better than "Tetris Attack" because of two new things: 1. The 3D-Mode (You have to know I do always play TimeTrial-Mode because I thing it's more just). 2. The possibility to make longer chains I love this game! It's really great! (Sorry for my mistakes with the language but I'm German!). Pokémon Puzzle League is the best game I've ever played. It's even better than "Tetris Attack" because of two new things: 1. The 3D-Mode (You have to know I do always play TimeTrial-Mode because I thing it's more just). 2. The possibility to make longer chains than x13 (Tetris Attack)! In "Tetris Attack" you had to finish your chain after x13 because you didn't earn more points. Now you can get much longer chains! One time (Time-Trial-Mode 3D Level 1) I made 91214 points because of this new possibility! The only thing which is not very good is: When your playing 2-Player Mode Time Trial 3D Level 1 it can often be that the game begins to run much slower when both players have very fast and long chains. o.K., this is all I wanted to say. bye lederichbiker@web.de Expand
  6. Chelsey
    Jul 2, 2003
    9
    The games and puzzles are so much fun!
  7. TylerR.
    Mar 23, 2002
    8
    Pretty interesting.
  8. Aug 30, 2013
    8
    Tetris on steroids, Pokémon Snap is a one-dimensional RPG in a wonderland of puzzlement. Despite the trivial and rather niche gameplay, it is addictive in offering a variety of play styles. Remaining fresh through each new advancement, the game maintains a outflow of entertainment simply through stacking and matching blocks!
  9. [Anonymous]
    Jun 10, 2001
    5
    1 player mode is fun for awhile, but after playing for days, even the computer on its Super Hard level becomes easy. Also, this is almost exactly like Tetris Attack which I had the happened to own for some time. Basically the original is better then the newer game since it was superb for its time and it isn't a "clone" like this one is. Don't get me wrong, I still play it, but 1 player mode is fun for awhile, but after playing for days, even the computer on its Super Hard level becomes easy. Also, this is almost exactly like Tetris Attack which I had the happened to own for some time. Basically the original is better then the newer game since it was superb for its time and it isn't a "clone" like this one is. Don't get me wrong, I still play it, but when you are facing the "extra levels" like Butch and Cassidy, everything [that I noticed] was the same as Tetris Attack. 2 Player mode is the only time you get to pick the trainer of your choice and that makes it hard if you try to pick which trainer you like most. The only reason I play 2 player is because of the much needed cpu control of player two. Create a puzzle has been done in other tetris games like tetris attack and even that won't hook people for too long. Overall, I think that once you become a master at the game you possibly will never play it again. Expand
  10. [Anonymous]
    Jun 10, 2001
    4
    Overall, it's been done but with the option of a cpu controlled 2nd player and create a puzzle mode; it is mildly addicting.
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. There could be a bit more variety to the sound clips, but it doesn't matter much--after the fourth or fifth time you hear "Pi-ka-chu!" you'll be pushed to the brink of madness anyway.
  2. Based on the classic "Tetris Attack," Pokemon Puzzle League is a highly addictive substance. [Jan 2004, p.189]
  3. Should puzzle fans give Puzzle League a whirl, even if they don't dig on Pokemon? Hell, yeah.