Pokemon Puzzle League Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Discover the most frantic, frenzied, fun-filled Pokémon challenge ever--Pokémon Puzzle League! Line up three or more blocks of the same type to clear them off the screen. Create chains and combos to send garbage to your opponent. Collect badges from other Pokémon trainers to earn the right to enter the ultimate competition... a battle against the mysterious Puzzle Master! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Everything about the game is fun and everything about the production value says quality.
  2. Far from being the cash-in we'd all expected, this is one of the best puzzlers money can buy. Excellent stuff indeed.
  3. Based on the classic "Tetris Attack," Pokemon Puzzle League is a highly addictive substance. [Jan 2004, p.189]
  4. 80
    Even though it's yet another take on Tetris, Pokemon Puzzle League has enough game modes to give it extra depth, and learning the art of advanced chains and combos will take a long time.
  5. A ton of alternative playing options (two-player versus, puzzles, timed play, and more), and hidden characters to unlock, so the game never gets boring.
  6. "Tetris Attack" has been dipped into a big vat of melted Pokemon goo, creating a shell of backgrounds and music that's now called Pokemon Puzzle League.
  7. It takes Tetris Attack and offers so little in the way of new material that it redefines the word "shameless."

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. GavenP.
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    its my favorite game and you can even get super hard as a difficultyso i gave it a10.
  2. FicusTheFlamingCow
    Apr 1, 2002
    10
    This is simply the best puzzle game I have ever played, ever. I implore everyone to check it out. Forget about the Pokemon. Play it for the game.
  3. JenniferK.
    May 13, 2003
    10
    This is my absolute favorite game in the world!!!! It is a great twist on tetris that really makes you think. I like how you can chang the individual players level of difficulty. This way I can play a fair game with my 4 year old where he can actually beat me. A+++++++++ Expand
  4. Tracey
    Sep 2, 2001
    9
    This game, although incredibly similar to "Tetris Attack," is more like a step up from "Yoshi Pandepon." Sure, the graphics are all Pokémon instead of Yoshi, but that makes the game a bit brighter! "Tetris Attack" used mostly pastels, but this game is bolder (colorwise). Also, the 3D mode is a challenge for even "Tetris Attack" masters. The opponents in Puzzle League are a bit harder and the speeds are a bit faster, and the music is great. There are lots of play areas (Marathon, Time Zone, Spa Service, to name a few), and a lot of the Pokémon characters made it into the game, which is nice. I'd say the only flaw is in the new 3D mode. From time to time it will whip you around to another part of the screen. Collapse
  5. MichaelL.
    Oct 9, 2001
    9
    I love this game! It's really great! (Sorry for my mistakes with the language but I'm German!). Pokémon Puzzle League is the best game I've ever played. It's even better than "Tetris Attack" because of two new things: 1. The 3D-Mode (You have to know I do always play TimeTrial-Mode because I thing it's more just). 2. The possibility to make longer chains than x13 (Tetris Attack)! In "Tetris Attack" you had to finish your chain after x13 because you didn't earn more points. Now you can get much longer chains! One time (Time-Trial-Mode 3D Level 1) I made 91214 points because of this new possibility! The only thing which is not very good is: When your playing 2-Player Mode Time Trial 3D Level 1 it can often be that the game begins to run much slower when both players have very fast and long chains. o.K., this is all I wanted to say. bye lederichbiker@web.de Expand
  6. Aug 30, 2013
    8
    Tetris on steroids, Pokémon Snap is a one-dimensional RPG in a wonderland of puzzlement. Despite the trivial and rather niche gameplay, it is addictive in offering a variety of play styles. Remaining fresh through each new advancement, the game maintains a outflow of entertainment simply through stacking and matching blocks! Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Jun 10, 2001
    5
    1 player mode is fun for awhile, but after playing for days, even the computer on its Super Hard level becomes easy. Also, this is almost exactly like Tetris Attack which I had the happened to own for some time. Basically the original is better then the newer game since it was superb for its time and it isn't a "clone" like this one is. Don't get me wrong, I still play it, but when you are facing the "extra levels" like Butch and Cassidy, everything [that I noticed] was the same as Tetris Attack. 2 Player mode is the only time you get to pick the trainer of your choice and that makes it hard if you try to pick which trainer you like most. The only reason I play 2 player is because of the much needed cpu control of player two. Create a puzzle has been done in other tetris games like tetris attack and even that won't hook people for too long. Overall, I think that once you become a master at the game you possibly will never play it again. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews