Rayman 2: The Great Escape Nintendo 64

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 48
  2. Negative: 2 out of 48

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 21, 2015
    9
    This game is absolutely amazing!

    PROS
    -Story
    -Gameplay
    -Combat

    Cons
    -Bugs .
  2. Jul 30, 2014
    10
    When I see critics prasising platform games and they do not speak about Rayman my heart is a little bit hurt. I mean, for it's time Rayman had one of the best controls and enviroments I've ever seen. The characters were cartoony and memorable and even with a bad fighting system, the game was true to it's roots and the pursuit stages are so iconic that they should be right next to MarioWhen I see critics prasising platform games and they do not speak about Rayman my heart is a little bit hurt. I mean, for it's time Rayman had one of the best controls and enviroments I've ever seen. The characters were cartoony and memorable and even with a bad fighting system, the game was true to it's roots and the pursuit stages are so iconic that they should be right next to Mario Bros.' first stage and Green Hill. Rayman will always be our dark little gem. Expand
  3. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Well, this was one of the first games i played as a kid, and I can honestly say, that it is still one of my favourites. It held beautiful art and graphics that just captivated you; puzzling challenges that can keep you thrilled; and a simple, yet adorable story, that leads through this mystical world...
  4. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    BenjaminB. is a freaking loonatic. This game oozes with creativity, and unique gameplay DK64 failed to offer. Not that DK64 was a bad game, it's like comparing salt to sugar. They're two completely different things. All in all, wonderful game.
  5. Apr 2, 2011
    9
    Well, Rayman 2: The Great Escape was certainly a great addition to my gaming collection as a young child. I honestly didn't expect to be hooked as much to Rayman 2, considering I found the first instalment to be particularly frustrating. However, I loved it. The controls were practically flawless, with a few minor hiccups, like when the camera angle suddenly spun around and you forgetWell, Rayman 2: The Great Escape was certainly a great addition to my gaming collection as a young child. I honestly didn't expect to be hooked as much to Rayman 2, considering I found the first instalment to be particularly frustrating. However, I loved it. The controls were practically flawless, with a few minor hiccups, like when the camera angle suddenly spun around and you forget which way you're supposed to be heading. Was it left, or right? The audio was absolutely amazing. Tension when tension was required, and excitement when excitement was required. The only part of this game I didn't particularly enjoy was the storyline. There was simply too many characters to understand what was going on when I was a child. However, I didn't let this bother me. Some levels were incredibly hard (The Sanctuary of Stone and Fire to name just one), however I had good fun giving them a go. I am awaiting the arrival of Rayman 3D on the Nintendo 3DS (which is this game, but on the 3DS). I hope it's just as good and too many things haven't changed, otherwise I may never get another chance to play this game... Expand
  6. EwanM
    Apr 11, 2009
    10
    Ah, I remember that day, in 1998, I was 12 years old. Walking through the game store, looking for something to spend my money on. Aha!, Banjo-Kazooie! My little sister asks me to by her a different game. Rayman 2. "plllf, looks mediocre" I say. I bought it to make her happy. I went home to spend the next few hours playing my game. Little did I know they would be some of the best hours of Ah, I remember that day, in 1998, I was 12 years old. Walking through the game store, looking for something to spend my money on. Aha!, Banjo-Kazooie! My little sister asks me to by her a different game. Rayman 2. "plllf, looks mediocre" I say. I bought it to make her happy. I went home to spend the next few hours playing my game. Little did I know they would be some of the best hours of my life. Stunning music and graphics, fluent controls, perfectly pitched platforming, a mammoth story, and a truly difficult adventure make it my favourite game on the N64. Collapse
  7. BenjaminB.
    Apr 2, 2007
    8
    when this game came out, I had the choice between this one and Donkey Kong 64. I'm really glad I chose DK64. one year later I played this game (low budget) on the PC with a gamepad. there's nothing bad in this game, but there isn't anything in it which makes it special. I even forgot I've ever played it, so further years later I played it again. you don't do when this game came out, I had the choice between this one and Donkey Kong 64. I'm really glad I chose DK64. one year later I played this game (low budget) on the PC with a gamepad. there's nothing bad in this game, but there isn't anything in it which makes it special. I even forgot I've ever played it, so further years later I played it again. you don't do anything wrong with this game, but don't expect a gameplay-revolution. Expand
  8. Zoomeister
    Feb 1, 2006
    10
    Wacky, twisted three dimensional cartoon. What truly makes the game are it's bold, richly detailed worlds, fuild controls and balls out epic structure, with the wicked twist of Alice in Wonderland style surreal splashes of colour and life.
  9. MichelleP.
    Sep 8, 2003
    10
    Don't judge a book buy its cover. This may look cheesy, but it really isn't. I remember the first time I got to play it, it was with my cousin and man, it was fun. The settings and are beautiful and unique, as well as the character designs and the characters themselves. While the game may look like another Banjo Kazooie, it really isn't. It has a dark and exciting. It has a Don't judge a book buy its cover. This may look cheesy, but it really isn't. I remember the first time I got to play it, it was with my cousin and man, it was fun. The settings and are beautiful and unique, as well as the character designs and the characters themselves. While the game may look like another Banjo Kazooie, it really isn't. It has a dark and exciting. It has a dose of great humor in it as well. Oh yeah, and it's extremely fun to play as well as it is entertaining for those people around you to watch. Rayman himself is probably the coolest hero next to Link. Don't ignore this one!! Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Quite simply, it's a game you have to play if you like playing games. Its combination of old and new school elements make Rayman 2 a breath of fresh air in the flood of titles released this holiday season. Don't miss it.
  2. To say that Rayman 2 impressed me would be a tremendous understatement. About the only blemish the game has is its lack of any multiplayer contests.
  3. This game plays as good as it looks. Rayman himself responds perfectly to the analogue stick and it doesn’t take very long before controlling him becomes second nature, leaving you to focus your attention on the aweinspiring graphics and infinitely interesting environments. In fact, I can say with a clear conscious that Rayman 2 is absolutely THE BEST FORCED PATH 3D PLATFORMER ON ANY SYSTEM TO DATE. PERIOD.