Star Fox 64 Nintendo 64
Star Fox 64 Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 90 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Lylat system has been invaded! Join Fox McCloud and his Star Fox team as they fight to save the galaxy from the clutches of the evil Andross. Travel to many different 3-D worlds. Battle the enemy in the air and on the ground and listen in as Fox McCloud interacts with a cast of characters.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 100
    Furious flying, controller-melting action, gorgeous graphics, and weird adversaries launch StarFox 64 into the stratosphere.
  2. A very pretty reprise of the original Star Fox story, but with new stuff. [Jan 2004, p.189]
  3. Starfox 64, while being a solid title, has one major flaw, length. Although there are separate paths, the game still isn't long enough. Within an hour of booting it, I finished the game, within the next half hour, I completed one of the alternate paths, etc.
  4. 87
    Takes the never-say-die shooter genre to new levels of complexity, sleek design, and gameplay control. StarFox 64 represents the next leap in the evolution of Nintendo games.
  5. The only thing that really kept StarFox 64 from taking off was its lack of difficulty. The game was insanely easy, almost to the point of amazement.
  6. Several interesting twists on the classic arcade shooter bring this game up a few notches.
  7. This game surpasses the 16 bit original in more ways than graphics. Overall, a strong game with some serious flaws.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Aug 20, 2014
    10
    like omg like totally worst game Yoshi wasn't in this one BOO!! I mean how can you make a star fox game with out Yoshi? Doesn't make any sense to me what so ever. Expand
  2. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    Great graphics for the game system, and a wonderful story that has had me hooked for years. It has addicting game play that allows you to keep playing the game over and over again. It is the best game of the star fox franchise, the best game on the nintendo 64, and i think the best video game overall. Expand
  3. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    Star Fox 64 is one of those amazing games that cannot be described in words, as nothing I can say will be adequate enough to describe an amazing thing that can only be experience firsthand. This is a game you simply must try. Collapse
  4. Jan 19, 2011
    9
    I came to play this game late. Never really interested, but it still tried it. I loved it and I am pretty sure I played from start to finish in one sitting... that sounds too insane but I think it's accurate. Expand
  5. Aug 14, 2011
    9
    A thoroughly original and addictive game with fluid gameplay and a large cast of characters. Fast paced and large scale action make this a game that showed what the N64 was capable of. Maneuvering in all range battles can often be tricky but apart from this there is little that holds the game back. Expand
  6. Jun 30, 2014
    8
    This game is awesome fun. The story is cheesy but I loved the characters as a kid (and still do) and the missions were varied and always fun (as well as challenging). Being unable to save during the single-player was a bit of a pain however and the game was pretty short but very high on replay value. The multiplayer was really fun too although it could have done with a few more maps or modes. It's still my favourite space-shooter to this day. Expand
  7. Feb 7, 2011
    2
    I was so disappointed by this game that I registered on this site just so that I can warn other people, because this game has yet to receive an honest review. What we have here is a turd wrapped in gold. As a big fan of Starfox for the SNES, as well as Starfox 2 for the SNES, I thought it would be perfectly natural for me to enjoy Starfox 64 for the N64. Ooh how naive I was. This is easily not only the worse Starfox I have ever played, but also the worse N64 shooter that I have played as well. Honestly, I am still in shock over how absolutely awful this game turned out to be.

    You see, the worse thing about this game is all of the hype and praise that surrounds it. You get the impression that not only is this a fantastic N64 game, but one of the best! At first, it is a very good game. However, once you get into it, you realize how this is a video game that is clearly a victim of genuinely terrible game design. Everything is way too easy at first, it's dead obvious. So how did the game designers fix this? You would be right to think that they simply made it more challenging later on, but sadly this is not true. The route that the designers chose to make this game more challenging was to simply make it cheap, and cheap as hell. That's right, you will not lose due to your own skill, no, if you lose, it will be due to some poor and/or cheap design choice. To top it all off, the final boss is nothing but a giant, detached, floating monkey head with giant, detached, floating hands. I think that pretty well explains the story for this game as well.

    With the 3DS coming out soon, and a 3DS version announced, I got this game to see what the hype is all about. Please, don't buy into the hype. There is nothing good and/or special to be found here.
    Expand

See all 29 User Reviews