Super Mario 64 Nintendo 64

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 512 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 512

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TrystanS.
    Oct 29, 2002
    6
    Personally I dislike the N64 itself, and I'm not very fond of this game either, because there are too many controls, almost more than Spider-man: The Movie for the PS2's controls, and you can't really steer Mario as well, and it's well, I don't know what else there is for me to say about this game. I am a fan of Mario but this game is not really a masterpiece, Personally I dislike the N64 itself, and I'm not very fond of this game either, because there are too many controls, almost more than Spider-man: The Movie for the PS2's controls, and you can't really steer Mario as well, and it's well, I don't know what else there is for me to say about this game. I am a fan of Mario but this game is not really a masterpiece, well, not for me, but other fans might find this game a success. Expand
  2. May 24, 2014
    5
    I know this game was revolutionary, but whenever I pick it up and play it- it always ends in frustration about one of the many things that this game hasn't aged well in. Some of these bad things are: that the camera is clunky, Mario cannot turn around without running in a circle, the music (while great) gets old very quickly, and also the fact that there are so many stars per level- I getI know this game was revolutionary, but whenever I pick it up and play it- it always ends in frustration about one of the many things that this game hasn't aged well in. Some of these bad things are: that the camera is clunky, Mario cannot turn around without running in a circle, the music (while great) gets old very quickly, and also the fact that there are so many stars per level- I get tired of going back to the same boring level over and over again to get stars. In conclusion, while the game was an 8.5/10 in 1996, now the game is extremely dated and frustrating because of it. Expand
  3. JoeS.
    Feb 21, 2008
    5
    An okay game, but ultimately boring if you're not a die hard Mario fan. The enemies are as goofy as always, the levels are small to moderate in size with little to look at except green and brown walls, and ultimately you're just doing the same thing over and over again as you try to grab stars. I am totally lost as to why people call this the best game of all time. I stopped An okay game, but ultimately boring if you're not a die hard Mario fan. The enemies are as goofy as always, the levels are small to moderate in size with little to look at except green and brown walls, and ultimately you're just doing the same thing over and over again as you try to grab stars. I am totally lost as to why people call this the best game of all time. I stopped playing after half an hour and have never played it since. Expand
  4. WarioI.
    Jun 1, 2002
    7
    I'm wishing this game could be a 2-4 player because mario games are cool with 4 player game like mario party 1 - 3.
  5. BeauQ.
    Mar 28, 2006
    7
    A classic game after all these years.
  6. Jan 29, 2014
    5
    I just can't understand why people ike this game.Absolutely awful,just awful graphic(it is all because of the platform),easy to die because of bad camera view.Characters looks absolutely awful,no one looks as in original game,especially Bowser.5,8 out of ten because it is QUITE playable
  7. Aug 22, 2014
    7
    this game is good but could be better it has solid controls and level design a great hubworld with 3 new powerups the wing cap, the vanish cap and the metal cap and if you download project 64 and a rom of the game you can have ALL 3 AT ONCE!!!
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. The distribution of power stars in the levels is horrendous. I think 7 stars in one level is more than enough, don't you think? I understand that there are memory constraints, but there either could have been less stars overall, or 1 (maybe 2) more level(s). Definately a problem.
  2. It has quickly grown to become the standard by which almost all other games are measured.
  3. This is definitely a game no game collection should be without...Seriously!