Super Mario 64 Nintendo 64
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 381 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 381

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 22, 2014
    7
    this game is good but could be better it has solid controls and level design a great hubworld with 3 new powerups the wing cap, the vanish cap and the metal cap and if you download project 64 and a rom of the game you can have ALL 3 AT ONCE!!!
  2. Jul 9, 2014
    3
    This game basically sucked. Classics are not always good. The graphics were horrible Crash Bandicoot had way better gameplay and graphics. Bosses were lame and repetitive. For the DS was better because the original is not the best. Bowser looked like an oversized stuffed animals. The gameplay overall was boring got bored after collecting a couple stars. The one thing I liked was some of the level designs. Although many PS1 games looked way better such as Spyro the Dragon or Crash Bandicoot Expand
  3. Jun 30, 2014
    10
    This game and everything about it brings back such happy memories for me. I remember being mesmerized by it as a kid. As always with Mario titles the level design was great and very varied, there was lots of cool things like the sliding missions to break up the usual platforming gameplay but above-all the music was probably the best of any Mario title I've ever played. Visually the game was bursting with colour and I remember it being very challenging. I can't wait to replay this one day. A definite classic. Expand
  4. Jun 9, 2014
    10
    Dayum this is a good game best mario game ever in my opnion, so many feels from this game memories with family playing it and friends as well especially all the memories from that on lvl were u must throw bowser onto the bombs :'( good ol days! Really fun game I recomend it to everyone even if it is 1996.
  5. Jun 3, 2014
    10
    Mario 64 is in my Eyes the best Platformer ever. It has a whole lot of easter-eggs and such. the controls feels responsive the gameplay fells good, the sountrack is godly. overall it has a couple of bugs but those bugs are only found because the game has been out for such a long time. this is normal with any game. it's not like you meet a bug on your first playtrough. that is highly unlikely. a masterpiece Expand
  6. Jun 2, 2014
    10
    This game is very good I have it on my wii and it is pure awesomeness good graphics and technology thank you Nintendo for this great game thank you I give this a ten
  7. May 24, 2014
    5
    I know this game was revolutionary, but whenever I pick it up and play it- it always ends in frustration about one of the many things that this game hasn't aged well in. Some of these bad things are: that the camera is clunky, Mario cannot turn around without running in a circle, the music (while great) gets old very quickly, and also the fact that there are so many stars per level- I get tired of going back to the same boring level over and over again to get stars. In conclusion, while the game was an 8.5/10 in 1996, now the game is extremely dated and frustrating because of it. Expand
  8. Apr 11, 2014
    10
    This is one of the few games that have set the standard for all games ever very possibly the best game ever in every aspect espiccally for the N64 its amazing how well this game was devoloped
  9. Apr 5, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While I don't care for this game as much as some people I will admit that I have always enjoyed Mario's first 3D Platformer; Super Mario 64. I do have some nostalgia from this game even though I didn't grow up playing that many video games, I just remember playing this game at a friend's house and I very much enjoyed it. So I eventually got my own copy of the game on the Wii Virtual Console later on in my life and when I got a used N64, I got the original SM64 cart as well, and I still enjoy the game today. The gameplay is solid, there are many different levels with very fun stars to collect, one thing though is that it the level themes may get repetitive; for example early on in the game you will find the level Cool, Cool Mountain which is a snow themed level, but later on in the game you find Snowman's Land; while the levels had their differences, I kind of wished for more diversity in themes, but maybe I shouldn't criticize that since the game may have have some limitations in being made. The bosses are okay, however I do think the final boss against Bowser is cool. I also like Mario's new abilities like being able to kick and ground-pound. Overall Super Mario 64 is a classic; while I do like Sunshine and the Galaxy games better, every gamer should play this. Expand
  10. Mar 31, 2014
    9
    At the the time it revolutionized the gaming industry. This was by far the most epic game of my generation. Super Mario 64 to this day is the best plat former I have ever played. The character is one of the greatest invented. Super Mario 64 will be a game that my children's children will play.
  11. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    Revolutionary. A classic. Look past the graphics. Sweet baby Jesus 64. Again, one of the most revolutionary video games of the forever. Thank you Nintendo, please have my baby Luigi.
  12. Mar 9, 2014
    10
    I love this game, solid controls, camera, and it looks great. While it is not as good as Banjo Kazooie, the creativity and effort is there, and I would recommend it to anyone looking to play a platformer. You could say the game is just an inspiration to others and that's why it's praised, but it's that way for a reason, picking what stars to get when, and creative design show this. It's only short coming is that some stars are a bit tedious to get. Expand
  13. Feb 8, 2014
    9
    A truly great game with amazing aspects. It's quite a blast to play through fully, although the experience is a bit overrated by fans of the game back in the day.
  14. Jan 29, 2014
    5
    I just can't understand why people ike this game.Absolutely awful,just awful graphic(it is all because of the platform),easy to die because of bad camera view.Characters looks absolutely awful,no one looks as in original game,especially Bowser.5,8 out of ten because it is QUITE playable
  15. Jan 13, 2014
    9
    this is considered the best game of all time because it has not grown old with time and it was glorious! sure, the difficulty was pretty cruel, but this game had all we Mario fans could ask for.
  16. Jan 9, 2014
    10
    The best 3D Platformer and overall just best platformers ever made. Super Mario 64 is a landmark is gaming and rightfully so. The gameplay is amazing, the soundtrack is one of the best in a video game, the level design is amazing, the atmosphere in the levels fit the levels perfectly, the bosses are memorable and is pretty challenging (especially those hidden stars). This is my 2nd favorite game of all time behind Twilight Princess and is just one of the best games ever made and is in my opinion the best game that came out in the 90's. Super Mario 64 is a piece of history. Expand
  17. Jan 5, 2014
    10
    Probably the best video game ever made, with unforgettable levels and musics. If you talk about 3D video games, this one is a must-have. It redefined the platform standards and perfectly launched the N64 back in 1996. If you don't have it, or if you never played it (I hope you did), then buy it, or emulate it if you want, but do something quick, this really is a fantastic masterpiece.
  18. Dec 20, 2013
    8
    It was great as a 3D Mario game, but the camera isn't just bad it's totally evil! The controls are also kinda shifty, the music starts eating away at your brains after about 1 minute, and it's REALLY glitchy.
  19. Dec 7, 2013
    10
    I was never an "N64 kid," so I wasn't lucky enough to experience the plumber's first 3D adventure when it was unleashed upon the world in 1996. Because my vision isn't blurred by the lovely intoxicant that is nostalgia, I can see the game it for what it truly is, after all those years. And what it is, is hands down, one of the greatest video games of all time. While the graphics have clearly aged poorly, the controls, gameplay, and music of Super Mario 64 are still worthy of the term greatness. However, the number one aspect of this game, above any other, is simply the fun you will have playing through it. And then playing through it again to get all 120 Stars. And another time just for fun. A must play, for all who game. Now, if you'll excuse me, I must go play some Super Mario 64. Expand
  20. Nov 27, 2013
    10
    This is the first game i ever played. And the best. The visuals are awesome, The control is precise and the gameplay is just fun. There is a lot of worlds and they all feel unique. Best game ever.
  21. Nov 21, 2013
    8
    a great 3d platformer (tough EXTREMLEY overatated) worth a play honestly its poor in comparison to games like galaxy or 3d land/world it IS the first 3d mario game ever so for a first its pulled off great but there are 3 problems i have with it controls
  22. Nov 3, 2013
    9
    One of the best games of all time. All true gamers should play this game, if they already didn't. Controls are easy to learn and comfortable. Music feels free and many tunes are really catchy. I've got all stars trice already. The only bad thing I see about this game is the fact that levels feel a bit "empty". It's still worth buying because it's simply a funny to play and entertaining classic game. Expand
  23. Sep 19, 2013
    9
    This game will always be known as one, if not THE best platformer of all time. Each level is amazing, with amazing music to go along with them. To this day, Super Mario 64 holds up very well. Though this game is not perfect (camera becomes an issue quite a few times), this game is one that will always be known as an all time great.
  24. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    This is hands down one of the best games in history. Graphics and gameplay are classic the story is great all of it just incredible! If you have a N64 and dont own mario 64 you are missing out. I wish luigi was in there.
  25. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    This is one of the best Mario games I ever played. This is why I still prefer the N64 out of any video game console out there, better luck next time Playstation 1. Score: 4/5.
  26. Aug 24, 2013
    10
    Mario has to save the princess yet again, but with a twist. In this ever expanding franchise during its prime, this has to be the most perfect Mario game and the best early built 3D platformer of its time. This game has colorful graphics, fun and catchy tunes, and a lovable icon throughout many video game fans.

    This game tosses you in and offers you endless exploration and secrets. The
    game offers you both simplicity and challenge, and it feels rewarding for your efforts.

    5/5
    Expand
  27. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    Easily one of the best games ever made. The level design is ingenious, the stars are fun to collect, and it has that classical Nintendo charm. I recommend this as a must have for any Nintendo or classic game fan. You will not be disappointed.
  28. Jul 20, 2013
    8
    This game is a blast to play. It's hard these days to see games so much adventure than SM64. In retrospect, the game did'nt age as well as many other platformers at the time (mainly Banjo-Kazooie), but overall it's a part of gaming history, and should be played at least once in your life.
  29. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    This is still one of my favorite Mario Games. I think it has aged very well and it is still fun to play even after finding all 120 stars. The graphics still hold up well and there is so much to do in the game that it is still fun to play even after all the stars are found. For good reason Mario64 will be forever considered a classic platform game.
  30. Jun 27, 2013
    10
    Super Mario 64 might just be the best 3D platformer around. Every level is interesting, full of secrets and stars to collect. The controls are near perfect. The music is amazing.

    Yet the most stunning things about this game is that it's for the N64. Had a game like this been released today with better graphics, it would be considered amazing. And yet this game was released over 10 years
    ago. This speaks volumes as to why this game is a masterpiece. If you haven't experienced Super Mario 64, you haven't experienced what gaming is all about. Expand
  31. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    Now Mario is different, obviously the plot is mostly the same as the last games, but what makes this game so special? THE NEW 3D, so fun, so weird, and you can't stop playing it, well just take a breathe, the platforms are different in each 'picture', not the same, and has many puzzles that, sometimes are very stressing or tire, but are ingenious.
  32. May 18, 2013
    10
    This game made my childhood, this game is the reason why I am still playing games, I am saying this is because of the fact that this is one of the reasons why there are Mario games still being created, probably for the main reason being that they nailed the 3D platform for it's time, and is a true inspiration to many people around the world.
  33. May 1, 2013
    9
    Super Mario 64 has reshaped the 3D platforming genre in video games, along with precise gameplay (except the camera controls). There are barely any story elements involved, but that is not the point of this game. It has a variety of level design and power abilities that the player has in his/her disposal that are useful and FUN in missions, which is a plus. Each objective require different skills to complete. The soundtrack is spectacular and each score fits in every aspect, whether in a castle, a sunken ship, or a boss battle. The puzzles are creative and in some cases time consuming, yet rewarding. Sure, there are some glitches around, but it does not effect the progression of the game. The enemies' AI is fair, not easy nor difficult. It has an intermediate amount of gameplay due to the amount of objectives (20+ hours). This game is a prime example of 3D platforming that inspired later games of the same genre. Super Mario 64 needs to be played whether for fun or for use in video game studies. Expand
  34. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    this game came from a time when games where challenging, and you had to figure stuff out by yourself. It is one of the best games for the N64, but the camera can get annoying
  35. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    el juego que invento y perfecciono a la vez el genero de plataformas en 3d, una verdadera obra maestra de diseño, concepto y ejecucion. El mejor juego de lanzamiento de las consolas de nintendo y un clasico de todos los tiempos. Necesito decir algo mas?
  36. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    I thought I might be biased by nostalgia, but I went back to play this game (for the probably the 10th time) and still loved it. It really makes one feel how gimmicky the motion controls are in this serie. Im not a hater against MC, it fits perfect in games like Pikmin.

    The levels are great with much space to move, unlike the galaxy series. This is the ultimate 3d Mario in my eyes.
  37. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    The perfect Mario. The controls, the environments, the "open world levels", the castle with its secrets... I could go on!

    Id buy an HD remake in an instance!
  38. Feb 28, 2013
    8
    Was my first game on N64 and it is indeed a great 3D Jump ´n Run. Mario was at his peak when this game was released with perfect controls and a great world to explore.
  39. Feb 20, 2013
    10
    Once again, Mario revolutionizes the video game industry, creating some of the best 3d graphics ever seen, and revolutionizing the market with one of, if not the, first free control camera. doesnt seem like a big deal now, 3d games are almost unplayable without a free camera, but back then, this was a huge deal. With 120 power stars to collect, great challege, awesome and varied level design, great music, revolutionary game mechanics and controls, fun gameplay, and a huge adventure to go through, this is one of the greatest games of all time. back in the day, this game is an easy 10 out of 10, though i must say now that it hasnt aged all that well. i would still call it an 8 or 9 out of 10, but thinking back to the day this game was released, over 16 years ago, it still holds up. an incredibly fun adventure, and one of the best 3d platformers ever made. though games like banjo kazooie/tooie, and donkey kong 64 would eventually master this formula, Super mario 64 still holds up, and is one of the greatest games ever created. borderline perfect. Expand
  40. Feb 8, 2013
    10
    Mario 64 is on of the greatest games ever made, if not the best 3D platformer ever made. This game is absolutely flawless, with its amazing level designs or its fantastic enemies, (Who can ever forget that piano.) This game is a must buy for any gamer seeking a challenge or just a fantastic experience.

    10/10 Flawless Victory.
  41. Feb 3, 2013
    8
    Super Mario 64 is one of those games that you cannot stop playing until you have all 120 stars, and then, to be honest, never touch again. It was fun while playing, but it really doesn't give you a reason to come back. It is colorful, vast, and a great challenge of a platformer. One could tell easily that all the levels had much time and thought put into them. The controls are pretty tight, despite the control stick not being too precise. The music certainly sets the mood, and there are some great memories to be had with this game. There are some things I couldn't get over, however. In life, there is always going to be "that guy", and in Super Mario 64 there is always going to be "that star". Whether it be "Mario Wings Over the Rainbow" or the 100-coin stars in Small-Big Island, Tick Tock Clock, or especially, Rainbow Ride. The cryptic ones like Big Boo's Balcony or Watch for Rolling Rocks also suck. When playing, I always called the level Tick Tock Clock; "Tick-Me-Off Clock" due to its frustrating layout. The camera can sometimes get funky, but that wasn't even that bad when it did happen rarely. Furthermore, it is very overrated considering that impact is playing a higher role than gameplay. It was kind of funny to hear Yoshi incorrectly say, "It that really you???" Overall; nice, challenging, colorful platformer with a few wrinkles that should have been ironed. Expand
  42. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    When it comes to 3D platforming, this game set the standard. That being said it has been topped by newer platforming games. The levels are the typical themes you'd expect from a Nintendo game, and while two of the themes are repeated, they are set up different enough to offer completely different challenges. The boss fights are epic, and too this day I struggle to fight Bowser in the final battle. The mini bosses are well done and the little enemies are easy like in any other Mario title.

    The Music is classic and the camera was never a problem to me. There is a reason fans have taken this game and made direct sequels. The game has a simple and fun formula. The worlds are fun to explore and all 120 stars have numerous ways to be obtained.
    Expand
  43. Jan 18, 2013
    10
    best console all time N64, one of the best games all time! SM64 is brillant in so many ways. Levels, story, gameplay, fun factor, controls, sounds. This is how a real Mario game is suppose to be.
  44. Dec 30, 2012
    8
    Being one of the first truly 3D games, Super Mario 64 is undeniably the most revolutionary game of all time. Not only that, but it is a very fun game.
  45. Dec 9, 2012
    10
    Mario had a lot of good games back in the late '80s and early '90s, the most notable ones being Super Mario Bros. 3, Super Mario World, and Yoshi's Island (yes, I consider it a Mario game). This game dropped on the N64 and made me momentarily forget about all I had done in the earlier games, mainly because I was burying my face into the TV screen, lost in a new 3D Mushroom Kingdom. It seemed so lifelike back then, and it's still really fun today. This is definitely one of the few N64 games that has stood the test of time. Expand
  46. Oct 21, 2012
    8
    Similar to Ocarina of Time, this is a game that hasn't aged as well as people claim that it has. The level design holds up compared to other N64 titles and the gameplay, while not as precise as others, is still pretty fun. While this game does hold up as a good game, I don't think it holds up as one of the greatest. 8.0
  47. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    Forget the game being called "one of the best games ever made"; this is probably THE best game ever made. Super Mario 64 has aged so well it's almost surreal. Well Nintendo knows how to deliver the goods for their devoted fans.

    I've kept playing this game ever since I was about five or something. It is still so much fun to play and enjoy. This is what video games should be, although I
    do forgive some FPSs/other shooters if they have strong stories and entertainment value.

    In terms of pure fun and joy, Super Mario 64 is the best game ever made. Well done Nintendo for making the perfect game, and for letting Mario have Super Mario Galaxy 1 and 2 as the equally perfect sequels to this groundbreaking game.
    Expand
  48. Sep 17, 2012
    0
    sorry to say, but I loved Mario on NES and SNES, but this was an insult to the Mario series. Collecting stars? No thanks. I much rather the platforming get to the end of the level style.
  49. Sep 5, 2012
    10
    I will always remember where I was when I first saw Mario 64 a few days after it came out. It was one of the most amazing sites I'd ever seen. I had to wait months to get it myself for Christmas, but it was well worth the wait! Mario 64 was the most innovative video game at its' birth, bringing gamers into a magical 3D world. The graphics at the time were the best we'd ever seen and even makes for a fun adventure to this day. Every aspect of this game is perfect for what it is, a Mario game. No matter which painting you take the leep into, the world is amazing, filled with awesome puzzles, and challenges you to the core. Collecting all 120 stars was a REAL feat and rewarding as well. This game brings back memories of a time when life was so much simpler. Expand
  50. Sep 2, 2012
    9
    One of the best 3D platformers that have ever existed. Super Mario 64 stays true to the Mario series by giving you the usual objective of rescuing Princess Toadstool/Peach. But, this game, is very unique compared to other Mario games. First released in 1996, it was immediately a huge success! And It's no wonder. As it includes, 15 amazing levels with 120 different objectives to collect all 120 "Power Stars" and defeat Bowser. The 3D graphics are wonderful (Even compared to games of our Era, it still presents wonderful, colorful graphics.) Amazing, addicting gameplay keeps you at it for hours and hours. Days and days. Weeks and weeks. And that's a very nice thing about the game. If you're one for wanting to collect ALL the stars in the game, it may take weeks to finish. The game is still a gem even after all these years. It receives a very high 9 from me. Expand
  51. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    No game collection is complete without Super Mario 64, one of the defining games of the entire genre and a benchmark for all future game. Super Mario 64 was done right, especially considering the fact that the N64 had very limited memory, this game was pretty big and impressive.
  52. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Have you ever played a game that is so darn fun that you can't put it down, even if you 100% complete all save files? This is that game. If I was forced to pick one flaw it would be the storyline, which is barely flawed anyway! You play as Mario, the famous plumber, rendered for the first time in history in polygons. Sure, the storyline is the same old "Bowser captures princess, Mario duffs up Bowser, everyone lives happily ever after" shtick, but this entry throws in paintings and Power Stars into the mix. Bowser owns dimensions contained in paintings that are a danger to Mario, hindering him on his quest. in the paintings you will find the humorously named Power Stars. Power Stars are like keys to doors, because essentially the more Power Stars you have, the more doors you can enter, and entering doors allows you to quest for more Powers Stars. It's a vicious cycle, but you want to get sucked in. Which other video game rewards you with a giant's step towards 100% completion for collecting 100 gold coins? On the topic of coins, a gold coin (canonically named a yellow coin) is worth one buck, a red one two, and blue a whopping five. Collecting eight red coins in a single course rewards you with a-you guessed it-Power Star. The game's graphics were amazing in its time, and to some still are. We're talking about one of the first games to use mainly polygons here. One of the first games to use polygons, and maybe the best. The sound is epic, with a range of tunes going from genuinely day-improving to genuinely scary. Even when you've got all 120 Power Stars (and shed a tear or sixteen), there's still fun to be had. In the Princess' castle grounds, there is a cannon only activated when you have 120 stars that will blast you to the castle roof where you'll find (spoiler) old comrade Yoshi, who will give you 100 lives and an improved triple jump power! (spoiler end) And on the Internet you may encounter sites that gives suggestions of activities to do in the game that are meant to be done after 100% completion! So, even after beating the final boss and collecting all 120 Power Stars, there's still much fun to be had.
    One of the best games ever.
    Expand
  53. Aug 6, 2012
    9
    As one of the debut games of the N64, Mario 64 was a solid game with plenty to do. There are many many levels, each with their own theme and trove of secrets to explore. Naturally it's the same story as always, but if you're expecting story out of a Mario game, then you should probably wait for pigs to fly. The one thing I always hated about this game is that the camera angles are awful and often very annoying, but for the first 3D Mario, it did a lot right, and I'm willing to overlook this issue. Oh and it has some of the most memorable and enjoyable music from any legacy game, so do yourself a favor and give it a try, eh? Expand
  54. Jul 30, 2012
    9
    It has good and creative worlds,and it has a very good difficulty.The con is that when you do not have another levels to pass after you can't pass a level it comes bored.
  55. Jun 29, 2012
    10
    Aw. This game is my childhood memories in a cartridge. Those who have played it can speak for themselves. Those who haven't are probably spoiled by Mario Galaxy and New Super Mario Bros. (good games). Mario 64 is a classic. It's a bit out dated and clunky compared to newer installments, but it still holds its own. Its everything you love about 2D Mario, but all done in 3D this time. And done well.
  56. Jun 26, 2012
    0
    I'm sure we've all heard about Super Mario 64, one of the world's first 3D Platformers. The story is the usual unoriginal Mario storyline. Bowser has kidnapped Peach so go rescue her. The gameplay involves collecting items called Power Stars across 15 levels by completing different tasks. However, it is brought down by bad controls and a terrible camera which make the game more difficult than it should be. The graphics are smooth and there is a decent amount of variety in level design. The music is mostly your generic happy platforming music although Bowser's Road and Dire Dire Docks are exceptions to this. Super Mario 64 suffers from some of the worst voice acting I have ever heard in my life. The worst part? The worst voice acting in the whole game is the first thing you hear when starting the game.

    Overall, while Super Mario 64 was innovative and mindblowing when it was released in May 1996, it aged very quickly and time has not been kind to it at all, making what was once amazing back then, a bad game now.
    Collapse
  57. Jun 6, 2012
    9
    Classic game with an easy concept and the game is done perfectly this is the first Mario title that is in 3d and its also one of the best Mario games you have to restore power to Peach's castle by collecting 120 power stars to free peach and save the castle from Bowser's wrath the gameplay is fun and what you'd expect from a mario game the graphics are really great for the time also the problem is in this game is the camera view and jumping because the camera view can mess up your jumps to where you kill yourself constantly so when you play you have to adjust it just right but this is a classic game and a must buy if you have a nintendo 64 Expand
  58. May 29, 2012
    9
    Pretty interesting game, the first 3D platform and probably the best. Beautiful and hard game, it helped to transform Mario into a legend. Sometimes can be very frustrating, but that's part of its charm as long as you have enough patience.
  59. May 27, 2012
    10
    Another true classic. This game was revolutionary and is a masterpiece. This game will never get old. The music is charming and the game is just a blast to play!
  60. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    I was curious to see if the plumber could still hold his own against newer games like Half-Life 2. I played it for a while and realized that it is still the best dammned game I've ever played
  61. Feb 16, 2012
    4
    The model quality is just plain horrible with some ps1 games looking better. It has clunky controls and a bad camera also it makes a really annoying sound when you move the camera. Most of the stars are tedious to get and they reuse the worlds(2 ice worlds for gods sake). If you want a good 3d platformer on the n64, go play banjo kazooie.
  62. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    A landmark in video game history. This was the very first game i owned as a child when i got my n64 and holy crap i still have urges to go back and play through it. One of the best games on any platform ever hands down.
  63. Dec 9, 2011
    9
    Amazing game. Surpasses even the new 3D Mario games in my opinion. Super Mario 64's levels put you into a large, open area and you had to figure out what to do. The levels in the new Mario games just don't offer much deviation from what the developers intended. People are STILL figuring out how to do new things in Super Mario 64 today. The same won't be said about Galaxy and Galaxy 2 in 10 years. The one non-linear style 3D Mario game will probably always be the best to me, because I can't see them beating that with a linear style 3D Mario no matter how good it is. Expand
  64. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Pretty Retro. I love this game so much. Super Mario 64 has lots of mixed levels like ice, and inside castles and such. A great game to give to your kids. Mario is beast.
  65. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Super Mario 64 is the game that brought platforming into a 3D world. Without it, we would not see other 3D platforming franchises like Banjo-Kazooie, Ratchet and Clank and other platforming mascots existing today. Super Mario 64 is an outstanding game that takes all the levels in one location (Princess Peaches castle) and make collecting star pieces playable and fun. I would had given Super Mario 64 a perfect 10 if I was 9 years old again, but I have given the game a bit of a lower score just because some of the controls on the N64 controls (like flying with the wing cap) feels a bit uncomfortable which does not hold up in today's gaming world. Super Mario 64 may look simple, but less equals more with this Super Mario title. Fans of Mario and 3D platformers will have a fun time playing Mario in a 3D universe. Even if it looks outdated in today's world, people will still enjoy riding on Koopa shells and flinging Bowser around. Expand
  66. Nov 7, 2011
    9
    A phenomenal game for its time. Mario's 1st 3D game is extremely fun, while admittedly harder compared to later 3D mario games. It is one of the best games for the Nintendo 64.
  67. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    This game was way to much good stuff to talk about so I can only say that without this game there would be no such thing as "good gaming" there is something wrong with the people who didn't like this game.
  68. Oct 23, 2011
    10
    seriously sparriskwathever you are a total moron your review is senseless
    this game is the **** totally revolutionary ridiculosly fun... tightest controls ever... very solid smooth graphics for 1996 camera fails sometimes too easy at times
    apart from that perfect game
  69. Oct 3, 2011
    8
    Story: 7
    Characters: 9
    Graphics: 7
    Setting: 10
    Multiplayer: N/A
    Soundtrack: 9
    Audio: 6
    Gameplay: 8
    Re-Playability Value: 8
    Fun Factor: 8

    Score: 8.0/10
  70. Aug 14, 2011
    9
    A great game with plenty of large, imaginative areas to explore. It is clear that love and attention have been poured into this game, moving a 2D franchise to a fully realized 3D world. Gameplay and enemies that are both new and old feel fresh and there are no superfluous additions. The only major issues that this game suffers from is the horrible camera and slippery controls. Camera issues are inevitable in a 3D game that uses only one analog stick but understanding a problem doesn't make it any more bearable. The controls are a bit too loose for a platforming game and takes some getting used to. Expand
  71. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    definatly one of my favorite games of all time . im only 12 but i have an n64 and i love all classic like this one at the time this was never done and not only accomplished 3d capabilities but also used them perfictly a great game storyline was ok but itsm not bad it just follows the tradition of the 8 bit classics to still renmind us no matter how far ahead w are in video game techn ology it all started with simpe games just like modern games they all start simply with an idea and cool efatures Expand
  72. Jul 14, 2011
    9
    Fantastic, incredible graphics texture at the time, Super Mario 64 showed us, how powerful he can change the video game industry. Over the top plat-forming and memorable moments and characters define the game. If it was possible to buy old games in this year, this will be in my list, but because it isn't it will cost you an arm and a leg to get this classic.
  73. Jun 18, 2011
    10
    Almost 15 years since it's release and I can still pick it up, play it and have just as much fun as I used to when I was younger. To this day I still recommend buying it and playing it on the Wii.
  74. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    i love this game. and what pisses me off is when people say that it is to hard. yes, it is very hard. but if you really want to say that then the only game that i can see you playing is that **** stain of **** known as.... (pause for ****ty anticipation)... CALL OF DUTY. i wont review it again, because i already reviewed it. and i will now review this game.
    This game revolves around
    princess Peach (slut) inviting Mario over for "cake" (which me, and some friends translated into sex.) but Bowser is up to his old tricks again, and kidnaps princess peach. blah blah blah... no story... and then after what has been literally years, you have enough stars to kill bowser. only to have him return again and again. the game had amazing controls, and has some really good colors going on that are apealing to the eye. this game is awesome. Expand
  75. Jun 7, 2011
    10
    This was the first Game ive EVER IN MY LIFE PLAYED!(im 12)I still have the cartridge that i played when i was 5 years old..Now I have DS..AND the original so yeah.. This game is SUPER IMPORTANT to me and I still love it to this day!
  76. May 26, 2011
    10
    My favorite game of all time, Mario is at his prime here. Not only did this introduced Mario to polygons, but it kicked off a 3D revolution. The unique punch-and-kick gameplay was like nothing anybody had ever seen. The music is great, the story is great, the quantity of levels and challenge is great. Imma let you finish, Ocarina of Time, but Super Mario 64 is the best game of all time, OF ALL TIME! Expand
  77. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Alongside Ocarina Of Time, Super Mario 64 still stands tall as one of the best video games to date. Pros: Innovating gameplay, characters, and level designs; rich, colorful visuals; smooth controls and camera angles; overall, it's the best Mario game ever! Cons: Aside from some minimal flaws, you just have to be a Mario-hater to dislike any aspect of this game.
  78. Jan 19, 2011
    9
    A brilliant game, you could own just this game it was enough to keep you entertained for months and months. That is what it did for me. For a long time it was the only N64 game I owned. I loved it.
  79. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    Be warned! getting this game will most likely make you dislike all the other mario games! This is by far the greatest mario game I have ever played. While the story is nothing new(go save peach from bowser ..), its more the gameplay and graphics(of the time 1996) that amazed me and many others. Its an amazing game and one of nintendo`s finest. You cant call yourself a mario fan unless you have played this amzing gem. Expand
  80. Jan 7, 2011
    9
    wirh out a doubt the best platformer ever made even using the god awful N64 controller. the game doesnt have alot of enimies but it has some of the best level desighns in any platform game . the graphics where amazing the bosses alot of fun. the game isnt very long to beat but if you want to get 120 stars it will take you some time . one of the very few platformer games i can still play and beat many times. Expand
  81. Dec 31, 2010
    10
    I think this game is the single best game I have for my N64. The graphics are actually pretty impressive for '96 and the gameplay is amazing. The different hats used in the game instead of flowers and mushrooms are really neat. Great game altogether.
  82. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    This is probably my favorite game followed closley by super Mario galaxy 2. It is mostly because I grew up with it but after I I beet it, all 120 stars, by myself, it's really still fun. It's also fun to replay through over and over again.
  83. Jun 26, 2012
    0
    I'm sure we've all heard about Super Mario 64, one of the world's first 3D Platformers. The story is the usual unoriginal Mario storyline. Bowser has kidnapped Peach so go rescue her. The gameplay involves collecting items called Power Stars across 15 levels by completing different tasks. However, it is brought down by bad controls and a terrible camera which make the game more difficult than it should be. The graphics are smooth and there is a decent amount of variety in level design. The music is mostly your generic happy platforming music although Bowser's Road and Dire Dire Docks are exceptions to this. Super Mario 64 suffers from some of the worst voice acting I have ever heard in my life. The worst part? The worst voice acting in the whole game is the first thing you hear when starting the game.

    Overall, while Super Mario 64 was innovative and mindblowing when it was released in May 1996, it aged very quickly and time has not been kind to it at all, making what was once amazing back then, a bad game now.
    Collapse
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. The distribution of power stars in the levels is horrendous. I think 7 stars in one level is more than enough, don't you think? I understand that there are memory constraints, but there either could have been less stars overall, or 1 (maybe 2) more level(s). Definately a problem.
  2. It has quickly grown to become the standard by which almost all other games are measured.
  3. This is definitely a game no game collection should be without...Seriously!