User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 584 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 584

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MP83
    Aug 10, 2005
    5
    Rather good game, but worst Zelda game in my humble opinion. I just didn't like all this mask stuff.
  2. LineaK.
    Sep 1, 2007
    4
    It was simply to bizzare for my tastes. The bosses were just plain weird. When a giant mask grows limbs of un-skinned muscle and starts doing a russian dance across the rainbow-colored arena, I turn the game off. The sidequests, however were numerous and well done.
  3. SallyS.
    Jun 7, 2007
    0
    I hate timed games. The worst game in the series.
  4. DaveD.
    Dec 25, 2002
    6
    I really loved the game, but, i mean, its not really fun. Its just way too, well, complicated. I know you Zelda lovers may yell at me, but, i really couldn't beat it w/o the strategy guide. The end is the only real fun part...
  5. Princess_zeldamarchese
    Aug 18, 2006
    6
    This game is super hard and confusing they give give you 3 days to do every thing lol if you now wat to do it might be fun duh I just got it yesterday. P.S., the moon is ugly its going to give me nightmares.
  6. Lev
    Aug 23, 2009
    6
    At first I thought it would be better than OoT, the new, bit darker setting seemed more interesting than the 'save princess and world', and the use of masks to change form also seemed appealing. But this game feels like I'm doing stupid chores for random people, and there's almost absolutely nothing telling you where to go next. Also, after Hyrule field, Termina field At first I thought it would be better than OoT, the new, bit darker setting seemed more interesting than the 'save princess and world', and the use of masks to change form also seemed appealing. But this game feels like I'm doing stupid chores for random people, and there's almost absolutely nothing telling you where to go next. Also, after Hyrule field, Termina field was VERY boring. I didn't even bother to get to the first dungeon. I'm still giving it a relatively good score, because it does have good gameplay elements and ideas, but overall it feels very rushed. Expand
  7. MichelleP.
    Oct 11, 2002
    5
    Fair. Not as brilliant as the first one. I was disappointed they didn't have some of the characters for the first one.
  8. MikeG
    Dec 29, 2009
    5
    I didn't like it. Collecting fairies when you have only a short time to complete a temple is very annoying, and the game doesn't feel as open or as epic as OoT.
  9. Ryencoke
    May 13, 2005
    1
    This is the worst Zelda game, it's not fun at all.
  10. TaraW.
    Dec 5, 2006
    0
    This game sucked it was so stupid it did have that Zelda feel to it lol it didnt feel Zelda like the story line was stupid to But I LOVEDDDD the OOT best game ever.
  11. TarikT.
    Oct 22, 2001
    3
    The story sucked as well as the gameplay, and believe me I would know, I have been gaming all my life.
  12. Apr 4, 2011
    3
    The main idea behind MM seems to be to replace most of the dungeons with other sources of gameplay. If this sounds fine to you, you probably don't actually like the Zelda series. Ever since Zelda 1, every game has been designed around the dungeons, because that's what makes them fun. MM only has a few main dungeons, and they're not very good ones either. There isn't much to do in them, andThe main idea behind MM seems to be to replace most of the dungeons with other sources of gameplay. If this sounds fine to you, you probably don't actually like the Zelda series. Ever since Zelda 1, every game has been designed around the dungeons, because that's what makes them fun. MM only has a few main dungeons, and they're not very good ones either. There isn't much to do in them, and to even go in them, you have to run around doing errands for an hour (just like WoW). Now, I'm not saying Zelda absolutely has to be focused on dungeons. The issue is that 90% of the gameplay is designed to only work with the dungeons.

    And then, there's the obvious flaws. The fact that they reused everything from OoT, all those masks that barely even change the gameplay, and the fact that Nintendo charges full price for this game. Basically, don't buy this game. If you have to play it, borrow it from someone, and if you're not bored after a few hours, I guess go ahead and buy it.
    Expand
  13. Char
    Jul 25, 2002
    0
    It doesn't even deserve the name Legend of Zelda. Poor story line and redone Ocarina dungeons make Majora's Mask nothing but a cheap Ocarina of Time remake!
  14. JKROFL
    Aug 1, 2009
    10
    I was going to give this game a 9.7 but I had to round up to 10. Anyway Kudos to Nintendo for such a great game. It`s weird but definately not a bad weird. A person called Angelo B. said something like It may not come close to Oot but it`s so damn close. I don`t think that makes sense. How can a game be close and not close at the same time? Regardless of that nonsensical comment I think I was going to give this game a 9.7 but I had to round up to 10. Anyway Kudos to Nintendo for such a great game. It`s weird but definately not a bad weird. A person called Angelo B. said something like It may not come close to Oot but it`s so damn close. I don`t think that makes sense. How can a game be close and not close at the same time? Regardless of that nonsensical comment I think it`s a brilliant game. Almost as good as Okami. Expand
  15. Sariachan
    Dec 7, 2003
    10
    One of the best game I ever played, Majora's Mask is hard to finish, complicated to play but, if one gets used to it, M'sM can provide great fun. It's an original and unique game.
  16. DerekT.
    Sep 20, 2003
    10
    This game is Da BOMB people, it rocks, So get it now, its sweet.
  17. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3dsWtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Wtb Majoras Mask 3ds remake. this is the best game ever made. Thats all I have to say. Expand
  18. Aug 23, 2012
    7
    I personally did not enjoy this, but it has it's good points. The 3-day cycle was the only thing keeping me going. Masks and constantly taking out the ocarina was a pain in the ass. Did not enjoy the story, but still buy it, it's only my opinion after all.
  19. Sep 17, 2013
    5
    It's Beautiful and Majestic graphics are just as good as Ocarina of Time, but it lacks the charm and warmth of the previous Zelda games and replaces it with a tragic and gloomy story.

    The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask lacks heart and charm. Score: 2/5.
  20. Oct 28, 2012
    9
    The Legend of Zelda series is a series I'm still fairly new to, but I know why this series is so highly respected. All of the Zelda games I've played have been some of the best gaming experiences I've ever played. And Majora's Mask is no different. It's the most unique entry I've played so far. It's a direct sequel to Ocarina of Time so unlike most Zelda games your actually playing as theThe Legend of Zelda series is a series I'm still fairly new to, but I know why this series is so highly respected. All of the Zelda games I've played have been some of the best gaming experiences I've ever played. And Majora's Mask is no different. It's the most unique entry I've played so far. It's a direct sequel to Ocarina of Time so unlike most Zelda games your actually playing as the same Link (the main character of all Zelda games), the story has nothing to do with Ganon, Princess Zelda, or the Tri-Force, and It's focus this time is more on time and side quests than any other entry. In this game you have three days to save the world, and you can do this by rewinding, slowing, and fast-forwarding time. When you first start the game it feels like it's going to be a short experience because there are only a few locations and only four main dungeons, and maybe do to this they decided to up the difficulty, but once you get into it you'll begin to see just how big this game is. It's the most challenging Zelda game I've played, but the game comes packed with 24 masks, most of which are collected by helping out the locals, to help you out. All of the masks have their own abilities, some more useful than others, and if you collect them all you get your hands on one of the coolest items of any Zelda game (that I highly recommend you do to, because it makes the last boss soooo much easier). It's awesome and you really should play it. It offers an experience unlike anything you've ever played before. Expand
  21. Jun 18, 2011
    7
    Majora's Mask is a good game, even a game I'm willing to play again. But it was lacking. As any other Legend of Zelda game it had great dungeons and all the other little things people have learned to love from the Zelda series, but it could never reach the infinite glory many other games of the time could. Even within the Zelda series it becomes forgettable. Now for the more positive:Majora's Mask is a good game, even a game I'm willing to play again. But it was lacking. As any other Legend of Zelda game it had great dungeons and all the other little things people have learned to love from the Zelda series, but it could never reach the infinite glory many other games of the time could. Even within the Zelda series it becomes forgettable. Now for the more positive: Termina is a great place and the game evolves in it's own unique way. Majora's Mask is still a good play and one I would recommend to almost anyone. Expand
  22. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This game lives up to The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time's standards, even though it is not as good. This time, Young Link appears in a place known as Termina and must fight a new enemy.
  23. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Majora's Mask is definitely a step in a different direction in terms of a traditional Zelda game. Fortunately, this is a good thing, as a simple enough initial story involving the saving of the world from doom in a span of 3 days, is superseded by a vast array of stories of the characters all over the game. These stories really define the mood of Majora's Mask, and make this game the most story involved Zelda yet. This game is definitely weird though, probably the most unusual Zelda game ever. Although there are only 4 dungeons, they are expertly designed and clever. The gameplay is tweaked in Majora's Mask, as you use masks to complete tasks, overcome obstacles and defeat enemies. This game deserves a 9.7, but doesn't deserve a perfect 10, so I gave it a 9/10. Expand
  24. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Majora's Mask is a brilliant game, it stands as one of the absolute best entries in the Zelda franchise. It has one of the most powerful soundtracks of the series, the deepest and most meaningful story and characters, and some of the best dungeons and items in Zelda history. It's one of the most enjoyable games I've played and I still go back to it over and over. I very highly recommendMajora's Mask is a brilliant game, it stands as one of the absolute best entries in the Zelda franchise. It has one of the most powerful soundtracks of the series, the deepest and most meaningful story and characters, and some of the best dungeons and items in Zelda history. It's one of the most enjoyable games I've played and I still go back to it over and over. I very highly recommend Majora's Mask to anyone who likes Zelda or action/adventure games. Expand
  25. Dec 10, 2011
    10
    I was really happy when I managed to get my hands on this game. Sure, the story really has very little to do with it, considering there are so many side quests and minigames, and the graphics aren't that great compared to those today (Dec. 11 2011). This is probably my favorite in the series, with the next closest A Link to the Past. The 3-day time limit makes for some intense gameplayI was really happy when I managed to get my hands on this game. Sure, the story really has very little to do with it, considering there are so many side quests and minigames, and the graphics aren't that great compared to those today (Dec. 11 2011). This is probably my favorite in the series, with the next closest A Link to the Past. The 3-day time limit makes for some intense gameplay when you find yourself in the middle of a dungeon on the final night, and gives speedrunners a goal to work towards (Completing it in a single 3-day cycle, after retrieving the Ocarina). I believe this is still one of the greatest games ever made, and I can't imagine anyone not enjoying it even somewhat (Bremen mask FTW!). Expand
  26. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    A quirky and unique twist on the classic Zelda style that tells a new story unlike anything Zelda has seen before or since. Majora's Mask is truly the perfect follow-up to the classic Ocarina of Time, and stands beside it as one of the crown jewels of the Zelda name. You must play this game.
  27. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    This will forever be the best game that was ever released on the N64. While Ocarina of Time is a Masterpiece, the added element of the mask system and the 3 day repeating time limit was something that I had never seen in a game before. While not a true sequel to OoT, Majora's Mask is seen as the little brother to the OoT legacy. While OoT has had a few re-releases over the years over eshopThis will forever be the best game that was ever released on the N64. While Ocarina of Time is a Masterpiece, the added element of the mask system and the 3 day repeating time limit was something that I had never seen in a game before. While not a true sequel to OoT, Majora's Mask is seen as the little brother to the OoT legacy. While OoT has had a few re-releases over the years over eshop and 3DS, Majora's Mask was not released on eshop till well after OoT and it probably won't be remade outside that like OoT was. This a shame too it was so captivating that it kept you coming back over and over again, making you feel like you were always running out of time before that giant moon with the face on it came crashing down. Expand
  28. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    This game didn't make me want to play it again like ocarina, but it still rocks, because Legend of Zelda will be forever played, doesn't matter where or when, people still love it. The graphics are good, the same as ocarina; it's not the perfect sequel for ocarina; you can turn into Deku, Goron, Zora and, if you get all the other masks and play hide and seek with the moon children,This game didn't make me want to play it again like ocarina, but it still rocks, because Legend of Zelda will be forever played, doesn't matter where or when, people still love it. The graphics are good, the same as ocarina; it's not the perfect sequel for ocarina; you can turn into Deku, Goron, Zora and, if you get all the other masks and play hide and seek with the moon children, specially Fierce Deity, that makes you stronger than final boss, Majora's Mask (in its three forms!!!!); you have to repeat the forth dungeon upside down; Skull Kid is evil now; you can ride Epona already after the second dungeon; you have the same equipment from ocarina; the song of time is used in a very different way from ocarina's; it just has 10 songs; it's as difficult as ocarina; it's smaller than ocarina; Ganondorf is much more difficult than Majora's Mask. I just can say congratulations to Nintendo, because they created another game for The Legend of Zelda series, and we are proud to have the chance to play it, thank you!!! Expand
  29. May 28, 2012
    10
    What is there to say? This is gaming at its best. OOC and Majoras Mask are the 2 best games I can think of in this genre. Nothing has come close to matching these 2 games. They really don't make games like this any more. Quality, and fun to play. Well thought out and well made.
  30. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    Of all the Zelda games, this one definitely has the best side quests. The main game is not bad, but definitely sub par compared to the more popular releases, but the game definitely has some of the best side quests of all time.
  31. May 22, 2012
    8
    Sequel of the best adventure game ever. Is hard to do a good game again, and Nintendo almost achieved it. All the good things from the first one are here: graphics, dungeons, enemies, fighting techniques and items. There are also a lot of new possibilities with the masks. The world is bigger and there are new puzzles. However, I can't give it more than 8 because some things are annoying.Sequel of the best adventure game ever. Is hard to do a good game again, and Nintendo almost achieved it. All the good things from the first one are here: graphics, dungeons, enemies, fighting techniques and items. There are also a lot of new possibilities with the masks. The world is bigger and there are new puzzles. However, I can't give it more than 8 because some things are annoying. You can't play as adult Link and most of the game, you're forced to play as a certain character because of the plot. Expand
  32. Sep 3, 2014
    10
    Many people have regarded this as superior to Ocarina of Time. I am not one of those people, but the only reason I say that is because of the time limit. Normally, I'm not the best when it comes to Zelda games, which is why when I am playing Majora's Mask which contains a couple of the hardest dungeons ever in a Zelda games with an added time limit, I always piss my pants. SeriouslyMany people have regarded this as superior to Ocarina of Time. I am not one of those people, but the only reason I say that is because of the time limit. Normally, I'm not the best when it comes to Zelda games, which is why when I am playing Majora's Mask which contains a couple of the hardest dungeons ever in a Zelda games with an added time limit, I always piss my pants. Seriously though, it can be frustrating unless you are like super pro. Besides that, I loved the story, the dark atmosphere, and the interesting overworld of Termina unlike Ocarina of Time which had an almost empty Hyrule Field. Simply put, it's a great sequel to OoT and certainly a great game in the series. 10/10 (Oh god not the Great Bay Temple and the Stone Tower Temple... PLEASE, HAVE MERCY!) Expand
  33. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    Wow, i did not know a game could be much better than Oot. But this game, a sequel of one of the greatest masterpieces has overdone it in my opinion. It took the amazing features from ocarina of time and still added new ones. This review will basically be a comparison to Oot and why i think it is better. Saying that, im not hating on Oot, i still think it is an amazing game. Firstly, letsWow, i did not know a game could be much better than Oot. But this game, a sequel of one of the greatest masterpieces has overdone it in my opinion. It took the amazing features from ocarina of time and still added new ones. This review will basically be a comparison to Oot and why i think it is better. Saying that, im not hating on Oot, i still think it is an amazing game. Firstly, lets start with the map, in Oot, you are given a huge map, probably 60% of this map has nothing on it, and when you want to go to Gerudo Valley, you have to trek it all the way from Hyrule to get there. On MM the map is filled with side quests and various other places to visit. Secondly, the characters, in Oot the characters are very unique and have their own personalities. But i cant help but love the fact that in MM each person has their own daily routines of the 3 days, it just adds a world more character to them. Also there were alot more sidequests in MM as there were various mask to collect. Lastly, i dont know why people hate that its timed so much, i think it adds a whole lot more depth to the game. Oh yeah and to reset the time you just play a song, takes like 10 seconds, retard. Expand
  34. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    The darkest, most engrossing and brilliant game in its series. Perhaps even surpasses Ocarina.
  35. Jul 25, 2013
    8
    truly a great game! not the best zelda of all time but a wonderful and unique addition to series! there are tons of sidequests to do! termina is bustling full of life! there is always something to do, every hour in majoras mask! there are so many vibrant characters to meet and with interesting stories to tell you! you get immersed in the world of termina because you interact with alltruly a great game! not the best zelda of all time but a wonderful and unique addition to series! there are tons of sidequests to do! termina is bustling full of life! there is always something to do, every hour in majoras mask! there are so many vibrant characters to meet and with interesting stories to tell you! you get immersed in the world of termina because you interact with all characters and you learn about them and their story and you get to be involved with their ordeals and make an impact on their outcome! you really feel like your actions are affecting the world! the story is unique also; the game brings a fresh new twist to the zelda series with a new land to explore, new boss, new story, new situation, new everything! except the recylced characters and gameplay from ocarina of time but other than that everything else is brand new! the game also brings a strong sense of urgency! termina is threatening to get crushed by a big ass moon and everyone's lives are in danger! you really felt like you had to save them and the land from impending danger!

    my only problem with this game; the 3 day clock system! while an interesting concept, it was really disheartening to see all the people i just saved and helped, go back to their original troublesome situations with their problems unsolved again! it was strongly discouraging to see all the i did gone in the blink of an eye! makes me feel like i went back to square one even though i achieved so much! this is the number one reason why refuse to give this game a perfect 10! i think if this game operated in real time like the ocarina of time i would definantly have given this game at least a 9! overall though, great job nintendo!

    great story, great graphics, great character development, fun quests and sidequests, llllllooooot of stuff to do..............8 out of 10!
    Expand
  36. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    I really love this game. The story is every emotional and different. The temples are not as great as Ocarina of Time but the temples don't play a major part in the whole game as they did in OoT.
  37. May 14, 2013
    10
    Phenomenal! Deep, intricate and engaging story. Not so lighthearted as the Zelda games of recent. Reels you in and makes you the hero.
    Extremely hard to live up to expectation after the powerhouse that is Ocarina of Time, but it did exactly that.
  38. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask is oftentimes overlooked and overshadowed by it's older brother, Ocarina of Time. But in Majora's Mask you'll find something unlike anything else. I could go on about the stellar perfectly balanced and responsive gameplay, the then fantastic graphics, the huge at it's time unheard of open world, the familiar and likeable characters, or even the stellarThe Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask is oftentimes overlooked and overshadowed by it's older brother, Ocarina of Time. But in Majora's Mask you'll find something unlike anything else. I could go on about the stellar perfectly balanced and responsive gameplay, the then fantastic graphics, the huge at it's time unheard of open world, the familiar and likeable characters, or even the stellar soundtrack. But what sticks most about Majora's Mask is it's theming. Never has there been a game that seems so bright and happy at the surface, but is so dark at it's core. It's something so subtle that many people never notice it when they play. So subtle that still today there are many wild theories and new discoveries. You can't afford to miss it Expand
  39. Jan 7, 2013
    10
    Majora's Mask takes the engine from Ocarina of Time, throws all the original gameplay out the window, and says "F*** it, we're doing something new." Time travel is perfected with a new version of said time travel bringing a sense of urgency and haste, with Termina doomed to be destroyed by the moon in 3 days. With 4 dungeons, the game may seem short, but the real length comes in the vastMajora's Mask takes the engine from Ocarina of Time, throws all the original gameplay out the window, and says "F*** it, we're doing something new." Time travel is perfected with a new version of said time travel bringing a sense of urgency and haste, with Termina doomed to be destroyed by the moon in 3 days. With 4 dungeons, the game may seem short, but the real length comes in the vast majority of side quests. This is one place where Majora's Mask exceeds the standard set by Ocarina Of Time. As a direct sequel to Ocarina of Time released a year later, it sounds like a blatant cash-grab, but rather, takes what players enjoy about Ocarina of Time and adds more, and removes annoyances, and this is why Majora's Mask is truly the best Zelda game. Expand
  40. Jan 20, 2013
    10
    To say this game stands up does not do it justice. This game is my favorite game i have ever played. The reason people didn't like it was it was different. wait... isent that the thing people are begging for nowadays? new concepts, puzzles and games changes? Honestly im hard to come up with criticism for this game. This may sound weird but the best part seemed to be the fact it wasent asTo say this game stands up does not do it justice. This game is my favorite game i have ever played. The reason people didn't like it was it was different. wait... isent that the thing people are begging for nowadays? new concepts, puzzles and games changes? Honestly im hard to come up with criticism for this game. This may sound weird but the best part seemed to be the fact it wasent as sucessful as oot. You see, oot was remade multiple times, and became a cheat sheet for the rest of the zelda games, but majoras mask was not, meening it is an original title that is still fun. The difficulty is one of my favorite parts of this game though, which seemed to be scrapped in every other zelda game. not puzzle dificulty, just difficulty. The 3rd boss for example is just about impossible, and is something you would never find in wind waker, which seemed about as hard as slicing a loaf of bread. However, the best part about this game might just be the underlining tone. The game seems to get to you, and sometimes makes you wonder if the world is worth saving, and keeps making you 2nd think if the main bad guys is evil or just being controlled. The 5 sections representing the 5 stages of loss is a nice touch, and really helps the games theme. Overall, even on nowadays standard majoras mask is amazing, and should defiinently be played. if none of this was enough, u get fierce deity link. best reward in any game ever Expand
  41. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    This is my favorite game of all time! There is no reason anyone should pass on this amazing game. Especially if you were a fan of the prequel Ocarina of Time.
  42. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    How do you make an already perfect game a worthy sequel that could quite possibly be even better? I don't know but somehow Nintendo managed to do just that. The sequel to Ocarina of Time, Majora's Mask, is a game I've wanted to play for a long time. I always was the game at the store, but I always thought it was simply a remake of Ocarina....I couldn't have been more wrong. This game is aHow do you make an already perfect game a worthy sequel that could quite possibly be even better? I don't know but somehow Nintendo managed to do just that. The sequel to Ocarina of Time, Majora's Mask, is a game I've wanted to play for a long time. I always was the game at the store, but I always thought it was simply a remake of Ocarina....I couldn't have been more wrong. This game is a tension driver as your world is about to end and you must find all the missing masks, armed with only you sword, shield, and Ocarina as the only things keeping the moon at bay from destroying the planet and saving the world from a mad orphan. Majora's Mask has taken possession of the Skull Kid and even Link isn't strong enough to stop him alone. Getting to each of the 4 dungeons is in itself, a challenge. The whole world is almost as big as Ocarina's world, but your seriously more restricted this time in the game. The only way to progress through the strory is collect all the masks of power to find a way to stop the Suicidal moon. The game changer here is that you only have 3 Days to do it and with that moon hangin over your head literally all the time, you can't help but feel uneasy when it comes ever closer to your demise. The focus lies primarily on side quests, but that is anything but a bad thing. These quests all have their little personal stories and make you really feel for the sorrow of the people of Termina. Plus all thes stories intertwine with the main conflict and its really interesting to see it all come together in the end. This is a depressing game and while you are driven to save as many people as possible, you must admit to yourself that you can't save them all and thats hard truth you must accept. The challenge in this game is unbelievable so don't be surprised to find yourself staring time all over again before you can take another crack at it. The use of masks is also an awesome change of things and you really have to think out of the box when using them. The ultimate mask Fierce Diety, is also a very important item to use for the final boss since this has to be one of the hardest final bosses I've ever played against. In fact its the last part of the game I haven't beaten yet. The dark atmosphere, tension, story, and unique concept in this game truly makes it an incredible sequel to one of the greatest games ever! Expand
  43. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    How does one follow up Ocarina of Time, a game considered to be one of the greatest of all time. hailed as a masterpiece by all?
    Majora's Mask.
    This has to be the most dark, depressing, and creative Zelda game I have ever played. Everything in this game helps to make it darker and more intense. The three day mechanic creates an extreme amount of tension, the world design is
    How does one follow up Ocarina of Time, a game considered to be one of the greatest of all time. hailed as a masterpiece by all?
    Majora's Mask.

    This has to be the most dark, depressing, and creative Zelda game I have ever played. Everything in this game helps to make it darker and more intense. The three day mechanic creates an extreme amount of tension, the world design is consistently dark, and the people of Termina are all suffering from their own individual issues.

    It's a really odd feeling when you save someone only then to go back in time and undo everything you had just accomplished. It's a feeling I've never had with any game, one that only Majora's Mask can offer.

    The only reason I'm not giving this game a perfect score is because of the temple designs, which are admittedly more annoying then they are interesting.

    Majora's Mask is a must play.
    Expand
  44. Mar 2, 2013
    9
    Im going to keep it short and simple. I love this game because they blended up the colourful fantasy environments with darker ones. It gives the game a more solid experience, like Twilight Princess. Compared to Skyward Sword, with its e10+ rating, "cartoony" graphics and childish characters MM/TP is the way to go according to me. I hope nintendo does another game for the mature crowd,Im going to keep it short and simple. I love this game because they blended up the colourful fantasy environments with darker ones. It gives the game a more solid experience, like Twilight Princess. Compared to Skyward Sword, with its e10+ rating, "cartoony" graphics and childish characters MM/TP is the way to go according to me. I hope nintendo does another game for the mature crowd, which Im guessing is the biggest segment of the Zelda fans. When comparing the sales of Twilight Princess and Skyward Sword it is clear. Collapse
  45. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    I would have enjoyed this game more if I didn't force myself to figure out all the side quests, even ones where I didn't like the people that I was helping (those cranky dancing twins). That being said, I loved the game. It made me cry multiple times, it immersed me, it made me think philosophically, and I came to love the gameplay mechanics. The world is unique and wonderful and has soI would have enjoyed this game more if I didn't force myself to figure out all the side quests, even ones where I didn't like the people that I was helping (those cranky dancing twins). That being said, I loved the game. It made me cry multiple times, it immersed me, it made me think philosophically, and I came to love the gameplay mechanics. The world is unique and wonderful and has so many things to do, I still haven't done them all after months of playing. Expand
  46. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    The creepiest, darkest and greatest Zelda game out there majoras mask is truly a masterwork. There is no other Zelda game like it and if you ever get a chance to, play it
  47. Aug 5, 2013
    9
    How can I describe this game? It is a masterpiece! The point of the game is to save the world from the moon colliding with earth in three days, and the moon is falling because of majora's mask, an enchanted evil mask! To do this you need to find and save the four giants. To help you, you have magic masks that allows you to transform into a deku scrub, a goron, and a zora. The concept ofHow can I describe this game? It is a masterpiece! The point of the game is to save the world from the moon colliding with earth in three days, and the moon is falling because of majora's mask, an enchanted evil mask! To do this you need to find and save the four giants. To help you, you have magic masks that allows you to transform into a deku scrub, a goron, and a zora. The concept of having just three days to save term... termin... terminia? Is a great idea! Also, the game is kind of depressing and you just feel a bit down after playing it. Like the dead deku boy. You just feel bad for it! And the music! OH THE MUSIC! I've downloaded a whole bunt of the tracks to my phone! Some tracks are scary or depressing, and other makes you happy and pumped! And the graphics are a great improvement from OOT.

    Others might say that it's a copy of OOT. To them I say: what? It's a complete different concept, storyline, mood, heck, even world! One thing that There are also a bunch of side quests that you can do and a ton of masks to find!

    the three day time limit might seem hard, but they make it so easy to handle so it's no problem! Find yourself in a temple with two hours left? just play the song of time and start the dungeon over again from the first day!

    I love everything about the game except one thing!... NO SAVE FEATURE! You want to save? you can't! You have to find a frickin owl statue and smack it with your sword! if you don't do that, you'll have to start over from the last time you played the song of time! But otherwise it's a wonderful game and I highly recommend it!
    Expand
  48. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    My favourite Zelda title...ever.
    Despite his classic Zelda structure, this title is probably the most unique title in the series. The style is AWESOME. It is weird, tragic, sad, melanchonic, apocalyptic and even ironic and sarcastic.
    The gameplay itself is so particular, with the introductions of masks concept...and the loop of the 3 days is so genial and...yes, is kinda devastating the
    My favourite Zelda title...ever.
    Despite his classic Zelda structure, this title is probably the most unique title in the series. The style is AWESOME. It is weird, tragic, sad, melanchonic, apocalyptic and even ironic and sarcastic.
    The gameplay itself is so particular, with the introductions of masks concept...and the loop of the 3 days is so genial and...yes, is kinda devastating the knowledge of having only 3 days to save the world...yes, the same three days, the obsessive repetition of the same 3 days...like i said before: GENIAL.
    Music also are awesome, with new tunes very very weird and perfect for the title's spirit.
    My favourite Zelda ever...I played it after Ocarina of Time, Twilight Princess, ALTTP and Oracle of Ages...Majora's Mask appear so fresh and unique even after playing those other classic titles...awesome.
    Expand
  49. Sep 19, 2013
    9
    I think Majora's Mask is better than Ocarina of Time, because of the dungeons and the transformation mask. In the game, a mask salesman finds an ancient mask called Majora's Mask, and an imp (Skull Kid) steals it from him. Later, Link is traveling a forest (People think he's looking for Navi) and Skull Kid steals Links instrument called the Ocarina of Time. When Link chases Skull Kid, heI think Majora's Mask is better than Ocarina of Time, because of the dungeons and the transformation mask. In the game, a mask salesman finds an ancient mask called Majora's Mask, and an imp (Skull Kid) steals it from him. Later, Link is traveling a forest (People think he's looking for Navi) and Skull Kid steals Links instrument called the Ocarina of Time. When Link chases Skull Kid, he finds him, and Link turns into a Deku Scrub. A while later, he meets the salesman. The salesman tells him that if he wants to return to his formal self, find his instrument and bring it back to him. The salesman says he has to find it within 3 days because that's when he has to leave. After Link finds it on the final day, he plays a song and gets sent back in time to the first day. He brings it to the salesman and he gets him back to normal. Link can then put on a mask and he'll turn back into a Deku Scub. Then Link needs to find Majora's Mask within 3 days, but he'll be able to go back to the first day by playing the song I mentioned. Link will end up being able to transform into a Zora and Goron, too. Also, the "Carnival of Time" is in 3 days, and a moon with a face is going ti crash into Termina and kill everyone. Expand
  50. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    Ignore the trolls reviewing here, this game is a solid title, but its shorter than OOT if you do not go into side quests, or aim to 100% the entire game,
    it adds alot to the gameplay with the expanded graphics and RAM capabilities, and the mask system is pretty unique
    the N64 Zeldas seem to be the definative titles in the series (next to Link to the past (SNES))
  51. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing, not quite as long as its predecessor, but with no less heart.
    Majora's Mask's story is amazing, it is a story of friendship, heartbreak, revenge, and redemption all done in a lighthearted but mature way and not the traditional Nintendo happy go lucky way.
    The gameplay is solid with some improvements upon Ocarina of Time, the animations are more fluid, and there are
    This game is amazing, not quite as long as its predecessor, but with no less heart.
    Majora's Mask's story is amazing, it is a story of friendship, heartbreak, revenge, and redemption all done in a lighthearted but mature way and not the traditional Nintendo happy go lucky way.
    The gameplay is solid with some improvements upon Ocarina of Time, the animations are more fluid, and there are more of them, link instead of awkwardly jumping in one direction, instead does a flip or a side jump across jumps.
    The NPC's will at first seem too be lazy and rehashes from the last game, but if you pay attention too the story it will make sense why they're all back.
    If you haven't played this game you ether need mental treatment, or you're wasting your time reading this, go play it, NOW.
    Expand
  52. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    In my opinion the best Zelda game and also my favorite game. In this way everything works perfectly: Plot, music, gameplay, everything. Definitely a title that everyone should play at least once in life.
  53. Dec 9, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is definitely the best Zelda game that I have ever played. A Zelda game that is different from others, focusing more on side quests instead of the main game itself. The story is great, where you basically have three days to save the land of Termina. The game play is great as you collect masks throughout the game to become different kind of things. Making yourself a little more different than your actual character. The dungeons are fun and unique, even though there are only four dungeons in the entire game. And the boss fights are fun and challenging. The music is fantastic as well. A good thing for Majora's Mask is that it is darker and mysterious unlike other Zelda games. This is a spectacular sequel from the previous game "The Legend of Zelda Ocarina of Time." Expand
  54. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    A brilliant game, just what we could expect from the genius Miyamoto.
    Definitely an original entry and another way to see this legendary series, Majora's Mask captivates.
    More than the perfect Zelda gameplay and feeling of adventure that defines the series, it's the atmosphere that characterizes this game. Link is here confronted to the darkest sides of his journey going through a land
    A brilliant game, just what we could expect from the genius Miyamoto.
    Definitely an original entry and another way to see this legendary series, Majora's Mask captivates.
    More than the perfect Zelda gameplay and feeling of adventure that defines the series, it's the atmosphere that characterizes this game. Link is here confronted to the darkest sides of his journey going through a land of despair in order to save it from the Moon threatening to crash and destroy everything.
    The Legend of Zelda series is and will always be one of the greatest video game series of all time because of titles like this one. A masterpiece, a Zelda game.
    And if anyone ever doubts the magic of this series or the genius of Miyamoto, just head over Youtube and watch the "Is Link Dead in Majora's Mask video. Thank me later for put you back in the right path.
    Expand
  55. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    I love this game. I really do. I love everything about it; story, visuals, gameplay, characters, emotions, music, the time limit, the creepy imagery of the Stone Tower. It's, in my opinion, the pinnacle of my favorite video game franchise of all time, The Legend of Zelda.
    A masterpiece.
  56. Mar 16, 2014
    10
    Closer to a 9.5, but Majora's Mask is the second best game I have ever played. It is absolutely phenominal and stands the test of time. The sidequests are incredible involving, the dungeons are a work of art, the atmosphere is to die for, the soundtrack is unforgettable, and the pacing is perfect.
  57. Dec 9, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This title’s grim motif conveys a unique contrast to the livelier, past installments of the Zelda franchise that mirrors its predecessor’s ability to deliver an inimitable experience. Majora is the first of its kind to enable players revisit old dungeon bosses. Although there are only a few to revisit, perhaps the most amusing part of revisiting boss battles is in using the Fierce Deity’s Mask, which pays homage to Adult Link in Ocarina. The game also features a new soundtrack, although the Lost Woods music makes its return. Another area where Majora makes reference to Ocarina is in the Termina Field area leading to Snowhead, where a musical staff displays a melody from Ocarina. When Link plays the sequence correctly, he is rewarded with rupees.

    Players, however, will find their attention sidetracked by the three-day time limit with its embedded restrictions. The mask collection gives a fun side quest appeal to the overall experience, enhancing the game’s completeness piece by piece, only to be taxed by the limited extent of the game’s overall length otherwise. Rather than showcase a vast array of dungeons and puzzles, the game blitzes timed events with a few critical items but greater in number still are the masks, most of which serve no practical purpose.

    Overall, the main difference between Ocarina and Majora lies in the smaller details. Whereas Ocarina players sold masks for the salesman, Majora expands on that mechanic, allowing Link to explore the story behind each mask. Ocarina had one single long trade sequence leading to the Biggoron Sword, while Majora had many side quests with multiple rewards. Most of its similarities are due to the fact that the game was originally proposed as an expansion to the original, later to become a standalone game after the N64 Disk Drive project was scrapped.

    Verdict 8.5/10

    + Familiarity
    + Expanded mask collection and abilities
    + New soundtrack
    + Revisit bosses and side quests
    - 3 day time constraint
    Expand
  58. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Majora's Mask is undoubtedly the Odyssey to Ocarina of Time's Iliad. Surely, this game is the finest creation available on the N64, a darkly comedic epic, the most emotional entry in the Zelda series, and introduces one of the most unique (and admittedly divisive) mechanics in gaming history.
  59. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    This is the best game I've ever played. There's more things to do than in Ocarina, the sidequests and masks were great, and the music is really good. Also, the time-travel works really well, you can spend half a dozen cycles and still have more to do. The graphics are great for a 64 game, and my only complaints are with two music tracks and one boss. Seriously, that would have been theThis is the best game I've ever played. There's more things to do than in Ocarina, the sidequests and masks were great, and the music is really good. Also, the time-travel works really well, you can spend half a dozen cycles and still have more to do. The graphics are great for a 64 game, and my only complaints are with two music tracks and one boss. Seriously, that would have been the perfect water temple if not for Gyorg... Expand
  60. Jan 2, 2014
    9
    I actually understand why people like or dislike this Zelda. As a direct sequel we all had high hopes and everything. I skip all the obvious thing, because you can read just the other.
    What makes this game so unique Zelda or game in general? The symbolization. For example the Majora`s Mask grief theory.(just google it) And all the people influence at Link, the sidequests and the three
    I actually understand why people like or dislike this Zelda. As a direct sequel we all had high hopes and everything. I skip all the obvious thing, because you can read just the other.
    What makes this game so unique Zelda or game in general? The symbolization. For example the Majora`s Mask grief theory.(just google it) And all the people influence at Link, the sidequests and the three day. I mean i can`t think of a RPG where there different from day to day. Just pay attention if you know what I mean.
    Expand
  61. Mar 31, 2014
    9
    this game is awesome, it starts off very slow, but if you can make it through, you'll have what i consider the best experience in the franchise, even more so than OOT, i think this game deserves a lot more credit than it gets
  62. Jun 3, 2014
    10
    Not better than Zelda: Ocarina of time but still it's a masterpiece. there is no way to explain the feeling when you play aq good game, because you don't have. listen here, go pick up this game and put a toilet up your ass because you wpn't be moving for weeks. seriously. pick this one and ocarina of time up and hire a chef to cook for you while your having a great time
  63. May 23, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. **Could contain minor spoilers**

    I LOVE the game! It has so many things to enjoy. Every NPC has his/her own story to follow. And every time you replay the days you get to follow any story you like. It is a very original game overall and the cutscenes and the way the story is told is brilliant. I also love the deeper meaning this game has with the masks of how we all carry many different masks from time to time but we are still the same person underneath. And how Skull kid carries a mask just because he thought he wasn't accepted the way he was when it turns out that there is nothing wrong with him, the mask was the thing that were wrong. This game is filled with action, drama, philosophy, mysteries, secrets and so much more. And the detail that gives the game an even greater experience is to be able to play the role of the legendary Deku, Goron and the Zora and to be able to use their different skills. Simply amazing.

    Many complain about that the graphics are old but the game is from year 2000 so that's how the graphics were back then. And if you rate a game mainly on the graphics then you obviously don't know how to rate games. The game is brilliant, no question about it.

    The only bad thing i can come to think of is the time limit of the days in-game. The time goes to quickly (even with the "Inverted song of time") and it's hard to enjoy the game fully out without having to feel stressed and that you need to push through the story of the game. I would have liked it if the time would have gone even slower (still with the possibility to speed up or skip time) so you could enjoy the game more and so you wouldn't have to always feel this urge to hurry up. Because right now you have to jump forth and backwards in time a lot and it can be kind of annoying from time to time. But that is the only thing i can judge as negative.

    I really hope to see a remake of this game in the future with updated graphics and updated in-game details. Maybe with an expanded range of characters and stories to follow.
    Expand
  64. Mar 14, 2014
    9
    While not as popular as it's predecessor majora's mask has so much symbolic meaning and is by far the deepest, darkest, and saddest entry in the Zelda franchise by far, but this game can be frustrating for first time players and might turn off some hardcore Zelda fans with it's lack of dungeons. However it still rocks and is one of my most favorite games to date
  65. Jub
    Mar 2, 2015
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I did not enjoy this game anywhere near as much as I expected to. Pretty much everything about it is worse than The Ocarina of Time. Don't get me wrong though, it's not a bad game and I am comparing it to the greatest game ever made. I just really don't understand how anyone can say this game is the better of the two.

    I'll admit that there are a slack handful of improvements, but only to basic mechanics such as changing your items mid conversation. However, the story, characters, music i.e. everything important is worse, and I don't mean slightly, I mean they really did slap this game together.

    *SPOILER [start]*
    If you could disable the time limit in the game altogether, you could probably complete the game at a leisurely pace in 10-15 hours. I recently watched my friend play The Ocarina of Time for the first time and it took him 120 hours. Yes I know that this is the whole point to Majora's Mask but repetitive gameplay is about as boring [for me] as it gets.
    *SPOILER [end]*

    Whilst most of the time I do appreciate Nintendo and their innovative visions, this time I did not.
    Expand
  66. Mar 28, 2014
    10
    The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask is a complete masterpiece! I love it so much to the point where I'd say it's arguably not just my favorite Zelda Game, but one of my favorite games of all time. I love that it uses aspects from Ocarina of Time and still uses them flawlessly with some other cool new features. I also love this story to this game, it's very creepy and very dramatic and itThe Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask is a complete masterpiece! I love it so much to the point where I'd say it's arguably not just my favorite Zelda Game, but one of my favorite games of all time. I love that it uses aspects from Ocarina of Time and still uses them flawlessly with some other cool new features. I also love this story to this game, it's very creepy and very dramatic and it can even lead to some pretty deep thoughts about some story aspects. I also thought that the 3-Day system in this game made the game extra fun, it may have been different and I know a lot of people didn't like it, but i did and I would even dare say that I would like something kind of similar to that applied to another Zelda game in the future! I also love the soundtrack, while it did recycle some Ocarina of Time songs it also brought in some cool new songs that fit moods and drama of the game; The soundtrack is great and I would probably say it's one of my favorite soundtracks of all time. Overall, despite what some may say, I think that Majora's Mask was superior to Ocarina of Time and it should not be overlooked! Expand
  67. May 1, 2014
    10
    Like Ocarina of Time, it's sequel, Majora's Mask is as satisfying game with darker themes, brilliant gameplay and gorgeous graphics.

    Majora's Mask is about Link after the events of Ocarina of Time. Link set's off to find his fairy, Navi, but ends up in a parallel universe of Termina. There, Link has three day's to save Termina from Destruction. Like Ocarina of Time, in this game you
    Like Ocarina of Time, it's sequel, Majora's Mask is as satisfying game with darker themes, brilliant gameplay and gorgeous graphics.

    Majora's Mask is about Link after the events of Ocarina of Time. Link set's off to find his fairy, Navi, but ends up in a parallel universe of Termina. There, Link has three day's to save Termina from Destruction.

    Like Ocarina of Time, in this game you can play with time even more so than in the previous installment. You can speed up time, slow down time, skip time, and go back in time. And with the three day limit, a sense of urgency is always on you.

    Not only that, but the Majora's Mask took some of the best aspects of Ocarina of Time and made them better. The graphics, gameplay, music, and the songs, for example. Also, the world in Majora's Mask, contrary to popular belief, is larger than Ocarina of Times.

    Majora's mask story is also very satisfying, as you help people and venture to other lands in Termina, you help remove a sense of darkness over the land. The story is very dark, which makes Majora's Mask one of or the darkest Zelda game..

    The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask is, like Ocarina of Time, is a gorgeous game. High replay value, great graphics, fun gameplay, challenging puzzles, and a long story makes this game a masterpiece to be cherished.
    Expand
  68. May 27, 2014
    9
    Graphics: 10 Sound: 10 Gameplay: 10 Fun/Story: 9

    The sequel of Ocarina Of Time, it could be 10 but hand´t the magic and the surprise factor of predecessor.
  69. May 31, 2014
    10
    This game is just a masterpiece,a must have for every true gamer, it's art and nothing else. Astonishing graphics at that time, incredible OST, great NPCs and sidequesting, and the main history. Oh boy, the main history is just as good as it gets, the atmosphere of unrest all over Termina, and what I think makes this game the best of the whole Zelda series is the fact that, no matter howThis game is just a masterpiece,a must have for every true gamer, it's art and nothing else. Astonishing graphics at that time, incredible OST, great NPCs and sidequesting, and the main history. Oh boy, the main history is just as good as it gets, the atmosphere of unrest all over Termina, and what I think makes this game the best of the whole Zelda series is the fact that, no matter how you try, you can't save everyone, because you're gonna have to need to restart every once in a while and eventually no one will remember how much you did for them and that's what makes this entry unique, you are a silent hero for the first time, you are a foreigner that's trying to save people he doesn't know and who he doesn't owe anything because he is a HERO in caps.And this is a GAME in caps, the replayability, the little moments that make this game way more mature than the others like saving people who are already dead, or the Anju-Kafei sidequest, or the Deku Butler's son moment at the end of the game. That makes MM a GAME in caps. Expand
  70. Jun 5, 2014
    10
    I was really impressed with how fun this game was. It was a whole new idea; the masks and the 3 day cycle thing. I thought it would be a little weird for me, but I'm thinking about re-playing it soon, because I miss how unique it was. It's great for all ages, and you won't regret playing it.
  71. Jun 19, 2014
    10
    One of the darker zelda games, Majora's Mask is a slightly more intricate entry that focuses on the characters and themes more than the adventure. I consider OOT the better game, but Majora's Mask is still a classic masterpiece
  72. Jul 28, 2014
    10
    Once I heard that link is dead in here, I disbanded it. But I listened to the theory and (even though it is false since nintendo only had one year, they put gameplay before narrative) it got me hooked. I played it once at a friends house and I couldn't stop thinking about it. It is just so good. Best game ever.
  73. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    I have played all of the Zelda games, even the newer ones and I have to say that this one is my absolute favorite. Not only is it an excellent sequel to an already excellent game, it's a darker note in the series that sort of gives it a different edge than a normal Zelda game. Not only is the story good but the temples are well thought out although they are few. There are many optionalI have played all of the Zelda games, even the newer ones and I have to say that this one is my absolute favorite. Not only is it an excellent sequel to an already excellent game, it's a darker note in the series that sort of gives it a different edge than a normal Zelda game. Not only is the story good but the temples are well thought out although they are few. There are many optional side quests to allow you to get all the masks and you are most certainly rewarded for all of your hard work at the end and likewise all of the puzzles and mini games and side quests are fun and well worth the time. The game is challenging as all good Zelda games should be but this one has challenges that not only increase difficulty but make the game feel a bit more dark compared to OoT. The graphics and music (as always) and the game has great replay value. Be careful trying to use the guide, I know there are some mistakes in it (I've heard horror stories particularly with the water temple) so I would personally avoid it or at least be careful with your songs. Overall, as I mentioned, this is my favorite Zelda game in the series and I can't say enough good things about it...the only thing that can really be critiqued is the 3 day time reset gets a bit annoying but it IS what allows you to do ALL of the quests. Expand
  74. Sep 25, 2014
    10
    "Majora's Mask" is the darkest, most grotesque, and difficult game in the series, and it just so happens to be my favorite Legend of Zelda video game. The time limit creates so much tension while playing, and the puzzles can be very difficult, and the story is quite original and somewhat morose. I personally feel "Majora's Mask" is superior to "Ocarina of Time".
  75. Oct 9, 2014
    10
    A dark and strange twist to Ocarina of time, even though side quests may not be everyone's cup of tea but in terms of experience and story, this game delivers more than the last game could ever achieve, sure it reuses alot of stuff from the last game, the obvious improvements make up for it and theres always something that will reach out to you in the story, have you ever been rejected byA dark and strange twist to Ocarina of time, even though side quests may not be everyone's cup of tea but in terms of experience and story, this game delivers more than the last game could ever achieve, sure it reuses alot of stuff from the last game, the obvious improvements make up for it and theres always something that will reach out to you in the story, have you ever been rejected by friends? Then skull kid's story can relate to you, the whole always makes you feel trapped in time.In three days, the world is going to be destroyed, you can't get on with life until you save the world, everyone you met, everyone will die and saving them in the end feels rewarding to me. Expand
  76. Oct 13, 2014
    10
    My first 3D Zelda game. It is an awesome experience with many sidequests and things to do. It features only 4 major dungeons, but all of them are pretty good and the boss fights are really well done. Trying to complete to Bombers's Notebook will definitely keep you busy. I like this game, as all NPCs have their own lives and routines and there are many little stories for you to discover,My first 3D Zelda game. It is an awesome experience with many sidequests and things to do. It features only 4 major dungeons, but all of them are pretty good and the boss fights are really well done. Trying to complete to Bombers's Notebook will definitely keep you busy. I like this game, as all NPCs have their own lives and routines and there are many little stories for you to discover, while the rest being very entertaining as well. Moreover, the masks give you a lot of unique abilities, thus making the whole adventure unique. Expand
  77. Oct 25, 2014
    9
    On the surface, a rather fun and enjoyable dungeon-crawler through a very vibrant world. Below that, an adventure underlined with some seriously eerie dark surrealism underneath it. Between the rather cryptic dialogue that shows up every now and then, the more-disturbing-the-more-you-think-about-it event that happens at the farm if you fail, to even the very way you acquire theOn the surface, a rather fun and enjoyable dungeon-crawler through a very vibrant world. Below that, an adventure underlined with some seriously eerie dark surrealism underneath it. Between the rather cryptic dialogue that shows up every now and then, the more-disturbing-the-more-you-think-about-it event that happens at the farm if you fail, to even the very way you acquire the transformation masks, there's a feeling of unrest, of uncertainty, and a tint of somberness to the atmosphere. Which is all only enhanced by the ever-so-slow growing tension given by the impending apocolypse of the moon crashing down.

    The atmosphere is one of a kind, and the game's pretty fun too. My absolute peak of the zelda franchise. I wish there were more of a games with a subtle, yet vibrant world like it. Also wish stuff like Stone-Tower Temple would show up again. That dungeon was great.

    Do recommend.
    Expand
  78. Nov 23, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Majora's Mask is an amazing game. I can't say it's the best in the series tho, as I'm conflicted between MM and Wind Waker.

    Majora's Mask to me is like the Morrowind or the Burning Crusade of the Zelda Series. It's new, different, creepy and out of place. The whole world has a "Depressed" feeling to it. It can be a pretty dark game. It get's even darker the more you play it and the more you pay attention to the surroundings in the world.

    The main story is pretty short. There are only four dungeons excluding the Moon ( which is just 1 boss ) in the whole game. Each dungeon however, is pretty great in it's own way. Each dungeon as a sort of gimmick or thing to it. Woodfall doesn't have much of one, but Snowhead revolves around the idea of a controlable platform in the main room. Lower or Higher the platform to get into different areas.

    Great Bay, while water temples are usually hated, is a pretty ok dungeon. It revolves around changing the water flow to unlock certain areas.

    The most amazing of the four tho, is Stone Tower. It has a pretty epic idea of climbing a massive tower to get into it. Halfway through tho, you will be able to literally flip the temple upside down to access chests and doors that were previously upside down to begin with. It's pretty amazing as the developers had to design a dungeon to work both right-side up and up-side down at the same time.

    The reason the game has a lack of dungeons compared to other games in the series, is the fact there are MANY side-quests. In fact I'd say that 30% of your play time contributes to the Main-Quest and 70% to Side-Quests. Best of all is the Side-Quests let you learn more about the world, and how everyone has been effected by current events.

    You're probably wondering if I think it's better than Ocarina of Time/Master Quest or not. In my opinion, it's much better than OoT.

    Overall tho, if you've already played OoT and would like a similar game to play, Majora's Mask will feel like an expansion to OoT. I would recommend it if you're looking for that sort of thing. MM runs in the same engine as OoT with a few minor modifications. It uses the N64 Expansion Pack. It uses the Expansion Pack to display Motion-Blur effects.
    Expand
  79. Nov 6, 2014
    10
    Zelda - Majora's mask is for everyone who likes deep emotional stories. This is one of the best stories i have seen. There is so much intense, touching, actionfilled parts!

    This game gives you so much "background-thoughs" while you are solving temples, like: Is everyone going to remember what Link did to whole world? or I am the only one who can save the world... The music "feels" with
    Zelda - Majora's mask is for everyone who likes deep emotional stories. This is one of the best stories i have seen. There is so much intense, touching, actionfilled parts!

    This game gives you so much "background-thoughs" while you are solving temples, like: Is everyone going to remember what Link did to whole world? or I am the only one who can save the world... The music "feels" with me, and that is why the music is perfect on this game.

    Please, try this game right now if you haven't!
    Expand
  80. Nov 9, 2014
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played, full stop. This is the first time I have ever handed out a 10/10 on Metacritic. There is not a thing wrong with it and if you plan on buying it, I'd wait for the 3DS version to come out. It's more likable than Ocarina of time in my opinion, because the story is just so much more developed and darker - with noticeable themes running through the gameThis is the best game I have ever played, full stop. This is the first time I have ever handed out a 10/10 on Metacritic. There is not a thing wrong with it and if you plan on buying it, I'd wait for the 3DS version to come out. It's more likable than Ocarina of time in my opinion, because the story is just so much more developed and darker - with noticeable themes running through the game as you explore Termina. As said, it is my favorite game of all time. 10/10 Expand
  81. Dec 22, 2014
    10
    This game is very very good. It brings the same layout of OOT but different setting, characters, plot, etc you can debatably say this is OOT two. In this game time is actually more of a factor than OOT. The game has amazing terrain and awesome masks, it makes you want to collect them all but doing fun side missions. This is one of my favorite games ever. If you haven't played it yet pleaseThis game is very very good. It brings the same layout of OOT but different setting, characters, plot, etc you can debatably say this is OOT two. In this game time is actually more of a factor than OOT. The game has amazing terrain and awesome masks, it makes you want to collect them all but doing fun side missions. This is one of my favorite games ever. If you haven't played it yet please take the time to do so Expand
  82. Jan 21, 2015
    10
    Wow This game is so different to ocarina of time but yet so similar. Different villain, settings, weapons, powers, storyline, and its very dark. That being said It has similar characters, controls, graphics and very good music. I don't know what game i like better this or OOT. Skull kid is a lot more evil than Ganadorf. Yes he is. Ever notice ganadorf never really killed off things thatWow This game is so different to ocarina of time but yet so similar. Different villain, settings, weapons, powers, storyline, and its very dark. That being said It has similar characters, controls, graphics and very good music. I don't know what game i like better this or OOT. Skull kid is a lot more evil than Ganadorf. Yes he is. Ever notice ganadorf never really killed off things that weren't in his way like how kakariko village was the same when link was matured in OOT. Ganadorf wanted to rule thats it yes he was still evil but not as wicked as Skull kid. Skull kid wanted to obliterate everything with that moon. Just out of pure evil he had no reason behind it. Even at the end when majora went into the moon and said " I SHALL CONSUME EVERYTHING!" whoah there buddy take it easy. This game was creepy and addictive one of my favorite games. I HIGHLY suggest you atleast play/beat the first temple before you rate this game. This game is not a 0. Ill accept haters giving it a 5 at most but anything under that is absurd Expand
  83. Feb 22, 2015
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Other than wanting attention....I give it a 5 because you can't relax.....its great that there is truly a lot to it......but the masks don't really seem to be as unique or powerful as i had hoped for after an awesome town and music..........Great story and i love how its the same Skull kid from the first or something.....awesome how the skull kid has some prior relationship with the giants.......If i gave it any higher of a score it would only be because im yet to see anything top these two games as far as magical feelings are concerned.....although the giants in real life will always lead you to fight the evil moon.............Giants can see the future sometimes is what im saying....even though they eat so fast.. Expand
  84. Feb 28, 2015
    10
    Legendary. This is my favorite game of all time. For its time, its graphics were stunning, but the STORY. GOD THE STORY! It was so intricate, and powerful,You really feel for the characters, and you will do anything you can to save them from the moon that will inevitably (or so they think) crash into the earth and destroy everything that they know and love. Nintendo took a huge gamble withLegendary. This is my favorite game of all time. For its time, its graphics were stunning, but the STORY. GOD THE STORY! It was so intricate, and powerful,You really feel for the characters, and you will do anything you can to save them from the moon that will inevitably (or so they think) crash into the earth and destroy everything that they know and love. Nintendo took a huge gamble with the 3-day-system, a gamble that has without a doubt paid off, it's one of the most innovative things I've seen in a game in well, ever. Expand
  85. Mar 22, 2015
    10
    Is it wrong to say that Majora's Mask is better than Ocarina of Time? Because I mean that the game certainly is. The sense of urgency you get from the three-day circle is an urgency that can't be compared to any other game. The world is full of life with the greater emphasis on sidequests and character development. The story is tragic and it's perhaps the darkest Zelda game to date. Is itIs it wrong to say that Majora's Mask is better than Ocarina of Time? Because I mean that the game certainly is. The sense of urgency you get from the three-day circle is an urgency that can't be compared to any other game. The world is full of life with the greater emphasis on sidequests and character development. The story is tragic and it's perhaps the darkest Zelda game to date. Is it worth your time? Yes. It is as amazing as Ocarina of Time? It's even better. Expand
  86. Apr 8, 2015
    10
    O jogo talvez proporciona ao jogador o desejo de explorar o mundo do jogo, e de acordo com a exploração, a aventura ocorre, o jogo predomina na criatividade, um mundo que se sincroniza com a verdadeira realidade, como o tempo e as emoções, o jogo expande a imaginação do jogador, aumentando sua diversão!
  87. Mar 2, 2013
    0
    Im going to keep it short and simple. I love this game because they blended up the colourful fantasy environments with darker ones. It gives the game a more solid experience, like Twilight Princess. Compared to Skyward Sword, with its e10+ rating, "cartoony" graphics and childish characters MM/TP is the way to go according to me. I hope nintendo does another game for the mature crowd,Im going to keep it short and simple. I love this game because they blended up the colourful fantasy environments with darker ones. It gives the game a more solid experience, like Twilight Princess. Compared to Skyward Sword, with its e10+ rating, "cartoony" graphics and childish characters MM/TP is the way to go according to me. I hope nintendo does another game for the mature crowd, which Im guessing is the biggest segment of the Zelda fans. When comparing the sales of Twilight Princess and Skyward Sword it is clear. Collapse
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Where Majora rises to the top is its concept – three days to save the world. The execution of the idea is flawless: time means everything and the player always has to be aware. The save system is absolutely perfect, letting players feel comfortable in controlling time but still keeping them on the edge of their seats when things get hairy.
  2. Stunning, optimized graphics; immersive, rich sound; refined, complex, and deep gameplay; and a mature, gripping plot make it a game that you won't want to miss.
  3. Da Graphics: To say nothing short of astonishing is an understatement.