User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 525 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 525

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 26, 2011
    9
    Majora's Mask is not perfect, by any means. The biggest flaw by far is the save system, which, while experimental and unique, didn't quite work. But it was an interesting concept, ruined by terrible execution. That's my only problem with Majora's Mask. Other than that, it is an amazing, challenging, inspired game that rivals Ocarina of Time as one of the best Zelda games ever made. ComeMajora's Mask is not perfect, by any means. The biggest flaw by far is the save system, which, while experimental and unique, didn't quite work. But it was an interesting concept, ruined by terrible execution. That's my only problem with Majora's Mask. Other than that, it is an amazing, challenging, inspired game that rivals Ocarina of Time as one of the best Zelda games ever made. Come on, it's a Zelda game: they don't make bad Zelda games! Expand
  2. Jun 18, 2011
    7
    Majora's Mask is a good game, even a game I'm willing to play again. But it was lacking. As any other Legend of Zelda game it had great dungeons and all the other little things people have learned to love from the Zelda series, but it could never reach the infinite glory many other games of the time could. Even within the Zelda series it becomes forgettable. Now for the more positive:Majora's Mask is a good game, even a game I'm willing to play again. But it was lacking. As any other Legend of Zelda game it had great dungeons and all the other little things people have learned to love from the Zelda series, but it could never reach the infinite glory many other games of the time could. Even within the Zelda series it becomes forgettable. Now for the more positive: Termina is a great place and the game evolves in it's own unique way. Majora's Mask is still a good play and one I would recommend to almost anyone. Expand
  3. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In many ways this game is a definite improvement upon Ocarina of Time, because, though it is much shorter, there is a much greater reason to actually go around and explore, while in Ocarina of Time it was more like a luxury. The story is much darker and can even be disturbing. The maniacal, and somewhat sadistic villain in this one leaves your character in a world doomed to be destroyed by a grotesque moon, and throughout the game you have to find a way to prevent that moon from dropping - which you have three days to do. Time travel is, like in Ocarina of Time, heavily incorporated and from the beginning you know you can't accomplish what you can in 3 days, so you rely on your Ocarina in this more than you do in the previous game. Another improvement is that the new fairy, Tatl, is far less annoying and has more personality than Navi ever had. The game, like OOT, has its own lore, and though it can be related to OOT, it is also extremely different because it takes place in another universe or dimension (or whatever you want to call it). You can discover more about the world though the side-quests and exploration - by talking to others. In this game, many of the characters, unlike in OOT, will say different things to you after you've talked to them multiple times. The only way to really hear what they say again is to go back in time and start the 3 day cycle again, otherwise, unless it's really important info, they won't repeat it. You can affect just everyone's future in this, and that's probably one of the most well-thought out parts of this game. During the Kafei Quest, you can end up with so many outcomes, it's ridiculous - most of which are very sad, and only one is happy, but still is followed by inevitable sadness. Also this game is very surreal through its visuals and its levels, and also the fact that you can loop things over and over again adds to this effect. The levels are also constructed amazingly, and, as a player, it is hard to lose interest, and the puzzles are also improved upon from OOT. This game is perfect in its own way, and therefore is definitely worth at least trying. Expand
  4. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    ou know what? I'll just put this game in wits with Ocarina of Time. BOTH games are two sides of a wonderful coin. While Ocarina of Time was a grand, epic adventure with a lighthearted atmosphere, Majora's Mask is a life and death mission going against a clock, like an episode of 24. Dark and unsettling, Ocarina of Time is slightly better on overall gaming experience but Majora's Maskou know what? I'll just put this game in wits with Ocarina of Time. BOTH games are two sides of a wonderful coin. While Ocarina of Time was a grand, epic adventure with a lighthearted atmosphere, Majora's Mask is a life and death mission going against a clock, like an episode of 24. Dark and unsettling, Ocarina of Time is slightly better on overall gaming experience but Majora's Mask actually has perks that makes it equal or sometimes even better than Ocarina of Time to a certain point. MM pretty much has the most unique story set up in all of the Zelda game; save a town from a falling moon in 3 days. No princess or other important people to save, no Ganondorf. Just save a town from doom. The gameplay is actually a tad better with improve jump and combat mechanics and though the map is smaller, it has more life. The 3 day clock system is pretty much genius, making the gameplay more interesting and fun. Last but not least is the dark and disturbing atmosphere and satisfyingly difficult gameplay, adding with the 3 day clock system makes a very tense experience. Going back on going between MM or OoT, I suggest to buy and play BOTH of these games. Both games are the best the N64 has to offer. Expand
  5. May 26, 2011
    9
    I was actually annoyed by playing Deku Link at the first few minutes of the game, but I got over it, because I was drawn in by excellent graphics, trippy characters, and a good story. But people who get scared easily, beware: this is EASILY the most haunting and disturbing Zelda title ever released. Now, if you'd excuse me, I need to have a nightmare of those Bombchus.
  6. May 9, 2011
    10
    I love Majora's Mask...I Love how fantastic a game it was...The music, the scenery...Every single character had a purpose, everyone had a personality.

    You came to know those 3 days back to front, look, there's Kafei come to deliver that letter to Anju...She'll never understand. A world of depressed people, and your goal is to give them joy....Some of the saddest and happiest moments of
    I love Majora's Mask...I Love how fantastic a game it was...The music, the scenery...Every single character had a purpose, everyone had a personality.

    You came to know those 3 days back to front, look, there's Kafei come to deliver that letter to Anju...She'll never understand.

    A world of depressed people, and your goal is to give them joy....Some of the saddest and happiest moments of videogaming are in this game.

    It's so....dark, amazingly so for a Nintendo game of 2000.... So many characters, some literally suicidally desperate and lonely. The simplest things, making their day, making their life...I know it's a game....but They felt like real people, I pitied them.

    And it hides away, behind the shadows of Ocarina of time, Wind Waker and Twilight princess.

    The Easter eggs, secrets, puzzles, mysteries, lore, character depth....It's like a dozen books crammed into a game....Yet...Nothing is forced or rushed or ignored, the attention to detail....no corners were cut.

    I listen to the music every now and then, The Song of healing....It serves it's role so perfectly....

    If you fail...It's not game over, there's no simply sad melody and a "Do you want to continue?" You die. Everyone dies. Everything is destroyed...and you get to watch....you watch as the game shows you why you must not fail again, why you must rewind time and start over.

    But it wasn't all dark....There were moments that made me smile, that make me happy to this day. There were stupidly amusing parts, Shoving the dignified princess into a bottle, then dumping her on her father's lap and demanding a reward....

    When people tell me games aren't getting worse, and that I'm too nostalgic....sometimes I believe them....Then I play Majora's Mask again......Maybe games aren't getting worse, but I don't think they will ever be that good ever again....

    I'm half asleep, but I just wanted to help make the worlds most underrated game in history slightly more widely acknowledged. I consider it to be the greatest game ever made...

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XDX4ZwUeOok

    Believing in your friends and embracing that belief by forgiving failure. These feelings have vanished from our hearts.~ Igos du Ikana

    Or, if that quote's too sissy and stupid for you;

    "I would trade all of the PS2 launch titles for one copy of Majora's mask. Period. 100/100" ~ Nintendojo
    Expand
  7. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    A nearly flawless game, it perfectly balances atmosphere, gameplay, and story, while still fun and challenging. It is much darker than any other Zelda game before or after it, and it has more depth and complexity than any other game of it's time. In short, a masterful work of art, greatly under-appreciated by many. And as for the whole timte limit thing, I felt it just added more of aA nearly flawless game, it perfectly balances atmosphere, gameplay, and story, while still fun and challenging. It is much darker than any other Zelda game before or after it, and it has more depth and complexity than any other game of it's time. In short, a masterful work of art, greatly under-appreciated by many. And as for the whole timte limit thing, I felt it just added more of a sense of urgency. You're given a HUGE amount of time, considering you have...about two hours per dungeon, if you slow down time and restart at every chance. Personally, I think this is possibly the finest game ever made. Expand
  8. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    This is a masterpiece of a video game. Personally my favourite of the Legend of Zelda series. A dark, twisted, scary, and sad story paired with creative masks and transformations make this easily one of the most original games I've ever come across. The difficulty was a nice step up from Ocarina of Time and the dungeons were designed very creatively, without the typical Earth/Fire/WaterThis is a masterpiece of a video game. Personally my favourite of the Legend of Zelda series. A dark, twisted, scary, and sad story paired with creative masks and transformations make this easily one of the most original games I've ever come across. The difficulty was a nice step up from Ocarina of Time and the dungeons were designed very creatively, without the typical Earth/Fire/Water dungeons you usually come across in Zelda. The way the saving system works and the repetition of the three days allows you to get really involved with the NPC's. It may have a smaller number of dungeons, but the sidequests keep it from being too short. All in all, a truly beautiful and emotional piece of work. Expand
  9. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    As an art form, video games bring something new to the table: game play. As opposed to movies, books or other types of art, you are merely a spectator, however with video games, you get a direct involvement that is incapable in other forms. Perhaps the best example of this involvement is Zelda: Majora's Mask. The game has two different aspects that make it unique from not only otherAs an art form, video games bring something new to the table: game play. As opposed to movies, books or other types of art, you are merely a spectator, however with video games, you get a direct involvement that is incapable in other forms. Perhaps the best example of this involvement is Zelda: Majora's Mask. The game has two different aspects that make it unique from not only other zeldas but other video games. The three day aspect: you continuously play the same three days over and over, as well as the mask aspect: you can don masks that either have specific jobs or transform you into the soul of someone who comes from the world that you inhabit. In the game, you play as not only "Link" the main character, but inhabit a Deku Scrub, a Goron, and a Zora. With the Deku, you enter into an established role in a world that unfamiliar to you. Deku scrubs are obviously second class citizens. You can't go in some buildings, you can't join clubs and you are generally treated like dirt. Its different with the other two. The goron is a hero of his people and when you become him, you take on the cares and problems of his people. With the zora its similar, you need are part of a band and take on some of the problems of the zora people. The involvement in this story is what makes this game so great. Through experiencing the various people's lives in this game you experience what gives the game its amazing personality. You see the ups and downs and are compelled to change the things that are bad.

    Theres so much more in this game to talk about: the ever present Moon that hangs above head, with a constantly sad look on its face, the beautiful and sad stories that are constantly appearing in the game, the games villain, The Skull Kid, who's only crime was looking for new friends. Its a hard game that is so wonderfully artful and amazing. It will remind you why video games are an art form worth fighting for.
    Expand
  10. Apr 5, 2011
    9
    Often when people play Majora's Mask they can't help but compare it to the nostalgic, Enticing and memorable Ocarina of time it was inevitable to happen just as the past games that tried to up one on the game before them. The hype was high expectations when released as people had high hopes for this game being based off the well know Ocarina of time. The main result for this I believe isOften when people play Majora's Mask they can't help but compare it to the nostalgic, Enticing and memorable Ocarina of time it was inevitable to happen just as the past games that tried to up one on the game before them. The hype was high expectations when released as people had high hopes for this game being based off the well know Ocarina of time. The main result for this I believe is the fact that the game play is so different compared to previous Zelda games. It was new and scary because people didn't understand just how it worked and I admit some puzzles can be rather difficult but not impossible. The game presents a more dark story line compared to the typical Save the princess and the world I find it was rather refreshing not to mention the mask concept changing things up giving you various abilities. However I believe when I say this genuinely with passion for the Zelda series that some games had it's ups and downs some where appealing than others but I think people where to quick to judge this game. Those whom have only played Ocarina of time and tried Majora's mask have yet to try the many other classic games in the series. I admit some Zelda games I wouldn't think of playing a second time such as the Zelda game that allowed you to play as Princess Zelda... but even so it doesn't make it horrid just because it wasn't as smooth as the other games before and after it's time. Although if the story line did not appeal to ones interest I understand we all have various tastes but if one where to merely judge upon its game play after only trying the game for maybe an hour more or less then perhaps they shouldn't be ones to judge if they've never beaten the game to begin with. Also if people judging the graphics.. and random aspects of the game.. For it's time the graphics where good this is an old game you can't compare games like this to games more up to date like the new FPS or Final Fantasy game or whatever you wish to compare it to. As for the random aspects that make people feel un easy a lot of games have these sort of qualities such as psychonauts this game was under appreciated but the story line and game play was wonderful but because it was so different and random compared to most games people where turned off from it. I think if people just gave Majora Mask a chance and played through the game fully then maybe just maybe they'd like it. Expand
  11. Apr 4, 2011
    3
    The main idea behind MM seems to be to replace most of the dungeons with other sources of gameplay. If this sounds fine to you, you probably don't actually like the Zelda series. Ever since Zelda 1, every game has been designed around the dungeons, because that's what makes them fun. MM only has a few main dungeons, and they're not very good ones either. There isn't much to do in them, andThe main idea behind MM seems to be to replace most of the dungeons with other sources of gameplay. If this sounds fine to you, you probably don't actually like the Zelda series. Ever since Zelda 1, every game has been designed around the dungeons, because that's what makes them fun. MM only has a few main dungeons, and they're not very good ones either. There isn't much to do in them, and to even go in them, you have to run around doing errands for an hour (just like WoW). Now, I'm not saying Zelda absolutely has to be focused on dungeons. The issue is that 90% of the gameplay is designed to only work with the dungeons.

    And then, there's the obvious flaws. The fact that they reused everything from OoT, all those masks that barely even change the gameplay, and the fact that Nintendo charges full price for this game. Basically, don't buy this game. If you have to play it, borrow it from someone, and if you're not bored after a few hours, I guess go ahead and buy it.
    Expand
  12. Mar 11, 2011
    9
    When I beat the first game, I had no idea that there was a sequel! I only found it out when my friend on the bus ride to school told me about Majora's Mask. I said stuff like, "WHAT? There's a sequel?! WHAT? The masks can actually change your form?! WHAT? There's only four temple's and not ten?! That's AWESOME!!! Boy, was my friend right. Being a kid, I liked the fact that there was onlyWhen I beat the first game, I had no idea that there was a sequel! I only found it out when my friend on the bus ride to school told me about Majora's Mask. I said stuff like, "WHAT? There's a sequel?! WHAT? The masks can actually change your form?! WHAT? There's only four temple's and not ten?! That's AWESOME!!! Boy, was my friend right. Being a kid, I liked the fact that there was only four and not ten dungeons because I thought that I could beat it easily. I was wrong. There may be only four of them but they were hard! I could get through them, but they were hard! But when I discovered the song of soaring, I was fine for a while. It was nice of the developers to offer me a challenge. Because back then, YouTube didn't exist so I couldn't look at a walk-through and cheat the right way. I had to figure out everything on my own, and all of this on the shoulders of a nine-year old was a little sadistic. But I eventually did get through the entire game 100%! This game, I'm glad to say is a great sequel to a great game series. I only have one complaint, looking back now, I don't like how it was so short! Beat this guy, beat this guy, beat this guy, beat this guy, and now to the final boss. Just too short! But other than that, it's one of my favorite games of my childhood. When I beat Majora's Wrath, I may have had nightmares for a week, but I didn't care, I thought it was one of the greatest accomplishments of my childhood. I highly recommend you at least try it. Expand
  13. Jan 9, 2011
    10
    One cannot help but compare Majora's Mask to Ocarina of Time as it is a direct sequel. Naturally, this was extremely hard to live up to and that is the most likely reason for the more negative opinion. Personally I found the game absolutely brilliant. As a sequel to Ocarina of Time it took the basic features of it and enhanced and twisted them into a darker and more perilous setting -One cannot help but compare Majora's Mask to Ocarina of Time as it is a direct sequel. Naturally, this was extremely hard to live up to and that is the most likely reason for the more negative opinion. Personally I found the game absolutely brilliant. As a sequel to Ocarina of Time it took the basic features of it and enhanced and twisted them into a darker and more perilous setting - Termina. Right from the beginning we can see that the game is darker, with the enigmatic travelling mask salesman and the mystery surrounding Majora's Mask. The whole mask concept is really what makes the game stand out, adding a multitude of side quests and new gameplay as well as making the game feel a lot more dark and mysterious. As many other reviews have said, the game was hard but for me that' part of what made it so great - the increased difficulty not only adds to the challenge but makes the game feel more dark and twisted when compared with Ocarina of Time. Overall I just feel that Majora's Mask captured the feel of Ocarina of Time and put a unique take on it making the game feel very fresh and just plain awesome. Expand
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Where Majora rises to the top is its concept – three days to save the world. The execution of the idea is flawless: time means everything and the player always has to be aware. The save system is absolutely perfect, letting players feel comfortable in controlling time but still keeping them on the edge of their seats when things get hairy.
  2. Stunning, optimized graphics; immersive, rich sound; refined, complex, and deep gameplay; and a mature, gripping plot make it a game that you won't want to miss.
  3. Da Graphics: To say nothing short of astonishing is an understatement.