The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask Nintendo 64

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 827 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 827
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 9, 2011
    10
    One cannot help but compare Majora's Mask to Ocarina of Time as it is a direct sequel. Naturally, this was extremely hard to live up to and that is the most likely reason for the more negative opinion. Personally I found the game absolutely brilliant. As a sequel to Ocarina of Time it took the basic features of it and enhanced and twisted them into a darker and more perilous setting -One cannot help but compare Majora's Mask to Ocarina of Time as it is a direct sequel. Naturally, this was extremely hard to live up to and that is the most likely reason for the more negative opinion. Personally I found the game absolutely brilliant. As a sequel to Ocarina of Time it took the basic features of it and enhanced and twisted them into a darker and more perilous setting - Termina. Right from the beginning we can see that the game is darker, with the enigmatic travelling mask salesman and the mystery surrounding Majora's Mask. The whole mask concept is really what makes the game stand out, adding a multitude of side quests and new gameplay as well as making the game feel a lot more dark and mysterious. As many other reviews have said, the game was hard but for me that' part of what made it so great - the increased difficulty not only adds to the challenge but makes the game feel more dark and twisted when compared with Ocarina of Time. Overall I just feel that Majora's Mask captured the feel of Ocarina of Time and put a unique take on it making the game feel very fresh and just plain awesome. Expand
  2. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In many ways this game is a definite improvement upon Ocarina of Time, because, though it is much shorter, there is a much greater reason to actually go around and explore, while in Ocarina of Time it was more like a luxury. The story is much darker and can even be disturbing. The maniacal, and somewhat sadistic villain in this one leaves your character in a world doomed to be destroyed by a grotesque moon, and throughout the game you have to find a way to prevent that moon from dropping - which you have three days to do. Time travel is, like in Ocarina of Time, heavily incorporated and from the beginning you know you can't accomplish what you can in 3 days, so you rely on your Ocarina in this more than you do in the previous game. Another improvement is that the new fairy, Tatl, is far less annoying and has more personality than Navi ever had. The game, like OOT, has its own lore, and though it can be related to OOT, it is also extremely different because it takes place in another universe or dimension (or whatever you want to call it). You can discover more about the world though the side-quests and exploration - by talking to others. In this game, many of the characters, unlike in OOT, will say different things to you after you've talked to them multiple times. The only way to really hear what they say again is to go back in time and start the 3 day cycle again, otherwise, unless it's really important info, they won't repeat it. You can affect just everyone's future in this, and that's probably one of the most well-thought out parts of this game. During the Kafei Quest, you can end up with so many outcomes, it's ridiculous - most of which are very sad, and only one is happy, but still is followed by inevitable sadness. Also this game is very surreal through its visuals and its levels, and also the fact that you can loop things over and over again adds to this effect. The levels are also constructed amazingly, and, as a player, it is hard to lose interest, and the puzzles are also improved upon from OOT. This game is perfect in its own way, and therefore is definitely worth at least trying. Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2011
    9
    When I beat the first game, I had no idea that there was a sequel! I only found it out when my friend on the bus ride to school told me about Majora's Mask. I said stuff like, "WHAT? There's a sequel?! WHAT? The masks can actually change your form?! WHAT? There's only four temple's and not ten?! That's AWESOME!!! Boy, was my friend right. Being a kid, I liked the fact that there was onlyWhen I beat the first game, I had no idea that there was a sequel! I only found it out when my friend on the bus ride to school told me about Majora's Mask. I said stuff like, "WHAT? There's a sequel?! WHAT? The masks can actually change your form?! WHAT? There's only four temple's and not ten?! That's AWESOME!!! Boy, was my friend right. Being a kid, I liked the fact that there was only four and not ten dungeons because I thought that I could beat it easily. I was wrong. There may be only four of them but they were hard! I could get through them, but they were hard! But when I discovered the song of soaring, I was fine for a while. It was nice of the developers to offer me a challenge. Because back then, YouTube didn't exist so I couldn't look at a walk-through and cheat the right way. I had to figure out everything on my own, and all of this on the shoulders of a nine-year old was a little sadistic. But I eventually did get through the entire game 100%! This game, I'm glad to say is a great sequel to a great game series. I only have one complaint, looking back now, I don't like how it was so short! Beat this guy, beat this guy, beat this guy, beat this guy, and now to the final boss. Just too short! But other than that, it's one of my favorite games of my childhood. When I beat Majora's Wrath, I may have had nightmares for a week, but I didn't care, I thought it was one of the greatest accomplishments of my childhood. I highly recommend you at least try it. Expand
  4. May 9, 2011
    10
    I love Majora's Mask...I Love how fantastic a game it was...The music, the scenery...Every single character had a purpose, everyone had a personality.

    You came to know those 3 days back to front, look, there's Kafei come to deliver that letter to Anju...She'll never understand. A world of depressed people, and your goal is to give them joy....Some of the saddest and happiest moments of
    I love Majora's Mask...I Love how fantastic a game it was...The music, the scenery...Every single character had a purpose, everyone had a personality.

    You came to know those 3 days back to front, look, there's Kafei come to deliver that letter to Anju...She'll never understand.

    A world of depressed people, and your goal is to give them joy....Some of the saddest and happiest moments of videogaming are in this game.

    It's so....dark, amazingly so for a Nintendo game of 2000.... So many characters, some literally suicidally desperate and lonely. The simplest things, making their day, making their life...I know it's a game....but They felt like real people, I pitied them.

    And it hides away, behind the shadows of Ocarina of time, Wind Waker and Twilight princess.

    The Easter eggs, secrets, puzzles, mysteries, lore, character depth....It's like a dozen books crammed into a game....Yet...Nothing is forced or rushed or ignored, the attention to detail....no corners were cut.

    I listen to the music every now and then, The Song of healing....It serves it's role so perfectly....

    If you fail...It's not game over, there's no simply sad melody and a "Do you want to continue?" You die. Everyone dies. Everything is destroyed...and you get to watch....you watch as the game shows you why you must not fail again, why you must rewind time and start over.

    But it wasn't all dark....There were moments that made me smile, that make me happy to this day. There were stupidly amusing parts, Shoving the dignified princess into a bottle, then dumping her on her father's lap and demanding a reward....

    When people tell me games aren't getting worse, and that I'm too nostalgic....sometimes I believe them....Then I play Majora's Mask again......Maybe games aren't getting worse, but I don't think they will ever be that good ever again....

    I'm half asleep, but I just wanted to help make the worlds most underrated game in history slightly more widely acknowledged. I consider it to be the greatest game ever made...

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XDX4ZwUeOok

    Believing in your friends and embracing that belief by forgiving failure. These feelings have vanished from our hearts.~ Igos du Ikana

    Or, if that quote's too sissy and stupid for you;

    "I would trade all of the PS2 launch titles for one copy of Majora's mask. Period. 100/100" ~ Nintendojo
    Expand
  5. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    It's neigh impossible to describe my feelings toward this game and I have almost no nostalgia for it. Almost everything is absolutely perfect. A direct improvement of everything in ocarina of time excluding length. The best game of all time. Period.
  6. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    I have played all of the Zelda games, even the newer ones and I have to say that this one is my absolute favorite. Not only is it an excellent sequel to an already excellent game, it's a darker note in the series that sort of gives it a different edge than a normal Zelda game. Not only is the story good but the temples are well thought out although they are few. There are many optionalI have played all of the Zelda games, even the newer ones and I have to say that this one is my absolute favorite. Not only is it an excellent sequel to an already excellent game, it's a darker note in the series that sort of gives it a different edge than a normal Zelda game. Not only is the story good but the temples are well thought out although they are few. There are many optional side quests to allow you to get all the masks and you are most certainly rewarded for all of your hard work at the end and likewise all of the puzzles and mini games and side quests are fun and well worth the time. The game is challenging as all good Zelda games should be but this one has challenges that not only increase difficulty but make the game feel a bit more dark compared to OoT. The graphics and music (as always) and the game has great replay value. Be careful trying to use the guide, I know there are some mistakes in it (I've heard horror stories particularly with the water temple) so I would personally avoid it or at least be careful with your songs. Overall, as I mentioned, this is my favorite Zelda game in the series and I can't say enough good things about it...the only thing that can really be critiqued is the 3 day time reset gets a bit annoying but it IS what allows you to do ALL of the quests. Expand
  7. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    ou know what? I'll just put this game in wits with Ocarina of Time. BOTH games are two sides of a wonderful coin. While Ocarina of Time was a grand, epic adventure with a lighthearted atmosphere, Majora's Mask is a life and death mission going against a clock, like an episode of 24. Dark and unsettling, Ocarina of Time is slightly better on overall gaming experience but Majora's Maskou know what? I'll just put this game in wits with Ocarina of Time. BOTH games are two sides of a wonderful coin. While Ocarina of Time was a grand, epic adventure with a lighthearted atmosphere, Majora's Mask is a life and death mission going against a clock, like an episode of 24. Dark and unsettling, Ocarina of Time is slightly better on overall gaming experience but Majora's Mask actually has perks that makes it equal or sometimes even better than Ocarina of Time to a certain point. MM pretty much has the most unique story set up in all of the Zelda game; save a town from a falling moon in 3 days. No princess or other important people to save, no Ganondorf. Just save a town from doom. The gameplay is actually a tad better with improve jump and combat mechanics and though the map is smaller, it has more life. The 3 day clock system is pretty much genius, making the gameplay more interesting and fun. Last but not least is the dark and disturbing atmosphere and satisfyingly difficult gameplay, adding with the 3 day clock system makes a very tense experience. Going back on going between MM or OoT, I suggest to buy and play BOTH of these games. Both games are the best the N64 has to offer. Expand
  8. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask can be thought as the odd one out of the Legend of Zelda series. It had a radically different dark and twisted plot than the others. The differences from Ocarina of Time being that Termina is much more vast. Also, sidequests are much more crucial. The whole mask idea puts an interesting spin on the gameplay. The character may be different, but they allThe Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask can be thought as the odd one out of the Legend of Zelda series. It had a radically different dark and twisted plot than the others. The differences from Ocarina of Time being that Termina is much more vast. Also, sidequests are much more crucial. The whole mask idea puts an interesting spin on the gameplay. The character may be different, but they all seem to be familiar in some way. It is hard to compare which is actually better because of the difference, but I like this one slightly better than Ocarina of Time. What I like about it is that the worlds are varied and the items are new. The graphics are slightly better. The whole game was colorful and amazing. The time travel added a familiar twist on the game. There are some negative aspects though. I never like having to buy add-ons to any game, but honestly, a $10 expansion pak to improve the graphics a bit. If I wanted a graphics change, I would have bought a PlayStation at the time! Also, Link and the Mask Salesman are both tools. Link uses everyone to get what he wants and then goes back in time and leaves them. The Mask Salesman will pretty much kill himself if he doesn't get his precious mask back, but he apparently needs it in three days! When he gets it back, he just leaves without giving you anything after you just risked you life over and over again for him! The three days feature drove me crazy sometimes. Also, the game can be slightly overwhelming. Overall, great game with an even better ending! Expand
  9. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Legendary. This is my favorite game of all time. For its time, its graphics were stunning, but the STORY. GOD THE STORY! It was so intricate, and powerful. If you like Zelda games, YOU MUST own this one.
  10. Aug 17, 2011
    9
    The graphics are improved, the storyline is tighter if somewhat less epic in scope. All in all, Majora's Mask is a worthy sequel to Ocarina of time. A must-play for all Legend of Zelda fans, and really for anyone who owns an N64.
  11. May 26, 2011
    9
    I was actually annoyed by playing Deku Link at the first few minutes of the game, but I got over it, because I was drawn in by excellent graphics, trippy characters, and a good story. But people who get scared easily, beware: this is EASILY the most haunting and disturbing Zelda title ever released. Now, if you'd excuse me, I need to have a nightmare of those Bombchus.
  12. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    Although I love the game and it being one of the darker Zelda games, (Bested only by Twilight Princess) I found it slightly confusing and frustrating to have to keep jumping back in time and losing all you items. Not to mention disorienting when you talk to a person you just did and they don't recognize you. And not to mention the way they administer the story is also extremely confusingAlthough I love the game and it being one of the darker Zelda games, (Bested only by Twilight Princess) I found it slightly confusing and frustrating to have to keep jumping back in time and losing all you items. Not to mention disorienting when you talk to a person you just did and they don't recognize you. And not to mention the way they administer the story is also extremely confusing and you jump around quests that don't make sense. It may sound like I'm being harsh but I still consider it one of the better zelda games. Expand
  13. Oct 7, 2012
    10
    My favorite tied with Wind Waker. The dark atmosphere is great, the sidequests felt the most wholesome out of the entire series and, aside from the save system, this game is perfect to me. As someone who doesn't like the original Pikmin because of the time limit, this game did it perfectly! You can slow down time and reset it when necessary, giving you more than enough time to completeMy favorite tied with Wind Waker. The dark atmosphere is great, the sidequests felt the most wholesome out of the entire series and, aside from the save system, this game is perfect to me. As someone who doesn't like the original Pikmin because of the time limit, this game did it perfectly! You can slow down time and reset it when necessary, giving you more than enough time to complete each dungeon and get all the stray fairies in a single run. The mask system I found unique and entertaining and the villain is one of the best I've ever seen. If this game does get a remake on the 3DS I recommend they fix the save system by causing the game to bring up a menu to save every 12 hours. In conclusion, while this game isn't for everyone, I highly recommend it for anyone who likes a unique and challenging game. As for those of you who call this a cheap Ocarina of Time ripoff: This game is as much of a ripoff of OoT as Call of Duty is of Earthbound. Expand
  14. Aug 1, 2013
    10
    I played Ocarina of Time first and had never seen anything like it, it blew me away. Then I played MM which still stands today as my favorite Zelda game and in something like a 6 way tie for my all time favorite video game and no I am not just saying that. this game is really something don't get me wrong I see why OoT is hailed as one of the greatest games of all time but to over lookI played Ocarina of Time first and had never seen anything like it, it blew me away. Then I played MM which still stands today as my favorite Zelda game and in something like a 6 way tie for my all time favorite video game and no I am not just saying that. this game is really something don't get me wrong I see why OoT is hailed as one of the greatest games of all time but to over look MM just because it has the same graphical style and similar mechanics is a huge mistake. I know why many like OoT better too, and when I first played OoT I couldn't imagine a Zelda game being better, however that was before I got my hands on MM the day it was released and saw that (for me, not everyone) I enjoy a darker and more ominous game (The Last of Us, Bioshock, Metro 2033), one of the things i remember most from my childhood is the day I got MM was turned into a deku scrub which was clearly devastating to link, met the "happy" mask salesman, and then was thrust into the world of termina with that as a kid anyway extremely scary looking moon making its way towards clock town to crush and kill its inhabitants. People will say MM copied OoT's graphics, this I do not understand, it was a game made by the same company, in the same time period, on the same console, with the same engine, but this was on purpose, this was not a cash grab like fallout new vegas this was something truly original but made on the same hardware. I don't hear you new gamers saying, oh modern warfare 2 copied modern warfares graphics, or black world at war copied modern warfare 2's graphics, or black ops copied world at war's graphics, or modern warfare 3 and BO2 copied all of the aboves graphics (all true) because it is one franchise on one console, why shouldn't they use a tried and true engine that works well. This being said clock town is head and shoulders above the castle town in OoT with its pre rendered environments which gives the appearance of walking on a painting like a PSX final fantasy game. Not to mention the masks? Come on the mask system is one of my favorite things from any game not just the transformation masks you come across on your main quest but the many many others that make for some great side quests and mini games. People complain about the 3 day system as well which I very much enjoyed, it's not that bad guys play the inverted song of time and you will have plenty of time to get a lot done in these 3 days. I loved how certain things happen on certain days and if you miss it you have to wait until the next go around. Anyway not saying I don't have an enormous amount of respect and love for the classic Ocarina of Time, but way more side quests, transformations, a cool and ominous storyline, a darker and more twisted world and characters. These things make MM my all time favorite Zelda game and one of my all time favorite video games to date. I wrote this review not to disprove the nay sayers, but to state my opinion and hopefully inspire some younger gamers who have a Wii or Wii U to use that virtual console feature and experience one of gaming's best titles. Expand
  15. May 5, 2013
    10
    One of my favorite games of all time. Not only because of begin a Zelda game and a sequel to Ocarina of Time, but think about it.. A game with a pretty good and also creepy story, characters that are actuality funny, and the gameplay of Ocarina of Time plus the mask transformations....It's a perfect game. Kids nowdays enjoy COD and Battlefield which to me seens wrong... I played this as aOne of my favorite games of all time. Not only because of begin a Zelda game and a sequel to Ocarina of Time, but think about it.. A game with a pretty good and also creepy story, characters that are actuality funny, and the gameplay of Ocarina of Time plus the mask transformations....It's a perfect game. Kids nowdays enjoy COD and Battlefield which to me seens wrong... I played this as a kid and i could do something. The game actuality could guide me and i had not many questions of where to go. This game is surly a masterpiece and it deserves more love and attetion guys.. Expand
  16. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    Majora's Mask takes the cake as my favorite game of all time. While the main quest may be a little short, the story is flawless. The dungeons are all perfect and very difficult, the bosses are great as well, but this game makes you feel for all the characters in the beautiful world of terminal. Reliving the same moments over and over again is interesting and you can physically see yourMajora's Mask takes the cake as my favorite game of all time. While the main quest may be a little short, the story is flawless. The dungeons are all perfect and very difficult, the bosses are great as well, but this game makes you feel for all the characters in the beautiful world of terminal. Reliving the same moments over and over again is interesting and you can physically see your progress when you do something good. 10/10 Expand
  17. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    Absolutely amazing, Nintendo really gave the game a dark feel witch most people from all ages would enjoy. Also sometimes you can relate to characters story's and that makes a good connection with the audience. For example: If you had a lonely child hood or not many friends, you can relate to skull kids story.
  18. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    Easily one of the best games of all time! There's nothing not to love about it. Being able to see all the characters of the world live out their lives over the three days really immerses you in the world.
  19. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    Nothing could match up to ocarina's greatness. This game sold very poorly because of how unique Majora's mask truely was. Getting the short amount of negatives out of the way. If ocarina of time was a Hollywood blockbuster then Majora's Mask would be one of those independent films that gets many awards for content and directing but 20 people actually go and see. It sold very poorly whichNothing could match up to ocarina's greatness. This game sold very poorly because of how unique Majora's mask truely was. Getting the short amount of negatives out of the way. If ocarina of time was a Hollywood blockbuster then Majora's Mask would be one of those independent films that gets many awards for content and directing but 20 people actually go and see. It sold very poorly which is a shame for how amazing this game is and very well deserves the title of it's franchise. Looks deceive as this game sticks out like an artsy fartsy indie flick. But to the positives this game is a cult classic. Over time this game has grown in many people's hearts for it being the darkest installment of any zelda game. This game is like a work of art where you can make various interpretations really. It's a game of more mature topics. did you suffer a loss as a child or are you afraid of losing your friends, than skul kid's stort may speak to you. Even though this game is based mainly on side quests more than the actually plot and storyline. You develop a deep connection with each character who has suffered a loss and you either saving and helping them. Or putting them to rest fulfilling there dying request. For the full review goto The youtube channel JaredHipfn for a full Majora's mask review thanks for reading Expand
  20. Jul 28, 2014
    10
    Once I heard that link is dead in here, I disbanded it. But I listened to the theory and (even though it is false since nintendo only had one year, they put gameplay before narrative) it got me hooked. I played it once at a friends house and I couldn't stop thinking about it. It is just so good. Best game ever.
  21. Sep 25, 2014
    10
    "Majora's Mask" is the darkest, most grotesque, and difficult game in the series, and it just so happens to be my favorite Legend of Zelda video game. The time limit creates so much tension while playing, and the puzzles can be very difficult, and the story is quite original and somewhat morose. I personally feel "Majora's Mask" is superior to "Ocarina of Time".
  22. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    I still find this to be the best Zelda game. It took the system that Ocarina of Time set up and improved it in every way. The combat is better, the puzzles are interesting, the game is FULL of side quests which is great for this style of game, you play as multiple characters, the world is larger but more compact (more ACTUAL gameplay, not just filler material), it has the most interestingI still find this to be the best Zelda game. It took the system that Ocarina of Time set up and improved it in every way. The combat is better, the puzzles are interesting, the game is FULL of side quests which is great for this style of game, you play as multiple characters, the world is larger but more compact (more ACTUAL gameplay, not just filler material), it has the most interesting characters / iterations of characters, the best story, the best lore... Why are you still reading this? Go play it. Expand
  23. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    This is a masterpiece of a video game. Personally my favourite of the Legend of Zelda series. A dark, twisted, scary, and sad story paired with creative masks and transformations make this easily one of the most original games I've ever come across. The difficulty was a nice step up from Ocarina of Time and the dungeons were designed very creatively, without the typical Earth/Fire/WaterThis is a masterpiece of a video game. Personally my favourite of the Legend of Zelda series. A dark, twisted, scary, and sad story paired with creative masks and transformations make this easily one of the most original games I've ever come across. The difficulty was a nice step up from Ocarina of Time and the dungeons were designed very creatively, without the typical Earth/Fire/Water dungeons you usually come across in Zelda. The way the saving system works and the repetition of the three days allows you to get really involved with the NPC's. It may have a smaller number of dungeons, but the sidequests keep it from being too short. All in all, a truly beautiful and emotional piece of work. Expand
  24. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    A nearly flawless game, it perfectly balances atmosphere, gameplay, and story, while still fun and challenging. It is much darker than any other Zelda game before or after it, and it has more depth and complexity than any other game of it's time. In short, a masterful work of art, greatly under-appreciated by many. And as for the whole timte limit thing, I felt it just added more of aA nearly flawless game, it perfectly balances atmosphere, gameplay, and story, while still fun and challenging. It is much darker than any other Zelda game before or after it, and it has more depth and complexity than any other game of it's time. In short, a masterful work of art, greatly under-appreciated by many. And as for the whole timte limit thing, I felt it just added more of a sense of urgency. You're given a HUGE amount of time, considering you have...about two hours per dungeon, if you slow down time and restart at every chance. Personally, I think this is possibly the finest game ever made. Expand
  25. Jun 26, 2011
    9
    Majora's Mask is not perfect, by any means. The biggest flaw by far is the save system, which, while experimental and unique, didn't quite work. But it was an interesting concept, ruined by terrible execution. That's my only problem with Majora's Mask. Other than that, it is an amazing, challenging, inspired game that rivals Ocarina of Time as one of the best Zelda games ever made. ComeMajora's Mask is not perfect, by any means. The biggest flaw by far is the save system, which, while experimental and unique, didn't quite work. But it was an interesting concept, ruined by terrible execution. That's my only problem with Majora's Mask. Other than that, it is an amazing, challenging, inspired game that rivals Ocarina of Time as one of the best Zelda games ever made. Come on, it's a Zelda game: they don't make bad Zelda games! Expand
  26. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    i remember playing this game when it first came out, on preorder, i actually got it in the mail a day early for some reason and was one of the first non-nintendo personel to play the game. the first thing i remember the moment i started the game and saw Link riding his horse slowly through the forest, was how outrageously amazing the graphics were, no game rivalled those graphics fori remember playing this game when it first came out, on preorder, i actually got it in the mail a day early for some reason and was one of the first non-nintendo personel to play the game. the first thing i remember the moment i started the game and saw Link riding his horse slowly through the forest, was how outrageously amazing the graphics were, no game rivalled those graphics for years, the next time i was ever astonished by graphics was when i started up Twilight princess 6 years later. the storyline also was a massive contribution to the game's overall epicness. it was one of the first videogames to ever introduce a truly dark storyline and it turned zelda games into something for adults, not just kids. the game is so immersive that i actually almost cried the first time i failed and the moon fell into the city and killed everyone, it felt almost as if the game characters were real, so well developed. the number of underlying stories was also incredible, almost every single character in the game had a secret, and there were hundreds of characters.
    the most touching moment in the game was when you reunite anju and kafei during the final hour, while the ground is shaking and the moon is burning a hole through the atmosphere. they run to eachother and hold eachother close, then look out the window, waiting for the moon to kill them both, to send them to a place where they can be together forever.
    No game, ever, has given off emotion like that, the moment i see 'Dawn of the First Day, 72 Hours Remain' i completely forget who i am, i dim the lights and forget that i am in my basement confined by concrete walls, looking at pixels on a plasma screen TV. for a few hours, i can be Link, and i can save the world from certain doom. this game, to me, was a small taste of what videogames could have been, if someone truly tried to make something emotional again, something not just fun, but something that could make you experience every emotion, anger, sadness, fear. maybe in a few years they will figure out what Majora's mask did that no other game could, but right now, Majora's mask and its big brother 'ocarina of time', hold a special place in the memories of my childhood, something that i really wish could be repeated, something that makes me feel those emotions again. i'm sorry, i thought ocarina of time would be the only game i gave a 10/10, ever, but majoras mask was just too brilliant, i couldnt give it anything less.
    -Robert Siegfried
    Expand
  27. Oct 23, 2011
    10
    this game is amazing, what actually a sequel has to be, improved visuals, difrnt more complex gameplay , darker story...and totally compatible with oot i still prefer oot cause was way more revolutionary in terms of innovation but still a true masterpiece.... ah i nearly forgot to say all the h8rs Fk you go n play cod online and leave true gamers enjoy real games
  28. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    My favourite game of all time. Truly the greatest Zelda game ever created.
    The dungeons are challenging, the bosses are awesome, the characters are deep, and what really shines through is the atmosphere. I've never played a game before or since that has managed to create the incredible sense of doom that Majora's Mask creates. You really feel for the characters, and you will do anything
    My favourite game of all time. Truly the greatest Zelda game ever created.
    The dungeons are challenging, the bosses are awesome, the characters are deep, and what really shines through is the atmosphere. I've never played a game before or since that has managed to create the incredible sense of doom that Majora's Mask creates. You really feel for the characters, and you will do anything you can to save them from the moon that will inevitably (or so they think) crash into the earth and destroy everything that they know and love. Nintendo took a huge gamble with the 3-day-system, a gamble that has without a doubt paid off, it's one of the most innovative things I've seen in a game in well, ever. I wish more developers would try out drastic new things like Majora's Mask did, because you never know, it could end changing gaming forever.

    I can't recommend this game enough, if you're tired of the same old zelda formula, or the formula video games in general tent to follow, then pick this up on the Wii shop or emulate it, you wont regret it.
    Expand
  29. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    My favorite zelda title to date. i know some people dislike the game because the flowing time made them feel rushed, but by playing the song of time backwards you can slow down time to 1/3 the normal rate. With this I always had plenty of time to spare when trying to meet a deadline, and never once felt pressured. I've been playing for years and still find myself discovering new things.My favorite zelda title to date. i know some people dislike the game because the flowing time made them feel rushed, but by playing the song of time backwards you can slow down time to 1/3 the normal rate. With this I always had plenty of time to spare when trying to meet a deadline, and never once felt pressured. I've been playing for years and still find myself discovering new things. This game is a true masterpiece. Expand
  30. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    It lives up to the standards of its previous game in the series in a strange yet amazing way. The plot and music were my favorites parts because they were so memorable and amazing. In a way its not as good as Ocarina of Time but also its better than Ocarina of Time, altogether. But these two games were both classic masterpieces which brings back so much melancholic nostalgia for me.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed N64 Game of 2000
#2 Most Shared N64 Game of 2000
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Where Majora rises to the top is its concept – three days to save the world. The execution of the idea is flawless: time means everything and the player always has to be aware. The save system is absolutely perfect, letting players feel comfortable in controlling time but still keeping them on the edge of their seats when things get hairy.
  2. CNET Gamecenter
    90
    Stunning, optimized graphics; immersive, rich sound; refined, complex, and deep gameplay; and a mature, gripping plot make it a game that you won't want to miss.
  3. Da Gameboyz
    100
    Da Graphics: To say nothing short of astonishing is an understatement.