The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask Image
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 441 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Thrown into a parallel world by the mischievous actions of a possessed Skull Kid, Link finds a land in grave danger. The dark power of a relic called Majora's Mask has wreaked havoc on the citizens of Termina, but their most urgent problem is a suicidal moon crashing toward the world. Link has only 72 hours to find a way to stop its descent. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. There is no masking this one; it is, to mince no more words, a wonder.
  2. Majora's Mask is, withouht a doubt, a magnum opus of epic proportions. It may not be as great as "Ocarina of Time," but it gets as close as it possibly can. One of Nintendo's greatest.
  3. Where Majora rises to the top is its concept – three days to save the world. The execution of the idea is flawless: time means everything and the player always has to be aware. The save system is absolutely perfect, letting players feel comfortable in controlling time but still keeping them on the edge of their seats when things get hairy.
  4. It drew me into the world of Clock Town unlike any game I've played before, including "Ocarina." This could be the last truly legendary title for the Nintendo 64.
  5. The storyline to Majora’s Mask is far superior to that of the first game and besides the camera and the occasional annoyance created by the advance of time, the puzzles, quests, objects and characters that you meet in this game make it a more than worthy sequel.
  6. Stunning, optimized graphics; immersive, rich sound; refined, complex, and deep gameplay; and a mature, gripping plot make it a game that you won't want to miss.
  7. Some will appreciate the game's differences, while others will find the game's focus on minigames and side quests tedious and slightly out of place.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 165
  1. Dec 10, 2011
    10
    I was really happy when I managed to get my hands on this game. Sure, the story really has very little to do with it, considering there are so many side quests and minigames, and the graphics aren't that great compared to those today (Dec. 11 2011). This is probably my favorite in the series, with the next closest A Link to the Past. The 3-day time limit makes for some intense gameplay when you find yourself in the middle of a dungeon on the final night, and gives speedrunners a goal to work towards (Completing it in a single 3-day cycle, after retrieving the Ocarina). I believe this is still one of the greatest games ever made, and I can't imagine anyone not enjoying it even somewhat (Bremen mask FTW!). Expand
  2. Jan 9, 2011
    10
    One cannot help but compare Majora's Mask to Ocarina of Time as it is a direct sequel. Naturally, this was extremely hard to live up to and that is the most likely reason for the more negative opinion. Personally I found the game absolutely brilliant. As a sequel to Ocarina of Time it took the basic features of it and enhanced and twisted them into a darker and more perilous setting - Termina. Right from the beginning we can see that the game is darker, with the enigmatic travelling mask salesman and the mystery surrounding Majora's Mask. The whole mask concept is really what makes the game stand out, adding a multitude of side quests and new gameplay as well as making the game feel a lot more dark and mysterious. As many other reviews have said, the game was hard but for me that' part of what made it so great - the increased difficulty not only adds to the challenge but makes the game feel more dark and twisted when compared with Ocarina of Time. Overall I just feel that Majora's Mask captured the feel of Ocarina of Time and put a unique take on it making the game feel very fresh and just plain awesome. Expand
  3. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask is oftentimes overlooked and overshadowed by it's older brother, Ocarina of Time. But in Majora's Mask you'll find something unlike anything else. I could go on about the stellar perfectly balanced and responsive gameplay, the then fantastic graphics, the huge at it's time unheard of open world, the familiar and likeable characters, or even the stellar soundtrack. But what sticks most about Majora's Mask is it's theming. Never has there been a game that seems so bright and happy at the surface, but is so dark at it's core. It's something so subtle that many people never notice it when they play. So subtle that still today there are many wild theories and new discoveries. You can't afford to miss it Expand
  4. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Majora's Mask is a challenging, dark and unique sequel to the masterpiece Ocarina of Time. The game brilliantly executes a time focus gameplay system. Players are given 3 day cycle to save the world from a demonic moon crashing into it. This game shows that Nintendo can elevate a masterpiece, showing off a game with depth, complexity, and flawless execution of a unique and innovative approach. The inevitable is that we must see a remake of this game on the 3DS! Expand
  5. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    Nothing could match up to ocarina's greatness. This game sold very poorly because of how unique Majora's mask truely was. Getting the short amount of negatives out of the way. If ocarina of time was a Hollywood blockbuster then Majora's Mask would be one of those independent films that gets many awards for content and directing but 20 people actually go and see. It sold very poorly which is a shame for how amazing this game is and very well deserves the title of it's franchise. Looks deceive as this game sticks out like an artsy fartsy indie flick. But to the positives this game is a cult classic. Over time this game has grown in many people's hearts for it being the darkest installment of any zelda game. This game is like a work of art where you can make various interpretations really. It's a game of more mature topics. did you suffer a loss as a child or are you afraid of losing your friends, than skul kid's stort may speak to you. Even though this game is based mainly on side quests more than the actually plot and storyline. You develop a deep connection with each character who has suffered a loss and you either saving and helping them. Or putting them to rest fulfilling there dying request. For the full review goto The youtube channel JaredHipfn for a full Majora's mask review thanks for reading Expand
  6. Nov 6, 2011
    9
    Majoras Mask, Is a game that tops Ocarinia of Time in so many ways. In it's mechanism (time and masks), in its Game-play, Story and dungeon design. The game is most probably the darkest and grittiest game zelda game. Just because you play as young link doesn't mean its all happy, vibrant, instead there is a gritty feeling, a constant feeling of the inevitable death as you race against the evil Looking Moon, to save the world.

    On a graphical side, so much more could had been done, if the team had more then a year to make this game, blurry textures, some of which don't quite make sense, and the use of repeated assets from OoT. It makes you think if the out-world design could had also been better with some more time in the oven. Dont get me wrong there is nothing wrong with the out-world design, it rivals this of Oot, but you cant stop thinking that the Giant looming Cactai looking structure in the horizon just looks out of place and weird. This is a game I don't know what to rate, on one hand it surpasses Oot which would make it a perfect 10 but on the other-hand, the lack of polish and strange design design and reused assets clearly shout "this game should had been in the oven a bit more". 9/10
    Expand
  7. Jan 30, 2014
    0
    this is the worst game i ever player.... wort gameplay ever... you think you reach the worst gameplay possible when you play the goron... and then you play the zora... it's unbelievable to sell a piece of crap like this... Expand

See all 165 User Reviews