User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 1673 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    Anyone who gives the masterpiece below a 7 or an 8 is either just here to hate on the astounding zelda franchise, doesn't know a DAMN good game or is insane. The dungeons are interesting and unique, the characters are interesting and have personality, the story is highly engaging, the combat is varied, fluid, and fun, the items are amazing, there are a plethora of interesting side quests and collectibles, and considering the fact that this game was made in 1998 the graphics are amazing. The only real downside is that the game is somewhat linear and you can't continue on after beating the final boss, but that doesn't detract from the huge amount of fun I had playing this game. This has to be one of if not the best games ever made just as the others have said. Expand
  2. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    I won't bore you with what everyone is already saying about how amazing this game is. But if you're on the fence about whether to give this classic a try, go read IGN's review.
  3. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    I'm one of those people who think that this is the greatest game of all time, no matter what quality games are out now or will be out ever. This is just plain the best game I've ever played. Why? Partly because it was the first good game I've actually played. When I first got a Nintendo 64 I was considerably young, and yet every game I played I thought was absolutely horrible. All I had were simple objective games, and as a child I thought they were hard and pointless. Then one day Ocarina of Time was brought home and I at first refused to play it. So I watched my father play it for a while, and straight away it was something entirely new and different. Also at the time, it was the most real (to me at least). What brought me in was the ability to actually explore and get to know people, even if the people you talked to all repeated the same things over and over no matter how many times you talked to them, but it didn't matter. This game was something new and exciting to me, and to this day I get this good old nostalgic feeling whenever I play it. It has one of the greatest stories of all time for a video game and was one of the first to create its own sort of universe and it was one of the first 3D environment game where you can see in all 360 degrees (after Mario 64 that is). Plus to this day people are still discovering new secrets to the game and so many in-depth theories arise from this title alone based upon this game that keep it interesting. The characters feel like characters and the visuals are some of the most cinematic of its time. The gameplay is also very fun, which of course is one of the most important things and there are very involving puzzles that are simple enough in appears but very complex when you get down to it. There is so much that I could say about this game, but sometimes even looking back, I'm at a loss of words at how awesome this game is. Expand
  4. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    Everything in OoT is so near at perfection, its really no wonder that this game has such a huge fanbase and is so highly rated among players and critics.
  5. Jun 6, 2011
    10
    And now here's a good one. It is the highest rated for a reason. It has a really good adventure, and is unbelievably starts off easy and then it gets hard, then it's easy again. Nice!
  6. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    one of the greatest game of all time no doubt about it. Giving this game anything less than a 10 is outragous. Nothing these days can even be on the same sentence as this.
  7. Jun 7, 2011
    10
    The reason I chose The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time when I went to PlayN'Trade a year ago was because my friend had it for his N64 and it seemed cool, at the time i thought Zelda was for nerds....now i regret saying that cause this game changed me for the rest of the year...I loved the story line and I spent HOURS in the doungens trying to beat the jellyfish,the fake Ganondorf and a bunch of other stuff.....oh man and i told my Dad to do most of the Adult Link stuff cause I was "busy" with school but I loved the Hours I spent in this because those were great hours spent,Thank you The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time you are simply great. Expand
  8. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    People that don't like this game... just don't like video games, and I'm surprised they're here reviewing them. 10/10. King of kings. Ocarina of Time.
  9. Nov 17, 2011
    6
    It is an amazing game... However it is the same game as 4 of its predecessors and was followed by one of the best and most original games in the series since Link to the past. Ocarina of time did the same thing as link to the past but cut out substance for graphics. Fewer items, fewer side quests, fewer dungeons, fewer secrets, less varied world and less manipulating the game for speed runs (without the hacks) and had most of the same bad guys. It was than followed by Majora's mask which was original with a new story, a new villain, new items and some of the most exciting side quests I've seen. Not to mention the fierce Deities mask which was and is my favorite item in the series thus far. Expand
  10. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    One of the best games ever made. An absolute must play for everyone ever. If you call yourself a gamer and have never played this or Majora's Mask, you are a fail.
  11. Apr 17, 2011
    10
    i cant help but want to find where the people who rated this bad and punch them in the face. after taking them from their troll memes, and their call of duty modern warefare...... a perfect game
  12. Apr 18, 2011
    10
    This is my favorite game of all-time. While people are entitled to their opinions, anyone who negatively rates OoT either generally dislikes the action/RPG genre (as opposed to the game itself), or is too dumb to play. For those that criticize the graphics; they were among the best when it was released. For those that criticize the gameplay; OoT had dozens of game mechanics that have become staples int he genre.

    Not only is the great in and of itself, but it is also a superb continuation of the Zelda series, flawlessly bringing the 2D world of Zelda to three dimensions.
    Expand
  13. Oct 3, 2011
    5
    I'mma let you finish Ocarina of Time, but Majora's Mask is the best Zelda game of all time, of all time! All jokes aside, there is a serious review here. Ocarina of Time is hailed as one of the best games of all time, given it's own private seat at the table of awesome games, and is treated as royalty to the point a complete remake of this treasured classic is a no-brainer purchase, not unlike Disney's HD releases of it's old movies. Then what is my problem with this game? It's.. well...er...bland! Okay, there! I said it! The environments strike me as bland here and there, the game starts slow, goes slow through the middle, and ends slow. I really, really, REALLY, want to love this game, but I can't. Action: For it's time, the combat is perfect, and there's nothing more I can ask for.. except a more rational magic system..
    Plot: Cliche beyond all compare.. Nah, I'm kidding! The princess grows up to be pretty awesome.. if she helped much beyond being an ocarina instructor for poor Link, the villain is two dimensional with no true reason to want to be doing anything he is, but the fantasy land is inspired with plenty of unique creatures and environments.. Graphics: ANYONE WHO SAYS N64 GRAPHICS HOLD UP ARE LYING AND YOU KNOW IT...
    Music: Okay, THE MUSIC IS PRETTY GREAT.

    Overall: It's... meh. Bland for me, though apparently you guys get kicks out of lighting torches to open doors, making Link go through puberty just to improve his archery, and having to mow the lawn with your sword just to buy some new bombs. I wish I could see why you guys enjoy this game...
    Expand
  14. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    Awesome classic masterpiece, this is the best game from zelda that i have played. I barely give ten out of ten to games, few ones have the chance any way. This game music, set pieces,gameplay,characters everything is made magnificently. I just cant describe nothing more on this, everything is almost perfect.
  15. May 25, 2011
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. The music, the story, the gameplay...all of it is spectacular. There is really not much else for me to say. If you give this game below 7, you are out of your mind.
  16. Jun 18, 2011
    10
    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. What to say about it? Perfection? Well... no game is perfect but Ocarina of Time came pretty damn close. Few games in history have ever come close to what Ocarina of Time has achieved in greatness and popularity. If you have never played it. Play it! Even if it isn't your cup of tea, I promise you can still respect what it did for the gaming world and how it is influencing it to this day. Expand
  17. Oct 8, 2012
    8
    Good game, but in my opinion it doesn't surpass the other 3D Zelda games. I don't find any challenge in it, the story is cliché as hell, and there are only a couple side quests. On the other hand, there are a couple cool characters like Saria and Darunia, a Zelda that ISN'T an emotionless plot convenience, and the music isn't half bad. Too bad that so many people feel such insane nostalgia for it that they randomly hate on all the other Zelda games. If you're thinking of joining the franchise, I recommend you try out Twilight Princess before this one, because it lacks the charm that most other Zelda games have. Final Score: 8.1 Expand
  18. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    i would deffinitly call this the best in the zelda franchise and ive played just about all of them . its very long around 40-60 hours depending on what you all do and how fast you solve the puzzles which are very well done . every thing about this game was done remarkably well minus the story which is very simple and has little draw and is basically the same plot in every zelda game ... find and save zelda from gannon or some form of his. that aside zelda was never built on its story but its clever puzzles and intresting gameplay . if you are just getting into zelda you should deffinitly go back and check out this one . it deserves the high marks it gets .also it has one of the best final boss fights in the franchise . Expand
  19. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    This is, without a doubt, the best game ever created. Even to this day, years after it was made, I still love the game. If you haven't played the game, and own a Wii, pick it up on the virtual console, it is well worth the $10 they are charging for it.
  20. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    The face of god, I just saw it.
  21. Apr 10, 2011
    9
    What is there to say when everything is so perfect? The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is a gem. Its superb action-adventure elements, game and level design, plot, visuals, soundtrack, everything from this game was masterfully crafted. One of the few games that has stood the test of time. Simply marvelous!
  22. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    I don't have word for this game. Maybe... Perfect? Epic? Unstoppable? Unbeatable? Irresistible? Sensational......? The songs, bgs, sfx, graphifcs, characters, history, all of this game is incridlebe. 11/10
  23. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    Ocarina of Time. The title name alone is a legend among the gaming world. Ocarina of Time is the second Zelda game I ever played, Oracle of Seasons the first. A game that received more praise, offers and nominations as the greatest game of all time, OoT, to me, this is the SECOND greatest Zelda game, first being Windwaker but it is still a fantastic game and has more creativity than most games we get now, 13 years later. Gameplay is solid to the bone and set a tradition into its future successors, the story is epic as hell and the replay value is unprecedentedly legendary. If you love games, this is an essential play. You can't call yourself a gamer until you played this. Expand
  24. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    "The Legend of Zelda - Ocarina of Time" is probably the best Zelda, if not (one of) the best game(s) of all time. This game has everything an Action Adventure fan can ask for: Excellent gameplay, great music and even though the graphics are not up-to-date, the style fits the game. The level-design is great and the story is good too. The puzzles are never too difficult nor too easy and the whole world contains many secrets. The only negative point is the framerate, but after all, this game is over 10 years old. And the framerate is a barely an issue at all. "The Legend of Zelda - Ocarina of Time" is a game where you never get bored, no matter how many times you play it and if there's one game that can be called "perfect", it's this one. If your still haven't played this masterpiece, you can either download it for the Virtual Console or wait for the 3DS version with a better graphics. Expand
  25. Dec 28, 2010
    10
    This is the best fking game in existence. It is right up there with the original Super Mario Bros. Classics like this and compelling and such enriched stories like this don't come often. Regardless of age, this game will wisk you into the zelda world and have you fulfilling Link's task as if it were you own. it's a chef d'oeuvre and an exemplary title of what any game should aspire to be. This is the highest rated game in Metacritic and deserves it. There are moments when you will cry out of sadness or joy, this is truly a magnificent masterpiece and Nintendo's most cherished game. Expand
  26. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    Probably the best game in the series (and probably best game ever ). Why? Fun, Easy to learn controls, Good story, Not to long - not to short, Amazing replay value. this game is simply a masterpiece! can't wait for the 3DS remake.
  27. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm usually against overrated games, but this game is deservedly so. The game starts out like a cheesy kids' game, and seems innocent enough. Then, a third of the way through, link gets imprisoned in a deep sleep for 7 years. The awakening is one of the most powerful things I've experienced in a game. You leave the building you slept in, and you immediately notice a darker tone to the area than when you entered. A red ring hovers over a previously dormant volcano ominously, signifying its turning active. The castle town, once thriving and bustling, now has its buildings charred and undead (the enemy's name is called redead) walk the streets. The castle itself, once peaceful, is replaced by a dark and sinister tower hovering over a pool of lava.
    There are many more reasons why everyone should play this game obviously, but that is my favorite moment in the game, and even the series. The other games are great too, but they don't quite live up to this.
    Expand
  28. Dec 15, 2010
    10
    OK.Ocarina of Time is a amazing game, but is not the best game ever.It was the best game until the release of Super Mario Galaxy 1 and 2.Ocarina of Time got really good graphics(better than Super Mario 64's graphics), great music and incredible gameplay.People who give an 0, 1, 2,3 or 4 maybe didn't played it enough to find out the coolness of the game.The 3D gameplay is really impressive, just like the Mario franchise was turned from 2D to 3D it became amazing, the same to Ocarina of Time.Maybe if I could made this review in 2007 before Mario Galaxy I could say is the best game ever, but I can't........Still this game got a perfect 10! Expand
  29. Dec 17, 2010
    10
    Not only was Ocarina of Time a great game, but it was much more. It was the cornerstone of the game industry's transition to 3D, and proof of concept that a franchise could make that quantum leap. Others had tried and failed, and the results ranged from mediocre to horrid (the older 3D Castlevania titles certainly come to mind, or Superman 64... and those are just the first two that I thought of.) The gameplay was flawless and the graphics were a marvel for their time and the constraints of the Nintendo 64. It's not just the game itself, it's what it did for the industry and for console gaming in general. Add in a plot that remains the best of any Zelda game and you have an instant classic that remains a legend today. This isn't just nostalgia speaking - I just finished what was about my 20th replay. It's still just as good now as it was twelve years ago. If that's not the mark of a truly amazing game, I don't know what is. It's a shame I can't give this game an 11, because it is the one game that truly deserves one. Expand
  30. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    ...And yet there's negative reviews. (I laugh hysterically for three quarters of an hour) A ten from me requires a lot of work, but why should I give it a nine or below? OK, Link moves a bit too slow, it's never really clear what to do and the first dungeon is boring but as much as I wanted to give it a lower score for that, I just couldn't. It's such a fun game and it really gets you thinking. If you don't smile as you're playing this, you're dead insane. Expand
  31. Jan 8, 2011
    10
    Greatest game in history. The entire Legend of Zelda series has an incredible storyline and every character had it's own unique personality that made them instantly recognisable and very easily loved or hated, including the silent hero Link, the annoying yet lovable Navi, the temperamental and enigmatic Happy Mask Salesman; the list could go on. At the time of the game's release, nothing could compare to the experience this game gave you - it encapsulated you. Despite having only a linear single player, many people return again and again to play through the game, and that is a testament to it's greatness. Expand
  32. Jan 12, 2011
    10
    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is without a doubt one of the greatest video games of all time. To say that this game was great is an understatement. Ocarina introduced the gaming world to the aspect of open world play with a wonderfully sized map that was large and full of exploration but not in the slightest bit unnecessary. The level and dungeon design was the best of it's time and in still to this day remains one of most brilliant, beautiful, and interesting worlds of any video game on the market. Every area you explore from the moment you wake up in the lush and green forest of the Kokiri to the vast and deep desert of the Gerudos' is crafted to perfection. The combat system in Ocarina was also a shining star. Not only did weapons feel right, react well, and play out perfectly, but they were always interesting and had their own advantages. Not once did a weapon outshine another because they all had a great purpose. The Z-Targeting system was added for a more cinematic feel that worked flawlessly and it even made combat easier and more interesting. The music and sounds of the game brought it to life as well. Every area had it's own theme music that was unique to that zone and always felt right and gave the player that more personal feeling wherever he/she went. Kokiri Forest felt like a wonderful place of happiness while Hyrule Field had an epic and powerful tone to it. The addition of musical gameplay made things more interesting as well and showed an importance to every area the player visited. Now, most importantly to the Zelda series itself and to any video game for that matter, comes the story. The Legend of Zelda has always been a series shining in the glory of it's adventures and this was the biggest and most powerful of them all. You begin as a young boy who has always felt left out and who has nightmares of dark visions that would become realities. As you start your quest you realize your true destiny and embark on a journey filled with adventure and courage like no other. The dark king of the Gerudo's Gannondorf seeks the legendary Triforce and will stop at nothing to rule the land of Hyrule. By unleashing monsters from the Temples' of Hyrule and by turning the once good and just land to pure evil, Gannondorf attempts total rule over the world. Link being the Hero of Hyrule must journey to the different lands and temples' of the land in order to gain power from the mystical "sages" and stop Gannondorf. The story in Ocarina beings great and never lets go. In fact the game gets better every second that it progresses. You meet many interesting characters such as Princess Ruto, Malon, Darunia, and the mysterious Sheik that not only have their own individual traits, but also contain important roles in your quest. Also, each character is easily remembered and full of emotion which grasps the player and gives them a sense of caring and passion for each one. The many temples and dungeons visited during the game are all fun, unique, and interesting and reward the player as he/she progresses. The game has quite a few side quests that are entertaining and it follows through right up to the end. There is nothing negative about this game and to this day it stands on a pedestal as one of if not the greatest game of all time and for good reason. Since it's release very few games have captured the true story, art, and power Ocarina of Time had mastered back in 1998. To this day I myself still play it and still consider it my favorite game ever. Not because of great graphics, or online play, or anything else that current games have fallen into but because Zelda is a game that touched my heart like no other game ever has. Current game developers and enthusiasts need to look back at The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time and reconsider the direction that games are going. Zelda mastered it, and for that we should honor it. Expand
  33. Jan 20, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is do doubt the greatest game in existance. Non, except for Nintendo haters, have been able to play this game without admiting it is at least one of the best of the best, if not THE best of the best. Super Mario 64 was the first game to make 3D conversion work, but this was the game that perfected it. It introduced a large 3 dimensional world to explore, which at the time was a huge deal. It also introduced new gameplay mechanics that made the action adventure genre work out even more. Like the lock-on targeting system, which helped to keep your eye on the enemy much easier, but without making the fighting too easy, as you had to meneuver around the enemy and dodge his attacks. Another big new feature was horse-back riding. Riding your horse around the huge field was big and new. It had an engaging story, that really sucked you in, which had lots of twists and turns. Like when Ganondorf attacked the castle, destroying your plan to get the Triforce before Ganon did. Or near the end, when Shiek, the man who helped you on your journey as an adult, reveals himself to be Princess Zelda, the person Link had been searching long and hard for. Another thing was the conversion from Young Link to Adult Link. This was the first Zelda game that introduced Adult Link, making him look more epic, and more like the hero of the legends. But the bigger twist is how you can play as both Young Link and Adult Link. Not only that, but the story counts on you using both of them to make it all the way through the story. There are alot of complicated dungeons with puzzles to solve, which can sometime twist your brain, and make the game much more challenging. What I loved about Zelda was the flawless gameplay and beautiful landscapes. Zelda Ocarina of Time was a first, it brought forth the perfection of 3D conversion, and made it beautiful, but also made the 3D mechanics work with how the game played out, and it worked beautifully. Of course the game isn't perfect, there are a few flaws in Ocarina of Time. Like the Water Temple, which is the most unpopular dungeon in the game. Everyone had a hard time with it, so it proved to be a bit too challenging. Plus in some parts of the game, the graphics don't look good at all. However, these flaws are not severe enough to interfere with the games overall greatness. There may be no such thing as a perfect game, but this game is as close to a perfect game as you can get. Zelda Ocarina of Time won Game of the Year in 1998, and got an honorable award in outstanding gaming achievement in 1999, and it didn't win these awards without good reason. This game is truley the best game of all time, and anyone who thinks they can make a game better than this is absolutely crazy. Sure Ocarina of Time may not be outstanding by todays standards, but considering the technology of gaming at the time, it was the best gaming could offer. Even 13 years after the game came out, Ocarina of Time is still selling like nuts via the Wii Virtual Console, which re-released Ocarina of Time in 2007. In my opinion, Ocarina of Time is, and will always be, the greatest game ever made, and I'm not alone in that statement. I have yet to meet a person who is not a Zelda hater who played Ocarina of Time and thought the games was horrible. Ocarina of Time is the best of the best in gaming, hands down, and it deserves a perfect score more than any game. Expand
  34. Apr 29, 2011
    10
    Essentially one of the best games of all time, no cheese. Pros: Beautiful graphics for the N64; subtle, but challenging gameplay; variety of dungeons, puzzles, and secrets; innovative and imaginative. Cons: If Ocarina of Time had faults, it would be its often dull dungeon design, camera issues, and it has one of the worst power-ups to date.
  35. Mar 8, 2011
    9
    I played A Link To The Past so many times in my childhood i lost count. When i got OoT for Christmas it was BYE BYE childhood! This game is the very definition of epic, i loved every second of it!
  36. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    I'm not kidding when I say that this is the only game I would ever consider to be 'perfect.' Not one person who has ever enjoyed a video game not play this. This isn't even my favourite video game,but I consider it perfect. It really is this good. Anyone who comes along to nit-pick away at Ocarina of Time wouldn't know a good game if it trotted along and killed their grandmother. I'll admit, it's not without flaw; nothing is. But those flaws are merely physical. 'Perfect ' to me means it go everything it could right and remains good to everyone. That is what Ocarina of Time does, and that is what it will continue to do. Expand
  37. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    There's nothing left to say. This is widely considered THE BEST GAME OF ALL TIME. Look it up :) I just hope the 3D remake can reach the same (if not better) Metacritic score!!!!!
  38. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    THIS is the PERFECT game ! no doubt. the gameplay is still better than in any other game. compared with other fantastic games like uncharted 2, the metal gear solid series or the mario series, it is the ultimate video game. i wish i could play the game like the first time. it was overwhelming
  39. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    there is a reason this game garners the respect and is revered like it is. cause it is epic. to do what they did with the limitations of the n64 and tombstone cartridge is nothing short of amazing. if you haven't played it through do yourself a favour.
  40. Mar 11, 2013
    0
    This game has no story, no gameplay, and terrible design throughout. It is unfortunately one of the worst games ever made and one of the most pathetic excuses for a video game. It gave me a huge headache because of its terrible graphics and character design. Avoid at all costs.
  41. Sep 1, 2013
    3
    The game honestly has value but aged pretty terribly. Anyone who says its fantastic just has the feeling of nostalgia when the played it as a kid. Me personally only played it once like a month ago. The only thing I liked in the game was the music, and even the music wasn't that good! Legend of Zelda is a thing of the past and people wont realize because it probably resembles your childhood or 2 years of your life. I think when people who like this game play it, they don't open their eyes and realize that the game is boring and lacks something. Expand
  42. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    I think it's funny that you have Zelda haters writing reviews based on their personal feelings towards the game, as opposed to how the game play actually was for them. Ocarina of Time was one of the single greatest games ever created. It set a precedence for future games. The graphics were unrivaled at the time, the game actually took real skill to beat it at times. In other words, it wasn't something that you would pick up, beat in an hour, and never look at again. I can still pick this game up, and still play through it while enjoying every single second of it. Expand
  43. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    El juego perfecto. Insuperable por lo que supuso. No habrá nunca una revolución igual. Lo mejor de la época y un espejo en el que miran los juegos de ahora. Seguirá en lo mas alto por siempre
  44. Jan 23, 2013
    5
    I'm conflicted here. To say I didn't enjoy anything in this game would be a lie, but to say I enjoyed all of it would be too.

    The story is simple, and has a predictable ending and an underwhelming final boss battle. In fact most of the boss battles are forgettable. The areas are simple themed areas with the most bland getting a second run once you take a 7 year nap.

    The game is
    really dated. Only those who played it at launch could give this game 10s. The puzzles are easy, the combat is really simple, and the gear is game breaking or useless outside it's first appearance.

    As the first and only game in the franchises I've played and beat, this game has entirely turned me off of the franchise. And no it wasn't the water temple.
    Collapse
  45. Sep 11, 2013
    2
    I love legend of zelda, but this game almost killed it for me. First of all, NAVI IS SO ANNOYING, this fairy always says stupid things and states the obvious 100% of the time. Second, the intro to this game was horrendous, and the entire first act was annoying. Third, the over world and transportation was annoying. Fourth, the locking system was terrible.

    The second act was good, but
    the first act was so terrible that it ruined the entire experience for me. I don't understand how anyone thinks this game is a masterpiece. The only thing that is good about this game is the story. The overall experience is frustrating at times and some of the bosses are bad as well. I will definitely will NOT recommend this game to anyone. Expand
  46. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    Apart from getting lost all the time, I enjoyed the action, story and adventure in this game. It's aged well and is just the right length of time to not start dragging. I can still see why it became a classic even if it's not one of mine.
  47. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    I played this game 13 years after its release and I can say that it definitely deserves a perfect score. Everthing comes together so well the game is very long, has an awesome world with a variety of settings, great puzzles, has a very epic story and ending and one thing that stood out for me is that the game is very rewarding, if one takes ones time exploring, collecting and doing side missions one will get stronger and acquire things that simply make the game easier and by the end fight you will actually feel powerful after those many hours spent preparing.One of the best games i have ever played.10/10. Expand
  48. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    greatest game in history. Funny the haters that just don't get it. Probably just stupid kids. I played this game for hours and hours, and felt more absorbed by its world than by any other game.
  49. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    An amazing game for the N64. I am having trouble understanding all of the negative reviews. But (if they could think straight) the authors of the negatives would see that know one gives a crap about their reviews and 1 in 50 agree with them. I first played this game at my friends house and played it a little too long (judging by my bloodshot eyes and red face). After that, I purchased the GameCube remake and had just as much fun. Expand
  50. Dec 9, 2011
    6
    This game is a bit above average but it's vastly over rated in all honesty. This is often considered to be the best game of all time. It is nowhere near there. There is a lot of filler material, such as having to traverse Hyrule field multiple times. All you're doing is holding the stick forward, no enemies to fight, nothing to do. The puzzles are extremely basic. For example, there will be a ledge that you want to get up to, but it's too high, and there is also a box nearby. I'd make a sarcastic remark but that doesn't translate very well through text so I'll just say it literally - The puzzles are pretty much "just put two and two together". There are next to no side quests in this game, and the biggest one is just a tedious fetch quest. The combat isn't particularly amazing either. The game is so, so easy. The world and the lore is interesting but why settle for that, when you can have an actual good game on top of that as well? If you want a real 3D Zelda game, go for Majora's Mask or Skyward Sword. Expand
  51. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    One of (or the) best game ever made. Anyone who gives the masterpiece below a 7 or an 8 is either just here to hate on the astounding zelda franchise, doesn't know a DAMN good game or is insane. [2]
  52. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    What Is there to say other than AMAZING! Ladies, Gentlemen and all Members Of the Gaming World, If you have a Nintendo 64, but don't have this game, you are a total n00b. Ocarina Of Time is my absolute favorite game on the Nintendo 64. Hell, it's so good it actually made me flip out my 64 and start playing it again. This game right here is the reason most gamers get their Nintendo 64 out again, and its not hard to understand why. Without a doubt, the back story, plot and setting of the whole game is definitely well made to fit with the story of Hyrule, and the legend that is the Legend Of Zelda series that started on the NES. The battles and triumphs and the twist that splits the series in two, none of it would be possible without Shigeru Myamoto's brilliant mind and logic. The game flourishes in a brilliant Open-world setting, as we gamers agree, the best type of game there is (Grand Theft Auto and LA Noire are examples of Open World Games). Brilliant gameplay, especially being the first 3D Zelda game in which all others based off of, and I think people can have continuous fun hours on end just messing around with the Ocarina lol. Expand
  53. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    Everything great about this game has already been said 1000 times so i'll just get to the point: This game is a masterpiece and while I don't think it is the best game ever, it is at least in my top 20 games of all time list.
  54. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I play games in the hope that one day, a game will come along and make me feel how I felt at the end of Ocarina of Time. Have you ever come to the end of something and just known, right there, that you will never again experience anything within that same medium so magical ever again? That is how I felt.

    Whether or not this is the best game ever is beyond my power to debate, but all I
    know is that in 1998, before I had internet conection, before I read gaming magazines, I played this game. From the second I turned it on, Hyrule remained forevermore a fixed point in my life, far more so than it ever had in LttP.

    There is nostalgia, and then there is whatever this game did to me. In some ways I almost resent it.
    Expand
  55. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    ¿El mejor videojuego de la historia? Eso es imposible para cualquier videojuego pero... ¿El considerado mejor videojuego de la historia? Si, y se lo ha ganado a pulso. Un clasico atemporal que no puede faltar en tu coleccion junto a otros juegos de su quinta como Meta Gear Solid, FFVII, Super Mario 64, etc...
  56. Jan 7, 2012
    10
    Whenever I find the rare game that I might give a 10 out of 10, the first thing I do is think 'Is it better than Ocarina of Time?' and always come up with no. This truly is the only game that is a 10 that I have played and probably the only one that exists. Remember, sometimes things become popular for a good reason (or because Will Smith is in it). The gameplay, story, length and puzzles all mesh together so well that this game can not be called anything but flawless. Expand
  57. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    Ignore all the butthurt Call of Duty fans who rated this low. They're just mad that their series isn't the highest rated on Metacritic and has been named "Best Game of All Time" by many.

    While the graphics and gameplay may not have aged 100% perfectly, this is truly a great game and I wholeheartedly recommend it for gamers of any age or preference. Don't let the stereotype of "The
    Legend of Zelda" fool you. This series is truly the king of all video games. Expand
  58. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    Easilly the greatest game ever made, when it was released, Nintendo took a huge risk, and it payed off, the enviorments still stand out to this very day, and the games music is some of the greatest in , the story is original, the characters are memorable, the controls are simple and fluent, it is a game flawless on all levels
  59. May 29, 2012
    9
    The best adventure game of all times. Cool battle mechanics, hard puzzles, huge dungeons and maps and lots of curious stuff. The mechanic is pretty easy and yet, very addictive. As you explore the different areas, you'll discover how some places are out of reach. As you keep finding new items and learn new tricks, you'll be able to gain access to new areas and face harder and harder puzzles. This game can give you 20 or maybe 30 hours of fun (depends how many time you'll need to clear the dungeons and bosses). Also, the soundtrack is one of the best ever made for a videogame. Expand
  60. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    This game is one of if not the Best game Ever made. Rather It Brings you nostalgia or not it is a Perfect masterpiece. And for all those 9 year old retard Call of duty Fans. Who by the way has never played a game other than First person Shooters. I say Shame on you. And if your one of those Graphics hating Retards. This game Had some of the Best Graphics of any game in 1998. And if your Still irritated by the Graphics Buy the one for the 3ds it's graphics are Better. Point is The Games a outstanding. Expand
  61. Aug 29, 2012
    10
    What can I say that hasn't been said?Nothing.It's almost if not completely perfect! Gameplay is pure,Zelda awesomeness.Oh yeah and if you said it was boring,it's because you suck at it and you only like fps games where all you do is run in and go,"I'M RAMBO!!!!BAMBLAMCHIGGABOOM!". These people are what I call "fraggots" fps nerds who hate anything without guns and judge everything by graphics.Hence the word "frag" coming from "frag grenade",often used in fps games.Though Nintendo geeks can get annoying,too.But,I've gotten sidetracked.The controls,story,graphics (for it's time),gameplay,characters, and overall nostalgia are amazing.A 10 out of 10.An almost (if not completely) perfect game! Expand
  62. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    This is the single best no not only game but entertainment package. Ever. In my opinion and in many others. For many many many reasons. This game invented targeting systems which has been used my many many many games since. I think it has the best and easiest to grasp and relate too stories in a game ever. Its so simple yet if you want to get into it enough you will notice that nintendo has given you so much depth to read about and explore in the game. IT IS AN EPIC MY FRIENDS. Expand
  63. Aug 21, 2012
    9
    i am a huge zelda-fan, cause this serie is fantastic in gameplay and atmospheric music, and naturally i loved also this game that time. it was a huge step forward for videogames as "Tomb Raider" and "GTA III" were and in those days when "Ocarina of Time" was released it was with no doubt the best game. And though i am always happy to see that "Ocarina o.T." is on the first place in some all-Time-charts, cause this serie has deserved this place, i think it's not a timeless jewel. Gameplay and everything was great, but this early 3D-graphics on Nintendo 64 and Playstation 1 feel so dated today, that i even prefer the graphics of the 16-bit era (Super Nintendo, Sega Genesis, ...). A great game, for sure! an amazing game, yes! but today the graphics destroy this experience more than in even older games. So i give just a 9 out of 10. Expand
  64. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    This game deserves nothing less than a 10, and we all know it!!! What an epic adventure this game is. The graphics, music, gameplay were and still can be considered marvelous. Due to graphics nowadays most 64 titles are somewhat hard to really get into, but this game will be playable for years, maybe decades to come. If you haven't played through this game, do whatever is necessary to do so because you will not regret it. Seriously, my life would not be the same without playing this game, except I would have the 5 hours back it took me figure out the passage under the moving platform in the water temple! Expand
  65. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    This is the best game I've ever played. Ever. It should come with a warning label that says, "Every game after this will feel like a slight disappointment." It's story is wonderful, and has plenty of undertones that add depth to a seemingly simple storyline. The game play is perfect. Puzzles are challenging but not impossible, the open world is fun to explore, and Link's arsenal of weapons provides a variety of playing styles.

    This is my favorite game of all time, and I feel like everyone should be given the chance to play this masterpiece.
    Expand
  66. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    This game has awesome graphics, amazing music, cool little secrets, tons of random areas to explore, perfect controls, silly dialogue, fun puzzles and very unique dungeons. It's definitely a perfect game, and anyone who says otherwise doesn't know true gaming.
  67. May 22, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time, if not THE greatest. This was the game that broke down boundaries for gamers and for the first time really showed what a game can represent to people. You can speak to any gamer in the world and they all have their own personal Ocarina of Time moment.
  68. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    This is the best game ever created. Games today although graphically superior still all pale in comparison to how high this one set the bar at the time. Shame on you for giving it a 0/10. I'm sorry that you deprived yourself of this once in a lifetime experience, or never got to experience it, but don't rage against it for such a stupid reason.
  69. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    Ocarina of time is easily one of the greatest games ever made. The pacing is perfect, the dungeons are phenominal and the bosses are fantastic. 10/10 no doubt about it
  70. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    If you watch the negative scores... it's only haters and people who never played the game... some even say Bad graphics... it was 1998 ffs and some say no story... lol, just lol, play the game before doing the review.
    I love this game for the simple fact that it makes you get in front of your tv and makes you want not to stop playing it. It's so good. my favourite game ever
  71. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    The best game of all time for obvious reasons you can read it from a real reviewer. just wanted to give it my 10, so i have to give 150 charecters i will say this game is where real 3D graphic deep story telling hit the mainstream, then we get the timetravel the boss fights all for its time at the very pinnacle of excellence
  72. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    aahhh my child hood, brings back memories. this game may not be impressive in terms of today but back then it was a masterpiece and took gaming to whole other level
  73. Sep 18, 2013
    8
    This is good, but not the "Best game of all time". It has problems. They could have made the overworld have more secrets, and I don't the Stone of Agony (I think that's how you spell it) should have been in the game. To me it ruins the feeling of finding a secret. Also, they way you get the item I just mentioned is tedious. You have to kill spider creatures, and once you kill them a yellowish token will appear, you have to collect a bunch of them and give it to a cursed family. They'll give you rewards for breaking the curse. The item I mentioned is one of the rewards. If those things were magically fixed, then I would have given this a 9/10. Expand
  74. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    one of the best games of all time
    ignore the reviews by the trolls (ie all the ones in the red)
    without any doubt in my mind, this was my favorite game growing up, and it wasnt until i was around the age of 13 that i actually finished it.
    i popped it in recently, and it STILL lives up to its reputation, Graphics dont make a good game, sure Majoras Mask looks better, but without focusing
    on side quests, OOT is much longer and gives you more playtime and replay value.
    a total of 10 dungeons, Memorable bosses and plot points.
    EVEN without the Promised Ura Zelda Addon (that WAS said to have been finished by miyamoto on autust 25th on a tvshow back in 2000, but added no plans to release it) this game is pretty solid on its one.
    Expand
  75. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well... I've just finished Ocarina of Time (100% I might add) for the first time ever. It's a great game! However, there are a few flaws. Thankfully, those flaws don't mean you shouldn't pick the game up right now and play it! First of all, the shops. They serve absolutely no purpose. I have gotten through the whole game without ever buying anything unnecessary from the shops. I did need healing and magic, though, but you always have a fairy ready somewhere to trap in a jar, so that's the only heal you'll ever need. And you're always full on magic, except the last battle, so there's no use for the magic potions. As for the cold fire, spiders and fish, you get those too! I got a giant's wallet pretty early, but I was always full on rupees. I think I wasted about 4 times the rupees I actually got by just taking them while my wallet was full. Speaking of rupees, that renders the reward for the biggest collectathon ever absolutely useless! Like getting 99 lives in Mario 64. It was satisfying finding all the spiders. As for the last battle, it's disappointing, to say the least. You HAVE TO HAVE the magic upgrade, and you can't waste any magic on missing, or testing. If you run out of magic, you have to either reset or kill yourself, wasting all the fairies you saved for the battle. Ganon was ok, I guess. I only felt the need to use a bombchu once in the entire game, which was stupid considering how much attention is given to those things. Also, Navi and Kepora Gebora. Those are truly the only problems in the entire game. It was a visceral experience from start to finish. I loved the music, the battle system, the items, the characters, the weapons, the quests, everything. I especially loved how you can't miss ANYTHING! You can get absolutely everything, anytime you want! (Except after the final battle, but you don't need it then anyway). I loved playing the ocarina freestyle, so the scarecrow song was a really cool thing. The ending kinda made me sad. All those people you helped, met, loved, like they never knew you in the first place. Still, every Ocarina song will stay in my heart, I will never forget any of the beautiful melodies I was taught. Thank you Shigeru Miyamoto. For reference, I'm 16 and this was my first encounter with the game. Please play it. Expand
  76. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    The legend of Zelda is a beautiful game, good graphics for the time, excellent story, good bosses, a plot magnifies definitely one of the best Zelda games and the world of the story.
  77. Oct 3, 2013
    10
    I did chuckle at some of the bad reviews involving a moan about Navi and the graphics. These people obviously don't have the balls to finish it, or the brains to. They belong to the Playstation generation, and as far away from Hyrule as possible.

    Still after all these years (and it's been a few) it's the greatest game of all time. Graphics aside you can't make this game any better than
    it already is. There is no story in any other game that will grab you and pull you in like this one. Traveling forwards and backwards through time is just pure genius and it's a journey that everyone should experience until the end.

    So many legendary moments that help this game cement itself as the greatest there ever was. Brilliant ingenious weapons and a targeting system that was way ahead of it's time. Plenty of fun side quests to do along the way if you fancy a change from the main storyline. The main temples are challenging but satisfying as you progress, Nothing beats the feeling of completing the water temple for the first time.

    The world of Hyrule just seems massive. From Hyrule field and all the temples, how did they squeeze it all on to one N64 cartridge? So many places to explore and secrets to find. Coupled with the excellent catchy soundtrack that you'll be humming along to for days.

    The whole game just builds up the tension and excitement until you find yourself climbing that long staircase with the organ playing in the background to face the final challenge.

    Then when it's all over you must "Go home where you are supposed to be...the way you are supposed to be"

    It's a masterpiece, totally flawless and an unforgettable journey from the beginning to the end. Experience it for yourself and on completion realise that you'll never quite feel the same again.......
    Expand
  78. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    Ocarina of time is the best n64 best game and the best adventure game of ever.
    an Excellent soundtrack with unforgables melodies,an excellent story. a innovative game with a perfect gameplay and a great open world.
    a masterpiece...
    a legend of nintendo
  79. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    This game here is basically the best game ever made. Sure you may have your opinions but it's pretty much agreed worldwide that this game is perfect and deserves the praise it gets. The story, the gameplay, the fights, the bosses, the soundtrack, and pretty much everything else is perfect, Everyone should get the chance to experience this masterpiece.
  80. Oct 30, 2013
    7
    Yes I will not deny this is a good game.Maybe even a great game,But I think a lot of people talking about this game are blinded by nostalgia and it simply came out at the right time.
  81. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    Verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, good game
  82. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    Poetic, beautiful, clever, creative, funny, creepy,... this game plays with your feelings just like the best films and books do.
    A unique and extremely powerful adventure that every person claiming he is a gamer should have played to.
    Ocarina of Time is and always will be the best game ever made.
    Every game has a story, but only one is a legend.
  83. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    Best game ever made. And I dont think any game even comes close to it.

    Story is perfect, sound/music is spot on, environment is well made and the graphics were sensational at the time.

    I cant come up with anything that was negative with this game. Such great memories.
  84. Nov 9, 2013
    9
    Firstly, allow me to state an absolute that I'll probably get downvoted to Oblivion for pointing out: This game is, in a very obvious sense, overrated. This, however, has no correlation with its quality; I simply mean to make the fact apparent that some 10/10 reviews, well, shouldn't be as inflated as they are despite the amazing quality of this game. And anyone saying that "people voting 8's or 7's are idiots" are really nothing more than just stubborn giga-fans. That being said, my critique is as follows:

    There's no denial that this game is a great experience for apt Zelda fans. It presents a wonderful, new environment to the player, an arguably mega-fluid combat system, a light, yet invest-worthy engine, and most of all, a mood-setter that can be matched by few other games. Immersion is in near totality, with its only shortcomings being the limitations of the time. There's little that can be said against the game.

    However, there is in fact, even in this masterpiece, room for some error:
    The main problem in the game, though not overwhelmingly prominent, is the slight feeling of emptiness associated with plot-carrying. If you choose to look at it standalone, there is a present problem in the fact that the game never truly reaches the point that you feel the overwhelming need to "push on" towards the end-result (which I'll not spoil). You feel, rather than working with Link to reach a goal, that you're watching the story play out for you. The problem with deciding the factoring of this error into a numeric review is the fact that the fault of this is halfway between the creators themselves, but also the simple limitations of the time. The only thing that's stopping me from giving this a full 10/10 is the likely possibility that this error could have been fixed, or at least improved with more consideration into immersion, no matter the era. And to be fair, a 10/10 implies a perfect game. Meaning there would be NO POSSIBILITY for ANY improvement in the game, which this game barely falls short of.

    There's not much more to say. This is, arguably, one of the greatest games ever made, and is near-perfect aside from it's minor immersion flaw. But I'd recommend this game to anyone in a heartbeat. The environment, the gameplay, the whole feeling of it is just about as close to near-flawless as a game could be at that era.
    Expand
  85. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    The best video game of ALL THE TIME for me. Best memory of my childhood with A Link To The Past and Majora's Mask. This game is epic. PLAY IT, PLAY IT AGAIN
  86. Nov 23, 2013
    10
    I still love playing this game even today.

    It's classic Zelda, but revamped to 3-D for the first time. It's reinvented the way we do gaming with the lock-on targeting. The dungeons are great, and the quest is lengthy, with many hidden secrets. Not to mention that this game arguably has the Legend of Zelda's best soundtracks, it should be on any gamers list of must plays.
  87. Dec 7, 2013
    10
    One of the best games of all time. Great gameplay. Good graphics (for its time). Being the first 3D zelda game it was really a step forward. The story is terrific as well.
  88. Dec 28, 2013
    9
    Though not quite perfect, Ocarina of Time does suffer a bit (as with all N64 era games, some more so than others) from 3D controls, odd camera angles, and blurred textures. But all that aside, it is still one of the most accessible, enjoyable, and memorable Nintendo games to date.
  89. Jan 20, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game was amazing, I still remember the time I finished this game it was the best thing that can ever happen in my Childhood. There is a reason why this game is the best. Expand
  90. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    It's Super Mario 64 mixed with Lord of the Rings epicness. The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is a damn fine game to play any time at all. Who doesn't love Link time-travelling between the present and the future using the Temple of Time as the portal?

    When I first played this I was overwhelmed by how epic it was. They just don't make video games like this anymore, except for the
    recent Zelda games. Expand
  91. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Call us crazy, but when the final version of Zelda 64 arrived in the IGN64 offices, we stopped working, locked ourselves into a room with a big-screen TV and a surround system and played 17 hours straight. After only a few hours of sleep, we were back for more and we couldn't stop until we finished the game. Then, we started over again to find all the secrets. Expand
  92. Feb 4, 2012
    8
    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time was a creative, non-linear game with a vast world. The weapons and items are varied and unusual. There was side missions to keep the adventure fun and moving. The temples and bosses were well thought out. The warp songs are convenient, but hard to memorize. Time travel on top of all that made it a great quest. One of my friends said it perfectly when they said, "Can you think of a better game at the time?" My answer was "No, good point." There are a few problems I had with it though. The game kept abruptly stopping due to major perplexity and frustration, which stems from a lack of explanation or some subtle detail that was understandably overlooked. The game required the Internet more times than it required the ocarina. The beginning was mundane and underwhelming, but that was understandable because it was basically a tutorial so it was only irritating while you were playing it. Also, the water temple is agreed by most to be lengthy, repetitive, discreet, drawn-out, and questionable why the iron boots must be taken on and off an endless amount of times. At least, they fixed that in the remake for the Nintendo 3DS. Also, the fairy won't shut up through the entire game. She, or he, or whatever, wasn't helpful and kept interrupting gameplay for obvious info about the game. The only time I got peace and quiet is when I fought Ganondorf or when I shut the system off. I'm surprised I didn't have nightmares about it. My favorite temple was the forest temple and the shadow temple. Both creative and large, much like the game. I mentioned all the game's flaws, and not a lot of its strong points. I don't mean to say the game is bad, hence the 8 I gave it. I just didn't mention a lot of its strong points because all the overrated 10's that smother the page can tell you that. What they forgot to tell you was its flaws. Overall, great game, challenging, classic, exploratory, but, sadly, overrated. Expand
  93. Aug 18, 2011
    10
    The ultimate and definitive Zelda. Everything that Majora's Mask, The Wind Waker, and (especially) Twilight Princess are, they owe to Ocarina of Time.
  94. Dec 11, 2010
    7
    A l'instar du Zelda II sorti sur Nintendo, Majora's Mask est un épisode qui se pose en porte à faux vis à vis de la série. Point question de sauver la princesse Zelda. Le héros prend place dans un monde totalement neuf, un univers parallèle à Hyrule. Enfin totalement neuf, mais plus pour très longtemps, car il est au bord de l'apocalypse, proche de l'implosion, si Link ne remets pas la main sur un petit lutin masqué, nommé Skull Kid, qui fout la pagaille aux quatre coins de la planète. On est ainsi balancé dans un nouvel environnement, qui change de nos bonnes vieilles habitudes. Enfin, pas tout à fait. Car, fidèle à ses préceptes, Nintendo a farci le jeu de références aux épisodes précédents. Majora's Mask ressemble même au meilleur cross over de la série. En premier lieu, le jeu est une refonte assumée d'Ocarina Of Time. La plupart des personnages de ce dernier sont recyclés, dans des rôles parfois différents, souvent différents même et des noms changés. Je pense aux sorcières, boss du Temple du Désert dans le précédent épisode, reconverties en marchandes de potions. Les relations qu'entretient Link avec ces différents personnage sont ainsi totalement inversées. Expand
  95. Jun 5, 2012
    9
    I was recently spoiled by the 3DS port of this legendary game, and while I recommend the 3DS version over the N64 version do to the 3DS version having more content, better controls, and updated graphics, this game is fantastic no matter which system you play it on. A fantastic story, near perfect controls, what may be the greatest soundtrack of all time, gorgeous graphics (for the time), fun and challenging gameplay, and a lot of content are all what this game has. This game, particularly this port of the game, has withstood the test of time, and is without a doubt one of the greatest games of all time that is completely deserving of every ounce of praise it has received. A must play. Expand
  96. Dec 3, 2012
    9
    Ocarina of Time is one of the most influential games of all time. Back in 1998 it was undoubtedly the best game ever made. Now things have evolved beyond recognition. Is Ocarina of Time still the best game ever? I don't think so. Not with titles like Red Dead Redemption and Journey available. But it would still make my top twenty best. And it still is and forever will be the most memorable game of all time. Nothing has ever come close to blowing me away quite the way Ocarina of Time did when I first played through it as a kid. Expand
  97. Jan 15, 2011
    7
    I still don't see why this game is so good. You literally beat it the exact same way every one else who played it beat it; what's the point? It obviously didn't age well but I would rate Paper Mario and Shadows of the Empire way above this on gameplay anyway.

    HEY.

    LISTEN.
  98. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    Nothing I can say is suficient to describe this game. It's flawless. One of the Best games of all time.
  99. May 30, 2013
    10
    If I had to choose one game to play in my lifetime, this is it, no contest.
    This is a landmark in not just gaming, but art as a whole, and deserves recognition as such.
  100. Jan 23, 2013
    0
    I'm conflicted here. To say I didn't enjoy anything in this game would be a lie, but to say I enjoyed all of it would be too.

    The story is simple, and has a predictable ending and an underwhelming final boss battle. In fact most of the boss battles are forgettable. The areas are simple themed areas with the most bland getting a second run once you take a 7 year nap.

    The game is
    really dated. Only those who played it at launch could give this game 10s. The puzzles are easy, the combat is really simple, and the gear is game breaking or useless outside it's first appearance.

    As the first and only game in the franchises I've played and beat, this game has entirely turned me off of the franchise. And no it wasn't the water temple.
    Collapse
Metascore
99

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. 100
    This is, without a doubt, one of the all-time greatest games made. 50 years from now people will still be playing and enjoying this game... thoroughly.
  2. This Zelda adventure will undoubtedly withstand the test of time and take its place as one of the best games to ever grace a home system.
  3. My favorite game of all Time. It is the perfect example of a perfect and polished game. Every aspect of the game is virtually flawless.