User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 2057 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    Just play it, if you don't think it's the greatest game ever (considering it's time) then sell all of your consoles, give away all of your games, and never play a video game again, you are not worthy!
  2. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    This game is really perfection. I played it when I was still just a little girl, and now more than 10 years later I play it again... and still love it. All the ones that gave the game a negative score are just here to rage at the popularity of this game. Because it's the best one ever made. And it deserves a worthwhile remake.
  3. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    anybody who doesnt give this game a 10 or 9 shouldnt be on this website and doesnt no wat gaming is.its one thing if u dont like rpg. but if thats the case that just dont rate the game
  4. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    This game was wayyy ahead of its time. That just just how amazing this game is and always be. Anyone that gives this game a low score, is just probably just jealous to how amazing this game is. The characters, the storyline, the game play is truly amazing. A must-play for ANY gamer!!
  5. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    This game is the definition of perfection, the zelda series has always been a console seller for nintendo, meaning people buy an entire console just so they can play the legend of zelda on it. the graphics were a bit iffy but the gameplay was excellent and has a storyline that was unlike anything seen at the time. very few games back in the late 90's had highly developed storylines and characters and zelda 64 is right up there at the top of the list. there is a reason that even after almost 13 years, it is still universally considered to be the best game ever made. me and a good number of my friends, who are big fans of the series, still own the N64 consoles we bought back in the 90's for the sheer purpose of playing ocarina of time and it's sequel, majora's mask, i even go so far as to own a functional NES to play the original zelda because of how much the series entertains me. find one other game in the world that people own 10+ year old consoles to play, and i will give you a pat on the back. zelda is by far one of the most impressive games ever made, and i have no doubt in my mind that it deserves a full 10/10, the fact that people are still even trying to compare it to modern games shows how timeless a classic it truly is. Expand
  6. Sep 12, 2011
    10
    The greatest game ever made. Simple as that. Playing it again, 13 years after first play, and may not feel as fresh and original but the levels are still as brilliantly fun to play through and the redoing of the puzzles still feels a joy, never a chore. There is nothing to fault this game over.
  7. Oct 3, 2011
    9
    Story: 9
    Characters: 9
    Graphics: 8
    Setting: 10
    Multiplayer: N/A
    Soundtrack: 10
    Audio: 7
    Gameplay: 7
    Re-Playability Value: 9
    Fun Factor: 10

    Score: 8.7/10
  8. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Still the best game ever. The only problem is the framerate, but that is forgivable. It's still got a great soundtrack, fun gameplay, and perhaps the best dungeons in a Zelda game
  9. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    The best game EVER is so challenging and is for thing 100 hours,i love this cool game...............................................................sosososososososo good
  10. Oct 14, 2011
    10
    nice game i love game :D....................................................................................................................................................
  11. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is not only the best game on the N64 in 1998, but one the greatest action adventure games of all times. Does it hold up today? In my personal opinion, it holds up pretty well and was pretty close to perfection. The visuals may look outdated today, but you cannot deny yourself that the atmosphere in the destinations within Hyrule are mesmerizing to explore in this game. The locations, the character designs, the temples, the story and the soundtrack (especially the soundtrack) are absolutely memorable through out this game and this game practically made me became a Zelda fan in the first place. I could see why there are some people whether they are Zelda fans or not that they are too fond with this Zelda title. It's a bit identical to A Link to the Past on the SNES, but with 3D rendered visuals and there is a lack of personality within many characters compared to the later Zelda games where character personalities has improved in. However, for Nintendo to produce an engaging story for their first 3D Zelda game, it became forgivable for its time. This maybe a really overrated Zelda game, but there's a reason why people prefer Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time as an instant classic. Expand
  12. Sep 6, 2012
    10
    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is definitely the greatest game of all time, even to this day, no one has told a story as well as Nintendo has, and defined gameplay in a way that still stands above everything else all these years
  13. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    Hands down, the best game of all time. My favorite game on any list. Right from the first moment, your captured into the gameplay and you don't want to stop playing. the landscape is beautiful, the monsters are something you wouldnt expect, the dungeons are challenging yet fun, and the bosses are a landmark to beat. Once you beat the game the first time, you accually feel like you have rescued a real princess and saved a real kingdom. The time playable land is massive and it will take some time to get everything, but the reward is well worth it. Hands down. Best. Game. Ever. Expand
  14. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Eons ahead of its time, Ocarina of Time is still of higher overall quality than the majority of games released today (2011). Greatest game of all time, no questions asked.
  15. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Even after 13 years after its 1998 release Ocarina of Time is still legendary. First off, the controls were the best back then and even now they hold up to today's high standards. One part of the control scheme that made the game play so smooth was the intuitive Lock-on system. This may seem like it would make Ocarina of Time a snap, but there is still a great difficulty level. The graphics aren't up to par with today's standards but they aren't bad at all as the graphics were ahead of their time. One of the best things about the Ocarina of Time is the story. It seems simple and to the point, but it is riddled with plot twists that keep you coming back for more. One aspect of video games that many overlook is the music. Ocarina of Time has one of the best game soundtracks I have ever heard. And the variety of music styles is amazing! There aren't just one or two great tracks, every soundtrack is unique and great.

    Overall, this is the best game I have ever played.
    Expand
  16. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    This is by far the best game i have played. Anyone who is giving this negative results go back to your generic shooter x franchise. This game really is the godfather, the dark knight, or lord of the rings of the game world.
    I don't like the godfather, but would still rate it nearly perfect as it is just so well made and executed, just like this game. It feels like everything in the game
    has been thought about, perfect pacing, exquisite level design, intriguing story, and just that x factor any perfect form of media has without the need for modern day effects or graphics.
    This shows if a game, film, book or album can be just as good now than.it was when released even if visually it might be dated.
    By the way this comes from some who does appreciate modern day visuals and owns a top end pc which maxes any title thrown at it.
    Expand
  17. Sep 9, 2012
    10
    Now I never give a game a perfect score... But I simply cannot give Ocarina of Time anything lower then a 10. This game is on a level of its own. Perhaps the best game to come out on a Nintendo System, this game raised the bar for 3D gaming and still stands at the top. When OoT came out I immediately begged my parents for this game. Nintendo power raved about this game, and every person I knew with a Nintendo 64 owned it. Once I got a hold of this game I sat in front of my television for weeks until I beat everything this bad boy offered. 13+ years later and I still re-beat this game at least once a year. Any person willing to call themselves a gamer HAS to play this game. From a designer perspective this game was about 10 years ahead of its time in terms of quality gameplay. For those of us old enough to remember video games prior to current and last gen consoles, we all remember the classic side scrollers and there leap to 3D. Unfortunately, most of those series died with the jump to 3-D. Zelda, on the other hand, took that leap and then some with Ocarina of Time. The game is just that good.

    For those of you who never played a Zelda game before, the Zelda series is composed of Action/Adventure games that put the gamer in a fantasy world known as Hyrule. The gamer always plays as the protagonist, Link, and is almost always sent on a task of rescuing the Princess Zelda from the clutches of the Dark Lord Ganon. Ocarina of Time is no different. The entire story in a nut shell is the "fairy boy" Link is sent on a quest to save Hyrule from the clutches of Ganon. During your adventure you must dwell thru 8-9 dungeons, slay massive bosses, and save Princess Zelda. You can expect a great story and about 30 hours of gameplay for your first playthrough. Obvious, those of you wishing to 100% the game will probably need to spend well over 30 hours to complete the entire game without the use of a guide. Moving forward, the gameplay is the "bread and butter" of the series. In Ocarina of Time you can expect to tackle hundreds of puzzles, slay tons monsters, obtain dozens of items, and complete many minigames during your adventure. The combat system really shines in this game with the use of "Z-Targeting." Z-targeting basically allows the players to lock onto a monster or item with a simple tap of the Z button. This allows the player to stay focused on the enemy they want to be fighting (this was also one of the first games to introduce such a feature). The general idea of Ocarina of Time is to find and complete 8 dungeons before confronting Ganon in a final battle. These dungeons are big and packed with puzzles that test the players skill and knowledge. Each dungeon requires the player to find a certain item and boss key before battling the dungeon's final boss. On top of these dungeons, OoT has a massive overworld where the player can interact with citizens of Hyrule, play minigames, hunt for heart pieces and treasure, or just explore the terrain. As I mentioned before this was a massive game for its time. Most players will spend 30-50 hours completing this game.

    Finally, the Zelda series is probably most known for its music. OoT continues not to disappoint us and delivers dozens of memorial tunes. From the overworld theme to the magical songs you unlock to help Link in his quest, the music leaves no disappointment. Even 14 years after this game came out, these songs still sound beautiful. Lets just say this game alone made the sales of Ocarina musical instruments soar. There is no words to describe how much I love this game. I'm a typical gamer that enjoys the big shooters that most people play today (CoD, Halo, Gears of War, etc...) Even though I have literally days-weeks of playing time on those games, I still do not consider them anywhere near Zelda; Especially Ocarina of Time. As I said before, I still go back to beat this game at least once a year. The game has aged extremely well and is still a blast to play. Although the graphics and technology may be old, Ocarina of Time still remains the highest scored game by critics world wide. Do yourselves a favor and buy this game for N64, Gamecube, Wii-Virtual Console, or 3DS. Its well worth the $10-30.

    Graphics 10/10 (for its time)
    Sound 10/10
    Gameplay 10/10
    Re-playability 10/10
    Expand
  18. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    So many of this games negative reviews are about poor graphics or boring gameplay, which is a problem because they're reviewing this game through the eyes of today, which is impossible to do so seeing as it was released in 1998. This game is THE blueprint, not on for Zelda games but any Zelda-inspired game since. The reasons this game is cited as "The Best Game of All Time" are many, all of which are accurate. It was really the first game evr to break through what is known as the "polygon ceiling". Franchises just couldn't make the jump to 3D correctly, either failing miserably like Bubsy or having to sacrifice something to make the grade meaning those games lost exactly what made the series good (Castlevania is the one that springs to mind here). OoT, however, not only showed everyone how 3D should be done, but how games should be done in general by having a great, fun story with plenty of twists and turns along the way, great controls that were simple to pick up and play and a massive amount of innovations with Z-Targeting being the most prevalent. Enjoyiing that lock-on in any game ever? You have Ocarina to thank for that. The puzzles were brilliant because they showcased the 3D perfectly, making you have to utilise spacial awareness by, for example, standing at a vantage point to fire an arrow through a lit torch so it sets on fire and ignites an extinguished torch at the other end of the room. No 3D game did that, which is why it was the pinnacle of the new revolution. The game is enormous even today, with in-depth side-quests that can easily detract you from the story for hours. Puzzles aren't out of reach for anyone so you don't have to be a genius to carry on with the story. Yes, sometimes the puzzles are more of the same, but that is really all they could do at the time with technology and memory constraints. This game was so big, a GamePak with increased memory was made just for this game, that later on became the standard memory allowance. The music is instantly recognisable and most of the well-known Zelda tracks are from this game, the only main song missing is the Zelda theme at the start instead opting for original music which, while an excellent piece is a little disappointing. Even after a decade, it's still the highest scored game ever on this site and there is a reason for that. This is not just a great Zelda game, but the greatest game of all time. If you haven't played this game in any of it's forms, you can't call yourself a gamer. Expand
  19. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Definitely greatest game on the N64, and the best game ever created. Ocarina of Time gave us revolutionary 3D gameplay and an epic story not to mention one of the nicest looking games at least on the N64. The game design is truly second to none. I consider the Water Temple to be one of the best designed temples of all time. Although the music is in MIDI format, it was a staple in 1998, and the scores are amazing anyway! This game is 10/10 no doubt. Expand
  20. May 14, 2012
    10
    It's sad that until today there hasn't been anything that grasps the sense of magic that OoT brought forth upon playing. However that is simply the game being so vastly superior at what it does. To this day Koji Kondo's soundtrack for this is the one that strikes at an emotional level, where it never gets old. Characters are so well-made they stick with you and feel alive even long after you played through once again. Graphically it's still really pleasing, because the aesthetics are so good. Pretty famous for it's story that keeps you involved at all times, never getting less climactic and leading to a huge pay-off and closure. Dungeon and level design is top notch and so clever they can be learned from even now. So much excellent extra content in exploring, secrets, mini-games and collectables that actually matter and improve your character and enhance the gameplay and is fun to do. Combat has alot of puzzle elements imbedded as well, especially the bosses require finding a solution whilst in the heat of the battle. It's all controlled rather intuitive with the Z-targetting being used for the first time and the handy hotkey buttons for sidegrade weapons and items. The HUD was also non intrusive and nicely designed for the time. Navigating through the expansive open world and dungeon is made user friendly by the clear map system, has no problems with mulitple floors and levels. The array of gadgets and weapons to your disposal is astounding and let's you find several ways to reach your goal. Still playing it when I need to be reminded what games should strife to be like and I can't help myself but going for all the side content every time getting lost in the world of Hyrule. Expand
  21. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    It's a masterpiece. A perfect game. Amazing graphics, great story and characters, brilliant soundtrack. It's my favourite game, my Top 1 after several great games.
  22. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Among the best games of all time simply for being the most innovative game. Masterful gameplay, amazing sound track, a nice story, and the land of Hyrule to explore. A definite must have for any gamer.
  23. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    I think we all know that this is possibly the greatest game ever made, A magical masterpiece, the only game that has a special place in my heart.. and i truly mean that. I would give this 10.5 if i could.
  24. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    I had no idea that at the ripe age of 10 I would play one of the best video games ever made. Ocarina of Time has shaped my standards for all games following it, and despite the now out-of-date graphics, continues to be one of the best, most groundbreaking games in a wonderful franchise. Ocarina of Time, I tip my hat to you.
  25. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    I played this when I was a child and I still play it on my free time!!! Just roaming around hyrule XD That's how awesome it is!! One of the best game ever made.
  26. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This was the first video game I have ever played and even now I enjoy playing it. This was the game that got me hooked on Zelda games. This IS the greatest video game of all time. A masterpiece.
  27. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    To this day I myself still play it and still consider it my favorite game ever. Not because of great graphics, or online play, or anything else that current games have fallen into but because Zelda is a game that touched my heart like no other game ever has. Current game developers and enthusiasts need to look back at The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time and reconsider the direction that games are going. Zelda mastered it, and for that we should honor it. Expand
  28. Nov 23, 2014
    10
    There really isn't much to be said that has not already been said about this legendary game. This game pushed the franchise into new heights as it transitioned into the third dimension. Hyrule is bigger than ever and the characters you meet appear fleshed out and it's almost surreal that you could interact with them in ways you could not before. The story is incredible and it leaves us with a great mystery that would dwell within the minds of theorists until recently. Without this game, where would we be today? Ocarina of Time will forever endure as among video games' finest achievements. Expand
  29. Nov 30, 2011
    9
    Ocarina of Time is a great game, even today it's being hailed as one of the best out there, and it's one I would recommend to anyone who wants to get into Zelda. It's definitely a classic, and it and it's sequel are 2 games everyone should play at least once.
  30. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    10 out of 10 is not enough for this game. If only Zelda OoT must get 10, then any other games are at most 7~8. It is useless to discuss the score of OoT, but anyway I'll give it 10
  31. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    People call it the best game ever, and I don't disagree. I'm on board with them! BEST GAME EVER MADE. I would give this game a 10/10. There are no problems, and definitely recommended.
  32. Dec 5, 2011
    10
    This is considered the best game of all time. There should be no negative feedback for the game majority of gamers considers the best game of all time, and since it has been out, only been rivaled with Super Mario, Zelda Majora's Mask, Zelda Twilight Princess, Super Mario Galaxy, Super Mario Galaxy 2, Uncharted 2, Grand Theft Auto IV, and now Skyward Sword and Skyrim. IGN say that Skyward Sword has surpassed Ocarina of Time. IGN and GameInformer both rated Skyward Sword a 10 and Skyrim a 9.5. IGN and GI are a lot of times biased towards Nintendo, but can't deny Skyward Sword is great.

    Ocarina of Time, is without a doubt, the funniest game of the Nintendo 64 especially for not being multiplayer, had more fun playing this than any multiplayer. It is the G.O.A.T, Zelda pathed the way for games like Skyrim, I hope Skyward Sword gets GOTY :), and possibly be considered the best of all time.
    Expand
  33. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    I don`t know why but I have seen some people giving negative scores for this game. If they were wrong? YES, completely wrong! All I have to say is those people who gives low grades to this big of a game is either completely crazy, or is a hater, or do not know how to play the game and because of that gives it a low score. This game despite how old it is, still makes me fascinated with its cinematic effects and graphics(by the way, graphics doesn`t matter, what matters is the fun). I did not accomplished the entire game a.k.a. side quests, but I accomplished the main storyline and that was REALLY worth of my time, I simply loved this game, it made me a fan of the Zelda games, I highly recommend that you play it, you surely won`t regret it, it's as the critics says a Masterpiece. And I have to say thanks to Shigeru Myamoto and Nintendo. Now if you excuse me, I have a new adventure to set on Zelda: Skyward Sword! Expand
  34. Dec 30, 2012
    10
    This is the Sgt. Peppers of gaming. It's perfect in length, the storyline is incredible, the characters are deep and likeable, the dungeons have some of deepest puzzles the Nintendo 64 can offer. Its a masterpiece beyond belief.
  35. Jan 9, 2012
    10
    The best game in the whole history. It doesn't matter which year you're playing it, the graphics are from a 64-bit console, of course they will be worse than a Ps3 game. This will ALWAYS be the best game ever. The first Zelda that changed all the other zeldas since than. Incomparable, a huge masterpiece, the best of all time.
  36. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    THE BEST GAME EVER MAID!!!! the best game of nintendo 64.Incredible history,its impossible not love this amazing game! And come others Legends of Zelda, but only Ocarina of Time, is in the heart of all gamers in the world!
  37. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. The plot, gameplay, EVERYTHING, is pretty much amazing. I love the positive atmosphere, charming cast, and how clean it is. Its loads better then those stupid zombie and war games, uggggggghhhhhhh.
  38. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Everything was incredible, beautiful and fascinating in Zelda: Ocarina of Time. The most awaited game turned out to be the best of all the times. It is not a video game is a legend.
  39. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    This game was and is a masterpiece. Top 3 of all-time, maybe #1 for me (at least tied). The brilliance of this game will endure for the history of gaming. Absolutely spectacular....13 years later I'm giving this game the review it deserves.
  40. May 28, 2012
    10
    What is there to say? This is gaming at its best. OOC and Majoras Mask are the 2 best games I can think of in this genre. Nothing has come close to matching these 2 games. They really don't make games like this any more. Quality, and fun to play. Well thought out and well made.
  41. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Someone **** AuraGuider, this is the best game EVER!!!, (After Skyward Sword)
  42. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    Best game ever. Best story, best sound track... Already forgotten how many times finished it.... And I continue playing... Ocarina Of Time is the best Legend Of Zelda game, and worth anybody's time whom intends to play
  43. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    I have nothing to say this game is perfect. But the graphics not always correct but when you squeeze away by the atmosphere of the game you will even forget its shortcomings.
  44. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    This is the best game of all time.. Any system, any time. HANDS DOWN. PERIOD! So good. If you are really playing this game for the first time, play it on the 3ds. It's so beautiful, challenging, engaging... It's just the best.
  45. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    legend of zelda ocarina of time: the best zelda game ever an the first game on ign to get a perfect 10 and the only game on metacritic to get 99. im stuck at the forest temple but i played throught the last 3 temples. the bosses some times scared me an the sacred forest place guards make it even more fun. the shadow and water temples confused me and the shadow and spirit temple bosses were literaly awesome. i like the horse the only drawback was the skelechilds and the bigoron sword was a pain to get, but even these drawbacks were over come by the jaw dropping graphics and audio final comment: any one who hates this game should be locked up with this game untill they like it. Expand
  46. May 6, 2012
    10
    The perfect mix of puzzle and action. One of the best games ever made.

    While the story wasn't as complex as some, the simplicity of it keeps the focus on the game play. It's easy to play the game just to beat it; but countless hours can be spent exploring new caves, and finding treasure to complete 100%. A must play!
  47. May 10, 2012
    10
    We must remember the era of this games release. This game is a masterpiece. Challenging puzzles, an expansive world, a decent plot that can become amazing if you invest into it and an excellent soundtrack make's this The Greatest Game of 1990-2000
  48. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    The game is the quintessence of the word EPIC. The game has one of the best stories of all time, the gameplay is incredible for it's time. Link is the perfect example of what a hero should be.
  49. May 22, 2014
    10
    Legendary of course. I love this game no matter how much old it is. Every element of this game is very balanced and fun. Story and those silent character with amazing expressions are truly impressive. I dream it on PC with ultra tech graphics
  50. May 22, 2012
    10
    This game is awsome. Played it again on my N64 a short time back and its still awsome. Awsome story and when it was new it still had some challenges in it. That something that lacks in some new games now-a-days. This game is the first game i rly loved and I still do!
  51. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    Some works of art are beyond criticism. Other things may be better than it, but its still as good as anyone could reasonably expect something to be. Ocarina of Time is that way. I've played through it, probably more than any other game. There's so much detail that, even though relatively linear, the game has better replay value than most I've seen. Even with my many playthroughs, I know there is some content I haven't seen. Crossing the desert -still- feels like a wild quest into the unknown, every time. I do, however, think Wind Waker is my favorite Zelda game. Expand
  52. Jun 5, 2012
    10
    One of the most perfectly worked out games in adventure genre. No flaws to be detected, fluent and action rich gameplay, interesting puzzles and quests, wide open world with a perfect balanced progress and excellent mixture of story based progress and free exploring. That time in the past even nice graphics, still nice aesthetics. The only little cute thing that doesnt make the game a 100% perfect: Navi just drives one crazy after some time. Expand
  53. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    Absolute perfection. Nothing beats this game. Well, maybe Bioshock. But Ocarina of Time is a cherished nostalgic game to me. May the Triforce be with you.
  54. Jun 30, 2012
    9
    Sometimes I hate saying this because there are a lot of equaly wonderful games out there, but this is my favorite game of all time. It is one of my most endearing childhood memories playing this game, and whenever I replay it I get that same feeling every time. I must have beaten this over a dozen times. It's like with harry potter fans who re-read the entire series just because they love it so much. Sometimes when I'm stressed or angry I play this game, it just relieves all of my frustration it can be like meditation sometimes after beating it so many times. I only give it a 9 because it's impossible for anything to be absolutey perfect. Expand
  55. Jun 23, 2012
    9
    For today´s standards Oot may look a little dated, and granted... a little too simple. But one has to understand the context of the time when it was released. Before Ocarina of time no character in videogame history had riden a horse that in god´s honest truth moved like a horse. The game was massive with lots of sidequesting and a degree of freedom that would not be exploided until the arrival of Grand Theft Auto III a few years later. This is the building blueprint of the modern action rpg game. Before it there was none, and though my personal favorite will always be Majora´s mask, I cannot feel but love for the craft and passion implemented into the game as a refinement constructed upon it´s predecesors, specially the excellent "A Link To the Past". There is just so much to do, from collecting items, to fishing to hunting Poes, many games nowadays wish they could play as simple, as intuitive and refined as Zelda Ocarina Of Time, the game that rightfully deserves the title of "Best game of all time" because of ONE thing... Innovation. (Also, it introduced the whole 1 button everything mechanic, now that I remember). Expand
  56. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    pure mastepiece. This is still and always will be one of the best games ever made for any playform, one of the best games of ALL TIME. The story, the plot, from beginning to end flows like a river. The items, the weapons are amazing. This is Zelda at it's peak and it doesn't get any better.Perfect game.
  57. Feb 21, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest game ever created, i used to play this before and still, its awesome as it was before when it was plan new on the gaming market. Classic favorite.
  58. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    For all of those who gave this game low scores, you don't see why there are such good scores! This game was the first game to EVER use the Z-Targeting feature, which has helped me in all of the Zelda games that I have played. This game deserves all of the good reviews. Even though the graphics aren't that good now, they were very good when this game was made, and I know that I would play it again and again. It will be rated in my top 10 games ever for the rest of my life. There are so many side quests to perform, it just intrigues me how people can hate this game. It is like saying that the best game ever in a series just sucks because it is old Expand
  59. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    The best game of every time. Perfect Artist Direction, Sounds and Graphics. The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is in TOP 1 of any ranks. Only playing the game you will understand
  60. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    In my not so humble opinion there are only 3 games in existence deserving of a "Perfect 10" - Chrono Trigger, Link to the Past, and Ocarina of Time. This game is flawless - I can't make one legitimate complaint about this game. The closest I can get is to complain about the water temple - but does the water temple make this game bad? Was it bad itself? I don't believe so - it was difficult: However it was still masterfully designed, and the way it all tied together was in my opinion beautiful in the end. Just because something is difficult, it shouldn't mean that it is inherently flawed. Difficulty is flawed when it's due to bad design - example being a game like Binding of Isaac where you can go through dungeons with tons of locked doors and chest but not one god damn key included in the entire stage - that's difficulty through bad design rather than difficulty by intention. Everything about Ocarina of time was absolutely perfect - the dungeon design, the overworld design, the villages, the music, the sound, the control scheme, the item variety... EVERYTHING. Best game of all time along with Chrono Trigger and Link to the Past, anyone that says otherwise simply doesn't know video games (or doesn't share my exquisite tastes) Expand
  61. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    Honestly, this is the only Zelda game I've played all the way through, and while I don't consider it the best game EVAR or anything, it's definitely one of the best for the N64. The graphics are what you'd expect from the N64, but the music is great and the story is pretty good. The gameplay is fun and fairly diverse, though I always found the beginning to be a bit slow. If you never played this classic, you owe it to yourself to do so. Expand
  62. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    Nintendo has outdone themselves in this classic. The best story. It's graphics were best. The music one of the best soundtracks in any game. It's so fun. It's very addicting. And very creative. The controls were amazing!!! I love this game!!!
  63. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    To put it simply, Nintendo have made a masterpiece and seem to do this every time they release a game; raising the bar time and time again. This game is simply breathtaking, and its graphics may be a tiny bit dated, but that's one of the main reasons why a 3DS version was released. But this doesn't matter, what matters is it's fantastic plot, epic battles and most of all it's status of being one of the most critically acclaimed games of all time. Expand
  64. Sep 3, 2014
    10
    The legendary title in the legendary series. (ADMIT IT, IT'S NOT THE BEST ZELDA GAME EVER) But it was certainly perfect at the time of its release. 10/10 Game of 1998.
  65. Aug 23, 2012
    10
    First time I played this game was 2011. At first, I was annoyed at the cut-scenes, but then after finishing the Deku Tree, I continued to play for an additional five hours. Overall - best game I've ever payed.
  66. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    Try this game yourself People needn't review perfect games Just for the reamining characters i'll write random thigs thats enough
  67. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    i rarely ever give out 10's to a game but ocarina of time definantly deserves it! fantastic epic story, great temples that will immerse you, wonderful soundtrack, a very climatic final boss battle, everything about this game kicks ass! suuurrreee this story is cliche but the way the story was told was unique and epic! the story about the triforce, link's upbringing, the temple of time, its all beautifully crafted! you really felt like you had to save the world also; ganondorf takes over hyrule and the lands gets taken over by monsters and troubles and threats! you really felt like you had a land to save! ganondorf was the pefect villian in this game! at the time, this was the first time i got revealed to ganondorf so his presence was new and fresh to me; he was powerful and evil and corrupt; you really felt the weight of the world on you shoulders when you finally got to fight the evil gerudo king!

    the only complaint i have about this game was that there was no explanation to ganondorf's evil motives! he was just some evil bad guy who wanted to take over the world! but really there is no explanation for every bad guy we meet in real life and we dont get a detailed description of their life soooooo, nintendo gets a pass on that! lol

    overall the story was new and fresh to me, wonderful story aspects, great characters to meet throughout your adventure, epic final boss fight, epic sub bosses, fantastic immersive temples, epic music!

    PERFECT! 10 OUT OF 10!
    Expand
  68. 4DI
    Nov 18, 2012
    9
    Probably the best the N64 had to offer. It defined itself as a franchise. Yet, it's overhyped. I had fun, and this classic is worth a play through. I would play Majora's mask over Ocarina of Time any day.
  69. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    My favourite experience of any video game! Absolutely awesome! Probably worth checking out the 3DS version. I have played this many times now, and enjoy it more, each time! Sad to see the series high point be so far back in the distance, at this time! ahhh.. memories! Nintendo.. get a NEW team that can put together a game this awesome, for the modern age.. please!!!
  70. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    I really love this game. The story is every emotional and different. The temples are not as great as Ocarina of Time but the temples don't play a major part in the whole game as they did in OoT.
  71. May 14, 2013
    10
    The best game I have ever played. I have played & finished this game at least once every year since its release. It doesn't get old. It has aged beautifully and will continue to provide me with hours of entertainment in a way no other game at present can.
  72. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    Best single player game ever made, no debate. This is an amazing game. Kid link to adult link was cumtastic. Gannon is awesome. This game took over my life as a child.
  73. Dec 7, 2012
    10
    This is the best game ever!
    no other game can mess with it!
    This is the HOLY BIBLE of games!
    I have it, ORIGINAL!
    I hope Nintendo makes a movie from that game...
  74. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    This game is over all amazing. It is by far the best game i have ever played. There is never a dull moment in the game. The controls are great and temples/dudgeon are all memorable. The soundtrack is amazing, not to mention songs on the Ocarina. Truly one of the best games of all time.
  75. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    There are a lot of people who call this game overrated, but this game is truly one of the greatest games of all time, with most of the other greatest games being other Zelda games.
  76. May 1, 2014
    10
    Games can't get as good as this, and beats most of the new games. For any retro gamer, this game would be one that you will be playing again and again. A masterpiece of gaming and art.
  77. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    Just the Greatest game of all time!!! FACT THAT IT HAS GREAT STORY, GAME-PLAY, CONTROLS, SIDE-QUEST, GREAT EVERYTHING, AND THE MUSIC OH MY GOD THE FRICKING MUSIC (sorry cant cruse)
  78. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    Great Game! Deserves the top spot. So many memories with this amazing game. The dungeons are very interesting and i love how the characters have life to them. love the different items they add new technique
  79. Feb 12, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best video games that ever existed, it is memorable, fun, addicting, and challenging, no matter if you played a video game before or a hardcore Zelda fan give this game a try.
  80. Feb 13, 2013
    10
    Greatest game of all time, hands down. Nothing else to say other than that any negative reviews are simply from people who can't stand a game to be so legendary.
  81. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    Ocarina of Time, the only game I could think of for my first review on Metacritic. Ever since I first got into this game as a kid I was fascinated by the world, exploring everywhere not knowing where I was going or what to do. Despite this I was captured by the deepness the game had to offer by the expensive world alone...and I wouldn't even get into the story until almost a decade later. The game kept me busy, finding new places with seemingly no end in sight. I would often think the game had literally no end to it. After multiple times renting the game I would finally get a copy for my own eagerly on the Wii, wanting to experience the fullness of a game that I had adored....and I sure wasn't alone in that regard. What I had come to expect was beyond my expectations. I had already played Twilight Princess and that was already a classic to me, but Ocarina of Time went even further than that game could even achieve. The story is simple but well done. The gameplay is as good as it gets, with epic boss battles, clever and balanced puzzles, and an excellent level of challenge that is still unmatched by any game I've played thus far. The atmosphere this world gives is beyond words I could even put down. You want to save Zelda and defeat Ganondorf, and save Hyrule for all the characters you have met along the way and yourself as well. Items are endlessly interesting to discover and you would be surprised to find so many hidden places in one game. Its mind boggling. There are no places to get stuck at without clear and open thinking and exploration. The game doesn't drag on either as you are constantly surprised and interested to see what happens next. To date this is the only game I have ever spent 10 hours playing without stopping. I would never do that again, but that shows how addictive the game is. People say a game is never perfect. Well if this game isn't, it sure comes pretty darn close. I have yet to play a Link to the Past, but I truly do believe that if their is any game that can be called the greatest game ever made, this is one of those games that deserves it. Thank you Nintendo for all the memories and keep going strong. Expand
  82. Dec 16, 2013
    10
    Best Zelda game ever made that introduced the 3D world and several items that would be part of the further games. If you are a Zelda fan it is a mandatory game to have in your collection.
  83. May 20, 2014
    9
    It came late at the en of 1998 but the game showed modeling superiority over metal gear solid and many other games that came out that year. The graphic detail were amazing; artistic but not the best compare to Banjo Kazooie and sill manages to get a perfect score on graphics. The unique targeting system inspire many games on to the future, using it to attack was oth innovative and unique creating tension to the difficult enemies. The camera showed improvements of viewing the setting of the game but it lack in some places of the game to show the very feet of LINK making it difficult to fight when you are on the edge of a rock, etc. But I both criticize the climbing to be bad to prevent a hit from an obstacle or enemy but also like it from showing the A button to climb a very innovative game indeed. Plus the 60 hour long game makes you forgive th game from not speaking it's a great adventure recommended for children tha like puzzles and swords I GAVE IT GAME OF THE YEAR= 9.255 by a close call to METAL GEAR 9.254. Expand
  84. May 12, 2013
    10
    I don't need to say much. You've heard about this game and its now legendary place in gamers' hearts. Nothing has ever come close to the magic I felt playing this at 10 years old. Everything about this game is rolled into a perfect burrito. Indeed, no game has come as close to perfection in every way as this one.
  85. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    This is the best game i have ever played, the game got lot of replayability and it will always be just as amazing as the last time you played it, the few bugs here and there are not game breaking and mostly used by speedrunners.
    For a game on the very limited N64 it is extremely beautiful and huge, the atmosphere and story is very gripping and even a young kid can, as in many other
    Nintendo games, play this while still feeling the magic of everything even without perfect understanding of the story. Expand
  86. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    What can I say? The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is a phenomenal game and a great example of what the Nintendo 64 can really do when put to the test. In terms of Zelda games and Nintendo games, it honestly doesn't get much better than this, and for that reason, OoT is still played even today- whether on the GameCube version, or its original outing on the N64. It's definitely up there with my other favorite games on N64, such as Turok 2: Seeds of Evil, except OoT is sitting on the throne, lording over the rest. Expand
  87. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is and will always be my favorite game of all time just everything about the game is perfect the bosses, the music, the story, the characters, and the gameplay.
  88. May 3, 2013
    10
    A game that is played by kids and adults alike, Ocarina of Time is a timeless classic. Every aspect of it from gameplay to the soundtrack is spectacular. If you want an amazing story with sides of challenging puzzles, then look no further...although not for the faint of mind *coughs* Water Temple.
  89. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    Really, this is one of the games I grew up with. Just seeing the title screen makes me feel better again. All these negative reviews are just people who think they are cool or something downing this game. When really, they probably love it just as much as we do. Plain and simple this game is perfect.
  90. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    This is an incredible game, you can play for hours and hours and don't get bored because all the elements are really great: the history, the levels, the characters...everything is marvelous. Undoubtedly one of the best video games ever, and one of my favorites.
  91. May 10, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time that has aged to become an instant classic it was amazing back then and its still amazing now this is a game you can not miss if you call your self a gamer
  92. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    video game industry described it the best game ever and it was the game of the year. It was his big world, the amazing graphics in that year, the gameplay, the history and the duration it created a game model that companies still use. sry my bad english but if you still doubt my words, prove it 10/10
  93. May 24, 2013
    10
    This game is an absolute classic that everyone needs to play. It really is as good as they say. Definitely one of the best games of all time. If you haven't played this game then you need to do so.
  94. Jun 1, 2013
    10
    I remember the good old days of n64, sitting all day on my family room playing n64, this game is quite possibly the first game I ever played, I simply love this game, the story is great, great dungeon design, and the satisfaction of solving one of the many challenging puzzles, he soundtrack is beyond perfect, I still remember the melodies, this game is without a doubt the best game of all time, I still play this game on my still functional n64 and it brings so much nostalgia, I can not explain how much I love this game! Expand
  95. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    My Favorite Game of All Time, The Legend of Zelda: OoT was my introduction to the series, and since have completed it numerous times and found it to be the all around perfection of Adventure gaming for all Ages.

    But to explain why this means so much, I have to explain the situation the time of this games release, I'm currently 21, I was born back in 1992, and the N64 and PlayStation
    where dominating the market, both having their own stellar titles and being a kid of 6 years old at the time of the game's 1998 release censorship was always unheard of in my family. I was sneaking around a large Military base in my favourite series "Metal Gear Solid" and capping zombies left, right and center in "Resident Evil 2", whilst happily stopping Gruntilda in "Banjo Kazooie" and getting lost in paintings in the superb "Super Mario 64".

    As soon as you load up this Game, The Introduction will NEVER leave your memory, Koji Kondo's Introductory music will attach itself to your brain and along with the cinematic of a young adult riding his horse through the vast Hyrule field sums up everything you need to know that this is going to be quite the Adventure.

    The story involves a young boy living in the woods with other equally aged kids, who is summoned by the forest deity "The Great Deku Tree" who sends the boy named "Link" and his new Companion "Navi" the fairy on a Journey to save the Land of Hyrule and it's Princess "Zelda" from the Evil tyrant "Ganondorf".

    And from there on an Epic tale that spans several years begins, interacting with the many citizens and species of the lands, revisiting them years later to see how their domains have stood the test of time, and of course dungeons and puzzles all expertly crafted around fantastic tools you'll discover and ultimately need to take down some of gaming's most memorable foes.

    Again just writing this down you KNOW this game is Legend, obviously take note that I had not played the superb games in the series beforehand, and this was my introduction to superbly crafted 3-D gaming space suddenly do you realize just how much Ocarina of Time, has raised the bar, set the standard and still to this day is the pinnacle of Adventure Gaming.

    I have to say that I never really had problems with the controls (I heard many people found them clustered), I will admit, I tend to rate things on how well they will stand the test of time, On an unrelated topic "Raiders of the Lost Ark" is my favourite movie as I've seen it countless times and never tire or find boredom in any part of it's running time, that's also this game, not once do I have any bitterness towards any part, I guess on repeated playthroughs did I realize that I couldn't wait to play the 2nd Act of this game where the abundance of development really soaks in.

    Receiving more Items, Learning Ocarina melodies, Dungeon and Cave exploration (I really find myself wanting to play it again right now). It remains just as relevant now as it did 15 years ago...

    Final Verdict: I better end here because in all honesty I could go on forever, it needs to be played to be believed, and I hope anyone reading this "got" how much this game means the way I felt about it years ago and even today. Play it! see the epitome of the Zelda series in all it's glory, many a port exists 10/10. I'm gonna go listen to some Koji Kondo!
    Expand
  96. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    One of the all time greatest games and in my eyes the best Zelda game. Awesome boss fights and a great adventure. I have beaten the game multiple times but I have never gotten bored of it.
  97. Sep 9, 2014
    10
    The game that really deserves "Best game ever" title, I got this when I was 13, it was such an awesome game, my best friend and I played it non-stop the entire weekend. I have never enjoyed a game at the same level since.
  98. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    Though this game is already 15 years old, it shall always be considered the greatest game ever created. There are those who say this game is boring, bland, and generic, but you must take into account that in its time this game was the newest, most innovative game ever made, It was the first to set the bar for all similar games to come. Those who say that this game's story line is generic, forget that it was one of the first to have such a story. Furthermore the real truth of this game doesn't come out right away, you are just in the middle of playing the game when you realize that this is simply the best game you had ever played. Expand
  99. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    To anyone who has written a negative review of this game. First, congratulations. Second, back it up. It's perfectly okay to say that you think this is the "most boring game ever made." But that doesn't really justify your review of why the game sucks so so much. Back it up buddy.

    Anyhow, I first played this game when I was about 11 or 12 (back when it was released). Quite frankly,
    whenever I played a game i usually never finished it. I just didn't give a poop. Nothing ever grabbed me. And well guess what. This game did. For some odd reason, I really cared about the fate of Hyrule, and whether or not Link was gonna be okay fighting all these bad guys. Man I tore into this game. It sucked me right in. I've replayed it a dozen times since.

    I'm not a gamer by any stretch, nor do I even really care that much about video games. Certainly not Zelda. But this game really is an anomaly. It turns casual gamers into hard-core players, for all of 40 plus hours. It did for me anyhow.

    If you find yourself, BORED in the game, take a look at if you get bored during other things, and maybe evaluate if it's actually the game that's boring or if it's just your attention span and imagination being very poor. If you don't have the capacity for make believe maybe video games, movies, or books aren't for you. This game is like reading a REALLY good long book. It takes a bit of an investment to complete it. I was 11 when i first beat it, and believe me, I have "finished" or beaten very few things at that age. I'm 26 years old now, and i still remember my first time playing this thing. If it could capture my wimpy 11 year old mind and hold its attention long enough for me to complete the game, then this game deserves the highest rating available.
    Expand
Metascore
99

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. 100
    This is, without a doubt, one of the all-time greatest games made. 50 years from now people will still be playing and enjoying this game... thoroughly.
  2. This Zelda adventure will undoubtedly withstand the test of time and take its place as one of the best games to ever grace a home system.
  3. My favorite game of all Time. It is the perfect example of a perfect and polished game. Every aspect of the game is virtually flawless.