The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time Nintendo 64

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 3732 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 29, 2012
    9
    The best adventure game of all times. Cool battle mechanics, hard puzzles, huge dungeons and maps and lots of curious stuff. The mechanic is pretty easy and yet, very addictive. As you explore the different areas, you'll discover how some places are out of reach. As you keep finding new items and learn new tricks, you'll be able to gain access to new areas and face harder and harderThe best adventure game of all times. Cool battle mechanics, hard puzzles, huge dungeons and maps and lots of curious stuff. The mechanic is pretty easy and yet, very addictive. As you explore the different areas, you'll discover how some places are out of reach. As you keep finding new items and learn new tricks, you'll be able to gain access to new areas and face harder and harder puzzles. This game can give you 20 or maybe 30 hours of fun (depends how many time you'll need to clear the dungeons and bosses). Also, the soundtrack is one of the best ever made for a videogame. Expand
  2. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    Some works of art are beyond criticism. Other things may be better than it, but its still as good as anyone could reasonably expect something to be. Ocarina of Time is that way. I've played through it, probably more than any other game. There's so much detail that, even though relatively linear, the game has better replay value than most I've seen. Even with my many playthroughs, I knowSome works of art are beyond criticism. Other things may be better than it, but its still as good as anyone could reasonably expect something to be. Ocarina of Time is that way. I've played through it, probably more than any other game. There's so much detail that, even though relatively linear, the game has better replay value than most I've seen. Even with my many playthroughs, I know there is some content I haven't seen. Crossing the desert -still- feels like a wild quest into the unknown, every time. I do, however, think Wind Waker is my favorite Zelda game. Expand
  3. Jun 5, 2012
    10
    One of the most perfectly worked out games in adventure genre. No flaws to be detected, fluent and action rich gameplay, interesting puzzles and quests, wide open world with a perfect balanced progress and excellent mixture of story based progress and free exploring. That time in the past even nice graphics, still nice aesthetics. The only little cute thing that doesnt make the game a 100%One of the most perfectly worked out games in adventure genre. No flaws to be detected, fluent and action rich gameplay, interesting puzzles and quests, wide open world with a perfect balanced progress and excellent mixture of story based progress and free exploring. That time in the past even nice graphics, still nice aesthetics. The only little cute thing that doesnt make the game a 100% perfect: Navi just drives one crazy after some time. Expand
  4. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    Absolute perfection. Nothing beats this game. Well, maybe Bioshock. But Ocarina of Time is a cherished nostalgic game to me. May the Triforce be with you.
  5. Jun 30, 2012
    9
    Sometimes I hate saying this because there are a lot of equaly wonderful games out there, but this is my favorite game of all time. It is one of my most endearing childhood memories playing this game, and whenever I replay it I get that same feeling every time. I must have beaten this over a dozen times. It's like with harry potter fans who re-read the entire series just because they loveSometimes I hate saying this because there are a lot of equaly wonderful games out there, but this is my favorite game of all time. It is one of my most endearing childhood memories playing this game, and whenever I replay it I get that same feeling every time. I must have beaten this over a dozen times. It's like with harry potter fans who re-read the entire series just because they love it so much. Sometimes when I'm stressed or angry I play this game, it just relieves all of my frustration it can be like meditation sometimes after beating it so many times. I only give it a 9 because it's impossible for anything to be absolutey perfect. Expand
  6. Jun 23, 2012
    9
    For today´s standards Oot may look a little dated, and granted... a little too simple. But one has to understand the context of the time when it was released. Before Ocarina of time no character in videogame history had riden a horse that in god´s honest truth moved like a horse. The game was massive with lots of sidequesting and a degree of freedom that would not be exploidedFor today´s standards Oot may look a little dated, and granted... a little too simple. But one has to understand the context of the time when it was released. Before Ocarina of time no character in videogame history had riden a horse that in god´s honest truth moved like a horse. The game was massive with lots of sidequesting and a degree of freedom that would not be exploided until the arrival of Grand Theft Auto III a few years later. This is the building blueprint of the modern action rpg game. Before it there was none, and though my personal favorite will always be Majora´s mask, I cannot feel but love for the craft and passion implemented into the game as a refinement constructed upon it´s predecesors, specially the excellent "A Link To the Past". There is just so much to do, from collecting items, to fishing to hunting Poes, many games nowadays wish they could play as simple, as intuitive and refined as Zelda Ocarina Of Time, the game that rightfully deserves the title of "Best game of all time" because of ONE thing... Innovation. (Also, it introduced the whole 1 button everything mechanic, now that I remember). Expand
  7. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    pure mastepiece. This is still and always will be one of the best games ever made for any playform, one of the best games of ALL TIME. The story, the plot, from beginning to end flows like a river. The items, the weapons are amazing. This is Zelda at it's peak and it doesn't get any better.Perfect game.
  8. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    This game is one of if not the Best game Ever made. Rather It Brings you nostalgia or not it is a Perfect masterpiece. And for all those 9 year old retard Call of duty Fans. Who by the way has never played a game other than First person Shooters. I say Shame on you. And if your one of those Graphics hating Retards. This game Had some of the Best Graphics of any game in 1998. And if yourThis game is one of if not the Best game Ever made. Rather It Brings you nostalgia or not it is a Perfect masterpiece. And for all those 9 year old retard Call of duty Fans. Who by the way has never played a game other than First person Shooters. I say Shame on you. And if your one of those Graphics hating Retards. This game Had some of the Best Graphics of any game in 1998. And if your Still irritated by the Graphics Buy the one for the 3ds it's graphics are Better. Point is The Games a outstanding. Expand
  9. Feb 21, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest game ever created, i used to play this before and still, its awesome as it was before when it was plan new on the gaming market. Classic favorite.
  10. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    For all of those who gave this game low scores, you don't see why there are such good scores! This game was the first game to EVER use the Z-Targeting feature, which has helped me in all of the Zelda games that I have played. This game deserves all of the good reviews. Even though the graphics aren't that good now, they were very good when this game was made, and I know that I would playFor all of those who gave this game low scores, you don't see why there are such good scores! This game was the first game to EVER use the Z-Targeting feature, which has helped me in all of the Zelda games that I have played. This game deserves all of the good reviews. Even though the graphics aren't that good now, they were very good when this game was made, and I know that I would play it again and again. It will be rated in my top 10 games ever for the rest of my life. There are so many side quests to perform, it just intrigues me how people can hate this game. It is like saying that the best game ever in a series just sucks because it is old Expand
  11. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    The best game of every time. Perfect Artist Direction, Sounds and Graphics. The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is in TOP 1 of any ranks. Only playing the game you will understand
  12. Aug 29, 2012
    10
    What can I say that hasn't been said?Nothing.It's almost if not completely perfect! Gameplay is pure,Zelda awesomeness.Oh yeah and if you said it was boring,it's because you suck at it and you only like fps games where all you do is run in and go,"I'M RAMBO!!!!BAMBLAMCHIGGABOOM!". These people are what I call "fraggots" fps nerds who hate anything without guns and judge everything byWhat can I say that hasn't been said?Nothing.It's almost if not completely perfect! Gameplay is pure,Zelda awesomeness.Oh yeah and if you said it was boring,it's because you suck at it and you only like fps games where all you do is run in and go,"I'M RAMBO!!!!BAMBLAMCHIGGABOOM!". These people are what I call "fraggots" fps nerds who hate anything without guns and judge everything by graphics.Hence the word "frag" coming from "frag grenade",often used in fps games.Though Nintendo geeks can get annoying,too.But,I've gotten sidetracked.The controls,story,graphics (for it's time),gameplay,characters, and overall nostalgia are amazing.A 10 out of 10.An almost (if not completely) perfect game! Expand
  13. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    In my not so humble opinion there are only 3 games in existence deserving of a "Perfect 10" - Chrono Trigger, Link to the Past, and Ocarina of Time. This game is flawless - I can't make one legitimate complaint about this game. The closest I can get is to complain about the water temple - but does the water temple make this game bad? Was it bad itself? I don't believe so - it wasIn my not so humble opinion there are only 3 games in existence deserving of a "Perfect 10" - Chrono Trigger, Link to the Past, and Ocarina of Time. This game is flawless - I can't make one legitimate complaint about this game. The closest I can get is to complain about the water temple - but does the water temple make this game bad? Was it bad itself? I don't believe so - it was difficult: However it was still masterfully designed, and the way it all tied together was in my opinion beautiful in the end. Just because something is difficult, it shouldn't mean that it is inherently flawed. Difficulty is flawed when it's due to bad design - example being a game like Binding of Isaac where you can go through dungeons with tons of locked doors and chest but not one god damn key included in the entire stage - that's difficulty through bad design rather than difficulty by intention. Everything about Ocarina of time was absolutely perfect - the dungeon design, the overworld design, the villages, the music, the sound, the control scheme, the item variety... EVERYTHING. Best game of all time along with Chrono Trigger and Link to the Past, anyone that says otherwise simply doesn't know video games (or doesn't share my exquisite tastes) Expand
  14. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    The game is great, no doubt, but compared to other Zelda games, it flaws come to light. Generic story, medium difficulty and some boring dungeons, quests & bosses

    IMO, Majora's Mask is the best Zelda game, is all that this game isn't and much more.
  15. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    Honestly, this is the only Zelda game I've played all the way through, and while I don't consider it the best game EVAR or anything, it's definitely one of the best for the N64. The graphics are what you'd expect from the N64, but the music is great and the story is pretty good. The gameplay is fun and fairly diverse, though I always found the beginning to be a bit slow. If you neverHonestly, this is the only Zelda game I've played all the way through, and while I don't consider it the best game EVAR or anything, it's definitely one of the best for the N64. The graphics are what you'd expect from the N64, but the music is great and the story is pretty good. The gameplay is fun and fairly diverse, though I always found the beginning to be a bit slow. If you never played this classic, you owe it to yourself to do so. Expand
  16. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    This is the single best no not only game but entertainment package. Ever. In my opinion and in many others. For many many many reasons. This game invented targeting systems which has been used my many many many games since. I think it has the best and easiest to grasp and relate too stories in a game ever. Its so simple yet if you want to get into it enough you will notice that nintendoThis is the single best no not only game but entertainment package. Ever. In my opinion and in many others. For many many many reasons. This game invented targeting systems which has been used my many many many games since. I think it has the best and easiest to grasp and relate too stories in a game ever. Its so simple yet if you want to get into it enough you will notice that nintendo has given you so much depth to read about and explore in the game. IT IS AN EPIC MY FRIENDS. Expand
  17. Aug 10, 2012
    10
    Ocarina of Time is the best game ever made; I need not give the full title of this game let alone explain the ranking. Words cannot describe this game. It was the first 3D Zelda game, and it's one of the most epic games of all time. This game is old, but it never gets old. It's stood the test of time, and after 12 years this game is still the best. I have never heard anyone saying anythingOcarina of Time is the best game ever made; I need not give the full title of this game let alone explain the ranking. Words cannot describe this game. It was the first 3D Zelda game, and it's one of the most epic games of all time. This game is old, but it never gets old. It's stood the test of time, and after 12 years this game is still the best. I have never heard anyone saying anything remotely negative about this game, so I know that this is the correct ranking. This is THE golden standard of video games. This game is the reason I will never sell my Nintendo 64. Critic score is a 99? Anything less than a 100 is a sham. It's very true that there's no such thing as a perfect game, but everything in the world is completely arbitrary without an accepted standard. This game is the standard because it's the highest rated game of all time (Guinness World Records officially named it such). You have no choice but to compare this game to every other game. it is perfect in every way. It never gets boring and everything about it is just...perfect. Expand
  18. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    Nintendo has outdone themselves in this classic. The best story. It's graphics were best. The music one of the best soundtracks in any game. It's so fun. It's very addicting. And very creative. The controls were amazing!!! I love this game!!!
  19. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    Easily the BEST game i have ever played! From the beautiful world of hyrule, to the lovable characters, to the fun, and brutal dungeons, this game achieves everything with perfection. There is literally nothing bad i can say about this game. It is video games biggest achievement, has been the highest rated game since release, and anyone who disagrees is a hater, never played, or justEasily the BEST game i have ever played! From the beautiful world of hyrule, to the lovable characters, to the fun, and brutal dungeons, this game achieves everything with perfection. There is literally nothing bad i can say about this game. It is video games biggest achievement, has been the highest rated game since release, and anyone who disagrees is a hater, never played, or just crazy. Just know that OOT will always be better than your favorite game. :) Expand
  20. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    To put it simply, Nintendo have made a masterpiece and seem to do this every time they release a game; raising the bar time and time again. This game is simply breathtaking, and its graphics may be a tiny bit dated, but that's one of the main reasons why a 3DS version was released. But this doesn't matter, what matters is it's fantastic plot, epic battles and most of all it's status ofTo put it simply, Nintendo have made a masterpiece and seem to do this every time they release a game; raising the bar time and time again. This game is simply breathtaking, and its graphics may be a tiny bit dated, but that's one of the main reasons why a 3DS version was released. But this doesn't matter, what matters is it's fantastic plot, epic battles and most of all it's status of being one of the most critically acclaimed games of all time. Expand
  21. Aug 21, 2012
    9
    i am a huge zelda-fan, cause this serie is fantastic in gameplay and atmospheric music, and naturally i loved also this game that time. it was a huge step forward for videogames as "Tomb Raider" and "GTA III" were and in those days when "Ocarina of Time" was released it was with no doubt the best game. And though i am always happy to see that "Ocarina o.T." is on the first place in somei am a huge zelda-fan, cause this serie is fantastic in gameplay and atmospheric music, and naturally i loved also this game that time. it was a huge step forward for videogames as "Tomb Raider" and "GTA III" were and in those days when "Ocarina of Time" was released it was with no doubt the best game. And though i am always happy to see that "Ocarina o.T." is on the first place in some all-Time-charts, cause this serie has deserved this place, i think it's not a timeless jewel. Gameplay and everything was great, but this early 3D-graphics on Nintendo 64 and Playstation 1 feel so dated today, that i even prefer the graphics of the 16-bit era (Super Nintendo, Sega Genesis, ...). A great game, for sure! an amazing game, yes! but today the graphics destroy this experience more than in even older games. So i give just a 9 out of 10. Expand
  22. Sep 3, 2014
    10
    The legendary title in the legendary series. (ADMIT IT, IT'S NOT THE BEST ZELDA GAME EVER) But it was certainly perfect at the time of its release. 10/10 Game of 1998.
  23. Aug 23, 2012
    10
    First time I played this game was 2011. At first, I was annoyed at the cut-scenes, but then after finishing the Deku Tree, I continued to play for an additional five hours. Overall - best game I've ever payed.
  24. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    Simply brilliance. Combat is amazing, puzzles are well thought out, best video game soundtrack in my opinion (sorry Final Fantasy fans), perfect game time (not so long that it gets boring, but not too short that you wish there was more), interesting story and cool items. This is a game that just screams "Hello Childhood". 10/10 :)
  25. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    Try this game yourself People needn't review perfect games Just for the reamining characters i'll write random thigs thats enough
  26. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    This game deserves nothing less than a 10, and we all know it!!! What an epic adventure this game is. The graphics, music, gameplay were and still can be considered marvelous. Due to graphics nowadays most 64 titles are somewhat hard to really get into, but this game will be playable for years, maybe decades to come. If you haven't played through this game, do whatever is necessary to doThis game deserves nothing less than a 10, and we all know it!!! What an epic adventure this game is. The graphics, music, gameplay were and still can be considered marvelous. Due to graphics nowadays most 64 titles are somewhat hard to really get into, but this game will be playable for years, maybe decades to come. If you haven't played through this game, do whatever is necessary to do so because you will not regret it. Seriously, my life would not be the same without playing this game, except I would have the 5 hours back it took me figure out the passage under the moving platform in the water temple! Expand
  27. Oct 8, 2012
    8
    Good game, but in my opinion it doesn't surpass the other 3D Zelda games. I don't find any challenge in it, the story is cliché as hell, and there are only a couple side quests. On the other hand, there are a couple cool characters like Saria and Darunia, a Zelda that ISN'T an emotionless plot convenience, and the music isn't half bad. Too bad that so many people feel such insaneGood game, but in my opinion it doesn't surpass the other 3D Zelda games. I don't find any challenge in it, the story is cliché as hell, and there are only a couple side quests. On the other hand, there are a couple cool characters like Saria and Darunia, a Zelda that ISN'T an emotionless plot convenience, and the music isn't half bad. Too bad that so many people feel such insane nostalgia for it that they randomly hate on all the other Zelda games. If you're thinking of joining the franchise, I recommend you try out Twilight Princess before this one, because it lacks the charm that most other Zelda games have. Final Score: 8.1 Expand
  28. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    i rarely ever give out 10's to a game but ocarina of time definantly deserves it! fantastic epic story, great temples that will immerse you, wonderful soundtrack, a very climatic final boss battle, everything about this game kicks ass! suuurrreee this story is cliche but the way the story was told was unique and epic! the story about the triforce, link's upbringing, the temple of time, itsi rarely ever give out 10's to a game but ocarina of time definantly deserves it! fantastic epic story, great temples that will immerse you, wonderful soundtrack, a very climatic final boss battle, everything about this game kicks ass! suuurrreee this story is cliche but the way the story was told was unique and epic! the story about the triforce, link's upbringing, the temple of time, its all beautifully crafted! you really felt like you had to save the world also; ganondorf takes over hyrule and the lands gets taken over by monsters and troubles and threats! you really felt like you had a land to save! ganondorf was the pefect villian in this game! at the time, this was the first time i got revealed to ganondorf so his presence was new and fresh to me; he was powerful and evil and corrupt; you really felt the weight of the world on you shoulders when you finally got to fight the evil gerudo king!

    the only complaint i have about this game was that there was no explanation to ganondorf's evil motives! he was just some evil bad guy who wanted to take over the world! but really there is no explanation for every bad guy we meet in real life and we dont get a detailed description of their life soooooo, nintendo gets a pass on that! lol

    overall the story was new and fresh to me, wonderful story aspects, great characters to meet throughout your adventure, epic final boss fight, epic sub bosses, fantastic immersive temples, epic music!

    PERFECT! 10 OUT OF 10!
    Expand
  29. 4DI
    Nov 18, 2012
    9
    Probably the best the N64 had to offer. It defined itself as a franchise. Yet, it's overhyped. I had fun, and this classic is worth a play through. I would play Majora's mask over Ocarina of Time any day.
  30. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    My favourite experience of any video game! Absolutely awesome! Probably worth checking out the 3DS version. I have played this many times now, and enjoy it more, each time! Sad to see the series high point be so far back in the distance, at this time! ahhh.. memories! Nintendo.. get a NEW team that can put together a game this awesome, for the modern age.. please!!!
  31. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    I really love this game. The story is every emotional and different. The temples are not as great as Ocarina of Time but the temples don't play a major part in the whole game as they did in OoT.
  32. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    This is the best game I've ever played. Ever. It should come with a warning label that says, "Every game after this will feel like a slight disappointment." It's story is wonderful, and has plenty of undertones that add depth to a seemingly simple storyline. The game play is perfect. Puzzles are challenging but not impossible, the open world is fun to explore, and Link's arsenal ofThis is the best game I've ever played. Ever. It should come with a warning label that says, "Every game after this will feel like a slight disappointment." It's story is wonderful, and has plenty of undertones that add depth to a seemingly simple storyline. The game play is perfect. Puzzles are challenging but not impossible, the open world is fun to explore, and Link's arsenal of weapons provides a variety of playing styles.

    This is my favorite game of all time, and I feel like everyone should be given the chance to play this masterpiece.
    Expand
  33. May 14, 2013
    10
    The best game I have ever played. I have played & finished this game at least once every year since its release. It doesn't get old. It has aged beautifully and will continue to provide me with hours of entertainment in a way no other game at present can.
  34. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    Best single player game ever made, no debate. This is an amazing game. Kid link to adult link was cumtastic. Gannon is awesome. This game took over my life as a child.
  35. Dec 7, 2012
    10
    This is the best game ever!
    no other game can mess with it!
    This is the HOLY BIBLE of games!
    I have it, ORIGINAL!
    I hope Nintendo makes a movie from that game...
  36. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    This game is over all amazing. It is by far the best game i have ever played. There is never a dull moment in the game. The controls are great and temples/dudgeon are all memorable. The soundtrack is amazing, not to mention songs on the Ocarina. Truly one of the best games of all time.
  37. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    There are a lot of people who call this game overrated, but this game is truly one of the greatest games of all time, with most of the other greatest games being other Zelda games.
  38. May 1, 2014
    10
    Games can't get as good as this, and beats most of the new games. For any retro gamer, this game would be one that you will be playing again and again. A masterpiece of gaming and art.
  39. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    Just the Greatest game of all time!!! FACT THAT IT HAS GREAT STORY, GAME-PLAY, CONTROLS, SIDE-QUEST, GREAT EVERYTHING, AND THE MUSIC OH MY GOD THE FRICKING MUSIC (sorry cant cruse)
  40. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    Great Game! Deserves the top spot. So many memories with this amazing game. The dungeons are very interesting and i love how the characters have life to them. love the different items they add new technique
  41. Jan 29, 2013
    8
    This is a great game. Smooth as could be. Z targeting works like a charm, and the affect this game had upon 3D action platformers cannot be understated, but I found one flaw in the game that completely unraveled the entire experience for me; am I saving Hyrule, or just one person? There are hardly more than twenty people in Hyrule, and they don't seem changed by the events that are goingThis is a great game. Smooth as could be. Z targeting works like a charm, and the affect this game had upon 3D action platformers cannot be understated, but I found one flaw in the game that completely unraveled the entire experience for me; am I saving Hyrule, or just one person? There are hardly more than twenty people in Hyrule, and they don't seem changed by the events that are going on. If I don't know who I;m meant to be saving, then I often can't be bothered. Fantastic game in every other aspect. Expand
  42. Feb 12, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best video games that ever existed, it is memorable, fun, addicting, and challenging, no matter if you played a video game before or a hardcore Zelda fan give this game a try.
  43. Feb 13, 2013
    10
    Greatest game of all time, hands down. Nothing else to say other than that any negative reviews are simply from people who can't stand a game to be so legendary.
  44. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    Ocarina of Time, the only game I could think of for my first review on Metacritic. Ever since I first got into this game as a kid I was fascinated by the world, exploring everywhere not knowing where I was going or what to do. Despite this I was captured by the deepness the game had to offer by the expensive world alone...and I wouldn't even get into the story until almost a decade later.Ocarina of Time, the only game I could think of for my first review on Metacritic. Ever since I first got into this game as a kid I was fascinated by the world, exploring everywhere not knowing where I was going or what to do. Despite this I was captured by the deepness the game had to offer by the expensive world alone...and I wouldn't even get into the story until almost a decade later. The game kept me busy, finding new places with seemingly no end in sight. I would often think the game had literally no end to it. After multiple times renting the game I would finally get a copy for my own eagerly on the Wii, wanting to experience the fullness of a game that I had adored....and I sure wasn't alone in that regard. What I had come to expect was beyond my expectations. I had already played Twilight Princess and that was already a classic to me, but Ocarina of Time went even further than that game could even achieve. The story is simple but well done. The gameplay is as good as it gets, with epic boss battles, clever and balanced puzzles, and an excellent level of challenge that is still unmatched by any game I've played thus far. The atmosphere this world gives is beyond words I could even put down. You want to save Zelda and defeat Ganondorf, and save Hyrule for all the characters you have met along the way and yourself as well. Items are endlessly interesting to discover and you would be surprised to find so many hidden places in one game. Its mind boggling. There are no places to get stuck at without clear and open thinking and exploration. The game doesn't drag on either as you are constantly surprised and interested to see what happens next. To date this is the only game I have ever spent 10 hours playing without stopping. I would never do that again, but that shows how addictive the game is. People say a game is never perfect. Well if this game isn't, it sure comes pretty darn close. I have yet to play a Link to the Past, but I truly do believe that if their is any game that can be called the greatest game ever made, this is one of those games that deserves it. Thank you Nintendo for all the memories and keep going strong. Expand
  45. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    This game has awesome graphics, amazing music, cool little secrets, tons of random areas to explore, perfect controls, silly dialogue, fun puzzles and very unique dungeons. It's definitely a perfect game, and anyone who says otherwise doesn't know true gaming.
  46. Dec 16, 2013
    10
    Best Zelda game ever made that introduced the 3D world and several items that would be part of the further games. If you are a Zelda fan it is a mandatory game to have in your collection.
  47. May 20, 2014
    9
    It came late at the en of 1998 but the game showed modeling superiority over metal gear solid and many other games that came out that year. The graphic detail were amazing; artistic but not the best compare to Banjo Kazooie and sill manages to get a perfect score on graphics. The unique targeting system inspire many games on to the future, using it to attack was oth innovative and uniqueIt came late at the en of 1998 but the game showed modeling superiority over metal gear solid and many other games that came out that year. The graphic detail were amazing; artistic but not the best compare to Banjo Kazooie and sill manages to get a perfect score on graphics. The unique targeting system inspire many games on to the future, using it to attack was oth innovative and unique creating tension to the difficult enemies. The camera showed improvements of viewing the setting of the game but it lack in some places of the game to show the very feet of LINK making it difficult to fight when you are on the edge of a rock, etc. But I both criticize the climbing to be bad to prevent a hit from an obstacle or enemy but also like it from showing the A button to climb a very innovative game indeed. Plus the 60 hour long game makes you forgive th game from not speaking it's a great adventure recommended for children tha like puzzles and swords I GAVE IT GAME OF THE YEAR= 9.255 by a close call to METAL GEAR 9.254. Expand
  48. May 12, 2013
    10
    I don't need to say much. You've heard about this game and its now legendary place in gamers' hearts. Nothing has ever come close to the magic I felt playing this at 10 years old. Everything about this game is rolled into a perfect burrito. Indeed, no game has come as close to perfection in every way as this one.
  49. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    This is the best game i have ever played, the game got lot of replayability and it will always be just as amazing as the last time you played it, the few bugs here and there are not game breaking and mostly used by speedrunners.
    For a game on the very limited N64 it is extremely beautiful and huge, the atmosphere and story is very gripping and even a young kid can, as in many other
    This is the best game i have ever played, the game got lot of replayability and it will always be just as amazing as the last time you played it, the few bugs here and there are not game breaking and mostly used by speedrunners.
    For a game on the very limited N64 it is extremely beautiful and huge, the atmosphere and story is very gripping and even a young kid can, as in many other Nintendo games, play this while still feeling the magic of everything even without perfect understanding of the story.
    Expand
  50. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    What can I say? The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is a phenomenal game and a great example of what the Nintendo 64 can really do when put to the test. In terms of Zelda games and Nintendo games, it honestly doesn't get much better than this, and for that reason, OoT is still played even today- whether on the GameCube version, or its original outing on the N64. It's definitely up thereWhat can I say? The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is a phenomenal game and a great example of what the Nintendo 64 can really do when put to the test. In terms of Zelda games and Nintendo games, it honestly doesn't get much better than this, and for that reason, OoT is still played even today- whether on the GameCube version, or its original outing on the N64. It's definitely up there with my other favorite games on N64, such as Turok 2: Seeds of Evil, except OoT is sitting on the throne, lording over the rest. Expand
  51. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is and will always be my favorite game of all time just everything about the game is perfect the bosses, the music, the story, the characters, and the gameplay.
  52. May 3, 2013
    10
    A game that is played by kids and adults alike, Ocarina of Time is a timeless classic. Every aspect of it from gameplay to the soundtrack is spectacular. If you want an amazing story with sides of challenging puzzles, then look no further...although not for the faint of mind *coughs* Water Temple.
  53. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    Really, this is one of the games I grew up with. Just seeing the title screen makes me feel better again. All these negative reviews are just people who think they are cool or something downing this game. When really, they probably love it just as much as we do. Plain and simple this game is perfect.
  54. May 22, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time, if not THE greatest. This was the game that broke down boundaries for gamers and for the first time really showed what a game can represent to people. You can speak to any gamer in the world and they all have their own personal Ocarina of Time moment.
  55. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    This is an incredible game, you can play for hours and hours and don't get bored because all the elements are really great: the history, the levels, the characters...everything is marvelous. Undoubtedly one of the best video games ever, and one of my favorites.
  56. May 10, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time that has aged to become an instant classic it was amazing back then and its still amazing now this is a game you can not miss if you call your self a gamer
  57. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    This is the best game ever created. Games today although graphically superior still all pale in comparison to how high this one set the bar at the time. Shame on you for giving it a 0/10. I'm sorry that you deprived yourself of this once in a lifetime experience, or never got to experience it, but don't rage against it for such a stupid reason.
  58. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    video game industry described it the best game ever and it was the game of the year. It was his big world, the amazing graphics in that year, the gameplay, the history and the duration it created a game model that companies still use. sry my bad english but if you still doubt my words, prove it 10/10
  59. May 24, 2013
    10
    This game is an absolute classic that everyone needs to play. It really is as good as they say. Definitely one of the best games of all time. If you haven't played this game then you need to do so.
  60. Jun 1, 2013
    10
    I remember the good old days of n64, sitting all day on my family room playing n64, this game is quite possibly the first game I ever played, I simply love this game, the story is great, great dungeon design, and the satisfaction of solving one of the many challenging puzzles, he soundtrack is beyond perfect, I still remember the melodies, this game is without a doubt the best game of allI remember the good old days of n64, sitting all day on my family room playing n64, this game is quite possibly the first game I ever played, I simply love this game, the story is great, great dungeon design, and the satisfaction of solving one of the many challenging puzzles, he soundtrack is beyond perfect, I still remember the melodies, this game is without a doubt the best game of all time, I still play this game on my still functional n64 and it brings so much nostalgia, I can not explain how much I love this game! Expand
  61. Dec 15, 2014
    10
    Hablemos un poco de Mario 64... Como juego se ha convertido en un estandar y su historia, niveles y retos lo han vuelto sin duda en un juego inmortal... Ahora, que hacemos si colocamos todo esto en juego por segunda vez, pero en uno de Zelda? Sale el mejor juego de la historia.
  62. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    My Favorite Game of All Time, The Legend of Zelda: OoT was my introduction to the series, and since have completed it numerous times and found it to be the all around perfection of Adventure gaming for all Ages.

    But to explain why this means so much, I have to explain the situation the time of this games release, I'm currently 21, I was born back in 1992, and the N64 and PlayStation
    My Favorite Game of All Time, The Legend of Zelda: OoT was my introduction to the series, and since have completed it numerous times and found it to be the all around perfection of Adventure gaming for all Ages.

    But to explain why this means so much, I have to explain the situation the time of this games release, I'm currently 21, I was born back in 1992, and the N64 and PlayStation where dominating the market, both having their own stellar titles and being a kid of 6 years old at the time of the game's 1998 release censorship was always unheard of in my family. I was sneaking around a large Military base in my favourite series "Metal Gear Solid" and capping zombies left, right and center in "Resident Evil 2", whilst happily stopping Gruntilda in "Banjo Kazooie" and getting lost in paintings in the superb "Super Mario 64".

    As soon as you load up this Game, The Introduction will NEVER leave your memory, Koji Kondo's Introductory music will attach itself to your brain and along with the cinematic of a young adult riding his horse through the vast Hyrule field sums up everything you need to know that this is going to be quite the Adventure.

    The story involves a young boy living in the woods with other equally aged kids, who is summoned by the forest deity "The Great Deku Tree" who sends the boy named "Link" and his new Companion "Navi" the fairy on a Journey to save the Land of Hyrule and it's Princess "Zelda" from the Evil tyrant "Ganondorf".

    And from there on an Epic tale that spans several years begins, interacting with the many citizens and species of the lands, revisiting them years later to see how their domains have stood the test of time, and of course dungeons and puzzles all expertly crafted around fantastic tools you'll discover and ultimately need to take down some of gaming's most memorable foes.

    Again just writing this down you KNOW this game is Legend, obviously take note that I had not played the superb games in the series beforehand, and this was my introduction to superbly crafted 3-D gaming space suddenly do you realize just how much Ocarina of Time, has raised the bar, set the standard and still to this day is the pinnacle of Adventure Gaming.

    I have to say that I never really had problems with the controls (I heard many people found them clustered), I will admit, I tend to rate things on how well they will stand the test of time, On an unrelated topic "Raiders of the Lost Ark" is my favourite movie as I've seen it countless times and never tire or find boredom in any part of it's running time, that's also this game, not once do I have any bitterness towards any part, I guess on repeated playthroughs did I realize that I couldn't wait to play the 2nd Act of this game where the abundance of development really soaks in.

    Receiving more Items, Learning Ocarina melodies, Dungeon and Cave exploration (I really find myself wanting to play it again right now). It remains just as relevant now as it did 15 years ago...

    Final Verdict: I better end here because in all honesty I could go on forever, it needs to be played to be believed, and I hope anyone reading this "got" how much this game means the way I felt about it years ago and even today. Play it! see the epitome of the Zelda series in all it's glory, many a port exists 10/10. I'm gonna go listen to some Koji Kondo!
    Expand
  63. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    One of the all time greatest games and in my eyes the best Zelda game. Awesome boss fights and a great adventure. I have beaten the game multiple times but I have never gotten bored of it.
  64. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    Ocarina of time is easily one of the greatest games ever made. The pacing is perfect, the dungeons are phenominal and the bosses are fantastic. 10/10 no doubt about it
  65. Jun 26, 2013
    8
    This is a very enjoyable game, don't get me wrong. However, I feel that the Soundtrack is very lacking. Also, this game feels like a "guide game" where it is almost impossible to find out what to do next.

    Still a very enjoyable game.
  66. Sep 9, 2014
    10
    The game that really deserves "Best game ever" title, I got this when I was 13, it was such an awesome game, my best friend and I played it non-stop the entire weekend. I have never enjoyed a game at the same level since.
  67. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    Though this game is already 15 years old, it shall always be considered the greatest game ever created. There are those who say this game is boring, bland, and generic, but you must take into account that in its time this game was the newest, most innovative game ever made, It was the first to set the bar for all similar games to come. Those who say that this game's story line is generic,Though this game is already 15 years old, it shall always be considered the greatest game ever created. There are those who say this game is boring, bland, and generic, but you must take into account that in its time this game was the newest, most innovative game ever made, It was the first to set the bar for all similar games to come. Those who say that this game's story line is generic, forget that it was one of the first to have such a story. Furthermore the real truth of this game doesn't come out right away, you are just in the middle of playing the game when you realize that this is simply the best game you had ever played. Expand
  68. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    To anyone who has written a negative review of this game. First, congratulations. Second, back it up. It's perfectly okay to say that you think this is the "most boring game ever made." But that doesn't really justify your review of why the game sucks so so much. Back it up buddy.

    Anyhow, I first played this game when I was about 11 or 12 (back when it was released). Quite frankly,
    To anyone who has written a negative review of this game. First, congratulations. Second, back it up. It's perfectly okay to say that you think this is the "most boring game ever made." But that doesn't really justify your review of why the game sucks so so much. Back it up buddy.

    Anyhow, I first played this game when I was about 11 or 12 (back when it was released). Quite frankly, whenever I played a game i usually never finished it. I just didn't give a poop. Nothing ever grabbed me. And well guess what. This game did. For some odd reason, I really cared about the fate of Hyrule, and whether or not Link was gonna be okay fighting all these bad guys. Man I tore into this game. It sucked me right in. I've replayed it a dozen times since.

    I'm not a gamer by any stretch, nor do I even really care that much about video games. Certainly not Zelda. But this game really is an anomaly. It turns casual gamers into hard-core players, for all of 40 plus hours. It did for me anyhow.

    If you find yourself, BORED in the game, take a look at if you get bored during other things, and maybe evaluate if it's actually the game that's boring or if it's just your attention span and imagination being very poor. If you don't have the capacity for make believe maybe video games, movies, or books aren't for you. This game is like reading a REALLY good long book. It takes a bit of an investment to complete it. I was 11 when i first beat it, and believe me, I have "finished" or beaten very few things at that age. I'm 26 years old now, and i still remember my first time playing this thing. If it could capture my wimpy 11 year old mind and hold its attention long enough for me to complete the game, then this game deserves the highest rating available.
    Expand
  69. egg
    Aug 5, 2014
    9
    Brilliant game. Incredible story. Excellent game play. Defining. Not the best game ever. Not the best Zelda game. Definitely recommend, however it's not as good as everyone says. 9/10 purely because it's overhyped, and other Zelda games are better (Link's Awakening, A Link to the Past, A Link Between Worlds, Majora's Mask). Definitely great and better than 99% of all games out there.
  70. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    If you watch the negative scores... it's only haters and people who never played the game... some even say Bad graphics... it was 1998 ffs and some say no story... lol, just lol, play the game before doing the review.
    I love this game for the simple fact that it makes you get in front of your tv and makes you want not to stop playing it. It's so good. my favourite game ever
  71. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    Ocarina of Time is a masterpiece. This game marked the videogame history, there is an era before and after-ocarina of time, and it's because many games have tried to use many of its elements, like the open world, items, etcetera.
    This game is flawless, if you have not played it, you are not a gamer.
    Graphics: 10/10
    Gameplay 10/10
    Presentation: 10/10
    Sound: 10/10
  72. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    There's a reason why this game is a perfect 10. The graphics for its time were superb, the storyline is great, the gameplay is unbelievably awesome and the soundtrack is the best I've ever heard. That's why it's considered the best game of all time, because besides from being a great game, it's an awesome experience in general. An experience that you will never forget and, since the gameThere's a reason why this game is a perfect 10. The graphics for its time were superb, the storyline is great, the gameplay is unbelievably awesome and the soundtrack is the best I've ever heard. That's why it's considered the best game of all time, because besides from being a great game, it's an awesome experience in general. An experience that you will never forget and, since the game has aged really well, will entertain people for years to come. Expand
  73. Aug 13, 2013
    9
    The game is one or maybe is the best game ever made... It had the best graphics of its time and it has a great story to play it provides you a small sandbox where you can buy stuff for your dungeons you some gear and stuff it is the born of rpg game types and its action rpg game. The only thing that might get you to think it is a bad game would be its childish environment. It was a gameThe game is one or maybe is the best game ever made... It had the best graphics of its time and it has a great story to play it provides you a small sandbox where you can buy stuff for your dungeons you some gear and stuff it is the born of rpg game types and its action rpg game. The only thing that might get you to think it is a bad game would be its childish environment. It was a game targeted to kids between 6-13 and It reach others 2 thats the only reason i don't give the game 1 more point. Still the best game I ever played tough. Expand
  74. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    Easily a gaming masterpiece and is one of humans greatest technology innovations. Flawless gameplay, story and soundtrack with a incredible feeling through the whole entire game. If you want your kid to experience an excellent example of gaming or anyone for that matter, show them this game.
  75. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    Please believe me when i say, everyone who rated this game bad, is a troll. This game is the most widely regarded 'best video game ever made'. Play it.
  76. Mar 2, 2017
    10
    Truly one of the greatest games of ALL TIME! HANDS DOWN!!! Great Story! Fantastic and Revolutionary Gameplay! Beautiful and Iconic Music! What hasn't been said about this game being a true masterpiece!
  77. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    played this game a lot when was younger... just got an emulator to play it again... I still love it... people need to remember that this game was created in 1998, not 2014. We have come a huge way since then in graphics. The game it self is still one of my top favorites and I think will be the only game with a perfect score. those that voted with a "0" ether didn't play the game allplayed this game a lot when was younger... just got an emulator to play it again... I still love it... people need to remember that this game was created in 1998, not 2014. We have come a huge way since then in graphics. The game it self is still one of my top favorites and I think will be the only game with a perfect score. those that voted with a "0" ether didn't play the game all the way or are just hating on Zelda in general. I bet I bet if there is a remake, It will be the best game of all time Expand
  78. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    The best game of all time for obvious reasons you can read it from a real reviewer. just wanted to give it my 10, so i have to give 150 charecters i will say this game is where real 3D graphic deep story telling hit the mainstream, then we get the timetravel the boss fights all for its time at the very pinnacle of excellence
  79. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest of all time, nearly perfect in every way: graphics, sound, story and gameplay. It still retains its value years later with every replay.
  80. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    In my opinion the best game I've ever played. It has a charming plot and characters, an awesome soundtrack, very good graphics for its age.. but above all, that atmosphere that kept you inside the game for hours and hours. While playing it you have that sensation of majesty and solemnity, not easy to explain. If one game must have the title of "masterpiece" I'd choose The Legend of Zelda:In my opinion the best game I've ever played. It has a charming plot and characters, an awesome soundtrack, very good graphics for its age.. but above all, that atmosphere that kept you inside the game for hours and hours. While playing it you have that sensation of majesty and solemnity, not easy to explain. If one game must have the title of "masterpiece" I'd choose The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, without a doubt. Expand
  81. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    It's a good game, but definitely not the "Best game of all time" The story is okay, the characters are okay. Hyrule Field is basically empty. The only think makes up for those bad-okay things are the dungeons, Z-Targeting, Epona, and some of the mini games. Everything else isn't that great. But It's still a great as a Zelda game and an okay game as any game in general.
  82. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    A masterpiece. The BEST game on the N64 and maybe the best game on a system. If anyone ever tells you why do you like N64 more than PS1, just say "Ocarina of Time"
  83. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is a true masterpiece, and a shiny example what Nintendo can actually do (especially nintendo of japan).
    This game is without a doubt the most in depth masterpiece ive ever had the luxury to play, from start to the end its got it all, emotion, playability, storyline, atmosphere, danger, its just taking the biscuit and shoving it right in its gob of the
    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is a true masterpiece, and a shiny example what Nintendo can actually do (especially nintendo of japan).
    This game is without a doubt the most in depth masterpiece ive ever had the luxury to play, from start to the end its got it all, emotion, playability, storyline, atmosphere, danger, its just taking the biscuit and shoving it right in its gob of the n64s power. The game is immense, atmospheric, dangerous, vast. Its such a quest sometimes you are that involved in it you would be forgiven to think your actually there. The climb up the volcano is epic in its own right and thats just the beginning. The graveyard is scary. Get to ride horseback and also see your character grow. The game is incredible and if you own an n64 get it!
    Expand
  84. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    soundtrack, graphics, playability, story, characters, originality all 100. I don't know whay GTA IV is the first position on the list of best rated games if zelda is 99 and gta IV is 98.
  85. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    I think it's funny that you have Zelda haters writing reviews based on their personal feelings towards the game, as opposed to how the game play actually was for them. Ocarina of Time was one of the single greatest games ever created. It set a precedence for future games. The graphics were unrivaled at the time, the game actually took real skill to beat it at times. In other words, itI think it's funny that you have Zelda haters writing reviews based on their personal feelings towards the game, as opposed to how the game play actually was for them. Ocarina of Time was one of the single greatest games ever created. It set a precedence for future games. The graphics were unrivaled at the time, the game actually took real skill to beat it at times. In other words, it wasn't something that you would pick up, beat in an hour, and never look at again. I can still pick this game up, and still play through it while enjoying every single second of it. Expand
  86. Apr 18, 2014
    10
    If you're going to say something like 'this game has not aged well', then just don't. This is the original N64 version released back in 1998, it wouldn't have aged at all. Its story and gameplay, while simple by today's standards, was the best of the best back in its day. Remember that not many games back then had such a grand story, not to mention complex gameplay.
  87. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    aahhh my child hood, brings back memories. this game may not be impressive in terms of today but back then it was a masterpiece and took gaming to whole other level
  88. Sep 18, 2013
    8
    This is good, but not the "Best game of all time". It has problems. They could have made the overworld have more secrets, and I don't the Stone of Agony (I think that's how you spell it) should have been in the game. To me it ruins the feeling of finding a secret. Also, they way you get the item I just mentioned is tedious. You have to kill spider creatures, and once you kill them aThis is good, but not the "Best game of all time". It has problems. They could have made the overworld have more secrets, and I don't the Stone of Agony (I think that's how you spell it) should have been in the game. To me it ruins the feeling of finding a secret. Also, they way you get the item I just mentioned is tedious. You have to kill spider creatures, and once you kill them a yellowish token will appear, you have to collect a bunch of them and give it to a cursed family. They'll give you rewards for breaking the curse. The item I mentioned is one of the rewards. If those things were magically fixed, then I would have given this a 9/10. Expand
  89. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    That's probably the best game of my childhood. Sometime I wish that i could erase my memory to play this game like I played it the first time. So this game is a 10 out of 10!
  90. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    one of the best games of all time
    ignore the reviews by the trolls (ie all the ones in the red)
    without any doubt in my mind, this was my favorite game growing up, and it wasnt until i was around the age of 13 that i actually finished it. i popped it in recently, and it STILL lives up to its reputation, Graphics dont make a good game, sure Majoras Mask looks better, but without focusing
    one of the best games of all time
    ignore the reviews by the trolls (ie all the ones in the red)
    without any doubt in my mind, this was my favorite game growing up, and it wasnt until i was around the age of 13 that i actually finished it.
    i popped it in recently, and it STILL lives up to its reputation, Graphics dont make a good game, sure Majoras Mask looks better, but without focusing on side quests, OOT is much longer and gives you more playtime and replay value.
    a total of 10 dungeons, Memorable bosses and plot points.
    EVEN without the Promised Ura Zelda Addon (that WAS said to have been finished by miyamoto on autust 25th on a tvshow back in 2000, but added no plans to release it) this game is pretty solid on its one.
    Expand
  91. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    the best game of zelda¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡
  92. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    this game is 90! and still has one of the best stories of all action rpg. was the only reason to buy a nintendo 64 in those years. is the best game :O
  93. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    If you can see how beautiful this game is, it's because you know about amazing and gorgeous histories, this is one of the best games ever created and i think it is one of the best Zelda games ever
  94. Sep 23, 2013
    10
    I wouldn't change a thing about this game. Lots of content, great art style, great controls, great gameplay, great characters, great story and possibly the best soundtrack of any game. We're now 15 years after this games release and most games coming out still aren't able to candle to this classic. Also, given the nature of the game, it can be enjoyed by a really wide audience.

    It may
    I wouldn't change a thing about this game. Lots of content, great art style, great controls, great gameplay, great characters, great story and possibly the best soundtrack of any game. We're now 15 years after this games release and most games coming out still aren't able to candle to this classic. Also, given the nature of the game, it can be enjoyed by a really wide audience.

    It may be difficult for new players to try this game out with an open mind given that this games ratings and hype are probably above that of your favorites. Still, if you are really able to overcome this first hurdle, you may very well be in store for one of the most amazing experiences a video game has ever offered you.
    Expand
  95. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    It's incredible how Nintendo could do such an amazing game with just 25MB and another game developers couldn't do better with 15 GB
    This is the best game ever made...by far
  96. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well... I've just finished Ocarina of Time (100% I might add) for the first time ever. It's a great game! However, there are a few flaws. Thankfully, those flaws don't mean you shouldn't pick the game up right now and play it! First of all, the shops. They serve absolutely no purpose. I have gotten through the whole game without ever buying anything unnecessary from the shops. I did need healing and magic, though, but you always have a fairy ready somewhere to trap in a jar, so that's the only heal you'll ever need. And you're always full on magic, except the last battle, so there's no use for the magic potions. As for the cold fire, spiders and fish, you get those too! I got a giant's wallet pretty early, but I was always full on rupees. I think I wasted about 4 times the rupees I actually got by just taking them while my wallet was full. Speaking of rupees, that renders the reward for the biggest collectathon ever absolutely useless! Like getting 99 lives in Mario 64. It was satisfying finding all the spiders. As for the last battle, it's disappointing, to say the least. You HAVE TO HAVE the magic upgrade, and you can't waste any magic on missing, or testing. If you run out of magic, you have to either reset or kill yourself, wasting all the fairies you saved for the battle. Ganon was ok, I guess. I only felt the need to use a bombchu once in the entire game, which was stupid considering how much attention is given to those things. Also, Navi and Kepora Gebora. Those are truly the only problems in the entire game. It was a visceral experience from start to finish. I loved the music, the battle system, the items, the characters, the weapons, the quests, everything. I especially loved how you can't miss ANYTHING! You can get absolutely everything, anytime you want! (Except after the final battle, but you don't need it then anyway). I loved playing the ocarina freestyle, so the scarecrow song was a really cool thing. The ending kinda made me sad. All those people you helped, met, loved, like they never knew you in the first place. Still, every Ocarina song will stay in my heart, I will never forget any of the beautiful melodies I was taught. Thank you Shigeru Miyamoto. For reference, I'm 16 and this was my first encounter with the game. Please play it. Expand
  97. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    The legend of Zelda is a beautiful game, good graphics for the time, excellent story, good bosses, a plot magnifies definitely one of the best Zelda games and the world of the story.
  98. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    Its one my 3 favorite games of all time! The difficult its perfect, the history is perfect, the design is perfect, all is perfect! I love this game! :D
  99. LHy
    Sep 28, 2013
    10
    This game is personally the best game I have ever played, In my opinion though, the price is too low! the game deserves a way more higher pricing due to its absolute chaos, in a good way. Loved this game and always will.
  100. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    I can belive that some people don't like Zelda games,
    for example i don't like Gta games, but I recognize that in the genre are unbeatable. For this people that rate this game 0 or 1 or 5 are very childish.. because this game, in is genre, is perfect.
    For me, this is the best game of all times, i pleyed this game over 10 times, on N65, Gamecube and 3ds. Of course is a 10/10

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed N64 Game of 1998
1
#1 Most Shared N64 Game of 1998
Metascore
99

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Mar 24, 2016
    94
    The player will be drawn into the Zelda fantasy world from the moment the opening sequence bursts onto the screen, and the game won't let go-not even after finishing the quest.
  2. Happy Puppy
    Mar 24, 2016
    90
    Realism is one of the major reasons this title is so amazing. After playing for a while it feels as though you have actually been to Hyrule.
  3. Mar 24, 2016
    95
    Featuring unparalleled 3D environments, a deep and involved quest, brilliant and intuitive play controls, and a well-developed cinematic quality that enhances rather than overwhelms the whole game experience, Miyamoto's latest soon-to-be-classic title deserves to be played by each and every person who might deign to consider themselves a fan of great games.