User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 1992 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    i would deffinitly call this the best in the zelda franchise and ive played just about all of them . its very long around 40-60 hours depending on what you all do and how fast you solve the puzzles which are very well done . every thing about this game was done remarkably well minus the story which is very simple and has little draw and is basically the same plot in every zelda game ... find and save zelda from gannon or some form of his. that aside zelda was never built on its story but its clever puzzles and intresting gameplay . if you are just getting into zelda you should deffinitly go back and check out this one . it deserves the high marks it gets .also it has one of the best final boss fights in the franchise . Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    I don't have word for this game. Maybe... Perfect? Epic? Unstoppable? Unbeatable? Irresistible? Sensational......? The songs, bgs, sfx, graphifcs, characters, history, all of this game is incridlebe. 11/10
  3. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    It's Super Mario 64 mixed with Lord of the Rings epicness. The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is a damn fine game to play any time at all. Who doesn't love Link time-travelling between the present and the future using the Temple of Time as the portal?

    When I first played this I was overwhelmed by how epic it was. They just don't make video games like this anymore, except for the
    recent Zelda games. Expand
  4. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Call us crazy, but when the final version of Zelda 64 arrived in the IGN64 offices, we stopped working, locked ourselves into a room with a big-screen TV and a surround system and played 17 hours straight. After only a few hours of sleep, we were back for more and we couldn't stop until we finished the game. Then, we started over again to find all the secrets. Expand
  5. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    Ocarina of Time. The title name alone is a legend among the gaming world. Ocarina of Time is the second Zelda game I ever played, Oracle of Seasons the first. A game that received more praise, offers and nominations as the greatest game of all time, OoT, to me, this is the SECOND greatest Zelda game, first being Windwaker but it is still a fantastic game and has more creativity than most games we get now, 13 years later. Gameplay is solid to the bone and set a tradition into its future successors, the story is epic as hell and the replay value is unprecedentedly legendary. If you love games, this is an essential play. You can't call yourself a gamer until you played this. Expand
  6. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    Apart from getting lost all the time, I enjoyed the action, story and adventure in this game. It's aged well and is just the right length of time to not start dragging. I can still see why it became a classic even if it's not one of mine.
  7. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    I played this game 13 years after its release and I can say that it definitely deserves a perfect score. Everthing comes together so well the game is very long, has an awesome world with a variety of settings, great puzzles, has a very epic story and ending and one thing that stood out for me is that the game is very rewarding, if one takes ones time exploring, collecting and doing side missions one will get stronger and acquire things that simply make the game easier and by the end fight you will actually feel powerful after those many hours spent preparing.One of the best games i have ever played.10/10. Expand
  8. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    "The Legend of Zelda - Ocarina of Time" is probably the best Zelda, if not (one of) the best game(s) of all time. This game has everything an Action Adventure fan can ask for: Excellent gameplay, great music and even though the graphics are not up-to-date, the style fits the game. The level-design is great and the story is good too. The puzzles are never too difficult nor too easy and the whole world contains many secrets. The only negative point is the framerate, but after all, this game is over 10 years old. And the framerate is a barely an issue at all. "The Legend of Zelda - Ocarina of Time" is a game where you never get bored, no matter how many times you play it and if there's one game that can be called "perfect", it's this one. If your still haven't played this masterpiece, you can either download it for the Virtual Console or wait for the 3DS version with a better graphics. Expand
  9. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    greatest game in history. Funny the haters that just don't get it. Probably just stupid kids. I played this game for hours and hours, and felt more absorbed by its world than by any other game.
  10. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    An amazing game for the N64. I am having trouble understanding all of the negative reviews. But (if they could think straight) the authors of the negatives would see that know one gives a crap about their reviews and 1 in 50 agree with them. I first played this game at my friends house and played it a little too long (judging by my bloodshot eyes and red face). After that, I purchased the GameCube remake and had just as much fun. Expand
  11. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    Anyone who gives the masterpiece below a 7 or an 8 is either just here to hate on the astounding zelda franchise, doesn't know a DAMN good game or is insane. The dungeons are interesting and unique, the characters are interesting and have personality, the story is highly engaging, the combat is varied, fluid, and fun, the items are amazing, there are a plethora of interesting side quests and collectibles, and considering the fact that this game was made in 1998 the graphics are amazing. The only real downside is that the game is somewhat linear and you can't continue on after beating the final boss, but that doesn't detract from the huge amount of fun I had playing this game. This has to be one of if not the best games ever made just as the others have said. Expand
  12. Dec 28, 2010
    10
    This is the best fking game in existence. It is right up there with the original Super Mario Bros. Classics like this and compelling and such enriched stories like this don't come often. Regardless of age, this game will wisk you into the zelda world and have you fulfilling Link's task as if it were you own. it's a chef d'oeuvre and an exemplary title of what any game should aspire to be. This is the highest rated game in Metacritic and deserves it. There are moments when you will cry out of sadness or joy, this is truly a magnificent masterpiece and Nintendo's most cherished game. Expand
  13. Aug 18, 2011
    10
    The ultimate and definitive Zelda. Everything that Majora's Mask, The Wind Waker, and (especially) Twilight Princess are, they owe to Ocarina of Time.
  14. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    Probably the best game in the series (and probably best game ever ). Why? Fun, Easy to learn controls, Good story, Not to long - not to short, Amazing replay value. this game is simply a masterpiece! can't wait for the 3DS remake.
  15. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    This is, without a doubt, the best game ever created. Even to this day, years after it was made, I still love the game. If you haven't played the game, and own a Wii, pick it up on the virtual console, it is well worth the $10 they are charging for it.
  16. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm usually against overrated games, but this game is deservedly so. The game starts out like a cheesy kids' game, and seems innocent enough. Then, a third of the way through, link gets imprisoned in a deep sleep for 7 years. The awakening is one of the most powerful things I've experienced in a game. You leave the building you slept in, and you immediately notice a darker tone to the area than when you entered. A red ring hovers over a previously dormant volcano ominously, signifying its turning active. The castle town, once thriving and bustling, now has its buildings charred and undead (the enemy's name is called redead) walk the streets. The castle itself, once peaceful, is replaced by a dark and sinister tower hovering over a pool of lava.
    There are many more reasons why everyone should play this game obviously, but that is my favorite moment in the game, and even the series. The other games are great too, but they don't quite live up to this.
    Expand
  17. Dec 15, 2010
    10
    OK.Ocarina of Time is a amazing game, but is not the best game ever.It was the best game until the release of Super Mario Galaxy 1 and 2.Ocarina of Time got really good graphics(better than Super Mario 64's graphics), great music and incredible gameplay.People who give an 0, 1, 2,3 or 4 maybe didn't played it enough to find out the coolness of the game.The 3D gameplay is really impressive, just like the Mario franchise was turned from 2D to 3D it became amazing, the same to Ocarina of Time.Maybe if I could made this review in 2007 before Mario Galaxy I could say is the best game ever, but I can't........Still this game got a perfect 10! Expand
  18. Dec 17, 2010
    10
    Not only was Ocarina of Time a great game, but it was much more. It was the cornerstone of the game industry's transition to 3D, and proof of concept that a franchise could make that quantum leap. Others had tried and failed, and the results ranged from mediocre to horrid (the older 3D Castlevania titles certainly come to mind, or Superman 64... and those are just the first two that I thought of.) The gameplay was flawless and the graphics were a marvel for their time and the constraints of the Nintendo 64. It's not just the game itself, it's what it did for the industry and for console gaming in general. Add in a plot that remains the best of any Zelda game and you have an instant classic that remains a legend today. This isn't just nostalgia speaking - I just finished what was about my 20th replay. It's still just as good now as it was twelve years ago. If that's not the mark of a truly amazing game, I don't know what is. It's a shame I can't give this game an 11, because it is the one game that truly deserves one. Expand
  19. Jun 5, 2012
    9
    I was recently spoiled by the 3DS port of this legendary game, and while I recommend the 3DS version over the N64 version do to the 3DS version having more content, better controls, and updated graphics, this game is fantastic no matter which system you play it on. A fantastic story, near perfect controls, what may be the greatest soundtrack of all time, gorgeous graphics (for the time), fun and challenging gameplay, and a lot of content are all what this game has. This game, particularly this port of the game, has withstood the test of time, and is without a doubt one of the greatest games of all time that is completely deserving of every ounce of praise it has received. A must play. Expand
  20. Dec 3, 2012
    9
    Ocarina of Time is one of the most influential games of all time. Back in 1998 it was undoubtedly the best game ever made. Now things have evolved beyond recognition. Is Ocarina of Time still the best game ever? I don't think so. Not with titles like Red Dead Redemption and Journey available. But it would still make my top twenty best. And it still is and forever will be the most memorable game of all time. Nothing has ever come close to blowing me away quite the way Ocarina of Time did when I first played through it as a kid. Expand
  21. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    ...And yet there's negative reviews. (I laugh hysterically for three quarters of an hour) A ten from me requires a lot of work, but why should I give it a nine or below? OK, Link moves a bit too slow, it's never really clear what to do and the first dungeon is boring but as much as I wanted to give it a lower score for that, I just couldn't. It's such a fun game and it really gets you thinking. If you don't smile as you're playing this, you're dead insane. Expand
  22. Jan 8, 2011
    10
    Greatest game in history. The entire Legend of Zelda series has an incredible storyline and every character had it's own unique personality that made them instantly recognisable and very easily loved or hated, including the silent hero Link, the annoying yet lovable Navi, the temperamental and enigmatic Happy Mask Salesman; the list could go on. At the time of the game's release, nothing could compare to the experience this game gave you - it encapsulated you. Despite having only a linear single player, many people return again and again to play through the game, and that is a testament to it's greatness. Expand
  23. Jan 12, 2011
    10
    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is without a doubt one of the greatest video games of all time. To say that this game was great is an understatement. Ocarina introduced the gaming world to the aspect of open world play with a wonderfully sized map that was large and full of exploration but not in the slightest bit unnecessary. The level and dungeon design was the best of it's time and in still to this day remains one of most brilliant, beautiful, and interesting worlds of any video game on the market. Every area you explore from the moment you wake up in the lush and green forest of the Kokiri to the vast and deep desert of the Gerudos' is crafted to perfection. The combat system in Ocarina was also a shining star. Not only did weapons feel right, react well, and play out perfectly, but they were always interesting and had their own advantages. Not once did a weapon outshine another because they all had a great purpose. The Z-Targeting system was added for a more cinematic feel that worked flawlessly and it even made combat easier and more interesting. The music and sounds of the game brought it to life as well. Every area had it's own theme music that was unique to that zone and always felt right and gave the player that more personal feeling wherever he/she went. Kokiri Forest felt like a wonderful place of happiness while Hyrule Field had an epic and powerful tone to it. The addition of musical gameplay made things more interesting as well and showed an importance to every area the player visited. Now, most importantly to the Zelda series itself and to any video game for that matter, comes the story. The Legend of Zelda has always been a series shining in the glory of it's adventures and this was the biggest and most powerful of them all. You begin as a young boy who has always felt left out and who has nightmares of dark visions that would become realities. As you start your quest you realize your true destiny and embark on a journey filled with adventure and courage like no other. The dark king of the Gerudo's Gannondorf seeks the legendary Triforce and will stop at nothing to rule the land of Hyrule. By unleashing monsters from the Temples' of Hyrule and by turning the once good and just land to pure evil, Gannondorf attempts total rule over the world. Link being the Hero of Hyrule must journey to the different lands and temples' of the land in order to gain power from the mystical "sages" and stop Gannondorf. The story in Ocarina beings great and never lets go. In fact the game gets better every second that it progresses. You meet many interesting characters such as Princess Ruto, Malon, Darunia, and the mysterious Sheik that not only have their own individual traits, but also contain important roles in your quest. Also, each character is easily remembered and full of emotion which grasps the player and gives them a sense of caring and passion for each one. The many temples and dungeons visited during the game are all fun, unique, and interesting and reward the player as he/she progresses. The game has quite a few side quests that are entertaining and it follows through right up to the end. There is nothing negative about this game and to this day it stands on a pedestal as one of if not the greatest game of all time and for good reason. Since it's release very few games have captured the true story, art, and power Ocarina of Time had mastered back in 1998. To this day I myself still play it and still consider it my favorite game ever. Not because of great graphics, or online play, or anything else that current games have fallen into but because Zelda is a game that touched my heart like no other game ever has. Current game developers and enthusiasts need to look back at The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time and reconsider the direction that games are going. Zelda mastered it, and for that we should honor it. Expand
  24. Jan 20, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is do doubt the greatest game in existance. Non, except for Nintendo haters, have been able to play this game without admiting it is at least one of the best of the best, if not THE best of the best. Super Mario 64 was the first game to make 3D conversion work, but this was the game that perfected it. It introduced a large 3 dimensional world to explore, which at the time was a huge deal. It also introduced new gameplay mechanics that made the action adventure genre work out even more. Like the lock-on targeting system, which helped to keep your eye on the enemy much easier, but without making the fighting too easy, as you had to meneuver around the enemy and dodge his attacks. Another big new feature was horse-back riding. Riding your horse around the huge field was big and new. It had an engaging story, that really sucked you in, which had lots of twists and turns. Like when Ganondorf attacked the castle, destroying your plan to get the Triforce before Ganon did. Or near the end, when Shiek, the man who helped you on your journey as an adult, reveals himself to be Princess Zelda, the person Link had been searching long and hard for. Another thing was the conversion from Young Link to Adult Link. This was the first Zelda game that introduced Adult Link, making him look more epic, and more like the hero of the legends. But the bigger twist is how you can play as both Young Link and Adult Link. Not only that, but the story counts on you using both of them to make it all the way through the story. There are alot of complicated dungeons with puzzles to solve, which can sometime twist your brain, and make the game much more challenging. What I loved about Zelda was the flawless gameplay and beautiful landscapes. Zelda Ocarina of Time was a first, it brought forth the perfection of 3D conversion, and made it beautiful, but also made the 3D mechanics work with how the game played out, and it worked beautifully. Of course the game isn't perfect, there are a few flaws in Ocarina of Time. Like the Water Temple, which is the most unpopular dungeon in the game. Everyone had a hard time with it, so it proved to be a bit too challenging. Plus in some parts of the game, the graphics don't look good at all. However, these flaws are not severe enough to interfere with the games overall greatness. There may be no such thing as a perfect game, but this game is as close to a perfect game as you can get. Zelda Ocarina of Time won Game of the Year in 1998, and got an honorable award in outstanding gaming achievement in 1999, and it didn't win these awards without good reason. This game is truley the best game of all time, and anyone who thinks they can make a game better than this is absolutely crazy. Sure Ocarina of Time may not be outstanding by todays standards, but considering the technology of gaming at the time, it was the best gaming could offer. Even 13 years after the game came out, Ocarina of Time is still selling like nuts via the Wii Virtual Console, which re-released Ocarina of Time in 2007. In my opinion, Ocarina of Time is, and will always be, the greatest game ever made, and I'm not alone in that statement. I have yet to meet a person who is not a Zelda hater who played Ocarina of Time and thought the games was horrible. Ocarina of Time is the best of the best in gaming, hands down, and it deserves a perfect score more than any game. Expand
  25. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    Nothing I can say is suficient to describe this game. It's flawless. One of the Best games of all time.
  26. May 30, 2013
    10
    If I had to choose one game to play in my lifetime, this is it, no contest.
    This is a landmark in not just gaming, but art as a whole, and deserves recognition as such.
  27. Feb 26, 2011
    9
    Very influentail. you should know that. Exploring an open hyrule is amazing to this day. Great sounds and good music mix well with great graphics. it has flaws. The first is the god-damn water temple. Impossible to play without a walkthrough. Also, cancleing the bow just dosn't work. You have to waste an arrow. Also, during one part that I won't spoil, you have to do something you never would have though of. Alright. I tell. go to the temple of time to change to a child or adult. How was I suposed to know that?!? how? HOW?!?! IT SUCKS! IT SUCKS! amazing game. go buy it now. Expand
  28. Apr 29, 2011
    10
    Essentially one of the best games of all time, no cheese. Pros: Beautiful graphics for the N64; subtle, but challenging gameplay; variety of dungeons, puzzles, and secrets; innovative and imaginative. Cons: If Ocarina of Time had faults, it would be its often dull dungeon design, camera issues, and it has one of the worst power-ups to date.
  29. Mar 8, 2011
    9
    I played A Link To The Past so many times in my childhood i lost count. When i got OoT for Christmas it was BYE BYE childhood! This game is the very definition of epic, i loved every second of it!
  30. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    The face of god, I just saw it.
  31. Apr 10, 2011
    9
    What is there to say when everything is so perfect? The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is a gem. Its superb action-adventure elements, game and level design, plot, visuals, soundtrack, everything from this game was masterfully crafted. One of the few games that has stood the test of time. Simply marvelous!
  32. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    No more needs to be said about this game. The best game ever? I'm not sure but if any game has to have that title then I don't mind it being this one. Games don't come much better than this.
  33. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    I'm not kidding when I say that this is the only game I would ever consider to be 'perfect.' Not one person who has ever enjoyed a video game not play this. This isn't even my favourite video game,but I consider it perfect. It really is this good. Anyone who comes along to nit-pick away at Ocarina of Time wouldn't know a good game if it trotted along and killed their grandmother. I'll admit, it's not without flaw; nothing is. But those flaws are merely physical. 'Perfect ' to me means it go everything it could right and remains good to everyone. That is what Ocarina of Time does, and that is what it will continue to do. Expand
  34. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    There's nothing left to say. This is widely considered THE BEST GAME OF ALL TIME. Look it up :) I just hope the 3D remake can reach the same (if not better) Metacritic score!!!!!
  35. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    It's simply a win. There is nothing else to it. Read whaT EVERYBODY ELSE SAID! They have covered it all. But if you don't get this game, i'll find you.
  36. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    Awesome classic masterpiece, this is the best game from zelda that i have played. I barely give ten out of ten to games, few ones have the chance any way. This game music, set pieces,gameplay,characters everything is made magnificently. I just cant describe nothing more on this, everything is almost perfect.
  37. Apr 17, 2011
    10
    i cant help but want to find where the people who rated this bad and punch them in the face. after taking them from their troll memes, and their call of duty modern warefare...... a perfect game
  38. Apr 18, 2011
    10
    This is my favorite game of all-time. While people are entitled to their opinions, anyone who negatively rates OoT either generally dislikes the action/RPG genre (as opposed to the game itself), or is too dumb to play. For those that criticize the graphics; they were among the best when it was released. For those that criticize the gameplay; OoT had dozens of game mechanics that have become staples int he genre.

    Not only is the great in and of itself, but it is also a superb continuation of the Zelda series, flawlessly bringing the 2D world of Zelda to three dimensions.
    Expand
  39. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    I won't bore you with what everyone is already saying about how amazing this game is. But if you're on the fence about whether to give this classic a try, go read IGN's review.
  40. Jun 6, 2011
    10
    And now here's a good one. It is the highest rated for a reason. It has a really good adventure, and is unbelievably starts off easy and then it gets hard, then it's easy again. Nice!
  41. May 25, 2011
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. The music, the story, the gameplay...all of it is spectacular. There is really not much else for me to say. If you give this game below 7, you are out of your mind.
  42. Jun 7, 2011
    10
    The reason I chose The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time when I went to PlayN'Trade a year ago was because my friend had it for his N64 and it seemed cool, at the time i thought Zelda was for nerds....now i regret saying that cause this game changed me for the rest of the year...I loved the story line and I spent HOURS in the doungens trying to beat the jellyfish,the fake Ganondorf and a bunch of other stuff.....oh man and i told my Dad to do most of the Adult Link stuff cause I was "busy" with school but I loved the Hours I spent in this because those were great hours spent,Thank you The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time you are simply great. Expand
  43. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    I'm one of those people who think that this is the greatest game of all time, no matter what quality games are out now or will be out ever. This is just plain the best game I've ever played. Why? Partly because it was the first good game I've actually played. When I first got a Nintendo 64 I was considerably young, and yet every game I played I thought was absolutely horrible. All I had were simple objective games, and as a child I thought they were hard and pointless. Then one day Ocarina of Time was brought home and I at first refused to play it. So I watched my father play it for a while, and straight away it was something entirely new and different. Also at the time, it was the most real (to me at least). What brought me in was the ability to actually explore and get to know people, even if the people you talked to all repeated the same things over and over no matter how many times you talked to them, but it didn't matter. This game was something new and exciting to me, and to this day I get this good old nostalgic feeling whenever I play it. It has one of the greatest stories of all time for a video game and was one of the first to create its own sort of universe and it was one of the first 3D environment game where you can see in all 360 degrees (after Mario 64 that is). Plus to this day people are still discovering new secrets to the game and so many in-depth theories arise from this title alone based upon this game that keep it interesting. The characters feel like characters and the visuals are some of the most cinematic of its time. The gameplay is also very fun, which of course is one of the most important things and there are very involving puzzles that are simple enough in appears but very complex when you get down to it. There is so much that I could say about this game, but sometimes even looking back, I'm at a loss of words at how awesome this game is. Expand
  44. Feb 24, 2013
    10
    The game that is considered by many the greatest of all time. I am just thankful to have witnessed this epic adventure back then and i´ll never forget the experience that i have made with OoT.
  45. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    Everything in OoT is so near at perfection, its really no wonder that this game has such a huge fanbase and is so highly rated among players and critics.
  46. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    One of (or the) best game ever made. Anyone who gives the masterpiece below a 7 or an 8 is either just here to hate on the astounding zelda franchise, doesn't know a DAMN good game or is insane. [2]
  47. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    People that don't like this game... just don't like video games, and I'm surprised they're here reviewing them. 10/10. King of kings. Ocarina of Time.
  48. Jun 18, 2011
    10
    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. What to say about it? Perfection? Well... no game is perfect but Ocarina of Time came pretty damn close. Few games in history have ever come close to what Ocarina of Time has achieved in greatness and popularity. If you have never played it. Play it! Even if it isn't your cup of tea, I promise you can still respect what it did for the gaming world and how it is influencing it to this day. Expand
  49. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    THIS is the PERFECT game ! no doubt. the gameplay is still better than in any other game. compared with other fantastic games like uncharted 2, the metal gear solid series or the mario series, it is the ultimate video game. i wish i could play the game like the first time. it was overwhelming
  50. Jul 23, 2011
    10
    @bob and JamesF are you serious?????? stop hating you retards. this game is arguably the best zelda game ever created and zelda is one of the best series of games ever created. you can't just give it a 0!!!!!!!!!!
  51. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    The highest scoring game on Metacritic and every other review site/magazine/etc, and it's no lie. The story, gameplay, pace and every other factor cohere in a way that makes OoT an amazing adventure that will never be forgotten. Screwed into the golden side of gaming history through unbreakable forces, The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is a masterpiece to be respected by gamers and non-gamers as art. Expand
  52. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    Just play it, if you don't think it's the greatest game ever (considering it's time) then sell all of your consoles, give away all of your games, and never play a video game again, you are not worthy!
  53. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    What Is there to say other than AMAZING! Ladies, Gentlemen and all Members Of the Gaming World, If you have a Nintendo 64, but don't have this game, you are a total n00b. Ocarina Of Time is my absolute favorite game on the Nintendo 64. Hell, it's so good it actually made me flip out my 64 and start playing it again. This game right here is the reason most gamers get their Nintendo 64 out again, and its not hard to understand why. Without a doubt, the back story, plot and setting of the whole game is definitely well made to fit with the story of Hyrule, and the legend that is the Legend Of Zelda series that started on the NES. The battles and triumphs and the twist that splits the series in two, none of it would be possible without Shigeru Myamoto's brilliant mind and logic. The game flourishes in a brilliant Open-world setting, as we gamers agree, the best type of game there is (Grand Theft Auto and LA Noire are examples of Open World Games). Brilliant gameplay, especially being the first 3D Zelda game in which all others based off of, and I think people can have continuous fun hours on end just messing around with the Ocarina lol. Expand
  54. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    This game is really perfection. I played it when I was still just a little girl, and now more than 10 years later I play it again... and still love it. All the ones that gave the game a negative score are just here to rage at the popularity of this game. Because it's the best one ever made. And it deserves a worthwhile remake.
  55. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    anybody who doesnt give this game a 10 or 9 shouldnt be on this website and doesnt no wat gaming is.its one thing if u dont like rpg. but if thats the case that just dont rate the game
  56. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    one of the greatest game of all time no doubt about it. Giving this game anything less than a 10 is outragous. Nothing these days can even be on the same sentence as this.
  57. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    This game was wayyy ahead of its time. That just just how amazing this game is and always be. Anyone that gives this game a low score, is just probably just jealous to how amazing this game is. The characters, the storyline, the game play is truly amazing. A must-play for ANY gamer!!
  58. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    This game is the definition of perfection, the zelda series has always been a console seller for nintendo, meaning people buy an entire console just so they can play the legend of zelda on it. the graphics were a bit iffy but the gameplay was excellent and has a storyline that was unlike anything seen at the time. very few games back in the late 90's had highly developed storylines and characters and zelda 64 is right up there at the top of the list. there is a reason that even after almost 13 years, it is still universally considered to be the best game ever made. me and a good number of my friends, who are big fans of the series, still own the N64 consoles we bought back in the 90's for the sheer purpose of playing ocarina of time and it's sequel, majora's mask, i even go so far as to own a functional NES to play the original zelda because of how much the series entertains me. find one other game in the world that people own 10+ year old consoles to play, and i will give you a pat on the back. zelda is by far one of the most impressive games ever made, and i have no doubt in my mind that it deserves a full 10/10, the fact that people are still even trying to compare it to modern games shows how timeless a classic it truly is. Expand
  59. Sep 12, 2011
    10
    The greatest game ever made. Simple as that. Playing it again, 13 years after first play, and may not feel as fresh and original but the levels are still as brilliantly fun to play through and the redoing of the puzzles still feels a joy, never a chore. There is nothing to fault this game over.
  60. Oct 3, 2011
    9
    Story: 9
    Characters: 9
    Graphics: 8
    Setting: 10
    Multiplayer: N/A
    Soundtrack: 10
    Audio: 7
    Gameplay: 7
    Re-Playability Value: 9
    Fun Factor: 10

    Score: 8.7/10
  61. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Still the best game ever. The only problem is the framerate, but that is forgivable. It's still got a great soundtrack, fun gameplay, and perhaps the best dungeons in a Zelda game
  62. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    The best game EVER is so challenging and is for thing 100 hours,i love this cool game...............................................................sosososososososo good
  63. Oct 14, 2011
    10
    nice game i love game :D....................................................................................................................................................
  64. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is not only the best game on the N64 in 1998, but one the greatest action adventure games of all times. Does it hold up today? In my personal opinion, it holds up pretty well and was pretty close to perfection. The visuals may look outdated today, but you cannot deny yourself that the atmosphere in the destinations within Hyrule are mesmerizing to explore in this game. The locations, the character designs, the temples, the story and the soundtrack (especially the soundtrack) are absolutely memorable through out this game and this game practically made me became a Zelda fan in the first place. I could see why there are some people whether they are Zelda fans or not that they are too fond with this Zelda title. It's a bit identical to A Link to the Past on the SNES, but with 3D rendered visuals and there is a lack of personality within many characters compared to the later Zelda games where character personalities has improved in. However, for Nintendo to produce an engaging story for their first 3D Zelda game, it became forgivable for its time. This maybe a really overrated Zelda game, but there's a reason why people prefer Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time as an instant classic. Expand
  65. Sep 6, 2012
    10
    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is definitely the greatest game of all time, even to this day, no one has told a story as well as Nintendo has, and defined gameplay in a way that still stands above everything else all these years
  66. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    Hands down, the best game of all time. My favorite game on any list. Right from the first moment, your captured into the gameplay and you don't want to stop playing. the landscape is beautiful, the monsters are something you wouldnt expect, the dungeons are challenging yet fun, and the bosses are a landmark to beat. Once you beat the game the first time, you accually feel like you have rescued a real princess and saved a real kingdom. The time playable land is massive and it will take some time to get everything, but the reward is well worth it. Hands down. Best. Game. Ever. Expand
  67. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    Everything great about this game has already been said 1000 times so i'll just get to the point: This game is a masterpiece and while I don't think it is the best game ever, it is at least in my top 20 games of all time list.
  68. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Eons ahead of its time, Ocarina of Time is still of higher overall quality than the majority of games released today (2011). Greatest game of all time, no questions asked.
  69. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Even after 13 years after its 1998 release Ocarina of Time is still legendary. First off, the controls were the best back then and even now they hold up to today's high standards. One part of the control scheme that made the game play so smooth was the intuitive Lock-on system. This may seem like it would make Ocarina of Time a snap, but there is still a great difficulty level. The graphics aren't up to par with today's standards but they aren't bad at all as the graphics were ahead of their time. One of the best things about the Ocarina of Time is the story. It seems simple and to the point, but it is riddled with plot twists that keep you coming back for more. One aspect of video games that many overlook is the music. Ocarina of Time has one of the best game soundtracks I have ever heard. And the variety of music styles is amazing! There aren't just one or two great tracks, every soundtrack is unique and great.

    Overall, this is the best game I have ever played.
    Expand
  70. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    This is by far the best game i have played. Anyone who is giving this negative results go back to your generic shooter x franchise. This game really is the godfather, the dark knight, or lord of the rings of the game world.
    I don't like the godfather, but would still rate it nearly perfect as it is just so well made and executed, just like this game. It feels like everything in the game
    has been thought about, perfect pacing, exquisite level design, intriguing story, and just that x factor any perfect form of media has without the need for modern day effects or graphics.
    This shows if a game, film, book or album can be just as good now than.it was when released even if visually it might be dated.
    By the way this comes from some who does appreciate modern day visuals and owns a top end pc which maxes any title thrown at it.
    Expand
  71. Sep 9, 2012
    10
    Now I never give a game a perfect score... But I simply cannot give Ocarina of Time anything lower then a 10. This game is on a level of its own. Perhaps the best game to come out on a Nintendo System, this game raised the bar for 3D gaming and still stands at the top. When OoT came out I immediately begged my parents for this game. Nintendo power raved about this game, and every person I knew with a Nintendo 64 owned it. Once I got a hold of this game I sat in front of my television for weeks until I beat everything this bad boy offered. 13+ years later and I still re-beat this game at least once a year. Any person willing to call themselves a gamer HAS to play this game. From a designer perspective this game was about 10 years ahead of its time in terms of quality gameplay. For those of us old enough to remember video games prior to current and last gen consoles, we all remember the classic side scrollers and there leap to 3D. Unfortunately, most of those series died with the jump to 3-D. Zelda, on the other hand, took that leap and then some with Ocarina of Time. The game is just that good.

    For those of you who never played a Zelda game before, the Zelda series is composed of Action/Adventure games that put the gamer in a fantasy world known as Hyrule. The gamer always plays as the protagonist, Link, and is almost always sent on a task of rescuing the Princess Zelda from the clutches of the Dark Lord Ganon. Ocarina of Time is no different. The entire story in a nut shell is the "fairy boy" Link is sent on a quest to save Hyrule from the clutches of Ganon. During your adventure you must dwell thru 8-9 dungeons, slay massive bosses, and save Princess Zelda. You can expect a great story and about 30 hours of gameplay for your first playthrough. Obvious, those of you wishing to 100% the game will probably need to spend well over 30 hours to complete the entire game without the use of a guide. Moving forward, the gameplay is the "bread and butter" of the series. In Ocarina of Time you can expect to tackle hundreds of puzzles, slay tons monsters, obtain dozens of items, and complete many minigames during your adventure. The combat system really shines in this game with the use of "Z-Targeting." Z-targeting basically allows the players to lock onto a monster or item with a simple tap of the Z button. This allows the player to stay focused on the enemy they want to be fighting (this was also one of the first games to introduce such a feature). The general idea of Ocarina of Time is to find and complete 8 dungeons before confronting Ganon in a final battle. These dungeons are big and packed with puzzles that test the players skill and knowledge. Each dungeon requires the player to find a certain item and boss key before battling the dungeon's final boss. On top of these dungeons, OoT has a massive overworld where the player can interact with citizens of Hyrule, play minigames, hunt for heart pieces and treasure, or just explore the terrain. As I mentioned before this was a massive game for its time. Most players will spend 30-50 hours completing this game.

    Finally, the Zelda series is probably most known for its music. OoT continues not to disappoint us and delivers dozens of memorial tunes. From the overworld theme to the magical songs you unlock to help Link in his quest, the music leaves no disappointment. Even 14 years after this game came out, these songs still sound beautiful. Lets just say this game alone made the sales of Ocarina musical instruments soar. There is no words to describe how much I love this game. I'm a typical gamer that enjoys the big shooters that most people play today (CoD, Halo, Gears of War, etc...) Even though I have literally days-weeks of playing time on those games, I still do not consider them anywhere near Zelda; Especially Ocarina of Time. As I said before, I still go back to beat this game at least once a year. The game has aged extremely well and is still a blast to play. Although the graphics and technology may be old, Ocarina of Time still remains the highest scored game by critics world wide. Do yourselves a favor and buy this game for N64, Gamecube, Wii-Virtual Console, or 3DS. Its well worth the $10-30.

    Graphics 10/10 (for its time)
    Sound 10/10
    Gameplay 10/10
    Re-playability 10/10
    Expand
  72. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    So many of this games negative reviews are about poor graphics or boring gameplay, which is a problem because they're reviewing this game through the eyes of today, which is impossible to do so seeing as it was released in 1998. This game is THE blueprint, not on for Zelda games but any Zelda-inspired game since. The reasons this game is cited as "The Best Game of All Time" are many, all of which are accurate. It was really the first game evr to break through what is known as the "polygon ceiling". Franchises just couldn't make the jump to 3D correctly, either failing miserably like Bubsy or having to sacrifice something to make the grade meaning those games lost exactly what made the series good (Castlevania is the one that springs to mind here). OoT, however, not only showed everyone how 3D should be done, but how games should be done in general by having a great, fun story with plenty of twists and turns along the way, great controls that were simple to pick up and play and a massive amount of innovations with Z-Targeting being the most prevalent. Enjoyiing that lock-on in any game ever? You have Ocarina to thank for that. The puzzles were brilliant because they showcased the 3D perfectly, making you have to utilise spacial awareness by, for example, standing at a vantage point to fire an arrow through a lit torch so it sets on fire and ignites an extinguished torch at the other end of the room. No 3D game did that, which is why it was the pinnacle of the new revolution. The game is enormous even today, with in-depth side-quests that can easily detract you from the story for hours. Puzzles aren't out of reach for anyone so you don't have to be a genius to carry on with the story. Yes, sometimes the puzzles are more of the same, but that is really all they could do at the time with technology and memory constraints. This game was so big, a GamePak with increased memory was made just for this game, that later on became the standard memory allowance. The music is instantly recognisable and most of the well-known Zelda tracks are from this game, the only main song missing is the Zelda theme at the start instead opting for original music which, while an excellent piece is a little disappointing. Even after a decade, it's still the highest scored game ever on this site and there is a reason for that. This is not just a great Zelda game, but the greatest game of all time. If you haven't played this game in any of it's forms, you can't call yourself a gamer. Expand
  73. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Definitely greatest game on the N64, and the best game ever created. Ocarina of Time gave us revolutionary 3D gameplay and an epic story not to mention one of the nicest looking games at least on the N64. The game design is truly second to none. I consider the Water Temple to be one of the best designed temples of all time. Although the music is in MIDI format, it was a staple in 1998, and the scores are amazing anyway! This game is 10/10 no doubt. Expand
  74. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    there is a reason this game garners the respect and is revered like it is. cause it is epic. to do what they did with the limitations of the n64 and tombstone cartridge is nothing short of amazing. if you haven't played it through do yourself a favour.
  75. May 14, 2012
    10
    It's sad that until today there hasn't been anything that grasps the sense of magic that OoT brought forth upon playing. However that is simply the game being so vastly superior at what it does. To this day Koji Kondo's soundtrack for this is the one that strikes at an emotional level, where it never gets old. Characters are so well-made they stick with you and feel alive even long after you played through once again. Graphically it's still really pleasing, because the aesthetics are so good. Pretty famous for it's story that keeps you involved at all times, never getting less climactic and leading to a huge pay-off and closure. Dungeon and level design is top notch and so clever they can be learned from even now. So much excellent extra content in exploring, secrets, mini-games and collectables that actually matter and improve your character and enhance the gameplay and is fun to do. Combat has alot of puzzle elements imbedded as well, especially the bosses require finding a solution whilst in the heat of the battle. It's all controlled rather intuitive with the Z-targetting being used for the first time and the handy hotkey buttons for sidegrade weapons and items. The HUD was also non intrusive and nicely designed for the time. Navigating through the expansive open world and dungeon is made user friendly by the clear map system, has no problems with mulitple floors and levels. The array of gadgets and weapons to your disposal is astounding and let's you find several ways to reach your goal. Still playing it when I need to be reminded what games should strife to be like and I can't help myself but going for all the side content every time getting lost in the world of Hyrule. Expand
  76. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    It's a masterpiece. A perfect game. Amazing graphics, great story and characters, brilliant soundtrack. It's my favourite game, my Top 1 after several great games.
  77. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Among the best games of all time simply for being the most innovative game. Masterful gameplay, amazing sound track, a nice story, and the land of Hyrule to explore. A definite must have for any gamer.
  78. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    I think we all know that this is possibly the greatest game ever made, A magical masterpiece, the only game that has a special place in my heart.. and i truly mean that. I would give this 10.5 if i could.
  79. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    I had no idea that at the ripe age of 10 I would play one of the best video games ever made. Ocarina of Time has shaped my standards for all games following it, and despite the now out-of-date graphics, continues to be one of the best, most groundbreaking games in a wonderful franchise. Ocarina of Time, I tip my hat to you.
  80. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    I played this when I was a child and I still play it on my free time!!! Just roaming around hyrule XD That's how awesome it is!! One of the best game ever made.
  81. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    People say it's overrated. I played it in 2006 after beating WindWaker, Minish Cap and Twilight Princess. This was not my first Zelda and yet I still put it above all others and somehow I've grown nostalgic over it in such a short amount of time. Music is amazing, world is so expansive for such an old game, characters and story is interesting and it keeps gameplay and exploration fresh throughout. Best Zelda game IMO and worthy of more than a 10/10. Expand
  82. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I play games in the hope that one day, a game will come along and make me feel how I felt at the end of Ocarina of Time. Have you ever come to the end of something and just known, right there, that you will never again experience anything within that same medium so magical ever again? That is how I felt.

    Whether or not this is the best game ever is beyond my power to debate, but all I
    know is that in 1998, before I had internet conection, before I read gaming magazines, I played this game. From the second I turned it on, Hyrule remained forevermore a fixed point in my life, far more so than it ever had in LttP.

    There is nostalgia, and then there is whatever this game did to me. In some ways I almost resent it.
    Expand
  83. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This was the first video game I have ever played and even now I enjoy playing it. This was the game that got me hooked on Zelda games. This IS the greatest video game of all time. A masterpiece.
  84. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    To this day I myself still play it and still consider it my favorite game ever. Not because of great graphics, or online play, or anything else that current games have fallen into but because Zelda is a game that touched my heart like no other game ever has. Current game developers and enthusiasts need to look back at The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time and reconsider the direction that games are going. Zelda mastered it, and for that we should honor it. Expand
  85. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    One of the best games ever made. An absolute must play for everyone ever. If you call yourself a gamer and have never played this or Majora's Mask, you are a fail.
  86. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    Pure freaking magic, trolls can rage against the game as much as they want; when a discussion of the greatest game of all time comes up, Ocarina stands as king.
  87. Nov 30, 2011
    9
    Ocarina of Time is a great game, even today it's being hailed as one of the best out there, and it's one I would recommend to anyone who wants to get into Zelda. It's definitely a classic, and it and it's sequel are 2 games everyone should play at least once.
  88. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    10 out of 10 is not enough for this game. If only Zelda OoT must get 10, then any other games are at most 7~8. It is useless to discuss the score of OoT, but anyway I'll give it 10
  89. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    People call it the best game ever, and I don't disagree. I'm on board with them! BEST GAME EVER MADE. I would give this game a 10/10. There are no problems, and definitely recommended.
  90. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    ¿El mejor videojuego de la historia? Eso es imposible para cualquier videojuego pero... ¿El considerado mejor videojuego de la historia? Si, y se lo ha ganado a pulso. Un clasico atemporal que no puede faltar en tu coleccion junto a otros juegos de su quinta como Meta Gear Solid, FFVII, Super Mario 64, etc...
  91. Dec 5, 2011
    10
    This is considered the best game of all time. There should be no negative feedback for the game majority of gamers considers the best game of all time, and since it has been out, only been rivaled with Super Mario, Zelda Majora's Mask, Zelda Twilight Princess, Super Mario Galaxy, Super Mario Galaxy 2, Uncharted 2, Grand Theft Auto IV, and now Skyward Sword and Skyrim. IGN say that Skyward Sword has surpassed Ocarina of Time. IGN and GameInformer both rated Skyward Sword a 10 and Skyrim a 9.5. IGN and GI are a lot of times biased towards Nintendo, but can't deny Skyward Sword is great.

    Ocarina of Time, is without a doubt, the funniest game of the Nintendo 64 especially for not being multiplayer, had more fun playing this than any multiplayer. It is the G.O.A.T, Zelda pathed the way for games like Skyrim, I hope Skyward Sword gets GOTY :), and possibly be considered the best of all time.
    Expand
  92. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    I don`t know why but I have seen some people giving negative scores for this game. If they were wrong? YES, completely wrong! All I have to say is those people who gives low grades to this big of a game is either completely crazy, or is a hater, or do not know how to play the game and because of that gives it a low score. This game despite how old it is, still makes me fascinated with its cinematic effects and graphics(by the way, graphics doesn`t matter, what matters is the fun). I did not accomplished the entire game a.k.a. side quests, but I accomplished the main storyline and that was REALLY worth of my time, I simply loved this game, it made me a fan of the Zelda games, I highly recommend that you play it, you surely won`t regret it, it's as the critics says a Masterpiece. And I have to say thanks to Shigeru Myamoto and Nintendo. Now if you excuse me, I have a new adventure to set on Zelda: Skyward Sword! Expand
  93. Dec 30, 2012
    10
    This is the Sgt. Peppers of gaming. It's perfect in length, the storyline is incredible, the characters are deep and likeable, the dungeons have some of deepest puzzles the Nintendo 64 can offer. Its a masterpiece beyond belief.
  94. Jan 7, 2012
    10
    Whenever I find the rare game that I might give a 10 out of 10, the first thing I do is think 'Is it better than Ocarina of Time?' and always come up with no. This truly is the only game that is a 10 that I have played and probably the only one that exists. Remember, sometimes things become popular for a good reason (or because Will Smith is in it). The gameplay, story, length and puzzles all mesh together so well that this game can not be called anything but flawless. Expand
  95. Jan 9, 2012
    10
    The best game in the whole history. It doesn't matter which year you're playing it, the graphics are from a 64-bit console, of course they will be worse than a Ps3 game. This will ALWAYS be the best game ever. The first Zelda that changed all the other zeldas since than. Incomparable, a huge masterpiece, the best of all time.
  96. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    THE BEST GAME EVER MAID!!!! the best game of nintendo 64.Incredible history,its impossible not love this amazing game! And come others Legends of Zelda, but only Ocarina of Time, is in the heart of all gamers in the world!
  97. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. The plot, gameplay, EVERYTHING, is pretty much amazing. I love the positive atmosphere, charming cast, and how clean it is. Its loads better then those stupid zombie and war games, uggggggghhhhhhh.
  98. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Everything was incredible, beautiful and fascinating in Zelda: Ocarina of Time. The most awaited game turned out to be the best of all the times. It is not a video game is a legend.
  99. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    Ignore all the butthurt Call of Duty fans who rated this low. They're just mad that their series isn't the highest rated on Metacritic and has been named "Best Game of All Time" by many.

    While the graphics and gameplay may not have aged 100% perfectly, this is truly a great game and I wholeheartedly recommend it for gamers of any age or preference. Don't let the stereotype of "The
    Legend of Zelda" fool you. This series is truly the king of all video games. Expand
Metascore
99

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. 100
    This is, without a doubt, one of the all-time greatest games made. 50 years from now people will still be playing and enjoying this game... thoroughly.
  2. This Zelda adventure will undoubtedly withstand the test of time and take its place as one of the best games to ever grace a home system.
  3. My favorite game of all Time. It is the perfect example of a perfect and polished game. Every aspect of the game is virtually flawless.