User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 3851 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RobT.
    Jan 3, 2004
    10
    Flawless in every way, teaching the player everything they need to know, and remaining interesting and fun help make this game simply perfect.
  2. Mcn
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    I wish I wish I still had this game. Get this game as soon as it comes out on Wii virtual console.
  3. DanielA.
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Quite certainly the greatest video game ever made. To date, nothing has topped it, and I have a strong suspicion that nothing ever will.
  4. markh.
    Feb 12, 2008
    10
    I base this rating not on nostalgia but on the simple fact that, when i played ocarina at the time it came out it was a perfect game. No game before or since has come close to the experience that this game was. Now like with all games of that period the graphics are dated, making the game look crude to people who have not played it before. However, it still stands up for many who had the I base this rating not on nostalgia but on the simple fact that, when i played ocarina at the time it came out it was a perfect game. No game before or since has come close to the experience that this game was. Now like with all games of that period the graphics are dated, making the game look crude to people who have not played it before. However, it still stands up for many who had the good fortune to explore hyrule in 98-99 as the best gaming experience ever, and will be forever remembered by them. Expand
  5. AndreaP.
    Aug 1, 2008
    10
    One of the best games I have EVER played. It's flawless. The myriad of characters pull you into the game and Hyrule is large and vast. There's plenty of sidequests to get you distracted if you can't handle a boss and a variety of mini-games you can play for extra stuff. I have played PS2 games and I'm a fan of Final Fantasy. I have played the 360 with Halo and One of the best games I have EVER played. It's flawless. The myriad of characters pull you into the game and Hyrule is large and vast. There's plenty of sidequests to get you distracted if you can't handle a boss and a variety of mini-games you can play for extra stuff. I have played PS2 games and I'm a fan of Final Fantasy. I have played the 360 with Halo and Oblivion. At least a decade later I'm always finding myself going back to the old N64 and putting that golden cartridge in. It's stunning even today. Expand
  6. NestorB
    Aug 30, 2008
    10
    Best game on N64, best game of its time. This games amazing story and innovative gameplay are both testaments to its spot as #1 game on metacritic.
  7. KimiA.
    Feb 8, 2003
    10
    Undeniably flawless, and quite possibly the best game I'v ever played. I think the reviewers had it in a nutshell when they said people would still be talking about it 5 or 10 years afterward (And playing it too. I went through it again for the hell of it only a month ago). Simply put, if you'v never played this game, then you are doing yourself a great disfavour. While Majoras Undeniably flawless, and quite possibly the best game I'v ever played. I think the reviewers had it in a nutshell when they said people would still be talking about it 5 or 10 years afterward (And playing it too. I went through it again for the hell of it only a month ago). Simply put, if you'v never played this game, then you are doing yourself a great disfavour. While Majoras Mask can be hard to get into, OoT pulls you in from the start. It's the depth and immersiveness which makes this game so great, that tantalising quality which makes you just want to explore everything to the full, and get such wonderful enjoyment while doing it. And even once you've done that you still want to go and play it again... and again. Superb stuff. Expand
  8. Hugge
    Jan 9, 2004
    10
    What can I say that hasn't already been said... the best game ever made. Period.
  9. DiegoV.
    Feb 20, 2004
    10
    Perfect.
  10. ArneL.
    Apr 1, 2004
    10
    It's a masterpiece there will never be a better game. i could return and play for hour and hour again.
  11. SteveE.
    Jun 29, 2004
    10
    This is the greatest game of all time.
  12. Zelda
    Aug 7, 2004
    10
    Greatest Game ever!!!
  13. ShravanM.
    Apr 1, 2005
    10
    Perfection.
  14. Simon.W.
    Aug 22, 2005
    10
    This game is the work of enlightened genius. Euphoric and powerful gameplay make this the best game that i have ever played and i would be surprised if anything ever surpassed it. If someone knocks it im surprised.
  15. Eddie
    Aug 5, 2005
    10
    Best adventure game ever made.
  16. MitchellE.
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    Excellent game......just flawless, great story line, great gameplay, perfect interactivity, really sucks you into a world with no limitations
  17. Starfire
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    Progress? There has been relatively none since this game, as it is most probably the best one ever. The combination of a vast and realistic world to explore and the amount of things to do in it, along with the challenging dungeons is what does it. You really feel like you are there and the sunny fantasy world is one you want to explore. It never tries to be like another game- but many do Progress? There has been relatively none since this game, as it is most probably the best one ever. The combination of a vast and realistic world to explore and the amount of things to do in it, along with the challenging dungeons is what does it. You really feel like you are there and the sunny fantasy world is one you want to explore. It never tries to be like another game- but many do (or should) try to make something more like this greatness. It can be childish- but that is part of the fun. Expand
  18. ThomasR.
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    This is the single greatest game of all time. The first time I played this game I did it purely out of curiosity. I had never played a Zelda game in my life. Within the first 20 minutes of playing this game I knew that I had not played a more enjoyable and engrossing game before in my entire life. This game (along with Super Mario 64, Banjo Kazooie, Goldeneye, Mario Kart 64 and Diddy Kong This is the single greatest game of all time. The first time I played this game I did it purely out of curiosity. I had never played a Zelda game in my life. Within the first 20 minutes of playing this game I knew that I had not played a more enjoyable and engrossing game before in my entire life. This game (along with Super Mario 64, Banjo Kazooie, Goldeneye, Mario Kart 64 and Diddy Kong Racing) truly made the N64 the greatest gaming console in existence. Expand
  19. Zach
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    Once in a while, you get those games that everybody talks about, and you fall into the lure of your peers, so you buy it. Zelda 64 is one of the games you buy yourself. This is the best game to ever be released on any platform. And no, don't tell me GTA is better than this because no, it just isn't. So go out and buy an N64 if you haven't already(if you can find them) and Once in a while, you get those games that everybody talks about, and you fall into the lure of your peers, so you buy it. Zelda 64 is one of the games you buy yourself. This is the best game to ever be released on any platform. And no, don't tell me GTA is better than this because no, it just isn't. So go out and buy an N64 if you haven't already(if you can find them) and get this game. Lock yourself into a room and play it 'till you can say wow for the fifth hundredth time. Or until you finish the game. Expand
  20. totlmstr
    Oct 11, 2008
    10
    Honestly, I'm not one of those guys who love to put up 10s for all of my favorites. In this current day and age, it still is a masterpiece, compared to all of the other games that have huge spaces in their hard drive. If you're wondering how big this game is, it's around 256 megabits. It still is amazing. If you wanted to compress that large of a game, with the music, Honestly, I'm not one of those guys who love to put up 10s for all of my favorites. In this current day and age, it still is a masterpiece, compared to all of the other games that have huge spaces in their hard drive. If you're wondering how big this game is, it's around 256 megabits. It still is amazing. If you wanted to compress that large of a game, with the music, dungeons, all of the sidequests, the main storyline, and everything else in that small space, you get this game. It's incredible they fit it into that size. Of course, the game still has it's downsides, but minor, as that the major complaint is the storyline. You can see beyond the storyline that it's still the "save the princess" scenario, but I found myself lost when I was exploring that game. Expand
  21. ShaneK.
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    Truly, not a single Adventure/RPG can compare to this game. It may look dated now but graphics do not add or subtract anything from gameplay. Possibly the best game of the last century. If you hate this game, you hate gaming.
  22. CarlosS.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    The best game ever made, is perfect in any aspect of the game, music, graphics , story , the way that you target an enemy , this should be taken in consideration in games like GTA, where this is a huge flaw. The history of the game is amazing everything in the game is amazing. For younger people that maybe didn
  23. JordanI.
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    The best game of it's time, virtually as perfect as the N64 can take.
  24. CoryP.
    Aug 5, 2008
    10
    This is the best game I've ever played. I have been waiting for an experience like this since I first played it 10 years ago but it hasn't come along. Not even subsequent Zeldas can match the feeling you got when you played this game for the first time. Before Ocarina, Chrono Trigger was the game that offered that wonderful feeling of perfection.
  25. Onrust
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    Simply put the best game ever made. People who rate this anything below 10 never played it when it first game out. This game redefined the entire game industry and set a new standard. The experience that i have had with this game has not been matched and will never be matched again. If you havent played this yet, do so, now, it is part of your gaming education!
  26. brentl
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    Amazing game in every aspect, i just want to point out, Lev, what do you mean it has a weak storyline. It has one of the best storylines of all time, the reason it seems generic is because its an old story, many, many stories copied off of this. Now thats not to say that zelda didn't take inspiration from other stories, but obviously made it their own. There has never been a story in Amazing game in every aspect, i just want to point out, Lev, what do you mean it has a weak storyline. It has one of the best storylines of all time, the reason it seems generic is because its an old story, many, many stories copied off of this. Now thats not to say that zelda didn't take inspiration from other stories, but obviously made it their own. There has never been a story in any other game that got me more involved then this one. Expand
  27. ZakR
    Aug 10, 2009
    10
    Every time I see the intro screen to this game, I'm instantly hit with a pure feeling of nostalgia. All though today the graphics are easily beaten by modern day game console, at the time these graphics were fantastic. The controls are so fluid, the items were fun to use and the dungeons although something being absolute hell (Water temple, ugh), they were always fun and would keep Every time I see the intro screen to this game, I'm instantly hit with a pure feeling of nostalgia. All though today the graphics are easily beaten by modern day game console, at the time these graphics were fantastic. The controls are so fluid, the items were fun to use and the dungeons although something being absolute hell (Water temple, ugh), they were always fun and would keep you staring at the screen for hours. The characters always made you laugh or smile, and you felt the need to talk to everyone in sight. Cutting this short, I personally consider this to be the greatest game in history. Expand
  28. Shane95
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    This game is the definition of GREATNESS. This is the 2nd best game ever. Story is awesome, the graphics for the 90s makes you feel in the game. The Gameplay is... do i have to say it? really? This game deserves a 99999999 out of 10, but since i can't do that, it gets a 10.
  29. WinterC
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    This game is one of the best games ever created. It just disappoints me that so many people who play games on the Xbox360 or PS3 find this game as crap because of the graphics. They don't realize that this game came out in 1998.
  30. StevenA
    Mar 21, 2010
    10
    This game is the highest rated game on Metacritic and for good reasons. It takes elements from every other game that existed before it and multiplied it several times over. Almost 12 years later, I can play Ocarina of Time and STILL see things that it does, that games of this 2010 decade cannot d. It stands the test of time and will forever be in my heart as the greatest game of all time This game is the highest rated game on Metacritic and for good reasons. It takes elements from every other game that existed before it and multiplied it several times over. Almost 12 years later, I can play Ocarina of Time and STILL see things that it does, that games of this 2010 decade cannot d. It stands the test of time and will forever be in my heart as the greatest game of all time ever in the world. Many games have tried to conquer that title. All have failed. I'm more than happy to say that. Expand
  31. JohnM.
    Mar 1, 2002
    10
    Without a doubt, this is the greatest game ever created.
  32. LinaL.
    Apr 20, 2002
    10
    The most addictive game I ever played! Can't wait to get my hands on Majora's Mask.
  33. Jackie
    Jul 6, 2002
    10
    This game rules! Even though I couldn't finish it because I had a faulty one, I still really enjoyed it, it also has a great storyline to go with it.
  34. BurtQ.
    Jan 10, 2003
    10
    As far as I'm concerned this is one of the best, if not thee best games ever made. Even when i defeated the game i just erased my file and started over. Its so big that you can do just that and still have fun.
  35. Y.Y.
    Apr 15, 2003
    10
    Cat F., if they changed the plot and characters and towns and such... well, look at what crap Majora's Mask was. I can't argue with you on your level of entertainment. That's YOUR opionion. I can't change it. But I think OoT is a true Zelda game.
  36. TalesP.
    May 1, 2003
    10
    The best game ever...
  37. LacyM.
    Jun 3, 2003
    10
    Well Shlim N. and Bob....I think you need to take my special therapy treatment. First, read "The Hobbit" and "Lord of the Rings". Then, watch the movie version of "Lord of the Rings" and then watch Miyazaki's "Princess Mononoke" and "Spirited Away". After that, read 13 books on mythology, study about the Medieval Times (NOT just Europe. Read about other countries too!) then play this Well Shlim N. and Bob....I think you need to take my special therapy treatment. First, read "The Hobbit" and "Lord of the Rings". Then, watch the movie version of "Lord of the Rings" and then watch Miyazaki's "Princess Mononoke" and "Spirited Away". After that, read 13 books on mythology, study about the Medieval Times (NOT just Europe. Read about other countries too!) then play this game and maybe you'll regret your nasty comments about this video game masterpiece. This is easily the most entertaining game of all time. I mean, it entertained my 7-year-old cousin along with her 5-year-old friends and they're impossible to entertain! Expand
  38. BrennanL.
    Jun 30, 2003
    10
    #1 Zelda game EVER!Buy it NOW!The game is PERFECT!!!!
  39. JohnO.
    Jan 12, 2004
    10
    I lack words for this game. Every single aspect of this masterwork screams of utter perfection and grace. Believe it or not, but this game is exactly as vital to your N64 as the heart and lungs are to your body.
  40. JigganisZig
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    I like this game too. VERY much. but i also think that crash bandicoot is VERY good. I think that the people who dont like zelda are probably younger and cant really comprehend zelda. but not all are that way.
  41. RobetC.
    Dec 20, 2004
    10
    The BEST game ever, I just kept on playing!!!
  42. BenH.
    Oct 9, 2004
    10
    Funny.. all the votes seem to be either 10 or 0... 10 being the people who have tried the game. the 0's coming from the people who have either not really tried to play it... have no patience, or in my own opinion... are all mindless dribbling retards and the sort of game they enjoy is mindless spinnning and jumping with no point at all.. in other words crash bandicoot. I hope one day Funny.. all the votes seem to be either 10 or 0... 10 being the people who have tried the game. the 0's coming from the people who have either not really tried to play it... have no patience, or in my own opinion... are all mindless dribbling retards and the sort of game they enjoy is mindless spinnning and jumping with no point at all.. in other words crash bandicoot. I hope one day they all are enlightened and realize what a true game is really made of.. Nintendo You are 5 times better at creating games then any of those other slip slop slap console game makers. PERFECTION!! Expand
  43. Alex
    Feb 23, 2004
    10
    The sweetest experience you can get from a videogame. It is truly a game with character, spirit - it draws you in it and does not lets down nowhere. I still play it on the classic N64 and suprises me each time! Maybe its bigest achievement is that generates to you unexpected feelings while other videogames-the most-extort it to you. What to say!! Zelda OoT is top notch in every aspect.
  44. TJWaston
    Feb 3, 2004
    10
    This game is so well made with the best plot I have yet to see in any other game. By far the best game ever. If you have not played it jus try it. It is a masterpiece that pushed the limits of the Nintendo 64. No game comes close to the freedom and how unique this game is.
  45. RobertC.
    Mar 12, 2004
    10
    What else can I say...this truly is one of the greatest games of all time...if not THE greatest. It's an absolute masterpiece in each and every way. Nothing at that time was within light years of what this game brought to not only game, but ART in general. This game will probably remain the blueprint of ALL games to come.
  46. James
    Mar 19, 2004
    10
    Best game ever like john b sad i was sad when it ended but i have played it over and over, windwinder is not as good, no game is.
  47. CHIKENANCHIPS
    Aug 16, 2004
    10
    Easily the best game i have ever played in my life. it was the first game i played on my n64, and did not at all disappoint. babs go and bum ur final fantasy while i play this great piece of art.
  48. PaulO.
    Aug 3, 2004
    10
    A true classic. The controls are so smooth, they almost feel natural. Even in today's world of Grand Theft Auto-style city scapes, the world is large and engaging, and there are always new items to find and quests to complete. Every gamer owes it to themselve to play this at one point; It's a masterpiece of the video game world.
  49. Link
    Aug 4, 2004
    10
    Old is Gold. Who ever rates this bad was labotamized.
  50. LinkT.
    Aug 7, 2004
    10
    Absolutely stunning!!!
  51. JoeB.
    Nov 5, 2005
    10
    Certainly the best 1 player game of all time. It mixes fantasy, role playing, and action into a game that has a premise of a young boy with serious overtones. Themes include maturing quickly, accepting who one is, and the eternal questions of the effects of time travel (I mean, come on, the whole thing with the Shadow Temple is mind-bending). Very few games can boast a premise this rich, Certainly the best 1 player game of all time. It mixes fantasy, role playing, and action into a game that has a premise of a young boy with serious overtones. Themes include maturing quickly, accepting who one is, and the eternal questions of the effects of time travel (I mean, come on, the whole thing with the Shadow Temple is mind-bending). Very few games can boast a premise this rich, smart, and well-thought out. Anyone who has problems with this game simply doesn't know what the word 'superb' means. Expand
  52. MattD.
    Dec 3, 2005
    10
    THE single game I could honestly say I think deserves the title best game ever. And no, I am not part of the hype, when I first played this I was pretty much isolated from any gamer culture, having no internet, no magazines and no proliferous gamer culture in my immediate area. This game is gaming taken to an art form.
  53. Puffy
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    This is one of the best games for the n64...... i luv this game ....its got plenty of action ....... ive read reviews of the ones who gave it bad scores..... most likey they havent played it at all......if u dont have or get this game u dont no what ur missin ... the graphics are great they are not bad..... the sound is cool...... it has plenty of cool ideas .......hardest level. to me isThis is one of the best games for the n64...... i luv this game ....its got plenty of action ....... ive read reviews of the ones who gave it bad scores..... most likey they havent played it at all......if u dont have or get this game u dont no what ur missin ... the graphics are great they are not bad..... the sound is cool...... it has plenty of cool ideas .......hardest level. to me is water temple .... favorite temple is the forest temple that temple is just whoa...... that temple says it all....... very challagein.... makes u think.......... n cool music......if i were anyone who wanted a great game this be the game i recomend .......so go buy it dont wait u dont no what ur missing. Collapse
  54. CloudStrife
    Feb 17, 2005
    10
    I Think that James F. is much more boring from Zelda and since he says that the game brings nothing to the genre figure out what kind of games he plays. Warren B. says that is bad and too hard. If this is toot hard for you go and play Crash to have fun cause this is much more serious game. Xhet S. if you want to see hradcore go and buy a porno movie cause this game is just a mastepiece I Think that James F. is much more boring from Zelda and since he says that the game brings nothing to the genre figure out what kind of games he plays. Warren B. says that is bad and too hard. If this is toot hard for you go and play Crash to have fun cause this is much more serious game. Xhet S. if you want to see hradcore go and buy a porno movie cause this game is just a mastepiece and i think that you are the one who stinks amongs with your ORCS! Bob the game is not the worst creation but you are the worst player and you cannot be objctive to your rating. Finally Shlim N. you say is not that Good as they say. remember that is a game of 1998 and is much better from other games and if you compare Zelda with soccer games and stuff like that you are a moron! Expand
  55. J.Hell
    Feb 5, 2005
    10
    The only reason this game (or any zelda game) might obtain some bad reviews is because it actually makes you think. Apparently some people have problems with that.
  56. YzarcY.
    Apr 2, 2005
    10
    This is the best game of the history. the best game of all. the best game i'have ever played. THE BEST!!
  57. JoseA.
    May 25, 2005
    10
    Zelda es el mejor juego de todos los tiempos digan lo que digan, es la aventura mejor contada con la magia mitologica que hace de esté un juego perfecto para los amantes de la epoca medieval. de lo unico que me arrepiento es de dejarselo a un amigo para luego no verlo mas, aunque se me pone los pelos de punta de la emocion al ver imagenes de este gran juego y lo mas que deseo es queZelda es el mejor juego de todos los tiempos digan lo que digan, es la aventura mejor contada con la magia mitologica que hace de esté un juego perfecto para los amantes de la epoca medieval. de lo unico que me arrepiento es de dejarselo a un amigo para luego no verlo mas, aunque se me pone los pelos de punta de la emocion al ver imagenes de este gran juego y lo mas que deseo es que el proximo este ya a la venta el segundo de gamecube THE WIND WAKER 2. Expand
  58. YourMama
    Jun 29, 2005
    10
    This game was so awesome that it rocked my socks. I aM In LoVe with this gam3. it is my numb3r one favorite.
  59. Jordan
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    Best game i have ever played! a classic.
  60. MaddieS.
    Sep 27, 2005
    10
    I think this game is one of the best on Gamecube! My brother got it and I thought it was so cool I had to buy a memory card and make my own files.
  61. Dan
    Jan 1, 2006
    10
    One of the few things that manage to live up to to, and even outdo, the massive hype surrounding it. Easily the best game I have ever played.
  62. VjN.
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    Simply the best thing that ever happend to gaming. Good on ya nintendo!
  63. LinkZ.
    Oct 14, 2006
    10
    This is the best game ever! It has a large world, great graphics, ( some ) hard puzzles and it brought, like all Zelda games, something new in the Zelda series and in the gaming world.
  64. BrianC.
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    I first played this game when it originally came out, and frankly i was amazed, i was instantly hooked, the story and world is so immersive that you'll find yourself waking up and playing for what seems like only a few hours, only to find it's time to go to sleep again... just a few months ago i went out and bought an N64 and this game again, someone had mentioned it in I first played this game when it originally came out, and frankly i was amazed, i was instantly hooked, the story and world is so immersive that you'll find yourself waking up and playing for what seems like only a few hours, only to find it's time to go to sleep again... just a few months ago i went out and bought an N64 and this game again, someone had mentioned it in conversation, i started thinking about it, started craving it, it was like i was getting home sick or something... i have halflife 2, quake 4, doom 3, all the latest games on a computer with a x1900xt gfx card so they all look amazing, but it's all taken a back seat, i'm too busy reliving old memories to use it... god I'd forgotten how much I love this game. Expand
  65. JasonB.
    Oct 30, 2006
    10
    A lot of people who have started playing games just around when Xbox came out say that anything made before the year 200 is crap. Just because they didn't have 360 graphics or that it's not as good as Halo 2. Even though Halo 2 is ridiculously addictive, it's not nearly as amazing as OoT. I even first finished this game after I beat Wind Waker, and since I know it came out A lot of people who have started playing games just around when Xbox came out say that anything made before the year 200 is crap. Just because they didn't have 360 graphics or that it's not as good as Halo 2. Even though Halo 2 is ridiculously addictive, it's not nearly as amazing as OoT. I even first finished this game after I beat Wind Waker, and since I know it came out in 1998, even I can say that for a great game that was released 8 years ago must have been something. I've played it a few times on my N64, but getting the Master Quest version for my Gamecube left me breathless. It is the Original Zelda, and the Best game ever. If you disagree with this, you either have not played it, think gameplay is worthless compared to graphics (which is bull), or you just have bad taste. This is not a matter of opinion, this is a fact: The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is the single greatest game in the history of all gaming. Expand
  66. xtreme
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    i think those a-holes who give this game "0,1, or 3" have never played it and just hate it cuz it has better ratings than their fav. game.other just find too hard. but in my opinion and many others, this is, overall, the best game of its time.
  67. JakeJ.
    Jul 12, 2006
    10
    This games utterly beatiful,flawless and perfect in every way possible. Go to hell if you dont like this game. It's one of the only games with the might to match GTA and that's more modern. Twighlight princess is goin to murder every other game.
  68. MikeT.
    Jul 25, 2006
    10
    The mythos, the history, the adventure, the gameplay... what more can be said about the greatest game of all time?
  69. AndrewG.
    Jul 9, 2006
    10
    this game is the single greatest game in the history of gaming. nothing has topped it, and the only thing that might is twilight princess. the grpahics were stunning for its time, and are still better than some current-gen games. the story-telling is fantastic and the characters are memorable. people who give this game less than a 10 probably havent played the game and just assume that this game is the single greatest game in the history of gaming. nothing has topped it, and the only thing that might is twilight princess. the grpahics were stunning for its time, and are still better than some current-gen games. the story-telling is fantastic and the characters are memorable. people who give this game less than a 10 probably havent played the game and just assume that just because Link is an elf that the game is automatically bad. before you judge, how about playing the game first? i feel sorry for those people, because theyre missing out on the best game of all time. Expand
  70. FredC.
    Aug 6, 2006
    10
    This game brought me to tears. Yes, I litterly cried as I was riding on Epona over Hyrule field. This is the greatest game of all time. That can not be argued. It just can't.
  71. BoBBoBBy
    Aug 7, 2006
    10
    This is like a mesh of all the favorites Puzzles Fantasy RPG Fighting and prolly many more i flippin love this game!
  72. StefanieF.
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    this is the best game ever and i want to marry zelda, nothing will ever beat this. this is the game you have to play, it just makes all the other zeldas look bad! i ust absolutely love it, it took me a long time to beat, which is a good thing. ahh i love the legend of zelda ocarina of time!
  73. ChrisD.
    Jan 1, 2007
    10
    A very remarkable game. Even today, I enjoy playing through it over and over, it is wonderfully designed and a great story, and the battles are also very satisfying. This game has so much that's right and so little wrong (anything wrong would be very nitpicking after playing it a number of times) and anyone who plays video game should have played this by now. If not, get the Wii and A very remarkable game. Even today, I enjoy playing through it over and over, it is wonderfully designed and a great story, and the battles are also very satisfying. This game has so much that's right and so little wrong (anything wrong would be very nitpicking after playing it a number of times) and anyone who plays video game should have played this by now. If not, get the Wii and buy it on the Shop channel. It is worth the $10. Expand
  74. TomiV.
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    Absolutely fantastic gaming experience. Still after these years it's my all time favourite.
  75. Wilheim
    Oct 3, 2007
    10
    Without any doubt this is the greatest game I've ever played. For six months my life revolved around this game- playing it, thinking about it, and quite literally dreaming about it. No game before or since has had such an impact on me. It greatly saddens me to think that in all probability, I will never play as good a game again. I'm not usually one to give a damn about online Without any doubt this is the greatest game I've ever played. For six months my life revolved around this game- playing it, thinking about it, and quite literally dreaming about it. No game before or since has had such an impact on me. It greatly saddens me to think that in all probability, I will never play as good a game again. I'm not usually one to give a damn about online voting but for ocarina of time I'm glad to make an exception. If you haven't played it yet- you lucky bastard. Expand
  76. JordanKnight
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    Brilliant game even nowadays in 2007, brilliant gameplay, huge array of items and weapons, mind puzzling temples that have you thinking 90% of the time and good combat, each boss has it's own weakspot instead of just slashing away and the storyline and characters add to the brilliantness. This is probably one of the best games in the Zelda series and definitley one of the best games Brilliant game even nowadays in 2007, brilliant gameplay, huge array of items and weapons, mind puzzling temples that have you thinking 90% of the time and good combat, each boss has it's own weakspot instead of just slashing away and the storyline and characters add to the brilliantness. This is probably one of the best games in the Zelda series and definitley one of the best games altogether, even standing up to the games of nowadays. Expand
  77. CJO'Connell
    Feb 4, 2007
    10
    It holds such a place in my heart, just thinking about it brings joy to me and memories of when I was younger. To "Morgan" who posted before me, I couldn't relate more to the nostalgia brought on just because of The Legend Of Zelda:Ocarina Of Time. This game is absolutely incredible, beyond just sharp or clever, insanely good, gripping, awesome adventure and graphics, and extremely It holds such a place in my heart, just thinking about it brings joy to me and memories of when I was younger. To "Morgan" who posted before me, I couldn't relate more to the nostalgia brought on just because of The Legend Of Zelda:Ocarina Of Time. This game is absolutely incredible, beyond just sharp or clever, insanely good, gripping, awesome adventure and graphics, and extremely good gameplay and amazing game in itself. The quality cannot beaten, and it's storyline rocks. Link, in that magical forest, surrounding by astounding things he accomplishes in his quest to defeat Ganondorf(who turns into a massive overlord as Ganon in the final battle)and retrieve the Triforce. It just doesn't get any better than this. It just doesn't. And no matter how hard you try, like making some other game I'll love with graphics 10 times better, and even cooler gameplay, it won't matter. Because this game is the Nintendo 64 king, and the creators of this game should be incredibly proud of themselves for making this work of art. Expand
  78. WilliamJ.
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    One thing I hated about this game is it openess, hyrule field and all the other places look great and with out the expansive areas it just wouldn't be as good. But like Elder Scrolls 4: Obilvion I don't like the openness, still completely different game, but i hope you understand. I never completed it by myself but played it countless time. This was the first game my sister One thing I hated about this game is it openess, hyrule field and all the other places look great and with out the expansive areas it just wouldn't be as good. But like Elder Scrolls 4: Obilvion I don't like the openness, still completely different game, but i hope you understand. I never completed it by myself but played it countless time. This was the first game my sister loved and played it 2 times over. Expand
  79. OnniH.
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    My all-time favorite game. I couldn't sleep a single night peacefully before finishing this ultimate masterpiece.
  80. OmarB.
    Apr 3, 2007
    10
    This game is the best game to be created on this Earth. I became a Nintendo fan because of this game. People still love oot 9 years after it's release. I hope they make a 10th year edition or something. Oot is better than tp because you can't beat the classics...and this is one of them.
  81. JuhaH.
    May 7, 2007
    10
    Simply the best game I've ever played. Anyone who hasn't yet played this masterpiece can't call him/herself a true gamer.
  82. GabrielW.
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    This game is just amazing. Once I got on it I couldn't get off. That game is just so cool. It is the best game I ever played.
  83. CaseJ.
    Aug 8, 2007
    9
    I'd have given it a ten if it forced you to use its ingenious dodgeing system more i mean its better to just stab most of the time and its not hard to figure out, only time where you need to use it is against golden nuckles. being easy is its only major flaw but maybe ill play through with 3 hearts. beats playing most modern day games thats for sure.
  84. BradyG.
    Sep 1, 2007
    10
    This game should be an essential play for all children, like all the books and movies you inevitably watched throughout your school years. A revolutionary masterpiece which reshaped the gaming landscape in numerous ways. The controls, the graphics, the gameplay in general, are all good, but its the chemistry of those elements combined that create a greater being.
  85. QuiqueC.
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    This is the best game ever. You can either complete the temples or play every once in a while in all the other side missions and mini games. It is incredible.
  86. CMPutnam
    Oct 11, 2008
    10
    I recently purchased a Nintendo 64 for the sole purpose of playing this game ($15.00 whoo hoo) Having played and finished the game I was completely enamoured with it. I then went and purchased a rumble pack and played it from the beginning. Please note the game is much better with the rumble pack. I started playing it and could not get away from it. I literally spent seven hours playing I recently purchased a Nintendo 64 for the sole purpose of playing this game ($15.00 whoo hoo) Having played and finished the game I was completely enamoured with it. I then went and purchased a rumble pack and played it from the beginning. Please note the game is much better with the rumble pack. I started playing it and could not get away from it. I literally spent seven hours playing it and it felt like I was playing for and hour. I finally had to pry myself away from it because I had to get some sleep. Everything about this game is spot on flawless. Nothing is wasted, everything is there for a reason. The story is gripping, the graphics (for it's time) are top notch. It is the very definition of gaming excellence. Before I played Ocarina of Time, I recently played and finished Metal Gear Solid 4 for PS3. That game was like playing the greatest movie I've ever seen. Ocarina of Time is like playing a literary masterpiece. Expand
  87. DylanR.
    Dec 7, 2008
    10
    Most likely the best game of all time. Its a legendary gaming experience for all ages. Even to this day, it holds more fun and replay value than Twilight Princess. I could not set the game down and right when I beat it, I played it again, I could not get enough. There was so many things to do and if you had a good imagination there were so many more. The music was soothing and catchy, you Most likely the best game of all time. Its a legendary gaming experience for all ages. Even to this day, it holds more fun and replay value than Twilight Princess. I could not set the game down and right when I beat it, I played it again, I could not get enough. There was so many things to do and if you had a good imagination there were so many more. The music was soothing and catchy, you could run around and play with all your items and still have a blast. The bosses were all interesting and the puzzles all simplistic, yet challenging to the untamed eye. The story itself was epic with many surprising twists and turns throughout the game. It is truly an experience you will never forget and I urge anyone who has still not played it to pick it up, and even those who have I urge you to replay it. And if you still want more, there is still an adventure waiting for you, pick up and play Majora's Mask. Expand
  88. DavidA
    Feb 3, 2008
    10
    This game is the best game of all time. If you want an example set for how a game should be made you should look at OoT as an example. This game is flawless, and is a game that can be continuously played, and is something that i would not get bored out of. I remember playing this game at the age of 12 and i was amazed. Mario cannot compare to Link.
  89. ErikG
    Feb 9, 2008
    10
    Though Half-Life 2 came near to making me question what the best game I've ever played was, Legend of Zelda: OoT is quite definitely still on top. This was the very first game I'd ever played when I was growing, yet I remember every moment of playing it, even ten years later. This game took me with two hands, gently nudged me into the world of video games, and immediately made Though Half-Life 2 came near to making me question what the best game I've ever played was, Legend of Zelda: OoT is quite definitely still on top. This was the very first game I'd ever played when I was growing, yet I remember every moment of playing it, even ten years later. This game took me with two hands, gently nudged me into the world of video games, and immediately made me a believer. I would, without any hesitation at all, recommend this game to anyone, even if they're not a gamer. Expand
  90. Praetor
    Mar 19, 2008
    10
    This is hands-down the greatest game of all time.
  91. JoeyM.
    Mar 23, 2008
    10
    This is the best game ever made. The graphics were amazing for that time, the music was amazing and went well with the dungeons or situations you constantly face. Also the gameplay is so smooth, Link does exactly what you want him to do all the time. Seriously he stops perfectly when you let go of the joystick. Amazing game. Also the story is very ammirsing. It creates a world with This is the best game ever made. The graphics were amazing for that time, the music was amazing and went well with the dungeons or situations you constantly face. Also the gameplay is so smooth, Link does exactly what you want him to do all the time. Seriously he stops perfectly when you let go of the joystick. Amazing game. Also the story is very ammirsing. It creates a world with creatures and there habitats and stuff like that. I would give it 100/10 but that is impossible. Expand
  92. DanielP
    Mar 3, 2008
    10
    This is the bast game I have played yet. I was surprised to see that it only got a 9.2 on the user votes, but I see why. A ton of people think that this game is a 10, but others try to mess up the score by putting a 0. Even if you did not like this game at all, you have to admit that it is better than the majority of other games. A zero is way too harsh. The worst game of all time on this This is the bast game I have played yet. I was surprised to see that it only got a 9.2 on the user votes, but I see why. A ton of people think that this game is a 10, but others try to mess up the score by putting a 0. Even if you did not like this game at all, you have to admit that it is better than the majority of other games. A zero is way too harsh. The worst game of all time on this site only got a 3.1 rating by users. So loosen up! Expand
  93. AnonymousC.
    May 24, 2008
    10
    People who say this is overrated, they obviously are one of two things; an Xbox fanboy or a moron. This game is ingenious.
  94. ChadD.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    Although I played this game only once. It was the most satisfying feeling I've ever felt completing a game. The water temple served me a few dozen times though.
  95. SebastianB.
    Jun 1, 2008
    10
    It is possibly the greatest piece of entertainment ever in the history of the universe.
  96. Maslab
    Jul 19, 2008
    10
    If you can seriously mark this game down, you really need to reassess your standards. Start by cutting them in half.
  97. ErkinA.
    Aug 9, 2008
    9
    I have only played emulation. It was really good but really hard.
  98. BrandonH
    Oct 12, 2009
    10
    This was the game that made me into a GAMER. I have never to this day played a game as much as I had played this. This game is ridiculously amazing, and to this day stands as the best game ever made.
  99. MarkA
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    When this game first came out in 1998 I was 6 years old, and when I got this game for my birthday, I must have beaten the game at least 5 times by now. When I went back to play this game, it still felt just as magical that first day I played it. This is a game that everyone must play, or at least try to play it is that good, and people will still be alking about this game 10, 20, even 50 When this game first came out in 1998 I was 6 years old, and when I got this game for my birthday, I must have beaten the game at least 5 times by now. When I went back to play this game, it still felt just as magical that first day I played it. This is a game that everyone must play, or at least try to play it is that good, and people will still be alking about this game 10, 20, even 50 years down the road. A Masterpiece Expand
  100. PonT
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    Easily one of the best games, if not the best of all time. Im writting this years after ive finished the game, but i just picked it up again and remember why i still love this franchise. The best of the franchise (and thats sayin alot), a story which should be made into a movie, great graphics for its time, controls which changed gaming forever and so much more i dont have time to say. If Easily one of the best games, if not the best of all time. Im writting this years after ive finished the game, but i just picked it up again and remember why i still love this franchise. The best of the franchise (and thats sayin alot), a story which should be made into a movie, great graphics for its time, controls which changed gaming forever and so much more i dont have time to say. If you never played this and have a wii, get the download. Expand

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed N64 Game of 1998
1
#1 Most Shared N64 Game of 1998
Metascore
99

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Mar 24, 2016
    94
    The player will be drawn into the Zelda fantasy world from the moment the opening sequence bursts onto the screen, and the game won't let go-not even after finishing the quest.
  2. Happy Puppy
    Mar 24, 2016
    90
    Realism is one of the major reasons this title is so amazing. After playing for a while it feels as though you have actually been to Hyrule.
  3. Mar 24, 2016
    95
    Featuring unparalleled 3D environments, a deep and involved quest, brilliant and intuitive play controls, and a well-developed cinematic quality that enhances rather than overwhelms the whole game experience, Miyamoto's latest soon-to-be-classic title deserves to be played by each and every person who might deign to consider themselves a fan of great games.