The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time Nintendo 64

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 2463 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    I won't bore you with what everyone is already saying about how amazing this game is. But if you're on the fence about whether to give this classic a try, go read IGN's review.
  2. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    Everything in OoT is so near at perfection, its really no wonder that this game has such a huge fanbase and is so highly rated among players and critics.
  3. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    Anyone who gives the masterpiece below a 7 or an 8 is either just here to hate on the astounding zelda franchise, doesn't know a DAMN good game or is insane. The dungeons are interesting and unique, the characters are interesting and have personality, the story is highly engaging, the combat is varied, fluid, and fun, the items are amazing, there are a plethora of interesting side questsAnyone who gives the masterpiece below a 7 or an 8 is either just here to hate on the astounding zelda franchise, doesn't know a DAMN good game or is insane. The dungeons are interesting and unique, the characters are interesting and have personality, the story is highly engaging, the combat is varied, fluid, and fun, the items are amazing, there are a plethora of interesting side quests and collectibles, and considering the fact that this game was made in 1998 the graphics are amazing. The only real downside is that the game is somewhat linear and you can't continue on after beating the final boss, but that doesn't detract from the huge amount of fun I had playing this game. This has to be one of if not the best games ever made just as the others have said. Expand
  4. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    I'm one of those people who think that this is the greatest game of all time, no matter what quality games are out now or will be out ever. This is just plain the best game I've ever played. Why? Partly because it was the first good game I've actually played. When I first got a Nintendo 64 I was considerably young, and yet every game I played I thought was absolutely horrible. All I hadI'm one of those people who think that this is the greatest game of all time, no matter what quality games are out now or will be out ever. This is just plain the best game I've ever played. Why? Partly because it was the first good game I've actually played. When I first got a Nintendo 64 I was considerably young, and yet every game I played I thought was absolutely horrible. All I had were simple objective games, and as a child I thought they were hard and pointless. Then one day Ocarina of Time was brought home and I at first refused to play it. So I watched my father play it for a while, and straight away it was something entirely new and different. Also at the time, it was the most real (to me at least). What brought me in was the ability to actually explore and get to know people, even if the people you talked to all repeated the same things over and over no matter how many times you talked to them, but it didn't matter. This game was something new and exciting to me, and to this day I get this good old nostalgic feeling whenever I play it. It has one of the greatest stories of all time for a video game and was one of the first to create its own sort of universe and it was one of the first 3D environment game where you can see in all 360 degrees (after Mario 64 that is). Plus to this day people are still discovering new secrets to the game and so many in-depth theories arise from this title alone based upon this game that keep it interesting. The characters feel like characters and the visuals are some of the most cinematic of its time. The gameplay is also very fun, which of course is one of the most important things and there are very involving puzzles that are simple enough in appears but very complex when you get down to it. There is so much that I could say about this game, but sometimes even looking back, I'm at a loss of words at how awesome this game is. Expand
  5. StevenA
    Mar 21, 2010
    10
    This game is the highest rated game on Metacritic and for good reasons. It takes elements from every other game that existed before it and multiplied it several times over. Almost 12 years later, I can play Ocarina of Time and STILL see things that it does, that games of this 2010 decade cannot d. It stands the test of time and will forever be in my heart as the greatest game of all time This game is the highest rated game on Metacritic and for good reasons. It takes elements from every other game that existed before it and multiplied it several times over. Almost 12 years later, I can play Ocarina of Time and STILL see things that it does, that games of this 2010 decade cannot d. It stands the test of time and will forever be in my heart as the greatest game of all time ever in the world. Many games have tried to conquer that title. All have failed. I'm more than happy to say that. Expand
  6. Mar 8, 2011
    9
    I played A Link To The Past so many times in my childhood i lost count. When i got OoT for Christmas it was BYE BYE childhood! This game is the very definition of epic, i loved every second of it!
  7. JordanI.
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    The best game of it's time, virtually as perfect as the N64 can take.
  8. brentl
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    Amazing game in every aspect, i just want to point out, Lev, what do you mean it has a weak storyline. It has one of the best storylines of all time, the reason it seems generic is because its an old story, many, many stories copied off of this. Now thats not to say that zelda didn't take inspiration from other stories, but obviously made it their own. There has never been a story in Amazing game in every aspect, i just want to point out, Lev, what do you mean it has a weak storyline. It has one of the best storylines of all time, the reason it seems generic is because its an old story, many, many stories copied off of this. Now thats not to say that zelda didn't take inspiration from other stories, but obviously made it their own. There has never been a story in any other game that got me more involved then this one. Expand
  9. Jan 12, 2011
    10
    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is without a doubt one of the greatest video games of all time. To say that this game was great is an understatement. Ocarina introduced the gaming world to the aspect of open world play with a wonderfully sized map that was large and full of exploration but not in the slightest bit unnecessary. The level and dungeon design was the best of it's time andThe Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is without a doubt one of the greatest video games of all time. To say that this game was great is an understatement. Ocarina introduced the gaming world to the aspect of open world play with a wonderfully sized map that was large and full of exploration but not in the slightest bit unnecessary. The level and dungeon design was the best of it's time and in still to this day remains one of most brilliant, beautiful, and interesting worlds of any video game on the market. Every area you explore from the moment you wake up in the lush and green forest of the Kokiri to the vast and deep desert of the Gerudos' is crafted to perfection. The combat system in Ocarina was also a shining star. Not only did weapons feel right, react well, and play out perfectly, but they were always interesting and had their own advantages. Not once did a weapon outshine another because they all had a great purpose. The Z-Targeting system was added for a more cinematic feel that worked flawlessly and it even made combat easier and more interesting. The music and sounds of the game brought it to life as well. Every area had it's own theme music that was unique to that zone and always felt right and gave the player that more personal feeling wherever he/she went. Kokiri Forest felt like a wonderful place of happiness while Hyrule Field had an epic and powerful tone to it. The addition of musical gameplay made things more interesting as well and showed an importance to every area the player visited. Now, most importantly to the Zelda series itself and to any video game for that matter, comes the story. The Legend of Zelda has always been a series shining in the glory of it's adventures and this was the biggest and most powerful of them all. You begin as a young boy who has always felt left out and who has nightmares of dark visions that would become realities. As you start your quest you realize your true destiny and embark on a journey filled with adventure and courage like no other. The dark king of the Gerudo's Gannondorf seeks the legendary Triforce and will stop at nothing to rule the land of Hyrule. By unleashing monsters from the Temples' of Hyrule and by turning the once good and just land to pure evil, Gannondorf attempts total rule over the world. Link being the Hero of Hyrule must journey to the different lands and temples' of the land in order to gain power from the mystical "sages" and stop Gannondorf. The story in Ocarina beings great and never lets go. In fact the game gets better every second that it progresses. You meet many interesting characters such as Princess Ruto, Malon, Darunia, and the mysterious Sheik that not only have their own individual traits, but also contain important roles in your quest. Also, each character is easily remembered and full of emotion which grasps the player and gives them a sense of caring and passion for each one. The many temples and dungeons visited during the game are all fun, unique, and interesting and reward the player as he/she progresses. The game has quite a few side quests that are entertaining and it follows through right up to the end. There is nothing negative about this game and to this day it stands on a pedestal as one of if not the greatest game of all time and for good reason. Since it's release very few games have captured the true story, art, and power Ocarina of Time had mastered back in 1998. To this day I myself still play it and still consider it my favorite game ever. Not because of great graphics, or online play, or anything else that current games have fallen into but because Zelda is a game that touched my heart like no other game ever has. Current game developers and enthusiasts need to look back at The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time and reconsider the direction that games are going. Zelda mastered it, and for that we should honor it. Expand
  10. Jan 20, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is do doubt the greatest game in existance. Non, except for Nintendo haters, have been able to play this game without admiting it is at least one of the best of the best, if not THE best of the best. Super Mario 64 was the first game to make 3D conversion work, but this was the game that perfected it. It introduced a large 3 dimensional world to explore, which at the time was a huge deal. It also introduced new gameplay mechanics that made the action adventure genre work out even more. Like the lock-on targeting system, which helped to keep your eye on the enemy much easier, but without making the fighting too easy, as you had to meneuver around the enemy and dodge his attacks. Another big new feature was horse-back riding. Riding your horse around the huge field was big and new. It had an engaging story, that really sucked you in, which had lots of twists and turns. Like when Ganondorf attacked the castle, destroying your plan to get the Triforce before Ganon did. Or near the end, when Shiek, the man who helped you on your journey as an adult, reveals himself to be Princess Zelda, the person Link had been searching long and hard for. Another thing was the conversion from Young Link to Adult Link. This was the first Zelda game that introduced Adult Link, making him look more epic, and more like the hero of the legends. But the bigger twist is how you can play as both Young Link and Adult Link. Not only that, but the story counts on you using both of them to make it all the way through the story. There are alot of complicated dungeons with puzzles to solve, which can sometime twist your brain, and make the game much more challenging. What I loved about Zelda was the flawless gameplay and beautiful landscapes. Zelda Ocarina of Time was a first, it brought forth the perfection of 3D conversion, and made it beautiful, but also made the 3D mechanics work with how the game played out, and it worked beautifully. Of course the game isn't perfect, there are a few flaws in Ocarina of Time. Like the Water Temple, which is the most unpopular dungeon in the game. Everyone had a hard time with it, so it proved to be a bit too challenging. Plus in some parts of the game, the graphics don't look good at all. However, these flaws are not severe enough to interfere with the games overall greatness. There may be no such thing as a perfect game, but this game is as close to a perfect game as you can get. Zelda Ocarina of Time won Game of the Year in 1998, and got an honorable award in outstanding gaming achievement in 1999, and it didn't win these awards without good reason. This game is truley the best game of all time, and anyone who thinks they can make a game better than this is absolutely crazy. Sure Ocarina of Time may not be outstanding by todays standards, but considering the technology of gaming at the time, it was the best gaming could offer. Even 13 years after the game came out, Ocarina of Time is still selling like nuts via the Wii Virtual Console, which re-released Ocarina of Time in 2007. In my opinion, Ocarina of Time is, and will always be, the greatest game ever made, and I'm not alone in that statement. I have yet to meet a person who is not a Zelda hater who played Ocarina of Time and thought the games was horrible. Ocarina of Time is the best of the best in gaming, hands down, and it deserves a perfect score more than any game. Expand
  11. Apr 29, 2011
    10
    Essentially one of the best games of all time, no cheese. Pros: Beautiful graphics for the N64; subtle, but challenging gameplay; variety of dungeons, puzzles, and secrets; innovative and imaginative. Cons: If Ocarina of Time had faults, it would be its often dull dungeon design, camera issues, and it has one of the worst power-ups to date.
  12. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    I'm not kidding when I say that this is the only game I would ever consider to be 'perfect.' Not one person who has ever enjoyed a video game not play this. This isn't even my favourite video game,but I consider it perfect. It really is this good. Anyone who comes along to nit-pick away at Ocarina of Time wouldn't know a good game if it trotted along and killed their grandmother. I'llI'm not kidding when I say that this is the only game I would ever consider to be 'perfect.' Not one person who has ever enjoyed a video game not play this. This isn't even my favourite video game,but I consider it perfect. It really is this good. Anyone who comes along to nit-pick away at Ocarina of Time wouldn't know a good game if it trotted along and killed their grandmother. I'll admit, it's not without flaw; nothing is. But those flaws are merely physical. 'Perfect ' to me means it go everything it could right and remains good to everyone. That is what Ocarina of Time does, and that is what it will continue to do. Expand
  13. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    THIS is the PERFECT game ! no doubt. the gameplay is still better than in any other game. compared with other fantastic games like uncharted 2, the metal gear solid series or the mario series, it is the ultimate video game. i wish i could play the game like the first time. it was overwhelming
  14. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    there is a reason this game garners the respect and is revered like it is. cause it is epic. to do what they did with the limitations of the n64 and tombstone cartridge is nothing short of amazing. if you haven't played it through do yourself a favour.
  15. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    I think it's funny that you have Zelda haters writing reviews based on their personal feelings towards the game, as opposed to how the game play actually was for them. Ocarina of Time was one of the single greatest games ever created. It set a precedence for future games. The graphics were unrivaled at the time, the game actually took real skill to beat it at times. In other words, itI think it's funny that you have Zelda haters writing reviews based on their personal feelings towards the game, as opposed to how the game play actually was for them. Ocarina of Time was one of the single greatest games ever created. It set a precedence for future games. The graphics were unrivaled at the time, the game actually took real skill to beat it at times. In other words, it wasn't something that you would pick up, beat in an hour, and never look at again. I can still pick this game up, and still play through it while enjoying every single second of it. Expand
  16. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    El juego perfecto. Insuperable por lo que supuso. No habrá nunca una revolución igual. Lo mejor de la época y un espejo en el que miran los juegos de ahora. Seguirá en lo mas alto por siempre
  17. Shane95
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    This game is the definition of GREATNESS. This is the 2nd best game ever. Story is awesome, the graphics for the 90s makes you feel in the game. The Gameplay is... do i have to say it? really? This game deserves a 99999999 out of 10, but since i can't do that, it gets a 10.
  18. WinterC
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    This game is one of the best games ever created. It just disappoints me that so many people who play games on the Xbox360 or PS3 find this game as crap because of the graphics. They don't realize that this game came out in 1998.
  19. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    One of (or the) best game ever made. Anyone who gives the masterpiece below a 7 or an 8 is either just here to hate on the astounding zelda franchise, doesn't know a DAMN good game or is insane. [2]
  20. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    The best game EVER is so challenging and is for thing 100 hours,i love this cool game...............................................................sosososososososo good
  21. Oct 14, 2011
    10
    nice game i love game :D....................................................................................................................................................
  22. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    Hands down, the best game of all time. My favorite game on any list. Right from the first moment, your captured into the gameplay and you don't want to stop playing. the landscape is beautiful, the monsters are something you wouldnt expect, the dungeons are challenging yet fun, and the bosses are a landmark to beat. Once you beat the game the first time, you accually feel like you haveHands down, the best game of all time. My favorite game on any list. Right from the first moment, your captured into the gameplay and you don't want to stop playing. the landscape is beautiful, the monsters are something you wouldnt expect, the dungeons are challenging yet fun, and the bosses are a landmark to beat. Once you beat the game the first time, you accually feel like you have rescued a real princess and saved a real kingdom. The time playable land is massive and it will take some time to get everything, but the reward is well worth it. Hands down. Best. Game. Ever. Expand
  23. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    Ignore all the butthurt Call of Duty fans who rated this low. They're just mad that their series isn't the highest rated on Metacritic and has been named "Best Game of All Time" by many.

    While the graphics and gameplay may not have aged 100% perfectly, this is truly a great game and I wholeheartedly recommend it for gamers of any age or preference. Don't let the stereotype of "The
    Ignore all the butthurt Call of Duty fans who rated this low. They're just mad that their series isn't the highest rated on Metacritic and has been named "Best Game of All Time" by many.

    While the graphics and gameplay may not have aged 100% perfectly, this is truly a great game and I wholeheartedly recommend it for gamers of any age or preference. Don't let the stereotype of "The Legend of Zelda" fool you. This series is truly the king of all video games.
    Expand
  24. MitchellE.
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    Excellent game......just flawless, great story line, great gameplay, perfect interactivity, really sucks you into a world with no limitations
  25. ThomasR.
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    This is the single greatest game of all time. The first time I played this game I did it purely out of curiosity. I had never played a Zelda game in my life. Within the first 20 minutes of playing this game I knew that I had not played a more enjoyable and engrossing game before in my entire life. This game (along with Super Mario 64, Banjo Kazooie, Goldeneye, Mario Kart 64 and Diddy Kong This is the single greatest game of all time. The first time I played this game I did it purely out of curiosity. I had never played a Zelda game in my life. Within the first 20 minutes of playing this game I knew that I had not played a more enjoyable and engrossing game before in my entire life. This game (along with Super Mario 64, Banjo Kazooie, Goldeneye, Mario Kart 64 and Diddy Kong Racing) truly made the N64 the greatest gaming console in existence. Expand
  26. Zach
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    Once in a while, you get those games that everybody talks about, and you fall into the lure of your peers, so you buy it. Zelda 64 is one of the games you buy yourself. This is the best game to ever be released on any platform. And no, don't tell me GTA is better than this because no, it just isn't. So go out and buy an N64 if you haven't already(if you can find them) and Once in a while, you get those games that everybody talks about, and you fall into the lure of your peers, so you buy it. Zelda 64 is one of the games you buy yourself. This is the best game to ever be released on any platform. And no, don't tell me GTA is better than this because no, it just isn't. So go out and buy an N64 if you haven't already(if you can find them) and get this game. Lock yourself into a room and play it 'till you can say wow for the fifth hundredth time. Or until you finish the game. Expand
  27. ShaneK.
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    Truly, not a single Adventure/RPG can compare to this game. It may look dated now but graphics do not add or subtract anything from gameplay. Possibly the best game of the last century. If you hate this game, you hate gaming.
  28. CarlosS.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    The best game ever made, is perfect in any aspect of the game, music, graphics , story , the way that you target an enemy , this should be taken in consideration in games like GTA, where this is a huge flaw. The history of the game is amazing everything in the game is amazing. For younger people that maybe didn
  29. LinaL.
    Apr 20, 2002
    10
    The most addictive game I ever played! Can't wait to get my hands on Majora's Mask.
  30. EvanN.
    Sep 7, 2002
    10
    The game has lots of adventure in it.
  31. BurtQ.
    Jan 10, 2003
    10
    As far as I'm concerned this is one of the best, if not thee best games ever made. Even when i defeated the game i just erased my file and started over. Its so big that you can do just that and still have fun.
  32. Y.Y.
    Apr 15, 2003
    10
    Cat F., if they changed the plot and characters and towns and such... well, look at what crap Majora's Mask was. I can't argue with you on your level of entertainment. That's YOUR opionion. I can't change it. But I think OoT is a true Zelda game.
  33. JoeB.
    Nov 5, 2005
    10
    Certainly the best 1 player game of all time. It mixes fantasy, role playing, and action into a game that has a premise of a young boy with serious overtones. Themes include maturing quickly, accepting who one is, and the eternal questions of the effects of time travel (I mean, come on, the whole thing with the Shadow Temple is mind-bending). Very few games can boast a premise this rich, Certainly the best 1 player game of all time. It mixes fantasy, role playing, and action into a game that has a premise of a young boy with serious overtones. Themes include maturing quickly, accepting who one is, and the eternal questions of the effects of time travel (I mean, come on, the whole thing with the Shadow Temple is mind-bending). Very few games can boast a premise this rich, smart, and well-thought out. Anyone who has problems with this game simply doesn't know what the word 'superb' means. Expand
  34. QuiqueC.
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    This is the best game ever. You can either complete the temples or play every once in a while in all the other side missions and mini games. It is incredible.
  35. JakeM.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Quite simply, the best video game I've ever played. Everything, the game play, story, graphics... is perfect.
  36. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    No more needs to be said about this game. The best game ever? I'm not sure but if any game has to have that title then I don't mind it being this one. Games don't come much better than this.
  37. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is not only the best game on the N64 in 1998, but one the greatest action adventure games of all times. Does it hold up today? In my personal opinion, it holds up pretty well and was pretty close to perfection. The visuals may look outdated today, but you cannot deny yourself that the atmosphere in the destinations within Hyrule are mesmerizing toThe Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is not only the best game on the N64 in 1998, but one the greatest action adventure games of all times. Does it hold up today? In my personal opinion, it holds up pretty well and was pretty close to perfection. The visuals may look outdated today, but you cannot deny yourself that the atmosphere in the destinations within Hyrule are mesmerizing to explore in this game. The locations, the character designs, the temples, the story and the soundtrack (especially the soundtrack) are absolutely memorable through out this game and this game practically made me became a Zelda fan in the first place. I could see why there are some people whether they are Zelda fans or not that they are too fond with this Zelda title. It's a bit identical to A Link to the Past on the SNES, but with 3D rendered visuals and there is a lack of personality within many characters compared to the later Zelda games where character personalities has improved in. However, for Nintendo to produce an engaging story for their first 3D Zelda game, it became forgivable for its time. This maybe a really overrated Zelda game, but there's a reason why people prefer Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time as an instant classic. Expand
  38. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    People say it's overrated. I played it in 2006 after beating WindWaker, Minish Cap and Twilight Princess. This was not my first Zelda and yet I still put it above all others and somehow I've grown nostalgic over it in such a short amount of time. Music is amazing, world is so expansive for such an old game, characters and story is interesting and it keeps gameplay and exploration freshPeople say it's overrated. I played it in 2006 after beating WindWaker, Minish Cap and Twilight Princess. This was not my first Zelda and yet I still put it above all others and somehow I've grown nostalgic over it in such a short amount of time. Music is amazing, world is so expansive for such an old game, characters and story is interesting and it keeps gameplay and exploration fresh throughout. Best Zelda game IMO and worthy of more than a 10/10. Expand
  39. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    Pure freaking magic, trolls can rage against the game as much as they want; when a discussion of the greatest game of all time comes up, Ocarina stands as king.
  40. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    Easilly the greatest game ever made, when it was released, Nintendo took a huge risk, and it payed off, the enviorments still stand out to this very day, and the games music is some of the greatest in , the story is original, the characters are memorable, the controls are simple and fluent, it is a game flawless on all levels
  41. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    This game is one of if not the Best game Ever made. Rather It Brings you nostalgia or not it is a Perfect masterpiece. And for all those 9 year old retard Call of duty Fans. Who by the way has never played a game other than First person Shooters. I say Shame on you. And if your one of those Graphics hating Retards. This game Had some of the Best Graphics of any game in 1998. And if yourThis game is one of if not the Best game Ever made. Rather It Brings you nostalgia or not it is a Perfect masterpiece. And for all those 9 year old retard Call of duty Fans. Who by the way has never played a game other than First person Shooters. I say Shame on you. And if your one of those Graphics hating Retards. This game Had some of the Best Graphics of any game in 1998. And if your Still irritated by the Graphics Buy the one for the 3ds it's graphics are Better. Point is The Games a outstanding. Expand
  42. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    This is the single best no not only game but entertainment package. Ever. In my opinion and in many others. For many many many reasons. This game invented targeting systems which has been used my many many many games since. I think it has the best and easiest to grasp and relate too stories in a game ever. Its so simple yet if you want to get into it enough you will notice that nintendoThis is the single best no not only game but entertainment package. Ever. In my opinion and in many others. For many many many reasons. This game invented targeting systems which has been used my many many many games since. I think it has the best and easiest to grasp and relate too stories in a game ever. Its so simple yet if you want to get into it enough you will notice that nintendo has given you so much depth to read about and explore in the game. IT IS AN EPIC MY FRIENDS. Expand
  43. Aug 10, 2012
    10
    Ocarina of Time is the best game ever made; I need not give the full title of this game let alone explain the ranking. Words cannot describe this game. It was the first 3D Zelda game, and it's one of the most epic games of all time. This game is old, but it never gets old. It's stood the test of time, and after 12 years this game is still the best. I have never heard anyone saying anythingOcarina of Time is the best game ever made; I need not give the full title of this game let alone explain the ranking. Words cannot describe this game. It was the first 3D Zelda game, and it's one of the most epic games of all time. This game is old, but it never gets old. It's stood the test of time, and after 12 years this game is still the best. I have never heard anyone saying anything remotely negative about this game, so I know that this is the correct ranking. This is THE golden standard of video games. This game is the reason I will never sell my Nintendo 64. Critic score is a 99? Anything less than a 100 is a sham. It's very true that there's no such thing as a perfect game, but everything in the world is completely arbitrary without an accepted standard. This game is the standard because it's the highest rated game of all time (Guinness World Records officially named it such). You have no choice but to compare this game to every other game. it is perfect in every way. It never gets boring and everything about it is just...perfect. Expand
  44. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    Simply brilliance. Combat is amazing, puzzles are well thought out, best video game soundtrack in my opinion (sorry Final Fantasy fans), perfect game time (not so long that it gets boring, but not too short that you wish there was more), interesting story and cool items. This is a game that just screams "Hello Childhood". 10/10 :)
  45. Starfire
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    Progress? There has been relatively none since this game, as it is most probably the best one ever. The combination of a vast and realistic world to explore and the amount of things to do in it, along with the challenging dungeons is what does it. You really feel like you are there and the sunny fantasy world is one you want to explore. It never tries to be like another game- but many do Progress? There has been relatively none since this game, as it is most probably the best one ever. The combination of a vast and realistic world to explore and the amount of things to do in it, along with the challenging dungeons is what does it. You really feel like you are there and the sunny fantasy world is one you want to explore. It never tries to be like another game- but many do (or should) try to make something more like this greatness. It can be childish- but that is part of the fun. Expand
  46. totlmstr
    Oct 11, 2008
    10
    Honestly, I'm not one of those guys who love to put up 10s for all of my favorites. In this current day and age, it still is a masterpiece, compared to all of the other games that have huge spaces in their hard drive. If you're wondering how big this game is, it's around 256 megabits. It still is amazing. If you wanted to compress that large of a game, with the music, Honestly, I'm not one of those guys who love to put up 10s for all of my favorites. In this current day and age, it still is a masterpiece, compared to all of the other games that have huge spaces in their hard drive. If you're wondering how big this game is, it's around 256 megabits. It still is amazing. If you wanted to compress that large of a game, with the music, dungeons, all of the sidequests, the main storyline, and everything else in that small space, you get this game. It's incredible they fit it into that size. Of course, the game still has it's downsides, but minor, as that the major complaint is the storyline. You can see beyond the storyline that it's still the "save the princess" scenario, but I found myself lost when I was exploring that game. Expand
  47. ZakR
    Aug 10, 2009
    10
    Every time I see the intro screen to this game, I'm instantly hit with a pure feeling of nostalgia. All though today the graphics are easily beaten by modern day game console, at the time these graphics were fantastic. The controls are so fluid, the items were fun to use and the dungeons although something being absolute hell (Water temple, ugh), they were always fun and would keep Every time I see the intro screen to this game, I'm instantly hit with a pure feeling of nostalgia. All though today the graphics are easily beaten by modern day game console, at the time these graphics were fantastic. The controls are so fluid, the items were fun to use and the dungeons although something being absolute hell (Water temple, ugh), they were always fun and would keep you staring at the screen for hours. The characters always made you laugh or smile, and you felt the need to talk to everyone in sight. Cutting this short, I personally consider this to be the greatest game in history. Expand
  48. JohnM.
    Mar 1, 2002
    10
    Without a doubt, this is the greatest game ever created.
  49. Jackie
    Jul 6, 2002
    10
    This game rules! Even though I couldn't finish it because I had a faulty one, I still really enjoyed it, it also has a great storyline to go with it.
  50. LacyM.
    Jun 3, 2003
    10
    Well Shlim N. and Bob....I think you need to take my special therapy treatment. First, read "The Hobbit" and "Lord of the Rings". Then, watch the movie version of "Lord of the Rings" and then watch Miyazaki's "Princess Mononoke" and "Spirited Away". After that, read 13 books on mythology, study about the Medieval Times (NOT just Europe. Read about other countries too!) then play this Well Shlim N. and Bob....I think you need to take my special therapy treatment. First, read "The Hobbit" and "Lord of the Rings". Then, watch the movie version of "Lord of the Rings" and then watch Miyazaki's "Princess Mononoke" and "Spirited Away". After that, read 13 books on mythology, study about the Medieval Times (NOT just Europe. Read about other countries too!) then play this game and maybe you'll regret your nasty comments about this video game masterpiece. This is easily the most entertaining game of all time. I mean, it entertained my 7-year-old cousin along with her 5-year-old friends and they're impossible to entertain! Expand
  51. BrennanL.
    Jun 30, 2003
    10
    #1 Zelda game EVER!Buy it NOW!The game is PERFECT!!!!
  52. JohnO.
    Jan 12, 2004
    10
    I lack words for this game. Every single aspect of this masterwork screams of utter perfection and grace. Believe it or not, but this game is exactly as vital to your N64 as the heart and lungs are to your body.
  53. JigganisZig
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    I like this game too. VERY much. but i also think that crash bandicoot is VERY good. I think that the people who dont like zelda are probably younger and cant really comprehend zelda. but not all are that way.
  54. RobetC.
    Dec 20, 2004
    10
    The BEST game ever, I just kept on playing!!!
  55. MattD.
    Dec 3, 2005
    10
    THE single game I could honestly say I think deserves the title best game ever. And no, I am not part of the hype, when I first played this I was pretty much isolated from any gamer culture, having no internet, no magazines and no proliferous gamer culture in my immediate area. This game is gaming taken to an art form.
  56. Dan
    Jan 1, 2006
    10
    One of the few things that manage to live up to to, and even outdo, the massive hype surrounding it. Easily the best game I have ever played.
  57. ErikG
    Feb 9, 2008
    10
    Though Half-Life 2 came near to making me question what the best game I've ever played was, Legend of Zelda: OoT is quite definitely still on top. This was the very first game I'd ever played when I was growing, yet I remember every moment of playing it, even ten years later. This game took me with two hands, gently nudged me into the world of video games, and immediately made Though Half-Life 2 came near to making me question what the best game I've ever played was, Legend of Zelda: OoT is quite definitely still on top. This was the very first game I'd ever played when I was growing, yet I remember every moment of playing it, even ten years later. This game took me with two hands, gently nudged me into the world of video games, and immediately made me a believer. I would, without any hesitation at all, recommend this game to anyone, even if they're not a gamer. Expand
  58. JoeyM.
    Mar 23, 2008
    10
    This is the best game ever made. The graphics were amazing for that time, the music was amazing and went well with the dungeons or situations you constantly face. Also the gameplay is so smooth, Link does exactly what you want him to do all the time. Seriously he stops perfectly when you let go of the joystick. Amazing game. Also the story is very ammirsing. It creates a world with This is the best game ever made. The graphics were amazing for that time, the music was amazing and went well with the dungeons or situations you constantly face. Also the gameplay is so smooth, Link does exactly what you want him to do all the time. Seriously he stops perfectly when you let go of the joystick. Amazing game. Also the story is very ammirsing. It creates a world with creatures and there habitats and stuff like that. I would give it 100/10 but that is impossible. Expand
  59. DanielP
    Mar 3, 2008
    10
    This is the bast game I have played yet. I was surprised to see that it only got a 9.2 on the user votes, but I see why. A ton of people think that this game is a 10, but others try to mess up the score by putting a 0. Even if you did not like this game at all, you have to admit that it is better than the majority of other games. A zero is way too harsh. The worst game of all time on this This is the bast game I have played yet. I was surprised to see that it only got a 9.2 on the user votes, but I see why. A ton of people think that this game is a 10, but others try to mess up the score by putting a 0. Even if you did not like this game at all, you have to admit that it is better than the majority of other games. A zero is way too harsh. The worst game of all time on this site only got a 3.1 rating by users. So loosen up! Expand
  60. AnonymousC.
    May 24, 2008
    10
    People who say this is overrated, they obviously are one of two things; an Xbox fanboy or a moron. This game is ingenious.
  61. SebastianB.
    Jun 1, 2008
    10
    It is possibly the greatest piece of entertainment ever in the history of the universe.
  62. Elmo3000
    Aug 16, 2009
    10
    I really think this game deserves a 10. To be honest, it's not completely perfect, but it's as perfect as a game can be. It's not like there's ever going to be a game loved by everyone, so this is basically your best bet. The gameplay is timeless, the controls are perfect, and the dungeons are challenging, but not too hard. I know that some people find Navi annoying, I really think this game deserves a 10. To be honest, it's not completely perfect, but it's as perfect as a game can be. It's not like there's ever going to be a game loved by everyone, so this is basically your best bet. The gameplay is timeless, the controls are perfect, and the dungeons are challenging, but not too hard. I know that some people find Navi annoying, but I never did. She doesn't talk too much as long as you don't ignore her. Anyway, the length of the game, the storyline, the cutscenes, and the interesting characters all join together to make this one of my favourite games. Expand
  63. SeanE.
    Oct 10, 2005
    10
    The Legend of Zelda series is the best series ever.
  64. KyleN.
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    Blows everything right out of the water. I actually miss this game when I'm not playing it.......I wish some games would be as revolutionary as this one. The use of the Elements as temples adds to the great wonder of this game.
  65. Cory
    Jul 12, 2005
    10
    Nothing else comes close to being as good as Ocarina of Time. This is and will always be the best game of all time. Sorry Mario.
  66. CasssandraB.
    Jul 25, 2005
    10
    The best game ever!!!!!! Those who don't like it can kiss my a**.
  67. 1mmortal1ty
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    Legend of Zelda OoT is the single greatest single player video gaming experience for the nintendo 64. Anyone who says it is boring is obviously not a serious gamer. The graphics were amazing for the 64, the music score was amazing. the story was riveting. The gameplay was fun although some of the puzzles were a bit repetitive and boring the rest of the game was extremely fun.
  68. Fraser
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    The Greatest Game Ever TM. Nothing can compare to the depth, enjoyment, replay value, superb score etc etc. So ridiculously good it should be illegal and I still play it to this day. OOT=Much, much win.
  69. Mr.EnigmaticDude
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    When the n64 released Zelda oot was one of its most anticipated games ever. It was so anticipated because the game play and the visuals looked absolutely amazing for its time. Still to this day Zelda oot is in my opinion better than Zelda tp.
  70. MichaelB.
    Jul 19, 2007
    10
    This is an incredible gaming expierence. Never have i played a game so excellent so perfect, and i might never play a game of this hype and calibure ever again. I thank God every day that this game was invented. Without this game the games today might not exsist. The controls, Story, Characters, and looks in this game are amazing. You can play this game over and over and you wont get This is an incredible gaming expierence. Never have i played a game so excellent so perfect, and i might never play a game of this hype and calibure ever again. I thank God every day that this game was invented. Without this game the games today might not exsist. The controls, Story, Characters, and looks in this game are amazing. You can play this game over and over and you wont get bored. If you have not played this game. GO OUT AND PLAY IT!! borrow it, download with your Wii jus play it. The most amazing gaming experience of your life might be waiting. Expand
  71. JavierS.
    Aug 30, 2007
    10
    This game is truly magical, the atmosphere, the story, the land, the hero, the princess, the puzzles... everything makes it a masterpiece. The best game ever. You can't say you're a videogame fan if you haven't played it.
  72. JohnE.
    Jan 27, 2008
    10
    If I could give this game a 12, that wouldn't be high enough. One of the very first games I played on an actual console, this game is the epitome of creative design, story, and overall gameplay excellence. I continue to play this after all these years and I don't plan on getting rid of it anytime soon. Anyone who has any kind of remote interest in games should buy this and play If I could give this game a 12, that wouldn't be high enough. One of the very first games I played on an actual console, this game is the epitome of creative design, story, and overall gameplay excellence. I continue to play this after all these years and I don't plan on getting rid of it anytime soon. Anyone who has any kind of remote interest in games should buy this and play it, it is the cornerstone of Action/RPG gaming and deserves nothing more than to be the highest rated game on Metacritic still today. Expand
  73. PhillipM.
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    I am playing OoT even nearly ten years after it released. Graphics don't matter (ten years ago it was the best graphic I've ever seen). But today the atmosphere is the same and I love playing this game through the tenth time (one time each year^^). It is really the best game of all times, no game is better today. Every gamer should have played it (If not your not a gamer!). A I am playing OoT even nearly ten years after it released. Graphics don't matter (ten years ago it was the best graphic I've ever seen). But today the atmosphere is the same and I love playing this game through the tenth time (one time each year^^). It is really the best game of all times, no game is better today. Every gamer should have played it (If not your not a gamer!). A terrific game, a perfect game. P.S. Those ones who gave 0 points are stupid anti-Nintendo bashers. Expand
  74. PaulM.
    Feb 18, 2008
    10
    THE GREATEST GAME TO EVER GRACE HUMANITY. This is FLAWLESS, MASTERFUL, EPIC, MAJESTIC and LEGENDARY.Make absolutely no mistake about it, this masterpiece will go down in history as the best game ever made and will under no circumstances be surpassed. The mere mention of it's title invites wonderful memories that no amount of Halo's, Half Life's or GTA's will ever bring THE GREATEST GAME TO EVER GRACE HUMANITY. This is FLAWLESS, MASTERFUL, EPIC, MAJESTIC and LEGENDARY.Make absolutely no mistake about it, this masterpiece will go down in history as the best game ever made and will under no circumstances be surpassed. The mere mention of it's title invites wonderful memories that no amount of Halo's, Half Life's or GTA's will ever bring back.If you have not played this magical adventure you have surely missed out on gaming's finest hour. The 1 and only 100% game. Expand
  75. TomP.
    Mar 20, 2008
    10
    One of the only reasons somebody can have a complaint is because they simply weren't there when this came out, experiencing it for the first time, when it was at it's prime. For somebody it playing now it seems outdated and unplayable, just like any other early 3D game from that time. I've played through great games such as Halo, Meroid Prime, and Resident Evil 4 and have One of the only reasons somebody can have a complaint is because they simply weren't there when this came out, experiencing it for the first time, when it was at it's prime. For somebody it playing now it seems outdated and unplayable, just like any other early 3D game from that time. I've played through great games such as Halo, Meroid Prime, and Resident Evil 4 and have still afterwards been able to be drawn back to Hyrule and recreate the same memories from when I was younger. It's games like that this that are hard to come by now, theres still near perfect games today, but not as many that people of all ages, and all preferences, can enjoy as well as this game. I'm not going to say it's flawless. But for it's time, and even for today, it's one of the best damn games ever created. No question. Expand
  76. MattM
    Apr 23, 2008
    10
    Personally the best game ever made and will never be beaten.
  77. ScottW.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Even after finishing this game on N64 15 times, i still bought it on the Wii Virtual Console and have finished it twice since. This IS the greatest game ever made and does not deserve to be knocked off the top by the likes of GTAIV.
  78. PhilMad
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    Simply the greatest game of all time, with engaging story, enemies and puzzles this game will have you being nostalgic fr the rest of your life.
  79. TylerA.
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    This is my favourite game of all time, I have the N64 and GameCube Master Quest versions. This game can never be beaten. We are up to the second generation of games now and I still can't find a better game. Perfect!
  80. SamD.
    Oct 12, 2005
    10
    Nothing will ever touch this game's greatness. no matter how great the graphic get, no matter what happens in the future, this game will still destroy them all. best game....ever.
  81. JasonM.
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    There is absolutely nothing one can say to describe this game except perfect. Just perfect. Find me a game that changed the world more, and I'll GIVE you my copy (not gonna happen)
  82. JonnyW.
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    Greatest game ever. A completely immersive world, great story, charming people to meet. When I beat it for the first tiem, I was genuinely sad that I would never see any of these people again. Of course I got to see them again on my second, third, fourth, and fifth times through, but you know what I mean. Oh yes, I am still finding new secrets and areas, seven years and about about 100 Greatest game ever. A completely immersive world, great story, charming people to meet. When I beat it for the first tiem, I was genuinely sad that I would never see any of these people again. Of course I got to see them again on my second, third, fourth, and fifth times through, but you know what I mean. Oh yes, I am still finding new secrets and areas, seven years and about about 100 hours later. Expand
  83. BogdanN.
    Dec 30, 2005
    10
    This is one of the best games of all time. The gameplay is great, the stroyline is fun and entertaining, and an impresivly long game for the N64. The single "dissappointing" thing about this game is that the graphics arent too great, but considering its for the N64, they are not bad at all.
  84. DonaldB.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    This game deserves to be eternally recognized and honored for how amazingly fun and addictive it was and still is. No wonder they had to wait 2 years to release it on the good old 64, Nintendo was trying to figure out how to make cartridges out of crack.
  85. BillH.
    Feb 13, 2007
    10
    I've never been so impacted by a video game before. When it came out, I must've beat it 4 or 5 times, looking for every secret. Now, as I watch my sister play it for the first time, almost 10 years later, the game still looks beautiful and the game play still holds up. Absolute nostalgia watching link travel through time again. Deserves to be the Best video game of all time.
  86. JosephN.
    Jul 22, 2007
    10
    By far the best game you'll ever play. Hands down.
  87. JasonK.
    Jan 14, 2008
    10
    This is the first Zelda game I ever played when I first played it I fell in love with it. Even after ten years I still consider it the best game of all time. I remmber how intimidated I was when I first fought Ganon I thought'Theres no way I can beat that!'.I truly did not want this game to end. It revolutionized gaming and without it gaming would'nt be like it is now.The This is the first Zelda game I ever played when I first played it I fell in love with it. Even after ten years I still consider it the best game of all time. I remmber how intimidated I was when I first fought Ganon I thought'Theres no way I can beat that!'.I truly did not want this game to end. It revolutionized gaming and without it gaming would'nt be like it is now.The Legend Of Zelda Ocarina Of Time is truly a master piece. Expand
  88. ThomasPshyk
    Dec 20, 2008
    10
    There is nothing that can be said about this game that has not been said already, perfection is what it is. From the second you see Link waking up and you begin to explore the village, to when you get to the start screen and see the clouded world map and all the slots for more weapons and items, to when you get to your first dungeon, you don't know what to say, its just such a good There is nothing that can be said about this game that has not been said already, perfection is what it is. From the second you see Link waking up and you begin to explore the village, to when you get to the start screen and see the clouded world map and all the slots for more weapons and items, to when you get to your first dungeon, you don't know what to say, its just such a good game I don't know how there is nothing that comes close to this game yet (sure score wise there are games that come close but game play wise good luck). This game should be pulled apart bit by bit (pun intended =P) to discover how perfection is achieved. Those who rate this game lower than a 9 at the absolute minimum missed something in the game, and those of you giving 0-2, do you have any taste at all? I still remember when I first got the 3 gems together at the temple of time and went rocketing into the future and step into the town square surrounded by zombies, I called up all my friends telling them of my achievement, you could almost say I was way to happy for what I had accomplished. I have so many fond memories of this game that I will definitely pass this down to my kids. Long live The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, for you have earned your spot in the halls of time. Expand
  89. JayP.
    May 28, 2008
    10
    Best Game ever, hands down.
  90. PriM
    Nov 22, 2009
    10
    I'm playing this game for nearly 5 years now and i have completed this game nearly 50-60 times, still i cant resist playing it. Its unique characters and a marvelous storyline meets all the requirements to be a perfect game.
  91. Harry
    Dec 14, 2009
    10
    Gaming perfection. This stands among an elite selection of games against which all other games should be judged.
  92. OlduvaiJ.
    Dec 29, 2005
    10
    Best game ever, it made me feel as if I was actually in hyrule, something that not that many games make me feel. Quirky memorable characters, an amazing plot, a difficulty level honed to perfection, this is my only perfect 10.
  93. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Call us crazy, but when the final version of Zelda 64 arrived in the IGN64 offices, we stopped working, locked ourselves into a room with a big-screen TV and a surround system and played 17 hours straight. After only a few hours of sleep, we were back for more and we couldn't stop until we finished the game. Then, we started over again to find all the secrets. Expand
  94. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    I played this game 13 years after its release and I can say that it definitely deserves a perfect score. Everthing comes together so well the game is very long, has an awesome world with a variety of settings, great puzzles, has a very epic story and ending and one thing that stood out for me is that the game is very rewarding, if one takes ones time exploring, collecting and doing sideI played this game 13 years after its release and I can say that it definitely deserves a perfect score. Everthing comes together so well the game is very long, has an awesome world with a variety of settings, great puzzles, has a very epic story and ending and one thing that stood out for me is that the game is very rewarding, if one takes ones time exploring, collecting and doing side missions one will get stronger and acquire things that simply make the game easier and by the end fight you will actually feel powerful after those many hours spent preparing.One of the best games i have ever played.10/10. Expand
  95. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    An amazing game for the N64. I am having trouble understanding all of the negative reviews. But (if they could think straight) the authors of the negatives would see that know one gives a crap about their reviews and 1 in 50 agree with them. I first played this game at my friends house and played it a little too long (judging by my bloodshot eyes and red face). After that, I purchased theAn amazing game for the N64. I am having trouble understanding all of the negative reviews. But (if they could think straight) the authors of the negatives would see that know one gives a crap about their reviews and 1 in 50 agree with them. I first played this game at my friends house and played it a little too long (judging by my bloodshot eyes and red face). After that, I purchased the GameCube remake and had just as much fun. Expand
  96. Aug 18, 2011
    10
    The ultimate and definitive Zelda. Everything that Majora's Mask, The Wind Waker, and (especially) Twilight Princess are, they owe to Ocarina of Time.
  97. May 30, 2013
    10
    If I had to choose one game to play in my lifetime, this is it, no contest.
    This is a landmark in not just gaming, but art as a whole, and deserves recognition as such.
  98. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    It's simply a win. There is nothing else to it. Read whaT EVERYBODY ELSE SAID! They have covered it all. But if you don't get this game, i'll find you.
  99. Feb 24, 2013
    10
    The game that is considered by many the greatest of all time. I am just thankful to have witnessed this epic adventure back then and i´ll never forget the experience that i have made with OoT.
  100. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    The highest scoring game on Metacritic and every other review site/magazine/etc, and it's no lie. The story, gameplay, pace and every other factor cohere in a way that makes OoT an amazing adventure that will never be forgotten. Screwed into the golden side of gaming history through unbreakable forces, The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is a masterpiece to be respected by gamers andThe highest scoring game on Metacritic and every other review site/magazine/etc, and it's no lie. The story, gameplay, pace and every other factor cohere in a way that makes OoT an amazing adventure that will never be forgotten. Screwed into the golden side of gaming history through unbreakable forces, The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is a masterpiece to be respected by gamers and non-gamers as art. Expand
Metascore
99

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. 100
    This is, without a doubt, one of the all-time greatest games made. 50 years from now people will still be playing and enjoying this game... thoroughly.
  2. This Zelda adventure will undoubtedly withstand the test of time and take its place as one of the best games to ever grace a home system.
  3. My favorite game of all Time. It is the perfect example of a perfect and polished game. Every aspect of the game is virtually flawless.