User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 1789 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 8, 2014
    10
    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is no less than the greatest game ever made in my opinion. It is, and probably always will be, my favorite video game. I first played this when I was 7 and since then I have probably beaten this game close to 20 times and every time I play it, I still love it. The songs are unforgettable, the dungeons are spectacular (even the Water Temple), and the characters are great. This game set the standard for all those after it; the best Zelda game and the best action-adventure game ever. Games today cannot compare to Ocarina of Time. Expand
  2. Jun 30, 2014
    10
    Ahh the memories, I can't really write an in depth review on this one due to just how long ago it was I played this but I can remember absolutely loving it. I've not really got into a Zelda game since (I'm more of a Mario man really) but this was the first time a video-game really immersed me in a story. I was challenged and wowed on every corner and will always remember this as one of the highlights of my video-game career. The music still gives me goosebumps, taking me back to when I used to play this as a wee nipper. A beautiful game and thoroughly deserving of the praise it keeps on getting. Expand
  3. Jun 29, 2014
    10
    This game has helped shape the gaming industry, with new game mechanics like Z targeting and the amount of world you can make. Along with "Half Life" showed that games can be works of art, even surpassing books and movies, with the use of great scenery and story telling. People today criticize this game saying it is overrated and we only like it because of our nostalgia. Honestly they are sort of corrected, but they forget about the time period this game came out there was nothing like it and even today we still see ideas take from it into future games. This game features some of the most memorable soundtracks of all time. Most gamers can identify almost any song played from this game. Also this was one of the best games during the era. Including some of the best dungeons and bosses of any of the other games. Overall if you never played this game you really should, but remember you have to keep in mind that this game is almost sixteen years old. If you can keep that in mind it is one of the best gaming experiences ever created. Expand
  4. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    Ic zér só gut ez egy nagyon kifinumult jatek lehet regi de azert sukar de ráadásul nem is rossz érted vegyed megfele ... most azonnal mert ezegy regi jatek de joooo
  5. Jun 19, 2014
    10
    There's a reason this is considered by many as the greatest game of all time. It is not only the quintessential zelda game, but the greatest adventure ever created.
  6. Jun 5, 2014
    10
    This is the game that really got me into video games in the first place. It will forever be one of the greatest masterpieces of all time. It has everything you could ever want; fighting, collecting, puzzles, leveling up, dungeons, mini-games, a good story, and creative characters. If you haven't played it, you haven't truly lived. It's the best.
  7. May 30, 2014
    4
    Lots of Zelda fans claim Ocarina of Time is the best Zelda, if not the best game of all time, I strongly disagree, I played up until the Fire Temple and I just couldn't finish, the game itself was boring and the world ws empty, the only places that were there were places you needed to be for the main storyline, the game lacked in charm and felt dull and bland. My favorites in the series, (Twilight Princess and Windwaker) were much better, Ocarina of Time feels linear, the puzzles are easy, the temples are uncreative and the game just doesn’t pull me in and get me hokked on it like TP or WW, so to be honest, Ocatina of Time is really, really overated. Expand
  8. May 29, 2014
    10
    BEST GAME OF ALL TIME. I have speed runed it on a crazy time. i have finished it 50 times + not even kidding. it's soo damn good. it's even better than conker's bad fur day!!
  9. May 25, 2014
    10
    Graphics: 10 Sound: 10 Gameplay: 10 Fun/Story: 10

    The best game ever. It´s a pure state of art, gorgeous level design, breathtaking sound and pure magic. Thank you Miyamoto.
  10. May 22, 2014
    10
    Anyone who gives this game anything but a perfect 10 is a dirty troll. This is the highest rated game ever, and for good reason. It lasts a long time (which many modern games don't), looked good for its day, and stands the test of time better than any other game in existence. This is the greatest game ever made.
  11. May 22, 2014
    10
    Legendary of course. I love this game no matter how much old it is. Every element of this game is very balanced and fun. Story and those silent character with amazing expressions are truly impressive. I dream it on PC with ultra tech graphics
  12. May 20, 2014
    9
    It came late at the en of 1998 but the game showed modeling superiority over metal gear solid and many other games that came out that year. The graphic detail were amazing; artistic but not the best compare to Banjo Kazooie and sill manages to get a perfect score on graphics. The unique targeting system inspire many games on to the future, using it to attack was oth innovative and unique creating tension to the difficult enemies. The camera showed improvements of viewing the setting of the game but it lack in some places of the game to show the very feet of LINK making it difficult to fight when you are on the edge of a rock, etc. But I both criticize the climbing to be bad to prevent a hit from an obstacle or enemy but also like it from showing the A button to climb a very innovative game indeed. Plus the 60 hour long game makes you forgive th game from not speaking it's a great adventure recommended for children tha like puzzles and swords I GAVE IT GAME OF THE YEAR= 9.255 by a close call to METAL GEAR 9.254. Expand
  13. May 15, 2014
    10
    The score probably tells you exactly what I think of the game already, but I'll elaborate a little more. I don't think the game has aged perfectly, and I do acknowledge that some of the later games are more polished in some areas. But I think it not being perfectly polished is to be expected. It had the extremely difficult task of taking a series that had been in 2D and translating it into 3D, and it had to make sure that it kept the elements that made its predecessors good while also bringing new elements and innovations of its own. The end result, nothing short of a masterpiece. It got so many things right on the first try it's rather staggering, and it's small wonder that it was so highly acclaimed when it came out. And while there are some flaws, and it hasn't aged perfectly, overall it has withstood the test of time. It's a classic, and no Zelda that has come out since has had quite the same impact. Expand
  14. May 1, 2014
    10
    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is a gorgeous master piece that can be played again and again. In the land of Hyrule, you, as a young boy, discover that your destiny is greater than most. As you venture out to save Hyrule, many obstacles, enemies, and puzzles with confront you on your quest.

    Ocarina of Time is a true treasure in the gaming world. Some moments of it seem awkward,
    but with those aside, it truly stands as one of the best games ever made. At the time, with it's graphics, game play and story, it truly did stand above the rest. And today, it still does. Challenging, puzzling, and fun. The Legend of Zelda series is a beautiful series, and this game is the pinnacle of that treasure. The story is brilliant, game play is easy to learn and has a high replay value. Ten out of ten. Expand
  15. May 1, 2014
    10
    Games can't get as good as this, and beats most of the new games. For any retro gamer, this game would be one that you will be playing again and again. A masterpiece of gaming and art.
  16. Apr 28, 2014
    10
    This is an awesome game and will always be my favorite game. no matter how many times i play it. I don't care what you think but i love the graphics. I think the remake for the 3Ds suck(In my opinion).
  17. Apr 25, 2014
    10
    TenOuttaTen TenOuttaTen TenOuttaTen TenOuttaTen TenOuttaTen TenOuttaTen TenOuttaTen TenOuttaTen TenOuttaTen TenOuttaTen TenOuttaTen TenOuttaTen TenOuttaTen TenOuttaTen
  18. Apr 18, 2014
    10
    If you're going to say something like 'this game has not aged well', then just don't. This is the original N64 version released back in 1998, it wouldn't have aged at all. Its story and gameplay, while simple by today's standards, was the best of the best back in its day. Remember that not many games back then had such a grand story, not to mention complex gameplay.
  19. Apr 15, 2014
    10
    I usually write longer, more detailed reviews than this, but nothing i can say hasn't already been said by anybody who has played this game and has half a mind. This game is Flawless. The only game i would ever give an 11/10 to. Everything from the level design to the music to the story and characters to the game play to the massive amount of content packed into the cartridge is perfect. The only thing i can complain about is now the graphics and the inventory system are a bit dated. But when these are the only things to complain about in a 15+ year old game, then you know its a masterpiece. While this isn't my personal favorite Zelda, it may be technically the best one. The only people giving this game a 7 and below are A) Fanboys of other zelda games or B) Fanboys of other consoles that wouldn't know a true masterpiece if it hit them in the head like a bullet from the gun of a generic FPS. If you're debating getting this game whether it be on the VC, the 3ds version or an actual N64 cartridge any fan of the action/adventure genre should play this game. And if you're a Zelda fan and haven't played this game, then the first part of this sentence is a lie. Expand
  20. Apr 14, 2014
    7
    The game is pretty good. I will say that. But it really isn't the best game of all time. I'm not going to criticize the graphics, because although they look primitive now, they were good at the time. To be honest, the graphics were amazing for the time, and are still usable today.The music is brilliant and really fits in with the game."But!" I hear you scream at me from a passing car: "Why have you given it a 7 out of ten then?" And I will tell you why.
    1: The inventory system. Now, sure, it is good that the game even HAS an inventory system, but it is incredibly slow.There is nothing more annoying than when fighting an adorable deku shrub, you have to pause the game, and equip something. Surely there could have been an easier way to do this?
    2:The dungeons. The dungeons are awful. Lots of people will disagree, but The dungeons seem to repeat themselves. Solve a puzzle with a torch, open a door. Solve a puzzle with a moveable block, open a door. And the water dungeon? Wow. That was just an awful level.You have to agree on this.Possibly one of the worst levels ever.
    3: The age rating!! I remember playing this when I was about 5, the game being a 3+, or an E for everyone.So, I happily ran through kokiri village, trying to get to the deku tree. I was cautious when I got in. The music was pretty creepy, to say the least. I progressed, though, and slowly creeped my way around . Then, guess what? a huge spider jumped down from the ceiling! I sprinted downstairs! My Dad had to do the level for me! I was also scared of the stalchild.But, anyway, the village next to hyrule was my favourite place. I loved it. I wasn't bothered about the poe's that used to come out to the graveyard at night. I was curious, and decided to enter a house. House of skulltula. It was dark and quite creepy. Ominous music played. I had the courage to move forward. Suddenly, a 5 meter long skulltula Popped down from the ceiling! I screamed and wouldn't play it for days! Make it a 7+!
    Expand
  21. Apr 7, 2014
    8
    It's a good game but I don't think it's the best game of all time like a lot of fanboys like to indicate. It isn't even the best game on the n64. That honor goes to golden eye. I think Majora's mask was better. As far as greatest games ever I think Final fantasy 7, Mass Effect 2, Skyrim, Mario, GTA 5, and Metal Gear Solid are all much better. I also think A Link To The Past is better than this.
  22. Mar 31, 2014
    10
    This is still one of the greatest, if not THE greatest, games of all time. I have beaten this game countless times and it never gets old. The story is enchanting and the music is a masterpiece. How many games are so thought out that you must go back in time to finish certain dungeons? This is greatness in it's finest form. Go buy an n64 and buy this game. I cannot recommend this game enough. My kids will play this game before they play any xbox or ps games. Expand
  23. Mar 31, 2014
    8
    this game is very good, but not the best game of all time, its a little too open ended sometime, hyrule field, the main open area of the game, is kinda bland, with not a lot to do in between places. it does have a great story and awesome controls, and a lot of different weapons ans items to chose from, and challenging dungeons. like i said its a great game and it still holds up even today, but a bit overrated, maybe the most overrated game of all time?, come get me fanboys Expand
  24. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    The Most fun Action/Adventure Game Nintendo has made for the players of Nintendo. I Give this game a Supreme Master Piece i'd like to give it a 11/10. and why the Negative scores this game is a Masterpiece
  25. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    There's a special magic to this game that cannot be matched, even to this day. In all my years of gaming, playing everything from CoD to Final Fight, from Banjo Kazooie to League of Legends, from Final Fantasy Tactics and Mother to Fallout III and Fire Emblem: Awakening, across two decades of gaming, there has never been a game as perfectly put together as this one. Every pixel in this game is a legacy in and of itself and leaves a truly lasting impression, a LANDMARK in the mind to any who have experienced it. What is there to say about this game, truly? Well simply put, it is a masterpiece. Like the Mona Lisa, or Michelangelo's David. A Truly beautiful work of art that deserves to be recognized with full acclaim as something that shaped the future of all art of its kind and stands to this day as a testimony to the power and creative spirit that goes into the creation of Video Games. The story is simple, though not as simple as it initially seems. The world is chalk full of hidden bits that scream of a deeper mysticism binding this world, from the simple and obvious Hyrule Field skeletons to the subtle and beautiful spinning of the whimsical-but-also-dark Windmill Hut, appropriately dubbed "?". The music is simply majestic, from the haunting trills of the Forest Temple and its distorted Link screams to the fantastic, iconic... LEGENDARY ocarina songs. The graphics were unbelievable for the time... and honestly... the only part that doesn't hold up to this day is the texture resolution as the models are decent. They're not cutting edge, but everything animates smoothly and looks nice, with smooth arcs, etc. The story is classic, iconic... legendary.. and even takes a decent amount of twisting and turning. The gameplay is immaculate and perfectly executed, with the series' best (in my opinion) puzzles combined with the smooth and fantastic difficulty curve lead the player to be immersed in the pleasing swordplay and item based advancement.

    In short, Ocarina of Time still holds up to this day, standing the test of time to be, in this humble player's opinion, still the greatest game ever made. In all the years since, no game has managed to top it and I don't think one ever will.
    Expand
  26. Mar 19, 2014
    9
    Uno de los mejores zeldas jamas creado,una historia que te tiene atado hasta el final de juego,unos controles que no son tan comodos,pero te adaptas despues de semanas, un 9,lo unico que no me gusto ademas del control,fue a la molesta Navi diciendote HEY,LISTEN!,HEY,LISTEN! al inicio del juego
  27. Mar 14, 2014
    10
    The best game in the franchise. It was made at the best time of Nintendo. I'd buy a Nintendo 64 and a cartridge of this game without any doubt, only to remember the good times.
  28. Mar 14, 2014
    10
    by far my favorite game. it's pretty long, has amazing dungeons, sidequests, bosses, enemies, characters, items, story, AND gameplay. I recommend this to everyone. hands-down.
  29. Mar 14, 2014
    8
    Even though I have played through this twice now I really can't see why this is the best game ever, but I still had fun with it and it is something I can definitely recommend to anyone who wants a good adventure game
  30. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    played this game a lot when was younger... just got an emulator to play it again... I still love it... people need to remember that this game was created in 1998, not 2014. We have come a huge way since then in graphics. The game it self is still one of my top favorites and I think will be the only game with a perfect score. those that voted with a "0" ether didn't play the game all the way or are just hating on Zelda in general. I bet I bet if there is a remake, It will be the best game of all time Expand
  31. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Ocarina of Time is a legendary video game that all gamers should have in their possession. It truly is one of the best adventure games ever made. Playing this game was an honor.
  32. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    This game have all Music, nice gameplay a good history I consider this like ones of the best of the gaming
    a Masterpiece also I can still so many times, The legend of zelda one of the best sagas but Ocarina the best game, thank you miyamoto, thank you nintendo
  33. Mar 6, 2014
    10
    This game its amazing, since the start any gamer would see this as a great piece of art. The dungeons have a great intuitive way to solve puzzles and the history shows great dynamic.
  34. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    Ocarina of time is easily one of my favorite games ever. It was my first Zelda and its also my favorite. Everyone giving this game a score below a 6 either doesn't know what a good game is or just hates Nintendo for no reason.
  35. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    This is the best game of all time.. Any system, any time. HANDS DOWN. PERIOD! So good. If you are really playing this game for the first time, play it on the 3ds. It's so beautiful, challenging, engaging... It's just the best.
  36. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    Apart from getting lost all the time, I enjoyed the action, story and adventure in this game. It's aged well and is just the right length of time to not start dragging. I can still see why it became a classic even if it's not one of mine.
  37. Feb 6, 2014
    10
    Is this the best video game of all time? I personally think some of the newer RPG's like Fallout and Skyrim do it better, but that's just my opinion. Great story, characters, hell, everything is great about this damn game. Perfect game, up their with Super Mario 64 and GoldenEye007 for best N64 game ever.
  38. Feb 5, 2014
    10
    Truly a masterpiece! This game encompasses the true soul of the Zelda franchise. The feeling of adventure, peril and overwhelming responsability for the wellbeing of the land of Hyrule has a well thought out and everlong presence in this installment of the Zelda series. Some may claim nostalgia glasses, yet; comparing this game to a new age release really points out the obvious flaws in present day game design. 10/10! Expand
  39. Jan 20, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game was amazing, I still remember the time I finished this game it was the best thing that can ever happen in my Childhood. There is a reason why this game is the best. Expand
  40. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    In my opinion this is the best game of all time one thing Nintendo does is make you care about characters. It tells an extremely complex tale with some serious messages yet does it in simple ways. The puzzles are still impressive today and the gameplay set the foundation for nearly every game with 3D combat since then it has lots of secrets and some of the best boss battles of all time.
  41. Jan 7, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. okay I'm no hater but... Ocarina of Time is OVERRATED! im not saying it's bad but it's not too good either. I'm no hater I really do like this game it's just people have only been criticizing Zelda games ONLY to this game! Majora's Mask came oh no one liked it because it was only compared to OoT! And Majora's Mask is MUCH better than Ocarina. The Oracle games come out, it's only compared to OoT. AGAIN. Wind Waker, Four Swords, Minish Cap? All such underrated games cuz OoT. I understand that people love this game but it's been 18 years since this game came out. Also it wasn't original. Oh. Same villain as the last 4 games, oh look time travel, seven sages, a princess that Link has never even met before. Also they really just made it REALLY obvious on what the sages are. The first and second they just tell you, the third is trying to take your place and save his people, the fourth you know who it is she's a water lady going to the water temple, the fifth is also given to you, the sixth the Gerudos tell you, and the seventh was pretty obvious. I mean CLEARLY Shiek was Zelda. Expand
  42. Dec 28, 2013
    9
    Though not quite perfect, Ocarina of Time does suffer a bit (as with all N64 era games, some more so than others) from 3D controls, odd camera angles, and blurred textures. But all that aside, it is still one of the most accessible, enjoyable, and memorable Nintendo games to date.
  43. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    My favorite game. The game was Zelda first step into the 3D world. The graphics, at the time were extremely good, the world was very vast. The music in the game is excellent, the gameplay is excellent, the story is excellent. This game is as close as you'll ever get to being perfect. I genuinely think its a solid 10/10 rating.
  44. Dec 20, 2013
    8
    Yeah it was a bestselling game, and it was the first 3D Zelda game... but that doesn't make it great. The camera sucks sometimes, the controls are sketchy, the graphics are pretty bad and you spend almost as much time listening to that f***ing owl and Navi as you do in the Water Temple. But, hey, at least the rest of the game was good.
  45. Dec 18, 2013
    10
    Definitely worth all of its praise. This classic gives me the best feeling of nostalgia and delivers on great gameplay, tricky puzzles and artistic landscape. I don't see myself ever getting tired of this game!
  46. Dec 16, 2013
    10
    Best Zelda game ever made that introduced the 3D world and several items that would be part of the further games. If you are a Zelda fan it is a mandatory game to have in your collection.
  47. Dec 11, 2013
    7
    I know you won't believe this, it's hard to accept i know, but this game does not get a 10/10. I know the gods of gaming will smite me where i stand, but that's just how it is.
    Browsing the scores on this site, i get the feeling the hardcore fans don't understand what a 10/10 means. "despite it's flaws, its a great game. 10/10" this is not at all what a 10/10 is for. a 10/10 signifies
    perfection, a word lost in a language that overuses powerful words to the point of them becoming meaningless. A perfect game has no flaws, so if some review site or some person gives a game a 10/10, I completely ignore them and all they have to say about the game, because rational thought has left their brain pan before the conversation started.
    "but what about the game, you blasphemous old crone?" you watch your tongue, you. I'm getting to that.
    lets start this by saying I'm new to the N64 and the Zelda franchise, I bought my console and a bunch of games a couple of years ago because i wanted to know what all the fuss was about, "ocarina of time" this, "goldeneye" that. I thought i was really missing something, and i was! i have N64 parties and just play games all night, its loads of fun to just mariokart and goldeneye all night.
    But this ocarina, I don't know about it. I was struggling to stay focused, the camera angles and ambiguous graphics, not to mention the outrageously laughable controller really takes it's toll on the fun-o-meter. i simply can't have fun when I'm frustrated with the basic elements of game design.
    The point of a good game, i think, is to be good regardless of age. ultima 4, super mario bros. and populous weren't just good in the 80s, they are still classics and staples of good game design. nostalgia is not an adequate reason to be a great game. i played some games i thought were awesome as a child, and replaying them, I still enjoy them. But as i got older, i started breaking the mechanics and general game structure down and analyzing them, those games wouldn't really hold up. If i gave someone a copy of that game and told him it's the best game of all time, i don't think he would agree with me.
    But anyway, aside from the obvious problems with camera angles and the god awful controls, which were far better than most N64 titles, i went on my way. I found the plot hooks very weak and unattractive, and the villain had very poor motivations. The dungeons were fairly easy, but there were some "WTF that's what i supposed to do?" moments, which are never good in any game. the combat mechanics, are surprisingly good! the programmers could wrestle with this beast of a controller and actually accomplish something nearly usable with it. so i appreciate the effort for that. most of the puzzles are fine, but some require trial-and-error to accomplish, which defeats the purpose of a puzzle, you may as well roll a die if that's how its going to work. the jumping puzzles sometimes like to bite you in the ass, but overall i've seen worse.
    It's not that the game is bad, its not, its just not that good. its just OK. its just a run of the mill psuedo-rpg that lots of people happen to have nostalgic connection to. its got a charm to it that is matched by other games. The datedness of it gives a sterile and bland aura to it, buts that's just it. bland. I simply couldn't be bothered playing it anymore, it just got too unengaging and i just stopped playing and that was it.
    overall It's worth a try, maybe you will be one of the many followers of it, but this game has not aged well at all. But what do i know, go out there and find games you do like and stop reading this silly review.
    but seriously, i enjoy listening to the music more than the game.
    9/10 music
    6/10 visuals
    8/10 game play
    6/10 story
    4/10 re-playability
    5/10 atmosphere
    6/10 controls
    Expand
  48. Dec 7, 2013
    10
    One of the best games of all time. Great gameplay. Good graphics (for its time). Being the first 3D zelda game it was really a step forward. The story is terrific as well.
  49. Dec 7, 2013
    10
    This game is absolutely brilliant. A game that deserves monument. So all people who gives score 0, please go away!
    Ocarina of TIme is the beast game ever made, and GTA V are not.
  50. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    This is the best game ever created. Games today although graphically superior still all pale in comparison to how high this one set the bar at the time. Shame on you for giving it a 0/10. I'm sorry that you deprived yourself of this once in a lifetime experience, or never got to experience it, but don't rage against it for such a stupid reason.
  51. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well... I've just finished Ocarina of Time (100% I might add) for the first time ever. It's a great game! However, there are a few flaws. Thankfully, those flaws don't mean you shouldn't pick the game up right now and play it! First of all, the shops. They serve absolutely no purpose. I have gotten through the whole game without ever buying anything unnecessary from the shops. I did need healing and magic, though, but you always have a fairy ready somewhere to trap in a jar, so that's the only heal you'll ever need. And you're always full on magic, except the last battle, so there's no use for the magic potions. As for the cold fire, spiders and fish, you get those too! I got a giant's wallet pretty early, but I was always full on rupees. I think I wasted about 4 times the rupees I actually got by just taking them while my wallet was full. Speaking of rupees, that renders the reward for the biggest collectathon ever absolutely useless! Like getting 99 lives in Mario 64. It was satisfying finding all the spiders. As for the last battle, it's disappointing, to say the least. You HAVE TO HAVE the magic upgrade, and you can't waste any magic on missing, or testing. If you run out of magic, you have to either reset or kill yourself, wasting all the fairies you saved for the battle. Ganon was ok, I guess. I only felt the need to use a bombchu once in the entire game, which was stupid considering how much attention is given to those things. Also, Navi and Kepora Gebora. Those are truly the only problems in the entire game. It was a visceral experience from start to finish. I loved the music, the battle system, the items, the characters, the weapons, the quests, everything. I especially loved how you can't miss ANYTHING! You can get absolutely everything, anytime you want! (Except after the final battle, but you don't need it then anyway). I loved playing the ocarina freestyle, so the scarecrow song was a really cool thing. The ending kinda made me sad. All those people you helped, met, loved, like they never knew you in the first place. Still, every Ocarina song will stay in my heart, I will never forget any of the beautiful melodies I was taught. Thank you Shigeru Miyamoto. For reference, I'm 16 and this was my first encounter with the game. Please play it. Expand
  52. Nov 23, 2013
    10
    I still love playing this game even today.

    It's classic Zelda, but revamped to 3-D for the first time. It's reinvented the way we do gaming with the lock-on targeting. The dungeons are great, and the quest is lengthy, with many hidden secrets. Not to mention that this game arguably has the Legend of Zelda's best soundtracks, it should be on any gamers list of must plays.
  53. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    The best video game of ALL THE TIME for me. Best memory of my childhood with A Link To The Past and Majora's Mask. This game is epic. PLAY IT, PLAY IT AGAIN
  54. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    El juego perfecto. Insuperable por lo que supuso. No habrá nunca una revolución igual. Lo mejor de la época y un espejo en el que miran los juegos de ahora. Seguirá en lo mas alto por siempre
  55. Nov 9, 2013
    9
    Firstly, allow me to state an absolute that I'll probably get downvoted to Oblivion for pointing out: This game is, in a very obvious sense, overrated. This, however, has no correlation with its quality; I simply mean to make the fact apparent that some 10/10 reviews, well, shouldn't be as inflated as they are despite the amazing quality of this game. And anyone saying that "people voting 8's or 7's are idiots" are really nothing more than just stubborn giga-fans. That being said, my critique is as follows:

    There's no denial that this game is a great experience for apt Zelda fans. It presents a wonderful, new environment to the player, an arguably mega-fluid combat system, a light, yet invest-worthy engine, and most of all, a mood-setter that can be matched by few other games. Immersion is in near totality, with its only shortcomings being the limitations of the time. There's little that can be said against the game.

    However, there is in fact, even in this masterpiece, room for some error:
    The main problem in the game, though not overwhelmingly prominent, is the slight feeling of emptiness associated with plot-carrying. If you choose to look at it standalone, there is a present problem in the fact that the game never truly reaches the point that you feel the overwhelming need to "push on" towards the end-result (which I'll not spoil). You feel, rather than working with Link to reach a goal, that you're watching the story play out for you. The problem with deciding the factoring of this error into a numeric review is the fact that the fault of this is halfway between the creators themselves, but also the simple limitations of the time. The only thing that's stopping me from giving this a full 10/10 is the likely possibility that this error could have been fixed, or at least improved with more consideration into immersion, no matter the era. And to be fair, a 10/10 implies a perfect game. Meaning there would be NO POSSIBILITY for ANY improvement in the game, which this game barely falls short of.

    There's not much more to say. This is, arguably, one of the greatest games ever made, and is near-perfect aside from it's minor immersion flaw. But I'd recommend this game to anyone in a heartbeat. The environment, the gameplay, the whole feeling of it is just about as close to near-flawless as a game could be at that era.
    Expand
  56. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    This is the best game I've ever played. Ever. It should come with a warning label that says, "Every game after this will feel like a slight disappointment." It's story is wonderful, and has plenty of undertones that add depth to a seemingly simple storyline. The game play is perfect. Puzzles are challenging but not impossible, the open world is fun to explore, and Link's arsenal of weapons provides a variety of playing styles.

    This is my favorite game of all time, and I feel like everyone should be given the chance to play this masterpiece.
    Expand
  57. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    Best game ever made. And I dont think any game even comes close to it.

    Story is perfect, sound/music is spot on, environment is well made and the graphics were sensational at the time.

    I cant come up with anything that was negative with this game. Such great memories.
  58. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    Ocarina of time is easily one of the greatest games ever made. The pacing is perfect, the dungeons are phenominal and the bosses are fantastic. 10/10 no doubt about it
  59. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    I think it's funny that you have Zelda haters writing reviews based on their personal feelings towards the game, as opposed to how the game play actually was for them. Ocarina of Time was one of the single greatest games ever created. It set a precedence for future games. The graphics were unrivaled at the time, the game actually took real skill to beat it at times. In other words, it wasn't something that you would pick up, beat in an hour, and never look at again. I can still pick this game up, and still play through it while enjoying every single second of it. Expand
  60. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    Poetic, beautiful, clever, creative, funny, creepy,... this game plays with your feelings just like the best films and books do.
    A unique and extremely powerful adventure that every person claiming he is a gamer should have played to.
    Ocarina of Time is and always will be the best game ever made.
    Every game has a story, but only one is a legend.
  61. Oct 30, 2013
    7
    Yes I will not deny this is a good game.Maybe even a great game,But I think a lot of people talking about this game are blinded by nostalgia and it simply came out at the right time.
  62. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    Verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, verry, good game
  63. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    This game here is basically the best game ever made. Sure you may have your opinions but it's pretty much agreed worldwide that this game is perfect and deserves the praise it gets. The story, the gameplay, the fights, the bosses, the soundtrack, and pretty much everything else is perfect, Everyone should get the chance to experience this masterpiece.
  64. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    Ocarina of time is the best n64 best game and the best adventure game of ever.
    an Excellent soundtrack with unforgables melodies,an excellent story. a innovative game with a perfect gameplay and a great open world.
    a masterpiece...
    a legend of nintendo
  65. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    one of the best games of all time
    ignore the reviews by the trolls (ie all the ones in the red)
    without any doubt in my mind, this was my favorite game growing up, and it wasnt until i was around the age of 13 that i actually finished it.
    i popped it in recently, and it STILL lives up to its reputation, Graphics dont make a good game, sure Majoras Mask looks better, but without focusing
    on side quests, OOT is much longer and gives you more playtime and replay value.
    a total of 10 dungeons, Memorable bosses and plot points.
    EVEN without the Promised Ura Zelda Addon (that WAS said to have been finished by miyamoto on autust 25th on a tvshow back in 2000, but added no plans to release it) this game is pretty solid on its one.
    Expand
  66. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    I remember when this game came out.. my friend got it, and all 5 of us played taking turns to save the kingdom. after countless hours and a sleepless night at 7am the next morning we had beaten the game. no small feat and it took 5 minds to help solve everything. I must say that is by far and away the funnest time i have ever had on a video game bar none this games story is just insanely awesome.. and i dub it the BEST VIDEO GAME OF ALL TIME! Expand
  67. Oct 9, 2013
    9
    Ah ocarina of Time, a classic in the eyes of many. Ocarina of Time is the type of game that is timeless. It's hard to even put a finger on what makes it timeless. Maybe the way it controls or they way you feel when you travel across hyrule or play a song on your ocarina. It's something you have to experience for yourself to understand what I mean. I know there are a lot of haters out there who automatically hate the game because of the praise it gets and I totally understand how something being so overrated can turn you off completely, I feel the same way about a lot of things. But before you make your final consensus, at least give the game 4 or 5 dungeons of your time before you truly decide it's not for you. And in the chance it's not for you at least you could give an educated reason why you don't like it instead of hating it because of the fan base. To wrap things up Ocarina of time is very enjoyable experience. It's not the best game of all time but It gets the job done. Expand
  68. Oct 3, 2013
    10
    I did chuckle at some of the bad reviews involving a moan about Navi and the graphics. These people obviously don't have the balls to finish it, or the brains to. They belong to the Playstation generation, and as far away from Hyrule as possible.

    Still after all these years (and it's been a few) it's the greatest game of all time. Graphics aside you can't make this game any better than
    it already is. There is no story in any other game that will grab you and pull you in like this one. Traveling forwards and backwards through time is just pure genius and it's a journey that everyone should experience until the end.

    So many legendary moments that help this game cement itself as the greatest there ever was. Brilliant ingenious weapons and a targeting system that was way ahead of it's time. Plenty of fun side quests to do along the way if you fancy a change from the main storyline. The main temples are challenging but satisfying as you progress, Nothing beats the feeling of completing the water temple for the first time.

    The world of Hyrule just seems massive. From Hyrule field and all the temples, how did they squeeze it all on to one N64 cartridge? So many places to explore and secrets to find. Coupled with the excellent catchy soundtrack that you'll be humming along to for days.

    The whole game just builds up the tension and excitement until you find yourself climbing that long staircase with the organ playing in the background to face the final challenge.

    Then when it's all over you must "Go home where you are supposed to be...the way you are supposed to be"

    It's a masterpiece, totally flawless and an unforgettable journey from the beginning to the end. Experience it for yourself and on completion realise that you'll never quite feel the same again.......
    Expand
  69. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    I can belive that some people don't like Zelda games,
    for example i don't like Gta games, but I recognize that in the genre are unbeatable. For this people that rate this game 0 or 1 or 5 are very childish.. because this game, in is genre, is perfect.
    For me, this is the best game of all times, i pleyed this game over 10 times, on N65, Gamecube and 3ds. Of course is a 10/10
  70. LHy
    Sep 28, 2013
    10
    This game is personally the best game I have ever played, In my opinion though, the price is too low! the game deserves a way more higher pricing due to its absolute chaos, in a good way. Loved this game and always will.
  71. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    Its one my 3 favorite games of all time! The difficult its perfect, the history is perfect, the design is perfect, all is perfect! I love this game! :D
  72. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    The legend of Zelda is a beautiful game, good graphics for the time, excellent story, good bosses, a plot magnifies definitely one of the best Zelda games and the world of the story.
  73. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    It's incredible how Nintendo could do such an amazing game with just 25MB and another game developers couldn't do better with 15 GB
    This is the best game ever made...by far
  74. Sep 23, 2013
    10
    I wouldn't change a thing about this game. Lots of content, great art style, great controls, great gameplay, great characters, great story and possibly the best soundtrack of any game. We're now 15 years after this games release and most games coming out still aren't able to candle to this classic. Also, given the nature of the game, it can be enjoyed by a really wide audience.

    It may
    be difficult for new players to try this game out with an open mind given that this games ratings and hype are probably above that of your favorites. Still, if you are really able to overcome this first hurdle, you may very well be in store for one of the most amazing experiences a video game has ever offered you. Expand
  75. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    If you can see how beautiful this game is, it's because you know about amazing and gorgeous histories, this is one of the best games ever created and i think it is one of the best Zelda games ever
  76. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    this game is 90! and still has one of the best stories of all action rpg. was the only reason to buy a nintendo 64 in those years. is the best game :O
  77. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    This is the best game i have ever played, the game got lot of replayability and it will always be just as amazing as the last time you played it, the few bugs here and there are not game breaking and mostly used by speedrunners.
    For a game on the very limited N64 it is extremely beautiful and huge, the atmosphere and story is very gripping and even a young kid can, as in many other
    Nintendo games, play this while still feeling the magic of everything even without perfect understanding of the story. Expand
  78. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    the best game of zelda¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡
  79. Sep 18, 2013
    8
    This is good, but not the "Best game of all time". It has problems. They could have made the overworld have more secrets, and I don't the Stone of Agony (I think that's how you spell it) should have been in the game. To me it ruins the feeling of finding a secret. Also, they way you get the item I just mentioned is tedious. You have to kill spider creatures, and once you kill them a yellowish token will appear, you have to collect a bunch of them and give it to a cursed family. They'll give you rewards for breaking the curse. The item I mentioned is one of the rewards. If those things were magically fixed, then I would have given this a 9/10. Expand
  80. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    That's probably the best game of my childhood. Sometime I wish that i could erase my memory to play this game like I played it the first time. So this game is a 10 out of 10!
  81. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    aahhh my child hood, brings back memories. this game may not be impressive in terms of today but back then it was a masterpiece and took gaming to whole other level
  82. Sep 11, 2013
    2
    I love legend of zelda, but this game almost killed it for me. First of all, NAVI IS SO ANNOYING, this fairy always says stupid things and states the obvious 100% of the time. Second, the intro to this game was horrendous, and the entire first act was annoying. Third, the over world and transportation was annoying. Fourth, the locking system was terrible.

    The second act was good, but
    the first act was so terrible that it ruined the entire experience for me. I don't understand how anyone thinks this game is a masterpiece. The only thing that is good about this game is the story. The overall experience is frustrating at times and some of the bosses are bad as well. I will definitely will NOT recommend this game to anyone. Expand
  83. Sep 1, 2013
    3
    The game honestly has value but aged pretty terribly. Anyone who says its fantastic just has the feeling of nostalgia when the played it as a kid. Me personally only played it once like a month ago. The only thing I liked in the game was the music, and even the music wasn't that good! Legend of Zelda is a thing of the past and people wont realize because it probably resembles your childhood or 2 years of your life. I think when people who like this game play it, they don't open their eyes and realize that the game is boring and lacks something. Expand
  84. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    soundtrack, graphics, playability, story, characters, originality all 100. I don't know whay GTA IV is the first position on the list of best rated games if zelda is 99 and gta IV is 98.
  85. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is a true masterpiece, and a shiny example what Nintendo can actually do (especially nintendo of japan).
    This game is without a doubt the most in depth masterpiece ive ever had the luxury to play, from start to the end its got it all, emotion, playability, storyline, atmosphere, danger, its just taking the biscuit and shoving it right in its gob of the
    n64s power. The game is immense, atmospheric, dangerous, vast. Its such a quest sometimes you are that involved in it you would be forgiven to think your actually there. The climb up the volcano is epic in its own right and thats just the beginning. The graveyard is scary. Get to ride horseback and also see your character grow. The game is incredible and if you own an n64 get it! Expand
  86. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    A masterpiece. The BEST game on the N64 and maybe the best game on a system. If anyone ever tells you why do you like N64 more than PS1, just say "Ocarina of Time"
  87. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    It's a good game, but definitely not the "Best game of all time" The story is okay, the characters are okay. Hyrule Field is basically empty. The only think makes up for those bad-okay things are the dungeons, Z-Targeting, Epona, and some of the mini games. Everything else isn't that great. But It's still a great as a Zelda game and an okay game as any game in general.
  88. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    In my opinion the best game I've ever played. It has a charming plot and characters, an awesome soundtrack, very good graphics for its age.. but above all, that atmosphere that kept you inside the game for hours and hours. While playing it you have that sensation of majesty and solemnity, not easy to explain. If one game must have the title of "masterpiece" I'd choose The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, without a doubt. Expand
  89. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    video game industry described it the best game ever and it was the game of the year. It was his big world, the amazing graphics in that year, the gameplay, the history and the duration it created a game model that companies still use. sry my bad english but if you still doubt my words, prove it 10/10
  90. Aug 13, 2013
    9
    The game is one or maybe is the best game ever made... It had the best graphics of its time and it has a great story to play it provides you a small sandbox where you can buy stuff for your dungeons you some gear and stuff it is the born of rpg game types and its action rpg game. The only thing that might get you to think it is a bad game would be its childish environment. It was a game targeted to kids between 6-13 and It reach others 2 thats the only reason i don't give the game 1 more point. Still the best game I ever played tough. Expand
  91. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    What can I say? The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is a phenomenal game and a great example of what the Nintendo 64 can really do when put to the test. In terms of Zelda games and Nintendo games, it honestly doesn't get much better than this, and for that reason, OoT is still played even today- whether on the GameCube version, or its original outing on the N64. It's definitely up there with my other favorite games on N64, such as Turok 2: Seeds of Evil, except OoT is sitting on the throne, lording over the rest. Expand
  92. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest of all time, nearly perfect in every way: graphics, sound, story and gameplay. It still retains its value years later with every replay.
  93. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    My Favorite Game of All Time, The Legend of Zelda: OoT was my introduction to the series, and since have completed it numerous times and found it to be the all around perfection of Adventure gaming for all Ages.

    But to explain why this means so much, I have to explain the situation the time of this games release, I'm currently 21, I was born back in 1992, and the N64 and PlayStation
    where dominating the market, both having their own stellar titles and being a kid of 6 years old at the time of the game's 1998 release censorship was always unheard of in my family. I was sneaking around a large Military base in my favourite series "Metal Gear Solid" and capping zombies left, right and center in "Resident Evil 2", whilst happily stopping Gruntilda in "Banjo Kazooie" and getting lost in paintings in the superb "Super Mario 64".

    As soon as you load up this Game, The Introduction will NEVER leave your memory, Koji Kondo's Introductory music will attach itself to your brain and along with the cinematic of a young adult riding his horse through the vast Hyrule field sums up everything you need to know that this is going to be quite the Adventure.

    The story involves a young boy living in the woods with other equally aged kids, who is summoned by the forest deity "The Great Deku Tree" who sends the boy named "Link" and his new Companion "Navi" the fairy on a Journey to save the Land of Hyrule and it's Princess "Zelda" from the Evil tyrant "Ganondorf".

    And from there on an Epic tale that spans several years begins, interacting with the many citizens and species of the lands, revisiting them years later to see how their domains have stood the test of time, and of course dungeons and puzzles all expertly crafted around fantastic tools you'll discover and ultimately need to take down some of gaming's most memorable foes.

    Again just writing this down you KNOW this game is Legend, obviously take note that I had not played the superb games in the series beforehand, and this was my introduction to superbly crafted 3-D gaming space suddenly do you realize just how much Ocarina of Time, has raised the bar, set the standard and still to this day is the pinnacle of Adventure Gaming.

    I have to say that I never really had problems with the controls (I heard many people found them clustered), I will admit, I tend to rate things on how well they will stand the test of time, On an unrelated topic "Raiders of the Lost Ark" is my favourite movie as I've seen it countless times and never tire or find boredom in any part of it's running time, that's also this game, not once do I have any bitterness towards any part, I guess on repeated playthroughs did I realize that I couldn't wait to play the 2nd Act of this game where the abundance of development really soaks in.

    Receiving more Items, Learning Ocarina melodies, Dungeon and Cave exploration (I really find myself wanting to play it again right now). It remains just as relevant now as it did 15 years ago...

    Final Verdict: I better end here because in all honesty I could go on forever, it needs to be played to be believed, and I hope anyone reading this "got" how much this game means the way I felt about it years ago and even today. Play it! see the epitome of the Zelda series in all it's glory, many a port exists 10/10. I'm gonna go listen to some Koji Kondo!
    Expand
  94. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    The best game of all time for obvious reasons you can read it from a real reviewer. just wanted to give it my 10, so i have to give 150 charecters i will say this game is where real 3D graphic deep story telling hit the mainstream, then we get the timetravel the boss fights all for its time at the very pinnacle of excellence
  95. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    Please believe me when i say, everyone who rated this game bad, is a troll. This game is the most widely regarded 'best video game ever made'. Play it.
  96. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    Easily a gaming masterpiece and is one of humans greatest technology innovations. Flawless gameplay, story and soundtrack with a incredible feeling through the whole entire game. If you want your kid to experience an excellent example of gaming or anyone for that matter, show them this game.
  97. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    i rarely ever give out 10's to a game but ocarina of time definantly deserves it! fantastic epic story, great temples that will immerse you, wonderful soundtrack, a very climatic final boss battle, everything about this game kicks ass! suuurrreee this story is cliche but the way the story was told was unique and epic! the story about the triforce, link's upbringing, the temple of time, its all beautifully crafted! you really felt like you had to save the world also; ganondorf takes over hyrule and the lands gets taken over by monsters and troubles and threats! you really felt like you had a land to save! ganondorf was the pefect villian in this game! at the time, this was the first time i got revealed to ganondorf so his presence was new and fresh to me; he was powerful and evil and corrupt; you really felt the weight of the world on you shoulders when you finally got to fight the evil gerudo king!

    the only complaint i have about this game was that there was no explanation to ganondorf's evil motives! he was just some evil bad guy who wanted to take over the world! but really there is no explanation for every bad guy we meet in real life and we dont get a detailed description of their life soooooo, nintendo gets a pass on that! lol

    overall the story was new and fresh to me, wonderful story aspects, great characters to meet throughout your adventure, epic final boss fight, epic sub bosses, fantastic immersive temples, epic music!

    PERFECT! 10 OUT OF 10!
    Expand
  98. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    There's a reason why this game is a perfect 10. The graphics for its time were superb, the storyline is great, the gameplay is unbelievably awesome and the soundtrack is the best I've ever heard. That's why it's considered the best game of all time, because besides from being a great game, it's an awesome experience in general. An experience that you will never forget and, since the game has aged really well, will entertain people for years to come. Expand
  99. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    Ocarina of Time is a masterpiece. This game marked the videogame history, there is an era before and after-ocarina of time, and it's because many games have tried to use many of its elements, like the open world, items, etcetera.
    This game is flawless, if you have not played it, you are not a gamer.
    Graphics: 10/10
    Gameplay 10/10
    Presentation: 10/10
    Sound: 10/10
Metascore
99

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. 100
    This is, without a doubt, one of the all-time greatest games made. 50 years from now people will still be playing and enjoying this game... thoroughly.
  2. This Zelda adventure will undoubtedly withstand the test of time and take its place as one of the best games to ever grace a home system.
  3. My favorite game of all Time. It is the perfect example of a perfect and polished game. Every aspect of the game is virtually flawless.