The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time Nintendo 64

The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time Image
Metascore
99

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 3655 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As a young boy, Link is tricked by Ganondorf, the King of the Gerudo Thieves. The evil human uses Link to gain access to the Sacred Realm, where he places his tainted hands on Triforce and transforms the beautiful Hyrulean landscape into a barren wasteland. Link is determined to fix theAs a young boy, Link is tricked by Ganondorf, the King of the Gerudo Thieves. The evil human uses Link to gain access to the Sacred Realm, where he places his tainted hands on Triforce and transforms the beautiful Hyrulean landscape into a barren wasteland. Link is determined to fix the problems he helped to create, so with the help of Rauru he travels through time gathering the powers of the Seven Sages. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Nothing but pure 100% fun, challenging, and lengthy.
  2. [Review Score = 110] What's significant about this convergence of audio, graphics and gameplay is that you are COMPLETELY IMMERSED in Zelda's world. Why? Because everything is meticulously thought out. Each character and event plays a role in a storyline that sprawls like a J.R. Tolkien masterpiece...It's certainly the game of the decade.
  3. Mar 24, 2016
    100
    A slightly flawed masterpiece, but a masterpiece nonetheless.
  4. Weekly Famitsu
    100
    10 / 10 / 10 / 10 - platinum [first ever perfect score]
  5. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    100
    An epic adventure that is among the best N64 games. [Jan 2004, p.189]
  6. This Zelda adventure will undoubtedly withstand the test of time and take its place as one of the best games to ever grace a home system.
  7. Happy Puppy
    Mar 24, 2016
    90
    Realism is one of the major reasons this title is so amazing. After playing for a while it feels as though you have actually been to Hyrule.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 815
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    Absolute perfection. Nothing beats this game. Well, maybe Bioshock. But Ocarina of Time is a cherished nostalgic game to me. May the TriforceAbsolute perfection. Nothing beats this game. Well, maybe Bioshock. But Ocarina of Time is a cherished nostalgic game to me. May the Triforce be with you. Expand
  2. SeanS.
    Aug 9, 2006
    10
    I don't think I can say anything about this game that hasn't already been said, except that anyone who has anything bad to say I don't think I can say anything about this game that hasn't already been said, except that anyone who has anything bad to say about it is either has a personal bias against the game because it has achieved such a huge level of critical acclaim and thier favorite game hasn't, or they have never played it and just want to flame. Instead of going in depth about what makes this game so good, I will just say this... Almost 10 years after it's release, this game is still the absolute greatest. Some games like Metroid Prime and Chrono Cross have come close, but no other game has reached such a level, which can be called nothing other than perfection. Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    Anyone who gives the masterpiece below a 7 or an 8 is either just here to hate on the astounding zelda franchise, doesn't know a DAMN goodAnyone who gives the masterpiece below a 7 or an 8 is either just here to hate on the astounding zelda franchise, doesn't know a DAMN good game or is insane. The dungeons are interesting and unique, the characters are interesting and have personality, the story is highly engaging, the combat is varied, fluid, and fun, the items are amazing, there are a plethora of interesting side quests and collectibles, and considering the fact that this game was made in 1998 the graphics are amazing. The only real downside is that the game is somewhat linear and you can't continue on after beating the final boss, but that doesn't detract from the huge amount of fun I had playing this game. This has to be one of if not the best games ever made just as the others have said. Expand
  4. Jun 5, 2015
    10
    It's the masterpiece. Flawless. Incredible. Fun. Everything you would ever want in a video game. If you never loved this masterpiece andIt's the masterpiece. Flawless. Incredible. Fun. Everything you would ever want in a video game. If you never loved this masterpiece and absolutely incredible game, then start right now. Expand
  5. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    To anyone who has written a negative review of this game. First, congratulations. Second, back it up. It's perfectly okay to say that youTo anyone who has written a negative review of this game. First, congratulations. Second, back it up. It's perfectly okay to say that you think this is the "most boring game ever made." But that doesn't really justify your review of why the game sucks so so much. Back it up buddy.

    Anyhow, I first played this game when I was about 11 or 12 (back when it was released). Quite frankly, whenever I played a game i usually never finished it. I just didn't give a poop. Nothing ever grabbed me. And well guess what. This game did. For some odd reason, I really cared about the fate of Hyrule, and whether or not Link was gonna be okay fighting all these bad guys. Man I tore into this game. It sucked me right in. I've replayed it a dozen times since.

    I'm not a gamer by any stretch, nor do I even really care that much about video games. Certainly not Zelda. But this game really is an anomaly. It turns casual gamers into hard-core players, for all of 40 plus hours. It did for me anyhow.

    If you find yourself, BORED in the game, take a look at if you get bored during other things, and maybe evaluate if it's actually the game that's boring or if it's just your attention span and imagination being very poor. If you don't have the capacity for make believe maybe video games, movies, or books aren't for you. This game is like reading a REALLY good long book. It takes a bit of an investment to complete it. I was 11 when i first beat it, and believe me, I have "finished" or beaten very few things at that age. I'm 26 years old now, and i still remember my first time playing this thing. If it could capture my wimpy 11 year old mind and hold its attention long enough for me to complete the game, then this game deserves the highest rating available.
    Expand
  6. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    This is the single best no not only game but entertainment package. Ever. In my opinion and in many others. For many many many reasons. ThisThis is the single best no not only game but entertainment package. Ever. In my opinion and in many others. For many many many reasons. This game invented targeting systems which has been used my many many many games since. I think it has the best and easiest to grasp and relate too stories in a game ever. Its so simple yet if you want to get into it enough you will notice that nintendo has given you so much depth to read about and explore in the game. IT IS AN EPIC MY FRIENDS. Expand
  7. Jun 23, 2017
    0
    OOT is the worst game ever made. Let's start with the graphics. They're blocky! Minecraft! Come on nintendo, make better graphics, it's 2017!OOT is the worst game ever made. Let's start with the graphics. They're blocky! Minecraft! Come on nintendo, make better graphics, it's 2017! Second off, story. Zelda, the Princess of the Mushroom Kingdom, is kidnapped by LeafyIsHere, and that plot **** sucks! The deku tree dies in the first disc as well! WTF Nintendo. Then you, Link, must travel to Calamity Gannon's castle, and fight off Girahim. GIRAHIM IS GAY!!!! WHY DID YOU BRING HIM BACK TO OOT!!!!!!!!!!!!! **** THE. HOMOS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    overall, 0/10. It's not Final Fantasy 7, and I can't live with that.
    Expand

See all 815 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The All-Time Best Games on Every Platform

    The All-Time Best Games on Every Platform Image
    Published: March 28, 2017
    Find the highest-scoring games exclusive to every platform, from the new Nintendo Switch all the way back to the Sega Genesis.
  2. Every Legend of Zelda Game, Ranked

    Every Legend of Zelda Game, Ranked Image
    Published: March 7, 2017
    The new Breath of the Wild is great, but how does it compare to past Zelda releases? We rank all 18 Legend of Zelda games from worst to best.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed N64 Game of 1998
#1 Most Shared N64 Game of 1998