The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time Nintendo 64

The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time Image
Metascore
99

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 3023 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As a young boy, Link is tricked by Ganondorf, the King of the Gerudo Thieves. The evil human uses Link to gain access to the Sacred Realm, where he places his tainted hands on Triforce and transforms the beautiful Hyrulean landscape into a barren wasteland. Link is determined to fix theAs a young boy, Link is tricked by Ganondorf, the King of the Gerudo Thieves. The evil human uses Link to gain access to the Sacred Realm, where he places his tainted hands on Triforce and transforms the beautiful Hyrulean landscape into a barren wasteland. Link is determined to fix the problems he helped to create, so with the help of Rauru he travels through time gathering the powers of the Seven Sages. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Nothing but pure 100% fun, challenging, and lengthy.
  2. [Review Score = 110] What's significant about this convergence of audio, graphics and gameplay is that you are COMPLETELY IMMERSED in Zelda's world. Why? Because everything is meticulously thought out. Each character and event plays a role in a storyline that sprawls like a J.R. Tolkien masterpiece...It's certainly the game of the decade.
  3. Mar 24, 2016
    100
    A slightly flawed masterpiece, but a masterpiece nonetheless.
  4. Weekly Famitsu
    100
    10 / 10 / 10 / 10 - platinum [first ever perfect score]
  5. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    100
    An epic adventure that is among the best N64 games. [Jan 2004, p.189]
  6. This Zelda adventure will undoubtedly withstand the test of time and take its place as one of the best games to ever grace a home system.
  7. Happy Puppy
    Mar 24, 2016
    90
    Realism is one of the major reasons this title is so amazing. After playing for a while it feels as though you have actually been to Hyrule.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 53 out of 775
  1. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Definitely greatest game on the N64, and the best game ever created. Ocarina of Time gave us revolutionary 3D gameplay and an epic story notDefinitely greatest game on the N64, and the best game ever created. Ocarina of Time gave us revolutionary 3D gameplay and an epic story not to mention one of the nicest looking games at least on the N64. The game design is truly second to none. I consider the Water Temple to be one of the best designed temples of all time. Although the music is in MIDI format, it was a staple in 1998, and the scores are amazing anyway! This game is 10/10 no doubt. Expand
  2. SeanS.
    Aug 9, 2006
    10
    I don't think I can say anything about this game that hasn't already been said, except that anyone who has anything bad to say I don't think I can say anything about this game that hasn't already been said, except that anyone who has anything bad to say about it is either has a personal bias against the game because it has achieved such a huge level of critical acclaim and thier favorite game hasn't, or they have never played it and just want to flame. Instead of going in depth about what makes this game so good, I will just say this... Almost 10 years after it's release, this game is still the absolute greatest. Some games like Metroid Prime and Chrono Cross have come close, but no other game has reached such a level, which can be called nothing other than perfection. Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    Anyone who gives the masterpiece below a 7 or an 8 is either just here to hate on the astounding zelda franchise, doesn't know a DAMN goodAnyone who gives the masterpiece below a 7 or an 8 is either just here to hate on the astounding zelda franchise, doesn't know a DAMN good game or is insane. The dungeons are interesting and unique, the characters are interesting and have personality, the story is highly engaging, the combat is varied, fluid, and fun, the items are amazing, there are a plethora of interesting side quests and collectibles, and considering the fact that this game was made in 1998 the graphics are amazing. The only real downside is that the game is somewhat linear and you can't continue on after beating the final boss, but that doesn't detract from the huge amount of fun I had playing this game. This has to be one of if not the best games ever made just as the others have said. Collapse
  4. Sep 9, 2014
    10
    The game that really deserves "Best game ever" title, I got this when I was 13, it was such an awesome game, my best friend and I played itThe game that really deserves "Best game ever" title, I got this when I was 13, it was such an awesome game, my best friend and I played it non-stop the entire weekend. I have never enjoyed a game at the same level since. Expand
  5. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    10 out of 10 is not enough for this game. If only Zelda OoT must get 10, then any other games are at most 7~8. It is useless to discuss the10 out of 10 is not enough for this game. If only Zelda OoT must get 10, then any other games are at most 7~8. It is useless to discuss the score of OoT, but anyway I'll give it 10 Expand
  6. QuiqueC.
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    This is the best game ever. You can either complete the temples or play every once in a while in all the other side missions and mini games. This is the best game ever. You can either complete the temples or play every once in a while in all the other side missions and mini games. It is incredible. Expand
  7. Aug 12, 2016
    0
    This game is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO overrated and ITS NOT EVEN FUN THE ONLYFUN THING IS throwing the cartridge and turningThis game is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO overrated and ITS NOT EVEN FUN THE ONLYFUN THING IS throwing the cartridge and turning of the console and going back to your dreamcast to play sonic adventure rather then this boring pile of **** Expand

See all 775 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed N64 Game of 1998
#1 Most Shared N64 Game of 1998