The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time Nintendo 64

The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time Image
Metascore
99

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 2980 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As a young boy, Link is tricked by Ganondorf, the King of the Gerudo Thieves. The evil human uses Link to gain access to the Sacred Realm, where he places his tainted hands on Triforce and transforms the beautiful Hyrulean landscape into a barren wasteland. Link is determined to fix theAs a young boy, Link is tricked by Ganondorf, the King of the Gerudo Thieves. The evil human uses Link to gain access to the Sacred Realm, where he places his tainted hands on Triforce and transforms the beautiful Hyrulean landscape into a barren wasteland. Link is determined to fix the problems he helped to create, so with the help of Rauru he travels through time gathering the powers of the Seven Sages. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Nothing but pure 100% fun, challenging, and lengthy.
  2. [Review Score = 110] What's significant about this convergence of audio, graphics and gameplay is that you are COMPLETELY IMMERSED in Zelda's world. Why? Because everything is meticulously thought out. Each character and event plays a role in a storyline that sprawls like a J.R. Tolkien masterpiece...It's certainly the game of the decade.
  3. Mar 24, 2016
    100
    A slightly flawed masterpiece, but a masterpiece nonetheless.
  4. Weekly Famitsu
    100
    10 / 10 / 10 / 10 - platinum [first ever perfect score]
  5. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    100
    An epic adventure that is among the best N64 games. [Jan 2004, p.189]
  6. This Zelda adventure will undoubtedly withstand the test of time and take its place as one of the best games to ever grace a home system.
  7. Happy Puppy
    Mar 24, 2016
    90
    Realism is one of the major reasons this title is so amazing. After playing for a while it feels as though you have actually been to Hyrule.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 771
  1. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    I think we all know that this is possibly the greatest game ever made, A magical masterpiece, the only game that has a special place in myI think we all know that this is possibly the greatest game ever made, A magical masterpiece, the only game that has a special place in my heart.. and i truly mean that. I would give this 10.5 if i could. Expand
  2. SamF.
    Aug 27, 2006
    10
    A pinnacle of gaming acheivement. It's funny to see the downvoters that 0 this, and how such spiteful attention from tasteless haters A pinnacle of gaming acheivement. It's funny to see the downvoters that 0 this, and how such spiteful attention from tasteless haters should just show you how awesome this game is. Such jealosy over nintendo's flawless victory? It's almost too good! Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    Anyone who gives the masterpiece below a 7 or an 8 is either just here to hate on the astounding zelda franchise, doesn't know a DAMN goodAnyone who gives the masterpiece below a 7 or an 8 is either just here to hate on the astounding zelda franchise, doesn't know a DAMN good game or is insane. The dungeons are interesting and unique, the characters are interesting and have personality, the story is highly engaging, the combat is varied, fluid, and fun, the items are amazing, there are a plethora of interesting side quests and collectibles, and considering the fact that this game was made in 1998 the graphics are amazing. The only real downside is that the game is somewhat linear and you can't continue on after beating the final boss, but that doesn't detract from the huge amount of fun I had playing this game. This has to be one of if not the best games ever made just as the others have said. Expand
  4. Sep 3, 2014
    10
    The legendary title in the legendary series. (ADMIT IT, IT'S NOT THE BEST ZELDA GAME EVER) But it was certainly perfect at the time of itsThe legendary title in the legendary series. (ADMIT IT, IT'S NOT THE BEST ZELDA GAME EVER) But it was certainly perfect at the time of its release. 10/10 Game of 1998. Expand
  5. Jan 7, 2012
    10
    Whenever I find the rare game that I might give a 10 out of 10, the first thing I do is think 'Is it better than Ocarina of Time?' and alwaysWhenever I find the rare game that I might give a 10 out of 10, the first thing I do is think 'Is it better than Ocarina of Time?' and always come up with no. This truly is the only game that is a 10 that I have played and probably the only one that exists. Remember, sometimes things become popular for a good reason (or because Will Smith is in it). The gameplay, story, length and puzzles all mesh together so well that this game can not be called anything but flawless. Expand
  6. JakeM.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Quite simply, the best video game I've ever played. Everything, the game play, story, graphics... is perfect.
  7. MarkusE.
    Sep 16, 2007
    0
    The dungeons were very repetitive and always reused the same puzzle elements, like blocks, torches, switches, ect. The items were rarely used The dungeons were very repetitive and always reused the same puzzle elements, like blocks, torches, switches, ect. The items were rarely used outside of dungeons, like the magic hammer and mirror shield. Also, the game is a dungeon grind: you get the hookshot, then go straight to Forest Temple. Go to Goron City, speak to the child Goron, and go directly to Fire. The story was kind of boring and a rehash of A Link to the Past's with an unsurprising twist at the end. There was very little plot development at all in the adult portion of the quest, basically just running from temple to temple with each sage speaking about five lines of text after defeating every boss. Also, the bosses are easy. Every boss can be defeated in 5 seconds with crouching stabs. Expand

See all 771 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed N64 Game of 1998
#1 Most Shared N64 Game of 1998