The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time Image
Metascore
99

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 1876 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As a young boy, Link is tricked by Ganondorf, the King of the Gerudo Thieves. The evil human uses Link to gain access to the Sacred Realm, where he places his tainted hands on Triforce and transforms the beautiful Hyrulean landscape into a barren wasteland. Link is determined to fix the problems he helped to create, so with the help of Rauru he travels through time gathering the powers of the Seven Sages. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. 100
    This is Zelda supreme. It's fun. One hitch, however, is that the skill level gets progressively harder - so hard that casual gamers might give up rather quickly.
  2. A truly remarkable achievement. Nintendo have created a beautiful game world and breathed life into it with puzzles, secrets, enemies, and loveable characters that will completely engross gamers around the globe. Stunning attention to detail is present throughout the game and is constantly evident in the visuals, audio and gameplay.
  3. 10 / 10 / 10 / 10 - platinum [first ever perfect score]
  4. High praise goes to them for also managing to fit joy, creativity and discovery into the game and doing so without the use of Full-Motion Video (FMV) and the CD soundtrack his critics said was needed. This game is simply the most complete experience of any game ever made making Ocarina Of Time the game I've always dreamed of playing.
  5. [Review Score = 110] What's significant about this convergence of audio, graphics and gameplay is that you are COMPLETELY IMMERSED in Zelda's world. Why? Because everything is meticulously thought out. Each character and event plays a role in a storyline that sprawls like a J.R. Tolkien masterpiece...It's certainly the game of the decade.
  6. Nothing but pure 100% fun, challenging, and lengthy.
  7. Realism is one of the major reasons this title is so amazing. After playing for a while it feels as though you have actually been to Hyrule.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 606
  1. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    My favourite experience of any video game! Absolutely awesome! Probably worth checking out the 3DS version. I have played this many times now, and enjoy it more, each time! Sad to see the series high point be so far back in the distance, at this time! ahhh.. memories! Nintendo.. get a NEW team that can put together a game this awesome, for the modern age.. please!!! Expand
  2. Dec 5, 2011
    10
    This is considered the best game of all time. There should be no negative feedback for the game majority of gamers considers the best game of all time, and since it has been out, only been rivaled with Super Mario, Zelda Majora's Mask, Zelda Twilight Princess, Super Mario Galaxy, Super Mario Galaxy 2, Uncharted 2, Grand Theft Auto IV, and now Skyward Sword and Skyrim. IGN say that Skyward Sword has surpassed Ocarina of Time. IGN and GameInformer both rated Skyward Sword a 10 and Skyrim a 9.5. IGN and GI are a lot of times biased towards Nintendo, but can't deny Skyward Sword is great.

    Ocarina of Time, is without a doubt, the funniest game of the Nintendo 64 especially for not being multiplayer, had more fun playing this than any multiplayer. It is the G.O.A.T, Zelda pathed the way for games like Skyrim, I hope Skyward Sword gets GOTY :), and possibly be considered the best of all time.
    Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    Anyone who gives the masterpiece below a 7 or an 8 is either just here to hate on the astounding zelda franchise, doesn't know a DAMN good game or is insane. The dungeons are interesting and unique, the characters are interesting and have personality, the story is highly engaging, the combat is varied, fluid, and fun, the items are amazing, there are a plethora of interesting side quests and collectibles, and considering the fact that this game was made in 1998 the graphics are amazing. The only real downside is that the game is somewhat linear and you can't continue on after beating the final boss, but that doesn't detract from the huge amount of fun I had playing this game. This has to be one of if not the best games ever made just as the others have said. Expand
  4. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    My Favorite Game of All Time, The Legend of Zelda: OoT was my introduction to the series, and since have completed it numerous times and found it to be the all around perfection of Adventure gaming for all Ages.

    But to explain why this means so much, I have to explain the situation the time of this games release, I'm currently 21, I was born back in 1992, and the N64 and PlayStation where dominating the market, both having their own stellar titles and being a kid of 6 years old at the time of the game's 1998 release censorship was always unheard of in my family. I was sneaking around a large Military base in my favourite series "Metal Gear Solid" and capping zombies left, right and center in "Resident Evil 2", whilst happily stopping Gruntilda in "Banjo Kazooie" and getting lost in paintings in the superb "Super Mario 64".

    As soon as you load up this Game, The Introduction will NEVER leave your memory, Koji Kondo's Introductory music will attach itself to your brain and along with the cinematic of a young adult riding his horse through the vast Hyrule field sums up everything you need to know that this is going to be quite the Adventure.

    The story involves a young boy living in the woods with other equally aged kids, who is summoned by the forest deity "The Great Deku Tree" who sends the boy named "Link" and his new Companion "Navi" the fairy on a Journey to save the Land of Hyrule and it's Princess "Zelda" from the Evil tyrant "Ganondorf".

    And from there on an Epic tale that spans several years begins, interacting with the many citizens and species of the lands, revisiting them years later to see how their domains have stood the test of time, and of course dungeons and puzzles all expertly crafted around fantastic tools you'll discover and ultimately need to take down some of gaming's most memorable foes.

    Again just writing this down you KNOW this game is Legend, obviously take note that I had not played the superb games in the series beforehand, and this was my introduction to superbly crafted 3-D gaming space suddenly do you realize just how much Ocarina of Time, has raised the bar, set the standard and still to this day is the pinnacle of Adventure Gaming.

    I have to say that I never really had problems with the controls (I heard many people found them clustered), I will admit, I tend to rate things on how well they will stand the test of time, On an unrelated topic "Raiders of the Lost Ark" is my favourite movie as I've seen it countless times and never tire or find boredom in any part of it's running time, that's also this game, not once do I have any bitterness towards any part, I guess on repeated playthroughs did I realize that I couldn't wait to play the 2nd Act of this game where the abundance of development really soaks in.

    Receiving more Items, Learning Ocarina melodies, Dungeon and Cave exploration (I really find myself wanting to play it again right now). It remains just as relevant now as it did 15 years ago...

    Final Verdict: I better end here because in all honesty I could go on forever, it needs to be played to be believed, and I hope anyone reading this "got" how much this game means the way I felt about it years ago and even today. Play it! see the epitome of the Zelda series in all it's glory, many a port exists 10/10. I'm gonna go listen to some Koji Kondo!
    Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    People say it's overrated. I played it in 2006 after beating WindWaker, Minish Cap and Twilight Princess. This was not my first Zelda and yet I still put it above all others and somehow I've grown nostalgic over it in such a short amount of time. Music is amazing, world is so expansive for such an old game, characters and story is interesting and it keeps gameplay and exploration fresh throughout. Best Zelda game IMO and worthy of more than a 10/10. Expand
  6. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    Ignore all the butthurt Call of Duty fans who rated this low. They're just mad that their series isn't the highest rated on Metacritic and has been named "Best Game of All Time" by many.

    While the graphics and gameplay may not have aged 100% perfectly, this is truly a great game and I wholeheartedly recommend it for gamers of any age or preference. Don't let the stereotype of "The Legend of Zelda" fool you. This series is truly the king of all video games.
    Expand
  7. Sep 11, 2013
    2
    I love legend of zelda, but this game almost killed it for me. First of all, NAVI IS SO ANNOYING, this fairy always says stupid things and states the obvious 100% of the time. Second, the intro to this game was horrendous, and the entire first act was annoying. Third, the over world and transportation was annoying. Fourth, the locking system was terrible.

    The second act was good, but the first act was so terrible that it ruined the entire experience for me. I don't understand how anyone thinks this game is a masterpiece. The only thing that is good about this game is the story. The overall experience is frustrating at times and some of the bosses are bad as well. I will definitely will NOT recommend this game to anyone.
    Expand

See all 606 User Reviews