The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time Nintendo 64

The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time Image
Metascore
99

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 3735 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As a young boy, Link is tricked by Ganondorf, the King of the Gerudo Thieves. The evil human uses Link to gain access to the Sacred Realm, where he places his tainted hands on Triforce and transforms the beautiful Hyrulean landscape into a barren wasteland. Link is determined to fix theAs a young boy, Link is tricked by Ganondorf, the King of the Gerudo Thieves. The evil human uses Link to gain access to the Sacred Realm, where he places his tainted hands on Triforce and transforms the beautiful Hyrulean landscape into a barren wasteland. Link is determined to fix the problems he helped to create, so with the help of Rauru he travels through time gathering the powers of the Seven Sages. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D - Teaser Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Nothing but pure 100% fun, challenging, and lengthy.
  2. [Review Score = 110] What's significant about this convergence of audio, graphics and gameplay is that you are COMPLETELY IMMERSED in Zelda's world. Why? Because everything is meticulously thought out. Each character and event plays a role in a storyline that sprawls like a J.R. Tolkien masterpiece...It's certainly the game of the decade.
  3. Mar 24, 2016
    100
    A slightly flawed masterpiece, but a masterpiece nonetheless.
  4. Weekly Famitsu
    100
    10 / 10 / 10 / 10 - platinum [first ever perfect score]
  5. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    100
    An epic adventure that is among the best N64 games. [Jan 2004, p.189]
  6. This Zelda adventure will undoubtedly withstand the test of time and take its place as one of the best games to ever grace a home system.
  7. Happy Puppy
    Mar 24, 2016
    90
    Realism is one of the major reasons this title is so amazing. After playing for a while it feels as though you have actually been to Hyrule.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 828
  1. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    In my not so humble opinion there are only 3 games in existence deserving of a "Perfect 10" - Chrono Trigger, Link to the Past, and Ocarina ofIn my not so humble opinion there are only 3 games in existence deserving of a "Perfect 10" - Chrono Trigger, Link to the Past, and Ocarina of Time. This game is flawless - I can't make one legitimate complaint about this game. The closest I can get is to complain about the water temple - but does the water temple make this game bad? Was it bad itself? I don't believe so - it was difficult: However it was still masterfully designed, and the way it all tied together was in my opinion beautiful in the end. Just because something is difficult, it shouldn't mean that it is inherently flawed. Difficulty is flawed when it's due to bad design - example being a game like Binding of Isaac where you can go through dungeons with tons of locked doors and chest but not one god damn key included in the entire stage - that's difficulty through bad design rather than difficulty by intention. Everything about Ocarina of time was absolutely perfect - the dungeon design, the overworld design, the villages, the music, the sound, the control scheme, the item variety... EVERYTHING. Best game of all time along with Chrono Trigger and Link to the Past, anyone that says otherwise simply doesn't know video games (or doesn't share my exquisite tastes) Expand
  2. JakeJ.
    Jul 12, 2006
    10
    This games utterly beatiful,flawless and perfect in every way possible. Go to hell if you dont like this game. It's one of the only This games utterly beatiful,flawless and perfect in every way possible. Go to hell if you dont like this game. It's one of the only games with the might to match GTA and that's more modern. Twighlight princess is goin to murder every other game. Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    Anyone who gives the masterpiece below a 7 or an 8 is either just here to hate on the astounding zelda franchise, doesn't know a DAMN goodAnyone who gives the masterpiece below a 7 or an 8 is either just here to hate on the astounding zelda franchise, doesn't know a DAMN good game or is insane. The dungeons are interesting and unique, the characters are interesting and have personality, the story is highly engaging, the combat is varied, fluid, and fun, the items are amazing, there are a plethora of interesting side quests and collectibles, and considering the fact that this game was made in 1998 the graphics are amazing. The only real downside is that the game is somewhat linear and you can't continue on after beating the final boss, but that doesn't detract from the huge amount of fun I had playing this game. This has to be one of if not the best games ever made just as the others have said. Expand
  4. Aug 20, 2015
    10
    Playing this game as a kid would make your stomach tickle due to being overwhelmed by all the new things, Everything about this game had suchPlaying this game as a kid would make your stomach tickle due to being overwhelmed by all the new things, Everything about this game had such a magical reminiscent ambiance. The graphics were the best of the best back then, textures on characters looked so clean, beautiful, and the enemies looked bad ass.
    The characters were charismatic and were so interesting.The story line would just pull you in forcing you to desire to know whats going to happen next getting more and more serious.And THAT Soundtrack oh my god...did it leave a scar in my mind for ever, hearing it again as an adult just brought back magical child hood memories and hit me like a feel hammer. Ending the game made me rethink of the songs ive heard all the people ive met and rescued all the demons i slayed and left me in tears.

    Truly a tear droping master piece, nothing like it for years to come 10/10
    Expand
  5. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    soundtrack, graphics, playability, story, characters, originality all 100. I don't know whay GTA IV is the first position on the list of bestsoundtrack, graphics, playability, story, characters, originality all 100. I don't know whay GTA IV is the first position on the list of best rated games if zelda is 99 and gta IV is 98. Expand
  6. Feb 12, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best video games that ever existed, it is memorable, fun, addicting, and challenging, no matter if you played a video gameThis is one of the best video games that ever existed, it is memorable, fun, addicting, and challenging, no matter if you played a video game before or a hardcore Zelda fan give this game a try. Expand
  7. Aug 3, 2017
    0
    All of you are only saying the good things in this game,well i will say all the bad things bad graphics,old game,short game,bad ending(linkAll of you are only saying the good things in this game,well i will say all the bad things bad graphics,old game,short game,bad ending(link just save Zelda thats it?),easy boss,impossible to finish without walktrough,cant cross in small fences,no sandbox mode in the end,easy boss,bad drama,wrong story(link raise the Volvagia and give it to the Gorons,what they think that its better without that?),its better if they add multiplayer,they are making lots of remake why dont they add a remake in that game,add a better story based in comics and add multiplayer,Im so dissapointed of this game i will rate it 0! Expand

See all 828 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The All-Time Best Games on Every Platform

    The All-Time Best Games on Every Platform Image
    Published: March 28, 2017
    Find the highest-scoring games exclusive to every platform, from the new Nintendo Switch all the way back to the Sega Genesis.
  2. Every Legend of Zelda Game, Ranked

    Every Legend of Zelda Game, Ranked Image
    Published: March 7, 2017
    The new Breath of the Wild is great, but how does it compare to past Zelda releases? We rank all 18 Legend of Zelda games from worst to best.

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed N64 Game of 1998
1
#1 Most Shared N64 Game of 1998