Wave Race 64 Nintendo 64
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 41
  2. Negative: 3 out of 41

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 15, 2010
    10
    Impressive jet-ski simulator of the 90 's. Another one of the fantastic N64 launching games in it's first era, with good sound effects, commentaries and music. The physics of the water in this game were not matched in a long time.
  2. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    One of the bast game of Nintendo 64 , incredible when it was released, magnificent water effects and sound. Better than Wave Race Blue Storm on the gamecube.
  3. Jun 13, 2014
    10
    Para mí uno de los juegos legendarios de mi vida. Wave race fue el juego que me enamoró de N64 y por el que la compré de cabeza. Una vez llegó el juego me dejó boquiabierto.
  4. Jul 29, 2011
    9
    Pretty dang fun game. I would suggest this for anybody who wants any easy to control fun racing game. fillerfillerfillerfilllerfillerfillerfillerfillerfillerfillerfillerfillerfillerfillerfiller
  5. May 27, 2014
    9
    Graphics: 9.0 Sound: 8.5 Gameplay: 9.5 Fun/Story: 8.5

    Great racing game, with nice graphics (water effects very good), physics and gameplay. Fine multiplayer.
  6. Mar 10, 2013
    8
    Unbelievable graphics at the time of its release. The water alone was great. It is fun to play but the N64 has better racers.
  7. Jul 24, 2014
    8
    I don't have MUCH to say about this game. It doesn't have history or a huge replay like Mario Kart. But this game is still really good! Very beautiful graphics for N64, good multiplayer and great physic makes this game one of the best arcade race games of N64.
  8. Oct 27, 2011
    6
    Perhaps the best racing game on Nintendo 64; I just wish there were more courses in the game; it's quite difficult to make the racers do stunts; the voiceover can be patronising and what he says can be cheesy and corny
  9. May 22, 2012
    6
    The graphic was stunning by the moment standards, but that's all. Wave Race is more like a demo than a complete game. Almost no courses or racers. There was only a few tricks. Very short game without much of a relevance.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. The replay value is where this game really suffers. You can only win the championship so many times before you die of boredom, and going through time trials and stunt mode offer no real thrill. 2-player mode is nice, but is still rather monotonous, going through the same courses time after time.
  2. Without question the most unique and satisfying home racing videogame I've ever had the pleasure of experiencing. This is, as you're no doubt aware, no minuscule feat. To declare that a racer is as good or better than WipeOut XL, Sega Rally, The Need For Speed or Ridge Racer Revolution is usually a fool's practice. However, WR 64 and its incredible water worlds are in a class by itself.
  3. 97
    Simply put, Wave Race 64 stands shoulder-to-shoulder with "Wipeout XL" and "Sega Rally" in the pantheon as one of the best racers ever...a piece of art.