Yoshi's Story Nintendo 64

Yoshi's Story Image
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 73 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Baby Bowser has taken the Super Happy Tree and cast a spell on Yoshi's world, turning it into the pages of a picture book. The only Yoshis not affected by the spell were six hatchlings that were still protected by their shells. It's up to them to reclaim the Super Happy Tree and restoreBaby Bowser has taken the Super Happy Tree and cast a spell on Yoshi's world, turning it into the pages of a picture book. The only Yoshis not affected by the spell were six hatchlings that were still protected by their shells. It's up to them to reclaim the Super Happy Tree and restore happiness to the world. That is the only thing that can break Baby Bowser's spell! Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Mischief Makers dropped some hints about what the N64 can do in 2-D, but Yoshi's Story pushes the boat out so far it''s run ashore on the other side ... but once you've got past the initial sense of ''ahh, isn''t that sweet'' it doesn''t take long before all that sugar rots your teeth and sets your stomach a-churning.
  2. Where most titles stress the importance in challenge in completing a level, Yoshi's Story emphasizes challenge in exploration--something rarely done in two-dimensional games. While Yoshi's Story isn't Yoshi's Island II, it is another shining example of simple, unadulterated entertainment in gaming.
  3. In the short term at least it's fun, very good fun in fact, and excellent for those retro fans who are desperate for a 2D platforming fix. Just don't expect to be playing it a year from now.
  4. Not everyone is going to like Yoshi's Story. I do. It's Yoshi. It's easy, but it's fun.
  5. There's a pervading feeling of trying to keep yourself busy (almost like a cat playing with a mouse) than being kept on your toes by your foes.In the end, Yoshi's Story is good for a rental at best.
  6. You may find that Yoshi's Story can be a wonderfully irresistible experience. It's like Super Mario Bros. 2 in that it's quite a bit different from the usual Mario fare. Many people loved Super Mario Bros. 2, whereas some didn't. That will be the case here as well.
  7. I can't recommend Yoshi's Story to anyone but the youngest of gamers.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 5 out of 22
  1. JasonK.
    Jan 4, 2007
    10
    Yoshi's Story is so cool, and the levels are great! From page 1 through 6, it is a nice story with a happy end.
  2. ElondaR.
    May 29, 2007
    10
    I've played this geme ever since i was 9 years old. now im 14 and i still play it.(or i would hwenever my friends weren't over at I've played this geme ever since i was 9 years old. now im 14 and i still play it.(or i would hwenever my friends weren't over at my house) its so fun and i love playing it. the music is so cool. i also like the cute sounds that the yoshis and shyguys make. i think everything about thid game is adorable, but its definately not anywhere near as fun as Yoshi's Island (one or two) I Love Yoshi! Expand
  3. Jul 22, 2016
    10
    This is a game that doesn't care if it doesn't have 100% 64 bit graphics it cares if it is good and it is. Well the game is a bit boringThis is a game that doesn't care if it doesn't have 100% 64 bit graphics it cares if it is good and it is. Well the game is a bit boring everything else is gold. Expand
  4. JohnB.
    Jan 21, 2004
    9
    I need to reiterate something that I've noticed about some of the gamers of the new generation: they are just a shallow bunch of people. I need to reiterate something that I've noticed about some of the gamers of the new generation: they are just a shallow bunch of people. Right when they see something they considered "kiddy" it is automatically not good enough for them. The gameplay, the flow of the game, the depth...it was all excellent. When the first mario games came out, I didn't see anybody complain about the "crappy graphics" or "cheesy sound effects", but they only cared about the game itself. For me, anything that's engaging enough to induce some sort of fun it fine enough for me. Expand
  5. Jul 26, 2011
    8
    Nice plat forming, solid. While it has some cool concepts it isn't the greatest classic tittle for the 64 compared to big successful gamesNice plat forming, solid. While it has some cool concepts it isn't the greatest classic tittle for the 64 compared to big successful games like Super Mario and Zelda, But at least manages to be fun. Expand
  6. Feb 21, 2013
    6
    An often over-looked title on the Nintendo 64, Yoshi's Story would be the last 2D-platformer (sort of) to be made by Nintendo for a long time.An often over-looked title on the Nintendo 64, Yoshi's Story would be the last 2D-platformer (sort of) to be made by Nintendo for a long time. It resembles Super Mario World 2: Yoshi's Island in many ways, with the big-snouted dinosaurs serving as the game's protagonists. Being a 2D-platformer in a console generation with 3D in mind, this game tries to make up for the missing dimension by having some of the levels resemble a Metroid-ish maze, but it rarely works out all that well. Rather than having a flagpole, a bar or anything like that to finish the level, in Yoshi's Story you have to collect fruit in order to advance through the game. At first this seems like a fresh breath of air, but frantically searching through the entire level in hopes of finding the last watermelon or banana gets old really fast. That said, the game's graphics are absolutely adorable and so is the music. The contemporary Super Mario 64 is a much stronger pick, and so are the two Super Mario World titles, but Yoshi's Story has a certain nostalgic value attached to it, nonetheless. Expand
  7. DSKTrunks
    Nov 25, 2003
    0
    Possibly the worst title I've ever played. It's so horrible, that I insist you people read my comments, and realize that this game Possibly the worst title I've ever played. It's so horrible, that I insist you people read my comments, and realize that this game is a pile of horse droppings. Not even a 99 cent rental could save this title. Four stages, very linear, cheesy sound effects and so much sappy stuff to make any grown man feel like vomitting. I expected more from the sequal to Yoshi's Island, but was severly disappointed. I implore you people to stay away from this title at all costs. Expand

See all 22 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed N64 Game of 1998
#4 Most Shared N64 Game of 1998