1000 Amps Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 1 Critic Awaiting 3 more reviews What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Light up the world! As Plug, you are charged with restoring the expansive Amp-Tree-System, and thwarting an enigmatic intruder. Solve puzzles and explore in 1000 Amps! Key Features: Illuminate the darkness by lighting up whatever you touch. Teleport into any un-occupied space with a simple mouse click. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Apr 16, 2012
    64
    An often frustrating game built around a clever idea. It could have become something so much greater. [May 2012, p.112]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Dec 16, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The spoilers amount to "how to play an exploration puzzle platformer." If you haven't played one of these sorts yet, there are some things folks who have played older games with a similar feel already know that can cut down on perceived frustration. If you don't mind being frustrated, and want to learn some of this on your own, stop now.

    Stylishly done puzzle platformer with an old school Metroid exploration feel. Bit of brain twisting. You don't get your hand held throughout, which can lead to frustration if you come up against a room that can't be solved yet with your current abilities. Just know there are some spots where you will have to take the long way around or come back to after getting another upgrade. Other spots just need creative platforming skills with your current abilities. Others you really have to figure out where you have to be hitting with a miss or two before you get it right. A veteran of puzzle platformers may hit 100% in 2 or 4 hours with a ton of luck finding the secret rooms, but it's a game that can inspire that zen zone where everything clicks that so few games can reach. 9.6/10
    Expand
  2. Aug 26, 2012
    9
    When I first started playing it, I hated it and found it way too frustrating. I would often fail rooms by taking leaps of faith or falling down unseen holes. But after a few hours, and a few power-ups, I started to enjoy it more and more and ended up finishing it with 100%. It was a bit repetitive and frustrating at times, but the combination of some interesting ideas and a wonderful aesthetic (both in visuals and sound) is always a winner in my book. I suggest waiting for a Steam sale to pick this up; you may be pleasantly surprised. Expand
  3. Jun 1, 2012
    8
    1000 Amps is a puzzle/exploration platformer where you complete your adventure by lighting up different rooms. As you light up more of each room, you get abilities you can use such as teleportation, which you use to hit more lights and travel between rooms. The puzzles are pretty fun to solve. There's a moderate amount of difficulty: some solutions require figuring out platforming tricks, but any puzzle that's unsolvable probably requires something you don't have yet. One problem is that you can sometimes get farther than you should along a certain path with skill, just to find yourself unable to turn around. I was lucky I saved enough seeds to get out; I might have had to restart. The endgame is terrible. Nothing in the game prepares you for the end boss, since that is the only fight in the game. The condescending remarks from your ally do not help. This is a fun game worth picking up if you enjoy puzzles or Metroidvania-style platforming. It's short, but I definitely enjoyed it. Expand
  4. May 8, 2012
    6
    1000 Amps is quite an unusual game, it has a very interesting mechanics and its really fun, but it could get really hard and frustrating to play it, but after all, its a good game and worth buying... Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2012
    5
    Don't know what to think about the game: The idea and presentation are welcome, but it has nothingmore to settle on. Gameplay stops being interesting after some hours and the saved flash data disappear after deleting cookies. Recommend for some pause-gaming, nothing more! Collapse
  6. AWG
    Jun 14, 2013
    5
    A boring and frustrating flash game turned into a boring desktop application. 100 Amps looks and sounds great for half a hour, but then it's just another average indie platform Game. Expand
  7. Jul 21, 2012
    3
    I find this game terrible, i never find a game so bad i have to give it a 3. I only give it a 3 because i guess some people might like it? its an interesting game i guess, unique, the music tones as you run along is...interesting...i suppose, but this game is just stupid. Basically you cant see anything in any room your in and have to hit certain blocks you gotta jump around to find untill you light up the room, the only problem is some room arent solvable untill you complete a different part of the game but whos to know if your missing something or doing something wrong its pitch black. Not the mention most rooms you run along trying to find the lights when suddenly you fall through the floor and down past 4 more rooms to be someplace where you cant even get your bearings of where you are or been anymore. There is a really really rugged map thats tuff to understand since its so blocky and undefined from room to room. I dunno i played this game for a couple hours and i dont think ill ever play it again. The games fun for the first 20 mins untill you start falling thru floors and rooms and are lost in some abysmal part of the whole map thats nearly impossible to get out of because you cant see anything and have no idea where to go. Frustrating and just a bad game in my opinion : / Expand

See all 8 User Reviews