Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Oct 23, 2013
    90
    140 is the scientific definition of a platformer. It is cold, brutal, elegant and beautiful in a mathematic way.
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    85
    With its beat, pounding in the head and on the skin, 140 proves once again what the indie scene is about. Jeppe Carlsen creates a wonderful experience and delivers what is more than a game: a love declaration to music and genius.
  3. Oct 17, 2013
    80
    Top notch platforming mechanics combined with a brilliantly captivating soundtrack that seamlessly meshes with the unique visuals and gameplay turn it into an experience that shouldn’t be missed. 140 is gaming minimalism done right — just don’t expect it to last you very long.
  4. Oct 16, 2013
    80
    140 is a masterful, mentally stimulating platformer with a distinct visual and aural style.
  5. Oct 16, 2013
    80
    140 is a magnetically moreish experience: delicately balanced and well thought-out. If this is what the programmer can achieve during the downtime from his day job, Playdead’s enigmatic second project can’t come soon enough.
  6. Oct 23, 2013
    70
    Though the brutal rise in difficulty near the end mars the adventure, it doesn't ruin the overall mood, and the cover charge is more than reasonable for this particular night at the club. Grab a colorful cocktail and head to the dance floor!
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Oct 20, 2013
    8
    140 is a really enjoyable platforming experience. it is very much rythm based, and i like that a lot. most obstacles are not too hard, except for the last one, which i needed quite some tries for. the visual style is very basic, yet awesome in its own way. the music fits in very well (the gameplay is based on the music, in fact). overall a really nice experience. maybe a little short (took me 60 minutes), but hey it's a really cheap game. so don't complain. ;)

    8/10
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    This game isn't what you call easy, but its still an indie gamer's dream. Its short, its simple, and it puts you in a different world. I disconnected from everything around me, and it felt great. There was no story line or tutorial to get in the way, it was bliss. Play it! Full Review »
  3. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    If you are a lover of music and platformers, you need to take a look at 140. Most people don't like this game because of how short it is, but it put it this way: If somebody hears a song, and they love it, then naturally they want to hear it again. Once they're tired of the song, they take a break, then later they just might want to hear it yet again. 140 is a game that revolves around sound. It's like a song that you listen to that goes at your pace, and if it gets stuck in you head, then you (naturally) want to hear it again, so you decide to replay a level. If this goes on long enough, the game won't be short at all, it will actually last for as long as you want it too. I really enjoy this game, and the price seems just fine for me. I hope you like it too. Full Review »