1954: Alcatraz PC

Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Mar 25, 2014
    88
    An innovative approach the adds a degree of non-linearity to the game play combined with a compelling story line and great visuals make Daedalic's Alcatraz 1954 a game that is hard to walk away from.
  2. Taking place in the mid fifties, we are going to the famous Alcatraz prison where Joe plans to escape and save his wife Christine from mob gangster Mickey. In the meantime Christine has her own plans to save her neck from Mickey. By the way, where is the loot?
  3. Games Master UK
    Apr 7, 2014
    70
    The dialogue is a tad dry. [May 2014, p.79]
  4. Mar 11, 2014
    70
    It is strange to find an adventure game that you actually want to play through a second time right after completing it just to see what you could have done differently.
  5. Mar 18, 2014
    65
    Whilst 1954 Alcatraz does certain things very well, it too often lets itself down.
  6. May 14, 2014
    63
    As cold as the waters around Alcatraz are, according to the game, such was my personal chill after completing 1954: Alcatraz. While I was waiting for another hit from the German studio, what I finally faced was the weakest and most problematic adventure game they have given us so far. Unfortunately one adventure game that we had many hopes for, turns out to be a disappointment.
  7. Jan 24, 2014
    63
    This adventure shows some conceptually interesting ideas, but the lack of detail and atmosphere saps the motivation right out of you.
  8. Mar 9, 2014
    62
    Quotation forthcoming.
  9. CD-Action
    Jun 28, 2014
    60
    Solid in every aspect but outstanding in none. [05/2014, p.61]
  10. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    May 16, 2014
    60
    The story of two separated characters is nicely interwoven but that’s about it. Gene Mocsy failed to dazzle us. [Issue#241]
  11. Apr 28, 2014
    60
    Despite doing a number of things right, 1954: Alcatraz doesn't feel special.
  12. Apr 15, 2014
    60
    The plot and the script are surely interesting, but the adventure is short and the puzzles aren't that interesting.
  13. Apr 11, 2014
    60
    There are choices, which is not common in these games, but then the consequences are too light, the game never gives us a “punch in the stomach” so to speak, despite the its promise to do so.
  14. Mar 17, 2014
    60
    You'll want to escape from Alcatraz all right, but not in the way that's intended.
  15. Mar 11, 2014
    60
    The puzzles, story and characters all were much stronger in concept than in execution.
  16. Mar 11, 2014
    59
    The attempt to propose some more adult issues than usual and to offer from the beginning two playable characters and two different game environments are good choices, but the rest of the game (plot, storytelling, puzzles and visuals) isn't convincing at all.
  17. Jan 30, 2014
    58
    This game shows a lot of ideas and potential, but uses nearly none of it. Although the story is about breaking out of the famous high-security prison Alcatraz the game lacks not only good puzzles, graphics or animations, but even a proper atmosphere of that. So the sound and speech is nearly the highlight of the game. Not the best recommandation for an adventure.
  18. PC Gamer UK
    Apr 29, 2014
    50
    A distinctly average point-and-click adventure that doesn't deliver on the potential of its prison-break premise. [May 2014, p.90]
  19. Apr 18, 2014
    50
    An average narrative ride that's unpleasantly superficial in contrast to its true potential. Unfortunately, the creators have blocked that potential with lame graphics and average gaming mechanics. A system of choices, and replayability should have been the things that save the game. However, it did not happen.
  20. Mar 19, 2014
    50
    A few great ideas are drowned in a torrent of design flaws and technical problems. I wish there were something interesting to say about this game’s failures, but they just amount to plain, old-fashioned bad craftsmanship.
  21. Mar 17, 2014
    50
    1954: Alcatraz has a great premise, but the execution falls flat.
  22. Mar 12, 2014
    45
    1954 Alcatraz fails to deliver. There is a lot to like, the narrative and setting are exceptional, but the constant shortcomings of almost every other aspect of the game quickly saps enjoyment and replaces it with frustration and disappointment.
  23. Jan 22, 2014
    40
    As much as I appreciate that Irresponsible Games an Daedalic are trying to capture the zeitgeist and the social conflicts of an era, I can't help but be utterly frustrated to see all the promise just go to waste on a startlingly conventional cock-and-bull story.
  24. May 7, 2014
    36
    1954: Alcatraz is the worst game ever produced by Daedalic Entertainment. Thankfully, unlike professional video games reviewers, you can simply ignore this nightmare.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Sep 19, 2014
    7
    This is a fine Daedalic point&click game. The story and non-linearity was interesting. The puzzles were logical to my mind, but had to revertThis is a fine Daedalic point&click game. The story and non-linearity was interesting. The puzzles were logical to my mind, but had to revert to a guide a few times: one has to use the items in the inventory on persons as there are no talk option available for the same purpose as in some other games. There were some minor audio problems: the game or engine doesn't seem to like multi-core and had frequent audio stutter and pops until I changed the CPU affinity to a single core. In addition, some audio-skipping did not work. I bought the game on sale and played through twice; if you like more casual games and want to honor the developer for their good work with the Deponia series, its a worth buy. Full Review »
  2. Mar 10, 2015
    7
    I've no idea what all these "professional" reviews are about, crying because the GFX aren't like $50m Crysis 3. The GFX are fine, no differentI've no idea what all these "professional" reviews are about, crying because the GFX aren't like $50m Crysis 3. The GFX are fine, no different to other modern adventure games, far better than many "pixel art" Indie platformer's that are getting up to 80%, and better in general than Grim Fandango Remastered that scored 85%. The art style obviously isn't intended to be about photo-realism (neither is the point & click adventure genre in general).

    The escape from the world's most notorious prison fortress based plot is done quite well, the atmosphere and jazzy soundtrack are great and the switching between dual characters approach works well. Voice acting is good for the main 2 characters and average for the rest but by no means poor (I've heard a LOT worse even in big budget AAA games). Puzzles are OK-ish, maybe a little on the easy side but mostly logical. Demanding every single adventure game's puzzles be targeted towards MENSA members, have a plot that turns the player into an emotional train-wreck or be "totally unique" is just as silly as giving every single FPS game 30% score if it includes shooting or "surviving" something.

    1954 Alcatraz may not be the best adventure game out there (or even the best by Daedalic), but it certainly deserves more than the joke 35-40% scores some "professionals" are giving (especially when many of the same ones are giving 'infallibly perfect 100%' scores to half-broken AAA games that are still barely playable even after 3 months of patches...
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 2, 2015
    6
    I usually find point and click games rather boring.

    But couldn't resist when there was a sale. Even if I think I wont like a game I will
    I usually find point and click games rather boring.

    But couldn't resist when there was a sale. Even if I think I wont like a game I will give it a try.
    This game is ok, since it's not really my thing, but it's not a bad game.

    It has a good user interface and is a basic game without anything difficult or confusing.
    I like that you can save any time you want, to me that is important in a game as I want to be able to save and stop playing to do other things when I want to.

    And it has a quite a good story and characters as well as graphics. Even though I don't like point and click games much, this game is done well. But can't rate it higher than 6 as it's not my kind of game.
    Full Review »