User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 111 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 111
  2. Negative: 65 out of 111

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 3, 2011
    8
    Most reviews for this game are sounding like this game's game-play ( the core of most games ), is broken. I don't think the game-play is broken in anyway. Maybe sad enough for large battle rts fans, but that's just how the game plays, different approaches to expand and maintain your zone of influence, doesn't mean the game-play is broken.
  2. Sep 29, 2011
    8
    Worth $30 not $40 but its a diamond in the rough. The graphics certainly could have used more attention and it could have been better programmed (sluggish mouse, no sensitivity option). All that aside it is not your typical strategy game. Actual combat seems to be the worst way to win a match. The game wants you to win by all other means possible before you result to war aka actually howWorth $30 not $40 but its a diamond in the rough. The graphics certainly could have used more attention and it could have been better programmed (sluggish mouse, no sensitivity option). All that aside it is not your typical strategy game. Actual combat seems to be the worst way to win a match. The game wants you to win by all other means possible before you result to war aka actually how things get done. A.I. isn't the greatest but multiplayer potential is huge as you will have to be truly focused to see anything comin' otherwise you'll get blindsided hard. If you need a game now (holding off till skyrim and SWTOR here) go ahead and get it if you love the franchise, otherwise wait till it drops to $20 bucks its well worth that. Expand
  3. Sep 29, 2011
    8
    It seems that those who have negative reviews (particularly darkcerb and Gratson) seem disappointed that the game wasn't what they "thought it would be," but based on their reviews they clearly had no idea what they were buying. Not to sugar-coat anything, but give this game a fair chance. For those who do not need to have their eyes blasted from their sockets by stunning HD graphicsIt seems that those who have negative reviews (particularly darkcerb and Gratson) seem disappointed that the game wasn't what they "thought it would be," but based on their reviews they clearly had no idea what they were buying. Not to sugar-coat anything, but give this game a fair chance. For those who do not need to have their eyes blasted from their sockets by stunning HD graphics every time they log in, this is a fun, challenging game. The real strengths are the multiple paths to victory; Prestige is everything, and while you gain it slowly, you can also lose it very quickly depending upon your actions (breaking pacts with other Major Houses actually have consequences, unlike so many RTS's). You need a balanced approach; diplomacy abroad, marriages at home, eyes and ears on everything. The game does a fine job of not telling you when you've been duped: something I say "bravo!" to Cyanide for. If someone pulls the rug from under one of your alliances, you not only don't get notified, but the game will continually feed you inaccurate POV information. If one of your assassins gets bought out, you have no idea that the person he just "killed" for you is still alive and well; they vanished from the screen, so why give it another thought? Now, there are things that could be better; AI tends to be a bit too direct at times, and gives up too easily on certain challenges when they just need to try a different approach. Also, the sluggish mouse can make gameplay frustrating when you need to be keeping track of multiple things quickly. The lack of hotkeys can slow-down players used to high-speed swarming, but sorry, you'll not be winning this game in the first 2 minutes. The slow building process and only one spawn point are on purpose; you have to make hard choices about what to develop and when. You can't have it all, no matter what you were told as children. That said, the game is by no means sluggish; the full 8-player map of Westeroes has so far taken just around 30 minutes after 5 plays (3 wins, 2 losses). So I say here what anyone should already know; READ up on what you are buying. Understand the game before you get it and then don't be shocked that it isn't what you "expected." I don't think this will be wildly popular, but for those who are looking for something unique and are fans of the books, GoT:Genesis has more pros than cons. Expand
  4. Sep 29, 2011
    8
    I believe when playing this game you need to keep a open mind. This game is not like most RTS games where you just build up and rush the other players to win. If you are looking for a game like that it would be wise to spend your money on something else. Personally I like this game because of how different it is. You have to use deception and a little more skill in order to win. I agreeI believe when playing this game you need to keep a open mind. This game is not like most RTS games where you just build up and rush the other players to win. If you are looking for a game like that it would be wise to spend your money on something else. Personally I like this game because of how different it is. You have to use deception and a little more skill in order to win. I agree that the graphics are not what they could be but I think this game still has its own unique beauty to it. The one place that I believe this game is going to shine at is the multiplayer. Overall this game does have some issues that hopefully they will patch up in the future but if you go into it and play the game for what it is and not for what you wanted it to be you will enjoy it. Also pardon any spelling and grammer errors in this I typed it up in a hurry while at work because I could not stand all the negative reviews on a game that is not as bad as they make it look to be. Expand
  5. Sep 29, 2011
    8
    Wow lotsa bad reviews, regardless heres my take on this game. its not shogun total war but has a MOO feel to it (masters of orion) instead of war being the only option the game has a heavy diplomatic system. War generally only happens after scheming and plotting have been done, finding out you have been betrayed and theres a town right by you can be a serious shock. I played this game withWow lotsa bad reviews, regardless heres my take on this game. its not shogun total war but has a MOO feel to it (masters of orion) instead of war being the only option the game has a heavy diplomatic system. War generally only happens after scheming and plotting have been done, finding out you have been betrayed and theres a town right by you can be a serious shock. I played this game with my roommate last night and it seems to have some good multiplayer replay value. HOWEVER its not for you RTS junkies that need to kill kill kill nor is it for suped up action junkies. Its not all about war and more about diplomacy. People who enjoy board games (as I do) will be impressed by the prestige points system and how quickly a game can go (jesus christ how does he have the most amount of aliances)

    worth the 40 bucks for me
    Expand
  6. Sep 30, 2011
    9
    I really enjoy this game it feels deep but it has a good UI so it is easy to discover new things and it feels really balance because of the small differences that the factions have between each other. The AI isn't that great but if you have friends to play with then you can expect very fun skirmishes and intriguing plots. Graphics are generally good though it lacks in combat animations andI really enjoy this game it feels deep but it has a good UI so it is easy to discover new things and it feels really balance because of the small differences that the factions have between each other. The AI isn't that great but if you have friends to play with then you can expect very fun skirmishes and intriguing plots. Graphics are generally good though it lacks in combat animations and it has quite long loading times. The Campaign is varied and the story is compelling. Overall I think this game will be really liked by those who don't really mind the slower game play of a Grand strategy game mixed with RTS. Expand
  7. Sep 30, 2011
    9
    It's definetely very different. Graphics could be better but the gameplay is very deep. There are so many options, it feels like a perfect fit for the universe
  8. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    I can see it hard to justify the $40 price tag. In all honesty this game would be much better received at $20. Pricing issues aside, the game tries new things in a genre full of duplicates and tired old paradigms. You can't just gather resources and spam clicks to victory, it is a refreshing take on the genre, more like a bold experiment. Add all this innovation to the lore behind "A songI can see it hard to justify the $40 price tag. In all honesty this game would be much better received at $20. Pricing issues aside, the game tries new things in a genre full of duplicates and tired old paradigms. You can't just gather resources and spam clicks to victory, it is a refreshing take on the genre, more like a bold experiment. Add all this innovation to the lore behind "A song of ice and fire" and you got yourself a great experience if you are the right person. It is not perfect and at $40 I would only recommend this to fans of BOTH RTS and ASOIAF. Expand
  9. Oct 2, 2011
    9
    While the graphics are not great and the load times can definitely be improved, the intricate web of deceit and espionage covered by the gameplay itself more than makes up for all of that. With some patches to fix the minor bugs, this game might prove to be a little gem in the rough.
  10. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    I don't know what all people are **** about. I think the main problem is the same as with ADWD: folks expected something that was never promised nor intended to be done. Cyanide did a strategy game in the ASOIAF universe, period. They did not make an interactive version of the books, period. So, the game is interesting, I like it, and if you hoped for something else and bought it blindly,I don't know what all people are **** about. I think the main problem is the same as with ADWD: folks expected something that was never promised nor intended to be done. Cyanide did a strategy game in the ASOIAF universe, period. They did not make an interactive version of the books, period. So, the game is interesting, I like it, and if you hoped for something else and bought it blindly, you're to blame and not the game. It's like buying a washing machine and then complaining that you can't cake bake with it. Collapse
  11. Oct 3, 2011
    9
    To start out, i have read the manual and gone through the tutorial. Not easy, but i found a lots of stuff to understand.
    It's not a Total war or stracraft ...
    Very strategique but Graphics are poor
    Very addictive in multiplayers mode :)
    I love this game
  12. Apr 25, 2012
    9
    Great innovation in the genre and excellently cached the spirit of westerosi intrigues. Bad aspects are immense graphics in combat and combat in general with no opportunities to develop any type of specific tactic or strategy, but since the game is focusing on intrigues you mostly win or lose before combat even begins.
  13. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    I don't know what all people are **** about. I think the main problem is the same as with ADWD: folks expected something that was never promised nor intended to be done. Cyanide did a strategy game in the ASOIAF universe, period. They did not make an interactive version of the books, period. So, the game is interesting, I like it, and if you hoped for something else and bought it blindly,I don't know what all people are **** about. I think the main problem is the same as with ADWD: folks expected something that was never promised nor intended to be done. Cyanide did a strategy game in the ASOIAF universe, period. They did not make an interactive version of the books, period. So, the game is interesting, I like it, and if you hoped for something else and bought it blindly, you're to blame and not the game. It's like buying a washing machine and then complaining that you can't cake bake with it. Collapse
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 40
  2. Negative: 12 out of 40
  1. PC PowerPlay
    Dec 4, 2011
    30
    Revisit the Stupid Ned Stark meme instead. It's much more entertaining. [Christmas 2011, p.68]
  2. CD-Action
    Nov 29, 2011
    60
    Genesis doesn't work for the people who had no idea about 'A Song of Ice and Fire' before the HBO TV series came out. But if you consider yourself a master strategist and miss Good Old Times – buy it. [December 2011, p.94]
  3. Nov 28, 2011
    72
    With a long campaign, A Game of Thrones: Genesis will captivate fans of the original series in particular. It's not a particularly good-looking game even by strategy standards, though.