User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 106 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 106
  2. Negative: 64 out of 106

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 30, 2011
    9
    I really enjoy this game it feels deep but it has a good UI so it is easy to discover new things and it feels really balance because of the small differences that the factions have between each other. The AI isn't that great but if you have friends to play with then you can expect very fun skirmishes and intriguing plots. Graphics are generally good though it lacks in combat animations and it has quite long loading times. The Campaign is varied and the story is compelling. Overall I think this game will be really liked by those who don't really mind the slower game play of a Grand strategy game mixed with RTS. Expand
  2. Sep 30, 2011
    9
    It's definetely very different. Graphics could be better but the gameplay is very deep. There are so many options, it feels like a perfect fit for the universe
  3. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    I can see it hard to justify the $40 price tag. In all honesty this game would be much better received at $20. Pricing issues aside, the game tries new things in a genre full of duplicates and tired old paradigms. You can't just gather resources and spam clicks to victory, it is a refreshing take on the genre, more like a bold experiment. Add all this innovation to the lore behind "A song of ice and fire" and you got yourself a great experience if you are the right person. It is not perfect and at $40 I would only recommend this to fans of BOTH RTS and ASOIAF. Expand
  4. Oct 2, 2011
    9
    While the graphics are not great and the load times can definitely be improved, the intricate web of deceit and espionage covered by the gameplay itself more than makes up for all of that. With some patches to fix the minor bugs, this game might prove to be a little gem in the rough.
  5. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    I don't know what all people are **** about. I think the main problem is the same as with ADWD: folks expected something that was never promised nor intended to be done. Cyanide did a strategy game in the ASOIAF universe, period. They did not make an interactive version of the books, period. So, the game is interesting, I like it, and if you hoped for something else and bought it blindly, you're to blame and not the game. It's like buying a washing machine and then complaining that you can't cake bake with it. Expand
  6. Oct 3, 2011
    9
    To start out, i have read the manual and gone through the tutorial. Not easy, but i found a lots of stuff to understand.
    It's not a Total war or stracraft ...
    Very strategique but Graphics are poor
    Very addictive in multiplayers mode :)
    I love this game
  7. Apr 25, 2012
    9
    Great innovation in the genre and excellently cached the spirit of westerosi intrigues. Bad aspects are immense graphics in combat and combat in general with no opportunities to develop any type of specific tactic or strategy, but since the game is focusing on intrigues you mostly win or lose before combat even begins.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 40
  2. Negative: 12 out of 40
  1. Dec 4, 2011
    30
    Revisit the Stupid Ned Stark meme instead. It's much more entertaining. [Christmas 2011, p.68]
  2. Nov 29, 2011
    60
    Genesis doesn't work for the people who had no idea about 'A Song of Ice and Fire' before the HBO TV series came out. But if you consider yourself a master strategist and miss Good Old Times – buy it. [December 2011, p.94]
  3. Nov 28, 2011
    72
    With a long campaign, A Game of Thrones: Genesis will captivate fans of the original series in particular. It's not a particularly good-looking game even by strategy standards, though.