Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 103 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A Game of Thrones: Genesis is a new PC strategy game that is adapted from George R.R. Martin's series of best-seller novels "A Song of Ice and Fire."
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 40
  2. Negative: 12 out of 40
  1. Oct 9, 2011
    75
    An innovation in the RTS genre, A game of thrones: Genesis will disappoint fans of direct military and combat strategy, but someone who is searching something new should definitely add this game to his collection.
  2. Oct 27, 2011
    65
    Genesis is a fresh take on a strategy genre, but it doesn't have a lot in common neither with the original books, nor the TV Show. [Nov. 2011, p.77]
  3. Oct 14, 2011
    60
    A Game of Thrones: Genesis's sluggish campaign further suffers from poor pacing, and the end game almost always devolves into ham-fisted warfare punctuated by dull combat – one of its weakest facets.
  4. 50
    The exact opposite of what most fans of the TV show would probably want from A Game Of Thrones tie-in, but there are some interesting strategic ideas here nonetheless.
  5. Oct 16, 2011
    50
    Genesis is only successful at translating the intrigue of underhanded diplomacy that characterizes Martin's books, but the poor mission design and interface balances out to a firmly mediocre game.
  6. Oct 16, 2011
    45
    There's room for a good videogame based on A Song of Ice and Fire, but while A Game of Thrones: Genesis is the first of its name, it never becomes more than an incestuous child born from both media parents.
  7. Oct 6, 2011
    30
    There are too many strategy games out right now to warrant giving A Game of Thrones: Genesis a try. With games out there like Starcraft 2, Civilization V, and Total War: Shogun 2 it just isn't viable to play Genesis when it feels stale and unfinished. Even for fans of the books or show it just isn't a good enough game, even in the fan service perspective, to go out and spend $40 on. Do yourself a favor and read the books, then go play a better strategy game.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 47
  2. Negative: 30 out of 47
  1. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    I can see it hard to justify the $40 price tag. In all honesty this game would be much better received at $20. Pricing issues aside, the game tries new things in a genre full of duplicates and tired old paradigms. You can't just gather resources and spam clicks to victory, it is a refreshing take on the genre, more like a bold experiment. Add all this innovation to the lore behind "A song of ice and fire" and you got yourself a great experience if you are the right person. It is not perfect and at $40 I would only recommend this to fans of BOTH RTS and ASOIAF. Expand
  2. Oct 3, 2011
    9
    To start out, i have read the manual and gone through the tutorial. Not easy, but i found a lots of stuff to understand.
    It's not a Total war
    or stracraft ...
    Very strategique but Graphics are poor
    Very addictive in multiplayers mode :)
    I love this game
    Expand
  3. Sep 29, 2011
    8
    Wow lotsa bad reviews, regardless heres my take on this game. its not shogun total war but has a MOO feel to it (masters of orion) instead of war being the only option the game has a heavy diplomatic system. War generally only happens after scheming and plotting have been done, finding out you have been betrayed and theres a town right by you can be a serious shock. I played this game with my roommate last night and it seems to have some good multiplayer replay value. HOWEVER its not for you RTS junkies that need to kill kill kill nor is it for suped up action junkies. Its not all about war and more about diplomacy. People who enjoy board games (as I do) will be impressed by the prestige points system and how quickly a game can go (jesus christ how does he have the most amount of aliances)

    worth the 40 bucks for me
    Expand
  4. Oct 2, 2011
    3
    an interesting "newish" approach to the RTS genre - which does not work that well. insultingly outdated graphics and nearly unusable navigation and interaction elements: soldiers are so tiny that your main game challenge will be figuring out where who or what is running around. the all too narrow zoom level on the cramped and tiny maps isnt helping either.
    as a game concept prototype and test candidate for, say, a game theory university: solid, if yet wanting. as a "a song of ice and fire" franchise game: insulting.
    has no game of thrones flair whatsoever. no castle has any other name then "feudal home" which leaves you guessing what things and locations are supposed to be - even if you are a die hard fan of the books. all in all: this game is sadly a total fail. especially when charged 40 euros on steam,. which is 54 USD.
    Expand
  5. Jan 10, 2012
    2
    Well, what can I say. I give it a 2 out of 10, because while it does make some reference to the novels, which I have enjoyed, the gameplay and graphics are so terrible, they make the whole game appear to be little more than a feeble attempt to rip off the growing fan-base of the series with an expensive impulse buy. Do not buy this game, no matter how good the sale, it is a waste of money, and whats more, time. That being said, if you like games with simple graphics that are absolutely not fun or enjoyable save for a few references to a book series, then by all means, waste your life playing A Game of Thrones: Genesis, and leave the fun games to the rest of us. Expand
  6. Jul 19, 2012
    0
    Dont buy this game.. just dont. Its a waste of money. gj cyanide.. The game doesnt really look like Westeros.. if you want a real strategy game based on song of ice and fire, play Westeros: Total War mod of M2:TW-Kingdoms. The alpha version is out and they are bringing something new to the previews every weekend! Expand
  7. Oct 1, 2011
    0
    SAVE YOUR MONEY!!!! I downloaded this via Steam hoping to find an exciting RTS based on the wonderful Song of Ice and Fire story. What I received was a snooze-fest of a game. My roommate also played the game and we are in full agreement it sucks on a massive scale. First off I've seen better graphics on my smart phone. The character movements are extremely slow. The first few missions make me feel like I am Bill Murray in Groundhog's Day. Send envoys, send spies, send assassins and repeat... ZZZZzzzzzz. My roommate suggested I wait for a professional review and game play footage before purchasing, damn I wish I would have listened to him. I thought how bad could it be? I wasn't expecting cutting edge graphics and I was fine with that as long as it had a cool storyline and decent game play. I strongly suggest that you do not purchase this game. The graphics are very poor, the characters are absolutely tiny even when fully zoomed in. There is little sound effects or music during game play. I can't believe I just blew $40 on this game. The graphics somewhat remind me of Age of Empires II which came out almost 10 years ago. The only upside to this game is that you may catch up on sleep. If the sheer boredom of the game does not send you into unconsciousness the ridiculous load times will. My roommate is a huge fan of the series of books that this game is supposedly based on and he is as disgusted with it as much as I am. That being said don't expect good graphics, good story, or good game play. Do expect less money in your pocket and a frown on your face. Expand

See all 47 User Reviews