Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Aug 2, 2011
    90
    Cartoony graphics contrast with a mature story that deals with a serious subject of climate changes caused by human carelessness and is devoid of humor. Instead of puns and wordplays we get well written, intriguing dialogues between believable characters with vivid personalities. [August 2011, p.66]
  2. Aug 16, 2011
    85
    Great story, great puzzles and great visuals, Daedalics does it again after the excellent The Whispered World and manage to create another great graphic adventure. Too bad the English voices and some weird translations from German undermine it a bit.
  3. Jun 22, 2011
    85
    A serious, committed and engaging adventure: A New Beginning is easily one of the best adventure of the year.
  4. Featuring a highly interesting story, a tremendous setting, great characters and an overwhelming soundtrack, A New Beginning easily can be regarded as the adventure of the year.
  5. Nov 28, 2012
    84
    I am glad to finally see an adventure game that uses its narrative potential to address some important ecological themes and ideas. Even though the conclusion of the sci-fi story seems a little unrewarding, I always had a good time playing the game. Puzzles are generally solid, the hand painted graphics are beautiful and most of the (German) voice acting is well done. A New Beginning may not be perfect, but it's mature, surprising and quite simply fun to play.
  6. Jul 11, 2011
    83
    A solid and mature adventure, with nice graphics and a solid gameplay. In any case, the game is recommended for fans of the genre, as it tells one of the most interesting and mature stories of recent times.
  7. A New Beginning leaves a mixed feeling: While it is a great adventure game, it lacks in the technical department and the speakers could be better than they are.
  8. Aug 29, 2011
    80
    A very engaging and deep adventure for anyone who loves the genre and can forgive a few technical flaws. [Sept 2011, p.95]
  9. Jun 30, 2011
    80
    A New Beginning is an excellent adventure game for two reasons; one for its basic theme, so actual and so real that everyone should play it. Two, for its good feeling that keeps adventure game still alive.
  10. 80
    A catchy and nostalgic epic adventure which takes us back to a time when the gaming world was enchanted by the original Broken Sword series. [June 2011]
  11. Jun 3, 2011
    80
    A few technical failings aside, A New Beginning comes highly recommended. It's not often that I consider a game hard to put down, but I found myself getting deeply invested in the plot as it unravelled thanks to its convincing characterisation and an increasingly gripping storyline. Although there's an obvious environmental focus, there's also a strong heart to the story and it's this that powers your desire to play on. Any minor problems that arise are quickly overshadowed by the stunning artwork and the inventive, well-integrated puzzles, so whatever your view on global warming, do yourself a favour and shell out the green for A New Beginning.
  12. Sep 8, 2011
    78
    Lengthy, clever, and gripping. It's nice to have a decent point and click adventure around. It's been too long. [Oct 2011, p.105]
  13. 70
    It's a back and forth battle, as it's an enjoyable experience, but one that falls short of the adventure game and technological standards many have come to expect. If there was only a little bit more polish, A New Beginning – Final Cut could have been a unforgettable adventure.
  14. Aug 25, 2011
    70
    Overall, A New Beginning is a good game that will appeal to fans of "old school" adventure games.
  15. Jul 20, 2011
    68
    While A New Beginning shines in the inspired art-style, the clever puzzles and the interesting story, it fails without hope in the crackling and weird sound, the lack of support for widescreen and the persistent crash-bugs that leads to utter frustration.
  16. Sep 18, 2011
    65
    It's a modern fairytale with a muddled story, flawed logic and ho-hum graphics. Sometimes the entire thing feels hollow-hearted, but, thankfully, it's not as disappointing as was The Whispered World.
  17. Jul 22, 2011
    65
    A New Beginning's fantastic visuals and enjoyable story offset its glaring translation and voice-over flaws.
  18. Jul 23, 2011
    60
    A mildly diverting and inadvertently funny curiosity. [Issue#111, p.123]
  19. Jan 6, 2013
    40
    If you are truly desperate for good puzzles and sumptuous art, then you could do worse than play A New Beginning, but I found it impossible to look past the many issues and really enjoy the few things it manages to do right.
  20. Sep 16, 2011
    40
    A game that tries present itself as a serious "eco thriller" but fails completely due to stupid, illogical puzzles, moronic characters and poor dialogues. Fans of puzzle-heavy Euro-adventures might find something to enjoy here, but most gamers should steer clear.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 12
  2. Negative: 6 out of 12
  1. Dec 15, 2012
    8
    I'm not usually a big fan of adventure games (except maybe for the original Indiana Jones...). However the maturity of the storyline got me to buy it. I do enjoy the cartoony cut scenes delivery as well.

    In terms of the story I was really impressed. It's twists and turns and you never really know where it's going. It's got this nice flash-back story thing going as well so you don't get bored in the same place/time too long.

    There are a few quirks on the way the cut scenes are delivered. Sometimes you get audio spats in between scenes (probably loading / unloading sounds?) and some minor other bugs. Sometimes the characters have a bit of moon-walking action going on, in the close up scenes. Also some lip syncing is completely off in some cut scenes but that could be my computer... And I'm being picky. It doesn't take you out of the action which is the main thing... The puzzles between scenes can be a big gimmicky at times but I think that's just the nature of any adventure games. I did enjoy the skip button availability for complex puzzles. You get to the point where "ok I see where this is going but I've had enough of this" and you can skip. Cool stuff. I really dig the story, so it always gave me the incentive to see what's next and push through puzzles.

    Overall very happy with this title and I'm not finished with it yet. So thumbs up.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 2, 2013
    3
    I really really really wanted to enjoy this game. I really did. Unfortunately, upon starting the game and playing through the very first puzzle, the chump that designed it decided it would be hilarious if they hid one of the items that you needed to solve the puzzle inside of the most illogical and horrifically stupid places possible. The methodology in which the first puzzle was completed was pretty much the way that a human being would have solved it after drinking a gallon of bleach while boiling their head in a vat of prune juice. First puzzle aside, the second puzzle was more enjoyable and the storyline progressed interestingly. However, it was at this point that my sound suddenly stopped working. I checked to see if I had accidentally hit my mute button, I triple checked the in-game sound volume, and I restarted my game about six times to try to get it to work. Alas, the sound did not return and the game decided to add further insult to injury by somehow eradicating my autosave and all of the progress that I had made so far. So yeah. I really wanted to play this game. Unfortunately, I could not play it in the end and I would rather watch someone else play it on YouTube so I don't have to experience the frustration of not only solving irrational and illogical puzzles but solving technical issues as well. Full Review »
  3. Dec 21, 2012
    4
    1. The problem with this game is that many if not most of the characters are either unlikeable, annoying or irritating, and there is no way to skip when they''re on conversation. This problem also have to do with those characters personality; they can be rude at one time but suddenly out of blue they can be somewhat friendly and vice versa. There is lack of consistency in character personalities. 2. For a game with 500-year to the future setting there are not many things from the future that are impressing enough making the game feels bland. 500 years from now human will surely have permanent settlements at least within the solar system; why should they stick to earth !?

    3. I would love to see those unlikeable characters got unlucky or getting bugged by other annoying characters in the future releases - it will surely gives me satisfaction
    Full Review »