User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 49
  2. Negative: 12 out of 49

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 17, 2014
    3
    It's hard to recommend this daft eco story that includes time travel and terrible dialogue. Clearly the makers think people 500 years into the future are whiney or rude, more often both. There are some plusses, the music is nice, the graphics are clean, and fans of comics will like the feel to it. The reason to play is to get to the end of the story. I'd recommend playing whilst watching TV beside you, so you can work through the story but without paying too much attention to much of the dialogue and character interactions. For diehard point-and-click fans only. Expand
  2. Apr 13, 2013
    4
    A New Beginning is an adventure game that is an incoherent mess thanks to abysmal translations and voice acting.

    One of the most important points of an adventure game, besides the puzzles, is the dialogue. So if the dialogue is difficult to follow, illogical, or plainly incomprehensible, no matter how well put together the puzzles and how interesting the art style, the game will not be
    enjoyable. This is what A New Beginning suffers from, an incomprehensible dialogue that tries to tell what could have been an interesting story, while providing contradictory insight into how to solve puzzles (telling you to do one thing but you actually having to do the complete opposite), and developing unlikable characters, leaving you to wonder how such a game won the German game of the year award in 2011 (...lost in translation?). Expand
  3. May 17, 2013
    3
    The story in this game starts decent but the English version has voice acting that's far from great (Actors take weird stops between words and often speak without feeling).

    However this game has some major bugs some are so big that you often can't continue the storyline. If this game didn't have those bugs it might be a decent game, maybe a 7. But when you can't complete the game then
    it's just a waste of money. So I give it a 3. Expand
  4. Dec 21, 2012
    4
    1. The problem with this game is that many if not most of the characters are either unlikeable, annoying or irritating, and there is no way to skip when they''re on conversation. This problem also have to do with those characters personality; they can be rude at one time but suddenly out of blue they can be somewhat friendly and vice versa. There is lack of consistency in character personalities. 2. For a game with 500-year to the future setting there are not many things from the future that are impressing enough making the game feels bland. 500 years from now human will surely have permanent settlements at least within the solar system; why should they stick to earth !?

    3. I would love to see those unlikeable characters got unlucky or getting bugged by other annoying characters in the future releases - it will surely gives me satisfaction
    Expand
  5. Apr 2, 2013
    3
    I really really really wanted to enjoy this game. I really did. Unfortunately, upon starting the game and playing through the very first puzzle, the chump that designed it decided it would be hilarious if they hid one of the items that you needed to solve the puzzle inside of the most illogical and horrifically stupid places possible. The methodology in which the first puzzle was completed was pretty much the way that a human being would have solved it after drinking a gallon of bleach while boiling their head in a vat of prune juice. First puzzle aside, the second puzzle was more enjoyable and the storyline progressed interestingly. However, it was at this point that my sound suddenly stopped working. I checked to see if I had accidentally hit my mute button, I triple checked the in-game sound volume, and I restarted my game about six times to try to get it to work. Alas, the sound did not return and the game decided to add further insult to injury by somehow eradicating my autosave and all of the progress that I had made so far. So yeah. I really wanted to play this game. Unfortunately, I could not play it in the end and I would rather watch someone else play it on YouTube so I don't have to experience the frustration of not only solving irrational and illogical puzzles but solving technical issues as well. Expand
  6. Sep 4, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An adventure game! Immersive, memorable stories for those with the patience for good storytelling. Unfortunately, A New Beginning Final Cut failed to live up to my expectations. With dull characters and a poor story line, I had to drag myself along and convince myself the game would be over soon. It's a shame, there was the potential for so much more.

    I will first cover some points that I liked about the game. I enjoyed the soundtrack. From time to time an impressive score drives the mood. I found myself just listening. Another thing I appreciate is the honest portrayal of the main character. The male protagonist shows us a life that is boring, but honest. I found it interesting to see a retiree who could barely find the motivation to do his own dishes come to life as he is reunited with his work. Perhaps I would have appreciated the story more if it merely revolved around a washed up, retired, old man finding his way back into a meaningful life. But, yeah.. that's not what A New Beginning stands for.

    I will try to keep the bad points short, but there are some issues I'd like out there.

    Let's begin with gameplay. It is linear. To be expected with adventure titles you could say. However, conversation options mean nothing because you (1) cannot fail and (2) cannot advance until you make the choice laid out for you. Sometimes you can't proceed until you pick that one infuriatingly dumb option. This illusion of freedom kills flow and immersion, but it is not the only thing to do so in this game.

    The story is what drives an adventure title. Titles like Broken Sword and The Longest Journey have burned their mark in my brain with epic, awesome memorable stories. They are great. The story of A New Beginning Final Cut had me face palm in as soon as the first few minutes of playing. Time travel.. I'm not going explain why it's a bad idea to revolve a budget title story around time travel. Just know that I quickly braced myself for a bad story line because of it. Next: quick disposal of non-essential characters. Basically, the characters that don't die soon after their first few lines will make it through everything and face the end. It kind of reminds me of Mike Newell's take on The Sands of Time, in which all characters die the second they are no longer pivotal to the story. It's poor writing. And characters are disposed like this as quickly as the beginning of chapter one. As the story advances it becomes a race against the clock and a fight against all odds. Yes, we are still talking about a retired scientist. Too depressed to do his dishes moments earlier, now diffusing bombs on an isolated research facility. The good-vs-evil and we-are-the-only-ones-that-can-safe-the-world-but-!-can-your-friends-really-be-trusted ending to this tale left me with a smile to know that it would soon be over and I wouldn't have to play this game anymore.. It could have been so much more..

    Characters. I really liked Barney, good voice actor, awesome personality. The interactions with Barney were awesome. The strong synergy between him and the main character really should have received more attention. Unfortunately, he is rather irrelevant to the story and makes only a short appearance. Apart from Barney, characters are not memorable, mostly because they are generic, predictable and horribly stupid. I don't know how a lead scientist can keep up acting like an egotistical teenager throughout the whole story, but apparently he can. Or how a freelance journalist with a private helicopter accepts a time travel story without argument..

    Voice acting is a mixed bag, there are some painful, cringe-worthy moments here and there. Performances for the main characters are mediocre at best. And then there are some surprisingly good talents for some of the NPCs. I expected more but for an adventure title I don't find it as important as characters or story line.

    I'm also somewhat neutral about the detective/puzzling elements. Progress felt relatively easy. Most uses of your items are straight forward. I did find myself stuck at times, but then I simply missed an item hidden in the details of the environment. Taking a small break and later revisiting the area always helped. The puzzle mini-games can be skipped although I never needed to.

    To me, this game missed it's chance to be memorable. If its writing were better, characters more intelligent and the voice acting more immersive it would have become so much more. As it is, I would advice gamers to stay away from this title. If you like eco-thrillers, get it on discount.
    Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Jan 6, 2013
    40
    If you are truly desperate for good puzzles and sumptuous art, then you could do worse than play A New Beginning, but I found it impossible to look past the many issues and really enjoy the few things it manages to do right.
  2. Dec 17, 2012
    70
    It's a back and forth battle, as it's an enjoyable experience, but one that falls short of the adventure game and technological standards many have come to expect. If there was only a little bit more polish, A New Beginning – Final Cut could have been a unforgettable adventure.
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    84
    I am glad to finally see an adventure game that uses its narrative potential to address some important ecological themes and ideas. Even though the conclusion of the sci-fi story seems a little unrewarding, I always had a good time playing the game. Puzzles are generally solid, the hand painted graphics are beautiful and most of the (German) voice acting is well done. A New Beginning may not be perfect, but it's mature, surprising and quite simply fun to play.