A New Beginning - Final Cut Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the eco-thriller A New Beginning from Daedalic Entertainment, Fay teams up with scientist Bent Svensson to try and stem the tide of the ecological disaster that causes the extinction of mankind. Players will experience an absorbing adventure about the most important issue of our times. AtIn the eco-thriller A New Beginning from Daedalic Entertainment, Fay teams up with scientist Bent Svensson to try and stem the tide of the ecological disaster that causes the extinction of mankind. Players will experience an absorbing adventure about the most important issue of our times. At locations around the globe, it is up to them to change the course of history - with the whole world hanging in the balance. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Aug 2, 2011
    90
    Cartoony graphics contrast with a mature story that deals with a serious subject of climate changes caused by human carelessness and is devoid of humor. Instead of puns and wordplays we get well written, intriguing dialogues between believable characters with vivid personalities. [August 2011, p.66]
  2. Jun 22, 2011
    85
    A serious, committed and engaging adventure: A New Beginning is easily one of the best adventure of the year.
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    84
    I am glad to finally see an adventure game that uses its narrative potential to address some important ecological themes and ideas. Even though the conclusion of the sci-fi story seems a little unrewarding, I always had a good time playing the game. Puzzles are generally solid, the hand painted graphics are beautiful and most of the (German) voice acting is well done. A New Beginning may not be perfect, but it's mature, surprising and quite simply fun to play.
  4. Jun 3, 2011
    80
    A few technical failings aside, A New Beginning comes highly recommended. It's not often that I consider a game hard to put down, but I found myself getting deeply invested in the plot as it unravelled thanks to its convincing characterisation and an increasingly gripping storyline. Although there's an obvious environmental focus, there's also a strong heart to the story and it's this that powers your desire to play on. Any minor problems that arise are quickly overshadowed by the stunning artwork and the inventive, well-integrated puzzles, so whatever your view on global warming, do yourself a favour and shell out the green for A New Beginning.
  5. Dec 17, 2012
    70
    It's a back and forth battle, as it's an enjoyable experience, but one that falls short of the adventure game and technological standards many have come to expect. If there was only a little bit more polish, A New Beginning – Final Cut could have been a unforgettable adventure.
  6. Jul 20, 2011
    68
    While A New Beginning shines in the inspired art-style, the clever puzzles and the interesting story, it fails without hope in the crackling and weird sound, the lack of support for widescreen and the persistent crash-bugs that leads to utter frustration.
  7. Sep 16, 2011
    40
    A game that tries present itself as a serious "eco thriller" but fails completely due to stupid, illogical puzzles, moronic characters and poor dialogues. Fans of puzzle-heavy Euro-adventures might find something to enjoy here, but most gamers should steer clear.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 12
  2. Negative: 6 out of 12
  1. Dec 30, 2013
    10
    At the beginning I was very sceptic to that game. I thought it would be just another mumbo jumbo about the ecology. But when I started theAt the beginning I was very sceptic to that game. I thought it would be just another mumbo jumbo about the ecology. But when I started the game it completely drew me in. The story was amazing and led me to the masterful ending.
    Story and ending aren't the only great thing in that game. It also has very climatic music, beautiful drawn locations and difficult riddles.
    I can't not mention about awesome characters with their unique and complex personalities and stories. I really liked Fay and Bent.
    Expand
  2. Dec 28, 2013
    9
    It's a great adventure game, when it comes down to it. I had to reference a walkthrough 3 or 4 times for puzzles that I either didn't feelIt's a great adventure game, when it comes down to it. I had to reference a walkthrough 3 or 4 times for puzzles that I either didn't feel like spending hours on, or for puzzles that were simply non-intuitive via the interface (like, actions or events that after I had read the answer made me think "gee, I thought of that 30 minutes ago, and it didn't work the way I tried to implement it...").

    The voice acting is mediocre, but I could care less about that. If this game had no voice acting, and consisted of text subtitles only, you would find that the dialogue and conversations are great anyway, and provoke the same human emotions and reactions from you, the player, nonetheless. So, I can't rightfully take any strikes against this game for the voice acting--it's just so superficial.

    Bottom line, great story, great comic-art graphics, nice music, and absolutely worth playing!
    Expand
  3. Dec 15, 2012
    8
    I'm not usually a big fan of adventure games (except maybe for the original Indiana Jones...). However the maturity of the storyline got me toI'm not usually a big fan of adventure games (except maybe for the original Indiana Jones...). However the maturity of the storyline got me to buy it. I do enjoy the cartoony cut scenes delivery as well.

    In terms of the story I was really impressed. It's twists and turns and you never really know where it's going. It's got this nice flash-back story thing going as well so you don't get bored in the same place/time too long.

    There are a few quirks on the way the cut scenes are delivered. Sometimes you get audio spats in between scenes (probably loading / unloading sounds?) and some minor other bugs. Sometimes the characters have a bit of moon-walking action going on, in the close up scenes. Also some lip syncing is completely off in some cut scenes but that could be my computer... And I'm being picky. It doesn't take you out of the action which is the main thing... The puzzles between scenes can be a big gimmicky at times but I think that's just the nature of any adventure games. I did enjoy the skip button availability for complex puzzles. You get to the point where "ok I see where this is going but I've had enough of this" and you can skip. Cool stuff. I really dig the story, so it always gave me the incentive to see what's next and push through puzzles.

    Overall very happy with this title and I'm not finished with it yet. So thumbs up.
    Expand
  4. Sep 4, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An adventure game! Immersive, memorable stories for those with the patience for good storytelling. Unfortunately, A New Beginning Final Cut failed to live up to my expectations. With dull characters and a poor story line, I had to drag myself along and convince myself the game would be over soon. It's a shame, there was the potential for so much more.

    I will first cover some points that I liked about the game. I enjoyed the soundtrack. From time to time an impressive score drives the mood. I found myself just listening. Another thing I appreciate is the honest portrayal of the main character. The male protagonist shows us a life that is boring, but honest. I found it interesting to see a retiree who could barely find the motivation to do his own dishes come to life as he is reunited with his work. Perhaps I would have appreciated the story more if it merely revolved around a washed up, retired, old man finding his way back into a meaningful life. But, yeah.. that's not what A New Beginning stands for.

    I will try to keep the bad points short, but there are some issues I'd like out there.

    Let's begin with gameplay. It is linear. To be expected with adventure titles you could say. However, conversation options mean nothing because you (1) cannot fail and (2) cannot advance until you make the choice laid out for you. Sometimes you can't proceed until you pick that one infuriatingly dumb option. This illusion of freedom kills flow and immersion, but it is not the only thing to do so in this game.

    The story is what drives an adventure title. Titles like Broken Sword and The Longest Journey have burned their mark in my brain with epic, awesome memorable stories. They are great. The story of A New Beginning Final Cut had me face palm in as soon as the first few minutes of playing. Time travel.. I'm not going explain why it's a bad idea to revolve a budget title story around time travel. Just know that I quickly braced myself for a bad story line because of it. Next: quick disposal of non-essential characters. Basically, the characters that don't die soon after their first few lines will make it through everything and face the end. It kind of reminds me of Mike Newell's take on The Sands of Time, in which all characters die the second they are no longer pivotal to the story. It's poor writing. And characters are disposed like this as quickly as the beginning of chapter one. As the story advances it becomes a race against the clock and a fight against all odds. Yes, we are still talking about a retired scientist. Too depressed to do his dishes moments earlier, now diffusing bombs on an isolated research facility. The good-vs-evil and we-are-the-only-ones-that-can-safe-the-world-but-!-can-your-friends-really-be-trusted ending to this tale left me with a smile to know that it would soon be over and I wouldn't have to play this game anymore.. It could have been so much more..

    Characters. I really liked Barney, good voice actor, awesome personality. The interactions with Barney were awesome. The strong synergy between him and the main character really should have received more attention. Unfortunately, he is rather irrelevant to the story and makes only a short appearance. Apart from Barney, characters are not memorable, mostly because they are generic, predictable and horribly stupid. I don't know how a lead scientist can keep up acting like an egotistical teenager throughout the whole story, but apparently he can. Or how a freelance journalist with a private helicopter accepts a time travel story without argument..

    Voice acting is a mixed bag, there are some painful, cringe-worthy moments here and there. Performances for the main characters are mediocre at best. And then there are some surprisingly good talents for some of the NPCs. I expected more but for an adventure title I don't find it as important as characters or story line.

    I'm also somewhat neutral about the detective/puzzling elements. Progress felt relatively easy. Most uses of your items are straight forward. I did find myself stuck at times, but then I simply missed an item hidden in the details of the environment. Taking a small break and later revisiting the area always helped. The puzzle mini-games can be skipped although I never needed to.

    To me, this game missed it's chance to be memorable. If its writing were better, characters more intelligent and the voice acting more immersive it would have become so much more. As it is, I would advice gamers to stay away from this title. If you like eco-thrillers, get it on discount.
    Expand
  5. Dec 21, 2012
    4
    1. The problem with this game is that many if not most of the characters are either unlikeable, annoying or irritating, and there is no way to1. The problem with this game is that many if not most of the characters are either unlikeable, annoying or irritating, and there is no way to skip when they''re on conversation. This problem also have to do with those characters personality; they can be rude at one time but suddenly out of blue they can be somewhat friendly and vice versa. There is lack of consistency in character personalities. 2. For a game with 500-year to the future setting there are not many things from the future that are impressing enough making the game feels bland. 500 years from now human will surely have permanent settlements at least within the solar system; why should they stick to earth !?

    3. I would love to see those unlikeable characters got unlucky or getting bugged by other annoying characters in the future releases - it will surely gives me satisfaction
    Expand
  6. Apr 13, 2013
    4
    A New Beginning is an adventure game that is an incoherent mess thanks to abysmal translations and voice acting.

    One of the most important
    A New Beginning is an adventure game that is an incoherent mess thanks to abysmal translations and voice acting.

    One of the most important points of an adventure game, besides the puzzles, is the dialogue. So if the dialogue is difficult to follow, illogical, or plainly incomprehensible, no matter how well put together the puzzles and how interesting the art style, the game will not be enjoyable. This is what A New Beginning suffers from, an incomprehensible dialogue that tries to tell what could have been an interesting story, while providing contradictory insight into how to solve puzzles (telling you to do one thing but you actually having to do the complete opposite), and developing unlikable characters, leaving you to wonder how such a game won the German game of the year award in 2011 (...lost in translation?).
    Expand
  7. Jan 17, 2014
    3
    It's hard to recommend this daft eco story that includes time travel and terrible dialogue. Clearly the makers think people 500 years into theIt's hard to recommend this daft eco story that includes time travel and terrible dialogue. Clearly the makers think people 500 years into the future are whiney or rude, more often both. There are some plusses, the music is nice, the graphics are clean, and fans of comics will like the feel to it. The reason to play is to get to the end of the story. I'd recommend playing whilst watching TV beside you, so you can work through the story but without paying too much attention to much of the dialogue and character interactions. For diehard point-and-click fans only. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews