Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Jun 9, 2014
    83
    What pleasantly surprised me is that A Story About My Uncle doesn't focus exclusively on the story itself, but puts great emphasis on the simple yet engrossing narrative. This results in a high sense of immersion which becomes apparent only at the very end of the narration. ASAMU is certainly a non-violent interactive story videogame that pushes the genre one step forward, through its platforming mechanics. For anyone who thought Dear Esther as a surprising alternative to conventional gaming, ASAMU will certainly not disappoint.
  2. Aug 6, 2014
    80
    The premise of the story is interesting and gets you hooked, and even though the game is linear and demands near perfect execution for many of its puzzles, it's still an interesting mechanical and visual experience, but A Story About My Uncle ultimately disappoints by ending very abruptly and not getting anywhere.
  3. Jun 27, 2014
    80
    The production by Gone North Games is able to offer a great gaming experience, which, however, suffers from a longevity may be inadequate. Despite this flaw is recommended buying the stock, and will not fail to satisfy lovers of the good platform supported by suggestive settings.
  4. Jun 25, 2014
    80
    A unique platform game with clever ideas, imaginative gameplay and a well written story. A Story About My Uncle is one of a few indie titles you can buy immediately without waiting for a flash sale or a bundle.
  5. Jun 5, 2014
    80
    With a price point of only $15, A Story About My Uncle is a must-own for anyone who loves games that make them think and can appreciate a good platforming challenge as well.
  6. Jun 5, 2014
    80
    Unfortunately, the last quarter of A Story About My Uncle does become a little too repetitive, and slightly overly obscure grapple set pieces require blind luck more often than skill. That said, this is still a great adventure - one which will return you to childhood fantasy, and one which will far from get your goat.
  7. May 28, 2014
    80
    A captivating and engaging experience. Once you put on that suit and are launched into the sky, you begin a journey that will have you smiling throughout, even during the challenging moments.
  8. May 27, 2014
    80
    A Story About My Uncle is a fast, evocative and surprisingly good first person platform.
  9. Sep 14, 2014
    78
    A Story About My Uncle has got a nice concept, great controls and some nice level design, but it feels like a game that could have been so much better with more depth and polish.
  10. Jun 4, 2014
    78
    Fast, fluid and fun first-person platforming tied together with a warm narrative. Pace slows near the end, though.
  11. Jun 3, 2014
    78
    It’s a short experience, clocking in at only a few hours, but it’s an adventure I enjoyed taking.
  12. As the first game from Gone North, A Story About My Uncle is a great start for the studio. Effective storytelling and dynamic gameplay mechanics are the best side of this game. However there are some bugs, but still ASAMU is worth playing.
  13. Aug 25, 2014
    75
    A Story About My Uncle accomplishes its goal of creating a feeling through controls that many games aspire to, but fail to grasp. My biggest takeaway from the game was wishing there was more of it; the game does a phenomenal job of making it exciting merely to be present in and move about its world, if only for a fleeting visit.
  14. Aug 18, 2014
    70
    Considering all the flitting around, the entertainment is sometimes teetering on the edge of frustration, but otherwise a search for the lost uncle is a sweet treat for a weekend, which lacks only deeper depictions of the world "on the other side" along with a stronger dramatic arc.
  15. Jun 25, 2014
    70
    In A Story About My Uncle, you will cross a hostile and fragmented world to find your adventurer uncle. The game is easy and short, but pleasant, and its story is really moving in the end.
  16. Jun 12, 2014
    70
    A Story About My Uncle is a first-person platformer with some good ideas and beautiful environments. The indie game uses a Portal-/BioShock Infinite-like layout and seems to become a fantastic experience, but then suddenly is out of levels. Because of the strongly varying difficulty and a story focuses on kids, we wonder what age the game is actually meant for.
  17. Jun 5, 2014
    70
    For $13, players looking for a unique experience will find it here. Keep in mind, there is some trial and error platforming awaiting would-be players that can get nerve-racking after a while, and some of the dialog delivery is off, but the world itself is colorful and interesting and while it may be delivered slightly off at times, the story is rather interesting.
  18. Aug 11, 2014
    65
    When the game lets its main character race through the world, bounding across chasms and flinging himself here and there with the grapple, it is really wonderful. That happens all too rarely, however, and instead the game breeds repeated frustration brought on by the difficulty of figuring out where the protagonist should grapple, why he can't, or what to do about it.
  19. Jul 29, 2014
    61
    Despite jarring control issues there's still much to admire here in the tone and beautiful locations. [Sept 2014, p.71]
  20. Sep 4, 2014
    60
    A good start for the Swedish software house, but the game lacks personality and the central part of the story isn't interesting as the incipit.
  21. Jun 26, 2014
    60
    The best thing about A Story About My Uncle is its scenery design, which will often leave you with your mouth open, but the rest of the game is not that great.
  22. Jun 11, 2014
    60
    A Story About My Uncle is a game with big intentions. It’s fun to jump around and the mechanics often works pretty well, but the difficulty is unbalanced, which leads to a lot of frustration. Together with a story that never reaches its full potential A Story About My Uncle is a bit disappointing.
  23. Aug 25, 2014
    50
    After every moment of enjoyable flight or other dynamic event comes a segment that requires patience and counting seconds to time the next jump right. It’s a pity that instead of A Story About Jumping Around Like A Maniac we got such a drag. [8/2014, p.71]
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. May 31, 2014
    9
    This is a beautiful idea for a game - myst (adventure) meets dreamfall (RPG) meets Journey (nonviolent exploration) meets an FPS withoutThis is a beautiful idea for a game - myst (adventure) meets dreamfall (RPG) meets Journey (nonviolent exploration) meets an FPS without weapons. I loved it and highly encourage trying it. This is a novel, gorgeous play experience that is as simple as it is captivating. It is somewhat short, but I prefer quality to quantity. In the future, moar like this please! Let the creation of this new genre develop further! Full Review »
  2. Aug 4, 2012
    8
    Great Graphics, Good Storyline, and Amazing Idea!
    I was actually surprised about the price,
    when most games like this is about, I don't
    Great Graphics, Good Storyline, and Amazing Idea!
    I was actually surprised about the price,
    when most games like this is about, I don't know, 29 Euro or something.
    Great game, too bad my computer has problems with the lag.
    Well, what can I say, I have a rather old computer.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 6, 2014
    9
    A great game which combines a lovely story with good gameplay. Can get a bit frustrating sometimes, but the satisfaction you get when youA great game which combines a lovely story with good gameplay. Can get a bit frustrating sometimes, but the satisfaction you get when you complete a puzzle compensates it.
    An unique experience that is worth all the money.
    9/10
    Full Review »