Aarklash: Legacy Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Aarklash: Legacy is a tactical role playing game centered around the principles of planification and strategy. Master tactical combat through the use of active pause to coordinate the various heroes and their skills. Play cleverly to defeat all the merciless creatures living in Aarklash. Learn their weaknesses and send them to their graves. Sharpen your skills/techniques and attempt to defeat the game in Ragnarok mode, if you dare. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    80
    Aarklash: Legacy can take these criticisms holding its head up high. Its combat is among the most fun I have had in a party-based Action RPG in a long while and its art direction and visual fidelity are way, way up there.
  2. Oct 9, 2013
    80
    Aarklash: Legacy offers superb tactical combat in the style of classics like Baldur's Gate. It's a game with combat and little else, but if you fancy yourself an armchair tactician you owe it to yourself to give it a go.
  3. Oct 28, 2013
    80
    Devoid of plot, yet highly recommended on the strength of its combat. Beautifully balanced, complex and challenging. [Nov 2013, p.96]
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    75
    Despite some limitations in party managing and world interactions, Cyanide has made ​​its best title ever. Aarklash Legacy is a good example of tactical GdR with an isometric view and many hardcore gamers will love it.
  5. Nov 2, 2013
    70
    There was no single-player RPG title with party-based cooperation of the same importance as it is in this game. Aarklash brings magically elaborated combat system, however, many things around this feature should have been made in much better fashion.
  6. Sep 22, 2013
    70
    Aarklash: Legacy takes the player back to the world of the tabletop RPG known as Confrontation in a second attempt to propose its fantasy universe to PC gamers. The game in itself is a good, party-based RPG, with a nice combat system and many interesting ideas. Unfortunately it’s not a masterpiece and, after a while, the hybrid turn mechanics become a little boring. Dedicated to the fan of the genre who are in search of a fantasy game at a budget price.
  7. Oct 7, 2013
    60
    Aarklash: Legacy is not without its moments, but it is too sadistic to be any fun.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Sep 15, 2013
    9
    This is the most fun and challening game I have played for a while! If I had to describe it, I'd call it League of Legends with control of 4 characters at the same time. The pausing system works really well and allows you to keep the situation in check. I play the game on the third difficulty level and I'm definitely not having an easy time! Bosses are very challening and even in the early stages of the game they have very interesting mechanics to them; they're not tank and spank encounters. All in all, well worth my money!

    - Edit: playing through the game for the first time took me 13 hours on the third difficulty setting. There's some interesting fights towards the end of the game although I would have preferred for packs of mobs to be slightly easier and bosses a tad harder.
    Expand
  2. Inq
    Sep 12, 2013
    9
    Okay, so, I just created an account to review this game (and I'm using Metacritic to check Game Scores for over a year now, so that should tell you something) and I just have to say, this is SO good.

    The combat is genuinely interesting and challenging (make sure you play on Hard or Impossible for full effect), the directional heals are a cool idea, as are most of the skills (except for a few generic ones, but can't have any RPG without a Direct Damage Melee Skill, right?).

    Basically you control a party of 4, 1 Tank, 1 "Healer" and 2 "DPS", notice I'm using Healer and DPS loosely here, because some DPS classes (you get more Characters later on) are better used CCing enemies or even healing as well. The Main Healer has kind of a blood mage thing going on where he can't heal without leeching the life of allies and the Tank uses HP for his abilities and these aren't all of the interesting mechanics.

    Anyway, this game has decent-enough graphics, decent-enough sound, a good story, questionable voiceover but incredible mechanics, for the price it's being sold it I can recommend it to everyone who likes gripping tactical combat that requires you to actually think for a change. Great stuff.
    Expand
  3. Sep 22, 2013
    9
    I am going to be pretty blunt here, If you liked the combat in Dragon Age origins, but were looking for something harder, here it is. This is the old school infinity engine style of combat plan and simple, same as you would see in Icewind Dale, but a bit more limited. That's actually the only thing I did not like about the game, was that they limited the player a bit to much in the area of skills and interactions. You also only control 4 characters at once, and in some fights you will be facing off vs. up to 8 enemies at the same time. Other then that though, they nailed it, with a great fluid combat system with competent ai and some interesting character choices to make as your wheel swords level up. The story is nothing to write home about, though I did really enjoy the universe that it was set in. The voice overs were also pretty bad at some points, but even the worst of them were better then some things I have seen from other games.

    In short, if you are looking for a good pick up and play tactical game that wont take it easy on you, then this is for you.
    Expand
  4. Sep 15, 2013
    9
    As a purely combat-focused tactical RPG this game is amazingly good. The combat system is well designed and all information is transparently conveyed to the player (notably stats and skills of your enemies), so that while the battles can be challenging, they never feel unfair. Each battle is a riddle for you to analyze and solve. And boy is solving them fun and rewarding. The active skills of both your group and your advesaries are powerful and interesting, making for intense, dramatic battles where every action counts and victory is never certain.

    Beware that outside combat the game has very little to offer. Basic linear plot (though the setting and characters are cool), no interactive dialogs, no sidequests, no chatting to your companions, no exploration, no merchants, horribly boring randomized loot... But screw checklists. As an RPG this is a very light-weight game, focusing exclusively on the core gameplay, the tactical battles. And it pulls them off so well, that it was a constant joy to play for me.

    So if this sounds like your kind of thing, don't hesitate. This game succeeds at what it set out to do and is a polished, mostly bug-free experience.
    Expand
  5. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    Aarklash: Legacy has, quite possibly, one of the most cohesive, addicting combat systems I've experienced in a strategy RPG in years. Real time combat with a pause at any point to micromanage your Quorr of Wheel Swords (team of mercenaries)? Yes, please. Add a fun setting, interesting story, and interesting customization options and you've got a great strategy RPG experience everyone should give a go and for a budget price, it's a hard one to pass up! The voice acting is a little hit-or-miss, but the gameplay is top notch. Expand
  6. Sep 17, 2013
    8
    A decent tactical RPG with free respeccing. You can change your characters or group composition before every fight, making it somewhat of a puzzle game what combination can beat this fight. With this in mind, the game relies heavily on quick save-quick load to go back and try fights again. The tactics involve various buffs, debuffs, CC and damage skills, used to take out high priority mobs (healers, CC) before others. The game tries well to put together some crazy combinations of units that are very hard to defeat. Overall, well worth 20$ Expand
  7. Sep 12, 2013
    3
    Could have been a great game... But it's Cyanide so they made sure to mess everything :
    Gameplay is pretty good
    HMI is poorly designed, when
    tutorial called for something i had to try for 10 mn to find the key, which didn't appeared in options/controls ....
    Game is poorly done graphics aren't great, i don't care but it makes my HD7970_DC2_TOP heats enough to make my inverter cry and watching aida it's not crying for nothing my gpu is heating like i'm playing crysis III in full res.

    TL;DR Good idea, Poor game
    Expand

See all 25 User Reviews