Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 103 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Making its debut on PC Q1 of 2013; ACE COMBAT ASSAULT HORIZON - ENHANCED EDITION features controls and graphics that have been optimized specifically for PC users. The PC version will include many of the DLC items released on the console versions of the game. Players will have immediate access to additional aircrafts and numerous aircraft skins as well as skills and maps. The multiplayer portion of the game will feature support through Games for Windows Live from Microsoft. The game will be available at retailers and for download via Steam and the Games for Windows Marketplace. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Feb 21, 2013
    85
    A title you definitely didn't expect to see on PC, Ace Combat looks like a flight sim and plays like the vehicular sections of Call of Duty. It's a fun game while it lasts. The linear missions mean that the game holds no replay-value whatsoever. [Feb 2013]
  2. Feb 6, 2013
    82
    The mere fact of Ace Combat on PC is great news. It's not very well-adapted to the mouse and keyboard layout, but the graphic improvement is worth it. In any case, it's a great action game, whether you like the series or not.
  3. Feb 3, 2013
    81
    Ace Combat: Assault Horizon provides frenetic gameplay and a funny arcade action experience with its blockbuster presentation and great multiplayer side.
  4. Jan 28, 2013
    80
    Ace Combat: Assault Horizon with it's thrilling dogfights is an intense flight-simulation, that gives you a nice Top Gun-feeling.
  5. Feb 20, 2013
    75
    Ace Combat Assault Horizon is one of the best air combat games on the PC platform. If you can go beyond the limits of gameplay (due to the entire genre) then consider buying.
  6. Feb 11, 2013
    75
    The game is enjoyable thanks to a very immediate arcade formula and to the good variety of missions in the single player campaign. The competitive multiplayer and co-op are fun, but some may find the overall game experience a little too simplistic and the plot, as well as the soundtrack, does not go beyond a good routine. At this price, however, it's a good deal.
  7. Feb 7, 2013
    60
    It’s not going to blow your mind, but if you’re happy with a total disregard for realism then Ace Combat: Assault Horizon will keep you happy and entertained for a good few hours.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 32
  2. Negative: 14 out of 32
  1. Jan 25, 2013
    10
    I have been a fan of the series for a very long time. I am only about 6 hours into the game. I love how this time it is in real settings and not a fantasy world. Graphics on the pc are stunning. I have seen no lag or any issues what so ever so far. If you are a fan of the series i highly recommend picking this game up! Expand
  2. Oct 15, 2013
    9
    This is the best flight combat game at this time and ive played alot of flight games but ace combat is #1. I hope they make a new one for 2014. Expand
  3. Jan 14, 2014
    8
    O Ace Combat que estou anallisando, é um ótimo jogo, com graficos maravilhosos e com uma história bem peculiar.

    No 1° dia de Lançamento na
    Steam, eu comprei o jogo e fiquei ansioso para joga-lo, dito e feito, assim que baixou fiquei maravilhado com o mesmo, pois pela jogabilidade e imersão em seus graficos e história o game chama muita atenção e é uma bela obra de arte.

    Eu recomendo totalmente, pois a série Ace Combat é realmente uma série para se levar em consideração e jogar sem medo algum de se arrepender, para os que gostam de simuladores que nem Comanche 3 e F-22 Raptor.
    Expand
  4. Apr 22, 2013
    6
    I've always loved the Ace Combat series, this game is a bit of a stray. It is more cinematic and arcade than its former glory, which isn't a bad thing, but nothing to get excited about. This game is a great time killer when you need an adrenaline rush. Expand
  5. Oct 17, 2013
    4
    Okay, this sham of a game is not worthy of an Ace combat title, it has pulled so far away from what it was to become a "modern" FFPS (Flight FPS). The gameplay is cringe-worthy, your actual skill means very little in a dogfight and as a result i lost interest very quickly. I played with controller and that worked as good as one can hope. But Pulling instant 180's and trying to maneuver a circle over an enemy will never be a flight simulator. I can't say as a game it is bad per se but if you were expecting a return and improvement of the games previous look elsewhere, this is a CoD fan-base grab and the lack of depth skill and story reflects that. Expand
  6. Mar 2, 2013
    2
    This game is an experiment gone horribly wrong. I wonder what the developers were thinking, did they think we, loyal Ace Combat fans will like these new nonsensical additions? DFM especially, the scripted dog fights takes no skill at all. Adding DFM is bad enough, the game makes it worse by forcing you to use it, if you don't, you can't complete missions. Enemies that I could have taken down easily with missiles become immune to them, planes only susceptible to bullet damage, I say. Collapse
  7. Mar 23, 2013
    0
    Great to see an old and dearly loved franchise on the PC, though they did ruin it by incorporating ridiculous control schemes, and quick-time events. Ace combat is a fighter simulator.... stop trying to be everything else. It isn't working. I gave up halfway; the helicopter controls are unplayable on a joystick. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews