Ace Combat Assault Horizon: Enhanced Edition Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 160 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Making its debut on PC Q1 of 2013; ACE COMBAT ASSAULT HORIZON - ENHANCED EDITION features controls and graphics that have been optimized specifically for PC users. The PC version will include many of the DLC items released on the console versions of the game. Players will have immediateMaking its debut on PC Q1 of 2013; ACE COMBAT ASSAULT HORIZON - ENHANCED EDITION features controls and graphics that have been optimized specifically for PC users. The PC version will include many of the DLC items released on the console versions of the game. Players will have immediate access to additional aircrafts and numerous aircraft skins as well as skills and maps. The multiplayer portion of the game will feature support through Games for Windows Live from Microsoft. The game will be available at retailers and for download via Steam and the Games for Windows Marketplace. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Feb 21, 2013
    85
    A title you definitely didn't expect to see on PC, Ace Combat looks like a flight sim and plays like the vehicular sections of Call of Duty. It's a fun game while it lasts. The linear missions mean that the game holds no replay-value whatsoever. [Feb 2013]
  2. Feb 6, 2013
    82
    The mere fact of Ace Combat on PC is great news. It's not very well-adapted to the mouse and keyboard layout, but the graphic improvement is worth it. In any case, it's a great action game, whether you like the series or not.
  3. Feb 3, 2013
    81
    Ace Combat: Assault Horizon provides frenetic gameplay and a funny arcade action experience with its blockbuster presentation and great multiplayer side.
  4. Jan 28, 2013
    80
    Ace Combat: Assault Horizon with it's thrilling dogfights is an intense flight-simulation, that gives you a nice Top Gun-feeling.
  5. Feb 20, 2013
    75
    Ace Combat Assault Horizon is one of the best air combat games on the PC platform. If you can go beyond the limits of gameplay (due to the entire genre) then consider buying.
  6. Feb 11, 2013
    75
    The game is enjoyable thanks to a very immediate arcade formula and to the good variety of missions in the single player campaign. The competitive multiplayer and co-op are fun, but some may find the overall game experience a little too simplistic and the plot, as well as the soundtrack, does not go beyond a good routine. At this price, however, it's a good deal.
  7. Feb 7, 2013
    60
    It’s not going to blow your mind, but if you’re happy with a total disregard for realism then Ace Combat: Assault Horizon will keep you happy and entertained for a good few hours.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 51
  2. Negative: 25 out of 51
  1. Jan 25, 2013
    10
    I have been a fan of the series for a very long time. I am only about 6 hours into the game. I love how this time it is in real settings andI have been a fan of the series for a very long time. I am only about 6 hours into the game. I love how this time it is in real settings and not a fantasy world. Graphics on the pc are stunning. I have seen no lag or any issues what so ever so far. If you are a fan of the series i highly recommend picking this game up! Expand
  2. Feb 16, 2017
    8
    Ace Combat Assault Horizon - Enhanced Edition is both a fun and entertaining addition to the Ace Combat series. It is an arcade, nervous, pickAce Combat Assault Horizon - Enhanced Edition is both a fun and entertaining addition to the Ace Combat series. It is an arcade, nervous, pick and play, flight combat game that I really enjoyed playing. It is clear that the game makers were trying to mirror the Call of Duty's campaign mode strengths. In other words, the campaign is explosive, very intense, nervous, and chaotic at moments, as if you are part of a Michael Bay movie. I personally found it very refreshing and I hope that future sequels will keep this vision. Finally keep in mind that this is not a hardcore/realistic flight simulator. Below are my pros and cons :

    Positives:
    * Awesome campaign mode.
    * Easy gameplay (with depth at high levels)
    * Nervous (dog)fights.
    * Great music and sounds (The japanese voices are outstanding. The english ones are not so good/bad).
    * Pick and play (meaning you don't need to know who is who, or what is what, or what combination of buttons you need to press to make X or Y spell, or when you need to meet Z person at N's location, etc... Just relax, pick your pad, get in this explosive universe, and enjoy yourself).

    Negatives:
    * The scenario is a very "japanese" take on US politics/conflicts.
    * Short campaign (but very intense and fun).

    Thanks to the developers for the enjoyable experience!

    Verdict: A-
    Expand
  3. Mar 30, 2013
    8
    In order to play this game, you need to forget all you know about flight sims. This is not a flight simulator. If you treat it as such, you'llIn order to play this game, you need to forget all you know about flight sims. This is not a flight simulator. If you treat it as such, you'll be very bored and very frustrated. Don't expect to lock you BVR weapons with a radar then letting them rip and you sneaking away by flying low to avoid radar. No, instead it will be up close and furious dogfights which have no resemblance to reality. Once you get into a state of mind that this is but a silly arcade game, you'll have a blast. Where else do you avoid air-to-air missiles in a helicopter by performing a 360 flip?
    Leave reality at the door and you'll find a fun and over the top game.
    Expand
  4. Apr 4, 2014
    5
    This game is a pathetic excuse for an Ace Combat game. Dog fight mode is a stupid gimmick, forcing you to use helicopters is pathetic and notThis game is a pathetic excuse for an Ace Combat game. Dog fight mode is a stupid gimmick, forcing you to use helicopters is pathetic and not true to the series.

    A real Ace Combat fan would delete this piece of **** from their hard drives and play the PS2 games over it.
    It's sad that a more recent, amazing looking game could have such a terrible story, terrible characters and overall poor quality. This game used to have a niche appeal and now they're trying to spread it out. It's not like I don't understand, I honestly do. You just did a very poor job with it.

    I wouldn't give it a 1. I wouldn't give it a 6. The graphics make up a lot for the ****ness of the story campaign but it's still pathetic, mostly because dogfight mode takes away control of your flying so you can't even look at the nice scenery! That is its biggest problem... taking control away from the player.

    Stick to the formula, guys. It's best to have a dedicated following than no following at all.
    Expand
  5. Oct 19, 2013
    3
    Worst Ace Combat game I have ever played. I will first start by saying the positive and that this game is pretty solid and bug free, runsWorst Ace Combat game I have ever played. I will first start by saying the positive and that this game is pretty solid and bug free, runs well, even for a console port. However my gripe is with the god awful gameplay. This whole game is on rails. Not sure how you can manage to put a aircraft game on rails, but they do. First off the mission maps are small (The ones where you can actually fly around.) I am not expecting a flight Sim, this is Ace Combat, but basic flight characteristic should be present as in other Ace Combats. 2 speeds, Stall and afterburners. Oh you think you can fly and dog fighting using your own tactics like in other ace combats??? LOL No. Everything forces you to use this stupid (DFM) mode. Which is pretty much a roller coast auto pilot, where your airplane pulls UFO maneuvers as you try to try to shoot down the enemy... and your pretty much not even flying the plane. So you can fly through Hollywood explosions... Plus for some reason some targets dont even die and 8 direct hits unless you enter Rollercoaster on rails Mode. So stupid! Think you can fly a stealth aircraft and fly through radar undetected? lol... According to Ace Combat you need to fly at low altitude through a radar screen.... Why? I have a B-2 that can fly through it at high altitude. In fact, you would be more vulnerable to be detected from your engines being heard from that low... I dont mind Arcade aircraft games, but that DFM Rollercoaster-cant-kill-anything-without-using-it mode is by far the worst idea to be used in a aircraft game! Expand
  6. Jul 28, 2014
    2
    A disappointing watered down version of Ace Combat, dog fighting has been reduced to a rail shooter set up, planes can 'Heal' Damage. And aA disappointing watered down version of Ace Combat, dog fighting has been reduced to a rail shooter set up, planes can 'Heal' Damage. And a series that was once famous for a relatively realistic depiction of modern fighter combat now has me watching in wonder as a plane continually fires 6 missiles at me while I sit on its tail hitting it over and over to seemingly no effect.

    The DFM mechanic was an unnecessary and unwelcome addition to the game that left me with headaches and no small amount of frustration, I am armed with heat seeking and radar guided missiles, why am I forced to continually close to guns range, this isn't exciting its tedious, there is no variation in the battles I found myself in. Be warned, there is no real control of your fighter in this game, there is no XYZ axis controls, you will be taking massive loops if you ever miss anything, there is no rudder or aileron control, you will be flying in straight lines until you get to the rail shooting and only the most basic moves will be available to you.

    The quick time event DFM creates also seems a little buggy, sometimes it works, and sometimes I'll be hammering the button while my fighter gets shot to pieces. Some missions contain frustrating beginners traps forcing you to wade through it again and again until you figure out what you are supposed to be doing.

    Story is lackluster and predictable, the Unsung War this is not not, the narrative is broken and disjointed, the characters are generally flat, and you know nothing about them. The attempt to build up the main villain is silly, either the main character is an honest to god psychic, or his opponent is beaming it into his mind. Otherwise this match up makes no sense, they have no reason to personally hate each other, they've never met. The final boss fight is a giant disappointment, teeth grindingly frustrating due to the forced DFM usage, there is no real climax, the plot just kind of meanders with no rhyme or reason.

    Overall: Play the Unsung War if you want to play a good Ace combat game, leave this in the bargin bin
    Expand
  7. Jul 27, 2014
    0
    I decided to play this game over the course of two days due to steam free weekend. Here's my take.

    This is a shockingly bad game. To call
    I decided to play this game over the course of two days due to steam free weekend. Here's my take.

    This is a shockingly bad game. To call it a game is being generous, it is an insult to my intelligence. The missions are entirely scripted, checkpoints are bafflingly placed at times, and I found myself repeatedly having to turn all sound off, because hearing the same bad Russian accent shout the same tired line for the 30th time was really getting on my nerves. The game's script faults lie in a number of places - events you only get one shot at, like doing a bombing run flawlessly first try, otherwise you have to reload checkpoints and do all the other bombing runs prior to it, over and over and over. Other areas are even worse, the final mission has you in dogfight mode until a certain number of scripted events happen. The enemy you are dogfighting is invulnerable, but you are not. Missiles come at you from all sides, but missiles you shoot at him will not hit until the whole script is over. I will not spoil the mechanic for how this happens, but I can assure you, actually outplaying the games AI only to have it cheat is immensely frustrating. I never finished the final mission as I just couldn't stand to repeat that script any longer. Frequently, enemies would double back and fly directly through my plane, probably breaking a couple rules of physics. This frustrated me for two reasons, some of the scripts are reliant on you remaining in dogfight mode, and I occasionally used one of my few special weapons, only to have the enemy double back immediately and pass right through them.

    Sound is good. That's about the only thing that is, however. My graphics card is currently experiencing overheating issues, this game did not give me any problems. Why? Well, the game's not very pretty. It isn't very ugly, but it's not pretty. For some people who play action games on the PC, this matters. For me, I prefer the narratives and gameplay, gameplay we've covered. Well, the narrative. The narrative isn't bad. It isn't good. It's forgettable, which is arguably worse. Many missions I just tuned out the scripted voices of my 'co-pilot's. Some aspects are so cliche they made me cringe - low grade machismo underscored with cold war era racism and predictable twists. You get given control of your characters head in most areas, so you can look around, during some of the more cinematic moments but nothing more. It doesn't impact the game in any way and as pretty much everything is taking place in grey military bases, there isn't a lot to see to begin with.

    I experienced an occasional crash to desktop, but the game is pretty good at returning you to your last checkpoint. I feel like this has been a waste of a couple days, and I did not pay money for the product. I would not recommend anybody else do so. If you do, play it on easy, because you really don't want to be playing this game for its aerial combat.
    Expand

See all 51 User Reviews