Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 6 out of 13
  1. Jan 5, 2013
    59
    There's a bold premise lying underneath, but thanks to the marginalization of its promising building elements, it's little more than another mediocre shooter.
  2. Dec 17, 2012
    40
    Ace of Spades is also missing a level editor, which is really surprising in a game built from blocks, but that goes hand in hand with the locked-down server, I'd imagine. Those poor decisions have left it in the remarkable position of being fun to play, and completely unplayable at the same time. It's capable of some amazing moments, but Jagex haven't built the potential blockbuster (har har) that it could be.
  3. Feb 9, 2013
    50
    Frustrating because of its terrible implementation of its fantastic ideas. [March 2013, p.87]
  4. Jan 8, 2013
    60
    The idea unfortunately is not as well executed as It could be: a nice concept but a not so great game!
  5. Jan 29, 2013
    40
    Its foundations aren't sturdy enough to hold any longterm weight. [Feb 2013, p.110]
  6. Feb 11, 2013
    45
    Ace of Spades contains some good ideas and tries hard to ape its influences, but it lacks their charm and stability.
  7. Dec 20, 2012
    50
    Ace of Spades attempts to be many things, while achieving none of them. It isn't as creative and wondrous as Minecraft and it isn't as strategic or entertaining as Team Fortress 2. Hell, it isn't even as good as the beta version!
  8. Mar 15, 2013
    63
    There might be some good ideas in there somewhere but Ace of Spades has no game in it. In the Minecraft it was the beauty of it, but concept doesn't work if you will try to make a FPS. [March 2013]
  9. Dec 24, 2012
    50
    The mix of influences seems like they should work very well, but the limitations will frustrate both shooter fans and Minecraft addicts.
  10. Feb 6, 2013
    30
    It’s possible that this game can be saved – the announced patches seem reasonable. But right now it’s better to stay away from Ace of Spades.[CD-Action 02/2013, p.61]
  11. Feb 18, 2013
    62
    Quotation forthcoming.
  12. Jan 29, 2013
    30
    Ace of Spades has all the components of a decent multiplayer shooter: stylish graphics, gameplay inspired by Team Fortress 2 and Call of Duty, destructible environments… But the sum of these parts feels like a bad parody of popular games.
  13. Feb 25, 2013
    40
    On paper it sounds like it could be a winning combination, and perhaps this will improve as the game evolves, but in practice the play styles don't mesh well together, seemingly diametrically opposed at times.
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 478 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 188
  1. Dec 24, 2012
    3
    I saw this game advertised on Steam and through it'd be a great digital stocking stuffer for myself and my younger brother. It's a fun game to play but it has a fatal flaw; YOU CANNOT HOST YOUR OWN GAME! The developers instead have opted to host every server themselves.

    For a game like this where there could be hours of fun on private servers; building elaborate bases before annihilating each other, the absence of this feature leaves this game feeling extremely lacking.

    I've given this game a three as I feel it's really only a third of the game that it easily could have been.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    I am shocked at how many negative reviews there are.
    You should be looking at the game as it is alone, not comparing it to the old game and
    giving it a 0 because you like the old game better
    this game is still passing through some updating
    also Jagex is trying to incorporate the old game wit modes like classic ctf
    I think before blurting out anything you need to look at how far this game can go and how far this game is going to go
    Lastly I think all of this users should play this game with a few friends on steam voice chat and realise the elements of this game and how fun it can be with your friends
    I think you guys are really missing out give Jagex 3 5 months and I think this game is going to get much better
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 14, 2012
    0
    This game is nothing compare to "original" version. Smaller, tighter maps, faster gameplay, No CTF mode, no Rifle, crap optimization, crap server browser. This game is a huge disappointment. Full Review »