User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 479 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    I am shocked at how many negative reviews there are.
    You should be looking at the game as it is alone, not comparing it to the old game and giving it a 0 because you like the old game better
    this game is still passing through some updating
    also Jagex is trying to incorporate the old game wit modes like classic ctf
    I think before blurting out anything you need to look at how far this
    game can go and how far this game is going to go
    Lastly I think all of this users should play this game with a few friends on steam voice chat and realise the elements of this game and how fun it can be with your friends
    I think you guys are really missing out give Jagex 3 5 months and I think this game is going to get much better
    Expand
  2. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    The game is getting better, initially, jagex ruined the game, it almost destroyed the original concept, but with the new update, they implemented a classical mode similar to the original one, and they improved the new "normal" mode. Jagex deserves a second chance, please, fell free to try it again, as a veteran player, I highly recommend it!!
  3. Feb 17, 2013
    9
    Ace of Spades IS NOT A BAD GAME. It dosen't deserve a 46 score on metacritic, ive seen worse games that have got better score! *Cough Cough* Aliens: Colonial Marines. It should get a better review than other things!
  4. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    This would have to be one of the most entertaining games that I have ever played. The environment is fully destructible and it is always good fun to build huge towers to pick off enemies from a distance.

    I fail to see where all the hatred for this game is coming from. For a game like this to a have a user and critic score of around 45-48% is totally unreasonable. The physics of this
    game are great, the class-based gameplay is brilliant, the game modes are awesome and this game, overall, is amazing.

    To give a game a bad rating because it costs money is a waste of your own time and a statement that you are a cheap bastard. As for the critics, I'm not sure why the reviews were so negative.

    My advice: buy the game and play it for yourself. It's only $10 and I would buy a game of this quality for $50+, it's that good.
    Expand
  5. Dec 23, 2012
    9
    This is a great game with a constantly changing environment and a whole ton of fun. The only complaint I have is that there isn't a way to play community-made maps, but Jagex just added a bunch more maps, with even more scheduled to release early next year, so even that really isn't much of a problem.

    Jagex has also been very responsive about the feedback of their game, and have been
    constantly working to reduce lag, balance weapons, and add maps which emphasis on strategy, since there has apparently been a complaint that the game lost some of that.

    Its great game under a caring company.
    Expand
  6. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    I got this game when it went on sale for steam and I'm very glad I did. I played the original ace of spades a lot and feel like this one is at the very least a good game, and great successor. Much of what I think has already been said, but to anyone who doubts jagex's sincerity in listening to it's community and players, just look at this link. http://www.aceofspades.com/forums/entry.php?12

    It addresses many of the things people here have said and more.
    Expand
  7. Dec 24, 2012
    10
    It's amazing when it works. The gameplay is great, zombies is great. You'll run into a lot of lag (ping and fps). But hopefully they'll patch it. My score is based on the game actually working.
  8. Feb 3, 2013
    9
    After the update the game is actually fun again with the new world war 1 inspired classic mode. In addition the jetpack was nerfed so building serves a point again.
  9. Dec 30, 2012
    10
    A lot of haters on this game. It plays well, and is a quite a blast to play; especially with friends. It even has a CS:S zombie mode in it that's incredibly enjoyable.

    The only thing I feel it lacking is the classic AoS gamemode when it was free to play beta. If they reimplimented the classic mode, then a lot of people might dig a lot more on it.

    It's still a solid game, the lag is
    ficticious, and it's fun. Grab it, it's worth your buck. Expand
  10. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    I feel like critics are giving this game a hard time for the wrong reasons. They point out it didn't work quite the way they imagined it, which is wrong, I see a great game, for $10, less than a gigabyte, that loads quickly, and joins quickly and has fun doing it. If I wanted a game with the same pace of multi player I would be dishing out $60 (6 times it price) for Call of Duty Black Ops 2, or maybe if I wanted a Minecraft game I would buy Minecraft for $30 (3 times the price), so in all I would spend $90 to get the best of both worlds, or I could get a game which fits both of them together for a 1/9th the price! And I feel like this game has a future due to the fact the developers are constantly updating, and making it better! Not to mention the DLC's!!!! In my opinion this game is better than minecraft or Black Ops. Sometimes you don't want a storyline, sometimes you want a fun time that is quick, easy, accessible, and over all a amazing work! Not to be missed! Expand
  11. Jan 11, 2013
    9
    I don't see why this game got such a low score, it one of my favorite games. I play it all the time, and I hate basically all fps. there's a lot of diversity: marksman, he's basically the sniper. the commando, he's a tank.
    Miner, I call him the dwarf. and finally the roketeer who has a jet pack and a sub-machine gun. and some you can customize what weapons each person has.
    fyi: sorry if there's errors in my text Expand
  12. Jan 26, 2013
    9
    I honestly don't understand the bad reviews. Odds are they are mostly just children knocking a fun game for lack of HD graphics or whatnot. This game is amazing, a creative masterpiece, just what you need after being owned by cheap kill streaks in COD. You can fight, build, destroy and do anything to beat the other color. The four classes are balanced and each have special skills and different weapons to equip.
    The ONLY thing that's stopping me from making this rating a 10 is a mediocre issue. I live in Canada, and its sometimes difficult to connect to a server. Minus that, its a great game, class based, and it sort of feels like your going back to the world of Minecraft. It would be a 9.7/10.
    Expand
  13. Feb 27, 2013
    9
    What are people complaining about? Its a simple, fun, easy to pick up, casual game thats very entertaining. Yes its a bum that you cant make your own game, but there are plenty of servers with people on them and empty servers (so you and your friends could join and vs one another) i find it very fun, either running around shooting people, or just blowing stuff up! everything is destructible so you can destroy and alter the map as much as you can in the time limit! you can also build your own little base or bunker with pre-set moulds you can use to instantly make them. This doesn't deserve the hate its getting, this is not as bad as people say it is and i would recommend this to everyone. (also, yes its different to the first, at least its not a copy paste game like Call Of Duty Modern warfare 2 and Call Of Duty Modern warfare 3) Expand
  14. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    I feel like there are a lot of butthurt people giving this game a zero mainly because it apparently used to be f2p and now because it costs a little cash it now sucks? I went a bought the game just because of that and gave it a 10. You guys are pathetic. Seriously pathetic. Review the game based off of gameplay not because your mommy wont give you the 5 or 10 bucks it costs to buy it. **** sad.
  15. Dec 21, 2012
    9
    I was very excited to try this game when I saw it featured on Steam. I checked metacritic and found massive hate for it. Then I checked a gameplay video on youtube and found that it looked like a lot of fun. Then I re-read metacritic and realized that all the 0 scores were from people who played the old free version of it and don't like the many changes in the commercial version. I tried the free version today and it was a fun little game, but I still say I prefer this Jagex remake. The gameplay is fun if there are enough players around, and while it wasn't mindblowingly exciting, I still think I'm going to give this game a few hours of my time and think it deserves a better score. Collapse
  16. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    OK, so I understand that maybe there might be some lag at points (I haven't had any problems though) and the sniper is weak, but this game is still great! There are multiple game types, including the Zombies! mode and there are a bunch of people playing, so you will never be in an empty lobby. If you played the old free version, then you know this is a huge upgrade. The only complaint I have is that I want a level editor. Besides that, it is a fantastic game that I have gladly played 26 hours of already!! PS: If your are lagging then maybe your are not on the correct server location. Expand
  17. Jan 7, 2013
    9
    I've never played the original game but I don't understand why this game gets so much hate. It can be a little buggy at times but no word of a lie, I've spent many an hour playing this game and I've loved every part of it! fast paced destructive combat is extremely fun, it has its drawbacks but that doesn't mean that when you sit down and play this game you don't have fun, because I certainly do. People moan about it being too fast paced but I'm afraid that fast paced shooters are what kids want these days and if this game is a classic fast paced shooter, then I'm all for it because this game is great! Expand
  18. Jan 12, 2013
    9
    Even if other say this game is bad, I think it is good overall. I had mixed feelings at first because Jagex remade it and RuneScape was a disaster. Although it turned out well. I do have negative thoughts about it, but it is lots of fun to play and I highly recommend it.
  19. Feb 14, 2013
    10
    I picked this up during one of the Steam sales and despite all the negative reviews I personally love this game. I didn't play the beta before JAGEX bought it up so maybe that's why I have no problem with it. AoS is the game I've been playing and with the new content coming will still be playing for a long time.
  20. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    Good game has flaws but is still tons of fun worth the $10. This game is kind of a let down and there is a lot of missed potential yet I keep coming back to this game.
  21. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    I'm not sure what all the hate is about, but iv'e had plenty of enjoyable hours in this game! The zombie mode for me is by far the most fun, the others are good but nothing beats building a small fortress and sniping zombies from afar. A few balance issues which sometimes fill me with rage, and a few methods of griefing that I hope will be sorted out at some point (like putting explosives under friendlies and killing them with fall damage), but i'd recommend it to play with some friends certainly. Expand
  22. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    I, too, doubted the integrity of this game, but thought it sounded awesome! So when it came up as free to play this last weekend, I gave it a shot. I'm glad I did. These reviews say the game is broken or that it is unbalanced/unplayable, but from what I've played so far, I haven't noticed any problems! The game is what you'd expect from a game of minecraft, teams, and guns. The zombie mode is also really fun, though most people pick one of two classes. Either this game has come a long way, or some folks are just picky. It's inexpensive and very much worth your time! Expand
  23. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    Ace of spades is Awesome but it is true the servers are locked down and well it also has problems but still the games is not done yet but still it is a great game
  24. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    You people really stop your **** your just giving it unfair rating because you must pay for it and the game isn't even done! So stop complaining and enjoy a good game!
  25. Feb 17, 2013
    10
    Nice game. Fast paced, a good idea, lots of fun, amusing game modes, and would deserve more (especially more than its current average of 4.5 or 51). So what are the cons? Well, lack of self-hosting feature (so you cannot have your own private hosted game
  26. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    I don't see why everyone is hating now. Everyone is saying that the rocket launcher/drill gun/ most other weapons are O.P. but in the beta the rifle was basically the only weapon used because it had the distance to hit people. All these destructive weapons do is make it so guys can't camp up on a tiny spike with loads of connecting struts. It makes a change to have a FPS where you an actually fight instead of just get hit in the head with a sniper bullet 600m away from where you stand. Yeah a guy may stand at your spawn or miles off and just spawn amp you but their bullets will nock out a nook for you to hide in and shoot them from. Destruction is a key feature and should be praised for being unique not condemned for not being as well implemented as it could be, it's not a £15 million game. When you look at this game just remember: This is NOT COD! It is NOT a blockbuster game. It COULD have been a blocky FPS with NO creativity. This is an FPS with something different that if a big company, like dice or Bungie or someone like that, there to add it to one of their massive games it would be a huge success. Expand
  27. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    EVERYBODY PLEASE READ THIS: I have no idea where these reviews are coming from. Okay, there are a few bugs, and you cannot create your own server- but the game is FUN. The game is extremely fun, and has many modes to keep you interested. The initial launch was a disaster- but now that they fixed the major problems, this is a really great game. This game is not a 10- It is more like a 7.5- but with all these awful reviews from irrational people- I need to average this out. Expand
  28. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    At first I thought thought that this game got mainly negative reviews from critics, but then I saw that 7 reviewers gave it average scores and 6 gave it negative.

    I'm laughing at how some people on this site are giving it a 0 because they can't run it and because they can't host servers. Because of this, I will give it a 10 to bring up the score. Now on to the review.

    This is not a
    bad game, but it has its problems. This game is basically Team Fortress mixed with Minecraft. You can build cover, bridges, sniper stands, etc. That's good, because sometimes snipers can be VERY annoying on certain maps. However, if you are planning on building something cool, you're out of luck. Someone can easily destroy it. The environments are destructible, which makes for some interesting multiplayer matches. Someone can have a bunch of your buddies pinned down and you can dig under the enemy and flank them.

    The game, as I said, has its problems. The rocket launcher feels pretty boring to use to me, certain maps (like Lunar Base) have balance issues with the sniper class, and Diamond Mine can seriously be improved. SERIOUSLY.

    I have heard the original AoS was incredible, but I never played the beta, so I would never know. Overall: A 6 to a 7/10. MetaCritic can be misleading sometimes. More people liked this game than those that didn't (add up the pos the mixed and compare it to the negative) but it still has a low score.
    Expand
  29. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    It's a very interesting game Command shooter is very expressive and it can take you for hours! Now with practically all bugs fixed new locations and new Dlc it' s even better then before!
  30. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    i think this game is really good i like the worlds like Tokyo and London and the characters you get to be.
    The only thing i don't like is when you click join blue team and when you get in the game you are a green team but other than that it is good game. so i'll give a ten out of ten
  31. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    I bought this game and am very very satisfied. Very addicting and very fun! A lot of people compare it to the older versions but I've never played the older versions and I love this game. Maybe more frequent updates, maybe another character but still. Very enjoyable.
  32. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    really fun just griefing and messing with friends! great game to play when board and need something better to do!! I don't understand all the negative reviews, maybe they just don't understand the fun of the miner with his griefing tool!
  33. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    This is a absolutely nice game! I can not understand why it has so a bad score. It has so much game modes, it gets updates and I can play it the whole day together with my friends! The only thing I don't like in this games are the trolls, griefers, hacker, and those little kiddys who are disconnecting when they become a zombie.
  34. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    [FR] Je ne suis pas du tout dacore avec les avis Negatif Se jeux et merveilleux vous avez 4 classes ext Que demander de mieux nn? Je vous le conseille n'obeissez pas au Negatif Mais que au Positif
  35. Mar 4, 2013
    10
    I think that most people played the game before all the updates came out, and so they gave a bad rating. the game is quite fun with a load of versatility and the mechanics are great. hey is a tonne of teamwork involved,and you can get better and better and its even more fun to play with friends.definitely a good game.
  36. Apr 10, 2013
    9
    The zombie mode for this game is its greatest selling point having only recently discovered this game i have found myself and a group of my friends spending hours fighting the hordes of zombies and even playing as the zombie can be fun taking down your friends while i do admit there are some balance issues and griefing issues these problems are being noticed and fixed and i am sure many of the negative reviews are now complaining about something the game has fixed Expand
  37. Aug 3, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. im so shocked that all those haters are hating on jagex. give them a freaking break! they tried to make a good game that players would play and like. im well aware of the lag and the "O.P." weapons. well, that's all part of the challenge. also, people hate the game just for the fact that it is "expensive". well, to all those kids who look for the hd graphics, or a game that is super violent and gross, like COD. COD was an M game. that means mature people only, now some kids who play it then think that they know everything about guns. ace of spades is a game that was made off the sole purpose that people liked the original one. then jagex came and made it better with classes, and new game modes and weapons. I like the game because it is my 2 favourite game types pfs and sandbox) together into a massively multiplayer creative fps game. so, for all those haters out there who hate the game just because they took away the rocketeer, who could fly across the map and rain bullets from above, or that its too fast paced, or because it isn't all about building a base, to give it another try. it IS a fun game, and for those people who expect to play aos on a poopy computer, STOP HATING!!! so, for those of you who played for 2 mins and now hate it, give it another try!

    ----- pyrothexxxx
    Expand
  38. Sep 25, 2013
    9
    This game is awesome, i don't understand how the people compare that game with other games, and some people don't play because of the graphics. The graphics are really bad, but the game is very funny. I'm not giving 10 because an update, now you can't choose the server you gonna enter (except at custom match) and it glitch sometimes
  39. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    Sometimes Ace Of Spades is boring but map creator, steam workshop it's good. Ace Of Spades is good because it's creative and multiplayer shooter game. [NEWEST] You can build and download maps to steam workshop it's easy and i love it.

    -VerneriCode (Basic Coding And Game Ratings)
  40. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    Nice game, I prefered the old one, but what? We cannot effect on the game, by giving it a bad critics and bad scores makes Ace of Spades Multiplayer Dead!?!?!?! No one wish that. Because of you IDIOTS it's just the matter of time when this multiplayer game is going to collapse
  41. Sep 8, 2014
    9
    this is a great game. Do not listen to all those old reviews from 2012.
    now you CAN host your own game!
    For all those "beta version only" people, there is Classic CTF Mode!!!
    There is plain old CTF
    It is too balanced! there are 4 classes; Commando & Marksman are like front line people, they are the classes for fighting! the other 2 are Engineer and Miner, which are there to
    significantly alter the environment, not specifically for fighting!
    some versions of classic CTF have a shotgun and an assault rifle! stop whining about it!
    only miner has good explosives! stop saying 'wat is dat point of buiiilding!!! they jus blo every thin up!"
    zombie gamemode WORKS!

    The only reason this game got a 9 instead of a 10 is that the map editor is sloppy and you seem to have a lack of control
    Expand
  42. Dec 21, 2012
    0
    I was very excited to try this game when I saw it featured on Steam. I checked metacritic and found massive hate for it. Then I checked a gameplay video on youtube and found that it looked like a lot of fun. Then I re-read metacritic and realized that all the 0 scores were from people who played the old free version of it and don't like the many changes in the commercial version. I tried the free version today and it was a fun little game, but I still say I prefer this Jagex remake. The gameplay is fun if there are enough players around, and while it wasn't mindblowingly exciting, I still think I'm going to give this game a few hours of my time and think it deserves a better score. Collapse
Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 6 out of 13
  1. Mar 15, 2013
    63
    There might be some good ideas in there somewhere but Ace of Spades has no game in it. In the Minecraft it was the beauty of it, but concept doesn't work if you will try to make a FPS. [March 2013]
  2. Feb 25, 2013
    40
    On paper it sounds like it could be a winning combination, and perhaps this will improve as the game evolves, but in practice the play styles don't mesh well together, seemingly diametrically opposed at times.
  3. Feb 18, 2013
    62
    Quotation forthcoming.