Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 481 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ace of Spades is a unique and retro-looking, intelligent shooter which deftly blends all the imagination and creative freedom of voxel-based gaming with the mayhem and excitement of competitive, team-based multiplayer first person shooters.
    The game offers players complete strategic and
    Ace of Spades is a unique and retro-looking, intelligent shooter which deftly blends all the imagination and creative freedom of voxel-based gaming with the mayhem and excitement of competitive, team-based multiplayer first person shooters.
    The game offers players complete strategic and creative freedom over a constantly evolving battlefield which, when combined with an extensive and ever growing weapon set, four diverse classes, a host of destructible maps and endless multiplayer experiences for 8 to 32 players, promises to breathe new life into the first person shooter genre.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 6 out of 13
  1. Mar 15, 2013
    63
    There might be some good ideas in there somewhere but Ace of Spades has no game in it. In the Minecraft it was the beauty of it, but concept doesn't work if you will try to make a FPS. [March 2013]
  2. Feb 18, 2013
    62
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Jan 8, 2013
    60
    The idea unfortunately is not as well executed as It could be: a nice concept but a not so great game!
  4. Dec 20, 2012
    50
    Ace of Spades attempts to be many things, while achieving none of them. It isn't as creative and wondrous as Minecraft and it isn't as strategic or entertaining as Team Fortress 2. Hell, it isn't even as good as the beta version!
  5. Feb 11, 2013
    45
    Ace of Spades contains some good ideas and tries hard to ape its influences, but it lacks their charm and stability.
  6. Feb 25, 2013
    40
    On paper it sounds like it could be a winning combination, and perhaps this will improve as the game evolves, but in practice the play styles don't mesh well together, seemingly diametrically opposed at times.
  7. Jan 29, 2013
    30
    Ace of Spades has all the components of a decent multiplayer shooter: stylish graphics, gameplay inspired by Team Fortress 2 and Call of Duty, destructible environments… But the sum of these parts feels like a bad parody of popular games.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 189
  1. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    I am shocked at how many negative reviews there are.
    You should be looking at the game as it is alone, not comparing it to the old game and
    I am shocked at how many negative reviews there are.
    You should be looking at the game as it is alone, not comparing it to the old game and giving it a 0 because you like the old game better
    this game is still passing through some updating
    also Jagex is trying to incorporate the old game wit modes like classic ctf
    I think before blurting out anything you need to look at how far this game can go and how far this game is going to go
    Lastly I think all of this users should play this game with a few friends on steam voice chat and realise the elements of this game and how fun it can be with your friends
    I think you guys are really missing out give Jagex 3 5 months and I think this game is going to get much better
    Collapse
  2. Aug 3, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. im so shocked that all those haters are hating on jagex. give them a freaking break! they tried to make a good game that players would play and like. im well aware of the lag and the "O.P." weapons. well, that's all part of the challenge. also, people hate the game just for the fact that it is "expensive". well, to all those kids who look for the hd graphics, or a game that is super violent and gross, like COD. COD was an M game. that means mature people only, now some kids who play it then think that they know everything about guns. ace of spades is a game that was made off the sole purpose that people liked the original one. then jagex came and made it better with classes, and new game modes and weapons. I like the game because it is my 2 favourite game types pfs and sandbox) together into a massively multiplayer creative fps game. so, for all those haters out there who hate the game just because they took away the rocketeer, who could fly across the map and rain bullets from above, or that its too fast paced, or because it isn't all about building a base, to give it another try. it IS a fun game, and for those people who expect to play aos on a poopy computer, STOP HATING!!! so, for those of you who played for 2 mins and now hate it, give it another try!

    ----- pyrothexxxx
    Expand
  3. Apr 5, 2013
    8
    The zombie mode itself, is worth the game, addicting and fun... Don't pay attention to all the bad reviews, they are voting down a game basedThe zombie mode itself, is worth the game, addicting and fun... Don't pay attention to all the bad reviews, they are voting down a game based off one little difference. Expand
  4. Jul 25, 2014
    4
    I saw this on the steam sale, brought it, and started it; I expected that i could use my imagination in the map editor... Well, i could, if iI saw this on the steam sale, brought it, and started it; I expected that i could use my imagination in the map editor... Well, i could, if i joined one of the already existing map editor servers, because they're dedicated server system was full, first of all; Why can't your server support your own players, and second of all; Why do i need to run a map editor online? It's a map editor; You create a map, it might be a good thing that you can do it online with other players, but there is no option to run it on your own computer.

    Well, then i tried to play an online match. There was plenty of servers, and the dedicated server system seemed to work, if it was not for the netlag on every server. I checked my internet, nothing was wrong. They centralized all the online server system (On of the main features of this online game), and it don't work.

    I do still give it a 4 for the concept, even though it is very badly executed. Do i recommend it? If they manage to add a private server feature, and make their servers work, yes, but right now: Definitely not.
    Expand
  5. May 27, 2013
    3
    What this game was before it's release on Steam I can't comment on but I'm sure it was awesome to say the least.
    I started playing this game
    What this game was before it's release on Steam I can't comment on but I'm sure it was awesome to say the least.
    I started playing this game from when it was first released on Steam, a month later the game became a shell of its former self. Constant changes by the developer with what can only be assumed to be a complete disregard for their customer base.
    Every now and then I would launch the game hoping that the game's problems have been fixed but these days I'll be lucky to even find an open server (which are all developer hosted and controlled).

    This review marks the end of any hope I have for this game. When it first came out (pre Jagex game updates) I couldn't stop playing the game.

    36+ game play hours I think it's time to uninstall this title from my collection and forget it ever existed.

    RIP Ace of Spades
    Expand
  6. Feb 25, 2013
    1
    This game is a major disappointment. I had played the game when it was in beta, and it was fun due to being simple and encouraging digging andThis game is a major disappointment. I had played the game when it was in beta, and it was fun due to being simple and encouraging digging and building. Now, they made it a class warfare game, similar to TF2. The difference is that TF2 is fun and has 9 classes. Ace of Spades has 4, and they aren't better than the 3 different primary weapon choices from beta. You cannot build because everything explodes. Rocket launchers, landmines, TNT, and so much more. Also, when someone dies, they turn into a tombstone (Which, if they were trying to be funny, is a pathetic attempt at a joke), which also explodes and destroys a small amount of blocks, making even killing your enemies ruin your buildings and trenches. The sniper rifle's accuracy is so bad, a broken flintlock pistol shot at a target from a mile away is more accurate, and that is just sad. Please do not buy this, even if you did play the beta, because it will never live up to it's beta. Expand
  7. Jul 26, 2013
    0
    This game has potential but since the last Updates it became worse. I want the game back that i played 143 h. The graphic and especially theThis game has potential but since the last Updates it became worse. I want the game back that i played 143 h. The graphic and especially the colors look ugly now. The system of the servers is bad (depends on the point of view). Some classes now have not their old gear and/or have a lower shooting-rate.

    Pls make the game this what it was once.
    Excuse my english.
    Expand

See all 189 User Reviews