Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 476 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ace of Spades is a unique and retro-looking, intelligent shooter which deftly blends all the imagination and creative freedom of voxel-based gaming with the mayhem and excitement of competitive, team-based multiplayer first person shooters.

    The game offers players complete strategic and
    creative freedom over a constantly evolving battlefield which, when combined with an extensive and ever growing weapon set, four diverse classes, a host of destructible maps and endless multiplayer experiences for 8 to 32 players, promises to breathe new life into the first person shooter genre. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 6 out of 13
  1. Mar 15, 2013
    63
    There might be some good ideas in there somewhere but Ace of Spades has no game in it. In the Minecraft it was the beauty of it, but concept doesn't work if you will try to make a FPS. [March 2013]
  2. Feb 18, 2013
    62
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Jan 8, 2013
    60
    The idea unfortunately is not as well executed as It could be: a nice concept but a not so great game!
  4. Dec 20, 2012
    50
    Ace of Spades attempts to be many things, while achieving none of them. It isn't as creative and wondrous as Minecraft and it isn't as strategic or entertaining as Team Fortress 2. Hell, it isn't even as good as the beta version!
  5. Feb 11, 2013
    45
    Ace of Spades contains some good ideas and tries hard to ape its influences, but it lacks their charm and stability.
  6. Feb 25, 2013
    40
    On paper it sounds like it could be a winning combination, and perhaps this will improve as the game evolves, but in practice the play styles don't mesh well together, seemingly diametrically opposed at times.
  7. Jan 29, 2013
    30
    Ace of Spades has all the components of a decent multiplayer shooter: stylish graphics, gameplay inspired by Team Fortress 2 and Call of Duty, destructible environments… But the sum of these parts feels like a bad parody of popular games.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 187
  1. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    I am shocked at how many negative reviews there are.
    You should be looking at the game as it is alone, not comparing it to the old game and
    giving it a 0 because you like the old game better
    this game is still passing through some updating
    also Jagex is trying to incorporate the old game wit modes like classic ctf
    I think before blurting out anything you need to look at how far this game can go and how far this game is going to go
    Lastly I think all of this users should play this game with a few friends on steam voice chat and realise the elements of this game and how fun it can be with your friends
    I think you guys are really missing out give Jagex 3 5 months and I think this game is going to get much better
    Collapse
  2. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    EVERYBODY PLEASE READ THIS: I have no idea where these reviews are coming from. Okay, there are a few bugs, and you cannot create your own server- but the game is FUN. The game is extremely fun, and has many modes to keep you interested. The initial launch was a disaster- but now that they fixed the major problems, this is a really great game. This game is not a 10- It is more like a 7.5- but with all these awful reviews from irrational people- I need to average this out. Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2013
    8
    The game is great, I love it!
    The things that I find disappointing are simple: In the trailer (Steam) you can see some 'Maps' that are
    'deleted' from the game....(??) Very disappointing..
    The fact that people cannot host a private server is very disappointing as well.... A new figure or something like that would be cool as well!
    If those things would be fixed/improved the game would be awesome!!!
    Now the game is great as well, but it could be better.
    Expand
  4. Jul 25, 2014
    4
    I saw this on the steam sale, brought it, and started it; I expected that i could use my imagination in the map editor... Well, i could, if i joined one of the already existing map editor servers, because they're dedicated server system was full, first of all; Why can't your server support your own players, and second of all; Why do i need to run a map editor online? It's a map editor; You create a map, it might be a good thing that you can do it online with other players, but there is no option to run it on your own computer.

    Well, then i tried to play an online match. There was plenty of servers, and the dedicated server system seemed to work, if it was not for the netlag on every server. I checked my internet, nothing was wrong. They centralized all the online server system (On of the main features of this online game), and it don't work.

    I do still give it a 4 for the concept, even though it is very badly executed. Do i recommend it? If they manage to add a private server feature, and make their servers work, yes, but right now: Definitely not.
    Expand
  5. Mar 20, 2013
    3
    I dont know why you would buy this when you could buy guncraft which right now is free and is only five dollars more and guncraft has better graphics and you can import minecraft worlds Expand
  6. Jan 18, 2013
    1
    I saw the potential of this game when I played it in alpha/beta. It was lightweight, and outright amazing. Once they brought it to Steam, everything went downhill. The use of a master server was probably the worst idea they could have thought of so far, because all the servers lag and game play is almost impossible because you are always missing your shots, or getting sniped. Remind you of something? Oh yeah, COD. When I was buying the game, I expected something great like the standalone but instead I got this crap. I hope you guys are reading the reviews here and decide to use the $10 that we all wasted on this game to make it better.
    -Dsf190
    Expand
  7. Jul 26, 2013
    0
    This game has potential but since the last Updates it became worse. I want the game back that i played 143 h. The graphic and especially the colors look ugly now. The system of the servers is bad (depends on the point of view). Some classes now have not their old gear and/or have a lower shooting-rate.

    Pls make the game this what it was once.
    Excuse my english.
    Expand

See all 187 User Reviews