Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 483 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ace of Spades is a unique and retro-looking, intelligent shooter which deftly blends all the imagination and creative freedom of voxel-based gaming with the mayhem and excitement of competitive, team-based multiplayer first person shooters.
    The game offers players complete strategic and
    Ace of Spades is a unique and retro-looking, intelligent shooter which deftly blends all the imagination and creative freedom of voxel-based gaming with the mayhem and excitement of competitive, team-based multiplayer first person shooters.
    The game offers players complete strategic and creative freedom over a constantly evolving battlefield which, when combined with an extensive and ever growing weapon set, four diverse classes, a host of destructible maps and endless multiplayer experiences for 8 to 32 players, promises to breathe new life into the first person shooter genre.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 6 out of 13
  1. Mar 15, 2013
    63
    There might be some good ideas in there somewhere but Ace of Spades has no game in it. In the Minecraft it was the beauty of it, but concept doesn't work if you will try to make a FPS. [March 2013]
  2. Feb 18, 2013
    62
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Jan 8, 2013
    60
    The idea unfortunately is not as well executed as It could be: a nice concept but a not so great game!
  4. Dec 20, 2012
    50
    Ace of Spades attempts to be many things, while achieving none of them. It isn't as creative and wondrous as Minecraft and it isn't as strategic or entertaining as Team Fortress 2. Hell, it isn't even as good as the beta version!
  5. Feb 11, 2013
    45
    Ace of Spades contains some good ideas and tries hard to ape its influences, but it lacks their charm and stability.
  6. Feb 25, 2013
    40
    On paper it sounds like it could be a winning combination, and perhaps this will improve as the game evolves, but in practice the play styles don't mesh well together, seemingly diametrically opposed at times.
  7. Jan 29, 2013
    30
    Ace of Spades has all the components of a decent multiplayer shooter: stylish graphics, gameplay inspired by Team Fortress 2 and Call of Duty, destructible environments… But the sum of these parts feels like a bad parody of popular games.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 189
  1. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    I am shocked at how many negative reviews there are.
    You should be looking at the game as it is alone, not comparing it to the old game and
    I am shocked at how many negative reviews there are.
    You should be looking at the game as it is alone, not comparing it to the old game and giving it a 0 because you like the old game better
    this game is still passing through some updating
    also Jagex is trying to incorporate the old game wit modes like classic ctf
    I think before blurting out anything you need to look at how far this game can go and how far this game is going to go
    Lastly I think all of this users should play this game with a few friends on steam voice chat and realise the elements of this game and how fun it can be with your friends
    I think you guys are really missing out give Jagex 3 5 months and I think this game is going to get much better
    Expand
  2. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    [FR] Je ne suis pas du tout dacore avec les avis Negatif Se jeux et merveilleux vous avez 4 classes ext Que demander de mieux nn? Je vous[FR] Je ne suis pas du tout dacore avec les avis Negatif Se jeux et merveilleux vous avez 4 classes ext Que demander de mieux nn? Je vous le conseille n'obeissez pas au Negatif Mais que au Positif Expand
  3. Jan 11, 2013
    8
    Ace of Spades is like the fast-paced and hilarious spawn of TF2 and Minecraft. I like that it has a casual game feel without too high of aAce of Spades is like the fast-paced and hilarious spawn of TF2 and Minecraft. I like that it has a casual game feel without too high of a hardware requirement, so I can just drop in and out and play for half and hour when I like. It's more than a casual game though. When you and your team undermine and demolish the enemy base to turn the game around in the last minute, it's epic. WARNING: Ace of Spades was built off of a free game, the fanboys of which have joined Metacritc in their droves to just to post 0 score reviews. Don't listen to them. This is a good game with good support. Most of the issues that those fanboys were whining about 3 weeks ago on Metacritic were already fixed. I don't like that you cant have your own server yet, but there are lots of official servers all round the world, lots of maps, lots of game modes. I think with the resources the dev company puts in, that this game is getting better every week Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    4
    At first I was very impressed with this game. It was Minecraft Call of Duty. I would say the first few weeks were fun times in this game, butAt first I was very impressed with this game. It was Minecraft Call of Duty. I would say the first few weeks were fun times in this game, but once Jagex continued to update the game until it was flawed and over/under balanced, I found it repulsive Expand
  5. Mar 11, 2013
    3
    I am a HUGE FAN of the old game from years ago was plenty better than the new one, first because you can actually BUILD without over-poweredI am a HUGE FAN of the old game from years ago was plenty better than the new one, first because you can actually BUILD without over-powered retarded fat kids taking a huge effing on you, Second ,because people are given THE WORST CLASSES so people fell like they are "MLg ProaT CouNterStAikeE GOIYs I OWWn U nEwbs OMG KilsSTreaK 3 "seriously the miner class just blows everything to with TNT and automatic drills whereas in the last game all you had was a SHOVEL AND A GUN Thats all you effing need! Even the graphic were better! PLUS they have gotten rid of the old game so no one can play it! Waste of money and time! Disappointed me beyond belief. Expand
  6. Jan 26, 2013
    1
    When I played the free version it worked and it was fun but the new class system ruins the whole game! The whole building idea is pointlessWhen I played the free version it worked and it was fun but the new class system ruins the whole game! The whole building idea is pointless due to the jet pack class just fly's over the whole map and the rocket class just blows it up faster than you can build. Do not buy this see if you can play the free version. Expand
  7. Jul 26, 2013
    0
    This game has potential but since the last Updates it became worse. I want the game back that i played 143 h. The graphic and especially theThis game has potential but since the last Updates it became worse. I want the game back that i played 143 h. The graphic and especially the colors look ugly now. The system of the servers is bad (depends on the point of view). Some classes now have not their old gear and/or have a lower shooting-rate.

    Pls make the game this what it was once.
    Excuse my english.
    Expand

See all 189 User Reviews