Afterfall: InSanity Extended Edition Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 1 Critic Awaiting 3 more reviews What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It is 2032 - 20 years after the end of World War III. To survive the nuclear holocaust, humankind fled from the contaminated surface to find safety in vast bunkers, cities created deep underground. Decaying shelters and hideaways set the stage in mankind's struggle for survival where they battle horrible mutants, bloodthirsty mercenaries and other threats.

    In Afterfall: InSanity you won't only face the aftermath of the nuclear fallout, but also the dark shadows of the past in the role of the mysterious psychologist Albert. As Albert, the player will be part of a team of medical scientists in charge of monitoring the fugitives' mental stability. If Albert does not confront his greatest weaknesses and deepest fears, he will not survive the claustrophobic depths of the underground from which there is no escape and where the darkness hides more secrets than simply the growing madness of its inhabitants. Defy everything that's in your way to solve the horrible secrets that exists in the dark.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 1 out of 1
  1. Apr 9, 2013
    30
    InSanity was never going to be a great game. It would have struggled to be considered a good one. It did, however, have that certain special something, possessed of enough charisma to at least make me debate whether or not it was a bad game. That is, until the gear shift and rapid decline, at which point I gave up trying to be nice and settled in for an absolutely terrible time.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 4 out of 9
  1. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Okay, this looks impressive, the graphic, scenery, history and music are awesome, i was simply surprised. The story will draw you in............like me Collapse
  2. Dec 21, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I fell in love with this game from nearly the start as it goes slow for the first few minutes then things get going to a final crescendo that i thought i had already guessed but as with most good games of this type its not always as you think it is. The best part of this game is the sound effects and music, i highly recommend using headphones to play or playing via a really good sound setup. There were many times that a sound wasnt what it what you thought it was hence the insanity name in the title. If your into the post apocalyptic genre then you need to check this one out, oh and the end of the game isnt when you finally get outside ;) Expand
  3. Dec 27, 2013
    7
    I'm going to bash the negative critiques by by saying they apparently don't have the brains to communicate clearly why this game fails. I'm going to give you a very direct statement regarding this game's failures, and this game's rather shocking successes.

    If we look at the camera control for the character, when using keyboard, we might feel the control operates imprecisely. However, if we compare how this game's camera works, it works at least as well as Mass Effect camera. The camera was created with the controller in mind, which makes it very smooth when playing with a controller. I've experienced this issue with other games similarly designed.

    While animations don't always match up with the combat, I can think of other games that have, again, a similar issue, yet received a higher rating. Sure, you can tell they didn't have a mo cap suit for the actors. I get a sense that these were all hand animated, which are quite good for that.

    The voice overs aren't the best, but they work. Some of it is cheesy, some of it doesn't capture the right vibe in expression for what's going on. But, overall it works, and I got into the game without feeling interrupted from the environment by the voice acting. The only distracting aspect of the voice acting lies with the running voice over for breathing. It starts too soon, and doesn't sound like a winded runner.

    I have a blast with the puzzles in game, as small as they are. They remind me of some of the good ones from Resident Evil 4. I enjoy the combat, chopping heads off with my preferred weapon, an axe. I enjoy listening to the recordings the doctor makes to himself, and reading the notes he finds related to the story. I enjoy using the PDA, which is their user interface.

    If I could compare this game to another, I'd say it's like Resident Evil 4 & 5, and it's like Mass Effect series, and it's like Dead Space.

    If they spent a little more time looking for voice actors out there to help them, they could have an expressive voice over casting. I can tell they put time into the assets, and coding. I think they could have used the same effort with the voice acting and animation.

    Sure, there are things in this game that tell game developers what to avoid, but the developers did many things right. If you like games like dead space, or resident evil 4 and 5, or the first mass effect, check this game out. If this game came out around the same time of the original mass effect, or before it, they'd have gotten a score in the 80s here on metacritique.

    There's three reasons they didn't get a higher score. There's only one "official" critique. The timing for release, and no one paid a critic for a good critique.

    Play the game without comparing it to other games, but as it's own entity. I enjoy it, you might too. Destructoid go to hell with your overly subjective critique with no examples.
    Expand
  4. Jul 19, 2014
    5
    The game is... meh. It's not terrible, nor is it unplayable. The story is not bad, the enviromental backgrounds and graphics are actually pretty good and the music is very well done. The atmosphere is okay, but it is not a true horror game to what I have played, there are some scary scenes but not a game like Amnesia: The Dark Descent or OUTLAST which you will get some good scares, but reminds me like I am playing Alan Wake or Eternal Darkness with their pyschological horror. But, there are some flaws, the sound effects are terrible, they sound like they were taken from a cheap sound website or from a cheap B-Movie, the voice acting is not bad, the main character's voice is awful, it's like the voice actor who voiced the main character was not bothered or was bored when recording, as it sounds pretty boring. The other actors voices are not bad, but still not up to good quality standards. The combat is awful, it looks like everyone has problems like the exorcist having spasims (if that's how you write it) and I have encountered some glitches and bugs, like doors won't open and I have to reload to the last checkpoint, and sometimes the game freezes momentarily which bugs me, but overall the game is not terrible and is quite a good game if you are bored from other games and feel like playing a game that has a mediocre gameplay and story. Afterfall Insanity is the game for you, Afterfall Insanity: Extended Edition includes the DLC with it. The DLC honestly is a waste, why on earth would you call it DLC if there is only two modes, Dirty Arena (in which you use melee weapons, and as you progress you use guns) and Second Strike (in which you use guns), which the gameplay just consists of wave after wave of enemies, then when you reach the fifth wave you get the boss. What a waste. Now I can understand if it was in Co-Op or Multiplayer, but not on your own! I understand the story focuses on just one guy, but on the DLC, the player and his friends or other players could of played as the main character, Karolina, the colonel, anyone of the characters mentioned, but nope, just you all by yourself, hitting and shooting your way through five waves over and over again, boring. What a waste on a good idea for DLC. Don't try the DLC, unless you are interested in what the DLC holds (like me), then by all means, try it... just don't expect anything good out of it! And if this is what DLC should be, then thank god I don't waste my money of this type of "downloadable content" Expand
  5. nop
    Mar 3, 2013
    2
    This game is a poor man's Resident Evil 5/Dead Space/Silent Hill, but with greatly inferior quality of storytelling and game design. Graphics is actually quite decent, at least above average for UE3 budget titles. But, there is, like 10 minutes of intriguing introduction, then 5 hours of linear non-stop bludgeoning people to death with few badly designed puzzles in-between, then 2 minutes of witty remarks, then 3 more hours of axing people with higher percent of QTEs. You get to enjoy the usual knee-high walls, regenerating health, console controls, fetch quests and weapons removed between chapters. And then..
    STUNLOCK BOSS, STUNLOCK BOSS, STUNLOCK BOSS,STUNLOCK BOSS,STUNLOCK BOSS,STUNLOCK BOSS,STUNLOCK BOSS,STUNLOCK BOSS,STUNLOCK BOSS,STUNLOCK BOSS,STUNLOCK BOSS,STUNLOCK BOSS,STUNLOCK BOSS,STUNLOCK BOSS,STUNLOCK BOSS,STUNLOCK BOSS,STUNLOCK BOSS,STUNLOCK BOSS,STUNLOCK BOSS,STUNLOCK BOSS,STUNLOCK BOSS,STUNLOCK BOSS,STUNLOCK BOSS,STUNLOCK BOSS,STUNLOCK BOSS...
    Who knows, maybe the final part is the pinnacle of game design, but I can't take this anymore.
    Expand
  6. Mar 22, 2013
    2
    Even in the new "Extended Edition", Afterfall: Insanity fails to deliver a satisfying gaming experience in nearly every way. The graphics are not that bad, but the clumsy controls, catastrophic animations and horrible localization result in a frustrating and disappointing experience. Avoid this game at any cost unless you are prepared to face one of the best examples how to not make a good game. Expand
  7. Jun 9, 2014
    1
    This game is BAD. Is really bad! The Worst "horror" game ive ever played. This game is a bad joke.. the worst joke i ever heard. Bad controls, broken and BORING gameplay, there is no atmosphere (its just dark. and thats it) bad story, bad sound effects, horrible voice acting, thousands of bugs, laughable animations.. the only good thing is the graphics. Horrible piece of sh*t, waste of time, waste of money, waste of life, waste of f*ckin keyboard (actually i broke my keyboard because of the horrible checkpoint system, and i have no money for a new one), so thanks afterfall insanity, you ruined my week. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews