Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 20
  2. Negative: 7 out of 20
  1. Jan 10, 2012
    48
    Afterfall: Insanity is plagued by bugs and many gameplay's flaws.
  2. Jan 12, 2012
    45
    You need a clear, unified vision to shape a game into something that makes sense and compels the player to see it through to the end But scares and gameplay in Afterfall fall flat as scene after scene repeat the same notes, turning what could have been a spine-chilling adventure into a treadmill to an unsatisfying finish.
  3. Jan 10, 2012
    45
    Afterfall began its life as an ambitious CRPG, but turned into a mediocre shooter somewhere along the way.
  4. 40
    Survival horror inspired by classics like Fallout or Stalker can not hide its fan-based roots. With the second-grade visuals, sounds, level design and story it ended way beyond our expectations. [Feb 2012]
  5. Nov 30, 2011
    40
    A first serious endeavor and an instant failure - Afterfall: InSanity is not a good way to debut in the category of big budget games. AI seems unfinished - interesting ideas are unpolished, things borrowed from other games are sloppy, and the technical side leaves a lot to be desired. If not for the interesting storyline, some cool things in the gameplay and an appealing Afterfall universe, this would have been a total disaster.
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    28
    I feel sort of bad ripping this game so badly, but I went into it really hoping to be blown away, and came away feeling like I, and anyone else unfortunate enough to have fallen for their ruse, had been duped.
  7. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    Do you like videogames? Do you like horror in your videogames? Do you like life in general? If you've answered yes to any of these questions, stay as far away from Afterfall: Insanity as possible.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 100 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 37
  2. Negative: 14 out of 37
  1. Nov 28, 2011
    2
    Game doesn't look bad. But animation is a joke, voice acting is horrible, fighting is bad, oponents are retarded, and cut scenes are making you laugh .. how somebody could give this 9 or 10 is beyond me, probably producers themselves. Full Review »
  2. Nov 27, 2011
    3
    Why comments of ruby1234 and dino are basically the same? Is this NEG marketing tactic? About Afterfall, well it is not a good game. Bad intro, animation and horrible voice acting. The universe is pretty good ok, but I don't care about the main character. Don't like him and his friends at all. There are many better games available on the market at the moment. I think it's better to play DS1 or 2 once againg than to spend money on Afterfall:Insanity. Full Review »
  3. Sep 1, 2012
    6
    When Fallout meets Fight Club, and bits and pieces of the S.T.A.L.K.E.R., Doom, AvP, and Gears of War franchises are thrown in for good measure, you get a slab of festering meat titled Afterfall: InSanity.

    I'm not going to rag on the voice acting, because honestly, I've heard worse, and enough people have pointed out the problems. Likewise, the melee combat and shaky camera effect are annoying but not a dealbreaker, because it's still manageable.

    What makes Afterfall a shoddy game, is that it takes all the juicy bits from other games, and then throws them all together and overcooks them. It just doesn't know what it wants to be. It's got the horror feel down sometimes, even though most of the corridors are more or less exactly the same; you can look down a hallway and almost always predict where the monster is going to jump out and attack you. It then decides to become a puzzle game, with timed sequences with hardly a tutoral, that take you fifteen tries before you realize what the game wants you to do. The second half is strictly firefights, with the occasional "scare mixed in, and poorly executed action sequences littered with shoddy quick time events. It spreads itself too thin, and that ruins most of the game.

    Here's the plot summarized: World War 2 ended differently, the cold war **** things up, nuclear war broke out, the world went to hell, you're locked in a shelter, or should I say vault, and when **** hits the fan, you're sent for completely unjustified and dubious reasons into the deep reaches of the shelter in which they've apparently ran out of lightbulbs, armed with a weak pistol and a flashlight that does **** all.

    You'll almost never run out of ammo, because you'll never need a gun for the first half of the game, and that's good because every ammunition dispenser you run across is empty. I literally found four that gave me ammunition in the entire game. Despite having a melee inventory slot, only one weapon fits into it, and you'll only have that weapon for ten minutes in the first half hour of gametime. Every other melee weapon has to be dropped when you want to use your gun, and then picked up again when you're finished. That said, the only melee weapon you'll ever need is the fireaxe, everything else it either too slow, or too weak, and the axe is so common in the first half of the game that you'll never need anything else; if there's no fireaxe around, you're almost guaranteed to be entering a gunfight.
    In all, Afterfall doesn't do that much particularly bad, it just doesn't do anything particularly noteworthy, and prefers to float facedown in the shallow pool of mediocrity.
    On a side note, I've noticed more than a few sound bites have been borrowed from the 2010 Aliens vs. Predator, and the entire loading screen - visual effects and music - have been more or less ripped from from Duke Nukem Forever.
    Full Review »