User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 807 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BobD.
    Jun 18, 2008
    3
    For what its worth I've played the game all the way up to 80. Graphics: I'm guessing they'd be nice if they worked correctly. If you change your draw distance to max the game looks quite nice, the problems some in many of the smaller zones. Specifically there are repeatable mansion quests that are bland, have some dynamic lighting effect coupled with the engine rendering For what its worth I've played the game all the way up to 80. Graphics: I'm guessing they'd be nice if they worked correctly. If you change your draw distance to max the game looks quite nice, the problems some in many of the smaller zones. Specifically there are repeatable mansion quests that are bland, have some dynamic lighting effect coupled with the engine rendering things behind 2 walls and the celling and suddenly the FPS takes a nose dive, mobs aren't rendered loot doesn't show when it drops. This happens far too often. especially when you try to complete the final quest to leave the newbie zone. The 'brutal' fatalities 80% of the time clip through each other so instead of hacking a guys limbs off with my 2handed axe I beat his limbs off with my elbows. Failed mechanics: The cutscene-esque view for talking to quest npcs is hysterical on a pvp server. You can easily get stuck in a conversation and slaughtered... by someone 50 levels below you. Combat: The mechanics are clunky and require real time micro managing of your timing. Combos trigger by pressing the skill button and playing simon says, the combo itself only activates if the final blow of the simon says time lands thus pvp combat revolves around closing to melee range for that final hit. Caster classes are gettign better but still a joke. Proper use of the active blocking system (consume stam for reduced melee damage) defense system (keycommands to redirect your 'defense' to specific regions of incoming attacks depend on system performance. Which is already substandard. Large class imbalances are in place with nothing being addressed at the current time to resolve that, specific abilities are getting brought to reasonable levels but fundamental flaws in gear, class design are ignored. Itemization: Worse than wow's at the end of beta. Until recently the only effect armor had was on health/stam/mana pools and damage immunities, naked was the same as full plate except for a 4% reduction in slashing damage. Even with the fixes introduced many stats have no effect (con which should be +stam +stam regen and +health only gives a randomly truncated additional hp ranging from 3.5 to 4.1 per point of con). Stats are also itemized to be worth roughly 1/20th of stam/health/mana. Raiding: Tier 1 raiding content has been completed by some guidls, tier 2 is 3-4 months away according to unconfirmed GM reports. Raid lockouts are 1 week + many bugs reported with them. Due to the nature of combat (melee heavy, heavy system requirements and a number of other issues) a raid focus of this game is bewildering. PVP: Several pvp minigames exist in theory, nobody plays them. PVP servers are basically gank fests, luckily stealth/stealth detection mechanic is HEAVILY biased to stealth. Player made battle formations are a joke, yes you cannot run through a player but there are no choke points to take advantage of a wall of well geared tanks blocking access to your squishy ranged dps (most of your dps will be melee and clustered around your tank). You cannot command NPCs as proudly stated in the synopsis. Crafting: Gathering does work and isn't too bad just waste a few hours and get all you need, some idiotic mechanics exist but they're for pretty much a one time thing and not too bad. Crafting: Jewel crafting sort of works now, very complex and obtuse system made harder by terrible crafting control panel. Weaponsmithing not too bad, material requirements for higher tier weapons are beyond stupid. Armorcrafting is terrible requiring vast amounts of resources and time. Architecture is UNBELIEVABLY expensive with plays for a single wall segment costing the same as your inner keep (1.25g) inner wall = 15+ segments, outer wall is MUCH larger. Alchemy is broken, pots are cheap enough up to level 70 that its more expensive making your own. But you can't level alchemy up to 70 the drops needed for it are non existent. PVP endgame: The press releases spoke about player made cities and massive battles between guilds over battlekeeps. Player cities exist and so do battle keeps. The npcs that spawn to attack your city aren't implemented nor is there any space on the map for them to exist (unless they build a city over resource nodes). Battlekeep mechanics are such you can't attack another battlekeep if you already have one. Additional PVP changes are including an outlaw status (repeated griefing ie killing lowbies or camping one person) will ultimately result in players looting money/equipment from your corpse. With the aforementioned lack of itemization this isn't a consequence but an annoyance. _________ TL;DR: Interesting premise and initial design concept could make for an interesting MMO. Execution of concept poor. Game engine a joke (check out your error files, you'll have several hundred pages of mesh errors and bone errors from model rendering). Graphics memory leaks, multiple clipping bugs, poor model design, bad model animation. Combat system is simply a new skin on what 90% of other mmos do 'press these 6 buttons unless I need to press these 9 buttons'. Content: bugged quests, confusing quest options, long clunky initial leveling process and scripted quest chains that adds 'atmosphere' which makes leveling from 1-20 longer than 20-50 that cannot be skipped. Instance quests that don't work (which is noticeable due to an amazing shortage of instances). Support: Petitions automatically time out after 4 hours of 'inactivity'. You have to use a whisper command to bring up a dialogue box, scroll to the bottom of the box and click a hyperlink to maintain activity. Inactive petitions are assumed to have been resolved! Petitions that are answered when you are offline are also considered resolved! Emails to support go unanswered. Expand
  2. BenThere
    Jun 23, 2008
    3
    Pros: Looks nice, sounds nice, good music. Cons: Game is unfinished, probably needed another year of development. Bad UI. No class balance. Core features broken or not implemented. ZERO customer support, some people have had bugs that caused them to be unable to even log in to their characters for days at a time. Voice acting ends after the tutorial island. Quests are uninspired, not Pros: Looks nice, sounds nice, good music. Cons: Game is unfinished, probably needed another year of development. Bad UI. No class balance. Core features broken or not implemented. ZERO customer support, some people have had bugs that caused them to be unable to even log in to their characters for days at a time. Voice acting ends after the tutorial island. Quests are uninspired, not difficult, and never make you think... especially when the game holds your hand for the entire process. Every class has skills, abilities, and feats that are broken, buggy, or just don't work at all. Animations on npcs rarely work. Tradeskills are tedious and completely unrewarding. Enemies can evade, parry, or block your attacks even if their back is turned, or they are stunned, or they are knocked on their back. Fights are either incredibly easy or insanely hard, there is no middle ground. Loot is an absolute joke, every piece of armor of any given type generally looks exactly the same from levels 1 to 80. Rare equipment is often worse than common equipment of several levels lower. Stats do nothing at all. Female characters attack 20% slower than males and do less damage. Combo attacks are treated as a single attack, if your seven attack combo is interrupted on the 7th attack, all damage caused by the preceding attacks is negated and the target is healed as if it was never struck. PVP is so unbalanced that some classes are unable to kill other classes even if one of the people are AFK. Running is based on a percentage of your stamina, yet stamina potions restore a fixed amount of stamina the result is that classes with low stamina can actually out run any other class... fighting a mage class in pvp? they'll just run away until your stamina bar is empty, making you unable to execute a combo, and then nuke you with their full mana bar. This game is so unfinished that anyone who is actually paying a subscription fee after the first 30 days is going to be paying Funcom to beta test their game for them. Do yourself a favor, wait six months or a year or you'll be wasting your time and money. Expand
  3. Susan
    Jul 13, 2008
    3
    Don't waste your money. I've been playing since the game opened to all players. The beginning island is finished and is fun to play, but the rest of the game is not. PVP, Siege, quests and crafting, something you expect from an MMO, is virtually non-existent. Even though Siege is listed as being in the game - it's not. Funcom's idea of class balancing is to nerf Don't waste your money. I've been playing since the game opened to all players. The beginning island is finished and is fun to play, but the rest of the game is not. PVP, Siege, quests and crafting, something you expect from an MMO, is virtually non-existent. Even though Siege is listed as being in the game - it's not. Funcom's idea of class balancing is to nerf classes and then conveniently forget to put it in their patch notes. After level 35, the game becomes extremely boring and repetitive. There is a complete lack of content, direction and story line after level 35 and to level beyond that, you will spend the majority of your time doing the same 3 level scaling quests. With every patch, performance gets worse along with game play. Simply put, Funcom, even though it has experience with MMO's, (Anarchy Online), has no idea what it's doing with this game. I was a huge fan at first, but after you begin to level, along with the bugs and nerfs, you realize just how much is missing from the game. Funcom released a buggy, machine hog lacking content, direction and story line. The mature themes disappear after level 20 or so, so again - Funcom falls short on their promises. If you spend your $50.00 on this game, you'll get something that's fun to play for about a week. After that, you'll be as angry and frustrated as 90% of the players are. The game forums are no longer an indicator of player satisfaction as each unhappy post or suggestion is merrily deleted by Funcom's "new" moderators. That's the game in a nutshell and from someone who played it to 80. With no end game content, no siege, there is nothing to do after reaching 80. Expand
  4. RasterM.
    Sep 5, 2008
    2
    Bugs, crashes, lacking content for the majority of the game, memory leaks, and is full of jerks due to the attraction that is blood, gore, and nudity. Don't let them fool you, they, and this game, are not mature. It is merely unfit for younger audiences.
  5. NotaF.
    Jun 12, 2008
    1
    I'm getting so fed up with these hyped mmo's. It is time for a new game website where we can get honest games reviews, because the reviews for this game are clearly not in line with reality. This game is still a beta. Combat system gets boring and you end up staring at which button to press. Crafting, really Funcom, what were you thinking??? Everything is instanced, it feels I'm getting so fed up with these hyped mmo's. It is time for a new game website where we can get honest games reviews, because the reviews for this game are clearly not in line with reality. This game is still a beta. Combat system gets boring and you end up staring at which button to press. Crafting, really Funcom, what were you thinking??? Everything is instanced, it feels like a console game, with fake "walls" where you cannot go. Not a nice, open world. Start a new character and you get to go through exactly the same yawnfest again. Sorry, but I seriously hope this game fails and will have to close, because I am fed up with mmo developers getting away with this kind of crap. Expand
  6. PaulF.
    Jun 2, 2008
    4
    AoC has some very compelling features and to do it justice they must be addressed. My score of 4 may seem demoralizing but it's my personal belief and is not necessarily a view shared with all other players. I will explain my MMO background, what I like to see in MMO's and why, over-all the pro's couldn't outweigh the cons. First of all, AoC features amazing graphics AoC has some very compelling features and to do it justice they must be addressed. My score of 4 may seem demoralizing but it's my personal belief and is not necessarily a view shared with all other players. I will explain my MMO background, what I like to see in MMO's and why, over-all the pro's couldn't outweigh the cons. First of all, AoC features amazing graphics and beautiful landscaping. These features make for great screenshots (definately useable as desktop backgrounds!) and an overall very immersive experience, for a while. I'm a fan of graphics, but I'd say there is a greater appeal to more casual-MMO gamers than to a self proclaimed veteran such as myself. The graphics are quite system intensive and to be honest, I really can't afford an extra $800 worth of system content to be able to pump the graphical settings higher for gameplay (though I can manage to turn them up for a screen shot if necessary). The combat system is very original. This is a pro to many, to me it's... okay. I don't mean to be negative towards unique ideas because I think they are very progressive in the evolution of games. I want people to know that the combat system is something that needs to be experienced, but generally speaking it wasn't for me. I felt like the defense stacking and directional combat/combo system made me react in different ways based on my opponents defenses, but otherwise speaking I generally was fighting the same way regardless of many other factors (this seems to be a problem in many MMOs recently. Each fight comes down to similar mechanics and not to call-and-response, think-on-your-feet ones. As a little background knowledge, Im a big fan of fast-twich, do-this-move-now-or-you-won't-have-a-chance-later type gameplay (think... spell interruption in WoW or war-spell dodging in Asheron's Call, or Missile Repelling in L2, etc etc.) I felt that I was focusing more on my melee offense in conan than I was on tactical defense (the defensive utilities available are not useful in my opinion. Double tapping to dodge still gets a hit landed on you.) I have not tried magic classes, so I will not comment or adjust my score positively or negatively based on that factor. Crafting is a big part of the game, I like the way crafting works, the instanced world and the extent of how immersive your creations can be. It's a positive for crafting happy people. As I recall SWG tried to make it so that the game didn't have to play combat oriented all the time. People could specialize in non-combat careers like dancing and could enjoy social aspects of the game. I feel the crafting here is... faster to lvl not entirely a gameplay experience all it's own but it definately fun while you do it (remember that you need to lvl a bit before you can jump into it though!) The story is captivating, but I must be honest that I never got into conan before and so none of the names and most of the world doesn't relate to any seeded memories. It's cool anyway but a story can be depleted and eventually will run out leaving me with gameplay to carry me. Overall if the game weren't an MMO it'd get a much higher score, but I feel I must grade it based on one of the most key factors of MMO gameplay. and that's it's Lasting Appeal. I can't see myself playing this game much more than a couple of months. AC, L2, SWG and WoW had me playing for over 6 months, AC and WoW for over 2 years each! The bar keeps getting raised higher and higher and AoC has definately raised the bar for elements of MMOs but sadly, not for lasting appeal in my opinion. If you have money to spare, go try it out. Plenty of people swear by it and needed a new MMO experience after WoW burn-out syndrome. The MMO market is becoming more competative and I'm glad I bought the game to support that market evolution, but I won't expect to be a part of this game when the release of other MMOs such as Warhammer Online: Age of Reckoning, The Chronicles of Spellbourne or Pheonix Dynasty Online are released. - Paul Forte. MMO Experience: AC, AC2, Lineage, Lineage2, EQ2, UO, SWG, AO, Eve, SWG, Auto Assault, PotBS, Dungeon Runners Beta, DAoC, WoW. Expand
  7. JohnF.
    Jul 30, 2008
    4
    While the graphics are good the game is a complete letdown. I along with many bought into the hype and paid $80 for the collectors addition What a complete ripoff!!! The game is drab and boring with nothing to hook you into more hours. Trust me I tried many times to get into the game and just found nothing fun about it. In fact it made me want back in WOW more than I ever imaginged. This While the graphics are good the game is a complete letdown. I along with many bought into the hype and paid $80 for the collectors addition What a complete ripoff!!! The game is drab and boring with nothing to hook you into more hours. Trust me I tried many times to get into the game and just found nothing fun about it. In fact it made me want back in WOW more than I ever imaginged. This game claimed to be the WOW killer? Haaa! There is no and I mean no comparison to the type of game warcraft is. You can say what you want but if you have played both games you can not argue AOC against WOW because there is no comparison. I only gave a four rating because of good graphics but everything else is a sore dissapointment. I even quit Wow to get into this and was left wanting so bad I tucked tail back and learned how much AOC made me apreciate a good game. The hype was a lie!! The first thing I noticed was that you have to instance into the Inn?!? What a burn. everywhere you turn is a load page and the same boring brown atmosphere. just no damn fun no matter where you turn in this game. The combat? Please just play a console if you want to experience this great combat. You could hook up a hand held controler and it would feel more like god of War than an mmor Just another rip off guild wars that has no pizazz and no style with crappy boring features that will turn you off in a week. Go ahead and pay fifty bucks and take the one week challange. All in all aside from very nice graphics which are extremely underused in making this game atractive AOC is dump for your money. I can tell you as a long time gamer you will not like this game after a short time. Please dont think I am a blizz boy because I am not. I simply bought into the hype and left very ripped off beleive me I tried to go with it there is just nothing there. If you like the game and dont agree with me more power to you I just can not see anything that would keep you interested. Thanks for reading my opinion Expand
  8. WilliamR.
    Jun 22, 2008
    0
    I was not able to play the game after purchasing it because I was never sent an SMS verification code and got no support from Funcom. The game looks good, but be careful as Funcom will have no qualms about taking your money and not giving you anything in return.
  9. MarkL.
    Jul 16, 2008
    3
    The the Meta Critic readers, those who are intelligent enough to do research on a game prior to purchasing it, I'd like to issue a firm and heartfelt warning about this game. The early portions of this game are fairly polished, with plenty to do; and dungeons that work as they should, but as you progress; and as you advance your character it becomes clear that this game was clearly The the Meta Critic readers, those who are intelligent enough to do research on a game prior to purchasing it, I'd like to issue a firm and heartfelt warning about this game. The early portions of this game are fairly polished, with plenty to do; and dungeons that work as they should, but as you progress; and as you advance your character it becomes clear that this game was clearly not what it was hyped up to be by the developers. Those looking for a cut above the average MMO will be sorely disappointed, as this title fails to do anything different from the regular mold; aside from the combat system. But I will give you more information on that later. Let us start with the graphics, which manages to be the most worthwhile, and most detrimental aspect of this title. To put it bluntly, the graphics themselves are amazing, Whether you're traveling through the breath taking conall's valley, or fighting the horrific aberrations of the Field of the Dead, you will be pleased with the visuals. Of course, with these visuals come a very steep system requirement, and even though you may find yourself meeting you exceeding the supposed "recommended" system specs, you may have performance issues with the game. What makes this an even larger problem is that lowering your graphics setting to increase performance has the OPPOSITE effect for no adequately explained reason. The gameplay, as far as Player Vs. Environment is concerned is passable. The combination system works reasonably well; and is a breath of fresh air from the usual MMO fare. But again, this has a huge downside: I of course speak about the PVP ramifications of such a convoluted combat system. Novices and "newbies" alike will have a difficult time managing the excess of hotkeys you must use to be successful in combat; should you choose one of the 5 melee classes. In addition to three manual directional attacks (FIVE at level 40), you must manage an excess of activated abilities, double tap abilities, and in the cases of some classes; both a mana and stamina pool as well as managing shields and the like. Diving deeper into the gameplay subject, those looking for a long lasting MMO experience should look elsewhere at this time, as once you get to around level 50-60; the content dies down almost fully. There are no instanced dungeons to be done, quests are few and far between, and the few quests that you may manage to find are uninspired at best. Those choosing to push into level 80 will find that nobody participates in Mini Game PVP, nobody participates in siege PVP and even the 'contested border kingdoms' lie a muddied ghost town. Facts are facts in the end, and while some may try to defend these current imperfections as typical for the genre, I will state that I have played quite a few of these games in my time; and I have never run out of things to do this quickly. When one combines the patches that seem to introduce more bugs than they fix, sieges that not only have no incentive, but are broken; and a lack of a PVP system this game is only good for about a month of semi casual play. Is 50$ worth a month of game time? That's question you will have to ask yourself; but as this game is now - I cannot in good conscience recommend it to anyone. Thank you for reading. Expand
  10. Per
    Mar 30, 2009
    4
    I started playing this game in juli.I raided all content availebole and bin part of sieges,minigames all kind of pvp and pve.All i can say is the game lack content and the fun factor goes away fast.Classbalances is very bad in pvp and overall except the usual tank and spank in pve.Game is age of casters in that sense where casterdps and theyr amount off roots/stuns/crowdcontrols hits the I started playing this game in juli.I raided all content availebole and bin part of sieges,minigames all kind of pvp and pve.All i can say is the game lack content and the fun factor goes away fast.Classbalances is very bad in pvp and overall except the usual tank and spank in pve.Game is age of casters in that sense where casterdps and theyr amount off roots/stuns/crowdcontrols hits the roof.Same comes to raidcontent where the meleedpsclasses(ranger,barb,assasin) is a complete joke compare to the casters interms of dmg/usefulness they bring to the raid.Another but similar problem goes to the tankclasses who hardly can dps at all(guardian,dark templar,conqueror) they are totally gimped in pvp compare to the casters.Not to mention how easy it is to play a caster vs the other classes.Fex the healerdps class Tempest of set who dmg like the highest dpsclass(demonologist) and still heals not to mention tempest of set is the most easiest class to play.One of the major sellingpoints in this game was pvp with battlekeeps who where promised to have massive sieges 150 vs 150.In reality its 48 vs 48 not to mention on some servers it laggs as hell when you siege.The raidcontent is very easy and the lootdrops are just to random not to mention all those drops that goes to waste.Crafting is borked and meaningless.All in all i cant advise you to try this game bc you will be bored fast(lack of content/things to do and the balances beetween classes is a joke atm. Secondly i never believe funcom will fix this game at all. cheers. Expand
  11. DevonS.
    Jul 19, 2008
    2
    This game is terrible. It's not really any different than World of Warcraft or any of the other MMORPGs. It drags its feet right at the beginning, and you have to be a whopping level 15 or so before you can start exploring the world. Even when you get to that point, you get the feeling you're not actually traveling very far when you do move around. There's nothing exotic This game is terrible. It's not really any different than World of Warcraft or any of the other MMORPGs. It drags its feet right at the beginning, and you have to be a whopping level 15 or so before you can start exploring the world. Even when you get to that point, you get the feeling you're not actually traveling very far when you do move around. There's nothing exotic about this game, it just looks different and promises more, and then proceeds to deliver exactly what games that have been around longer (and already worked out all their kinks) have managed to do already. Expand
  12. Halon
    Dec 8, 2009
    0
    Absolutely....the most highly honored amount of fail ever introduced to the internet. What the hell are you guys thinking posting positive things about this game? I didn't see one positive thing to even post and I thought long and hard about it. It's BAD...so bad it saddens me to think about it. The amount of suck is such that a giant black hole will open and swallow the earth. Absolutely....the most highly honored amount of fail ever introduced to the internet. What the hell are you guys thinking posting positive things about this game? I didn't see one positive thing to even post and I thought long and hard about it. It's BAD...so bad it saddens me to think about it. The amount of suck is such that a giant black hole will open and swallow the earth. The fail that is involved is such that 8th grade stoners look at the game and go....MASTER! I'm amazed it's even still being talked about or advertised. I've never seen anything quite like the horrid display of insult that this "game" gives the genre of mmo's and somehow still manages to stay alive. What were you assholes that still play this playing before now? Super Mario Brothers? This game is TERRIBLE....and I say that with no qualms....it is absolutely....TERRIBLE....don't believe me? Try it, new players. I only ask that you think about this short, simple, completely biased review about a game that never should have been, when you post about how much of an absolute epic fail the game is. I could have made a better game in visual basic. For those of you that like this game, I am sorry....truly....I am. Expand
  13. StevenH
    Jan 4, 2010
    0
    An MMORPG set in a world supposed to be filled with "civilized men" in contrast to barbaric Conan, where you don't play as Conan, can only play as three (out of like 15, omitting such important races as picts, aesirmen and vanirmen, kothians, hyrkanians, and more) of the races at the beginning, with art student low-res gloss map graphics, programmed and written by the troglodytes at An MMORPG set in a world supposed to be filled with "civilized men" in contrast to barbaric Conan, where you don't play as Conan, can only play as three (out of like 15, omitting such important races as picts, aesirmen and vanirmen, kothians, hyrkanians, and more) of the races at the beginning, with art student low-res gloss map graphics, programmed and written by the troglodytes at Funcom (Anarchy Online still hardly runs on modern computers), and designed to basically mirror World of Warcraft (another terrible game). Did anyone really expect this to be good? Hopefully the Conan franchise can survive the onslaught of awful adaptations such as this, the Xbox game, and the newer Dark Horse comic series. Expand
  14. JakeS.
    May 22, 2008
    0
    Buggy, Slow, and most importantly Boring. I'd rather go back to play EQ again than play this sadly =( Was hoping this game would be great too.
  15. CarriganK
    Jul 9, 2008
    2
    Wow another great game from funcom... rather go and play a dead game like diablo 1 wasted 90$ on collectors edition not worth it plain and simple huge let down...was looking forward to time game since it was announced.... Don't buy it don't play it.
  16. PlanetSide
    Jan 3, 2010
    1
    heh all the positive reviews and comments about this game comes from the gamedeveloper staff at Funcom, or blind and dillusional kids who does not know better. Trust me, this game is SHIT
  17. KevinR.
    Jun 28, 2008
    4
    The excellent opening, leading into 20 levels of fabulous solo gameplay was great.... then I found myself in the actual game world. I could write more on that, but feel that much has been covered already. I uninstalled, and will not be re-subscribing. Maybe next year I will check it out again. I went and bought (brace yourself) World of Warcraft. Now as a vet of Everquest, Ultima Online, The excellent opening, leading into 20 levels of fabulous solo gameplay was great.... then I found myself in the actual game world. I could write more on that, but feel that much has been covered already. I uninstalled, and will not be re-subscribing. Maybe next year I will check it out again. I went and bought (brace yourself) World of Warcraft. Now as a vet of Everquest, Ultima Online, and Vanguard, I was expecting what most people say about WOW.... a childish, kiddie, "noob" environment, and for the most part they are right, but the skilled expert players are there however, you just have to find them. I was fortunate enough to find an excellent guild (after many frustrating random groups with un-skilled players) and now I am having a BLAST!! More fun than I ever had in EQ or Vanguard. As far as people saying WOW is "too easy" well... I can say from experience that Conan is not any "harder" than WOW. World of Warcraft is indeed easy if you have a high-level character walk you through the instances, but if you don't "cheat" and actually run through the dungeons at their intended levels , for example: running the DEADMINES with a level 14-15 group (Yes... it's possible) You will find that there is plenty of challenge in it. Again, maybe I will try CONAN again sometime next year after they fix things, but for now, I will enjoy my new-found-friend... World Of Warcraft!!!!!!! Expand
  18. JerS.
    Jul 20, 2008
    0
    You are paying to beta test a 50% complete game. Terrible customer service, really with all the things that make a MMO epic, this game is just boring after the first week. Look elsewhere this games a bust.
  19. ChadF
    May 21, 2008
    4
    This game was a huge let down. Sadly WoW has a more competitive combat system. The combo system was an amazing concept however they did NOT deliver on it. The combo system isn't as much a combo system, but a self pressed auto attack. For a combo system to be effective it needs to require some reaction time...sadly AoC's combat system requires none. Honestly though even a mess up This game was a huge let down. Sadly WoW has a more competitive combat system. The combo system was an amazing concept however they did NOT deliver on it. The combo system isn't as much a combo system, but a self pressed auto attack. For a combo system to be effective it needs to require some reaction time...sadly AoC's combat system requires none. Honestly though even a mess up on the combo system can be overlooked assuming the other aspects of PvP are good. This is just not the case with AoC. I can't begin to understand why the game developers decided that moving around in PvP was something to not focus on. Anyone who is serious when it comes to PvP can tell you that movement, and positioning requires more involvement from the player which in turn makes the PvP more in depth. Any PvP that requires you to stand still to be at all effective is sad. Yes you can move in AoC, but it is laughable at best. So if you're looking for no-skill click fest when it comes to PvP combat AoC is pretty promising. Now what about the other aspects of the game? Well for starters the graphics are absolutely amazing in some areas while terribly bland in others. For example the cities are amazing in design and in looks. but some of the outside areas are better suited for 2D Models. Now the world PvP is a gank fest on a PvP server which is something I've always found exciting. However whoever thought of the graveyard idea had to be an idiot. Take a PvP combat system that requires no skill and have everyone spawn at a few choice graveyards placed in an area and you have a nubfest. People like me can grief a person forcing them to exit the game and come back another time. When you die you can choose different graveyards assuming you've explored an area. Seeing as how I grief most people when they're stuck loading into the zone they really aren't given a choice as to which graveyard to choose. Upon resurrecting they have half life and can only resurrect in one place... Yeh that system cant be abused at all... Anyways thats my perspective on just the PvP aspect. Sadly this game did not deliver and I was desperately hoping for it be a great game. Sorry to those who enjoy this game but I cant go along with the hype. Expand
  20. ChaseB.
    Jun 16, 2008
    4
    Terrible game. Stats weren't even enabled when the game was released, and we're still not sure if they're actually working or not. Quests basically stop around 45-50, depending on how hardcore you are about questing. Combat mechanics are terrible. They seem neat at first, but once you've used them for 40+ levels and start engaging in some PvP, you realize how awful Terrible game. Stats weren't even enabled when the game was released, and we're still not sure if they're actually working or not. Quests basically stop around 45-50, depending on how hardcore you are about questing. Combat mechanics are terrible. They seem neat at first, but once you've used them for 40+ levels and start engaging in some PvP, you realize how awful they are. They're clunky, slow and unpolished. In your first 40 levels or so, you'll run into a half dozen bugged quests. Oh, and the entire world is divided into a bunch of tiny zones, and each zone has numerous instances of itself...way to completely ruin the whole massive, immersive world thing about MMOs. The first 20 levels of this game will have you believing that it's the best MMO ever release. But once you've put in the time to get later into the game, you'll realize what a letdown this game really is. The best way to describe AoC is to say that it feels like a bug-riddled, incomplete single player game that had multiplayer thrown in at the last second. Save your money. Expand
  21. Oct 14, 2010
    0
    This game sucks. Lame combat, crappy auction system, crappy story, crappy interface, crappy quests, crappy dungeons. It's just pure garbage and should be avoided at all costs.
  22. Mar 4, 2012
    2
    realy stupid mele combat in this game and its the important part of any game could have been ok game but after the 30 days i got enough, and no wonder it is now free to play
  23. JamesP.
    May 20, 2008
    4
    Beautifully rendered boredom. Once you arrive at the first city you're hit with huge lack of clear direction as to where to level or what to do. If their goal is to keep you guessing and wandering around, they succeeded. What i love about and while i'll be staying with WoW is that I always know what I'm suppose to be fighting next and why. This game just has too much Beautifully rendered boredom. Once you arrive at the first city you're hit with huge lack of clear direction as to where to level or what to do. If their goal is to keep you guessing and wandering around, they succeeded. What i love about and while i'll be staying with WoW is that I always know what I'm suppose to be fighting next and why. This game just has too much guesswork and the leveling tedium is going to be outrageous compared to WoW. Expand
  24. EetuS.
    May 27, 2008
    4
    Horrible game, no balance and spawn camping ruins ffa PvP.
  25. AlanF
    May 25, 2008
    4
    Gorgeous graphics, great story and well thought out combat system. If this was an FPS it would be a 10 but as an MMO...it fails on many levels. Many aspects of this genre were seemingly given little or no thought, making it difficult and at times frustrating to play. Beginner levels are too long and difficult to complete...mostly due to to lack of a meaningful quest chain progression. Gorgeous graphics, great story and well thought out combat system. If this was an FPS it would be a 10 but as an MMO...it fails on many levels. Many aspects of this genre were seemingly given little or no thought, making it difficult and at times frustrating to play. Beginner levels are too long and difficult to complete...mostly due to to lack of a meaningful quest chain progression. Frustrating chat system...Rather than being ground breaking it is an semi-quasi FPS version of EQ, likely to have it's rabid followers but unlikely to gain the mass appeal of a WoW. Expand
  26. JohnSmith
    May 29, 2008
    1
    This game should not have been released. The majority of quests are botched and pure garbage. No interactions, rare animations from the worlds quest npcs. This is a joke to pc gaming. The only thing this game brings new to the table is its combat system which basically gets old after a few days of play. I have yet to enjoy what this game has to offer. For a 2008 MMO, it sure isThis game should not have been released. The majority of quests are botched and pure garbage. No interactions, rare animations from the worlds quest npcs. This is a joke to pc gaming. The only thing this game brings new to the table is its combat system which basically gets old after a few days of play. I have yet to enjoy what this game has to offer. For a 2008 MMO, it sure is behind in world interaction. Expand
  27. BobD
    May 31, 2008
    4
    After 50 the game just isn't complete... lack of quests, forced grinding to level, small, instanced zones. Massive amounts of bugs, extremely unbalanced classes, no directx 10, crafting doesn't really work, can't get to tier two city, no pvp system, etc. I could go on for pages but this game doesn't deserve that much effort. When it launches for console it will be After 50 the game just isn't complete... lack of quests, forced grinding to level, small, instanced zones. Massive amounts of bugs, extremely unbalanced classes, no directx 10, crafting doesn't really work, can't get to tier two city, no pvp system, etc. I could go on for pages but this game doesn't deserve that much effort. When it launches for console it will be done... simple as that. PC gamers are paying to beta test. Do not but this game till it launches on console if at all. Expand
  28. UncaC.
    Jun 10, 2008
    1
    A very unpolished, tedious game which doesn't do the name of Conan any justice. No motivation to drive the interest of players. The combat system is awful and the quests feel repetitve. "There goes 2 cartons I'll never get back."
  29. RaJ.
    Jun 27, 2008
    0
    Everything bugged in this game. The more patch it comes the more bug it shows.
  30. Crommquits
    Jun 3, 2008
    1
    To much stuff not in the game that was supposed to be there at launch.
  31. AnonymousMC
    Jul 14, 2008
    2
    The game has it's advantages, but also many weaknesses. One of the bigger problems is that the game is still in development..yes thats right you are paying for a game that is not finished yet. Wait about 6 months or so with buying it, then they might have fixed all the bugs from the beta that should have been fixed before they released it..also the game does NOT support directx10 asThe game has it's advantages, but also many weaknesses. One of the bigger problems is that the game is still in development..yes thats right you are paying for a game that is not finished yet. Wait about 6 months or so with buying it, then they might have fixed all the bugs from the beta that should have been fixed before they released it..also the game does NOT support directx10 as they state on the box.... Expand
  32. RenC.
    Jul 30, 2008
    1
    This game, after reaching level 80, is terrible: big lack of content and massive class unbalance and 1 shots, I wonder if Blizzard took over this game it'd be completely different.
  33. BillyW.
    Jul 30, 2008
    3
    This game has some major technical issues to overcome. The game engine is buggy, the graphics engine requires (REQUIRES, I say) the latest GPU to run smoothly, and the upper level content is lacking. This game is still undergoing beta testing and debugging: there are still screenshots of players-PLAYERS, mind you, getting debugging messages to their chat window.. Now, the plus. The first This game has some major technical issues to overcome. The game engine is buggy, the graphics engine requires (REQUIRES, I say) the latest GPU to run smoothly, and the upper level content is lacking. This game is still undergoing beta testing and debugging: there are still screenshots of players-PLAYERS, mind you, getting debugging messages to their chat window.. Now, the plus. The first 20 levels are very well done and polished. The graphics are nothing short of incredible at times (There are some spots where it is worth throwing all your graphics options on high, accepting the 2-3 fps rate just to play tourist), and the first time you get a "Fatality Move", you will be impressed. After the 50th or 60th, it loses its appeal-especially if you are fighting 4 to 5 other mobs at the same time, and are frantically hitting keys trying to keep said mobs from slaughtering you while you're twisting someones head off.. All in all, I'd wait. It has potential- in 6 months or so. Expand
  34. Jerryl.
    Aug 4, 2008
    0
    Horrible. The only reason this game got above a 60 rating is because half of those critics didn't play the game past level 20. Do not waste your money.
  35. markbennett
    Sep 6, 2008
    3
    I played from launch, and the game ran smoother then, than it did when i stopped playing, but if anyone is sariosly interested in the game, get it grind to lvl 80, and wait for funcom to fix the entire game , that is when every one will be back, lets just hope they can do that before the tank. GL Funcom.
  36. JosephL
    May 22, 2008
    3
    Pros: Amazing graphics. It's Conan. Combat mechanics are much, much more realistic than other MMOs. Cons: Tutorial levels just aren't fun (1-20). You end up dreading ever making a new character just because you don't want to ever go back to Tortage. The combat system isn't entirely knew, it just requires more time to master (auto attack is split onto direction attack Pros: Amazing graphics. It's Conan. Combat mechanics are much, much more realistic than other MMOs. Cons: Tutorial levels just aren't fun (1-20). You end up dreading ever making a new character just because you don't want to ever go back to Tortage. The combat system isn't entirely knew, it just requires more time to master (auto attack is split onto direction attack hotkeys). It's still just hitting hotbar buttons, but it is disguised well and requires your full attention at every moment. It's just like every other MMO in the fact that it's a major grindfest. Also, the quest system is the same as every other MMO (collect this, fetch this, kill this, deliver this, etc). Certain things completely kill the immersion: e.g. The Stygian Tempest of Set's heritage quests revolves around doing tasks for Mitra (rival God), helping Mitra's priests who constantly bash Stygians, and helping the weak and powerless (Set is merciless). It just makes no sense and would be an easy fix (replace a few quest mobs or change the dialog slightly). Conclusion: Funcom is a master of PR and capitalizes on/generates hype better than most companies, but the game itself isn't as great as everyone claims. However, if you're the type of person who only cares about being number 1 on the PvP scoreboard, then you'll probably love this game. I suggest you play something else and read the Conon stories if you want to be immersed in the world of Conan. Expand
  37. T.adrien
    May 24, 2008
    4
    Feeling of loneliness in a MMORPG what a strange paradox The interface is shamefull for a 2008 game quests haven't anything different from other MMORPG Nothing new except the graphism which are really good.
  38. LinoC
    May 26, 2008
    4
    Huge disappointment, Explore a World ? not... just a series of small hubs of quests totally instanced and with dozens of copies of the same zone making so that the sense of immersion of being in a "world" completely disappears, it can vary from a beautiful scenery to the worst junction of polygons with a lousy texture like the volcano area.... white sands isle on the other hand is very Huge disappointment, Explore a World ? not... just a series of small hubs of quests totally instanced and with dozens of copies of the same zone making so that the sense of immersion of being in a "world" completely disappears, it can vary from a beautiful scenery to the worst junction of polygons with a lousy texture like the volcano area.... white sands isle on the other hand is very nice. UI is so bad it can make an amateur programmer cry, bugs by the tons.... NEXT GEN MMO ? my god hope not... feels like a single player game with some intruders running around sometimes on your private world. Expand
  39. MikeH.
    Jun 18, 2008
    0
    This game is horrible. Just absolutely, plain, horrible. I canceled my subscription shortly after reaching level 35.
  40. LouieA.
    Jun 21, 2008
    3
    A half-baked game with little to add to the genre. The multi-player questing areas are small, overcrowded and mob spawns are slow. There's not nearly enough soloable instance content (or "night mode" as they call it) to justify going past lvl 20. Lazy development in an another squandered fantasy universe.
  41. JimT
    Jun 2, 2008
    0
    So many bugs, limited leveling after 40. I am level 50 and have to grind all day. The crafting is completely messed up. Don't play this for 2 months when beta is over.
  42. CraigM.
    Jun 2, 2008
    3
    Over promised and under delivered. The world feels small and empty, like a single player game. The quests are dumbed down more than WOW, and the combat is only a half step above button mashing; it's just a lot more button mashing.
  43. privateprivate
    Jun 20, 2008
    4
    Very buggy and unfinished. Unoriginal content. Too many instances and loading screens for every zone.
  44. SebastianS.
    Jun 8, 2008
    3
    Level Flow: The first 20 levels are fantastic. They're a real eye-opening experience as far as MMOs go because every quest has full voice acting, multiple conversation branches (although they all ultimately lead to "yes i'll do it" or "no I won't) and a unique "single player" campaign where you can do a series of storyline quests without fear of other players. Unfortunately Level Flow: The first 20 levels are fantastic. They're a real eye-opening experience as far as MMOs go because every quest has full voice acting, multiple conversation branches (although they all ultimately lead to "yes i'll do it" or "no I won't) and a unique "single player" campaign where you can do a series of storyline quests without fear of other players. Unfortunately after these first 20 levels things go downhill, and fast. Voice acting stops completely and utterly, you end up skipping the scripted dialogs because you either no longer care or you are too scared of being ganked while accepting quests (which you can do nothing about). You end up running out of quests completely in the mid 30s which is about the time you will likely give up on the game. Gameplay: The combat mechanics are new and relatively varied for melee but the same old crap for casters which creates an even greater rift between the archetypes in PVP battles. Graphics: While the graphics engine is very impressive, the level design and repetitive and unimaginative use of textures ultimately lets it down in the graphics department. Sound: Fairly average overall with nothing really remarkable or downgrading. Expand
  45. SteveA
    Jul 27, 2008
    3
    What were the official 'critics' smoking? They obviously played AoC for maybe 15 minutes to come up with their reviews. AoC released as an UNFINISHED game. No end game content, no DX10 support, meaningless item stats, graphical glitches, no buddy passes (CE owners can use them as of five days ago), and host of other problems. Not to mention that the so-called mature content has What were the official 'critics' smoking? They obviously played AoC for maybe 15 minutes to come up with their reviews. AoC released as an UNFINISHED game. No end game content, no DX10 support, meaningless item stats, graphical glitches, no buddy passes (CE owners can use them as of five days ago), and host of other problems. Not to mention that the so-called mature content has been getting nerfed over the last month or so. Gamers beware! Maybe have a look if you're curious but this game is about a year away from being as good as it was suppose to be at launch. Expand
  46. Nick
    Jul 3, 2008
    0
    Plain Terrible, agreed with all the other 0-2's out there. Waste of money and very old generation gameplay. Combat was ok, but it should be brought to a battlefield and not an instance maze.
  47. JohnB.
    Jul 30, 2008
    0
    Buggy technically. nerf after nerf for classes. lag spikes all the time. Reduced mature content. COULD have been a great game though.
  48. MaxO
    Jul 6, 2008
    1
    Graphics are nice, but should be better for the type of system it requires. Buildings don't look that great. Gameplay new at first for non-spellcasters but gets boring. To much lack of content and bugs, even for a new mmorpg.
  49. AoCcancelledsubscription
    Aug 10, 2008
    0
    It is unfinished; lack of high end content; too numerous to count unfulfilled promises for content and fixes; stealth nerfs unmentioned in patch notes; poor customer service and communication; remaining community are fanbois and rezpad gankers with nothing better to do; should be melee classes only, casters are severely nerfed; a one-shot gankathon; most lvl 80 PvP now resides in a single It is unfinished; lack of high end content; too numerous to count unfulfilled promises for content and fixes; stealth nerfs unmentioned in patch notes; poor customer service and communication; remaining community are fanbois and rezpad gankers with nothing better to do; should be melee classes only, casters are severely nerfed; a one-shot gankathon; most lvl 80 PvP now resides in a single city (Kesh) where griefer guilds wait to rezpad gank players; don't pay FUNKILL debug this unfinished game. Expand
  50. MattC.
    Aug 20, 2008
    2
    LAG, and CRASHES, and BUGS, OH MY! The only things Age of Conan had going for it at launch was superior graphics. Everything else, including gameplay, stability, and class balancing was absolutely pathetic, pitiful. I quit after the first month.
  51. NickyG.
    Aug 25, 2008
    0
    Graphics are nice and all that crap we've heard now ok, the game is poor and will stay poor, as FAILcom just delivered a title way, WAY, before it should be released. All the "wanna be lvl80 so i can be p00ner in first week of release, kekekek?" people will have a blast with the ridicioulus combat system, cause what the heck is up with 1 shot's, i try to attack a ranger, i get Graphics are nice and all that crap we've heard now ok, the game is poor and will stay poor, as FAILcom just delivered a title way, WAY, before it should be released. All the "wanna be lvl80 so i can be p00ner in first week of release, kekekek?" people will have a blast with the ridicioulus combat system, cause what the heck is up with 1 shot's, i try to attack a ranger, i get one shotted 3 times, a combat system that relies that much on luck is just poor and is not even considered combat in my opinion... With that said, ofcourse the graphics are nice etc etc, blabla but the bugs run out of the wild, mobs flying trough the air, sudden deaths and so on... Also being able to go back at any level on PvP realms and still being able to attack any lvl of player is stupid, ONE and only ONE resspad where EVERYBODY resses is lame, it's instant ress and that is instant death... Let's not make this too long, 2 simple words > It Blows. Expand
  52. JakeG
    Aug 30, 2008
    3
    I have played this game to level 80 and to be honest when you get to level 55 you have to grind grind and grind. There isnt enough content for higher levels, there is only 2 pvp type mini games which pretty much suck. When you get to level 70 and manage to get to the level 70 playing area, there are always the regular gankers which camp both spawns and the exit out of the area. Not enough I have played this game to level 80 and to be honest when you get to level 55 you have to grind grind and grind. There isnt enough content for higher levels, there is only 2 pvp type mini games which pretty much suck. When you get to level 70 and manage to get to the level 70 playing area, there are always the regular gankers which camp both spawns and the exit out of the area. Not enough area in game, not enough content, way too many gankers but hey decent graphics. Expand
  53. WR
    Aug 5, 2008
    3
    New WOW clone now in Hyborian clothes. If you read REH (creator of Conan) books from Hyboria...you don't find that world from AOC. Really really shame. Game alone is full for bugs and poorly copies game mechanisms and classes from WOW. Nothing truly new.
  54. EmilM.
    Sep 4, 2008
    0
    Good Graphics and cool fatalities... Until your system Locks up! This game is fataly flawed and does not run for more then 10min to 2 hours before freezing your computer... And I own a Top Notch system. Buyer Beware.
  55. DanReynolds
    Sep 7, 2008
    1
    Although the low level experience in this game is awesome, the rest of the game is unpolished and clunky. The emphasis on PvP that was promised by Failcom was completely unrealized, and imho PvP in AoC was frustrating at best. The crafting system is, to be frank, garbage. Questing is extremely tedious. If you make it to the daily quests in Tarantia Noble District, you'll knowAlthough the low level experience in this game is awesome, the rest of the game is unpolished and clunky. The emphasis on PvP that was promised by Failcom was completely unrealized, and imho PvP in AoC was frustrating at best. The crafting system is, to be frank, garbage. Questing is extremely tedious. If you make it to the daily quests in Tarantia Noble District, you'll know exactly what I'm talking about, and it might make you want to kill yourself. Oh, and griefing is a huge problem as well. Just don't play it. Expand
  56. GH
    Nov 18, 2008
    0
    Garbage. No content, annoyingly imbalanced pvp, terrible social system.
  57. DoomyHendric
    May 17, 2008
    3
    I've been in the closed beta, tech test and so on. Since the NDA and everything has been lifted. I would say this is the biggest letdown of this year. The game simply does not even live up to what they claimed to offer (no persistant world, no 64 bit support, no directx 10 support). This MMO is buggy at best and should not be released without at least 12 months of testing. The gameI've been in the closed beta, tech test and so on. Since the NDA and everything has been lifted. I would say this is the biggest letdown of this year. The game simply does not even live up to what they claimed to offer (no persistant world, no 64 bit support, no directx 10 support). This MMO is buggy at best and should not be released without at least 12 months of testing. The game as it is right now has constant load screens and so on. Expand
  58. Errolb
    May 22, 2008
    3
    Combat cool having lag issues with it, the biggest problem i have is the whole game being instance based and not being able to see all players in areas.. to me thats guild wars and not a true mmo
  59. AdamW.
    May 23, 2008
    2
    Yet another boring WOW clone (with a more adult theme).
  60. BjörnO
    May 24, 2008
    4
    A game with fantastic graphic and athmosphere. Sadly everything is destroyed by all loading time because they have divided the game world in different areas. Everytime you go to a new area you must talked to a npc and then travel. The feeling for a open world is lost.
  61. KurtS.
    May 24, 2008
    1
    Instances, worthless RP, boobs, 24/7 bugs and graphic issues, unskilled PvP, unbalanced PvP, very poor graphic style, very poor response on problems.
  62. JohnL.
    May 26, 2008
    4
    Super boring quests in the beginning of the game. So boring in fact my party of 4 people all unsubscribed after a few hours of play!!! The quests are mostly "open" instances so if you need to get, let's say, 15 jewels from 15 alligators and another party that is in your "shared" instance has killed them all your party has to wait for them to respawn and unrealistically they will just Super boring quests in the beginning of the game. So boring in fact my party of 4 people all unsubscribed after a few hours of play!!! The quests are mostly "open" instances so if you need to get, let's say, 15 jewels from 15 alligators and another party that is in your "shared" instance has killed them all your party has to wait for them to respawn and unrealistically they will just pop up in thin air. The mini-map is terrible for tracking your party members and almost worse for finding locations of quests. The quest journal is not well laid out. The larger maps show NO party members at all and you would like to use the larger maps since the mini-map can't be resized and is as small as a quarter on larger wide screen monitors. Better scripted private instanced quests and a much better quest journal and mapping system and this game might be worth the cash for our group of players. Back to DDO Stormreach for now which still has the fastest and best battle system to date in my opinion. Expand
  63. JohnD.
    May 26, 2008
    4
    This looks and feels very much like EQ2 which I hated. The graphics are not good. The sound effects are poor. It's also very buggy. Doesn't hold a candle to WoW even though I'm really tired of WoW.
  64. TadMorbid
    May 30, 2008
    1
    European and American players unable to play on each others servers. Somewhat primitive interface.
  65. KeiraP.
    Jun 12, 2008
    1
    - Unfinished release. - Combat gets old really fast. - Everything is instanced. - Bosses get camped in public instances by high level guilds. - Crafting system is a joke, you can start gathering at level 20, crafting at level 40, where is the logic? - Bad customer support. - Bad loot system. - Skills are not properly explained and you have no idea what an increase in skill actually means - Unfinished release. - Combat gets old really fast. - Everything is instanced. - Bosses get camped in public instances by high level guilds. - Crafting system is a joke, you can start gathering at level 20, crafting at level 40, where is the logic? - Bad customer support. - Bad loot system. - Skills are not properly explained and you have no idea what an increase in skill actually means for your gameplay. Expand
  66. RutgerH.
    Jun 12, 2008
    2
    AoC is a short three phase process of excitement (hype & installation), fear (desperate tweaking to get any playability at low low settings), and disappointment (buy new grapics card to get high high settings and indeed see EQ2 with an extra helping of bugs, a very shallow combat system, and amazingly boring quests). Uninstall.
  67. Jamesnothanks
    Jun 19, 2008
    0
    Worst game ever, buggy, sexist bugs, poor combat system, no content, can't handle large scale PvP, is an alpha build game thats bad, just bad.
  68. sfc19711971
    Jun 24, 2008
    2
    Vanguard 2 or worse Anarchy Online 2? Funcom had to release this game early due to investors getting restless and it shows. Levels 1-20, those typically reviewed by the press are reasonably well polished, quests at least can be completed and there are not major problems. Past that, PvP and PvE balance is a mess, quests are bugged, huge memory leaks, crafting broken even resulting in Vanguard 2 or worse Anarchy Online 2? Funcom had to release this game early due to investors getting restless and it shows. Levels 1-20, those typically reviewed by the press are reasonably well polished, quests at least can be completed and there are not major problems. Past that, PvP and PvE balance is a mess, quests are bugged, huge memory leaks, crafting broken even resulting in crashes, content missing, skills not working, feats either badly described, not working or both. Female attack speed slower then male attack speed. The list goes on and on. Customer support is absent with petitions in game on any subject just not being handled. To those who played Anarchy Online, this is all to familiar. Funcom has NOT learned its lesson. If you must, just wait till AoC follows AO into free to play hell. Expand
  69. JoeM.
    Jun 30, 2008
    0
    Played till level 80 and then threw it in the trash. Unimplemented features, a cornucopia of bugs and stability issues completely ruined the game for me. Had most of the reviewers played past level 20 I'm sure that their average score would be much, much lower. It shocks me that Funcom would release such a game in it's current state and have the gall to charge people a monthly Played till level 80 and then threw it in the trash. Unimplemented features, a cornucopia of bugs and stability issues completely ruined the game for me. Had most of the reviewers played past level 20 I'm sure that their average score would be much, much lower. It shocks me that Funcom would release such a game in it's current state and have the gall to charge people a monthly fee for what is essentially beta testing. I will never buy a Funcom title again. Expand
  70. Ecco
    Jun 7, 2008
    4
    IOnly the basics are implemented at the moment, very few quests after lvl 50, not so polished after lvl 20+, buggy laggy...a better beta at this point.
  71. MG
    Jun 7, 2008
    0
    Epic amount of fail here. The game is nowhere near ready for release. Funcom is doing nothing to fix bugs or fix balance issues. In fact, every patch introduces more bugs than were present before the patch.
  72. PeterB.
    Jul 22, 2008
    1
    Very very poor game imo. Released way too early in it's development. I liked the idea of the direct combat system but in reality it's clunky and rather dull. Graphics are nice but that's just frill really when you consider that it's all about the gamplay - that's what really matters and that's a huge, huge letdown.
  73. AlexM.
    Jul 22, 2008
    1
    This was a complete waste of my money, it looked so good and had so much potential... this game was horrible, you spend hours on end trying to get off this pointless island only to get to another place which has very little place to explore and the quests are repetitive and boring, i never bought a subscription after the first free month ended. Only good part was that you could cut This was a complete waste of my money, it looked so good and had so much potential... this game was horrible, you spend hours on end trying to get off this pointless island only to get to another place which has very little place to explore and the quests are repetitive and boring, i never bought a subscription after the first free month ended. Only good part was that you could cut someones head off. Expand
  74. DebraW.
    Jul 31, 2008
    0
    Don't waste money on this one. Most of game is broken and bugs of every kind make game frustrating. Can't recommend.
  75. ChristopherF.
    Jul 31, 2008
    2
    As bugged and incomplete as any mmo at launch except that even the content is mostly missing. good style, bad implementation and the patches have actually progressively made the game less stable.
  76. llJog
    Jul 30, 2008
    1
    Rated 7? Are these people actually playing his game? Of all the MMO's released this is by far the worst I have seen... There should be negative scores as well.
  77. PMF
    Jul 3, 2008
    4
    It feels somewhat unfair to rate the game in its current state since I expect (assuming it survives) it will feel like a whole new game in a year or two - but by the same token : it is probably unfair to sell the game in its current state and charge a subscription fee to play it. Personally I just do not find it ambitious enough to excite me, but down the line I expect AoC will become a It feels somewhat unfair to rate the game in its current state since I expect (assuming it survives) it will feel like a whole new game in a year or two - but by the same token : it is probably unfair to sell the game in its current state and charge a subscription fee to play it. Personally I just do not find it ambitious enough to excite me, but down the line I expect AoC will become a thoroughly competent MMO. One word of warning though : the combat system is indeed more interactive than in other MMOs and akin to an old keyboard controlled beat-em-up - but this is still an MMO and it still has grind, so if playing a keyboard beat-em-up for hours of a time sounds more than you can bear you should consider your purchase carefully. Expand
  78. Ben
    Jul 31, 2008
    1
    Yes, the first 20 levels are fantastic...after that though, it's not really a game, but more like a tech demo. There isn't a single working system in the game, some are understandable like animation glitches, some are not, like entire zones not working or male vs. female characters do different dps. As it's been said before, no mmo launches without bugs, but this is Yes, the first 20 levels are fantastic...after that though, it's not really a game, but more like a tech demo. There isn't a single working system in the game, some are understandable like animation glitches, some are not, like entire zones not working or male vs. female characters do different dps. As it's been said before, no mmo launches without bugs, but this is ridiculous. Not only do patches introduce new issues, but they significantly reduce performance as well. When the game launched, I had max visuals and had 30+ fps and everything loaded quickly. Now I get about 20-25 fps and everything takes 2-4 times as long to load. The worst though, is that the game might be a mmorpg, but if you didn't know what you were playing, you wouldn't know it. There are group quests, but folks don't do them generally since the rewards aren't great or the quests themselves are bugged. The game really feels like they were trying to make a mmorpg themed pvp fps-type game and totally ignored the mmo portion of the game. Besides the nice visuals, thrill of constant danger and fantastic first 20 levels, there are better games out there for the taking. WoW, LoTRO, EQ2 all do it better right now, and with WAR and expansions on the horizon for all those other games (all of which are so, so much more polished and feel like they are mmorps), I don't think AoC can recover. Expand
  79. D
    Jul 5, 2008
    0
    My relatively new PC can't get above 10fps, with every option turned down to nothing. There is no tech support. Only an auto-reply. I ebayed my cd key, and cut my losses.
  80. JakeK.
    Jul 6, 2008
    2
    Terrible game where the allegedly innovative combat system forces players to press 3 or five buttons instead of one. This game is so bugged that at certain points in the game the higher system settings produce higher fps than the lowest ones. Excluding the often beautiful visuals this game is more of a step backwards for MMO's than anything else. The first few levels are lukewarm at Terrible game where the allegedly innovative combat system forces players to press 3 or five buttons instead of one. This game is so bugged that at certain points in the game the higher system settings produce higher fps than the lowest ones. Excluding the often beautiful visuals this game is more of a step backwards for MMO's than anything else. The first few levels are lukewarm at best, but once someone reaches level twenty they experience heavy instancing and very few opportunities for teamwork except to keep gankers at bay. The visuals are the only thing that keep this game from getting a 0 Expand
  81. JackB.
    Aug 3, 2008
    1
    You would be better off holding on to your money. This game is not ready for prime time and the flaws, bugs, poor content and class balance issues render the game almost unplayable. I suggest you wait at least a year before giving Conan a try.
  82. RodericR.
    Sep 13, 2008
    0
    A buggy, unbalanced game that was released a year too soon. It had substantial goodwill, interest, fanbase, and hype....and squandered ALL of it within 3 months. Once 3 and 6 month subscriptions finally run out, you're looking at a game that will struggle to keep 100k subscribers. Failcom will most likely go under due to epic failure here.
  83. RasterM.
    Sep 14, 2008
    1
    Bugs, crashes, lacking content for the majority of the game, memory leaks, and is full of jerks due to the attraction that is blood, gore, and nudity. Don't let them fool you, they, and this game, are not mature. It is merely unfit for younger audiences.
  84. DönH
    Sep 14, 2008
    1
    I played this game for 2 months and decided that it was quite possibley the worst MMO that I have ever played in recent years. The Game crashes, its so buggy I thought my computer had a virus, and if you play it long enough you just feel like its incomplete. The only decent thing about it is the begining of the game and even that is iffy. Fun Facts: Most feats don't work correctly, I played this game for 2 months and decided that it was quite possibley the worst MMO that I have ever played in recent years. The Game crashes, its so buggy I thought my computer had a virus, and if you play it long enough you just feel like its incomplete. The only decent thing about it is the begining of the game and even that is iffy. Fun Facts: Most feats don't work correctly, Some classes can literally be killed in one hit at 80 by other classes, and 50% of the people who started playing the game at launch have quit already (Server population is horrible). Expand
  85. DarinnT.
    Sep 17, 2008
    0
    The lack of content was a complete bore. After about Level 45 you struggle to find quests let alone any fun.
  86. DönH
    Sep 4, 2008
    0
    I played this game for 2 months and decided that it was quite possibley the worst MMO that I have ever played in recent years. The Game crashes, its so buggy I thought my computer had a virus, and if you play it long enough you just feel like its incomplete. The only decent thing about it is the begining of the game and even that is iffy. Fun Facts: Most feats don't work correctly, I played this game for 2 months and decided that it was quite possibley the worst MMO that I have ever played in recent years. The Game crashes, its so buggy I thought my computer had a virus, and if you play it long enough you just feel like its incomplete. The only decent thing about it is the begining of the game and even that is iffy. Fun Facts: Most feats don't work correctly, Some classes can literally be killed in one hit at 80 by other classes, and 50% of the people who started playing the game at launch have quit already (Server population is horrible). Expand
  87. sb
    Sep 9, 2008
    4
    4 of 10, because the character creation and starter island are good. Once you leave these initial areas the game goes downhill fast until, at level 80, there's nothing to do but stand around in stealth at zone entrances and wait for people to gank.
  88. GarethW.
    Oct 16, 2008
    0
    The lack of content, the bugs and the general failure of this game just makes me wanna wonder why I wasted the money on it in the first place. Dear oh dear, shame really, it was so promising.
  89. StephenK
    May 21, 2008
    3
    It's an ok game. It doesn't feel fluid as say Oblivion or DDO does. They have tried to make dynamic animations and changing enemy weaknesses as a substitute, and it really doesn't work. For example, can I use terrain to my advantage? No.
  90. JessM.
    May 23, 2008
    4
    The game has potential but it still feels like in beta; too choppy and laggy. Also, I've been spending most of my time on game updates that takes up some major time.
  91. CD
    May 24, 2008
    3
    Boring. I really cant pay attention to the game because it just isnt fun. its also way too graphically demanding for a MMO; my computer ran about 120 FPS max settings on wow and i barely get 10-15 FPS in AoC. freakin awesome. the combat system seems like it would be interesting, but it doesnt deliver. it is too hard to pay attention to everything in an MMO while doing the whole hack and Boring. I really cant pay attention to the game because it just isnt fun. its also way too graphically demanding for a MMO; my computer ran about 120 FPS max settings on wow and i barely get 10-15 FPS in AoC. freakin awesome. the combat system seems like it would be interesting, but it doesnt deliver. it is too hard to pay attention to everything in an MMO while doing the whole hack and slash thing. overall, the game is pretty on the surface but is just shallow. Expand
  92. AuronS.
    May 25, 2008
    1
    This game is largely the same as WoW, the mutli-directional combat system is similar to every other attack in other MMORPGs, it seems this "new" "exciting" feature is only a simple frontal cone of attack damage, not only this, but it seems the combat moves are more of an annoying novelty that will soon swear off, and it seems now the whole "left, up, left, left, down, right, b" style This game is largely the same as WoW, the mutli-directional combat system is similar to every other attack in other MMORPGs, it seems this "new" "exciting" feature is only a simple frontal cone of attack damage, not only this, but it seems the combat moves are more of an annoying novelty that will soon swear off, and it seems now the whole "left, up, left, left, down, right, b" style moves from old school fighting games has been employed to make this combat system interactive. The UI based in "Age of Conan" is also incredibly stiff making you employ all 3 combat directional buttons on your small (default) combat bar, and until some serious player made addons are released for easier play it seems this game will stay the same for awhile. Graphically this game is beautiful and feature incredible looking environment that other MMORPGs have never seen, however, it seems the developers have left out detail on the player models themselves, you have the choice of 3 different skin colours and jumping in the game make you avoid it unless necessary, but of course there is alway 1 person jumping around like a 3 year old on a jumping castle making you wish it was more like guild wars and jumping had been removed. I feel a score of 1 is fair judging on the similarities from other MMORPGs and the major design flaws as listed above. Expand
  93. HarewV.
    Jun 15, 2008
    4
    It's buggy as hell (more than once the game has not left a cut scene and I got beaten to death off screen), and the graphics don't match the specs (LotRO looks nicer on lesser hardware), but more than anything what's so disappointing is that AoC does nothing new with the genre aside from adding some unresponsive 'real-time' combat, which amounts to little more It's buggy as hell (more than once the game has not left a cut scene and I got beaten to death off screen), and the graphics don't match the specs (LotRO looks nicer on lesser hardware), but more than anything what's so disappointing is that AoC does nothing new with the genre aside from adding some unresponsive 'real-time' combat, which amounts to little more than a basic Parappa the Rappa-style rhythm-based exercise in key bashing. The drab environments and po-faced dialogue doesn't help, either. Below average. Expand
  94. MikeB
    Jun 19, 2008
    0
    Massive failure. Graphics: Lots of shine, no depth. Classes: Wide variety, wide imbalance. Quests: Snoozefest. Very boring, no variety. Combat: If this is groundbreaking then the game industry is in a sad state. It's not real time combat, its a queue system. Bugs/Glitches: A plethora. Feels like BF2. Patches break what the last patch added. Overall: Trash. Go buy a few Chuck Norris Massive failure. Graphics: Lots of shine, no depth. Classes: Wide variety, wide imbalance. Quests: Snoozefest. Very boring, no variety. Combat: If this is groundbreaking then the game industry is in a sad state. It's not real time combat, its a queue system. Bugs/Glitches: A plethora. Feels like BF2. Patches break what the last patch added. Overall: Trash. Go buy a few Chuck Norris movies. You'll get far more entertainment. Expand
  95. FedS.
    Jun 24, 2008
    4
    The game is terrible past level 20. Poor class balance, weak pvp systems, no itemization in the end game, incredibly poorly designed tanking mechanics, technical issues...the list goes on and on. This game should not have been released, and Funcom manipulated the gaming community with its highly polished newbie area.
  96. MichaelZ
    Jun 26, 2008
    4
    If your a Pervt or Pedifile and like nudity, this is the game for you.
    Graphics are on par with EQ2 however Game play is tedious with its Attack/defense combo system. The nudity has gotten out of control in the game. The old addage, just because they can do it, doesnt mean they will, doesnt apply here...
    Putting a "MATURE" rating on the game has not stopped children in the
    If your a Pervt or Pedifile and like nudity, this is the game for you.
    Graphics are on par with EQ2 however Game play is tedious with its Attack/defense combo system. The nudity has gotten out of control in the game. The old addage, just because they can do it, doesnt mean they will, doesnt apply here...
    Putting a "MATURE" rating on the game has not stopped children in the slightest. The game has drawn pervs and pedifiles from arround the world. It was fun during the beta, but once opened to the public at has turned rotten.
    Expand
  97. PolarisM
    Jun 26, 2008
    4
    Funcom had a few things done well in the first 20 levels, but unlike the vast majority of the "professional" reviewers, I actually played past that and into level 55+. I found the game to be far too buggy to play without recurring frustrations, and Funcom's customer support is very poor. Hopefully the game will improve in the next few months, but I am not terribly optimistic Funcom had a few things done well in the first 20 levels, but unlike the vast majority of the "professional" reviewers, I actually played past that and into level 55+. I found the game to be far too buggy to play without recurring frustrations, and Funcom's customer support is very poor. Hopefully the game will improve in the next few months, but I am not terribly optimistic considering Funcom's recent patches where they put in worse bugs than the ones they fix. Expand
  98. JG
    Jun 28, 2008
    2
    This game is simply awful. I played up to level 32 on my assassin character, and then promptly uninstalled the game. The quests are either mind-numbingly easy and thoughtless or frustratingly impossible, based on you level. While the game does indicate quest difficulty in respect to your level with a colour-coding system, all one has to do is wait to achieve a certain level and then plow This game is simply awful. I played up to level 32 on my assassin character, and then promptly uninstalled the game. The quests are either mind-numbingly easy and thoughtless or frustratingly impossible, based on you level. While the game does indicate quest difficulty in respect to your level with a colour-coding system, all one has to do is wait to achieve a certain level and then plow through them. This is because once you are a certain number of levels above the non-player enemies' levels, they will completely ignore you unless you hit them for damage first. So a level 30-something character can run through the quests in the Cimmerian region in a matter of hours, breezing past enemies that anyone else on a lower level will have to slog through on their way to the objective (dying repeatedly of course). I never played in a single group the entire time I was in-game because none of the few people in my area would accept my "join group" offers and I quit bothering to try after so long. I would have to say this is just a really pathetic single-player fantasy. I was so appalled with this half-hearted attempt of a game that I didn't even bother to see whether or not the PvP could have salvaged the experience for me. The visuals are...underwhelming. It's performance is terrible on a system that can run Crysis smoothly on maximum settings (although I believe this may have something to do with the Age of Conan's half-finished state). Just a terribly conceived aesthetic. You have to see it in action for yourself (screenshots just don't do it justice--mostly because all of the screenshots I saw came from Funcom and were taken to show the best the game has to offer). Character animations are goofy, and goofiness is something that tends to alienate me from a game that is trying to be a tough sword-and-sorcery epic. The drunkard NPC's (abound in every city or town setting) make these ridiculous, gibbered grunts that had me rolling my eyes every time I heard them. Although I came across some amusing situations with the NPC's, it's mostly all too campy. And the voice-acting is bad. Really bad. I was actually okay with the fact that it stopped altogether after the Tortage region (although it is a jarring change in terms of the game experience). Oooh lawdy, are the trees and vegetation just down-right ugly! Bloody ugly! AoC uses a similar foliage system as Oblivion, but for some reason the AoC foliage textures look like they came out of a 16-bit Super Nintendo system. I'll say it again: ugly! Combat is...well, how could the developers possibly think they were on the right track with this nonsense?! The classes are unbalanced for starters, a fact that seeps its way even into the "single-player" quest portions of the game, where spell-casting enemies can stand thirty feet away from you and pound your health while you waste your invaluable stamina racing to their position to engage them in melee combat! And then you usually find that two or three more enemies will respawn in the vicinity (because the PvE areas are instanced) and outnumber you while you're still working on that first spell-caster. Second of all, the targeting system bites the bag. Tab is supposedly for targeting the closest enemy. Yet, every time I used it to focus on the next enemy in line for a healthy serving of my wrath, the game would choose some enemy a half a mile away, leaving my character swinging into the air! I only have two hands Funcom, one's on my mouse, and the other's on my keyboard! So don't put the combat keys all over the place! Speaking of combos, boy what a good idea for an MMO, but executed in the worst way! You just better hope you live close to a server is another thing I'll add to the combo business. Well, I'm out of time, but there are so many other things I'd love to whine about here. The bottom line is this: the game feels like a beta (and, yes I can attest to the abundance of glitches and bugs still present there), so I'll be waiting another six months before I even think about looking at this game again. Collapse
  99. GeorgioU.
    Jul 26, 2008
    4
    This game is pretty broken.
  100. KarlK.
    Jul 29, 2008
    4
    The Good: Very beutiful environment, realistic characters, unique classes, unique combat, lvl 1-20 some of the best designed content in any MMO The Bad: Released too early, only 6 styles of armor, buggy patches, poor QA, not enough testing, sieging broken, tradeskills are a joke, Out of memory, grey maps, 4k-10k lag spikes are too frequent, no class balance
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. This game marks the next generation of MMOs in many ways. It looks good, is very entertaining and plays very well. This is a journey well worth taking.
  2. It won't put WoW out of business, but then again, nothing will for a long time, and that doesn't mean this isn't a great game with tons of appeal and a hopefully more mature audience
  3. 80
    Age of Conan going forward should become a delightfully savage second home for plenty of howling on-line barbarians.