User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 811 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Marcus
    Jul 6, 2008
    9
    Having been someone whose computer suffered really badly from the bugs and crashes (they have now been fixed), I am still going to give this game a 9. The graphics are incredible (more realistic than oblivion and it runs smoother too), the combat actually feels like combat unlike other MMOs. For me the atmosphere of the game is amazing. A lot of people are complaining about poor pvp Having been someone whose computer suffered really badly from the bugs and crashes (they have now been fixed), I am still going to give this game a 9. The graphics are incredible (more realistic than oblivion and it runs smoother too), the combat actually feels like combat unlike other MMOs. For me the atmosphere of the game is amazing. A lot of people are complaining about poor pvp "imbalance". I think this is actually a good thing and greatly enhances the atmosphere and realism of the game. It would be a great shame if they changed it. More skill is required this way, hiding in thickets of trees while a group of level 80s rides past etc - I really love the brutality of the pvp in this game - it just makes it feel so much more real and exciting than in other MMOs. As for the instancing, people are already complaining about fps - if it wasn't so heavily instanced, for a lot of people it would be unplayable. Maybe in a few years when people have better computers, they'll change this.... One of my favourite things about this game is the extent to which you can customize your character's appearance and I also love the classes (I have 5 characters all with different classes and I haven't found any big problem with class imbalance ( actually I love all the classes I have played -they all have clear advantages and disadvantages) I do agree that the game is just the skeleton of what it will become - but even in its current form, it is still by far the most fun MMO I have played which is why I won't be canceling my account. It seems people either love or hate this game but for me, it definitely gets a big thumbs up! Expand
  2. NicklasS
    Dec 24, 2009
    9
    Fantastic game after all the patches and additional content this game is worth a try! Great graphics and combat! Awesome sound and music also!
  3. Jun 22, 2012
    9
    -very compelling game, especially the pvp servers,
    -the game stays very true to robert e howard's universe
    -award wining music track, and the best graphics any mmo has too offer(you must go in settings to put em on max) -very smart combat system where tactics and practise are ever so important blablabla, whatever game u have played before, if you take the time to understand this game,
    -very compelling game, especially the pvp servers,
    -the game stays very true to robert e howard's universe
    -award wining music track, and the best graphics any mmo has too offer(you must go in settings to put em on max)
    -very smart combat system where tactics and practise are ever so important
    blablabla, whatever game u have played before, if you take the time to understand this game, you will fall in love withh it

    if u want good old easy stuff u can still enjoy the pve servers, and get coaching from fellow guild mates on how to experience the toughest raids any mmo has too offer
    Expand
  4. TommyM.
    Jul 23, 2008
    9
    Very good game, but indeed its little unfinished, but which rpg game isnt that at the beginning.
  5. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    Great MMO, really good. Don´t know about launch problems some years ago, anyway version 4.0 rocks and I got all expansions and adventure packs. Everyone should check it out and make sure to get the expansion because Kithai is massive and beautiful
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    This is the best MMO out there period, best graphics, best stories and it's such a massive open world you can get lost with a sense of who cares im doing fine, there's no arguing pansy boys just shut up and play.
  7. ReneD
    Feb 3, 2010
    9
    It was clearly a fail, when it came out totally unfinished. But a lot has changed, and at the moment this game is really worth, playing it. Best Graphics in the genre, different game play (fights) and a community, which, at least on PVE-Servers, will help any newcomers. Whoever´s still writing nonsense about bugs, crashes, no stories, etc. can certainly not have played this game for It was clearly a fail, when it came out totally unfinished. But a lot has changed, and at the moment this game is really worth, playing it. Best Graphics in the genre, different game play (fights) and a community, which, at least on PVE-Servers, will help any newcomers. Whoever´s still writing nonsense about bugs, crashes, no stories, etc. can certainly not have played this game for at least 7 months. There´s a bit to critisise because of the recent merge of PVP-/RP-Servers since there aren't many PVP-players anymore. But that´s not the problem of Funcom, thats a problem which has it´s origin in some stupid gankers. So if you´re PVP all the way, make it a 7, the PVE-Fans and even RP-Fans should definitely give it a (second) chance. And hey, I´m NOT from Funcom, and I´m certainly no "Fanboy" but I can see a good game, when I play it. And Age of Conan, at it´s actual state, is definitely one. Expand
  8. Jun 22, 2012
    9
    this game is known for having the best raids, the best melee combat system, the best graphics, and best sound of any mmo.
    the lore of robert e howard, creator of heroic fantasy is also very strong.
    the only glitch towards perfection has been Funcom which has been very unresponsive for long
    fortunately i think this is turning around
  9. Aug 10, 2012
    10
    The best MMORPG out there.. And its free.

    The graphics in this 4 year old game is the best of all MMORPG. Eventhough The secret world have the same engine, AoC still looks better. The biggest argument for playing this game is the combat system. Its fun, and challenging, and its not push-a-button-and-run kind of game. The Second argument is the story. The 4 main classes, Mage, Rogue,
    The best MMORPG out there.. And its free.

    The graphics in this 4 year old game is the best of all MMORPG. Eventhough The secret world have the same engine, AoC still looks better. The biggest argument for playing this game is the combat system. Its fun, and challenging, and its not push-a-button-and-run kind of game.

    The Second argument is the story. The 4 main classes, Mage, Rogue, Healer, and Tank, has their own story. Also the setting is appealing. The Hyborian Age is like a dark, decadent, twisted and corrupt version of Euro-Asian history. Mix a bit of the Roman Empire, Mongolian culture and Babylonian mysticism with '30s-era myths of undiscovered Africa.
    Expand
  10. May 18, 2011
    10
    Simply the best MMO in MMO history bar none! If you like it rough, bloody, real, sexy and combo system that puts ypu into the fight like no other MMO. THis is the MMO which takes a bit of skill to play. Some of the reviews here are old as hell and do not reflect the game as it istands today. The game has been massively over hauled. Population ios going up and up due to the recent massiveSimply the best MMO in MMO history bar none! If you like it rough, bloody, real, sexy and combo system that puts ypu into the fight like no other MMO. THis is the MMO which takes a bit of skill to play. Some of the reviews here are old as hell and do not reflect the game as it istands today. The game has been massively over hauled. Population ios going up and up due to the recent massive changes to make the combat more skill based by making CC combos also. This making the combat more fluid and let crowd control going on. I cannot think of any other MMO that makes you feel combat like AoC and on top of that. The graphic are hands down the best in the genre. No other MMO comes close though its recommended to have at least 3-4gb of ram. I don't want to spend all day wrioting reviews but it makes me sick to see all the negative reviews here from people from years ago who have helped to keep this ORIGINAL MMO down. Nothing offers what AoC offers. In a sea of boring MMO's this MMO has the most imortant element in spades, and that is Gameplay. My Official Score is 9 but I am giving it a 10 on the board! If you are sitting on the fence go and buy RISE OF THE GODSLAYER and enjoy this game. No one should miss playing through to level 80 on at least one class of the 12 AoC offers. They are all uniue and far superiour to the hollow versions to get in cheap games like WoW and Rift. Whats on offer? Necro Mancers with 8 pets! .. Demonologists with demon slaves... Assassins with duel daggers, Rangers, Barbarians, Bear Shaman (Twi hander hammer Priest), Tempest of Set, Priest of Mitra, Heral of Xotli, Dark Templars, Guardians and Conqeurors. When you reach the level cap in AoC you will find plenty to do also, and that also goes for solo content. There are T1 T2 T3 T4 dungeons but you can also do hard Mode Khitain dungeons for Epic loot (Best Epic Loot in the game) or you can solo grond for a faction Set. There are 5 PvP arenas, and servers offer full world PvP or PvE servers. I think I have covered most things. Simply the best MMO in MMO history bar none! Expand
  11. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    this game is so refreshing and immersive
    if you are in hard-core pvp, or a simply magnificent game, this is for you, if you like boring games go somewhere else.
    everything is nearly perfectly balanced, that it be the jumping height of a character or the use of each character in a succesful pvp team
  12. Oct 14, 2011
    8
    Decent MMO. I leveled a character up to the maximum level and played around with a raiding guild for a while, but ultimately I stopped playing because it was just too similar to World of Warcraft which had a lot more content at the time. It was still well made, and by now it probably has a lot more content. I'd recommend it for anyone who's interested in trying out an MMO.
  13. hypo
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    Well, I've tried it an guess what? It rocks!
  14. rikom
    Nov 18, 2009
    10
    Best MMORPG ever...and i've tried all
  15. KevinS.
    May 20, 2008
    9
    The game is a lot of fun. It has great graphics for an mmo. I'm surprised how low the average user rating is. My guess is people felt ripped off about the patches and downtime during EA and game it a 0. So far I think it's a great game.
  16. JonA.
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    Assuming, and granted it's a big assumption, Funcom stays the course and keeps with the incessant patching, works out the kinks, and people don't jump ship first -- this becomes THE game. If not, it's the chaperone for the next ambitious mmo.
  17. JulianB
    Sep 20, 2009
    10
    Best MMO Game! The game getting better and better every month ;D
  18. PetterS.
    May 20, 2008
    10
    Played for 3 days now and I'm already hooked. A bit to early to actually give it a review but my impression so far is excelente.
  19. MarkV.
    May 21, 2008
    10
    This game is simply awesome.
  20. CamB.
    May 22, 2008
    9
    Great game woudl get a 10, but just launched, need a bit of work. other then that this game has TONs of potential!
  21. Even
    May 23, 2008
    10
    The best MMO game ever!!!! Everything is just great.. great sound, great playstyle great great GREAT!!
  22. EilefS.
    May 24, 2008
    10
    Best online game i have played on a pc.
  23. TravisS.
    May 27, 2008
    10
    One of the best MMO launches in history. Great fundamental gameplay that lays down the ground work for an amazing MMO. The game has a few bugs, however the amount of bugs is on par with any other MMO at launch (yes yes fanboys even WoW was riddled with bugs at launch). If you are looking for an evolutionary game (no it is not revolutionary) that puts a twist on combat as well as PvP then One of the best MMO launches in history. Great fundamental gameplay that lays down the ground work for an amazing MMO. The game has a few bugs, however the amount of bugs is on par with any other MMO at launch (yes yes fanboys even WoW was riddled with bugs at launch). If you are looking for an evolutionary game (no it is not revolutionary) that puts a twist on combat as well as PvP then Age of Conan is going to be an excellent choice. This is coming from someone who has been playing MMO's since Ultima Online in 1998. Collapse
  24. JakeBprg
    May 27, 2008
    10
    Amazing graphics and gameplay
  25. ZlatoK.
    May 31, 2008
    10
    Absolutely great! WoW is gone.
  26. JustinS.
    Jun 3, 2008
    10
    Great game, new, fresh, original. Not quite done, but it will be in time.
  27. Jiiaa
    Jun 5, 2008
    9
    Age of Conan is absolutely one of the greatest (if not THE BEST) MMO out there! In my opinion, it beats crap out of WoW with its superior combat, great quests and amazing graphics and mature content (screw WoWs orcs and dwarfs)! I can't really say any bad things about AoC (well, there is some bugs, but tell me one MMO game which didn't have any bugs in launch) because it's Age of Conan is absolutely one of the greatest (if not THE BEST) MMO out there! In my opinion, it beats crap out of WoW with its superior combat, great quests and amazing graphics and mature content (screw WoWs orcs and dwarfs)! I can't really say any bad things about AoC (well, there is some bugs, but tell me one MMO game which didn't have any bugs in launch) because it's just so cool game, and fresh! Heads won't roll anymore, they have already been rolled! Expand
  28. CharlesB.
    Jun 8, 2008
    9
    Do not listen to these people. By and large people are judging this game based on preconceptions from WoW - it is not like it at all. The developers have (thank God) gone into development with a different perspective on how things work; all this criticism may just force developers into creating the infuriating cookie cutter buttons. The loss of an immediate 'I WIN' button is Do not listen to these people. By and large people are judging this game based on preconceptions from WoW - it is not like it at all. The developers have (thank God) gone into development with a different perspective on how things work; all this criticism may just force developers into creating the infuriating cookie cutter buttons. The loss of an immediate 'I WIN' button is alienating a lot of narrow minded people. No doubt there are balancing and it is a technically demanding game, no doubt. But it is an excellent game and one well worth following as time goes on. For me WoW was too childish in community and had repetitive gameplay as well as numerous recent changes such as PvP 'welfare epics' and such were spoiling the game. WoW just takes time not skill and has a large 10 year subcriber base. I look forward to how AoC will develop. :) Expand
  29. AJM
    Jun 9, 2008
    9
    Negatives: The game has some bugs and minor issue's like most mmo's do. -- Sometimes it feels a little like Guild Wars with all the paths and instances. -- I think it lacks in armor variety, everyone is runnin around wearin the same stuff. The first 30 levels you spend the majority of it by yourself which I didnt care for. Posatives: Theirs alot of players so it makes the world Negatives: The game has some bugs and minor issue's like most mmo's do. -- Sometimes it feels a little like Guild Wars with all the paths and instances. -- I think it lacks in armor variety, everyone is runnin around wearin the same stuff. The first 30 levels you spend the majority of it by yourself which I didnt care for. Posatives: Theirs alot of players so it makes the world more fun and active. -- You level fast, it took me 5 days to reach lvl 45. -- The combat is fun and makes every other mmo I've played look juvenile and boring. -- Putting Fatalities in a fantasy mmo is genious and extremely entertaining. -- The graphics, especially the water are the best I've seen in an mmo. -- Most of the time you don't notice the instancing. -- All in all I think the game needs improvements but I love it and I cant wait to see what happens next and I would deffinitly recommend it. Around the end of the Tortage story line - lvl 18ish is when the game really started to grab me. Expand
  30. JohnLivingstone
    Jul 3, 2008
    9
    I was very pleasantly surprised by this game, which I've read a lot of varied views on after launch. A friend recommended I try it, and now I'm joining the Conan fan club!
    I've now reached lvl 34 and Ive been enjoying the ride all along. My guild is a bit too casual for building cities and such, but just the combat, immersion and general feel of the world is enough for me
    I was very pleasantly surprised by this game, which I've read a lot of varied views on after launch. A friend recommended I try it, and now I'm joining the Conan fan club!
    I've now reached lvl 34 and Ive been enjoying the ride all along. My guild is a bit too casual for building cities and such, but just the combat, immersion and general feel of the world is enough for me to stay hooked.
    Yes, there are a few rough edges, but the makers of the game have been fairly diligent in getting out patches and updates, and the improvements in the game are noticable.
    I won't cancel my WoW account just yet, but I'll definitely spend more time playing AoC in the weeks and months to come. For my two cents this is the best alternative experience to WoW currently on the market.
    Expand
  31. atles
    Aug 4, 2008
    8
    Great game, insane graphics but lack of content gives it only 8. Content is much better now after the summer by the way.
  32. FredBob
    Apr 28, 2009
    10
    By far the best MMO I've played - and I've tried all of them from the early day MUDs to the most current. Dense background to draw from, amazing story, incredible immersion, Innovative ideas around every corner. Combat is new and exciting. Adventures cater to soloist as well as groups. No reason to ever stop playing. (other than to eat).
  33. BrandonM.
    May 17, 2008
    9
    The game is simply fun. In the end that is all that matters.

    The world is brilliant. It feels so realistic, that you are actually apart of something big. It's violent, rough, sexy. This game has everything going for it. The combat is something totally new and different you have the freedom to swing how fast, combos etc... Plus you have to use your head a bit more, because
    The game is simply fun. In the end that is all that matters.

    The world is brilliant. It feels so realistic, that you are actually apart of something big. It's violent, rough, sexy. This game has everything going for it.

    The combat is something totally new and different you have the freedom to swing how fast, combos etc... Plus you have to use your head a bit more, because sometimes the enemy will block a certain area and you have to use combos to hit him where he isn't blocking.

    I recommend this game to any old and new MMOer alike. If your first game was WoW, and your looking for something totally new and refreshing. Age of Conan is probably that game. At the same time it gives the hardcore MMO players that have been around since the UO and EQ days something totally new and refreshing with the whole concept that it delivers a new style of game.

    Sure, you need a beefy system to run this game on high, but you can still get away on medium and low. I have a 8600gts and run this game nicely on med-high settings.

    This game is going to be here for awhile. It's fun, it's fast and it's the opening of the 3rd generation of MMOs. Finally
    Expand
  34. DanielMc
    May 20, 2008
    10
    Best graphics and gameplay I've ever seen. Well done funcom. Already 700,000 subscribers and its the first day.
  35. CoreyU.
    May 21, 2008
    10
    I play it, and it is definately an awesome play experience that captures my interest more than any other game i have played.
  36. BusyP
    May 21, 2008
    10
    Wonderful MMO. Great graphics, incredible atmosphere capturing the strangeness and brutality of Robert E. Howard's writing. Pick it up and play it - you won't be dissapointed. Best of all: no elves! No orcs! No high fantasy tropes at all.
  37. MCitti
    May 20, 2008
    10
    Amazing! Simply Amazing. Gorgeous to look at, absorbing to play and waaay too much fun!
  38. JanusH.
    May 20, 2008
    10
    The best MMO ever provided the player is over 18 and don't mind action-combat. Period! For others its not a 10/10, but for this user group, its perfect. Easy to get into, difficult to master.
  39. Dr.Doom
    May 21, 2008
    8
    So far the game is fun, the graphics are impressive, the voice acting is superb, the game is a tiny bit sloppy, but for just being launched I am so far impressed at how smoothly it seems to be going.
  40. JohnS.
    May 22, 2008
    10
    This game really delivers! Tactical combat, awesome music score, best ever MMO graphics and a very stable ride. I'm really impressed with what Funcom got out of this game. I'm an old Conan fan, and this game surely has revitalized my interests for Hyboria and the lore. My specs are an AMD64 3800+, 3 gigs of RAM, winxp pro32 and a 7600GT, and I run the game on 25-30 fps mostly on This game really delivers! Tactical combat, awesome music score, best ever MMO graphics and a very stable ride. I'm really impressed with what Funcom got out of this game. I'm an old Conan fan, and this game surely has revitalized my interests for Hyboria and the lore. My specs are an AMD64 3800+, 3 gigs of RAM, winxp pro32 and a 7600GT, and I run the game on 25-30 fps mostly on a high to med settings w/o bloom and shadows with a little tweaking. So the requirements for playing this game are not as high as you can get an impression of. Expand
  41. SkylerG.
    May 20, 2008
    9
    Rock solid game with innovative combat. The few technical issues the game is experiencing keep it from a 10, but still well worth the purchase. This game could easily be a 10 in a few months (if the few glitches get sorted out
  42. MikeM
    May 22, 2008
    10
    Simply put, this game is amazing! The Story line wraps you up and guides you beautifully. I actually enjoy doing the quests, I feel like I'm actually part of the world. The graphics are amazing. I haven't had any issues at all, an Extrememly smooth Roll out for a new MMORPG. The Combat is intuitive and engaging. I am very pleased with this and will probably be playing it for Simply put, this game is amazing! The Story line wraps you up and guides you beautifully. I actually enjoy doing the quests, I feel like I'm actually part of the world. The graphics are amazing. I haven't had any issues at all, an Extrememly smooth Roll out for a new MMORPG. The Combat is intuitive and engaging. I am very pleased with this and will probably be playing it for quite some time. I haven't enjoyed another MMO like this, It is a step above the all the rest. Excellent and intuitive UI, I could just keep on praising it... Expand
  43. GamerG.
    May 22, 2008
    9
    So far so good. It's hard to review an MMO after only a few days, but that being said, the game is great thus far. The game starts off laughably easy until about lvl 7. Once you start the night missions, the difficulty feels right. The combat is engaging and fun. Funcom definitely pulled it off. The story, music, voice acting and quests have all been top notch up to this point. So far so good. It's hard to review an MMO after only a few days, but that being said, the game is great thus far. The game starts off laughably easy until about lvl 7. Once you start the night missions, the difficulty feels right. The combat is engaging and fun. Funcom definitely pulled it off. The story, music, voice acting and quests have all been top notch up to this point. Climbing a volcano to disrupt a ritual, causing the volcano to erupt was my favorite quest so far. The bad: the UI is really bad. The little info they provide for ui management and skill management is mediocre. I don't really care about this all that much, since I know tweaks and custom UI's will almost certainly be introduced in the very near future. The game does require a beat of a pc to run well. If you've been waiting to update your older box, this could be the game that makes it worth the investment. First 20 levels get a 9 for me. Expand
  44. RayL
    May 22, 2008
    10
    Great game, runs smooth on medium spec computers, no lag at all.
  45. RolfE.
    May 22, 2008
    10
    Best MMORPG since WoW. Been playing WoW since it came out but now the game has lost its edge. AoC feels right at home for gamers like me, familiar keyboard/mouse bindings, a great storyline, voice quest givers, gore (yes, it's rated M), sexual innuendos, language - all the stuffing of a good game ;-). Did I forget to mention that this is one of the best-looking games to come out in Best MMORPG since WoW. Been playing WoW since it came out but now the game has lost its edge. AoC feels right at home for gamers like me, familiar keyboard/mouse bindings, a great storyline, voice quest givers, gore (yes, it's rated M), sexual innuendos, language - all the stuffing of a good game ;-). Did I forget to mention that this is one of the best-looking games to come out in recent years? The game has two interesting modes: Night (single-player, more storylline advancing and day (multiplayer, questing). Familiar archetypes, somewhat more granular and none of the WoW cartoonish look. Still some quirks to iron out but the game is backed by Micro$oft so we can expect a huge push to break into the existing WoW market. Blizzard watch out: This is a WoW killer! Expand
  46. JacobS.
    May 22, 2008
    10
    Fantastic game, exceeded my expectations in every way. I've found my new MMO home!
  47. JoãoP.
    May 23, 2008
    10
    WOW whata great game, best one I have ever played. Great Graphics, Gameplay, and of course Gore lots and lots of guts and blood flying around.
  48. CalebB.
    May 24, 2008
    10
    Very amzeing game great supor,t graphics, and gameplay. Good pve/pvp content as well. very unique classesand cool content not seen before in any other mmo.
  49. JohnD
    May 24, 2008
    9
    The amazing graphics are the highlight of the game in my eyes. Creating a game for mature adults is spot on. The only flaw I've found is that you're bound to a relatively small island until you hit level 20 and complete a quest line. You can't rush it, as there are level requirements to the quests. However, the game does a great job of making you feel important in a The amazing graphics are the highlight of the game in my eyes. Creating a game for mature adults is spot on. The only flaw I've found is that you're bound to a relatively small island until you hit level 20 and complete a quest line. You can't rush it, as there are level requirements to the quests. However, the game does a great job of making you feel important in a struggle that you learn to feel something for. Each class (warrior, priest, scout, and mage) have their own quest roll, which eliminates some of that repetition that we all love in our early days of gaming :) Great work FunCom! Expand
  50. NickB
    May 25, 2008
    10
    Loving this one so far. Story mode is awesome, much better than any other MMORPG on the market. Combat is engaging! Graphics are amazing, but you need some serious machine horsepower to play it at full settings.
  51. ChristianM
    May 25, 2008
    10
    Lot of fun and after WoW finally a new great game.
  52. SeanT
    May 26, 2008
    9
    Not perfect... of course not, but what game (especially MMO) is? What this is is a damn fantastic start to a game that will only become more and more enjoyable. The visceral world and deep combat is a breath of fresh air in this stale, McWoW market. PLEASE do not believe the small group of bashers making a front on the general forums. Who knows why they are doing what they are doing, but Not perfect... of course not, but what game (especially MMO) is? What this is is a damn fantastic start to a game that will only become more and more enjoyable. The visceral world and deep combat is a breath of fresh air in this stale, McWoW market. PLEASE do not believe the small group of bashers making a front on the general forums. Who knows why they are doing what they are doing, but it is clear they are NOT the voice of the AoC community... just currently the most heard (in General) as the rest are enjoying the game. Give it a shot, you will not regret it. Expand
  53. MarkK.
    May 26, 2008
    10
    Just incredible. Also an avid WoW player for nearly last 2 years. The Good : Graphics Amazing. Control System great. Quest system really good and helps you alot. Talent System similar to WoW so easy to pickup. Additional Stat placement. Running Speed mana regen etc is brilliance on funcoms behalf. Certain aspects of the UI are good. Player movement. Collision Detection is fantastic. Just incredible. Also an avid WoW player for nearly last 2 years. The Good : Graphics Amazing. Control System great. Quest system really good and helps you alot. Talent System similar to WoW so easy to pickup. Additional Stat placement. Running Speed mana regen etc is brilliance on funcoms behalf. Certain aspects of the UI are good. Player movement. Collision Detection is fantastic. Mellee combat system is way too good. Quests have some depth and storylines are really good (not just a click accept and finish it) do the Destiny quest chain in starter zone. its worth it. The Bad : The chat system really sucks coming from WoW which is refined nicely, but i guess will be fixed quickly. Other than the minimap and menu selectors the UI not so hot. But mods already enroute, i haven't used WoWs default UI for a very long time so not even sure what it looks like anymore, but im sure similar addons will be available for AoC soon enough. Its a great game and if you finding WoW getting repetitive and somewhat boring outside new boss drops then grab this game its that good. Expand
  54. JustinG.
    May 26, 2008
    9
    Best MMO iv played. Great combat system, Great graphics, Great Quests, Great Game!!!!!
  55. THOMASASHLEY
    May 27, 2008
    9
    WELL DONE FUNCOM! The attention to graphic detail,unique play style,diversified quests,and so far a lack of immaturity on the PVE servers,has won over a LOT of adult gamers. If you meet the recommended requirements,you will be enthralled by the graphics! Leave WOW now before another "tired" old news expansion keeps you bored.
  56. StefanO.
    May 28, 2008
    10
    This is the next gen. A little bit buggy, but with an impressive rate of fixing. Better state than WoW was at launch however. I am playing it slow so it gets even better, but already this is the best mmorpg so far.
  57. WillS.
    May 29, 2008
    10
    Amazing graphic and finally an adult game.
  58. AnonymousMC
    May 29, 2008
    9
    AoC is a very good game, it only gets a 9 due to the bugs which really don't even effect the game, I have played for around 5 hours now and the only problem I have is my computer only being able to run it on lowish settings. And it still looks better than WoW. I have played both and WoW was more of grinding where as when in AoC killing monsters doesn't feel like grinding becauseAoC is a very good game, it only gets a 9 due to the bugs which really don't even effect the game, I have played for around 5 hours now and the only problem I have is my computer only being able to run it on lowish settings. And it still looks better than WoW. I have played both and WoW was more of grinding where as when in AoC killing monsters doesn't feel like grinding because its so much fun to actually kill them. If you like MMO's then you will like this. Expand
  59. HobartH.
    May 30, 2008
    10
    Superb Game! Will definetely be played for years!
  60. GuidoG.
    May 30, 2008
    10
    Fresh and nice approach to combat, mature as in mature and not as in immaturely showing nipples and sex everywhere, and a finely crafted world make this a gem of a MMORPG.
  61. 3Ball
    May 30, 2008
    10
    This game is much more enjoyable in comparison to WoW for me. This is probably because of the more mature nature of the game and better visual experiance that it offers.
  62. Spree
    Jun 10, 2008
    8
    Quite simply, this should have been in the developers hands for a few months more. Character imbalance makes any sort of pvp beyond level 60 completely useless since the pots heal more than damage dealt. Extra even with stacking for the priest class who heals 25% of hp /round while pelting you with spells taking 10-15% of your hp. I mean the differences are so huge and clumsily designed Quite simply, this should have been in the developers hands for a few months more. Character imbalance makes any sort of pvp beyond level 60 completely useless since the pots heal more than damage dealt. Extra even with stacking for the priest class who heals 25% of hp /round while pelting you with spells taking 10-15% of your hp. I mean the differences are so huge and clumsily designed that it's kinda hard to believe that they launched it like that... They can't possibly have tried the PVP themselves. I stack (at level 69) 50-100 Daggamalt and the same amount of Sweetpressed Haste and is basically untouchable unless ganged or maged. PVP with same class turns into a dragged out event where the outcome is determined by who forgets to pot =). Also there are some major issues with your characters implementation into his/her surroundings with a large possibility of getting stuck in the most trivial of objects. However the unstuck function works pretty well. Better than WoW in any event, where the unstuck option is a complete farce. This will all be fixed though, which is why it's not too bothersome but still worth mentioning. The pros far outweigh the cons in any event. The construction of the guild city is marvellous and if you play on RP-PVP like me it really reinforces the feel of the game. The quests are enjoyable. Grinding levels is no problem as long as you make sure the mobs are 3-4 levels above you at all times so you get from 2-3K exp /mob or more if you chain-kill them ofc. This will be a great game in a short time. If they manage to fix the annoying pvp issues that is... Expand
  63. HideakiT.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    I absolutely love this game! I've been playing with my GF and a couple of friends and we are all having a blast!
  64. KeviD.
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    There are bugs but what new mmo didn't? I think it is a wonderful game & plays brilliantly on my pc also love the combat system & spellweaving
  65. HenrikI.
    Jun 1, 2008
    10
    Really fun fighting system. The updates will probebly make the game even better.
  66. PaulT
    Jun 1, 2008
    9
    Amazing game, would earn a 10 apart from the few bugs that have to exist with the creation of a new MMO, however when all is sorted, this game will most likely start to rival World of Warcraft, without all the kids.
  67. TS
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    Age of Conan has been fun and interesting since its release. Even with the few bugs, the game is fantastic.
  68. NS
    Jun 3, 2008
    9
    Age of Conan is quite a good game from what I have played. The combat is from the first, an engaging affair. However, it might not be what everyone hoped for. The visuals are stunning, and the quests are actually enjoyable. At the moment my only complaint would be the lack of some content and the many bugs, although this is to be expected with recently released MMO. I am confident that Age of Conan is quite a good game from what I have played. The combat is from the first, an engaging affair. However, it might not be what everyone hoped for. The visuals are stunning, and the quests are actually enjoyable. At the moment my only complaint would be the lack of some content and the many bugs, although this is to be expected with recently released MMO. I am confident that FunCom will fix these problems and we'll end up with a polished and amazingly fun game. Expand
  69. OddB.
    Jun 3, 2008
    10
    Amazing! and even better, you almost never meet any idiots or children. let them play WoW.
  70. NickH.
    Jun 3, 2008
    9
    Excellent launch. innovative gameplay and beautiful graphics. The content is faithful to REH. Even has good PvP. Typical MMO bugs at launch (content gaps, graphical quirks, balance issues, fringe user problems) but many of those are already being addressed. In 3 or 4 months this game will be perfect.
  71. L'boy
    Jun 3, 2008
    10
    Awesome graphics, exciting quests and a great combat system!! I will stay in Hyboria for a long long time.
  72. EndreE.
    Jun 8, 2008
    9
    Age of Conan is an awesome game, you have to expect alot of bugs and flaws from the very start of an MMORPG since the amount of data being tested is overwhelming. Yes, you do need a proper computer, and it might not be quite as good as what WoW is atm, but give it a couple of months so they can fix the bugs, enhance classes! Enjoy this great MMO, It's really worth a try.
  73. BrettW.
    Jun 9, 2008
    9
    This game is the single funnest MMO ever, instead of boring and somewhat predictable PvP like in WOW this game is awesome because you never know if the person passing you will attack you or not.
  74. NickB.
    Jun 9, 2008
    10
    This game is great and in a few months it will be even better anyone complaning about bugs has obviously never been part of a MMO release befor compaired to most MMOs this is a very smooth release. And to the guy who said they had to delete two chars because of low FPS... you are stupid get off your old apple 2.
  75. ChrisP.
    Jun 9, 2008
    9
    Quite refreshing. The best MMO to come out in a long time. While the game is missing some content at the higher levels, Funcom so far has been doing a great job of patching. The combat is exciting and always a challenge. The quests are a good mixture of lore quests and regular MMO quests. Overall I would say that this is 1 of my top 5 MMOs of all time. Which is really surprising to me Quite refreshing. The best MMO to come out in a long time. While the game is missing some content at the higher levels, Funcom so far has been doing a great job of patching. The combat is exciting and always a challenge. The quests are a good mixture of lore quests and regular MMO quests. Overall I would say that this is 1 of my top 5 MMOs of all time. Which is really surprising to me since I am a WAR fanboy. :) Expand
  76. AllenD.
    Jul 30, 2008
    9
    game has some endgame issues and some tech issues that are being worked on the forums are a pit and should be avoided. HOWEVER the game itself is alot of fun in groups the graphics are great and with a proper setup rig looks beautiful and plays great.
  77. Leonardoftpl.
    Jul 6, 2008
    10
    Is the best mmorpg and with your guild you can buil cities and do guild vs guild (a fantastic thing) the grafik is fantastic,and is good than Wow, I love Age of Conan -buy it.
  78. SteveB.
    Aug 12, 2008
    9
    Excellent game. Much of the game is still not complete, but what they have is excellent. Would suggest this game to any experienced MMO player. Combat system takes some getting used to, but once you learn it you will love it.
  79. CathrineM.
    Aug 16, 2008
    10
    All the things I wish my old mmo would be, AoC delivered. Development is very fast to address issues, and I see this becoming a fantastic game! Thank You FunCom!
  80. EarlJ
    Aug 4, 2008
    9
    Really good setting, and offers plenty of good rpg-chances. And the fighting system is faaar better than Wow's.
  81. Atalanta
    Sep 5, 2008
    10
    Possibly one of the best games and most promising games I've played in awhile. If you like PvP/PvE content this game is for you.
  82. MStewart
    Sep 5, 2008
    9
    Some bugs for some people, not so for me. Excellent graphics and novel classes make this game the best MMO on the market at the moment.
  83. PaoloDavideL
    Jul 28, 2009
    9
    Didn't start out this way, but its certainly a rock-solid MMORPG, thanks to Funcom's continued work on patches/etc. Minor issues aside, the game is enjoyable, thoroughly engaging and highly recommended for anyone who has read any Conan. yes, read - forget the movies. This is Hyboria as Robert E. Howard envisioned it.
  84. Daniel
    Oct 12, 2008
    10
    Just gotta love this game! The last patches made the game awesome, was some crashes before but not anymore.
  85. JamesH
    Apr 18, 2008
    9
    Based on the beta, reviews, and released information, this game will be a perfect game for those MMO players looking for something new and fun. The melee system is great for those that like more skill based games. I would give it a 10 if the voice acting was better and if the class balancing was a bit better.
  86. LongJohn
    May 18, 2008
    10
    I got to say i have never heard of a launch this smooth and never NEVER have you seem a MMO so pretty. Max setting DX10 it is amazing. I think my view distance is set to 3km. Anyone tired of what they are playing i would advise to check this game out. (just make sure you computer can run it)
  87. harrisontong
    May 19, 2008
    10
    better game then WoW. No dumb quests like get oranges or stuff. All NPC talks and good PvP . Don't believe to all thoes haters or shit talkers its just because they are to poor to afford to upgrade their computer. They just blame the game and can stick to their gay WoW. Its a bad game. Trust me you will love this game. Don't listen to all those people who dont' even havebetter game then WoW. No dumb quests like get oranges or stuff. All NPC talks and good PvP . Don't believe to all thoes haters or shit talkers its just because they are to poor to afford to upgrade their computer. They just blame the game and can stick to their gay WoW. Its a bad game. Trust me you will love this game. Don't listen to all those people who dont' even have this game yet. Expand
  88. Paul
    May 19, 2008
    10
    This game is ridiculously awesome! Groundbreaking in the mmom genre with real time combat that is so much fun to use!
  89. MatthewA.
    May 21, 2008
    9
    An awesome game, lovely graphics and a nice change to gameplay.
  90. OleJ.
    May 21, 2008
    10
    Best MMO I ever played! GREAT game!
  91. MatthewB.
    May 21, 2008
    9
    Best combat an MMO has seen since Planetside. A little buggy, the servers are down, otherwise though its an amazingly addictive and exciting experience!
  92. NathanC.
    May 21, 2008
    9
    Good: Great gameplay, amazing graphics and sound, fun classes to play. Bad: Steep system requirements, UI is pretty weak.
  93. SamG.
    May 21, 2008
    10
    Wonderful game. Have not been this pleased since wow came out four years ago.
  94. KevinT.
    May 21, 2008
    10
    Best MMO I have ever played! Dont have time to write a good review cuz I have to get back to leveling. Everything is amazing!
  95. EliB.
    May 21, 2008
    10
    Best MMO I have ever played. Combat is a bit clunky when you first use it and are on the "mash buttons!" phase of learning the system, but once you truly get used to it combat flows amazingly well and the combo system is great. From the very beginning the game is *packed* with quests and content, and I think I'll be playing this for quite a long time.
  96. SteveS.
    May 21, 2008
    10
    excellent game after years of MMO stagnation and the obvious decline of WOW.
  97. Kai
    May 21, 2008
    10
    What a game. Good move by Funcom adding som blood and gore to flavor it all.
  98. PatH.
    May 21, 2008
    9
    Great game, very immersing.
  99. SethD.
    May 21, 2008
    9
    This game puts a fresh and unique spin on the MMORPG world. Beautiful to look at, a ton of fun to play.
  100. AliB.
    May 22, 2008
    10
    This game is groundbreaking! No auto-attack. When you are fighting you're actually doing it, instead of just watching your character doing it for you. And the graphics, gosh, it's awesome. There's no other mmo even close. Thumbs up!
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. This game marks the next generation of MMOs in many ways. It looks good, is very entertaining and plays very well. This is a journey well worth taking.
  2. It won't put WoW out of business, but then again, nothing will for a long time, and that doesn't mean this isn't a great game with tons of appeal and a hopefully more mature audience
  3. 80
    Age of Conan going forward should become a delightfully savage second home for plenty of howling on-line barbarians.